什么是社会保障工资:定义、计算及其运作方式

w2的社会保障工资是多少,限制
图片来源:shrm

社会保障工资基数 (SSWB) 是最高收入总收入或社会保障税可向有薪雇员征收的上限。 该税是 FICA 和自雇税的一个组成部分; 另一个组成部分是医疗保险税。 这是关于什么是社会保障工资 (w2) 以及它们在 2023 年的限额的详细指南

社会保障工资 

社会保障工资是需要预扣联邦社会保障税的雇员的收入(在 6.2 纳税年度,雇主为 6.2%,雇员为 2020%)。 雇主 无论员工是否预期有资格获得社会保障福利,都需要扣除此税。

社会保障福利包括以下内容:

  1. 您按小时支付工资,按薪金支付工资
  2. 奖金
  3. 佣金
  4. 病假
  5. 为符合条件的退休计划供款

2021 年,社会保障收入的最高应税收入为 142,800 美元,其中还包括符合条件的员工工资和/或自雇收入。 每年都要检查最高限额,并根据通货膨胀、系统的财务状况以及向高薪员工提供可接受的福利进行调整。

当员工达到当年的最高收入时,不会暂停额外的社会保障税。

谁有资格获得社会保障福利?

根据美国国税局的说法,受社会保障收入影响的雇员是“美国的任何雇员,无论雇员或雇主的公民身份或住所如何”。

但是,对于在另一个国家/地区工作的员工,总计协议会与某些国家/地区协调社会保障税收和覆盖范围,从而避免收入和覆盖范围的重复。

社会保障福利和总收入是否相等?

社会保障支付的工资不等于总收入。 虽然社会保障工资和总收入通常相同,但它们可能不同。

总收入是所有报酬的总和,也可用于确定税款和其他暂扣金额。 社会保障工资是根据总收入计算的,并受到特定的包含和排除。

社会保障福利有什么好处?

您在社会保障工资中不包括收入(或补偿金)包括以下内容:

  1. 小费(假设每月不超过 20 美元)
  2. 报销出差费用
  3. 雇主支付的健康或意外保险费
  4. 雇主对健康储蓄账户 (HSA) 的供款
  5. 雇主对符合条件的退休计划的供款
  6. 工伤赔偿福利
  7. 未满 18 周岁(或未满 21 周岁从事家政行业)的家庭员工
  8. 残疾工人的某些工资
  9. 向非雇员的法定付款
  10. 超额福利不征税 

其次是2023年社保工资限额。

2023 年社会保障工资限额

因此,社会保障工资限额将在 147,000 年增加到 2023 美元(从 142,800 年的 2022 美元)。 2023 年,从员工工资中扣除的社会保障税最高金额为 9,114 美元(147,000 美元 x 6.2%)。 此外,社会保障受益人将在 2023 年获得略微增加的福利金。

个人和夫妇的福利增加了 5.9%。

社会保障税增幅最高的年份发生在 2021 年,但 2022 年的增幅也很大。

其他可能影响个人社会保障金的重大变化包括生活成本调整和退休收入免税额。

社会保障税的运作方式

社会保障税,也称为“老年、幸存者和残疾保险 (OASDI) 税”,用于支持美国社会保障计划。 截至 2021 年 65 月,约有 1,439 万人每月领取约 XNUMX 美元的社会保障福利。

因此,税收分为两个部分。 第一个是《联邦保险缴款法》(FICA)规定的工资税,第二个是《自雇缴款法》规定的自雇税(SECA)。 因此,剩余部分由医疗保险税组成,有时也称为“医院保险税”。

工资税以员工获得的净收入、薪水和小费的数字表示。 通常,雇主会代扣代缴这些税款,并代表雇员将其汇给政府。 2022年,雇主的社会保障税率为6.2%,雇员为6.2%。 最后,雇主和雇员对医疗保险的缴款是分开的,2.9 财年和 2021 财年的税率为 2022%。

