SHIFT 差额薪酬:2023 年的定义和平均薪酬

轮班差别工资
图片来源:www.hcamag.com

向员工支付不同的工资是解决工作场所问题的有效方法。 尽管联邦法律没有要求轮班差异,但许多雇主,尤其是制造业的雇主,会提供轮班差异来让工人从事“不受欢迎的”夜班或周末轮班。 员工可能会喜欢额外的工作时间,但他们不会喜欢必须在晚上 10 点上班。您如何才能让它对那些迟到的人更有吸引力? 详细了解夜班差别工资如何运作以及 2023 年的平均轮班差别工资。

什么是班次差额薪酬?

轮班差别工资是员工在不太理想的轮班工作时获得的额外收入,比如晚上或午夜。 雇员和他们的雇主可以就轮班差别率达成协议。 即使法律不要求您向员工支付更多工资,但这样做可以帮助您留住他们。 雇主可能会选择给员工更多的带薪休假,而不是工资轮班差异 (PTO) 作为奖励他们的一种方式。

第三班工作的员工可能比第二班工作的员工得到更多的报酬。 除夜班差价外,雇主还可以提供周末差价工资。 雇主可以选择向所有员工支付周末轮班差价,而不仅仅是第二班和第三班员工。

什么是平均班次差薪?

这一切都取决于。 额外工资的范围在 5% 到 15% 之间。 到 2023 年,小时工的平均轮班差别工资将从他们小时工资的百分比(5-15%)到固定费用(50 美分到 1.25 美元)不等。 您可以将 2023 年的平均班次差薪计算为该职位时薪的 10%。 2023年,给予员工平均轮班差别工资的企业将根据年薪确定小时费率,并一贯适用。

您如何计算班次差异收入?

雇主通常将班次差异设置为工资的百分比。 招聘公司设定薪酬水平。 在确定轮班差异的百分比或数量时,请考虑员工的职责、经验、工作时间以及员工是按小时计算还是按薪计算。

手动计算换档差非常简单。 每小时员工的轮班差异可以是员工基本工资的百分比或每小时的固定金额。 它们还以高级形式提供给员工。

假设您在工厂工作。 第一班从早上 6 点开始,到下午 2 点结束,每小时收费 9.75 美元。 因为大多数工厂工人想早点回家,他们更愿意上第一班。 第二班从下午 2 点到 10 点,通常没有那么吸引人。

因此,公司将实施轮班差薪政策,下午 2 点至 10 点工作的员工将获得 20% 的轮班差价。 如果您从事不太理想的轮班工作,您每小时将赚取 11.70 美元,因为 20 美元的 9.75% 等于 1.95 美元,而 9.75 美元加上 1.95 美元等于 11.70 美元。

什么是轮班时间差?

班次差额是工作人员在周一至周日上午 8:00 至下午 5:00 以外的时间工作所获得的额外报酬。

换档差速器是否适用于 PTO?

是的,工作人员必须在他或她休息日的前一天和后一天进行符合轮班差异的轮班工作,才能获得 PTO、假期和病假的轮班差异工资。 这里没有法律要求,所以无论您做什么都完全取决于您。 但是,大多数提供轮班差异的企业都基于员工的正常轮班时间。

如果员工总是在晚班,他们将获得基本工资的平均值以及他们通常在带薪休假或生病时获得的差额。 如果员工在白天和夜班之间轮换,他们的休假率通常是正常的基本工资率。 许多企业选择为假期工资设置特定的费率或差异,就像他们为通宵或周末轮班设置一样。

无论您决定如何补偿您的员工,您都应始终在员工的正式休假文件通知中告知他们商定的费率。

夜班差额薪酬

通常不上夜班的员工有资格获得夜班差额工资。 它与“夜班工资”不同,后者是指支付给第二班或第三班员工的工资。 夜间工资由您的通宵保安赚取,他们每晚从晚上 10 点工作到早上 6 点。 您通常在白天工作(或第一班)但在晚班工作的员工可以获得夜间差价。

夜差的排除是什么?

在实施夜班差额薪酬时,需要考虑一些独特的考虑因素:

  • 假期: 增加夜间工资的替代方法是提供额外的休假时间以换取每小时的工作。
  • 假期工资: 这通常是正常工资的 1.5 到 2 倍。 确定夜班差价是否会提高假期工资,以及通常上夜班但休假的员工是否将获得基本工资或夜班差价。
  • 行程: 工作出差可能会让人筋疲力尽,而且航班延误或道路施工会将出差推到夜班。 确定这种情况是否有资格获得夜班差额工资。

夜班差额薪酬何时适用?

当员工工作时间异常时,他们会收到夜班差额工资。 这些不寻常的时间表可能是由于季节性需求或项目。 

虽然联邦公平劳工标准法 (FLSA) 不要求支付夜差,但加班费是必需的。 此外,没有要求夜间差异的联邦法律。 大多数州和市缺乏二班和三班工资法,因此请咨询当地专家。

联邦政府对夜间差额薪酬的政策是什么?

