房主的税收减免:7 年房主的前 2022 项税收减免

房主减税和抵押税减免
图片来源:AmeriSaveMortgageCorporation

联邦政府为房主提供各种税收减免。 这可以帮助他们减税并将钱放回口袋。 房主可以利用租户无法利用的扣除额,例如家庭办公室和财产税扣除额。 尽管房主的税收减免额可能高达数千美元,但只有在您的总分项扣除额超过 IRS 基本扣除额时,才值得申报。 本文重点介绍 2022 年房主的各种税收减免,以及抵押贷款和主要住宅税收减免。 阅读愉快!

2022 年房主税收减免

一般来说,作为房主,减税每年可以为您节省数百或数千美元。 某些扣除额,例如抵押贷款利息和财产税,可能会年复一年地节省并存入您的口袋。 但是,通常只有在超出 IRS 标准扣除额时才值得逐项列出您的扣除额。 随后,2021 纳税年度的标准扣除额为单身申报者 12,550 美元和已婚夫妇共同申报的 25,100 美元。

什么是可扣税费用?

报税时,可抵税费用是您可以从调整后的总收​​入中扣除的费用。 一般来说,如果您的应税收入很少,您将支付较少的税款。 标准扣除额是现金金额,取决于您的申报状态、年龄和其他因素。 这减少了被征税的收入金额。 个人扣除,例如特定的房主支出和慈善捐款,是逐项扣除的一部分。 尽管如此,您在报税时只能在标准扣除和逐项扣除之间选择一种。

以下是房主每年可以节省更多钱的各种扣除额。

#1。 抵押权益

一般而言,当您以单身或已婚联合申报的形式购买房屋时,您最多可以从本金债务中扣除 750,000 美元的利息。 但是,如果您已婚并分开申报,您将能够扣除高达 375,000 美元的已付利息。 或者,如果您在 14 年 1987 月 XNUMX 日之前购买了您的房产,您可以扣除所有抵押贷款利息。

同样,您可以在抵押贷款的整个生命周期内扣除高达 1 万美元的利息。 但是,这是如果您在 14 年 1987 月 15 日至 2017 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日之间购买的财产。

#2。 房屋净值贷款利息

房屋净值贷款是一种第二抵押贷款,您可以在其中借入您的财产价值。 如果您的房屋价值 50,000 美元,但您仍欠 350,000 美元,则您拥有 300,000 美元的资产。

您为房屋净值贷款支付的利息可能是免税的。 同时,您如何使用房屋净值贷款中的资金没有任何限制或限制。 然而,如果您使用它来进行重大的家庭装修,您只有资格扣除利息。 但是,这只是在 2017 年减税和就业法案之后才开始的。在此之前,无论您如何使用这笔钱,您都可以扣除这些贷款的利息。 仅当您使用借来的钱进行家居装修时,才能获得此扣除。 

#3。 折扣点

获得抵押贷款后,您可以选择购买折扣点以将利率降至最低。 如果您有这种选择,一个折扣点是抵押金额的百分之一。 也就是说,折扣点花费了您新抵押贷款的 1%,并将您的利率降低了 0.25%。 通常,您在整个贷款期限内花费在折扣点上的钱通常可以免税。 如果您符合美国国税局的多项标准,您可能可以完全扣除折扣点。

#4。 财产税

如果您拥有房屋,您就无法逃避房产税成本。 您每年最多可以扣除 10,000 美元的财产税。 然而,这 10,000 美元也 包括任何州和地方税 你想扣除。 然而,如果您的财产税为 6,000 美元,并且您在州税中扣除了 8,000 美元,则您只能扣除 4,000 美元的财产税。

#5。 家庭办公费用

如果您在附近经营企业,您可能可以扣除维持或维护家庭办公室的费用。 通常,您有两种选择来计算扣除额。 首先是计算您的全部住房费用,包括从电费到互联网账单的所有费用。 然后你扣除你的办公室占用的房屋数量。 否则,在另一种情况下,如果您拥有 2,000-平方英尺的房子 并且您的办公室占地 200 平方英尺,您可以扣除 10% 的合格费用。

另一方面,另一种选择是简化技术,允许您每平方英尺最多 5 平方英尺的办公空间扣除 300 美元。 但是,美国国税局要求您必须将您的家庭办公室用于常规和独家业务。 这是为了有资格获得扣除。

#6。 抵押保险

在 2021 纳税年度,抵押贷款保险的费用可以扣除。 但是,目前尚不清楚 2022 年之后的抵押贷款保险付款是否可以免税。 尽管如此,根据美国国税局的说法,已支付的抵押贷款保险金额被视为 按揭利息。 申请人的调整后总收入必须低于 109,000 美元。 或者,如果您已婚并分开申报,您必须有 54,500 美元。

