豁免与非豁免:最佳简易指南和差异

豁免与非豁免
HRdirectSmartApps

豁免员工和非豁免员工是任何公司/企业中的两种主要员工。 然而,真正的问题是,这些工人和他们所做的工作有什么区别? 简而言之,豁免与非豁免员工。

嗯,对于初学者来说,加班的报酬是最重要的区别。 “豁免”一词是指无权获得加班费的人。 在很大程度上,有规定员工是否有资格获得加班补偿的规则。

同时,这只是您应该了解的豁免员工与非豁免员工的一小部分; 让我们深入了解真正的交易。

豁免与非豁免员工

随后的段落涵盖了豁免员工与非豁免员工的含义。

豁免员工

《公平劳工标准法》不向某些类型的雇员提供加班费,通常被称为豁免雇员。 简而言之,这些员工获得固定工资,这是全年定期分配的预定金额。 这些工人没有资格获得最低工资或加班费。 “豁免”表示员工无权获得加班费。 FLSA 规定了哪些员工可以免除加班费,哪些不能。

除了 FLSA 之外,大多数州都有自己的工资和小时工资法规,这些法规承担着更多的义务。

但是,除非员工属于例外类别,否则 FLSA 要求雇主至少支付每周工作时间不超过 40 小时的最低工资,并为任何额外时间支付加班费。

另请参阅: 工人补偿:英国的福利、流程和索赔

换句话说,尽管除了联邦法案之外,还有几个州有自己的一套工资法规和限制,但公司必须同时遵守联邦和州立法才能合规。

雇主无需向豁免员工(与非豁免员工相反)提供加班费。 是否支付加班费由雇主决定。 代替加班费,一些公司可能会设计带有额外激励措施的员工福利方案。 如果您经常被要求加班,您也许可以协商加薪。

要被归类为“豁免”员工,您必须按薪水(而不是按小时)获得报酬,并履行行政、行政或专业职责。

非豁免雇员

不被排除在最低工资和加班补偿之外的员工,按每小时工资的 1.5 倍计算,被归类为非豁免员工。 他们经常按小时支付他们在整个支付期间投入的确切时间。 非豁免员工以及有资格获得加班费的员工均受联邦和州法规的约束。

《公平劳工标准法》为非豁免员工提供加班费。

当雇员在一个工资周内工作超过 40 小时时,雇主必须向他们支付正常工资的一半。

大多数员工必须至少获得联邦最低工资(7.25 年为 2021 美元),再加上超过标准 40.5 小时的工作时间。

豁免员工的类型

《公平劳工标准法》在以下类别中认可豁免工人:

  • 行政
  • 专业
  • 行政的
  • 电脑
  • 外部销售

这些类别有意广泛,以涵盖广泛的职业。

豁免与非豁免就业状态取决于在工作中执行的任务,而不是仅由职位名称决定。

加班补偿方面的豁免与非豁免员工

薪酬是豁免和非豁免职位之间最显着的差异之一。 ProStrategix Consulting 的首席执行官布赖恩凯恩斯 (Brian Cairns) 表示,具有豁免身份的员工每周必须至少赚取 455 美元,但不支付加班费。 未获豁免的员工必须至少获得最低工资,并有权获得加班补偿。

“当非豁免员工每周或在特定假期工作超过 40 小时时,加班费按时间支付一半,” 凯恩斯解释. “之前对白领和蓝领的分类就是以此为基础的。”

FLSA 制定了加班费指南。 在每周 40 小时连续工作中,每工作超过 168 小时,加班费为正常工资的 1.5 倍。

从 2020 年起,非豁免员工开始在正常工资的基础上获得奖金。美国劳工部的网站有完整的加班指南。

关键结论是豁免员工没有资格获得加班费,而非豁免员工则有。 根据您的企业所在的位置,联邦和州政府会提供具体的指导方针。

稍后会详细介绍……

员工分类:豁免与非豁免员工

您可以使用三个基本标准来确定员工是否应根据 FLSA 归类为豁免或非豁免:

