什么是良好的利润率:为您的业务带来良好的利润率

什么是好的利润率
图片来源:大红

许多企业家进入公司世界是因为他们对自己的技能充满热情并喜欢为客户提供帮助。 尽管如此,这一切都围绕着赚钱和保持良好的利润。 像所有其他不断寻找新方法来提高盈利率的小企业或零售业主一样,这样做的一种方法是专注于扩大您的良好利润率,即扣除业务费用后剩余的金额。 本文将帮助企业主和企业家更好地理解良好利润率的概念。

什么是好的利润率?

良好的利润率是判断一家公司的健康状况和在该领域的竞争能力的最重要的方法之一。 为了保持经济健康,企业必须关注、分析公司的表现,并了解他们的组织如何花钱以实现收入最大化。

但是,利润率是确定公司盈利能力的指标。 这是一个百分比,表明贵公司在销售或服务中的每一美元中保留了多少利润。 如果您将公司的净收入除以其净销售额或收入,您将得到其净收入或净利润。 要计算公司的净收入或净利润,您可以从总收入中减去其费用。

它为什么如此重要?

Wentworth Financial Partners 的 Ken Wentworth 解释说:“良好的利润率很重要,因为它们揭示了每一美元中有多少流向了利润。” “它可以立即帮助确定定价问题。” 此外,定价违规可能会导致现金流问题,威胁您公司的持续生存。 “了解你所在的行业对于确定你是否达到了适当的利润率至关重要。 “例如,餐饮业的利润率通常低于 10%,”温特沃斯解释道。 然而,在咨询领域,利润率可能高达 80% 或更高——通常超过 100% 到 300%。”

盈利能力是所有企业的必备条件。 利润率是产品成本基础与其售价之间的百分比差异。 例如,一顶帽子对供应商来说要花费 10 美元。 这顶帽子在零售店的售价为 15 美元。 15 美元减去 10 美元等于 5 美元,即 50%。 因此,这顶帽子有 50% 的利润率。

了解零售中不同形式的利润也很重要。 毛利率决定了扣除所有销售商品成本后的利润。 同时,净利润率用于评估业务的整体健康状况。 计算一个公司的 净利,所有业务扣除额都是收入的减值。

什么是小型企业的良好利润率?

小型企业的良好利润率取决于其规模和性质。 另一方面,小企业的合理利润率通常在 7% 到 10% 之间。 但是,某些公司,例如零售或食品相关企业,可能具有较低的利润率。 这是因为它们的间接费用较高。

利润率有哪些类型?

#1。 毛利率

公司的毛利润是扣除直接费用后剩余的金额。 直接费用,有时称为“销售产品成本”,包括供应、直接劳动力和生产成本。 毛利率不包括利息、税收或公司的运营费用。

(总收入 - 销售成本)/总收入 x 100 = 毛利率

最终数字代表公司的盈利能力,但公司最好也计算营业利润率。 这是因为更高的营业利润率使得预算更多成本成为可能。

#2。 营业利润率

营业利润率是扣除产品销售成本和运营费用后剩下的收入。

营业利润率=(营业收入/净销售收入)x 100。

营业利润率被认为是公司财务考虑中比毛利更重要的成本。 这是因为营业利润率直接反映了公司如何分配资源。

#3。 税前利润率

税前利润率揭示了公司在扣除税款之前的盈利能力。 随着时间的推移比较利润率数字可以揭示公司的方向。

计算税前利润率:

(税前利润/收入)乘以 100

#4。 净利润率

净利润率是公司收入占总销售额的所有成本除以净收入后剩余的百分比。 总收入减去所有成本等于净利润。

(营业利润 - 利息费用 - 税费)/收入 x 100 = 净利润率

毛利率是多少?

一个好的毛利率在它可以告诉你公司的效率、盈利能力和长期健康方面有几个限制。 从表面上看,50% 到 70% 的毛利率似乎是健康的,而且对于包括零售商、餐馆、制造商和其他商品制造商在内的许多类型的企业来说都是如此。 但是,对于某些企业,例如金融机构、律师事务所或其他服务行业公司,50% 的毛利率可能被认为是低利率。

律师事务所、银行、科技公司和其他服务行业企业的毛利率通常在 90% 左右。 这是因为服务组织的生产成本通常低于商品制造商。 与服务业不同,服装零售的毛利率在 XNUMX% 到 XNUMX% 之间,一些快餐连锁店的毛利率高达 XNUMX%。

计入固定成本后, 间接成本、折旧和摊销,以及利息费用和税收,其他盈利指标,如营业利润率和净利润,将告诉您更多有关您的业务的效率和利润的信息。 公司的毛利率将公司的毛利率与其总收入进行比较。 它以百分比形式给出。 因此,如果税率为 25%,则意味着该公司的毛利润为 25 美分。