联邦雇员在下午 7.5 点到晚上 3 点之间收入增加 11%,在晚上 10 点到早上 11 点之间增加 8%。在这些期间,政府不支付每小时工作的差额。 相反,如果轮班的大部分加班时间发生在此期间,则它会支付整个轮班的费用。

从凌晨 2 点工作到 10 点的员工将获得 10% 的加薪,因为他们八小时中有六小时是在晚上。 如果工作时间是从早上 6 点到下午 2 点,则没有区别。此外,如果员工在夜间正常工作,他们的假期、假期和差旅费将由他们的正常工作时间决定。

班次差异与加班相同吗?

加班费 与班次差薪不同。 两者相似且互补,但您不能以相同的方式计算它们或具有相同的法律含义。

轮班差额工资不是法律要求。 它仅用于在非标准时间激励工作。 因公司而异; 有些提供按小时计费的百分比,而另一些则提供固定的美元金额。 这些百分比和比率在同一行业内也可能有很大差异。 大多数每周工作超过 40 小时的小时工都可以获得加班费。

为什么夜班付出更多?

持续在第三班加班的工人获得所谓的“夜班工资”,因为他们在正常工资之外没有收到额外的工资。 另一方面,在特定时间轮班工作的员工仅在极少数情况下获得夜​​间差价。

无论员工是否因工作而获得加班费,企业与员工(或员工的代理人)之间可以协商过夜班。 《公平劳工标准法》(FLSA)不要求对夜间工作进行补偿。 但是,《公平劳工标准法》规定,非豁免员工的工资必须“不少于每周工作时间超过 40 小时的员工正常工资的一半”。

总结

夜班差薪使招聘和激励白天工人上夜班变得容易。 您可能已经在办公室工作了几个深夜,以跟上蓬勃发展的小型企业的需求。 尽管大多数工人宁愿在家睡觉,但夜班差别工资可以使这些时间的工作更加愉快。 如果您欣赏员工的工作,您将减少人员流动、提高生产力并增强信心。

班次差额支付常见问题解答

夜差价是多少?

经常在夜间工作的员工有资格获得基本工资 10% 的溢价。

如果在 12 周的标准参考期内测量的 24 小时内夜班的平均时长不超过 8 小时,则 17 小时夜班是合法的。

夜班差价是否应纳税?

根据 RA 9504,此类最低工资收入者收到的加班费、夜班差额工资和危险津贴无需缴纳所得税。

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

SHIFT DIFFERENTIAL PAY: Definition and Average Pay In 2022

shift differential pay
Image Source: www.hcamag.com

Paying employees a differential shift is an efficient way to address issues in the workplace. Although shift differentials aren’t mandated by federal law, they are commonly offered by employers, especially in the manufacturing sector, to entice workers to work the “undesirable” shifts of the night or weekend. Employees may appreciate the extra hours, but they will not appreciate having to report to work at 10 p.m. How can you make it more appealing to those who stay late? Find out more about how night shift differential pay works and the average differential shift pay in 2022.

What is Shift Differential Pay?

Shift differential pay is extra money that employees get when they work a less desirable shift, like in the evening or at midnight. An employee and their employer can strike a deal on the shift differential rate. Although the law does not require you to provide additional compensation, it can help you retain employees. Employers may choose to compensate employees with additional paid time off rather than pay shift differentials (PTO).

Employees working the third shift are likely to be paid more than those working the second shift. An employer may provide weekend differential pay in addition to the night shift differential. Employers may choose to pay weekend shift differentials to all employees rather than just second and third-shift employees.

What Is the Average Shift Differential Pay?

It all depends. Extra wages can range between 5 and 15 %. The average shift differential pay for hourly workers in 2022 ranges from a percentage (5–15%) of their hourly rate or a flat fee (50 cents to $1.25). You can calculate the 2022 average shift differential pay as 10% of the role’s hourly wage. Companies that offer an average shift differential pay to employees in 2022 will decide on the hourly rate depending on the annual salary and apply it uniformly.

How Do You Calculate Shift Differential Income?

Employers typically set the shift differential as a percentage of wages. The hiring company sets the compensation levels. When determining a percentage or amount for shift differentials, consider the employee’s responsibilities, experience, hours, and whether the employee is hourly or salaried.

Manually calculating shift differentials is pretty simple. A shift differential for hourly employees can be a percentage of the employee’s base rate or a flat amount per hour. They also come in premium forms for employees.

Assume you work in a factory. The first shift begins at 6 a.m. and ends at 2 p.m., and it pays $9.75 per hour. Because most factory workers want to get home early, they will prefer to work the first shift. The second shift, which runs from 2 p.m. to 10 p.m., is usually far less appealing.