  • 薪资水平测试:年收入超过 35,568 美元(每周 684 美元)的员工可以豁免(但不能保证)。
  • 薪资基础测试: 无论实际工作的小时数如何,都能获得保证的最低工资,并且有资格(但不保证)豁免。
  • 职责测试:  通过一项和两项测试的员工还必须履行豁免工作义务,可以是以下一项或多项:
    • 免除行政责任: 作为其工作的常规部分,该人监督两名或更多其他员工。
    • 免除职业责任: 员工从事需要专业知识以及运用自由裁量权和判断力的智力活动。
    • 行政豁免职责:员工负责支持需要谨慎和判断的关键事项。
另请参阅: 工人补偿:英国的福利、流程和索赔

2020 年,美国劳工部 (DOL) 修订了 FLSA 的联邦加班要求。 以下是新标准:

白领工资豁免已从每周 455 美元增加到 684 美元。

  1. 奖金、激励补偿和/或佣金最多可占基本工资的 10%。
  2. 对高薪员工的新工资要求已从每年 100,000 美元提高到 107,432 美元。
  3. FLSA 规定,您可以根据员工的收入水平、工资基础和工作职责来评估员工是免税还是非免税。

豁免员工的福利和缺点

尽管“豁免”员工分类对某些公司来说似乎是理想的,但并不适合所有人。 雇用(和作为)豁免员工有许多优点和缺点。

雇主的观点

由于豁免员工没有资格获得加班补偿,因此雇用豁免员工的关键优势,根据 约书亚·格里克 非营利管理博士生和福勒研究员 凯斯西储大学, 是在设定预算范围内预期特定水平的性能或生产的灵活性。 然而,根据 Gerlick 的说法,豁免人员的成本通常高于非豁免员工,因为他们期望他们在履行义务时会运用自由裁量权和判断力。

对于工人

根据凯恩斯的说法,豁免员工的主要优势是支付一致性、福利资格和常规工作时间。 另一方面,豁免员工的工作时间灵活性低于非豁免员工,即使他们每周工作超过 40 小时,他们也没有资格获得加班费。

豁免人员无权获得加班补偿,这有助于企业坚持预算。 豁免员工也可享受福利。 然而,他们确实有较少的日程安排自由,并且每周可能工作超过 40 小时而无需额外支付。

非豁免员工的福利和缺点

雇用非豁免员工对公司和员工都有其自身的优势和劣势。

雇主的观点

雇主在雇用非豁免员工时有更大的灵活性,因为他们每周必须工作的小时数没有最低要求。 非豁免员工可能会按小时收费(最低工资或更高)并根据贵公司的需要安排时间。

非豁免员工有一些缺点,其中最重要的是每周工作超过 40 小时的员工的加班费。 为了保证员工公平地获得他们的时间补偿,您需要仔细监控和跟踪他们的工作时间。

对于工人

尽管加班自由和每小时获得公平报酬是非豁免员工最明显的福利,但凯恩斯表示,非豁免员工应该注意一些缺点。 非豁免员工可能没有安全或连续的薪水,他们的工作时间可能不符合标准工作时间,并且在某些司法管辖区,他们可能无权享受带薪假期或病假,因为他们的工作时间每周都不同。

底线是,非豁免员工在工作时间方面为企业提供了更大的灵活性,但那些每周工作超过 40 小时的人被拖欠加班费。 员工的实际工作时间是准确的,但是,由于工作时间可能会有所不同,因此他们的薪水可能会每周波动。

什么时候应该雇用豁免或非豁免工人?

首先,在为您的员工创建职位名称和描述时,雇主需要考虑哪个类别(豁免或非豁免)最有利于您的公司。 检查您需要完成的任务以及您希望使用的付款方式(工资或小时工资)。

根据凯恩斯的说法,一些工作在法律上有义务被豁免,并且只能被雇用。 然而,当涉及到可以调整以适应这些类别之一或其他类别的职位时,Gerlick 表示,企业主必须在灵活性和能力之间做出选择。

“雇用非豁免小时工可以让业主灵活地根据需求改变工作时间——例如,每周安排 15 小时,下一周安排 35 小时,”Gerlick 说。 “尽管有额外的费用,但雇用一名免税的受薪员工可以解决劳动力成本,而不管员工完成某项任务所需的时间长短。”

另请参阅: 什么是双周工资? 比较、计算、利弊

此外,豁免人员更适合担任执行、行政或专业职责的长期角色,而非豁免员工更适合小时工、临时工或季节性工。 根据他们的实际职责区分这些职位至关重要,然后让您的员工对遵守规则负责。

