业务分析:定义和真实世界的例子

商业分析

在当今的经济中,商业分析和情报是一种强有力的工具。 各行各业的组织正在创建大量数据,这增加了对能够理解和分析这些数据的专家的需求。
据最近的一项 MicroStrategy 调查, 世界各地的公司都在利用数据

  • 提高流程和成本效率(60%)
  • 制定战略并实施变革(57%)
  • 跟踪并改善财务绩效(52%)

根据这项研究,全球 71% 的组织预计他们在分析方面的投资将在未来三年及以后加速。

鉴于这种趋势,学习业务分析的复杂性可以帮助您发展自己的职业生涯并在工作中做出更明智的判断。

使用数据分析对公司施加影响是一种非常有效的策略。 在深入研究数据分析的好处之前,有必要定义“业务分析”这个短语。

什么是业务分析?

业务分析是使用定量方法从数据中获取意义以做出有根据的业务决策的过程。

业务分析可以通过三种方式进行:

  • 描述性分析: 分析历史数据以检测趋势和模式。
  • 预测分析: 这是使用统计数据来估计未来的结果。
  • 规范分析: 使用测试和其他方法来决定在特定情况下哪种结果会产生最佳结果。

使用的方法取决于手头的业务环境。 以下是组织如何从采用业务分析中受益的一些示例。

业务分析的好处

#1。 更明智的决策

在处理关键战略决策时,业务分析可能是一项重要资源。

当叫车公司优步在 2018 年初升级其客户痴迷票务助手 (COTA) 时。它是一种使用机器学习和自然语言处理来帮助代理提高响应支持票时的速度和准确性的工具。 它用 规范分析 以确定新版本是否会比以前的版本更有效。

该组织能够通过 A/B 测试(一种评估两种不同选项后果的方法)确定改进的产品带来了更快的服务、更准确的解决方案建议以及更高的客户满意度。 这些发现不仅加快了优步的机票结算程序,还为公司节省了数百万美元。

#2。 增加收入

拥抱数据和分析项目的公司可能会在财务上受益匪浅。

根据麦肯锡的研究,投资大数据的公司平均可以看到 XNUMX% 的收益增长。 对于五年期投资,这一比例增加到 XNUMX%。

根据这一趋势,BARC 最近的一项研究发现,能够量化数据分析收益的组织报告称销售额平均增长 8%,成本平均下降 10%。

这些发现表明,强大的业务分析策略可以带来明显的财务回报——随着大数据和分析市场的扩大,许多公司都可以从中获利。

#3。 提高运营效率

除了财务收益外,分析还可用于改善业务运营。

根据毕马威最近对新兴基础设施趋势的分析,许多企业已经在采用预测分析来预测维护和运营问题,以免它们成为更大的问题。

一家接受调查的移动网络运营商表示,它使用数据提前 XNUMX 天预测中断。 有了这些知识,公司可以通过更适当的时间维护来防止中断,从而不仅可以节省运营成本,还可以确保资产以最佳状态运行。

为什么要学习商业分析?

采用数据驱动的方法 业务可以带来巨大的好处,但许多公司报告说在分析领域缺乏经验丰富的人员。

LinkedIn 将业务分析列为 2019 年雇主最需要的技能之一,并且劳工统计局 预计到 27 年,运筹学分析师的就业率将以 2026% 的速度增长——远快于所有职业的全国平均水平。

很多人都可以处理统计数据,但我认为他们将处于非常有限的位置,除非他们能够在企业竞争的背景下帮助理解这些发现。 如果您想利用对数据驱动型专业人员的需求,完成在线课程可以帮助您提高技能并提升您的职业生涯。

您可以构建一个可用于日常决策的分析框架。 此外,您还可以通过学习如何发现趋势、检验假设以及从总体样本中得出结论来帮助您的公司繁荣发展。

“如果你不使用数据,你就会落后,”哈蒙德说。 “具有这些品质的人,以及对商业环境的认识,将增加最大的价值并产生最大的影响。”