2023 年社会保障工资税限制

年度社会保障税限额由国家工资指数 (NAWI) 的变化决定,该指数每年都在增长。 因此,这些修改旨在确保社会保障支出继续跟上通货膨胀的步伐。 

任何超过工资上限的收入均免征 6.2% 的社会保障工资税。 例如,165,000 年收入 2023 美元的工人将支付 9,114 美元的社会保障税(147,000 美元乘以 6.2%)。

但是请记住,医疗保险税没有工资基数限制。 虽然员工只对前 147,00 美元征税,但他们将按总额 165,000 美元征税。 200,000 年收入超过 2023 万美元的工人还将面临 0.9% 的额外医疗保险税。 

社会保障税限额的提高,加上对高收入征收更高的医疗保险税,可能会导致实得工资降低。 不幸的是,这意味着 200,000 年收入超过 2023 美元的工人可能在 2023 年欠税。

社会保障税限额的演变

因此,自 1990 年以来,社会保障税率几乎没有变化,雇员支付了 6.2%。 但是,与税率相比,您可以每年更改社会保障税限额。

在过去 2021 年中的 2022 年中,联邦政府提高了社会保障税限额。 最高增幅发生在 3.6 年和 3.7 年,限额分别提高了 2.9% 和 2023%。 到 XNUMX 年,增长率将达到 XNUMX%。

生活费用调整(COLA)

COLA 是每年增加的社会保障福利金额。 它还使用劳工部 (CPI-W) 发布的城市工薪阶层和文职人员消费价格指数计算得出。 国会于 1975 年开始实施年度 COLA 调整,当时正值通货膨胀异常高的时期。

到 2022 年,COLA 为 5.9%。 这意味着大约 70 万社会保障用户的月度福利将增加。 5.9% 的增幅比前几年显着增加。 到 1,657 年,个人平均将获得 2022 美元的 SSA 福利,而夫妻平均将获得 2,753 美元。

接下来要读的是w2上的社保工资

W2 上的社会保障工资

W-2 是雇主每年向雇员提供的一种表格,详细说明公司在日历年内向雇员支付的金额、从薪水中扣除的税款以及影响雇员所欠所得税金额的其他工资预扣税。

方框 1 中的收入和方框 3 中的社会保障工资是 W2 的两个关键组成部分。 收入包括应税工资、小费和其他 补偿形式,但社会保障收入仅包括缴纳社会保障税的收入。 某些税前扣除和工资不征税,因此不属于某些 W-2 部分。

应税工资信息

雇员的应税工资、小费和其他应税补偿的总额显示在 W-1 表格的方框 2 中。 该数字不包括因 401(k) 计划或健康储蓄账户 (HSA) 等福利而从薪水中推迟支付的任何款项,以及根据联邦法律免税的任何工资。 正常工资、假期、加班费、奖金、病假工资、遣散费和佣金都需要纳税。 雇主还可以通过将员工的全部工资相加并减去非应税工资和税前扣除额来计算方框 1 中的金额。

社会保障工资

W2 表格的方框 3 显示了雇员因社会保障工资而获得的工资总额。 但是,美国国税局还对每年应缴纳社会保障税的收入金额进行了限制。 因此,方框 1 中显示的金额可能与方框 3 中显示的金额有所不同,因为每个税前扣除必须遵循不同的税收法规。

如何计算社会保障和纳税

作为雇主,您有责任计算应从每位员工的薪水中扣留的社会保障、医疗保健和所得税。 每个员工支付所欠医疗费用税的一半,而您的公司支付剩余的一半。 需要每月向 IRS 存入员工的任何税款,以及您对社会保障和医疗保险的匹配供款。 以下是计算 W2 社会保障工资的步骤

#1。 确定总工资

计算每个员工的总工资。 您还必须独立执行每个分析。 一次只关注一名员工。 如果您按小时向员工支付工资,请将工作小时数乘以工资单期间员工的小时薪酬。 如果您还向不加班的员工支付工资,您可以根据员工的工资率和支付频率确定总工资。