零售店的良好利润率

现实情况是,小型零售店正在蓬勃发展并盈利,而 互联网营销人员 正在苦苦挣扎。 在线销售行业并没有很多人想象的那么赚钱,也没有让小企业倒闭。 据《福布斯》报道,在线商家发现吸引客户、创建品牌、完成订单和吸收退货的成本几乎确保了亏损。

尽管电子商务仅占整体零售额的 10%,但实体店利润率的损失迫使店主提高 管理技巧. 寻找更好的产品组合,对消费者口味的变化做出更迅速的反应,寻找追加销售相关产品的方法,以及通过更积极的价格降价来增加库存周转率,这些都是盈利的必要组成部分。

如何计算您的利润率

要计算和提高利润率,您必须首先选择如何量化它们。 但是,您可以使用以下公式确定您的保证金:

利润率 = 净收入除以收入乘以 100

因此,如果您以 100,000 美元的收入赚取 800,000 美元,那么您的利润率为 12.5%。 但是如果你的利润率是 30% 呢? 你现在用同样的 240,000 美元的收入赚了 800,000 美元,因为你想出了如何最大化你的利润。 一般来说,您的利润率越高,您作为小企业主赚的钱就越多。

如何提高小型企业的利润率

每家公司都可以通过增加收入或削减开支,或两者兼而有之来提高其净利润率。 困难在于理解每个移除杠杆的商业后果。

利润率如何影响经济 

在以资本主义为基础的自由市场经济中,利润率至关重要。 为了吸引投资者,与同类企业相比,利润率必须足够高。 从某种意义上说,利润率有助于确定市场经济中的供给。 公司不会提供不会产生利润的产品或服务。 由于美国工人比其他国家的工人更贵,利润率是公司离岸劳动力的主要原因。 公司旨在以健康的利润率销售其产品,同时保持 有竞争力的价格. 他们必须将工作转移到墨西哥、中国或其他国家的低成本工人,以保持较低的销售成本。

这些利润率也可能有助于公司开发产品或服务 定价策略. 公司根据生产商品的成本以及他们希望获得的利润来设定价格。 例如,零售店要求 50% 的利润率来支付分销成本和投资回报。 基石价格指的是这个保证金。 每个参与将产品上架的实体都将价格翻倍,迫使零售店老板以 50% 的回报率支付费用。

例如,一家受到库存费用上涨打击的餐厅可能会收取更高的每件商品价格。 然而,由于他们的客户对价格敏感,他们可能会选择通过减少份量来最小化成本。 一个 咨询公司另一方面,可以通过改变内部工作流程来降低成本。 假设一名高级顾问每周花费 5 个不计费的小时来输入考勤卡和成本。 为了减少人工费用,这些职责绝对应该自动化或分配给成本较低的数据录入员。

60% 是一个很好的利润率吗?

从表面上看,毛利率在 50% 到 70% 之间被认为是健康的,这适用于许多不同类型的企业,包括餐馆、商家、制造商和其他商品制造商。

15%的利润率好吗?

根据纽约大学对利润率的分析,美国所有行业的平均净利润率为 7.71%。 但是,这并不一定意味着这是您应该追求的利润率。 好的利润率是 10%,健康的利润率是 5%,大的利润率是 20%。

什么利润率太低?

根据公司金融协会的数据,5% 的利润率被认为是低的,10% 是典型的,20% 是高的。 需要明确的是,这并不意味着你赚的钱比竞争对手多,因为你的小公司可能比竞争对手有更高的利润率。

80%的利润率好吗?

收入为 10 万美元的企业可能比收入为 20 万美元的企业更有价值,这是一个主要因素。 大多数 VC 和 SaaS 行业专业人士建议,SaaS 业务的目标是 80% 左右的毛利率。

25%的利润率高吗?

您可能想知道,“什么是可观的利润率?” 一般来说,10% 的净利润率被认为是典型的,20% 的利润率是高(或“优秀”),5% 的利润率是低的。 但是,每个行业的可观利润率会有很大差异。

总结

始终了解和跟踪您的利润率至关重要。 你的公司需要赚钱才能维持生计,跟踪你的利润率将帮助你弄清楚你的公司有多健康以及它是否可以扩张。 无论你是 大公司 或在车库外经营的小企业,您应该了解您的利润率。

常见问题

创业公司的良好利润率是多少?

初创企业的良好利润率应该是 10%,并且是新业务瞄准的好地方。

什么是平均利润率?

在所有行业中,平均净利润率为 7.71%。 但是,这并不意味着您的最佳利润率将与此数字相同。

小型企业的平均利润是多少?