然而,根据 Gerlick 的说法,企业主犯的一个常见错误是开发一份豁免工作,但不允许员工应用工作描述所要求的判断和自由裁量权。 这种疏忽可能会使任何公司损失大量金钱:如果该员工决定起诉您,他们可以利用 FLSA 来支持他们的指控。

“如果雇主不熟悉 FLSA 的具体内容,他们应该聘请专业的人力资源顾问定期评估工作描述和审核工作活动,以确认当前分类的适用性,”Gerlick 说。 “积极主动至关重要。 通常,直到心怀不满的员工提起诉讼才会出现问题。”

因此,在决定是否雇用一名豁免或非豁免雇员。

加班费要求豁免指南

自 1 年 2020 月 XNUMX 日起,行政、行政和专业人员,以及销售人员和 STEM(科学、技术、工程和数学)员工,如果符合以下标准,则被指定为免税,因此没有资格获得加班费:

  • 员工获得薪水,而不是按小时支付。
  • 员工现在每周至少赚 684 美元,或每年 35,568 美元(高于每周 455 美元,或每年 23,660 美元)。
  • 此外,还给员工一个 周薪不管 他们工作了多少周。

员工还必须满足有关其工作职责和责任的某些就业要求,才有资格获得加班豁免。

基本上,要被归类为豁免,员工必须满足以下广泛要求:

  • 符合条件的员工 行政豁免 必须对管理公司或公司的部门或分部负有主要责任; 必须定期和习惯性地指导至少两名员工的工作; 并且必须具有雇用或解雇的权力,或者必须特别考虑他们对雇用、解雇或改变其他员工身份的建议和建议。
  • 雇员必须主要负责执行与雇主或雇主客户的管理或一般业务运营直接相关的办公室或非体力工作,才有资格获得 行政豁免,他们的主要职责必须包括在重大事项上行使自由裁量权和独立判断。
另请参阅: 人事代理机构:如何启动人事代理机构(+10 最佳机构)
  • 员工的主要工作职责必须是需要科学或学习领域的高级知识,这些知识通常是通过长期的、专业的、智力指导和学习获得的,或者专门从事其他一些类似的专业领域之一,例如教学、计算机分析或工程,有资格获得专业豁免。 9
  • 从事办公室或非体力劳动且年收入为 107,432 美元或以上的员工可能有资格获得豁免。 他们必须至少履行豁免的行政人员、行政人员或专业雇员的一项职责才有资格。 10
  • 作为计算机系统分析师、计算机程序员、软件工程师或其他受过类似培训的计算机领域人员,其工作职责符合豁免标准的员工有资格获得计算机豁免。
  • 员工的主要任务必须是进行销售或获取订单或合同,才有资格获得外部销售豁免。 工作必须远离雇主办公室或公司所在地。

其他近期加班规则变更

自 1 年 2020 月 XNUMX 日起,以下修改生效:

  • “高薪人员”的最低年薪已从每年 100,000 美元提高到 107,432 美元。
  • 雇主可以通过每年至少支付一次的非酌情奖金和奖励金(包括佣金)来满足标准工资水平的 10%,以承认不断变化的薪酬模式。

加班要求例外

除了豁免员工的主要类别(行政、执行、专业、计算机和外部销售)之外,还有其他人员可能被排除在加班费规则之外。

  • 汽车、卡车、拖车、农具、船只或飞机销售人员等零售或服务机构的某些受委托雇员; 或为汽车、卡车或农具提供服务的零件文员和机械师,他们受雇于主要从事将这些物品出售给最终购买者的非制造企业。
  • 铁路和航空公司的人员、出租车司机、某些汽车运输公司的雇员、美国船上的海员和当地的送货工人都根据批准的旅行费率计划获得报酬。
  • 部分非都市广播电台播音员、新闻编辑、总工程师
  • 住在雇主家中的家政服务雇员
  • 在电影院工作的员工
  • 农场工人

豁免员工分类和加班费的州要求

豁免员工在不同州受不同规则的约束。 例如,在加利福尼亚州,公司必须向员工支付至少两倍于现行最低工资的工资,才能使他们有资格获得加班豁免。 所有其他员工,无论工作职责如何,都有资格获得加班费。