在常规抵押贷款中,您可以扣除私人抵押贷款保险; 对于 FHA 抵押贷款,您可以扣除抵押贷款保险。 同样,在 VA 抵押贷款中,您可以扣除融资费用。 在美国农业部抵押贷款时,您可以扣除担保费。

#7。 家园改造

永久修改或升级您的房屋价值只能部分扣除。 同样,物业价值上升的比例将从可抵扣成本中扣除。 然而,许多无障碍改造,如建造入口楼梯、扩大门口或安装栏杆以及支撑杆并不能提高房屋估值。 因此,可以完全扣除。

按揭税减免

当您提交纳税申报表时,抵押贷款利息税收减免允许您从应税收入中扣除您为抵押贷款支付的利息金额。 扣除额可以帮助您节省税款。 虽然贷款金额有限,但扣除额包括用于建造、购买或改善您的主要住宅的任何贷款的利息。

抵押贷款利息扣除是一项逐项扣除,允许房主扣除用于建造、收购或维修其财产的任何贷款支付的利息。 同样,如果您拥有出租物业或第二套房子,您也可以申请,但有一些限制。

抵押税减免如何运作

1913年,抵押税减免与所得税相结合。 它现在可以说已成为美国数百万房主中最受欢迎的税收减免。 但是,出租物业的抵押贷款所支付的利息也可以扣除。 但它必须记录在附表 E 中。

2017 年通过的减税和就业法案 (TCJA) 改变了扣除额。一般而言,它将符合利息扣除条件的最高抵押贷款本金从 1 万美元降低到 750,000 美元。 第一年估计有135.2亿纳税人选择了标准扣除。 同时,那只是在 TCJA 颁布之后。 然而,美国有超过 80 万份未偿还的抵押贷款。 这意味着绝大多数房主没有从抵押贷款利息扣除中受益。

房主可以逐项列出他们的抵押贷款利息费用或采用标准扣除额,但不能同时获得抵押贷款税收减免。 附表 A 的第 8 至 8c 行用于计算抵押贷款利息费用。 然而,这些随后被转移到 12 年表格 2021 的第 1040 行。

按揭抵税资格

减税和就业法案 (TCJA) 减少了房主可以从税收中扣除的利息金额。 但是,一些房主可能能够扣除他们所有的抵押贷款利息。 一般来说,抵押的日期和收益的用途决定了扣除的金额。

单身或已婚联合报税的纳税人只能从其收入的前 750,000 美元中扣除利息。 此外,已婚纳税人单独报税可以扣除 375,000 美元的抵押贷款。 这与以前纳税人将扣除前1万美元的抵押贷款利息不同。 已婚夫妇分别提交抵押贷款的费用为 500,000 美元。 

如果房主的抵押贷款全年满足以下要求,您可以扣除所有抵押贷款利息。 但是,在美国国税局 (IRS) 确定的某个日期之前取出的抵押贷款有资格获得扣除。

  • 13 年 1987 月 XNUMX 日之前授予的抵押贷款没有限制。
    • 这意味着纳税人可以从他们的应税收入中扣除任何数额的抵押贷款利息。
  • 1 年 500,000 月 13 日至 1987 年 16 月 2017 日期间获得的抵押贷款的前 1 万美元(已婚单独报税的纳税人为 2018 万美元)的抵押贷款利息。同时,可以扣除 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日之前出售的住宅。
  • 后者的销售合同必须在 15 年 2017 月 1 日之前签署,并在 2018 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日之前完成。

主要居住税减免

一般来说,您融资的房屋类型会对抵押贷款利率产生很大影响。 主要住宅的抵押贷款利率通常较低。 不过,您可能可以扣除您为主要和次要住宅抵押贷款支付的利息。 这达到某个最大值。

以不超过两套房屋为主要住所的贷款利息有资格获得抵押税减免。

它可能是 对于永久住所, 第二个家,度假屋,船,甚至休闲车。 人们经常认为,为您的主要住所支付最大的抵押贷款将导致最大的税收减免。 然而,这并非总是如此。

根据一项新规定,纳税人通常可以扣除高达 750,000 美元的房屋抵押贷款利息。 这项新规定于 2018 纳税年度生效。 但是,您必须在 1040 表的附表 A 中逐项列出扣除项,才有资格获得您的主要居民税扣除。

