主要居住地:定义和豁免 

主要住所
图片来源:ShajaniLLP

主要住所是个人居住的主要地点。 这篇文章将主要讨论主要住所的含义以及您在不同州(尤其是密歇根州)可以获得的主要住所豁免。 它还正确解释了主要住所的法律如何在各州之间以不同的方式适用。

校长公寓 

财产本身的所有权并不意味着它是主要住宅。 同样,将家具和其他个人物品放在财产上并不一定符合条件。 出于税收目的,该物业必须至少使用两年才能满足某些条件。

该术语仅表示一个人居住或居住的主要位置。 它也被称为主要住宅。 不管是房子、公寓、拖车还是船,只要是个人或家庭大部分时间居住的地方。 主要住所可以是以下任何类型的住房单元的形式:

  • 别墅
  • 山寨
  • 公寓
  • 公寓楼中的公寓
  • 复式公寓
  • 拖车、移动房屋或船屋

以上这些房产中的任何一个都有资格成为某人的主要住所。 但是,只要它是您的主要住所或您大部分时间居住的地方,您也可能拥有次要住所,例如度假屋或小屋。 主要住所通常是您花费大部分时间的地方。 了解您的主要住所是什么以及它如何影响您的税收非常重要,因为它最终将帮助您正确申报并优化您的扣除额。

什么是主要住所?

如前所述,主要住所只是您大部分时间居住的地方,即大约一年的一半时间。 我认识很多人,他们通常经常旅行,在不同的时间住在不同的地方。 您的主要住所是您大部分时间居住的地方。

了解主要住所

在您经常拜访父母的情况下,您在那里(与家人一起)度过的时间通常是决定您主要住所的最大因素。 另一个因素是您用于官方目的的地址。 主要住宅以多种方式发挥作用。 但是,主要财产影响您的税收的一种常见方式与您的房屋所有权有关。

了解您的主要住所的一个主要好处是,它实际上可以使您有资格获得房主对您的财产税的豁免。 尽管这些豁免规则因司法管辖区而异,例如在加利福尼亚州,房主有资格从其主要住所的评估价值中扣除 7,000 美元。 但是,如果您在该州拥有两套房屋,则即使您和您的配偶在技术上分别拥有它们,您也不能同时享受这两种房屋的豁免。 在这种情况下,您的主要住所是您和您的配偶计划永久居住的住所。

密歇根州主要居住豁免 

主要居住豁免 (PRE) 是密歇根州的一种税收豁免。 但是,要获得主要住所豁免的资格,此人必须是密歇根州居民,并且还拥有并占用该物业作为他们的主要住所。 主要住所免税是一个与宅基地财产税收抵免非常不同的计划。 这是因为宅基地财产税收抵免是您必须每年向密歇根州个人所得税申报表提交的一项计划。

要申请主要居住豁免,业主必须提交主要居住豁免 (PRE) 宣誓书。 您必须将此表格提交给您的房产所在城市或乡镇的评估员。 之前业主提交 2368 表征税的截止日期是 31 月 XNUMX 日之后。提交您的详细信息后,他们会将您的免税信息发布到当地财产税名册。

了解密歇根州的主要居住豁免

通常,当您购买房屋时,这些和其他重要的主要居住豁免表格可通过 关闭代理. 但是,请注意,在确定豁免资格时存在许多变数。

如果一个人不再拥有或占用该物业作为其主要住所,则该个人必须提出撤销房主主要住所豁免的请求。 在表格 2602 上,与房产所在城市的评估员一起删除 PRE。 从下一个纳税年度开始,它将正式从地方财产税名册中删除。 但是,如果您未能撤销 PRE,将来可能会导致额外的税费、利息和罚款。 在某些情况下,个人有资格获得有条件的撤销,允许业主获得其当前密歇根房产的主要居住豁免以及长达三年的豁免。

主要居住豁免

主要住所豁免是国税局的一项规定,允许满足某些条件的人从他们出售房屋的利润中排除高达 250,000 美元的单身申报者和高达 500,000 美元的已婚联合申报资本利得税。

为了有资格获得主要住所豁免,您必须通过所有权和使用测试。 此外,为了进行所有权测试,您必须在出售日期之前的五年中至少有 24 个月是您出售的房产的所有者。 这就是美国国税局定义的截止日期。 如果您是已婚夫妇,则只有一个配偶可以作为财产所有者在名单上,以便双方都通过所有权测试。

如果您没有完全通过所有权和使用测试,并且有正当理由说明您不能停留两年的原因,那么您实际上可以有资格获得部分排除,豁免的百分比与您的百分比成正比你在家的时间。 该机构认为有效的一些借口包括与健康、工作和不可预见的情况有关的借口。

如果机构批准您的借口并且您在过去五年中有一年在家,那么您已满足 50% 的使用要求并有资格获得 50% 的收益豁免。 在 2022 年,老年人在资本收益方面没有特权,但五年中的两次所有权和使用测试有其他例外情况。