  • 尽管如此,收入超过收入水平的工人必须满足豁免状态的其他标准才能被归类。
  • 非豁免员工的加班工资必须至少是加州最低工资的 1.5 倍,或每小时 19.50 美元(对于员工超过 26 人的公司)。
  • 该州对纽约行政和行政人员的最低工资门槛已逐渐提高,实际工资率因地理位置和公司规模而异。 例如,截至 58,500 年 31 月 2019 日,纽约市行政人员的门槛为 50,700 美元(按年计算)。拿骚、萨福克和威彻斯特县的门槛为 46,020 美元,该州其他地区为 XNUMX 美元。

豁免与非豁免员工常见问题解答

非豁免和豁免有什么区别?

豁免员工和非豁免员工之间的主要区别在于他们是否有资格获得加班费。 《公平劳工标准法》根据联邦法律 (FLSA) 确定了这一地位。 豁免加班的员工不承担责任,但非豁免员工则承担。

受薪雇员是否被视为豁免或非豁免?

如果非豁免员工的工作时间超过正常每周 40 小时的工作时间,他们必须至少获得最低工资和加班费。 豁免员工是符合上述类别之一、领薪且每周收入至少 684 美元或每年 35,568 美元的员工。

豁免员工每天必须工作多少小时?

被归类为豁免的员工可能无权加班或休息。 另一方面,豁免员工的工资必须是每周工作 40 小时的最低时薪的两倍。 雇主可以要求豁免雇员每周工作超过 40 小时而不支付加班费。

  1. 佛罗里达州的最低工资:2021 年佛罗里达州的最低工资是多少?
  2. 德克萨斯州的最低工资:2021 年德克萨斯州的最低工资是多少
  3. 遗产税:概述和门槛解释
  4. 为什么我欠税:所有你应该知道的,更新
  5. 不良占有:它是如何工作的; 规则和要求
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

Exempt vs Non Exempt: Best Easy Guide & Differences

Exempt vs Non Exempt
HRdirectSmartApps

Exempt employees and non-exempt employees are the two primary kinds of employees in any company/business. The real question, however, is, what is the difference between these workers and the jobs they do? In plain terms, exempt vs non-exempt employees.

Well, for starters, the remuneration for overtime work is the most important difference. The phrase “exempt” refers to someone who is not entitled to overtime pay. To a large extent, there are rules that regulate whether or not an employee is eligible for overtime compensation.

Meanwhile, that’s just a fraction of what you should know about exempt vs non-exempt employees; let’s dive into the real deal.

Exempt vs Non Exempt Employees

The ensuing paragraphs cover what it means to be an exempt employee vs a non-exempt employee.

Exempt Employees

The Fair Labor Standards Act does not provide overtime pay to some types of employees, often referred to as exempt employees. In simple terms, these are employees that are paid a regular salary, which is a predetermined sum of money distributed at regular intervals throughout the year. These workers are not eligible for minimum wage or overtime compensation. “Exempt” indicates that the employee is not entitled to overtime pay. The FLSA specifies which employees are exempt from overtime pay and which are not.

In addition to the FLSA, most states have their own wage and hourly-rate statutes, which have even more obligations.

But then, unless an employee falls into an exception category, the FLSA requires employers to pay at least minimum wage for up to 40 hours in a workweek and overtime pay for any additional time.

Read Also: WORKERS COMPENSATION: Benefits, process & claims in UK

In other words, although several states, in addition to the Federal Act, have their own set of wage regulations and restrictions, firms must comply with both federal and state legislation to be compliant.

Employers are not required to provide overtime pay to exempt employees (as opposed to non-exempt employees). It is up to the employer to decide whether or not to pay for overtime hours performed. In lieu of overtime pay, some firms may design an employee benefits package with additional incentives. You may be able to negotiate a raise if you are routinely asked to work overtime.

To be classified as an “exempt” employee, you must be paid on a salary basis (rather than hourly) and perform executive, administrative, or professional duties.

Non-Exempt Employees

Employees who are not excluded from the minimum wage and overtime compensation computed at 1.5 times their hourly rate of pay are classified as nonexempt. They’re frequently paid hourly for the exact amount of time they put in throughout a pay period. Non-exempt employees, as well as those who are eligible for overtime pay, are subject to federal and state regulations.