#2。 减去授权扣除额

扣除员工授权的任何税前扣除。 员工缴纳的健康保险费和 401(k) 计划都是常见的税前扣除。 如果雇主与雇员的供款相匹配,则您不应在计算中包括相应的组成部分。 结果,雇员的工资变成应纳税的。

#3。 计算社会保障税

将雇员的应税工资总额提高 6.2%。 这是社会保障税的一部分,也是由员工支付的。 2019 年的最高应税收入为 132,900 美元。 这意味着收入达到或超过年工资基数限制的员工将在当年支付 8,239.80 美元的社会保障税。

#4。 确定医疗保险税

将员工的总薪酬提高 1.45%。 这是雇员应缴纳的医疗保险税的一部分。

#5。 确定所得税预扣要求

检查员工的 W-4 预扣津贴证明。 根据员工的申报状态和要求的豁免数量计算要预扣的联邦所得税金额。 因此,如果员工声称“豁免”,您没有义务扣留任何 所得税.

#6。 确定联邦税

有关预扣税表,请参阅 IRS 出版物 15。 利用出版物背面的工资等级表。 请参阅与您的支付频率以及员工 W-4 上要求的申报状态和豁免数量相对应的图表。

在表格中找到您员工的应税工资,并将其与表示员工免税额的列进行比较。 表中的数字是应该暂停的联邦所得税金额。

#7.计算社会保障和医疗保险匹配 

将雇员的总工资乘以 7.65%。 这是贵公司对社会保障 (6.2%) 和医疗保险 (1.45%) 的配套缴款金额。

#8。 计算要存入的总税款

将员工的社会保障和医疗保险供款、您雇主的份额以及从员工预扣的任何联邦所得税加在一起。 结果是必须代表雇员存入的税款总额。 为每位员工执行以下步骤。

#9。 每月向美国国税局存款

计算每个员工的应缴税额,并在每个月的 15 日将其提交给 IRS,以获取上个月的工资单。 您必须通过电子资金转账支付系统 (EFTPS) 以电子方式缴纳税款。

工资和社保工资有什么区别?

方框 1 中的工资收入和方框 3 中的社会保障收入是 W-2 的两个关键组成部分。 收入包括应税工资、小费和其他形式的补偿,但社会保障收入仅包括应缴纳社会保障税的收入。

如何计算社会保障收入?

作为雇主,您有责任计算应从每位员工的薪水中预扣的社会保障税、医疗保健税和所得税。 每个员工支付一半的医疗保健费用和所欠税款,而您的公司支付剩余的一半。

社保工资是总收入吗?

社会保障支付的工资不等于总收入。 虽然社会保障工资和总收入通常相同,但它们可能不同。 总收入是所有报酬的总和,用于确定税款和其他预扣税的金额。

社会保障工资是否应纳税?

正常工资、假期、加班费、奖金、病假工资、遣散费和佣金都需要纳税。 雇主通过将雇员的全部工资相加并减去非应税工资和税前扣除额来计算方框 1 中的金额。

每个人都获得社会保障工资吗?

如果您年满 62 岁、有残障或失明,并且积累了足够的工作积分,则您有资格根据您的收入记录领取社会保障金。 根据您的工作经历有资格领取福利的家庭成员不需要工作积分。

支付的最高社会保障金额是多少?

最高福利取决于您的退休年龄。 例如,如果您在 2023 年达到完全退休年龄退休,您的最高福利将为 3,345 美元。 但是,如果您在 62 年 2023 岁退休,您将获得最高 2,364 美元的福利。

如果你从未工作过,你会得到社会保障吗?