业务分析示例

业务分析在各行各业都有应用。 一些企业正在想出新的方法来利用大数据来改善客户体验并最大化收益。 下面是一个实际的业务分析示例:

快餐公司已开始使用 BA 来提高其地点的效率。 谁愿意在快餐店里浪费时间? 这些企业可以通过监控得来速的繁忙程度来提高高峰时段的效率。 当排长队时,数字订单板会波动。 他们首先强调可以快速准备的产品。 这导致更简单的订单可以更快地完成。 当行很短时,会显示具有较大边距的较慢项目。 因此,商店可以适应实时需求并提高效率。

其他类型的 BA 应用程序不仅仅是对当前情况做出反应。 这些方法帮助公司预测哪些客户不太可能回头。 然后,他们可以将广告和促销集中在这些客户身上,以提高客户保留率。 以下是工作场所预测分析的一些示例:

赌场雇用 BA 来增加收入并留住消费者。 虽然房子通常大部分时间都赢了,但玩家通常需要赢到足够的钱才能玩得开心并继续玩。 否则,玩家可能会失去兴趣并停止返回。 赌场可以通过跟踪他们的支出来发现哪些客户花费最多。 他们可以为这些高消费客户提供更多激励措施,让他们回头客。 获得的数据还有助于这些度假村确定哪些设施最受欢迎。

数据分析与业务分析

数据分析是一个广义的概括词,指的是分析原始数据以将数据转换为有意义的信息的科学,从中可以揭示趋势和指标。 虽然业务分析和数据分析都旨在提高运营效率,但业务分析更侧重于业务应用程序。 而数据分析具有更广泛的关注点——商业智能和报告,以及在线分析处理 (OLAP),都属于数据分析范畴。

在数据分析过程中,数据科学家、数据分析师和数据工程师协作获取、集成和准备数据,用于分析模型的开发、测试和修订,以确保准确的发现。 用于业务目的的数据分析的重点是特定的业务运营问题。

数据科学与商业分析

数据科学是一个多学科领域,它使用科学系统、方法和算法研究结构化和非结构化数据,以确定信息的来源、含义以及如何将其转化为信息技术战略发展中的宝贵资源。

它集成了数据分析、统计、机器学习和相关方法,以管理和理解因信息技术兴起而产生的海量数据。 数据科学家负责以展示其在数据驱动决策中的实际价值的方式呈现数字信息。 然而,他们通常不会像业务分析师在寻找业务分析洞察力时那样努力回答特定问题。

商业分析与商业智能

虽然商业智能和商业分析执行类似的功能并且可以互换使用,但两种方法的重点根本不同。 商业智能分析侧重于描述性分析,它将数据收集、存储和知识管理与数据分析相结合,以审查先前的数据并提供对当前可用信息的新视图。

规范分析 是业务分析的重点,它采用数据挖掘、建模和机器学习来预测未来的结果。 商业智能 基本上回答了问题,“发生了什么?” 和“需要改变什么?” 业务分析回答了这个问题,“为什么会这样?” “如果这种趋势继续下去呢?” “接下来会发生什么?” “如果我们改变一些东西怎么办?” 商业分析和商业智能解决方案的结构和目的往往重叠。

业务分析常见问题解答

未来业务分析的范围是什么?

业务分析预计将对营销、销售、客户体验、财务、风险管理、人力资源和社交媒体运营等产生重大影响。 深入了解这些分析的人更有能力成为行业领导者。

商业分析容易学吗?

由于技术进步和可用数据的增加,现在比以往任何时候都更容易在业务中利用分析的力量。

商业分析中有很多数学吗?