The Fair Labor Standards Act provides overtime pay for non-exempt employees.

When employees work more than 40 hours in a pay week, employers must pay them time and a half their regular rate of pay.

Most employees must be paid at least the federal minimum wage ($7.25 in 2021), plus time and a half for any hours worked beyond the standard 40.5.

Types of Exempt Employees

Exempt workers are recognized by the Fair Labor Standards Act in the following categories:

  • Executive
  • Professional
  • Administrative
  • Computer
  • Outside Sales

These categories are intentionally broad in order to cover a wide range of occupations.

Exempt vs. non-exempt employment status is determined by the tasks performed on the job, not by the job title alone.

Exempt vs Non Exempt Employees in terms of Overtime Compensation

Compensation is one of the most significant disparities between exempt and nonexempt positions. Employees with exempt status must earn at least $455 a week, according to Brian Cairns, CEO of ProStrategix Consulting, but overtime is not paid. Employees who are not exempt must be paid at least the minimum wage and are entitled to overtime compensation.

“When a nonexempt employee works more than 40 hours per week or on particular holidays, overtime is paid at time and a half,” Cairns explained. “The previous categorization of white-collar versus blue-collar workers was based on this.”

The FLSA establishes overtime pay guidelines. For every hour worked above 40 in a 168-hour continuous workweek, overtime is paid at 1.5 times the regular rate of pay.

Nonexempt employees started receiving bonuses on top of their normal pay from 2020. The U.S. Department of Labor’s website has complete overtime guidelines.

The key conclusion is that exempt employees are not eligible for overtime pay, whereas non-exempt employees are. Depending on where your business is located, specific guidelines are provided by the federal and state governments.

More on that later…

Employee Classification: Exempt vs Non Exempt Employees

There are three fundamental standards you might use to establish whether an employee should be classified as exempt or nonexempt under the FLSA:

  • Salary level test: Exemption is possible (but not guaranteed) for employees earning more than $35,568 per year ($684 per week).
  • Salary basis test: An employee who receives a guaranteed minimum wage regardless of the number of hours actually worked and qualifies (but is not guaranteed) as exempt.
  • Duties test:  An employee who passes tests one and two must also perform an exempt job obligation, which can be one or more of the following:
    • Exempt executive responsibilities: As a regular part of their job, the person supervises two or more other employees.
    • Exempt professional responsibilities: The employee engages in intellectual activities that necessitate specialized knowledge as well as the application of discretion and judgment.
    • Administrative Exempt duties: The employee is responsible for supporting critical matters that demand discretion and judgment.
Read Also: WORKERS COMPENSATION: Benefits, process & claims in UK

In 2020, the US Department of Labor (DOL) revised the FLSA’s federal overtime requirements. The following are the new standards:

White-collar salary exemptions have increased from $455 to $684 per week.

  1. Bonuses, incentive compensation, and/or commissions can account for up to 10% of the base salary.
  2. The new salary requirement for highly compensated employees has raised from $100,000 to $107,432 per year.
  3. The FLSA states that you can evaluate whether an employee is exempt or nonexempt based on their income level, salary basis, and job duties.

Exempt Employees’ Benefits and Drawbacks

Although the “exempt” employee categorization may appear to be ideal for some firms, it is not for everyone. Hiring (and working as) an exempt employee has a number of advantages and disadvantages.

Employer’s Perspective

Because exempt employees are not eligible for overtime compensation, the key advantage of hiring an exempt employee, according to Joshua Gerlick, a doctoral student of nonprofit management and a Fowler Fellow at Case Western Reserve University, is the flexibility to expect a specific level of performance or production while staying within a set budget. However, exempt personnel often cost more than non-exempt employees, according to Gerlick, owing to the expectation that they will utilize discretion and judgment in carrying out their obligations.

For the Worker

The main advantages of exempt employees, according to Cairns, are payment consistency, eligibility for benefits, and conventional business hours. Exempt employees, on the other hand, have less flexibility in their work schedules than nonexempt employees, and they are not eligible for overtime pay, even if they work more than 40 hours per week.

Exempt personnel are not entitled to overtime compensation, which helps businesses stick to their budget. Benefits are also available to exempt employees. They do, however, have less scheduling freedom and may work more than 40 hours per week without additional pay.

