主要住宅:在出售主要住宅时避免征税的提示

主要住所,主要住所的资本收益,1031 交换主要住所,资本利得税主要住所,主要住所销售税
图片来源:税务审计

主要住所或主要住所是某人居住的房屋,通常是房屋或公寓。 一个人在任何给定时间只能拥有一个主要住所,尽管他们可以与其他人共享住所。 它也是一个合法的住宅,用于获得资本利得税和/或您的主要住宅的抵押贷款。 继续阅读以了解如何使用 1031 交换您的主要住所; 以及如何避免出售主要住宅的资本利得税。

主要住宅的资本利得税

当您的主要住所升值并决定出售时。 您或许可以从销售收益中扣除部分资本收益。 目前,美国国税局允许纳税人排除高达 500,000 美元的资本收益; 如果已婚并共同提交,如果单身,则为 250,000 美元。 例如,如果您在 10 年前以 200,000 美元的价格购买了一套房屋,而您今天以 800,000 美元的价格出售了它。 您将获得 600,000 美元的利润。 如果您已婚并共同申报,500,000 美元的收益可能免征资本利得税,但 100,000 美元可能仍然存在。

在任何一种情况下,假设您投资 200,000 美元购买一所房子。 它是您的主要住所,也是您唯一拥有的住所。 几年后,您决定搬迁并以更高的价格出售。 扣除销售成本后,您的利润为 50,000 美元。 如果您符合排除规则,您将不必为该利润支付资本利得税。 根据您的收入,您主要住所的资本利得税税率为 0%、15% 或 20%。

此外,您的主要住所也可能有资格获得所得税优惠,例如扣除抵押贷款利息成本以及在您出售时免征资本利得税。 然而,由于税收优势,美国国税局制定了一些明确的指导方针。 这是为了确定您的房屋是否有资格作为主要住所获得资本利得税减免。

有资格获得主要住所排除,

  • 在过去五年中,您必须在家中居住至少 24 个月。
  • 它必须是您过去五年中至少 24 个月的主要住所。
  • 您不得在过去两年内再次申请资本收益排除。

抵押贷款利息的税收节省并不是拥有主要住宅的唯一优势。 当您出售您的财产时,您也可以扣除资本收益。

多少个月被视为主要居留地?

简而言之,主要住所是您每年居住超过六个月的房产。 您的住所可以是单户住宅、联排别墅、公寓、移动房屋,甚至是一艘船。

美国国税局如何知道您的主要住所?

您在联邦和州纳税申报单上填写的地址。 您的驾照或汽车登记表明您居住的地方以及美国邮政服务存档的地址。

1031 交换主要住宅

1031 交易所,也称为同类交易所或 Starker,是一种投资物业与另一投资物业之间进行交换的交易。 大多数交易所都按销售额征税,但如果您的交易符合 1031 标准。 在交换时,您要么没有税,要么只有少量的税。

从本质上讲,您可以修改投资类型,而无需兑现或记录资本收益,正如 IRS 所认为的那样。 因此,您的投资可以继续免税增长。 执行 1031 交换的频率没有限制。 但是,您可以将一项房地产投资的收益转移到另一项。 即使您从每次掉期中获利,您也不必在年底或几年后为其纳税。

资本收益排除有一个豁免,它与之前通过 1031 交易所购买的主要住宅的财产有关。 如果您拥有一个主要住宅物业并希望将其出售以购买另一个,那么您可以在执行 1031 交换时推迟支付出售的资本利得税。

此外,在您的主要住所的 1031 交换期间,您可以在特定期限内出售一处投资房产并购买另一处同类投资房产。 但是,如果您最终搬进另一个投资房屋并将其变成您的主要住所。 如果您在获得 1031 年内通过 5 交易所获得的房产出售,您将无权享受资本收益排除。

何时使用 1031 交换

您可能要使用 1031 交换有多种原因。 您可能想要:

  • 投资回报率高于您目前投资物业的物业。
  • 将几处房产合并为一处,可能是为了遗产规划。
  • 扭转财产的下降趋势。
  • 将您的度假屋作为出租物业并进行 1031 交换。 例如,您可能会停止使用您的海滨别墅,将其出租几个月,然后将其换成另一个。
  • 出售您的投资房产并购买多处房产。 例如,如果您愿意,您可以购买三间投资房。 无论如何,它没有任何限制。 如果您购买三个以上,您的主管中介将需要与您一起了解一些额外的规则。

1031 交易所规章制度

以下是与 1031 交换有关的规则和规定,包括财产要求和时间要求。 物业要求包括:

1. 重置的财产必须等于或优于丢失的物品。 

这两个特征必须足够相似才能被视为“同类”。 大多数房地产与其他房地产相似。 例如,带有住宅出租房屋的房地产改良物业可以与空置土地相媲美。 另外请注意,美国境内的房产并不等同于美国境外的房产。

2. 交换属性的类型和功能必须相似。 

例如,出租或多户住宅不能换成度假屋。 个人用途的住宅,例如主要住宅、第二居所或度假屋,不符合同类交换的条件。 根据第 1031 条,实际财产和个人财产(可能包括机械、设备、收藏品、车辆、船只、飞机、艺术品、专利和其他知识产权)都可以作为您主要住所的交换财产,但实际财产永远不能善待个人财产。 个人财产也受到更严格的规定。 例如,汽车不具备与卡车相同的功能。

3.您在任何时候都不能在交易期间保留销售利润。

合格的经纪人必须将您的所有资金托管在托管中,否则利润将被征税。 最后,1031exchange 不包括这些交易所:

  • 投资股票、债券或票据
  • 合伙权益 
  • 其他证券或债务
  • 信任证书

时间要求

使用 1031 税务交换,您还必须遵守特定的时间表,否则出售您的财产的收益可能会被征税:

  • 出售您退还的房产后,您有 45 天的时间寻找潜在的替代房产。 您必须以书面形式这样做并将其转发给卖方或 有能力的中介。
  • 您必须在交出财产交割后的 180 天内或在您的纳税申报表到期日之后交割替换财产,以先到者为准。

1031 交易所的税务影响

由于执行 1031 交换,您可能会面临一些税务问题。 考虑这些例子:

  • 在 1031 交换期间,任何剩余现金都可能产生资本收益,称为“引导”。
  • 如果重置财产的抵押贷款低于退还财产的抵押贷款,您可能需要就差额征税。
  • 如果出售失败,您将因出售您的退还财产而被征税
  • 如果您多年来进行大量 1031 交易,您最终可能会获得数百或数千美元的递延利润,这可能会增加您的纳税义务。

出售主要住宅的税收

出售您的主要住所需要缴税吗? 如果您通过出售您的主要住所获利,您必须为所有联邦单位纳税。 税收约为房产估计价值的 0.2% 至 0.3%。 纳税人是土地登记所有人或共同所有人。 如果您多年前在价格明显较低时购买了您的房产,您可以获得高额利润。

在大多数联邦单位中,您必须缴纳税款的利润数额取决于您在这所房子里待了多长时间。 您拥有房产的时间越长,房产利得税就越少。 另一方面,联邦单位对短期所有权期间实现的房地产收益征税更多,从而降低了参与房地产投资的积极性。

你可以拥有 2 个主要住所吗?

出于税收目的,一个人在任何特定时间可能只有一个主要居所,一对已婚夫妇或民事伴侣之间可能只有一个主要居所。

主要居所和第二居所有什么区别?

第二个家就是这样:第二个居住的地方。 即使它不是您的主要住所,您也会在一年中的部分时间住在那里,可能是在周末、假期或一年中的某些时间。 大多数情况下,此房产与您的主要住宅至少相隔 50 到 100 英里才能被视为第二住宅。

您何时支付出售主要住宅的资本利得税?

