QPRT:完整的合格个人住宅信托指南(+快速工具)

QPRT
图片来源:资产保护

在考虑将资产转移给您的受益人的不可撤销信托时,您会想到什么。 合格个人居住信托 (QPRT) 是一种您可以信赖的不可撤销的生前信托。 它旨在减少赠与税和遗产税。 通常,在将资产转移给受益人时会产生这些税款。 本文是 QPRT 信托、规则、住宅销售和解除 QPRT 的快速工具。

什么是合格个人住宅信托 (QPRT)?

合格个人住宅信托 (QPRT) 是一种不可撤销的信托,允许创建者从其遗产中移除个人住宅,以降低在将资产转让给受益人时产生的赠与税率。

它还允许住宅的所有者在一段时间内继续居住在该物业上 留存权益. 在这种情况下,一旦规定的期限结束,剩余的利息将作为受益人转移给受益人。 剩余利息. 但是,该信托中的资产保护部分生效,因为它是不可撤销的信托。 因此,作为这种性质的信托,它可以保护它传递给您的受益人的资产。

参见: Grantors Trust:一个简单的权威指南(更新!)

QPRT 出售住宅
女性的手伸手去拿被白色背景隔离的房子。 图片来源:派克律师事务所(QPRT)

换句话说,不可撤销的信托基本上是从设保人的财产转移到信托中,该信托实际上拥有该财产。 这是为了确保在死亡时将财产传递给家庭成员。 在这种情况下,可能会对财产在转移到信托时的价值征收赠与税。

基本上,您只能转让给信托的主要财产是您的 主要居所 有时 第二居所. 同时,您不能转让投资或出租物业。 使用此技术时应考虑的一件重要事情是,在将住宅转移到信托之前,您需要停止所有租赁活动

另请阅读: 可撤销信托:什么是可撤销信托?

如何设置 QPRT?

  • 写不可撤销的信托协议
  • 用您的住所资助信托
  • 为赠与税目的对您的住所进行评估
  • 向美国国税局报告您的礼物

什么是 QPRT 信任规则?

你可以同意我的观点,规则是一组说明,告诉你什么可以做,什么不能做。 因此,在完整的合格个人住宅信托 (QPRT) 中,也有一些管理设保人的规则。

  • 在这种情况下,设保人有责任为信托收入纳税,尽管信托资产不包括在所有者的遗产中。 因此,只有在个人经营可撤销信托时,此类资产才适用于设保人的财产。 这是因为个人肯定会拥有信托中的财产。
  • 授予人信托规则还规定,如果信托的创建者在将资产转移到信托时拥有大于信托资产 5% 的复归百分比,则信托成为授予人信托。
美国国税局概述的其他 QPRT 规则如下:
  • 增加或更改信托受益人的权力
  • 在没有足够安全性的情况下从信托借款的能力
  • 使用信托收益为人寿保险费提供资金的权力
  • 通过交换等值资产来改变信托的创建的权力

此外,QPRT 信托还有很多好处。 它们包括:

  • 改变福利住所的能力
  • 遗产税优惠
  • 终生使用家居
  • 资产保护免受诉讼
  • 赠与税优惠

展开 QPRT

如果 QPRT 终止,您将不得不给剩余的继承人公平的市场租金。 这些回报将减少您的财产。 此外,如果您仍希望取消 QPRT,您可能会遇到一些可行的替代方案,例如免租金居住在房屋中,这将导致包含遗产税。 此外,其余的利益持有人将不得不将他们的利益归还给您

此外,解除 QPRT 的能力取决于州法律和判例法。 因此,解除 QPRT 应该不会产生所得税。 (除非信托在将其资产出售给设保人时是非设保人。)尽管可能有赠与税和遗产税结果。 然而,上述税收结果又取决于信托的性质和改革的性质。

如何计算 QPRT?

该程序评估设保人的保留利息并使用该数字得出价值(收入利息加上归还)。 接下来,设保人的保留利息将从信托的初始出资中扣除。 由此产生的金额是需要纳税的 QPRT。

什么是 QPRT 住宅销售?