您支付的抵押贷款利息获得税收减免并不是拥有主要住所的唯一优势。 此外,出售房产还有其他好处。 您可能有资格获得主要住所的资本利得税减免。

主要住宅资本利得税减免

当您出售价值升值的资产时,您必须缴纳资本利得税。 但是,如果您决定出售您的主要住宅并且它已经升值,您可能会从出售收益中获得资本利得税减免。 美国国税局现在允许纳税人 配偶共同申报的资本收益最多可扣除 500,000 美元,单身人士可扣除 250,000 美元。 

例如,假设您花了 200,000 美元购买了一个恰好是我们唯一的家和主要住所的房子。 多年后,您决定在搬迁后以更高的价格出售它。 一天结束时,扣除销售成本后,您的利润为 50,000 美元。 通常,您不必为该利润缴纳资本利得税。 但是,只有当您符合排除标准时。 一般来说,根据您的收入,资本利得税税率为 0%、15% 或 20%。

但是,为了能够对您的主要住所申请税收减免,您必须满足以下要求:

  • 在过去五年中,您必须拥有您的房屋至少 24 个月。
  • 在过去五年中,它必须是您的主要居所至少 24 个月。
  • 在过去两年中,您不能再申请资本收益排除。

总结

一般来说,作为房主,减税每年可以为您节省数百或数千美元。 某些扣除额,例如抵押贷款利息和财产税,可能会年复一年地节省并存入您的口袋。 但是,通常只有在超出 IRS 标准扣除额时才值得逐项列出您的扣除额。

房主减税常见问题解答

2022年新屋顶可以免税吗?

不幸的是,您不能扣除新屋顶的费用。 安装新屋顶被视为家居装修,家居装修费用不可扣除。

我可以注销我的家庭办公室吗?

您最多可以注销 100% 的家庭办公室费用,例如空间维修费用。 投资于你:准备好了。

我可以在 2022 年申请哪些扣除额?

2022年标准扣除

  • 单一申报者 12,950 美元。
  • 已婚夫妇分开报税 12,950 美元。
  • 户主19,400美元。
  • 已婚夫妇共同申报为 25,900 美元。
  • 25,900 美元给幸存的配偶。

主要住所可以抵扣哪些税款?

出售房屋时的税收减免。 该规则的简短版本是,如果您在过去五年中有两年住在您的主要住所,您最多可以免除 250,000 美元的利润征税。 如果你已婚,这个数字会翻倍,达到 500,000 美元。

  1. 表格 8396:含义、说明和获取表格的位置
  2. QPRT:完整的合格个人住宅信托指南(+快速工具)
  3. 学生贷款利息扣除:定义和资格
  4. 主要经营场所有限责任公司:定义和示例
  5. 营业费用:营业费用清单
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

Tax Deductions For Homeowners: Top 7 Tax Deductions For Homeowners 2022

Tax deductions for homeowners and mortgage tax deduction
Image Source: AmeriSaveMortgageCorporation

The federal government offers a variety of tax deductions for homeowners. This can help them cut their taxes and put money back in their pockets. Homeowners can make use of deductions that renters can’t take advantage of, such as home office and property tax deductions. Although homeowners’ tax deductions might amount to thousands of dollars, claiming them is only worthwhile if your total itemized deductions surpass the IRS basic deduction. This article focus on the various tax deductions for homeowners in 2022, as well as mortgage and primary residence tax deduction. Have fun reading!

Tax Deductions For Homeowners 2022

Generally, tax deductions can save you hundreds or thousands of dollars each year as a homeowner. Certain deductions, such as mortgage interest as well as property taxes, may save and put money into your pocket year after year. However, it’s usually only worthwhile to itemize your deductions if they exceed the IRS standard deduction. Subsequently, the standard deduction for the 2021 tax year is $12,550 for single filers and $25,100 for married couples filing jointly.

What is a Tax Deductible Expenses?

When filing taxes, a tax-deductible expense is one you are able to deduct from your adjusted gross income. Generally, you’ll pay less in taxes if your taxable income is minimal. A standard deduction is a cash amount that, depending on your filing status, age, and other factors. That reduces the amount of income that is taxed. Individual deductions, such as specific homeowner expenditures and charity contributions, are part of itemized deductions. Nevertheless, you can only pick one between the standard deduction and itemized deductions when filing your taxes.

Below are the various deductions available to homeowners to save more money year to year.

#1. Mortgage Interests

Generally, when you buy a home either as a single or married filing jointly, you can deduct interest on up to $750,000 of your principal debt. However, if you’re married and filing separately, you will be able to deduct up to $375,000 in interest paid. Alternatively, if you acquired your property before October 14, 1987, you can deduct all of your mortgage interest.

Likewise, you can deduct interest paid on up to $1 million over the life of your mortgage. This however is if you acquired your property between October 14, 1987, and December 15, 2017.

