股本回报率:含义、公式和如何计算(+快速工具)

股本回报率,
图片来源:交易策略

投资于比竞争对手更有效地产生利润的公司可能会非常有利可图。 股本回报率 (ROE) 可以帮助投资者区分利润创造者和利润消耗者。 如果您有兴趣了解有关股本回报率的深层知识,请坐好。 我们将学习有关股本回报率公式、计算器和最佳计算方法的完整课程。

什么是股本回报率?

ROE本质上衡量的是公司所有者从其持股中获得的回报率。 股本回报率表示公司在从股东那里获得的投资回报方面有多好。 让我们考虑另一个紧密的定义。 股本回报率 (ROE) 是一种财务比率,它告诉您上市公司与其持有的净资产相比获得了多少利润。 它对于比较同一行业中类似公司的业绩非常有用。 

详情

当使用股本回报率将一家公司与另一家类似公司进行比较时,会产生一种更有意义、更有效、更简单的比较方式。 在 公司财务,股本回报率是衡量企业或组织在股本方面的盈利能力。 股本回报率是衡量公司或组织如何巧妙地将其资本用于投资以产生收益增长,从而为此类组织带来利润。 股本回报率是从投资者的角度来看的盈利比率,而不是从公司的角度来看。

ROE 专注于将公司与其竞争对手和整个市场进行比较。 该公式在比较同一行业的公司时最有用,因为它往往可以准确地表明哪些公司的财务效率更高,并且可以评估几乎所有拥有主要材料而非非材料的公司。

股本回报率(ROE)是一项重要的财务指标, 投资者 可以用来确定如何盈利和 高效管理 正在利用股东提供的股权融资。 它将净收入与公司的权益进行比较。 数字越高越好,但对苹果进行衡量总是很重要,这意味着在同一行业经营的公司,因为每个行业都有不同的特征,这些特征会改变他们的利润和融资用途。

如同所有的 投资分析, ROE 只是一个指标,仅突出了公司财务实力的一部分。 在投资之前使用各种财务指标来全面了解公司的财务状况至关重要。

股本回报率公式

ROE = 净收入 / 股东权益 

股本回报率公式为评估投资回报提供了一个简单的指标。 通过将公司的 ROE 与行业平均水平进行比较,可以确定公司的竞争优势。 ROE 还可以提供有关公司管理层如何利用股权融资来发展业务的洞察力。

随着时间的推移,可持续且不断增加的 ROE 可能意味着公司擅长创造股东价值,因为它知道如何明智地再投资其收益,以提高生产力和利润。 相比之下,ROE 下降可能意味着管理层在将资本再投资于非生产性资产方面做出了错误的决定。 识别上述所有因素的唯一方法是通过股本回报率公式。

让我们进一步分解。 

净收入,也称为净利润,在损益表上。 它显示了在考虑到销售成本、运营费用和任何其他费用后剩余的总利润。 由于这个原因,它通常被称为“底线”,因为它可以在损益表的最底部找到。 

股东权益可以在资产负债表上观察到。 如果您的公司要清算其所有资产并偿还所有负债,则股东权益将被保留。 资产负债表的建立反映了会计等式(资产 - 负债 = 股东权益)。 要找到股东权益,只需从资产中减去负债即可。 

股本回报率计算器

股本回报率计算器可帮助您计算 ROE。 这是一个非常流行且重要的商业指标,显示了公司的效率。 有一些著名的计算器可以帮助计算股本回报率。

全方位计算r:有些人想看着世界燃烧,而另一些人则想提供易于定制的嵌入式计算器。 Mateusz Mucha属于后者阵营。 Mucha是Omni计算器的创始人。 他的产品可让您创建自己的自定义计算器,目前支持几个有用的公式。

