供应商的议价能力:它是什么以及它是如何运作的

议价能力
图片来源:杵

当供应商有议价能力时,他们可以通过提高定价、改变产品质量或限制可用性和交货时间表来向公司施加压力。 在塑造行业竞争地位的波特五种力量中,人们认识到,当供应商拥有谈判能力时,他们可以影响竞争环境并直接影响公司的盈利能力。 进一步阅读以通过示例了解供应商的议价能力。

供应商的议价能力是什么?

供应商的议价能力是供应商、批发商和分销商在行业结构将大部分客户导向少数企业时获得的竞争优势。 当供应商总数下降时,现有公司的议价能力和盈利能力就会提高。

他们甚至会降低产品的可用性。 该框架是公司战略的重要组成部分。 这会对竞争环境产生影响。 以及购买者的盈利潜力。 例如,其他变量包括供应商的议价能力和新进入者的前景。

各类供应商

供应商根据其行业分为许多组。 他们是以下

  • 制造商和供应商: 分销商、零售商和/或批发商是他们向其销售产品的客户。
  • 分销商和批发商: 他们大量购买产品,并打算将其转售给附近地区的商人或分销商。
  • 独立供应商: 他们直接向零售店出售独一无二的产品。
  • 进口商和出口商: 他们在一个国家购买产品,然后将其出口到另一个国家。
  • 托运人: 作为供应商为各种企业提供商品的公司。

决定因素

在衡量供应商的议价能力时,需要考虑五个主要标准

  • 供应商数量与采购商数量相比
  • 买方在多大程度上依赖于供应商的销售
  • 供应商的转换成本
  • 供应商可立即购买
  • 供应商转发整合的可能性

供应商的议价能力是强还是弱?

强大:

  • 买家的转换成本很高。
  • 转发集成的威胁很大。
  • 与买家相比,供应商较少。
  • 供应商的销售对买家的依赖性较低。
  • 供应商的转换成本低。
  • 替代品不可用。
  • 买家严重依赖供应商的销售。

弱:

  • 买家的转换成本很低。
  • 前向整合的威胁很小。
  • 与买家相比,供应商更多。
  • 供应商的销售对买家的高度依赖
  • 供应商的转换成本很高。
  • 有替代品。
  • 买家不会严重依赖供应商的销售。

供应商议价能力的一个例子

以下是案例研究中供应商议价能力的示例,可用于说明议价能力:

SkyMiles 是一家电动汽车公司,业务遍及五个国家:美国、法国、德国、加拿大和韩国。 “飞凡里程常客计划”将锂作为汽车充电电池的活性材料,用于其豪华、尖端的车辆。 该公司还从位于澳大利亚的 StarCrown 公司获得锂。 “飞凡里程常客计划”曾尝试与智利和中国的其他供应商进行谈判,但尚未建立正式的合作伙伴关系。 Skymills 的唯一锂来源仍然是 StarCrown。 在这种情况下,星冠对“飞凡里程常客计划”的议价能力可以总结如下:

#1。 供应商数量与采购商数量的关系

因为在这种供应商实力场景中只有一家供应商,星冠的议价能力在行业内尽可能接近最大。

#2。 供应商销售对特定买家的影响

“飞凡里程常客计划”并非专门向 StarCrown 供应锂。 它还拥有电动汽车业务的其他客户,以及一些购买锂用于手机生产的合作伙伴组织。 换句话说,星冠对“飞凡里程常客计划”的依赖是微乎其微的。

#3。 买方转换成本

除了 StarCrown,“飞凡里程常客计划”无法访问任何其他提供商。 这意味着转移到新的供应商将是昂贵且耗时的,这使 Starcrown 在供应商权力方面相对于 SkyMiles 具有优势。

#4。 向前整合

锂行业强大的前向整合增强了星冠作为供应商的谈判能力,这意味着星冠对 Skymills 的需求明显高于星冠对 Skymills 的需求。

增加供应商力量的因素

由于以下因素,供应商可能拥有额外的议价能力: 与采购商相比,供应商数量多。

  • 如果切换到不同的供应商会带来巨额的切换费用。
  • 如果他们可以自行整合或开始生产产品。
  • 如果他们有必要的技能或技术来生产东西。
  • 如果他们的产品有很多独特的功能。
  • 如果有很多买家,但没有一个占销售额的很大比例。
  • 如果没有其他选项可用。
  • 如果有强大的最终用户可以以有利于供应商的方式影响组织(在劳工情况下可能就是这种情况)。