与普遍看法相反,业务分析不需要大量的编码、数学或计算机科学培训。 对于那些喜欢应对复杂挑战并根据实际公司数据提供实用解决方案的人来说,这是一个很好的职业。

  1. 预测分析工具和软件:15 种以上的最佳工具
  2. 预测性与规范性分析,解释!!! (+ 详细指南)
  3. 预测分析:定义、示例和好处
  4. 薪酬最高的管理职位
  5. 预测分析工具和软件:15 种以上的最佳工具
  6. 分析类型:如何在任何业务中应用它们
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

Business Analytics: Definition and Real-world Examples

Business analytics

In today’s economy, business analytics and intelligence is a potent instrument. Organizations across industries are creating massive volumes of data, which has increased the demand for experts who can comprehend and analyze that data.
According to a recent MicroStrategy survey, firms around the world are leveraging data to

  • Improve process and cost efficiency (60 percent)
  • Strategize and implement change (57 percent)
  • Keep track of and improve financial performance (52 percent)

According to the research, 71 percent of worldwide organizations expect their investments in analytics to accelerate over the next three years and beyond.

Given this tendency, learning the intricacies of business analytics can help you develop your career and make smarter judgments at work.

Using data analytics to exert influence in a company is a highly effective strategy. Before delving into the benefits of data analysis, it is necessary to define the phrase “business analytics.”

What Is Business Analytics?

Business analytics is the process of deriving meaning from data using quantitative methodologies to make educated business decisions.

Business analysis can be done in three ways:

  • Descriptive analytics: The analysis of historical data to detect trends and patterns.
  • Predictive analytics: This is the use of statistics to estimate future outcomes.
  • Prescriptive analytics: The use of testing and other approaches to decide which outcome will produce the best results in a specific situation.

The method to use is determined by the business circumstances at hand. Here are some examples of how organizations have benefited from adopting business analytics.

The Benefits of Business Analytics

#1. Better-Informed Decision Making

When addressing a critical strategic decision, business analytics can be a significant resource.

When the ride-hailing company Uber upgraded its Customer Obsession Ticket Assistant (COTA) in early 2018. It is a tool that uses machine learning and natural language processing to help agents improve their speed and accuracy when responding to support tickets. It uses prescriptive analytics to determine whether the new version would be more effective than the previous version.

The organization was able to identify that the improved product resulted in faster service, more accurate resolution recommendations, and greater customer satisfaction levels through A/B testing—a means of evaluating the consequences of two different options. These discoveries not only sped up Uber’s ticket settlement procedure but also saved the firm millions of dollars.

#2. Increased Revenue

Companies that embrace data and analytics projects might benefit financially significantly.

According to McKinsey research, firms who invest in big data see a six percent average gain in earnings. This increases to nine percent for five-year investments.

In line with this trend, a recent BARC study discovered that organizations that can quantify their gains from data analysis report an average 8% rise in sales and a 10% decrease in costs.

These findings demonstrate the clear financial payback that can result from a strong business analysis strategy—one that many companies can profit from as the big data and analytics market expands.

#3. Increased Operational Efficient

Analytics may be utilized to improve business operations in addition to financial gains.

According to a recent KPMG analysis on emerging infrastructure trends, many businesses are already adopting predictive analytics to anticipate maintenance and operational concerns before they become larger problems.

A polled mobile network operator stated that it uses data to predict disruptions seven days in advance. Armed with this knowledge, the company can prevent interruptions by more properly timing maintenance, allowing it to not only save on operational costs but also ensure that assets are performing optimally.

Why Should you Study Business Analytics?

Taking a data-driven approach to business can have huge benefits, yet many firms report a shortage of experienced personnel in analytics areas.

LinkedIn lists business analysis as one of the top skills employers need in 2019, and the Bureau of Labor Statistics expects operations research analyst employment to grow at a rate of 27 percent through 2026—much faster than the national average for all occupations.

A lot of individuals can crunch statistics, but I think they’ll be in pretty limited positions unless they can help understand those findings in the context in which the business competes. If you want to capitalize on the demand for data-driven professionals, completing an online course can help you improve your skillset and advance your career.

You can construct an analytical framework that can be used in your everyday decision-making. Also, you can help your company prosper by learning how to spot trends, test hypotheses, and conclude from population samples.

“If you don’t use the data, you’ll lag,” Hammond said. “People with those qualities, as well as an awareness of business settings, will add the most value and have the most impact.”