该移动应用程序每月有 270,000 名活跃用户,他在网站上每周看到 8,500 名用户。 使用 Omni 计算器,您的股本回报率计算得到解决。

BDC钙.:这是另一个著名的计算器,有助于计算股本回报率。 这个商业计算器将帮助您计算您的每月付款和为您的项目融资的利息成本。

股本回报率计算

以下是股本回报率计算的示例。

假设两家公司拥有相同数量的资产(1,000 美元)和相同的净收入(120 美元),但债务水平不同。

A 公司有 500 美元的债务,因此有 500 美元的股东权益(1,000 美元 - 500 美元)。 而 B 公司有 200 美元的债务和 800 美元的股东权益(1,000 - 200 美元)。 A 公司的 ROE 为 24%(120 美元/500 美元),而负债较少的 B 公司的 ROE 为 15%(120 美元/800 美元)。 由于 ROE 等于净收入除以股权数字,负债较高的公司 A 的股本回报率最高。

A 公司看起来好像有更高的盈利能力,但实际上它对债权人的义务更高。 因此,其较高的 ROE 可能只是未来问题的一个掩饰。

净资产收益率的局限性

尽管有帮助,但 ROE 不应成为衡量公司财务状况和前景的唯一指标。 单独来看,ROE 计算有多种方式可能会产生误导。

例如,一家大举借钱的公司会人为地增加其 ROE,因为它承担的任何债务都会降低 ROE 方程的分母。 如果没有上下文,这可能会让潜在投资者对公司的效率产生错误的印象。 对于像许多初创公司一样快速扩张的成长型公司来说,这可能是一个特别关注的问题。

同样,如果一家公司连续几年亏损,这会减少股东权益,那么突然盈利的一年可能会给它带来高股本回报率,这仅仅是因为其基于资产的分母已经大幅缩水。 然而,该公司的基本财务状况不会改善,这意味着该公司可能不会突然成为一项不错的投资。

Equity LifeStyle 物业是否具有良好的股本回报率?

将公司的股本回报率 (ROE) 与行业平均水平进行比较很可能是评估 ROE 的最简单方法。 但是,由于同一行业内的企业之间可能存在较大差异,因此该方法仅作为初步审查有效。 如下图所示,Equity LifeStyle Properties 的股本回报率高于适用于 REIT 的行业标准 5.1%。

债务如何影响净资产收益率?

为了提高盈利水平,绝大多数企业都需要额外的资本。 投资所需的资金可以来自前一年的利润(称为留存收益)、通过出售额外股份或借入资金。 在第一种和第二种情况下,ROE 的计算将考虑用于公司投资的现金。 在第二种情况下,使用债务为增长融资将导致回报增加,而不会影响整体权益。 这将使 ROE 看起来比没有使用债务时更好。

ROE的消极方面是什么

股票回购是另一个可能使股本回报率向错误方向倾斜的因素。 当管理层在公开市场上进行收购以回购自己的股份时,现在流通在外的股份数量可以减少。 因此,当分母减少时,净资产收益率将增加。

其中一个缺点是某些 ROE 计算可能没有将无形资产作为股东权益的一部分考虑在内。 无形资产是指任何不能转化为货币价值的东西,例如公司的商誉、商标、版权或专利。 这可能会导致误导性计算,并且无法将结果与已决定纳入无形资产的其他公司的结果进行比较。

最后但同样重要的是,该比率在构成方面有一些不同的排列,分析师可能对此有不同的看法。 例如,股东权益可以是期初数、期末数或两者的平均值,而 Net Income 可以替换为 EBITDA 和 EBIT,非经常性项目可以调整,也可以是没有调整。

公司的ROE可以为负值吗?