即使您从未在社会保障下工作过,如果您的配偶至少 62 岁并且您正在领取退休金或伤残福利,您可能有资格获得付款。 在 65 岁时,您的配偶也有资格享受 Medicare。

相关文章

  1. 加州最低工资:目前加州最低工资是多少?
  2. 资源对任何企业成功的重要性
  3. 总工资:定义、计算和示例(+快速工具)
  4. 利息收入:应税利息收入的定义和流程
  5. 什么是 MEDICARE C 部分:Medicare Advantage 计划和费用
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

What Are Social Security Wages: Definition, Calculation & How It Works

what are Social security wages on w2, limit
image source: shrm

The Social Security Wage Base (SSWB) is the maximum earned gross income or upper threshold at which the Social Security tax may be charged on a wage employee. This tax is one component of the FICA and self-employment taxes; the other component is the Medicare tax. Here is a well-detailed guide on what are social security wages (w2) and what their limits are in 2022

Social Security Wages 

Social Security wages are the earnings of an employee that are subject to withholding of federal Social Security taxes (6.2 percent for the employer and 6.2 percent for the employee for the 2020 tax year). Employers are in need to deduct this tax regardless of whether the employee anticipates qualifying for Social Security benefits.

Social Security benefits include the following:

  1. You pay wages on an hourly basis and wages paid on a salary basis
  2. Bonuses
  3. Commission
  4. Sick leave
  5. Paid time off Contributions to an eligible retirement plan

For the year 2021, the maximum taxable income for Social Security earnings is $142,800, which also includes eligible employee wages and/or self-employment income. Always check the maximum limit annually, and adjust it for inflation, the system’s financial health, and the provision of acceptable benefits to higher-salary employees.

When an employee achieves the earnings maximum for the year, no additional Social Security tax is on hold.

Who Is Eligible for Social Security Benefits?

According to the IRS, employees who are subject to Social Security earnings are any “employee in the United States, regardless of the employee’s or employer’s citizenship or domicile.”

However, for employees who work in another country, Totalization Agreements coordinate Social Security taxation and coverage with certain nations, so avoiding duplication of revenue and coverage.

Are Social Security Benefits and Gross Income Equivalent?

Wages paid by Social Security are not equal to gross income. While Social Security salaries and gross income are frequently identical, they may not be.

Gross income is the sum of all remuneration and is also useful to determine the amount of taxes and others on hold. Social Security salaries are calculated based on gross income and are subject to particular inclusions and exclusions.

What Is Out from Social Security Benefits?

You do not include earnings (or compensation payments) in Social Security salaries include the following:

  1. Gratuities (assuming they do not exceed $20 per month)
  2. Expenses for business trip reimbursed
  3. Premiums for health or accident insurance paid by the employer
  4. Contributions to health savings accounts (HSAs) by employers
  5. Contributions by employers to eligible retirement plans
  6. Benefits under workers’ compensation
  7. Employees in the family that are under the age of 18 (or under 21 in the domestic work industry)
  8. Certain wages for disabled workers
  9. Statutory payments to non-employees
  10. Excess fringe benefits are not taxable 

Next, is the social security wages limit in 2022.

Social Security Wages Limit 2022

The Social Security wages limit will thus increase to $147,000 in 2022 (from $142,800 in 2021). In 2022, the maximum amount of Social Security tax taken from an employee’s salary will be $9,114 ($147,000 x 6.2 percent). Additionally, Social Security beneficiaries will receive a slightly increased benefit payment in 2022.

Individuals and couples received a 5.9 percent increase in benefits.

The highest increase in social security taxes occurred in 2021, but 2022 is also significant.

Other significant changes that might affect an individual’s Social Security payments include the cost-of-living adjustment and the retirement earnings exempt amounts.

How the Social Security Tax Works

The Social Security tax, alternatively also referred to as the “Old-Age, Survivors, and Disability Insurance (OASDI) tax,” is used to support the United States Social Security program. As of September 2021, around 65 million people were receiving monthly Social Security benefits of approximately $1,439 each.

The tax is therefore into two components. The first is the Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA)-mandated payroll tax, and the second is the Self-Employment Contributions Act-mandated self-employment tax (SECA). The remaining portion is thus made up of the Medicare tax, sometimes known as the “hospital insurance tax.”