供应商在所有这些情况下都有很强的议价能力,允许他们要求 溢价 并设定自己的时间表。

影响供应商议价能力的因素

与买家一样,供应商最大化其利润的能力取决于他们相对于公司实力的实力。 在以下情况下,供应商拥有强大的议价能力:

  • 企业投入替代困难重重. 因此,企业必须依赖其当前供应商的交付。
  • 对于供应商,公司不是重要客户. 供应商的收入和收益与对公司或其他行业参与者的销售无关; 他们只贡献了一小部分。 供应商为广泛的行业提供服务。
  • 我们有几个供应商。 考虑一个少数竞争者寡头垄断的供应商。 该公司在一个巨大的垄断市场中竞争。 供应商在价格、质量和销售条件方面具有更强的议价能力。 玉米或大豆供应商具有议价能力。 例如,他们的议价能力很小,因为供应商来自许多农场。 很少有公司要求它。
  • 供应商项目对公司的成功至关重要。 其质量优于其他供应商。 其供应对公司的产量和质量有重大影响。 当然,这增强了供应商的议价能力。 如果输入不能长期储存,供应商的议价能力就更大。 公司无法在仓库中收集库存来为供应中断做准备。
  • 供应商的输入差异很大。 因此,转换成本相当可观. 由于投入的独特性,公司发现很难转向提供类似服务的供应商。 或者,他们在转向替代供应商时必须面临高额费用。
  • 供应商有信誉使用前向垂直整合战略来威胁公司。 换句话说,供应商可以停止提供投入并进入业务,使公司成为直接竞争对手。

为什么供应商的议价能力很重要?

供应商利用其强大的议价能力来挤压公司和其他行业参与者的利润。 供应商可能会通过提高价格或降低所购买商品和服务的质量来将公司置于风险之中。 他们还可以实施严格的征信政策。 制造工厂的投入供应不足也会中断 商业运营.

例如,如果企业无法将投入价格转嫁给销售价格,盈利压力就会变得更加严重。 因此,企业必须承受更高的运营成本和更低的 利润率. 相比之下,如果供应商实力较弱,公司可能会协商一个更便宜的价格。 或者,公司可能想要更高质量的投入和更优惠的贷款条件。 公司可能会要求员工提高生产力以换取劳动力投入。 如果他们不能这样做,雇主可以终止他们并用另一名雇员代替他们。

此外,除了动态之外,供应商的议价能力常常超出他们的控制范围。 因此,在某些行业,企业只能进行调整,而无法与供应商讨价还价。

目标市场和强大的供应商

供应商对议价能力的选择是不同的。 必须反映所有成本、产品质量和可用数量。 因此,任何这些领域的过多中断都可能导致公司无法继续经营。

一家公司的运营可能需要停止或转移到不同的行业。 因此,您不会被供应商的意愿所左右。

#1。 价钱

公司必须处理的第一个问题是成本上升。 当供应商意识到他们不能被移除时,他们可能会提高他们的价格 原材料. 也有可能提前了。 假设买方别无选择,只能支付这些费率。 在这种情况下,总生产成本的增加将不得不被吸收或转嫁给客户。 也可以将其传递给客户。 公司的利润率可能无法承受这种压力。 然后市场价格将因此上涨。 由于目标市场可能会抵制这种变化,因此销售可能会受到影响。 因此,客户可能会转向竞争对手的产品或替代品。

#2。 产品/供应可用性

假设供应商拒绝或无法实现数量目标。 在这种情况下,公司可能不得不处理过多的需求。 因此,如果公司希望提高销售额,这可能会在正常和异常情况下发生。 因此,它可能会在销售高峰期发生。 假期和其他特殊场合是消费者更有可能购买更多东西的例子。