是的。 一家公司的 ROE 可能低到负数。 通常,投资者不会为净收入为负的公司计算 ROE,因为此类公司的回报为零。 然而,有时会发生这种情况,由于在净收入为正回报时负债超过资产,公司的股东权益为负。 在这种情况下,使用公式得出的 ROE 将为负值。

重要的是要注意,在股本回报率计算后,负结果并不意味着您应该完全无视该公司。 但是,这应该是一个警告,请您谨慎行事。 在典型情况下,负 ROE 表示公司存在债务、资产保留或两者兼有的问题。 负 ROE 可能是公司业务发展举措的结果。 当公司承担巨额债务以启动一个雄心勃勃的新项目时,如果借入的资金超过公司的价值,最终可能会出现负 ROE。

通过准确理解“股本回报率”的含义,您可以尝试进行对您有利的投资。 您还必须注意,即使使用股本回报率公式,也没有任何单一指标可以提供检查基本面的完美工具。 这不是判断您是否应该投资一家公司的万无一失或有保证的方法。 但实现这一目标的一种方法是对比特定工业部门的五年平均股本回报率。

股本回报率告诉你什么?

决定一个 ROE 是好是坏的,是一个股票的同行认为正常的。 例如,与少量净收入相比,公用事业公司的资产负债表上有大量资产和债务。 在公用事业业务中,典型的投资回报率 (ROI) 可能低至 10%。 技术或零售 公司 资产负债表较小 账户 相对于净收入,ROE 可能在 18% 或更高。

一个不错的经验法则是争取股本回报率 (ROE) 等于或略高于行业平均水平。 假设一家企业 TechCo 在过去几年中一直保持 18% 的 ROE。 与其竞争对手 15% 的平均值相比。 投资者可能会得出结论,TechCo 的管理层在从公司资产中产生利润方面高于平均水平。

相对较高或较低的 ROE 比率将在一个行业组或行业与下一个行业组或行业之间存在显着差异。 即便如此,一个典型的投资者捷径是认为接近标准普尔 500 指数的长期平均水平(14%)的股本回报率是可以接受的,而低于 10% 的股本回报率则很糟糕。

股本回报率与资本回报率有何不同?

资本回报率,有时也称为 ROC,是另一个经常用于评估企业的比率。 对此有几种不同的表述,但其中一种涉及将税后净营业利润除以投资资本。 如果您使用税后营业利润而不是净收入来计算您的收入,则所有资产出售收益或贷款利息都会被抵销。

所有者权益的账面价值是 ROC 用来确定可用资本量的值。 这包括负债但不包括现金。 中华民国通过从计算中排除营业外收入和现金资产来计算企业运营产生的利润。

常见问题

为什么股本回报率很重要?

股本回报率 让投资者了解一家公司在赚钱方面有多好. 该指标在比较同一行业的两只股票时特别有用。 例如,如果投资者正在比较两只类似的房地产股票,那么它们的一些指标可能会反映行业。

如何提高 ROE?

通过提高利润率来提高 ROE

  1. 提高产品的价格。
  2. 与供应商谈判或更改您的包装以降低所售商品的成本。
  3. 降低您的人工成本。
  4. 减少运营费用。
  5. 这些方法的任意组合。

是什么导致股本回报率下降?

区分 ROE 和 ROA 的主要因素是财务杠杆或债务。 …但是由于权益等于资产减去总债务,因此公司减少了权益 通过增加债务. 换句话说,当债务增加时,股权就会缩小,由于股权是 ROE 的分母,ROE 反过来会得到提升。

  1. 权益乘数:计算、公式和示例)
  2. 现金流:所有你需要知道的,简化!!! (+ 自由格式)
  3. 股票分析师:概述、薪水、工作以及您应该知道的一切
  4. 股权融资:类型、来源、优势和劣势
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

RETURN ON EQUITY: Meaning, Formula & How to Calculate (+Quick tools)

return on equity,
image credit: trading strategy

Investing in companies that generate profits more efficiently than their rivals can be very profitable. Return on equity (ROE) can help investors distinguish between companies that are profit creators and those that are profit burners. If you are interested to know deep things about return on equity then sit tight. For we will take a full course on return on equity formula, its calculator and best calculation method.

What is Return on Equity?