As a result, the company will implement a shift differential pay policy in which workers who work from 2 p.m. to 10 p.m. will receive a 20% shift differential. If you work that less-desirable shift, you’ll earn $11.70 per hour worked, because 20% of $9.75 equals $1.95, and $9.75 plus $1.95 equals $11.70.

What Are Shift Differential Hours?

The shift differential is the extra pay a staff member receives for working outside of the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Sunday.

Does Shift Differential Apply to PTO?

Yes, a staff member must work on a shift eligible for the shift differential the day before and the day after his or her day off to get the shift differential pay for PTO, holidays, and sick time. There are no legal requirements here, so whatever you do is entirely up to you. However, most businesses that offer shift differentials base it on the employee’s regular shift hours.

If an employee is always on a later shift, they will get the average of the base rate and the differential they usually get when they take paid time off or are sick. If the employee rotates between day and night shifts, their leave rate is usually the regular base rate. Many businesses choose to set a specific rate or differential for holiday pay, just as they would for overnight or weekend shifts.

No matter how you decide to compensate your staff, you should always communicate the agreed-upon rate to the employee on their formal notice of leave paperwork.

Night Shift Differential Pay

Employees who do not typically work night shifts are eligible for night shift differential pay. It is not the same as “night pay,” which refers to the wages paid to employees who work the second or third shift. Night pay is earned by your overnight security guard, who works from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. every night. Your employee who normally works during the day – or first shift – but works a later shift earns night differentials.

What Are the Exclusions to the Night Differential?

There are some unique considerations to take into account when implementing night shift differential pay:

  • Vacation: The alternative to increasing nighttime wages is to offer additional vacation time in exchange for every hour of work.
  • Holiday pay: This is typically 1.5 to 2 times the regular pay. Determine if the night shift differential will boost holiday pay and if employees who usually work the night shift but get a holiday off will receive their base pay or the night shift differential.
  • Travel: Traveling for work can be exhausting, and flight delays or roadwork can push travel into the night shift. Determine whether or not this situation qualifies for night shift differential pay.

When Does Night Shift Differential Pay Apply?

When employees work unusual hours, they receive night shift differential pay. These unusual schedules are likely due to seasonal demands or projects. 

While night differentials are not required by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), overtime pay is. Additionally, there are no federal laws requiring nighttime differentials. Most states and municipalities lack second and third-shift pay laws, so consult a local expert.

What Is the Federal Government’s Policy on Night Differential Pay?

Federal employees earn 7.5% more between 3 p.m. and 11 p.m. and 10% more between 11 p.m. and 8 a.m. In those periods, the government does not pay the differential per hour of work. Instead, it pays for the entire shift if the majority of the overtime hours for the shift occur during the period.

An employee who works from 2 a.m. to 10 a.m. would get a 10% raise because six of their eight hours were at night. There would be no difference if the hours worked were from 6 a.m. to 2 p.m. In addition, if an employee is working a normal shift at night, their holiday, vacation, and travel pay will be determined by their regular work schedule.

Is Shift Differential the Same as Overtime?

Overtime pay is not the same as shift differential pay. Both are similar and complementary, but you can’t calculate them in the same way or have the same legal implications.

Shift differential pay is not a legal requirement. It is simply used to incentivize work during non-standard hours. It varies by company; some offer a percentage of an hourly rate, while others offer a fixed dollar amount. These percentages and rates can also vary significantly within the same industries. Most hourly workers who put in more than 40 hours in a workweek can receive overtime pay.

Why Does the Night Shift Pay More?

Workers who consistently put in extra time on the third shift get what’s known as “night pay,” since they don’t receive a premium on top of their regular salary. On the other hand, employees who work shifts between certain hours receive a night differential only on rare occasions.

Whether or not an employee receives overtime pay for working, overnight shifts are negotiable between the business and the worker (or the worker’s agent). The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) does not require night work to be compensated. However, the Fair Labor Standards Act mandates that nonexempt employees must be paid “not less than time and one-half the employee’s regular rate for time worked over 40 hours in a workweek.”

Conclusion

Night shift differential pay makes it simple to recruit and motivate daytime workers to work night shifts. You’ve probably put in more than a few late nights at the office to keep up with the demands of your thriving small business. Even though most workers would rather be at home sleeping, night shift differential pay can make working those hours more pleasant. If you appreciate your employees’ work, you’ll reduce turnover, boost productivity, and boost confidence.

Shift Differential Pay FAQs

How much is the night differential?

Employees who regularly work at night are eligible for a 10% premium on their base pay.

A 12-hour night shift is legal if the average length of a night shift in 24 hours does not exceed 8 hours when measured over a standard reference period of 17 weeks.

Is night shift differential taxable?

Overtime pay, night shift differential pay, and hazard pay received by such minimum wage earners are not subject to income tax under R.A. 9504.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like