如果以下任何因素属实,则您的主要居民销售的全部收益将需要缴纳税款:

  • 如果你不住在房子里作为你的主要住所。
  • 在出售之前的五年中,您拥有该物业的时间不到两年。
  • 在出售前的五年期间,您在出售房屋之前至少没有居住两年。 但是,残疾人以及军队、外交部门或情报界的人员可以在此组件上获得折扣。  
  • 在出售该房屋之前的两年内,您在另一处房屋上使用了 250,000 美元或 500,000 美元的免责条款。
  • 您在过去五年内通过同类交易购买了该住宅; 基本上将一个投资物业换成另一个
  • 您必须缴纳外籍人士税。

如果您仍然不确定是否有资格被排除在外; 您可以向下滚动查看在出售您的主要住所时避免资本利得税的策略:

如何避免主要居民出售的资本利得税

1. 您必须成为主要居民至少两年。

两年不一定要连续,但是炒房要谨慎。 如果您出售至少两年未居住的房屋,则收益可能需要纳税。 在不到一年的时间内出售是非常昂贵的,因为您可能需要缴纳短期资本利得税,该税高于长期资本利得税。

2. 检查您是否有资格获得例外。

如果您在出售房屋时获得应税收益,如果您因工作、健康或“意外事件”而出售房屋,您可能可以免除部分收益, 

3. 保留您的家庭装修收据。 

您房屋的资本利得税通常包括购买价格以及您随着时间的推移进行的任何装修。 当您的成本基础较大时,您的资本利得税敞口可能会较小。 改建、加建、新窗户、景观美化、围栏、新车道和空调装置都是可以减少资本利得税的例子。

总结

在你买房子之前,重要的是要考虑你想买什么样的房子。 您想购买主要住宅、第二套住宅/度假屋还是投资物业? 这些关键问题将影响您可能有资格获得的抵押贷款利率,以及您的抵押贷款利息支付的税务处理以及您在决定出售时实现的任何收益。

主要住宅常见问题解答

您必须在主要住所居住多长时间才能避免在英国获得资本收益?

您只需为非主要居住地的任何财产缴纳资本利得税——即您居住至少 2 年的主要住宅。

我可以卖掉我的主要住所并搬进我的第二个家吗?

是的,您可以出售您的主要住所并搬入您的第二个住所,但您将收到的税款称为私人住宅减免。 当您出售主要住所并搬家时,您无需缴纳资本利得税。

我可以通过购买另一所房子来避免资本收益吗?

该网站的第一个改版版本已上线,您可以 通过房屋销售排除,避免很大一部分资本利得税,这是美国国税局为出售房屋的人提供的一项大额税收减免。 拥有投资房产的人可以通过将一处房产出售到另一处房产来推迟他们的资本收益。

您必须在房产中居住多长时间才能成为您的主要住所?

一级税务法庭最近的一项决定证实,没有最低居住期限来获得主要居住救济 - 重要的是有一段时间作为唯一或主要住所居住。

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

Primary Residence: Tips to Avoid Taxes on The Sale of Primary Residence

primary residence, capital gains on primary residence, 1031 exchange primary residence, capital gains tax primary residence, taxes on sale of primary residence
Image Source: TaxAudit

A primary residence or principal residence is a home where someone lives, typically a house or an apartment. A person can have only one primary residence at any given time, though they may share the residence with other people. It is also a legal dwelling for the purpose of acquiring capital gains tax and/or mortgage on your primary residence. Read on to find out how to exchange your primary residence with the 1031 exchange; and how to avoid capital gains taxes on the sale of a primary residence.

Capital Gains Tax on Primary Residence

When your primary residence increases in value and you decide to sell it. You may be able to deduct some of the capital gains from the sale proceeds. Currently, the IRS allows taxpayers to exclude up to $500,000 in capital gains; if married and filing jointly or $250,000 if single. For example, if you bought a home 10 years ago for $200,000 and you sell it today for $800,000. You will have a  profit of $600,000. If you’re married and filing jointly, $500,000 of the gain may be exempt from capital gains tax but $100,000 may remain.

In either case, let’s say you invest $200,000 on a house. It is your primary residence and the only one you own. After a few years, you decide to relocate and sell it for a higher price. After deducting the costs of the sale, your profit is $50,000. If you match the exclusion rules, you won’t have to pay capital gains taxes on that profit. Depending on your income, the capital gains tax rate on your primary residence is 0%, 15%, or 20%.