ROE essentially measures the rate of return that the owners of a company receive on their shareholdings. Return on equity signifies how good the company is in generating returns on the investment it received from its shareholders. Let us consider another close definition of that. Return on equity (ROE) is a financial ratio that tells you how much profit a public company earns compared to the net assets it holds. It is very useful for comparing the performance of similar companies in the same industry. 

Overview

When the return of equity is used to compare one company to another similar type of a company, that results is more meaningful, more efficient and more simple way of comparison. In corporate finance, the return on equity is a measure of the profitability of the business or organization in terms of equity. Return on equity is a measure of how smartly a company or organization uses its capital for investments to generate earnings growth that leads to profit for such an organization. Return on equity is a profitability ratio from the investor’s point of view, not from the company’s point of view.

ROE focuses on comparing a company to its competitors and the overall market. The formula is mostly beneficial when comparing firms of the same industry since it tends to give accurate indications of which companies are operating with greater financial efficiency and for the evaluation of nearly any company with primarily matertial rather than immaterial.

Return on equity (ROE) is an important financial metric that investors can use to determine how profitable and efficient management is at utilizing equity financing provided by shareholders. It compares the net income to the equity of the firm. The higher the number, the better, but it is always important to measure apples to apples, meaning companies that operate in the same industry, as each industry has different characteristics that will alter their profits and use of financing.

As with all investment analysis, ROE is just one metric highlighting only a portion of a firm’s financial strenghts. It is critical to utilize a variety of financial metrics to get a full understanding of a company’s financial health before investing.

Return on Equity Formula

ROE = Net Income / Shareholders’ Equity 

The return on equity formula provides a simple metric for evaluating investment returns. By comparing a company’s ROE to the industry’s average, something may be pinpointed about the company’s competitive advantage. ROE may also provide insight into how the company management is using financing from equity to grow the business.

A sustainable and increasing ROE over time can mean a company is good at generating shareholder value because it knows how to reinvest its earnings wisely, to increase productivity and profits. In contrast, a declining ROE can mean that management is making poor decisions on reinvesting capital in unproductive assets. the only way to identify all of the above is through the return on equity formula.

Let’s break this down further. 

Net income, also known as net profit, is on the income statement. It shows the total profit left over after the cost of goods sold, operating expenses, and any other expenses have been taken into account. It is often called the “bottom line” for that reason and because it can be found at the very bottom of the income statement. 

Shareholder equity can be observe on the balance sheet. If your company were to liquidate all of its assets and pay off all liabilities, shareholder equity would be left. The balance sheet is set up to reflect the accounting equation (Assets – Liabilities = Shareholder Equity). To find shareholder equity, simply subtract liabilities from assets. 

Return on Equity Calculator

A return on equity calculator was made to help you calculate ROE. This is a very popular and important indicator in business that shows how efficient the company is. There are some reputable calculators that can help one to calculate return on equity.

Omni calculator: Some men want to watch the world burn and others want to offer easily customizable embedded calculators. Mateusz Mucha belongs to the latter camp. Mucha is the founder of Omni calculator. His product lets you create your own custom calculators and currently supports several helpful formulas.

The mobile app has 270,000 monthly active users and he’s seen 8,500 weekly users on the website. With the Omni calculator, your return on equity calculation is solved.

BDC Ca.: This is another prominent calculator that helps to calculate return on equity. This business calculator will help you to calculate your monthly payments and the interest cost for financing your project.

Return on equity calculation

Below is an example of return on equity calculation.

Suppose that two firms have the same amount of assets ($1,000) and the same net income ($120) but different levels of debt.

Firm A has $500 in debt and therefore $500 in shareholders’ equity ($1,000 – $500). While Firm B has $200 in debt and $800 in shareholders’ equity ($1,000 – $200). Firm A shows an ROE of 24% ($120/$500) while Firm B, with less debt, shows an ROE of 15% ($120/$800). As ROE equals net income divided by the equity figure, Firm A, the higher-debt firm, shows the highest return on equity.

Firm A looks as though it has higher profitability when it really just has more demanding obligations to its creditors. Its higher ROE may, therefore, be simply a mask of future problems.