拥有 5 到 10 年经验的小企业主的平均年薪为 70,000 美元。 拥有 72,000 到 XNUMX 年经验的小型企业企业家每年可赚取约 XNUMX 美元。

  1. 净销售额:定义、重要性以及如何计算
  2. 毛利润百分比:定义、公式和计算方法
  3. 毛利率:公式和如何计算毛利率
  4. 账户声明:为什么你需要一个
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

WHAT IS A GOOD PROFIT MARGIN: Good Profit Margin For Your Business

WHAT IS A GOOD PROFIT MARGIN
Image credit: Big Red

Numerous entrepreneurs enter the company world because they are enthusiastic about their skills and enjoy assisting customers. Still, it all revolves around making money and maintaining a good profit. Like every other small business or retail owner who is constantly looking for new ways to increase their rate of profitability, one approach to do so is to concentrate on expanding your good profit margin, which is the amount of money remaining after deducting business expenses. This article will assist business owners and entrepreneurs in better understanding the concept of good profit margins.

What Are Good Profit Margins?

A good profit margin is one of the most important ways to judge a company’s health and ability to compete in its sector. To stay economically healthy, businesses must pay attention, analyze how well a firm is performing, and understand how their organization spends money in order to maximize revenues.

However, the profit margins are a metric for determining how profitable your company is. It’s a percentage that indicates how much of every dollar in sales or services your company keeps as profit. If you divide a company’s net income by its net sales or revenue, you get its net income or net profit. To figure out a company’s net income, or net profit, you subtract its expenses from its total revenue.

Why Is It Important?

“Good profit margins are important because they reveal how much of every dollar flows to the bottom line,” explained Ken Wentworth of Wentworth Financial Partners. “It can instantly assist in determining pricing issues.” Moreover, pricing irregularities might cause cash flow issues, threatening your company’s continued survival. “Knowing your industry is essential for establishing whether or not you are hitting the proper profit margin. “Margins in the restaurant industry, for example, are often less than 10%,” Wentworth explained. However, in the consulting world, margins can be as high as 80% or higher – typically exceeding 100% to 300%.”

Profitability is a must for all enterprises. The margin is the percentage difference between a product’s cost basis and its selling price. A hat, for example, costs $10 to the supplier. The hat will be priced at $15 in the retail store. $15 minus $10 equals $5, or 50%. As a result, the hat has a 50% profit margin.

It’s also important to understand the different forms of profit in retail. The gross profit margin determines the profit after deducting the cost of all goods sold. In the meantime, the net profit margin is used to assess the overall health of the business. To calculate a company’s net income, all business deductions are a minus from revenue.

What Is a Good Profit Margin for a Small Business?

A good profit margin for a small business is determined by its size and nature. A reasonable profit margin for a small business, on the other hand, often ranges between 7% and 10%. However, certain firms, such as retail or food-related businesses, may have a lower profit margin. This is because they have higher overhead expenditures.

What Are the Types of Profit Margins?

#1. Gross Profit Margins

A company’s gross profit is the amount of money remaining after deducting direct expenses. Direct expenses, sometimes known as the “cost of products sold,” comprise supplies, direct labor, and production costs. The gross margin does not include interest, taxes, or a company’s operating expenses.

(Total Revenue – Cost of Goods Sold)/Total Revenue x 100 = Gross Profit Margin

The final number represents a company’s profitability, but it is best practice for a corporation to also compute the operating margin. This is because a higher operating profit margin makes it possible to budget for more costs.

#2. Operating Profit Margins

The operating profit margin is the income left after deducting the cost of products sold and running expenses.

Operating Profit Margin = (Operating Income/Net Sales Revenue) x 100.

Operating profit margin is regarded as a more important cost for a company’s financial consideration than gross profit. This is because the operating profit margin is a direct reflection of how well a company allocates its resources.

#3. Pre-tax Profit Margins

The Pre-Tax Profit Margin reveals a company’s profitability before subtracting taxes. Comparing profit margin numbers over time reveals the company’s orientation.

Calculating Pre-tax Profit Margin:

(Earnings Before Taxes/Revenues) multiplied by 100

#4. Net Profit Margin

The net profit margin ratio is the percentage of a company’s revenue that remains after all costs are taken into account from total sales and divided by net revenue. Total revenue less all costs equals net profit.

(Operating Profit – Interest Expenses – Tax Expenses)/Revenue x 100 = Net Profit Margin

What Is the Gross Profit Margin Rate?