Also, your primary residence may also qualify for income tax benefits, such as a deduction for mortgage interest costs as well as exclusion from capital gains tax when you sell it.  However, because of the tax advantages, the IRS has established some explicit guidelines. This is to determine whether your house qualifies for the capital gains tax deduction as a primary residence.

To Qualify for the Primary Residence Exclusion,

  • You must have lived in your home for at least 24 months of the previous five years.
  • It must be your primary residence for at least 24 months of the preceding five years.
  • You must not claim another capital gains exclusion in the previous two years.

The tax savings for mortgage interest isn’t the only advantage of owning a primary residence. When you sell your property, you may also be able to deduct capital gains.

1031 Exchange Primary Residence

A 1031 exchange, also known as a like-kind exchange or a Starker, is a transaction in which there is an exchange between one investment property and another. Most exchanges are taxable as sales, but if yours matches the 1031 standards. You’ll either have no tax or only a small amount of tax payable at the time of the exchange.

In essence, you can modify the type of your investment without cashing out or recording a capital gain, as the IRS sees it. As a result, your investment can continue to grow tax-free. There is no limit to how frequently you can perform a 1031 exchange. However, you can roll gains from one piece of real estate investment over to another.  Even if you make a profit on each swap, you don’t have to pay taxes on it until the end of the year or years later.

There is an exemption to the capital gains exclusion, and it pertains to the property of the primary residence purchased earlier through a 1031 exchange. If you own a primary residence property and wish to sell it to buy another, you can postpone paying capital gains tax on the sale if you perform a 1031 exchange.

Furthermore, during a 1031 exchange of your primary residence, you can sell one investment property and buy another like-kind investment property within a particular time limit. But if you finally move into another investment home and turn it into your primary residence. If you sell the property you got through the 1031 exchange within 5 years of obtaining it, you will not be entitled to the capital gains exclusion.

When To Use A 1031 Exchange

There are multiple reasons why you might want to use a 1031 exchange. You may want to:

  • Invest in a property with a high rate of return than your present investment property.
  • Merge several properties into one, possibly for the purpose of estate planning.
  • Reverse the decline of the property.
  • Make your vacation house a rental property and perform a 1031 exchange. For instance,  you may cease using your beach house, rent it out for a few months, and then trade it in for another.
  • Sell your investment property and buy multiple properties. You can, for example, buy three investment houses if you wish to. There is no limitation to it anyway. If you purchase more than three, your competent intermediary will need to go over some additional rules with you.

1031 Exchange Rules And Regulations

Below are rules and regulations that pertain to a 1031 exchange, including property requirements and time requirements. Property Requirements Includes:

1. The Replacement Property Must Be Equal to or Better Worth Than the Lost Item. 

Both traits must be sufficiently similar to be considered “like-kind.” Most real estate properties are similar to other real estate. For example, real estate improved properties with a residential rental house can be comparable to vacant land. Also, note that properties within the United States are not equivalent to properties outside the United States.

2. The Type and Function of the Exchanged Properties Must Be Similar. 

A rental or multifamily property, for example, cannot be traded in for a vacation house. Personal use residences, such as a primary residence, second home, or vacation home, are not eligible for like-kind exchanges. Both actual property and personal property (which can include machinery, equipment, collectibles, vehicles, boats, aircraft, artwork, patents, and other intellectual property) can qualify as exchange properties of your primary residence under Section 1031, although the actual property can never be like-kind to personal property. Personal property is also subject to stricter regulations. Cars, for example, do not have the same features as trucks.

3. You Are Not Cannot Keep the Profits of a Sale During the Exchange at Any Time.

A competent broker must hold all your funds in escrow or the profits will be taxable. Finally, 1031exchange does not include these exchanges:

  • Investing in stocks, bonds, or notes
  • Partnership interests 
  • Other securities or debt
  • Certificates of trust

Time Requirements

With a 1031 tax exchange, you must also stick to specific timelines or the gain on the sale of your property may become taxable:

  • After the sale of your surrendered property, you have 45 days to find potential replacement properties. You must do so in writing and forward it to the seller or the competent intermediary.
  • You must close on the replacement property within 180 days of closing on the surrendered property, or after the due date of your tax return, whichever comes first.