#2. Home Equity Loan Interest

A home equity loan is a type of the second mortgage in which you borrow against the value of your property. You have $50,000 of equity if your home is worth $350,000 but you still owe $300,000.

The interest you pay on your home equity loan may be tax-deductible. Meanwhile, there are no constraints or limitations to how you can make use of the money from a home equity loan. Nevertheless, you only qualify to deduct the interest if you use it to make a significant home renovation. However, this only started after the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017. Before that, you can deduct the interest on these loans regardless of how you used the money. This deduction is only available if you use the borrowed money to do a home improvement. 

#3. Discount Points

After getting a mortgage, you may have the option of buying discount points to minimize your interest rate. One discount point is one percent of the mortgage amount if you have this choice. This is to say a  discount point costs 1% of your new mortgage and lowers your interest rate by 0.25 percent. Generally, the money you spend on discount points throughout the life of the loan is usually tax-deductible. You may be able to entirely deduct your discount points if you meet a number of Internal Revenue Service standards.

#4. Property Taxes

If you own a home, you can not escape property taxes cost. You can deduct up to $10,000 in property taxes every year. However, that $10,000 also includes any state and local taxes you want to deduct. Nevertheless, you can only deduct $6,000 of your property taxes if your property tax payment is $8,000 and you deduct $4,000 in state taxes.

#5. Home Office Expenses

If you’re operating a business in your vicinity, you might be able to deduct the cost of keeping or maintaining a home office. Generally, you have two options for calculating your deduction. First is to calculate your entire housing expenses, including everything from electricity to internet bills. And then you deduct the amount of your home that your office occupies. Otherwise, in another instance, if you own a 2,000-square-foot house and your office occupies 200 square feet, you can deduct 10% of your qualified expenses.

On the other hand, the simplified technique, which allows you to deduct $5 per square foot of office space up to 300 square feet, is another alternative. However, the IRS requires that you must be using your home office for regular and exclusive business. This is so as to qualify for a deduction.

#6. Mortgage Insurance

For the tax year 2021, the expense of mortgage insurance will be deductible. However, it’s still unclear if mortgage insurance payments after 2022 will be tax-deductible. Nevertheless, according to the IRS, the amount of mortgage insurance paid is regarded as mortgage interest. Applicants must have an adjusted gross income of less than $109,000. Alternatively, you must have $54,500 if you are marital and filing separately.

On conventional mortgages, you can deduct private mortgage insurance; on FHA mortgages, you can deduct mortgage insurance. Likewise, on VA mortgages, you can deduct the financing charge. While on US Department of Agriculture mortgages, you can deduct the guarantee fee.

#7. Home Improvements

Modifications or upgrades to your home’s value that are permanent are only partially deductible. Likewise, the proportion of rising property value is will be deducted from the deductible cost. However, many accessibility modifications, like building entrance stairs, expanding doorways, or installing railings as well as support bars do not enhance the home valuation. And as such, can be entirely deducted.

Mortgage Tax Deduction

When you file your tax return, the mortgage interest tax deduction allows you to deduct the amount of interest you pay on your mortgage from your taxable income. The deduction may help you save money on your taxes. While the amount of the loan is limited, the deduction includes interest on any loan used to construct, purchase, or improve your primary residence.

The mortgage interest deduction is an itemized deduction that allows homeowners to deduct interest paid on any loan used to construct, acquire, or repair their property. Likewise, you can also claim it if you own rental property or a second home, but there are some restrictions.

How Mortgage Tax Deduction Work

In 1913, the mortgage tax deduction was combined with the income tax. It has now become arguably the most popular tax deduction among millions of homeowners in the United States. However, the Interest paid on rental properties’ mortgages is also deductible. But it must be recorded on Schedule E.

The deduction was altered by the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA), which was passed in 2017.  Generally,  It lowered the maximum mortgage principal eligible for interest deductibility from $1 million to $750,000. An estimated 135.2 million taxpayers in the first year chose the standard deduction. Meanwhile, that was only after the enaction of the TCJA. However, there are more than 80 million mortgages outstanding in the United State. This implies that the large majority of homeowners do not benefit from the mortgage interest deduction.

Homeowners can either itemize their mortgage interest expenses or take the standard deduction but not both to get mortgage tax deductions. Lines 8 through 8c of Schedule A are used to calculate mortgage interest charges. These however are subsequently transferred to line 12 of the 2021 Form 1040.

Qualification for Mortgage Tax Deduction

The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA) reduced the amount of interest that homeowners could deduct from their taxes. However, some homeowners may be able to deduct all of their mortgage interest. Generally, the date of the mortgage and the usage of the proceeds determines the amount of the deduction.