Payroll taxes are in figures on the net earnings, salaries, and tips earned by an employee. Generally, an employer withholds these taxes and remits them to the government on behalf of the employee. In 2022, the employer’s Social Security tax rate will be 6.2 percent and the employees will be 6.2 percent. Lastly, Employer and employee contributions to Medicare are split, with a combination of the tax rate of 2.9 percent for the fiscal years 2021 and 2022.

Limit on Social Security Wages Taxation 2022

Annual Social Security tax limits are determined by changes in the National Wage Index (NAWI), which tends to grow each year. The modifications are thus meant to ensure that Social Security payouts continue to keep pace with inflation. 

Any income earned above the wage ceiling is exempt from the 6.2 percent Social Security payroll tax. For instance, a worker earning $165,000 in 2022 will pay $9,114 in Social Security taxes ($147,000 multiplied by 6.2 percent).

Bear in mind, however, that the Medicare tax has no wage base limit. While the employee is only taxed on the first $147,00, they will be taxed on the total $165,000. Workers earning moreover $200,000 in 2022 will also face an additional 0.9 percent Medicare tax. 

The rise in the Social Security tax limits combined with the higher Medicare tax on high earnings may result in lower take-home pay. Unfortunately, this means that workers earning more than $200,000 in 2021 may owe additional taxes in 2022.

The Evolution of Social Security Tax Limits

The Social Security tax rate thus rarely changes since 1990, employees have paid 6.2 percent. In contrast to the tax rate, however, you can change the Social Security tax limits annually.

In ten of the last eleven years, the federal government increased the Social Security tax limits. The highest increases occurred in 2020 and 2021 when the limit was increased by 3.6% and 3.7%, respectively. The rise will be 2.9 percent in 2022.

Cost-of-Living Adjustment (COLA)

The COLA is an annual increase in the amount of Social Security benefits. It is also calculated using the Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers published by the Department of Labor (CPI-W). Congress began implementing annual COLA adjustments in 1975, at a period of extraordinarily high inflation.

For 2022, the COLA is 5.9 percent. This means that around 70 million Social Security users will experience a rise in their monthly benefits. The 5.9 percent gain is a significant increase over previous years. Individuals will receive an average of $1,657 in SSA benefits in 2022, while couples will receive an average of $2,753.

Next to read is social security wages on w2

Social Security Wages on W2

A W-2 is a form that employers provide to employees each year that details how much the company paid the employee during the calendar year, the taxes deducted from paychecks, and other payroll withholdings that affect the amount of income tax the employee owes.

The earnings in Box 1 and the Social Security wages in Box 3 are two critical components of a W2. Earnings include taxable wages, tips, and other forms of compensation, but Social Security earnings include just those incomes subject to the Social Security levy. Certain pretax deductions and wages are not taxable and are therefore off from certain W-2 sections.

Information on Taxable Wages

The total amount of an employee’s taxable pay, tips, and other taxable compensation is shown in Box 1 of the W-2 form. This figure excludes any money postponed from a paycheck for benefits such as a 401(k) plan or health savings account (HSA), as well as any wages that are tax-exempt under federal law. Regular salary, vacation, overtime, bonuses, sick pay, severance pay, and commissions are all subject to taxation. Employers can also compute the amount that goes in Box 1 by adding the entire wages of an employee and subtracting nontaxable wages and pretax deductions.

Social Security Wages

The W2 form’s box 3 indicates the total amount of wages an employee earned that are due to Social Security wage. However, the Internal Revenue Service also establishes a limit on the amount of income that is subject to the Social Security tax each year. Thus, the amount displayed in Box 1 may change from the amount shown in Box 3 due to the differing tax regulations that each pretax deduction must follow.

How to Calculate Social Security & Tax Payments

As an employer, you are responsible for calculating the social security, health care, and also income taxes that should be on hold from each employee’s paycheck. Each employee pays half of the Healthcare Expenses taxes owed, while your firm pays the remaining half. Monthly deposits to the IRS of any tax on hold from an employee, as well as your matching contribution for Social Security and Medicare, are in need. Below are the steps to take in calculating social security wages in W2

#1. Determine Gross Wages

Calculate the gross wage for each employee. You must also perform each analysis independently. Concentrate on a single employee at a time. If you pay the employee on an hourly basis, multiply the number of hours worked by the employee’s hourly compensation during payroll. If you also pay the employee who does not work overtime, you can determine the gross wage by the employee’s salary rate and pay frequency.