#3。 质量问题

有时,供应商会选择降低产品质量。 因此,这样做是为了降低成本。 这将对公司的产品阵容产生直接影响。 此外,如果存在实质性质量问题,可能会对最终消费者产生负面影响。 因此,退货、投诉和换货可能会增加。 消费者可能会决定完全改用不同的产品。

#4。 行业动态决定

假设一个大型供应商决定只供应个别企业。 在这种情况下,它可能会迫使企业退出该行业。 在这些情况下,公司将毫无防备,无法自卫。 假设产品完全由供应商制造。 在这种情况下,他们可能会选择直接设计产品并将其销售给消费者,通常成本较低。

#5。 供应商功率缓解

如果供应商在市场上变得过于强大,公司将致力于削弱供应商的议价能力。 假设对产品有足够的需求。 在这种情况下,可能有机会找到制造或销售产品的新方法。 结果,供应商的力量被削弱了。 另一种选择是重新设计产品或使产品范围多样化。

供应商议价能力常见问题解答

什么是消费者议价能力?

消费者议价能力是指消费者可以对公司施加的压力,以促使他们生产更高质量的产品、更好的客户服务和/或更低的价格。

为什么供应商的议价能力威胁到企业?

供应商通过威胁提高价格或降低质量来制造竞争。 在公司无法转嫁成本增加的行业中,这会降低盈利能力。

是什么让供应商的议价能力如此之高?

如果客户不占供应商销售额的很大一部分,供应商就有很强的议价能力。 当市场上替代品稀缺时,供应商力量强大。

  1. 加州最低工资:目前加州最低工资是多少?
  2. 房地产中的升级条款:实际示例(+快速提示)
  3. 市场清算价格:如何找到市场清算价格(+详细指南)
  4. 苹果品牌和忠诚度:用 Apples Wayer 打造品牌
  5. 营销传播:您需要知道的一切(详细指南)
  6. 什么是良好的利润率:为您的业务带来良好的利润率
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

BARGAINING POWER OF SUPPLIERS: What It Is & How It Works

bargaining-power
Image credit: Pestle

When suppliers have bargaining power, they can put pressure on a company by raising pricing, changing product quality, or limiting availability and delivery schedules. Within Porter’s five forces that shape an industry’s competitive position, it is recognized that when suppliers have negotiating power, they can impact the competitive environment and directly impact a company’s profitability. Read further to understand the bargaining power of suppliers with an example.

What Is The Bargaining Power Of Suppliers?

The bargaining power of suppliers is a competitive advantage gained by vendors, wholesalers, and distributors when an industry structure directs the bulk of customers to a small number of enterprises. When the total number of suppliers declines, the bargaining power and profitability of existing companies grow.

They can even decrease the availability of their products. The framework is an essential component of corporate strategy. This has an impact on the competitive environment. and the profit potential of purchasers. Other variables, for example, include the bargaining power of suppliers and the prospect of new entrants.

Various Types of Suppliers

Suppliers are classified into numerous groups based on their industry. They are the following

  • Manufacturers and Vendors: Distributors, retailers, and/or wholesalers are the customers to whom they sell their products.
  • Distributors and wholesalers: They buy products in large numbers with the intention of reselling them to merchants or distributors in their immediate area.
  • Independent Suppliers: They sell one-of-a-kind products to retail stores directly.
  • Importers and exporters: They make the purchase of a product in one nation and then export it to another.
  • Drop Shippers: Companies that provide a variety of businesses with their goods as suppliers.

Determining Factors

When measuring a supplier’s bargaining strength, there are five primary criteria to consider

  • The number of suppliers as compared to the buyers
  • How much a buyer is dependent on a supplier’s sale
  • The switching costs of the suppliers
  • Availability of suppliers for immediate purchase
  • Possibilities for forwarding integration by suppliers

What Is the Bargaining Power of Suppliers—Strong or Weak?

Strong:

  • The switching cost for buyers is high.
  • The threat of forwarding integration is high.
  • The suppliers are fewer in comparison with the buyers.
  • The low dependence of a supplier’s sales on buyers.
  • The switching cost of suppliers is low.
  • Substitutes are unavailable.
  • Buyers heavily rely on sales from suppliers.