Taxpayers who are single or married filing jointly can only deduct interest on the first $750,000 of their income. In addition, married taxpayers filing separately can deduct $$375,000 on their mortgage. This is not the same as before when taxpayers will deduct mortgage interest on the first $1 million. And $500,000 for married couples submitting their mortgages separately. 

You can deduct all mortgage interest if the homeowner’s mortgage satisfies the requirements below all through the year. However, mortgages taken out by a certain date established by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) are eligible for the deduction.

  • There are no limits on mortgages granted before October 13, 1987.
    • This means that taxpayers can deduct any amount of mortgage interest from their taxable income.
  • Mortgage interest on the first $1 million ($500,000 for married filing separately taxpayers) of a mortgage obtained between Oct. 13, 1987, and December 16, 2017. And at the same time, residences sold before April 1, 2018, can be deducted.
  • The sales contract for the latter must have been signed by December 15, 2017, with the closing taking place by April 1, 2018.

Primary Residence Tax Deduction

Generally, the type of home you are financing will have a great impact on the mortgage rate. Mortgage rates are often lower for primary residences. Nevertheless, you may be able to deduct the interest you pay on your primary and secondary residence mortgages. This is up to a certain maximum.

Interest paid on loans for no more than two houses as a primary residence is eligible for the mortgage tax deduction.

It could be for a permanent dwelling, a second home, a vacation home, a boat, or even a recreational vehicle. People frequently assume that the largest mortgage payment for your primary residence will result in the largest tax deduction. However, this is not always the case.

As a rule, taxpayers can deduct up to $750,000 of mortgage interest on a home under a new regulation. This new regulation took effect in the 2018 tax year. However, you must itemize deductions on Schedule A of Form 1040 to be eligible for your primary residence tax deduction.

The fact that you get a tax deduction for the mortgage interest you pay isn’t the only advantage of having a primary residence. Also, there are other benefits when you sell your property. You may qualify for capital gains tax deduction on your primary residence.

Primary Residence Capital Gains Tax Deduction

When you sell an asset that has appreciated in value, you must pay capital gains tax. However, if you decide to sell your primary residence and it has appreciated in value, you may get a capital gains tax deduction from the sale proceeds. The IRS now allows taxpayers to deduct up to $500,000 in capital gains for spouses filing jointly and $250,000 if they are single. 

For instance, let’s say you spend $200,000 on a home that happens to be y our lone home and principal residence. Years later, you decide to sell it for a higher price after relocating. At the end of the day, your profit is $50,000 upon deducting the costs of the selling. As a rule, you won’t have to pay capital gains taxes on that profit. However, it is only if you meet the criteria for the exclusions. Generally, depending on your income, the rate of capital gains tax rate is 0%, 15%, or 20%.

However, to be able to claim a tax deduction on your primary residence, you must meet the below requirements:

  • In the previous five years, you must have owned your house for at least 24 months.
  • It had to be your principal abode for at least 24 months in the prior five years.
  • In the last two years, you can’t have claimed another capital gains exclusion.

Conclusion

Generally, tax deductions can save you hundreds or thousands of dollars each year as a homeowner. Certain deductions, such as mortgage interest as well as property taxes, may save and put money into your pocket year after year. However, it’s usually only worthwhile to itemize your deductions if they exceed the IRS standard deduction.

Tax Deductions For Homeowners FAQs

Is a new roof tax-deductible in 2022?

Unfortunately, you cannot deduct the cost of a new roof. Installing a new roof is considered a home improvement and home improvement costs are not deductible.

Can I write off my home office?

You can write off up to 100% of some expenses for your home office, such as the cost of repairs to the space. Invest in You: Ready.

What deductions can I claim for 2022?

2022 Standard Deductions

  • $12,950 for single filers.
  • $12,950 for married couples filing separately.
  • $19,400 for heads of households.
  • $25,900 for married couples filing jointly.
  • $25,900 for surviving spouses.

What is tax deductible for a primary residence?

Tax Break When You Sell Your Home. The short version of the rule is that if you have lived in your primary residence for two of the past five years, you can exclude up to $250,000 of profits from being taxed. If you are married, that number doubles to $500,000.

  1. Form 8396: Meaning, Instructions And Where to Get The Form
  2. QPRT: Complete Qualified Personal Residence Trust Guide(+Quick Tools)
  3. STUDENT LOAN INTEREST DEDUCTION: Definition & Eligibility
  4. PRINCIPAL PLACE OF BUSINESS LLC: Definition & Examples
  5. Business Expenses: List Of Business Expenses
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like