#2. Subtract Authorized Deductions

Deduct any pre-tax deductions authorized by the employee. Employee contributions to health insurance premiums and 401(k) plans are both common pre-tax deductions. If the employer matches employee contributions, you should not include the corresponding component in your calculation. As a result, the employee’s pay becomes taxable.

#3. Calculate Social Security Tax

Increase the gross taxable wage of the employee by 6.2 percent. This is the portion of Social Security tax that is also payable by employees. The maximum taxable income for 2019 is $132,900. This means that an employee earning up to or beyond the yearly wage base limit would pay a Social Security tax of $8,239.80 for the year.

#4. Determine Medicare Taxes

Increase the gross compensation of the employee by 1.45 percent. This is the portion of the Medicare tax that is payable by employees.

#5. Determine Income Tax Withholding Requirements

Examine the employee’s W-4 certificate of withholding allowance. Calculate the amount of federal income tax to withhold based on the employee’s filing status and the number of exemptions claimed. Thus, if an employee claims to be “Exempt,” you are not in obligation to withhold any income tax.

#6. Determine Federal Taxes

Consult IRS Publication 15 for withholding tables. Utilize the wage bracket tables located in the publication’s back. Refer to the chart that corresponds to your pay frequency and the filing status and number of exemptions claimed on the employee’s W-4.

Locate your employee’s taxable salary in the table and compare it to the column indicating the employee’s exemptions. The figure in the table is the amount of federal income tax that should be on hold.

#7.Calculate the Social Security and Medicare Matching 

Multiply the gross wage of the employee by 7.65 percent. This is the amount of your company’s matching contribution to Social Security (6.2 percent) and Medicare (1.45 percent).

#8. Calculate the Total Taxes To Deposit

Add together the employee’s Social Security and Medicare contributions, your employer’s share, and any federal income tax withheld from the employee. The total amount of tax that must be in deposit on behalf of the employee is the outcome. Carry out the following steps for each employee.

#9. Make Monthly Deposits with the Internal Revenue Service

Calculate the amount of tax due for each employee and submit it to the IRS on the 15th of each month for the previous month’s payroll. You must electronically deposit the tax via the Electronic Funds Transfer Payment System (EFTPS).

FAQ

What is the difference between wages and social security wages?

The earnings of wages in Box 1 and the Social Security earnings in Box 3 are two critical components of a W-2. Earnings include taxable wages, tips, and other forms of compensation, but Social Security earnings include just those incomes subject to the Social Security levy.

How are Social Security earnings calculated?

As an employer, you are responsible for calculating the Social Security, Health care, and income taxes that should be withheld from each employee’s paycheck. Each employee pays half of the Healthcare Expenses taxes owed, while your firm pays the remaining half.

Is Social Security wages gross income?

Wages paid by Social Security are not equal to gross income. While Social Security salaries and gross income are frequently identical, they may not be. Gross income is the sum of all remuneration and is used to determine the amount of taxes and other withholdings.

Is Social Security wages taxable?

Regular salary, vacation, overtime, bonuses, sick pay, severance pay, and commissions are all subject to taxation. Employers compute the amount that goes in Box 1 by adding the entire wages of an employee and subtracting nontaxable wages and pretax deductions.

Related Article

  1. CALIFORNIA MINIMUM WAGE: What is the current California minimum wage?
  2. The Importance of Resources for the Success of Any Business
  3. Gross Pay: Definitions, Calculations and Examples (+Quick Tools)
  4. Interest Income: Definition and Process Of Taxable Interest Income
  5. WHAT IS MEDICARE PART C: Medicare Advantage Plans & Costs
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like