Weak:

  • The switching cost for buyers is low.
  • The threat of forward integration is low.
  • The suppliers are more in comparison with the buyers.
  • The high dependence of a supplier’s sales on buyers
  • The switching costs of suppliers are high.
  • Substitutes are available.
  • Buyers do not rely heavily on sales from suppliers.

An Example of the Bargaining Power of Suppliers

The following is an example of the bargaining power of suppliers in a case study that can be used to illustrate bargaining power:

SkyMiles is an electric automobile company with operations in five countries: the United States, France, Germany, Canada, and South Korea. SkyMiles uses lithium, which is an active material in car rechargeable batteries, for its luxurious, cutting-edge vehicles. The company also gets its lithium from StarCrown, a company based in Australia. SkyMiles has attempted to negotiate with other suppliers in Chile and China, but no formal partnership has been established. Skymills’ sole source of lithium is still StarCrown. In this situation, Starcrown’s bargaining leverage over SkyMiles can be summarized as follows:

#1. The Number of Suppliers in Relation to the Number of Buyers

Because there is only one supplier in this supplier power scenario, StarCrown’s bargaining power is as close to maximum as possible in the industry.

#2. The Impact of a Supplier’s Sale on a Specific Buyer

SkyMiles does not exclusively supply lithium to StarCrown. It also has other customers in the electric vehicle business, as well as a number of partner organizations that purchase lithium for use in mobile phone production. To put it another way, StarCrown’s reliance on SkyMiles is minimal.

#3. Buyer’s Costs of Switching

Apart from StarCrown, SkyMiles does not have access to any other providers. This means that transferring to a new supplier will be costly and time-consuming, giving Starcrown an advantage against SkyMiles in terms of supplier power.

#4. Integration in the Forward Direction

The strong forward integration in the lithium industry enhances StarCrown’s negotiating power as a supplier, implying that StarCrown needs Skymills significantly more than StarCrown requires Skymills.

Factors That Increase the Power of Suppliers

Suppliers may have additional bargaining power as a result of the following factors: If there are a lot of them in comparison to purchasers.

  • If switching to a different supplier comes with hefty switching fees.
  • If they can integrate or start producing the product on their own.
  • If they have the necessary skills or technology to produce things.
  • If their product has a lot of unique features.
  • If there are a lot of buyers but none of them account for a major percentage of sales.
  • If no other options are available.
  • If there are powerful end-users who can influence the organization in a supplier’s favor (this can be the case in labor situations).

Suppliers have strong bargaining power in all of these circumstances, allowing them to demand premium prices and set their own timelines.

Aspects That Influence Suppliers’ Bargaining Power

Like buyers, suppliers’ ability to maximize their profits depends on their strength relative to the firm’s strength. Suppliers have great bargaining power if:

  • Input substitution is difficult for businesses. As a result, businesses must rely on deliveries from their current suppliers.
  • For the supplier, the corporation is not a significant customer. Suppliers’ revenue and earnings are unrelated to sales to the company or other industry participants; they only contribute a small amount. Suppliers provide to a wide range of sectors.
  • We have a few vendors. Consider a supplier in a few-competitor oligopoly. The company competes in a vast monopolistic market. The supplier has stronger bargaining power over price, quality, and sale terms. Corn or soybean suppliers have bargaining power. They have minimal bargaining power, for example, because suppliers come from many farms. Few firms have requested it.
  • Supplier items are critical to the company’s success. Its quality is superior to that of other suppliers. Its supply has a significant impact on the company’s output production and quality. Of course, this boosts suppliers’ bargaining power. If the input cannot be stored for a long time, the suppliers’ bargaining power is greater. Companies can’t collect inventory in warehouses to prepare for supply disruptions.
  • The input from vendors varies greatly. As a result, switching costs are considerable. Due to the uniqueness of the inputs, companies find it difficult to move to providers for similar services. Alternatively, they must face hefty fees when switching to alternative suppliers.
  • Suppliers have the credibility to use a forward vertical integration strategy to threaten the company. In other words, the supplier could stop delivering inputs and enter the business, making the company a direct rival.

Why Is the Bargaining Power of Suppliers Important?