A good gross profit margin rate has several limits in terms of what it can tell you about your company’s efficiency, profitability, and long-term health. On the surface, a gross profit margin ratio of 50 to 70% would appear to be healthy, and it would be for many types of businesses, including retailers, restaurants, manufacturers, and other goods makers. However, for some businesses, such as financial institutions, law firms, or other service industry corporations, a gross profit margin of 50% may be considered a low rate.

Gross profit margins in the high 90 percent range are usual for law firms, banks, technology corporations, and other service industry enterprises. This is because service organizations often have lower production costs than manufacturers of goods. Unlike in the service industry, the gross profit margin rate in clothing retail can range from three to thirteen percent, with some fast-food franchises achieving gross margins as high as forty percent.

After accounting for fixed costs, overhead costs, depreciation, and amortization, as well as interest charges and taxes, other profitability indicators, such as operating profit margin and net profit, will tell you more about how efficient and lucrative your business is. The gross profit margin rate of a corporation compares the company’s gross margin to its total revenue. It is given as a percentage. So, if the rate is 25%, it means that the company’s gross profit is 25 cents on the dollar.

Good Profit Margin in Retail Store

The reality is that small retail establishments are thriving and profitable, whereas internet marketers are struggling. The online sales industry is not as profitable as many people imagine, and it hasn’t driven small businesses out of business. According to Forbes, online merchants are discovering that the costs of attracting customers, creating a brand, completing orders, and absorbing returns almost ensure a loss.

Despite the fact that e-commerce accounts for only 10% of overall retail sales, the loss of profit margin in physical stores has forced store owners to improve their management skills. Finding a better product mix, reacting more swiftly to changes in consumer tastes, finding ways to upsell related products, and increasing inventory turnover with more aggressive price markdowns for slow-movers are now all necessary components of making a profit.

How to Calculate Your Profit Margins

To calculate and improve your profit margins, you must first choose how to quantify them. However, you may determine your margin using the following formula:

Profit margin = net income divided by revenue multiplied by 100

So, if you earned $100,000 on revenue of $800,000, your profit margin is 12.5 percent. But what if your profit margins were 30%? You’re now making $240,000 on the same $800,000 in revenue because you worked out how to maximize your margins. In general, the higher your profit margins, the more money you’ll make as a small business owner.

How to Improve Your Small Business’s Profit Margin

Every company can improve its net profit margins by raising revenue or cutting expenses, or both. The difficulty is in comprehending the business consequence of each lever removed.

How Profit Margins Affect the Economy 

In a free-market economy based on capitalism, profit margins are crucial. To attract investors, the margin must be high enough when compared to similar enterprises. Profit margins, in a sense, aid in the determination of supply in a market economy. Companies will not supply a product or service that does not generate a profit. Because American workers are more expensive than workers in other nations, profit margins are a major reason why firms offshore labor. Companies aim to sell their products at healthy profit margins while maintaining a competitive price. They must shift jobs to lower-cost workers in Mexico, China, or other foreign countries to keep sales costs low.

These profit margins may also aid companies in developing product or service pricing strategies. Companies set their prices based on the cost of producing their goods as well as the amount of profit they hope to make. The retail shop, for example, demands a 50 percent profit margin to cover distribution costs and return on investment. The keystone price refers to this margin. Each entity involved in getting a product to the shelves doubles the price, forcing retail shop owners to cover expenses with a 50 percent return.

For example, a restaurant hit by rising inventory expenses may charge a higher price per item. However, because their clients are price-sensitive, they may choose to minimize costs by reducing portion sizes instead. A consulting firm, on the other hand, may cut costs by altering internal workflow processes. Assume a senior consultant spends 5 non-billable hours each week entering time cards and costs. To reduce labor expenses, those duties should definitely be automated or allocated to a lower-cost data entry clerk.

Conclusion

It’s critical to understand and track your profit margins at all times. Your company needs to make money to stay afloat, and tracking your profit margins will help you figure out how healthy your firm is and whether it can expand. Whether you’re a large corporation or a small business operating out of a garage, you should be aware of your profit margins.

FAQs

What is a good profit margin for a startup?

Good profit margins for a start-up should be 10 percent and a good place for a new business to aim for.

What is average profit margin?

Across all industries, the average net profit margin is 7.71 percent. However, this does not imply that your optimum profit margin will be the same as this figure.

What is the average profit for a small business?

The average salary for a small business owner with 5 to 10 years of experience is $70,000 per year. Small business entrepreneurs with ten to twenty years of experience earn about $72,000 per year.

  1. NET SALES: Definition, Importance & How To Calculate It
  2. GROSS PROFIT PERCENTAGE: Definition, Formula & How to calculate
  3. Gross Profit Margin: Formula & How to Calculate the Gross Profit margin
  4. STATEMENT OF ACCOUNT: Why You Need One
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like