QPRT 也计划成为设保人信托,因此它本质上意味着该信托将是
出于所得税目的而忽略。 因此,设保人仍然可以扣除所有不动产税
就其个人所得税申报表在 QPRT 的住所付款
QPRT 拥有该住宅。

此外,如果在 QPRT 期限届满后出售房产,即使设保人可能出租该房产,资本收益也不会向设保人征税。 而是给在 QPRT 结束时获得财产的人。 此外,如果在 QPRT 出售住宅,则资本利得税可能比设保人在其去世时拥有该住宅的情况更昂贵。

不过,您也可以随时出售信托中的住宅。 销售利润在两年内不会再投资于新住宅。 这些资金作为授予人保留年金信托 (GRAT) 保存。 例如,如果您选择缩小住宅面积,QPRT 住宅的销售收益可以购买更小的住宅,其余部分将被视为 GRAT。

总结

最后,今天一般的遗产规划方法是通过将住宅转移到合格的个人住宅信托 (QPRT) 来减少遗产的规模。 然而,适当结构的 QPRT 将在信托成立时停止住宅的价值。 这可以节省大量遗产税,同时可以轻松地将许多遗产的价值保持在 1 万美元以下。

尽管减少遗产税和所需的升值是规划 QPRT 的强烈动机。 希望实施或创建 QPRT 将 IRC 第 7520 条下的现行联邦利率作为一个重要因素开始。

  1. LIVING TRUST:概述、成本、模板、优点和缺点(+写作指南)
  2. 可撤销信任:综合指南(+ 工作原理)
  3. 生活信任VS意志:美国的最佳选择(+主要差异)
  4. 2022 年健康储蓄账户规则(HSA 规则)(更新!)

免责声明:

本文中包含的信息不是税务或法律建议。 因此,它们不能替代此类建议。 由于州和联邦法律经常变化,因此本文中的信息可能无法反映最近法律的大部分变化。 我们真诚地敦促您咨询会计师或法律或税务顾问的律师。

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

QPRT: Complete Qualified Personal Residence Trust Guide(+Quick Tools)

QPRT
Image Credit: Asset Protection

What runs through your mind when thinking of an irrevocable trust to transfer assets to your beneficiary. A Qualified Personal Residence Trust(QPRT) is a type of irrevocable living trust you can depend on. It is designed to reduce the amount of gift and estate tax. Oftentimes, one incurs these taxes when transferring an asset to a beneficiary. This article is a quick tool to QPRT trust, rules, sales of residence, and unwinding a QPRT.

A Qualified Personal Residence Trust(QPRT)

A Qualified Personal Residence Trust (QPRT) is an irrevocable trust that allows a creator to remove a personal home from their estate for the purpose of reducing gift tax rate incurred when transferring assets to their beneficiaries.

It also allows the owner of the residence to remain living on the property for a period of time with a retained interest. In this case, once the stipulated period is over, the interest remaining is transferred to the beneficiaries as a remainder interest. However, the asset protection in this trust comes into effect partially because it is an irrevocable trust. Therefore, as a trust of this nature, it can protect the assets therein that it passes down to your beneficiaries.

See Also: Grantors Trust: A Simple definitive guide (Updated!)

QPRT Sale of Residence
Female hand reaching for a house isolated on a white background. Image Credit: Parker Law Firm(QPRT)

In other words, an irrevocable trust is basically transferred out of the grantor’s estate and into a trust, which effectively owns that property. This is to ensure that the property is passed down to family members at the time of death. In this case, a gift tax may be levied on the property’s value at the time it was transferred into the trust.

Basically, the major property you can only transfer to the trust is your primary residence and sometimes the secondary residence. Meanwhile, you cannot transfer Investment or rental property. One important thing you should take into consideration when using this technique is that you will need to discontinue all rental activity prior to transferring the residence to the trust

Read Also: REVOCABLE TRUST: What is Living Revocable Trust?

How to Set Up a QPRT

  • Write the Irrevocable Trust Agreement
  • Fund the Trust With Your Residence
  • Obtain an Appraisal of Your Residence for Gift Tax Purposes
  • Report Your Gift to the IRS

QPRT Trust Rules

You can agree with me that Rules are a set of instructions that tell you what you are allowed to do and what you are not to do. Therefore in a Complete Qualified Personal Residence Trust(QPRT), there are also some rules governing a grantor.