Suppliers use their significant bargaining power to squeeze the company’s and other industry participants’ profits. Suppliers might put the company at risk by raising prices or lowering the quality of goods and services purchased. They can also impose stringent credit collection policies. Inadequate supplies of inputs to manufacturing plants can also interrupt business operations.

Profitability pressures become more severe if, for example, enterprises are unable to pass on input prices to selling prices. As a result, businesses must suffer increased operating costs and lower profit margins. In contrast, if the supplier is weak, the corporation may be able to negotiate a cheaper price. Alternatively, the corporation may want higher quality input and more favorable loan terms. Companies might ask employees to be more productive in exchange for labor input. If they are unable to do so, the employer may terminate them and replace them with another employee.

Furthermore, aside from being dynamic, suppliers’ bargaining power is frequently beyond their control. As a result, in some industries, corporations can only adjust without the ability to bargain with their suppliers.

The Target Market and Powerful Suppliers

The supplier’s choice of bargaining power is different. All costs, quality of products, and quantity available must be reflected. As a result, too much disruption in any of these areas may result in a company’s inability to stay in business.

A company’s operations may need to be stopped or shifted to a different industry. As a result, you won’t be ruled by the desires of a supplier.

#1. Pricing

The first issue that a company must deal with is rising costs. When a supplier realizes they can’t be removed, they may boost the price of their raw material. It’s also possible that it’s ahead of schedule. Assume that the buyer has no other option but to pay these rates. In that instance, the increase in total production costs will either have to be absorbed or passed on to the customer. It’s also possible to pass it on to the customer. The company’s profit margin may not be able to withstand this strain. Then market prices will rise as a result. Because the target market may be resistant to the change, sales may suffer. As a result, clients may defect to a competitor’s product or substitution.

#2. Product/Supply Availability

Let’s say a supplier refuses or is unable to achieve volume targets. In that instance, the corporation may have to deal with an overabundance of demand. As a result, this might occur in both normal and abnormal conditions if the corporation wishes to raise sales. As a result, it’s possible that it’ll happen during peak sales periods. Holidays and other special occasions are examples of when consumers are more likely to buy more things.

#3. Problems with Quality

Occasionally, the supplier will opt to lower the product’s quality. As a result, this is done in order to reduce costs. This will have a direct impact on the company’s product lineup. Furthermore, if there are substantial-quality difficulties, it may have a negative impact on the final consumer. As a result, returns, complaints, and exchanges may increase. Consumers may decide to switch to a different product entirely.

#4. Industry Dynamics Dictate

Assume that a single large supplier decides to supply only individual businesses. In that instance, it may be able to force businesses out of the industry. A corporation will be defenseless and unable to defend itself in these situations. Assume the product is wholly manufactured by a provider. In that instance, they may opt to design and sell the product directly to the consumer, often at a lower cost.

#5. Supplier Power Mitigation

Companies will aim to diminish suppliers’ bargaining power if they grow too strong in the market. Assume that there is sufficient demand for the product. In that instance, there may be opportunities to find new ways to manufacture or market a product. As a result, supplier power is diminished. Another option is to redesign the product or diversify the product range.

Bargaining Power of Suppliers FAQs

What is consumer bargaining power?

consumer bargaining power refers to the pressure that consumers can exert on firms to get them to produce higher-quality products, better customer service, and/or lower pricing.

Why the bargaining power of suppliers threaten the business?

Suppliers create competition by threatening to raise prices or lower quality. In an industry where companies can’t pass on cost increases, this reduces profitability.

What makes the bargaining power of suppliers high?

Suppliers have strong bargaining leverage if the customer does not account for a big share of the supplier’s sales. When substitute items are scarce in the market, supplier power is strong.

  1. CALIFORNIA MINIMUM WAGE: What is the current California minimum wage?
  2. Escalation Clause in Real Estate: Practical Examples (+Quick Tips)
  3. MARKET CLEARING PRICE: How To Find Market Clearing Price(+Detailed Guide)
  4. APPLE BRAND AND LOYALTY: Creating a Brand the Apples Wayer
  5. Marketing Communication: All you need to know (Detailed Guide)
  6. WHAT IS A GOOD PROFIT MARGIN: Good Profit Margin For Your Business
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like