Tax Implications of a 1031 Exchange

As a result of performing a 1031 exchange, you may face some tax issues. Consider these examples:

  • During a 1031 exchange, capital gains may accrue for any leftover cash, referred to as the “boot.”
  • You may be taxed on the difference if the mortgage on the replacement property is lower than the mortgage on the surrendered property.
  • If the sale fails, you will be taxed for the sale of your surrendered property
  • If you do a lot of 1031 exchanges over the years, you could end up with hundreds or thousands of dollars in deferred profits, which can increase your tax liability.

Taxes on Sale of Primary Residence

Are there taxes on the sale of your primary residence? If you make a profit on the sale of your primary residence, you must pay taxes on all federal units. The tax is around 0.2 to 0.3 percent of the property’s estimated value. The taxpayers are the land register owners or co-owners. If you bought your property many years ago when prices were significantly lower, you could make high profits.

In most federal units, the amount of profit you have to pay in tax depends on how long you have been with the house. The longer you do have the property, the smaller the property gains tax is. The federal units, on the other hand, tax gains on real estate realized over a short period of ownership more heavily, reducing the motivation to participate in property investment.

When Do You Pay Capital Gains Taxes on the Sale of Your Primary Residence?

There will be tax payable on the whole gain of your primary resident sale if any of these factors are true:

  • If you don’t live in the house as your primary residence.
  • You owned the property for fewer than two years out of the five years before selling it.
  • You did not live in the house for at least two years before selling it in the five-year period before the sale. However, those who are disabled, as well as those in the military, foreign service, or intelligence community, can get a discount on this component.  
  • You used the $250,000 or $500,000 exclusion on another home in the two years preceding the sale of this one.
  • You purchased the residence during the last five years through a like-kind exchange; basically swapping one investment property for another
  • You must pay expatriate tax.

If you’re still not certain about qualifying for the exclusion; you can scroll down for strategies to avoid capital gains taxes on the sale of your primary residence :

How to Avoid Capital Gains Tax on a Primary Resident Sale

1. You Must Be a Primary Resident for at Least Two Years.

The two years do not have to be consecutive, but house flippers should be cautious. If you sell a home that you haven’t lived in for at least two years, the gains may be taxable. Selling in less than a year is extremely costly since you may be subject to the short-term capital gains tax, which is higher than the long-term capital gains tax.

2. Check to See if You Are Eligible for an Exception.

If you have a taxable gain on the sale of your home, you may be able to exempt some of it if you sold the house due to a job, health, or “an unexpected incident,” 

3. Keep the Receipts for Your Home Improvements. 

The capital gains tax of your house often comprises the purchase price as well as any renovations you make over time. When your cost basis is larger, your capital gains tax exposure may be smaller. Remodeling, additions, new windows, landscaping, fences, new driveways, and air conditioning installations are all examples of things that may reduce your capital gains tax.

Conclusion

Before you buy a house, it’s important to consider what kind of house you want to buy.  Are you looking to buy a primary home, a second home/vacation home, or an investment property? These are critical issues that will influence the sort of mortgage rate you may qualify for, as well as the tax treatment of your mortgage interest payments and any gain you realize when you decide to sell.

Primary Residence FAQs

How long do you have to live in your primary residence to avoid capital gains in UK?

You’re only liable to pay capital gain tax on any property that isn’t your primary place of residence – i.e. your main home where you have lived for at least 2 years.

Can I sell my main residence and move into my second home?

Yes, you can sell your primary residence and move into your second home but the tax you will receive is called Private Residence Relief. You don’t pay Capital Gains Tax when you sell your main residence and move home.

Can I avoid capital gains by buying another house?

You can avoid a significant portion of capital gains taxes through the home sale exclusion, a large tax break that the IRS offers to people who sell their homes. People who own investment property can defer their capital gains by rolling the sale of one property into another.

How long do you have to live in a property for it to be your main residence?

A recent decision by the First-tier tax tribunal confirmed that there is no minimum period of residence that is needed to secure main residence relief – what matters is that there has been a period of residence as the only or main home.

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like