Business Analytics Examples

Business analytics has applications in a wide range of industries. Some businesses are coming up with novel methods to leverage big data to improve the customer experience and maximize earnings. Here’s an example of business analytics in action:

Fast-food corporations have begun to use BA to improve the efficiency of their locations. Who wants to waste time in a fast-food drive-thru? These businesses can enhance efficiency during peak hours by monitoring how busy the drive-thru is. When there is a long line, the digital order boards fluctuate. They start by emphasizing products that can be prepared quickly. This results in simpler orders that may be completed more rapidly. Slower items with bigger margins are featured when the lines are short. As a result, the store can adapt to real-time needs and increase efficiency.

Other sorts of BA apps go beyond simply reacting to the present circumstance. These methods assist firms in predicting which customers are less likely to return. They can then focus advertising and promotions to these customers to increase client retention. Here are some examples of predictive analytics in the workplace:

Casinos employ BA to increase earnings and retain consumers. Though the house usually wins most of the time, players usually need to win enough to have fun and keep playing. Otherwise, players may lose interest and cease to return. Casinos can discover which clients spend the most money by tracking their expenditure. They can provide more incentives to these high-spending customers to keep them coming back. The obtained data also assists these resorts in determining which amenities are the most popular.

Data Analytics vs. Business Analytics

Data analytics is a broad umbrella word that refers to the science of analyzing raw data to transform that data into meaningful information from which trends and metrics can be exposed. While both business analytics and data analytics aims to improve operational efficiency, business analytics is more focused on business applications. Whereas data analytics has a broader focus – both business intelligence and reporting, as well as online analytical processing (OLAP), fall under the data analytics umbrella.

In the data analytics process, data scientists, data analysts, and data engineers collaborate to acquire, integrate, and prepare data for the development, testing, and revision of analytical models, ensuring accurate findings. The focus of data analytics for business purposes is on specific business operations questions.

Data Science vs. Business Analytics

Data science is a multidisciplinary field that studies structured and unstructured data using scientific systems, methods, and algorithms to determine where information comes from, what it means, and how it can be transformed into a valuable resource in the development of information technology strategies.

It integrates data analysis, statistics, machine learning, and related methodologies to manage and understand the data deluge that has resulted from the rise of information technology. Data scientists are responsible for presenting digital information in a way that demonstrates its practical worth in data-driven decision-making. Yet, they do not often strive to answer particular questions in the same way that business analysts do when looking for business analytics insights.

Business Analytics vs. Business Intelligence

While business intelligence and business analytics perform comparable functions and can be utilized interchangeably, both methods differ fundamentally in their focus. Business intelligence analytics focuses on descriptive analytics, which combines data collection, storage, and knowledge management with data analysis to review prior data and provide new views on currently available information.

Prescriptive analytics is the emphasis of business analytics, which employs data mining, modeling, and machine learning to predict future outcomes. Business intelligence essentially answers the questions, “What happened?” and “What needs to change?” And business analytics answers the question, “Why is this happening?” “What if this trend continues?” “What will happen next?” and “What if we alter something?” The structure and purpose of business analytics and business intelligence solutions tend to overlap.

Business Analytics FAQ’s

What is the scope of business analytics in future?

Business analytics is projected to have a substantial impact on, among other things, marketing, sales, customer experience, finance, risk management, human resources, and social media operations. People who understand these analytics in depth are better positioned to be industry leaders.

Is business analytics easy to learn?

Harnessing the power of analytics in business is now easier than ever thanks to technological advancements and an increase in available data.

Is there a lot of math in business analytics?

Contrary to common opinion, business analytics does not necessitate substantial coding, math, or computer science training. It’s an excellent career for those who appreciate tackling complex challenges and providing practical solutions based on real-world company data.

  1. Predictive Analytics Tools and Software: Best 15+ Tools
  2. Predictive vs Prescriptive Analytics, Explained!!! (+ Detailed Guide)
  3. Predictive Analytics: Definition, Examples, and Benefits
  4. Highest paying management jobs
  5. Predictive Analytics Tools and Software: Best 15+ Tools
  6. Types of Analytics: How to Apply them in any Business
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like