Limitations of ROE

While helpful, ROE should not be the only metric used to checkmate a company’s financial health and prospects. When taken alone, there are several ways that the ROE calculation can be misleading.

A company that aggressively borrows money, for instance, would artificially increase its ROE because any debt it takes on lowers the denominator of the ROE equation. Without context, this might give potential investors a misguided impression of the company’s efficiency. This can be a particular concern for fast-expanding growth companies, like many startups.

Similarly, if a company has several years of losses, which would reduce shareholder equity, a suddenly profitable year could give it a high ROE, simply because its asset-based denominator has shrunk so much. However, the company’s underlying financial health would not have improved, meaning the company might not have suddenly become a good investment.

Can the ROE of a company be in the negative values?

Yes. The ROE of a company can be so low that it falls in the negative digits. Usually, investors don’t calculate ROE for firms with negative net income, as the return for such companies is zero. However, sometimes it so happens that the firm has negative shareholder equity due to liabilities that exceed assets at the time of positive net income returns. In a case like that, the ROE derived using the formula will be a negative value.

It is crucial to note that after the return on equity calculation a negative result doesn’t mean that you should disregard the company altogether. However, it should be a warning for you to go ahead with great caution. In typical scenarios, a negative ROE would signify that the company has problems with debt, asset retention or both. The negative ROE could be as a result of the company’s business development initiatives. When the company takes out a significant debt to launch an ambitious new project, it might end up with a negative ROE if the borrowed money is more than the company’s worth.

With a good understanding of precisely what is Return on Equity, you can try making investments that work in your favour. You must also note that no single metric even with the use of return on equity formula, can provide a perfect tool for examining fundamentals. It’s not a fool-proof or guaranteed way to tell whether you should invest in a company or not. But one way to do that is by contrasting the five-year average ROEs within a specific industrial sector.

What Does Return on Equity Tell You?

What determines whether an ROE is considered good or bad is what is considered normal among a stock’s peers. Utilities, for example, have a lot of assets and debt on their balance sheet compared to a little amount of net income. In the utility business, a typical return on investment (ROI) could be as low as 10%. A technological or retail company with smaller balance sheet accounts relative to net income may have a normal ROE of 18% or higher.

A decent rule of thumb is to aim for a return on equity (ROE) that is equal to or slightly higher than the industry average. Assume that a business, TechCo, has maintained a consistent ROE of 18 percent for the last few years. Compared to the 15 percent average of its rivals. An investor might conclude that TechCo’s management is above average at generating profits from the company’s assets.

ROE ratios that are relatively high or low will differ dramatically from one industrial group or sector to the next. Even yet, a typical investor shortcut is to see a return on equity approaching the long-term average of the S&P 500 (14%), as acceptable, and anything less than 10% as terrible.

FAQ

Why is return on equity important?

Return on equity gives investors a sense of how good a company is at making money. This metric is especially useful when comparing two stocks in the same industry. For example, if an investor was comparing two similar real estate stocks, some of their metrics may be industry-reflective.

How can I improve my ROE?

Improve ROE by Increasing Profit Margins

  1. Raise the price of the product.
  2. Negotiate with suppliers or change your packaging to reduce the cost of goods sold.
  3. Reduce your labor costs.
  4. Reduce operating expense.
  5. Any combination of these approaches.

What causes a decrease in return on equity?

The big factor that separates ROE and ROA is financial leverage or debt. … But since equity equals assets minus total debt, a company decreases its equity by increasing debt. In other words, when debt increases, equity shrinks, and since equity is the ROE’s denominator, ROE, in turn, gets a boost.

  1. Equity Multiplier: Calculations, Formula and Examples)
  2. CASH FLOW: All you need to know, Simplified!!! (+ Free format)
  3. Equity Analyst: Overview, Salary, Job, and all You Should Know
  4. EQUITY FINANCING: Types, Sources, Advantages & Disadvantages
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like