Nonexempt Employees’ Benefits and Drawbacks

Employing nonexempt employees has its own set of advantages and disadvantages for both firms and employees.

Employer’s Perspective

Employers have more flexibility when hiring non-exempt employees because there is no minimum requirement for the number of hours they must work every week. Nonexempt employees might be paid an hourly rate (minimum wage or greater) and scheduled according to your company’s needs.

Nonexempt employees have a few disadvantages, the most significant of which is overtime pay for employees who work more than 40 hours per week. To guarantee that employees fairly get compensation for their time, you’ll need to carefully monitor and track their hours.

For the Worker

Although the freedom to work overtime and earn fair compensation for every hour worked is the most obvious perk for nonexempt employees, Cairns said there are some disadvantages that nonexempt employees should be aware of. Nonexempt employees may not have a secure or continuous paycheck, their work hours may not adhere to standard business hours, and they may not be entitled to paid vacation or sick time in some jurisdictions since their hours vary week to week.

The bottom line is that nonexempt employees give businesses more flexibility in terms of hours worked, but those who work more than 40 hours per week are owed overtime. Employees are paid accurately for real hours worked, however, their paychecks may fluctuate from week to week due to the fact that hours worked can vary.

When Should You Hire Exempt or Nonexempt Workers?

First off, an employer would need to consider which category (exempt or nonexempt) will benefit your company the most when creating job titles and descriptions for your employees. Examine the tasks you’ll need to do and the payment method you’d like to use (salary or hourly).

Some jobs, according to Cairns, are legally obligated to be exempt and can only be hired as such. However, when it comes to positions that can be adjusted to fit into one of these categories or the other, Gerlick says business owners must choose between flexibility and competence.

“Hiring a nonexempt hourly employee offers owners the flexibility to change working hours based on demand – for example, scheduling 15 hours one week and 35 hours the next,” said Gerlick. “Despite the additional expense, hiring a salaried employee with exempt duties fixes the labor cost regardless of the amount of time required for the employee to complete a certain task.”

Read Also: What is Biweekly Pay? Comparisons, Calculations, Pros & Cons

Furthermore, exempt personnel are better suited for long-term roles with executive, administrative, or professional responsibilities, whereas non-exempt employees are better suited to hourly, temporary, or seasonal labor. It’s critical to distinguish these positions based on their actual responsibilities, and then hold your staff accountable for following the rules.

However, a common mistake made by business owners, according to Gerlick, is developing an exempt job but not allowing the employee to apply the judgment and discretion required by the job description. This oversight could cost any company a lot of money: if that employee decides to sue you, they can utilize the FLSA to back up their allegations.

“If an employer is unfamiliar with the specifics of the FLSA, they should hire professional human resources counsel to evaluate job descriptions and audit work activities on a regular basis to confirm the applicability of current classifications,” Gerlick said. “It is critical to be proactive. Typically, problems do not develop until a disgruntled employee files a lawsuit.”

So, consider the job description, the length of the work (temporary, short-term, or permanent), whether the role is part-time or full-time, and the kind of individual you want to hire when deciding whether to hire an exempt or nonexempt employee.

Guidelines for Exemption from Overtime Pay Requirements

Administrative, executive, and professional staff, as well as salespeople and STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) employees, have been designated as exempt and thus be ineligible for overtime pay since January 1, 2020, if they match the following criteria:

  • Employees are paid a salary rather than being paid by the hour.
  • Employees now make at least $684 per week, or $35,568 per year (up from $455 per week, or $23,660 per year).
  • Furthermore, employees are given a weekly pay regardless of how many weeks they work.

Employees must also meet certain employment requirements about their job duties and responsibilities in order to qualify for overtime exemption.