有关主要住所的更多信息

就像我之前所说的,主要住所是指财产所有者拥有其真实、固定和永久住所的地方。 每当不在时,他或她打算返回该地方并继续在那里居住,直到建立另一个主要住所为止。 一个人的主要居所在不同的州有不同的含义。 有些人还认为它只是住宅或单元中需要缴纳从价税的那部分。 对其他州来说,主要住宅还意味着所有者的所有未占用财产,归类为住宅,与受从价税的住宅相邻,并且由所有者拥有和占用。

在其他州,主要住所还指由所有者拥有的单元的任何部分出租或出租给另一个人作为住所,只要出租或出租的单元的该部分少于总数的 50%该单元居住空间的平方英尺。 主要住所还可以包括一个生命护理设施,用于根据《持续护理社区披露法》注册的目的。 此外,它可以在一个州被定义为由租户股东拥有和占用的合作住房公司。 任何有资格作为主要住所的房产在全部或任何部分出租后将继续有资格作为主要住所的 3 年。

了解各州的主要居住地

主要住所对各州意味着什么的另一个角度还可以包括借款人和非借款配偶保持其永久居住地并且通常在日历年的大部分时间里度过的住所。 一个人在任何时候只能有一个主要住所。 他们认为该物业是任何临时在医疗机构的借款人的主要住所。 这是在借款人在医疗机构的居住时间不超过连续 12 个月的情况下。

总结

尽管主要住所的含义在不同的州可能有所不同,但您必须了解不同州可能适用的不同定义,以及如何在密歇根州获得豁免的过程。

常见问题

什么不是主要住所?

为了使该房屋有资格成为您的主要住所,它必须在过去 2 年中至少有 5 年被拥有并用作主要住所。 清楚地, 如果你搬出你的家并且它已经上市超过 3 年,出于税收目的,它不再被视为你的主要住所。

我如何证明我的主要住所?

被视为税收目的的主要住所, 该财产必须是住宅或住宅的权益,该住宅是或在所有权期间的某个时间点曾经是个人唯一或主要住所

主要住所和主要住所有什么区别?

您的主要住所(也称为主要住所)是您的家。 无论是独立屋、公寓还是联排别墅,如果您一年中的大部分时间都住在那里并且可以证明,这是您的主要住所,并且有资格获得较低的抵押贷款利率

  1. 主要住宅:在出售主要住宅时避免征税的提示
  2. 房主的税收减免:7 年房主的前 2022 项税收减免
  3. QPRT:完整的合格个人住宅信托指南(+快速工具)
  4. 豁免与非豁免:最佳简易指南和差异
  5. 本金支付:概述、类型和计算
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

PRINCIPAL RESIDENCE: Definition & Exemption 

Principal residence
image credit: ShajaniLLP

A principal residence is a primary location where an individual resides. This post will basically discuss the meaning of a principal residence and the possible main residence exemption you can get in different states, especially in Michigan. It also properly explains how the laws of a principal residence apply differently from state to state.

Principal Residence 

The ownership of the property itself does not mean it is a principal residence. Likewise, putting furniture and other personal effects on the property does not necessarily qualify it as being so. For the purpose of tax, the property must be in use for a minimum duration of two years so as to meet some of the qualifications.

This term simply means the primary location where a person inhabits or dwells. It is also called the main residence. It doesn’t matter if it is a house, an apartment, a trailer, or a boat, as long as it is where an individual or family lives most of the time. A principal residence can be in the form of any of the following types of housing units:

  • House
  • Cottage
  • Condominium
  • Apartment in an apartment building
  • Apartment in a duplex
  • Trailer, mobile home, or houseboat

Any of these properties above can qualify to be the main residence for someone. As long as it is your main home or a place you live most of the time, however, you might also own a secondary residence, like a vacation home or cottage. The primary residence is typically where you spend the majority of your time. It is important to understand what your main residence is and how it affects your taxes because it will eventually help you file out and optimize your deductions correctly.

What Is a Principal Residence?

As said earlier, a principal residence is simply the place where you live most of the time, i.e., approximately half of the year. I know a lot of people who typically travel a lot and live in different places at different times. Your main residence is the place where you spend the majority of your time living.

Understanding Principal Residence

In a situation where you visit your parents often, the amount of time you spend there (with your family) is generally the biggest factor in determining your main residence. Another factor is the address you use for official purposes. A principal residence comes into play in several ways. However, the one common way a main property can affect your taxes is in relation to your home ownership.

A major benefit of knowing your main residence is that it could actually make you eligible for a homeowner’s exemption on your property taxes. Although these exemption rules vary by jurisdiction, for example, in California, homeowners are eligible to have a $7,000 deduction from the assessed value of their primary residence. But in a case where you own two homes in the state, you can’t take the exemption on both, even if you and your spouse technically own them separately. In a case like that, your main residence is the one where you and your spouse plan to live permanently.

Principal Residence Exemption Michigan 

A Principal Residence Exemption (PRE) is a type of exemption on tax in Michigan. However, to qualify for a principal residence exemption, the person must be a Michigan resident who also owns and occupies the property as their primary residence. The principal residence exemption is a very separate program from the homestead property tax credit. This is because a homestead property tax credit is a program you have to file annually with your Michigan Individual Income Tax Return.