  • The QPRT grantor rules sketch out certain requirements when an irrevocable trust can hold some of the corresponding strategies as a revocable trust by the IRS. Certain circumstances lead to the creation of what is known as intentionally defective grantor trusts.
  • In such circumstances, a grantor is answerable for paying taxes on the trust income although the trust assets are not included in the owner’s estate. Therefore, such assets would only apply to a grantor’s estate if the individual runs a revocable trust. This is because the individual would definitely own property kept in the trust.
  • Grantor trust rules also state that trust becomes a grantor trust if the creator of the trust has a reversionary percentage greater than 5% of trust assets at the time of transferring the assets to the trust.
Other QPRT rules outlined by the IRS are as follows:
  • Power to add or change the beneficiary of a trust
  • The capability to borrow from the trust without sufficient security
  • The power to use the benefits from the trust to finance life insurance premiums
  • Power to make changes to the trust’s creation by interchanging assets of equivalent value

Moreover, there are lots of Benefits in a QPRT Trust. They include:

  • Ability to change benefits residence
  • Estate Tax Benefits
  • Lifetime use of home
  • Asset Protection from lawsuits
  • Gift Tax Benefits

Unwinding a QPRT

If the QPRT terminates, you will have to give the remainder heirs a fair market rent. These returns will reduce your estate. Moreover, if you still wish to unwind the QPRT, there are feasible alternatives that you may confront such as Living in the house rent-free which will cause the inclusion of estate tax. Also, the remainder interest holders will have to allow their interests back to you

Furthermore, the capacity to unwind a QPRT depends on the state law as well as the case law. Consequently Unwinding a QPRT should have no income tax upshots. (unless the trust is non-grantor in the sale of its assets to the grantor). Although may have gift and estate tax outcomes. However, the before-mentioned tax outcomes, in turn, depend on the nature of the trust as well as the nature of the reform.

QPRT Sale of Residence

A QPRT is also planned to be a grantor trust therefore it essentially means that the trust will be
ignored for income tax purposes. Therefore, the grantor can still subtract all real property tax
payments on the residence in the QPRT on his or her personal income tax returns as far as the
QPRT owns the residence.

In addition, If the property is sold after the term of the QPRT has lapsed, even though the grantor may be leasing the property, the capital gain will not be taxed to the grantor. Rather to the persons who acquired the property when the QPRT ended. Also if there be sales of residence in QPRT, the capital gains tax might be more expensive than if the grantor had owned the residence at his or her demise.

Although, you can also sell the residence in the trust at any time. The sale profits are not reinvested in a new residence in two years. These funds are kept as a Grantor Retained Annuity Trust (GRAT). For example, if you choose to downsize your residence, the sale yields from the residence in QPRT can procure a smaller home and the remainder will be viewed as GRAT.

Conclusion

Finally, Today a general estate planning method is to decrease the size of an estate by transferring a residence to a qualified personal residence trust (QPRT). However, suitably structured QPRT will halt the value of the residence at the time the trust is formed. This results in significant estate tax savings while easing to keep the value of many estates below the $1 million inceptions.

Although reducing estate taxes and required appreciation are strong motives for planning a QPRT. Wishing to implement or create a QPRT consider the prevailing federal interest rate under IRC section 7520 as an important factor to start with.

  1. LIVING TRUST: Overview, Cost, Templates, Pros & Cons (+Writing Guide)
  2. REVOCABLE TRUST: A Comprehensive Guide (+ How it Works)
  3. LIVING TRUST VS WILL: Best option in the US (+Major differences)
  4. Health Savings Account Rules (HSA Rules) 2022 (Updated!)

Disclaimer:

Pieces of information contained in this article are not tax or legal advice. Therefore they are not a substitute for such advice. As state and federal laws change often, such, information in this article might not reflect most of the recent changes to the law. We sincerely urge that you consult an accountant or an attorney for legal or tax counsel.

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like