Basically, to be classified as exempt, an employee must meet the following broad requirements:

  • Employees who qualify for the executive exemption must have a primary responsibility for managing the company or a department or subdivision of the company; must regularly and customarily direct the work of at least two employees; and must have the authority to hire or fire, or their suggestions and recommendations for hiring, firing, or changing the status of other employees must be given special consideration.
  • Employees must have a primary duty of performing office or non-manual work directly related to the management or general business operations of the employer or the employer’s customers to qualify for the administrative exemption, and their primary duty must include the exercise of discretion and independent judgment in significant matters.
Read Also: Staffing Agency: How Start a Staffing Agency (+10 Best Agencies)
  • Employees must have a primary duty of work requiring advanced knowledge in a field of science or learning typically acquired through prolonged, specialized, intellectual instruction and study, or specialize in one of a few other similarly specialized fields, such as teaching, computer analytics, or engineering, to qualify for a professional exemption.9
  • Staff who conduct office or non-manual labor and earn a yearly income of $107,432 or more may qualify for exemption. They must fulfill at least one of the responsibilities of an exempt executive, administrative, or professional employee to qualify. 10
  • Employees employed as a computer systems analyst, computer programmer, software engineer, or other similarly trained person in the computer area with job duties that match the criteria for exemption are eligible for the computer exemption.
  • Employees must have a primary task of making sales or acquiring orders or contracts to qualify for the outside sales exemption. Work must be done away from an employer’s office or company locations.

Other Recent Overtime Rules Chang-es

As of January 1, 2020, the following modifications were in effect:

  • The minimum yearly remuneration for “highly compensated personnel” has been raised from $100,000 to $107,432 per year.
  • Employers can satisfy up to 10% of the standard wage level with non-discretionary bonuses and incentive payments (including commissions) paid at least once a year, in acknowledgment of changing pay patterns.

Overtime Requirements Exceptions

There are other personnel who may be excluded from overtime pay rules in addition to the primary categories of exempt employees (administrative, executive, professional, computer, and outside sales).

  • Certain commissioned employees of retail or service establishments like auto, truck, trailer, farm implement, boat, or aircraft salespersons; or parts clerks and mechanics servicing autos, trucks, or farm implements, who are employed by non-manufacturing establishments primarily engaged in selling these items to final purchasers.
  • Personnel of railroads and airlines, taxi drivers, certain motor carrier employees, seamen on American ships, and local delivery workers are all paid according to approved trip rate schemes.
  • Some non-metropolitan broadcasting stations’ announcers, news editors, and chief engineers
  • Domestic service employees that live in the employer’s home
  • Employees who work in movie theaters
  • Farmworkers

State Requirements for Exempt Employee Classification and Overtime Pay

Exempt employees are subject to different rules in different states. In California, for example, companies must pay an employee at least twice the prevailing minimum wage to qualify them for overtime exemption. All other employees, regardless of job responsibilities, would be eligible for overtime.

  • Workers who earn more than the income level must nevertheless meet the other criteria for exempt status in order to be classified as such.
  • Non-exempt employees must also be paid overtime wages of at least 1.5 times the California minimum wage, or $19.50 per hour (for firms with more than 26 employees).
  • The state’s minimum pay threshold for executive and administrative personnel in New York has been gradually increased, with the actual rate varying depending on geographic location and firm size. For example, the barrier for administrative staff in New York City is $58,500 (annualized) as of December 31, 2019. The threshold is $50,700 in Nassau, Suffolk, and Westchester counties, and $46,020 in the rest of the state.

Exempt vs Non Exempt Employees FAQs

What is the difference between non-exempt and exempt?

The main distinction between exempt and non-exempt employees is whether or not they are eligible for overtime. The Fair Labor Standards Act determines this status under federal law (FLSA). Employees who are exempt from overtime are not liable to it, but non-exempt employees are.

Are salaried employees considered exempt or nonexempt?

Non-exempt employees must be paid at least the minimum wage and overtime if they work longer than the regular 40-hour workweek. Exempt employees are those who fit under one of the above categories, are salaried, and earn at least $684 per week or $35,568 per year.

How many hours a day does an exempt employee have to work?

Employees who are classified as exempt may not be entitled to overtime or breaks. Exempt employees, on the other hand, must be paid double the minimum hourly wage for a 40-hour workweek. An employer could ask an exempt employee to work more than 40 hours per week without paying overtime.

  1. Minimum wage in Florida: what is Florida minimum wage in 2021?
  2. Minimum wage in Texas: what is the minimum wage in Texas 2021
  3. INHERITANCE TAX: Overview & Threshold Explained
  4. Why Do I Owe Taxes: All You Should Know, Updated
  5. ADVERSE POSSESSION: How It Works; Rules and Requirements
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like