To claim a principal residence exemption, the property owner must submit a Principal Residence Exemption (PRE) Affidavit Form. You have to submit this form to the assessor for the city or township in which your property is located. The former deadline for a property owner to file Form 2368 for taxes levied was after December 31. After filing your details, they then post your exemption information to the local property tax roll.

Understanding Principal Residence Exemption in Michigan

Usually, when you purchase a home, these and other important main residence exemption forms are available through the closing agents. However, note that there are many variables in determining eligibility for the exemption.

In a situation where a person no longer owns or occupies the property as their main residence, the individual must file a Request to Rescind the Homeowner’s Principal Residence Exemption. On Form 2602, with the assessor for the city where the property is located, to remove the PRE. It will be officially removed from the local property tax roll beginning with the next tax year. However, in a case where you fail to rescind a PRE, it may result in additional taxes, interest, and penalties in the future. Under certain circumstances, an individual can qualify for a conditional rescission that allows an owner to receive a primary residence exemption on their current Michigan property as well as one for up to three years.

The Principal Residence Exemption

The principal residence exemption is an Internal Revenue Service provision that allows people who meet certain conditions to exclude up to $250,000 for single filers and up to $500,000 for married filing jointly in capital gains tax from the profit they make on the sale of their home.

In order to qualify for the principal residence exemption, you must pass the ownership and use tests. Also, in order to give the ownership test, you must be the owner of the property you are selling for at least 24 months out of the five years leading up to the date of sale. This is what the IRS defines as the closing date. If you are a married couple, only one spouse can be on the list as the owner of the property for both to pass the ownership test.

If you don’t fully pass the ownership and use tests and have a valid excuse for why you couldn’t stay for the two years, then you can actually qualify for a partial exclusion with the percentage of the exemption directly proportional to the percentage of time you were in your home. Some excuses the agency sees as valid include ones relating to health, work, and unforeseen circumstances.

If the agency approves your excuse and you were in your home for one out of the past five years, then you have met 50% of the use requirement and qualify for 50% of the exemption on gains. In 2022, seniors have no special privileges on capital gains, but there are other exceptions to the two-out-of-five-year ownership and use tests.

More Information on Principal Residence

Like I said earlier, a principal residence means a place where an owner of a property has his or her true, fixed, and permanent home. Whenever absent, he or she intends to return to the place and continue to live there until another main residence is established. The main residence of a person has various meanings in different states. Some also see it as only that portion of a dwelling or unit that is subject to Ad Valorem taxes. The principal residence also means, to other states, all of an owner’s unoccupied property in classification as residential, which is adjoining to the dwelling subject to Ad Valorem taxes and also owned and occupied by the owner.

The main residence also means, in other states, any portion of a unit owned by an owner that is rented or leased to another person as a residence, as long as that portion of the unit rented or leased is less than 50% of the total square footage of living space in that unit. The main residence can also include a life care facility for purposes registered under the continuing care community disclosure act. Furthermore, it can be defined in a state as a cooperative housing corporation owned and occupied by tenant stockholders. Any property qualifying as a main residence will continue to qualify as one for 3 years after all or any portion of the property is rented.

Understating Principal Residence in States

Another angle of what the principal residence means to states can also include a dwelling where the borrower and non-borrowing spouse maintain their permanent place of abode and typically spend the majority of the calendar year. An individual can have only one principal residence at any time. They consider the property to be the principal residence of any borrower who is temporarily in a healthcare institution. This is in a case where the borrower’s residency in a health care institution does not exceed 12 consecutive months.

Conclusion

Although the meaning of a principal residence can differ in different states, you’ve got to see the different definitions of how different states could possibly apply, as well as the process of how to get an exemption in Michigan.

FAQs

What is not a principal residence?

In order for the home to qualify as your principal residence, it must have been owned and used as the principal residence for at least 2 out of the last 5 years. Clearly, if you moved out of your home and it has been on the market for more than 3 years, for tax purposes it is no longer considered your principal residence.

How do I prove my main residence?

To be considered as the main residence for tax purposes, the property must be a dwelling house or an interest in a dwelling house which is, or which at some point during the period of ownership has been, the individual’s only or main residence

What is the difference between primary and principal residence?

Your primary residence (also known as a principal residence) is your home. Whether it’s a house, condo, or townhome, if you live there for the majority of the year and can prove it, it’s your primary residence, and it could qualify for a lower mortgage rate

  1. Primary Residence: Tips to Avoid Taxes on The Sale of Primary Residence
  2. Tax Deductions For Homeowners: Top 7 Tax Deductions For Homeowners 2022
  3. QPRT: Complete Qualified Personal Residence Trust Guide(+Quick Tools)
  4. Exempt vs Non-Exempt: Best Easy Guide & Differences
  5. PRINCIPAL PAYMENT: OVERVIEW, TYPES & CALCULATIONS
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like