股权融资:类型、来源、优势和劣势

股权融资

如果您无法为公司自筹资金或希望更快地发展,则需要寻求外部资金。 股权融资是企业常用的融资方式 获得他们需要的资金.
继续阅读以了解更多关于股权融资的运作方式、来源和类型,以及与债务融资相比,它是否是贵公司可行的融资选择。

什么是股权融资?

股权融资是为了筹集资金而出售公司股份。 当投资者购买股票时,他们也在购买公司的所有权。 股权融资可以指出售一种权益工具,包括普通股、优先股、认股权证等。

为了为工厂资产和初始运营费用融资,股权融资在公司启动阶段尤为重要。 投资者在其股票价值增加或获得股息时获利。

股权融资的类型和主要来源

当公司仍处于私有状态时,天使投资人、众筹平台、风险投资公司或企业投资者都可以成为股权融资的来源。 此外,公司可以以首次公开募股 (IPO) 的形式向公众出售股票。

以下是针对新兴企业或发展中企业的七种不同类型或来源的股权融资。

#1。 首次公开募股 (IPO)

首次公开募股 (IPO) 发生在公司决定“上市”并在公开交易市场(例如 纽约证券交易所. 从私人控股公司到上市公司的转变被称为“上市”。

此类资金需要根据证券交易委员会的标准 (SEC) 构建发行。

首次公开募股必须经过美国证券交易委员会的注册和批准。 如果他们批准申请,美国证券交易委员会会为该公司指定一个上市日期。 上市日期是股票可以在市场上交易的日期。

一旦完成(甚至更早),公司必须开始努力确保投资者了解股票并对其感兴趣。 他们通过发布招股说明书和发起吸引投资者的活动来实现这一目标。

上市通常是为小型、区域或国家公司保留的。

#2。 小型企业投资公司

小型企业投资公司 (SBIC) 是一项由小型企业管理局 (SBA) 许可和监管的计划。 它为小型企业提供风险投资融资。 风险投资公司汇集投资者的资金,以投资于初创的、潜在的高风险企业。 富有的个人、私人养老基金、投资公司和其他人可能属于这些投资者。

因为风险投资公司在任何特定时间可能有任意数量的公司和项目竞争资金,风险资本股权融资是竞争性融资类型之一。

承销 标准不如首次公开募股 (IPO) 的标准严格。 这对于不需要冗长 IPO 程序的小型企业来说是一种有吸引力的可能性。

#3。 天使投资人的股权融资

天使投资人是向企业投资大笔资金的富人。 他们是富有的个人或团体,他们寻求高额的投资回报。 他们对所投资的公司很挑剔。

一些天使投资俱乐部积极寻找早期公司进行投资,并为新兴企业提供技术和运营专业知识。 这些天使投资人在原有的启动资金之后,可能会为扩大企业贡献第二轮资金。

天使投资人成为一家小企业的所有者。 他们获得了一份行动,不仅可以换取他们的钱,还可以换取他们帮助一家小公司起步或发展壮大的技能。

#4。 夹层资金

夹层融资是一种结合了贷款和股权的融资方式。 它之所以如此命名,是因为它通常受到中型公司的追捧。 融资风险中等,介于低风险贷款和高风险股权融资之间。 贷方发放贷款,如果一切顺利,公司将按照商定的条件偿还贷款。

贷方可能会采用夹层资本支持公司的条款,例如财务业绩要求。 高营运现金流比率(偿还现有债务的能力)或高股东权益比率是短语的两个例子(偿还债务后的股东价值)。

借款人的一个优势是夹层融资可以提供比普通贷款人愿意提供的更大的价值。 另一个优点是,由于夹层融资是股权和债务的结合,会计师认为它是资产负债表上的股权。 它可以弥合公司不再有资格获得启动债务融资和风险资本家想要为公司提供资金之间的差距。

这导致债务人的债务权益比率降低。 因此,这可能会吸引投资者,因为较低的债务权益比率通常表明风险较小。

#5。 风险投资

风险投资公司提供资金以换取您公司的股份或股份。 当风险资本家投资一家初创的小企业时,他们期望获得很高的回报率。 他们通常有大量的竞争对手可供选择。

与天使投资人不同,风险投资公司不会用自己的钱投资企业。 这些公司由一群专业投资者组成,他们将资金集中起来投资于初创企业或扩大业务。 风险投资公司可能有兴趣加入您的董事会。

一些风险投资者认为董事会成员是一种投资管理。 许多风险投资组织已转向指导模式以帮助投资增长。

在寻找风险投资家时,请寻找对您公司的行业感兴趣并希望看到它成功的公司。

#6。 通过特许权使用费融资

版税融资,通常称为基于收入的融资,是对产品未来销售的股权投资类型之一。 版税融资不同于天使和风险资本家融资,因为您必须在获得批准之前进行销售。

由于与贷方达成的协议,投资者可以期望立即开始收到付款。 版税金融家为业务费用提供前期资金,以换取产品收益的一部分。

#7。 股权众筹

与使用平台将您的产品预售给人群相比,股权众筹涉及将您公司的股票出售给人群。 私营企业的所有者通过将部分所有权权益或股权出售给众筹投资者来筹集资金。

上市公司的数量不到 1990 年代的一半。 公司可以在通过股权众筹从公众筹集资金的同时保持私有化。

股权融资的优势

#1。 不同的资金来源

股权融资的主要好处是它为组织提供了替代债务的融资选择。 没有资格获得大量银行贷款的初创公司可以从天使投资人、风险投资家或众包平台获得资金来支付成本。 由于公司不必偿还股东,在这种情况下,股权融资的风险低于债务融资。

投资者通常着眼于长期,并不期望他们的投资能够快速获得回报。 它使公司能够将其活动产生的现金流再投资以发展业务,而不是专注于偿还债务和支付利息。

#2。 获得业务联系、管理知识和其他资金来源

公司管理层也受益于股权融资。 一些投资者希望参与业务运营,并以个人为动力,帮助公司蓬勃发展。

他们的成功经验使他们能够以业务联系、管理技能和获得替代融资来源的形式提供必要的支持。 许多天使投资人和风险投资家会以这种方式帮助企业。 在公司的初始阶段,它是至关重要的。

股权融资的劣势

#1。 所有权和运营控制稀释

股权融资的最大弊端是企业主必须放弃部分所有权和控制权。 如果公司未来盈利并取得成功,则必须将部分利润以股息的形式分配给股东。

许多风险投资人要求拥有一家公司 30% 到 50% 的股权。 如果初创公司缺乏强大的财务基础,则尤其如此。 许多企业主和创始人不愿放弃如此大一部分的公司控制权。 因此,这限制了他们进行股权融资的可能性。

#2。 没有避税天堂

与债务相比,股权投资不提供避税。 支付给股东的股息不是可扣除的费用,但利息支付是。 它增加了股权借贷的成本。

从长远来看,股权融资被认为是比债务更昂贵的融资来源。 这是因为投资者希望获得比贷方更高的回报率。 当投资者为一家公司提供资金时,他们承担了巨大的风险,因此期望获得更高的回报。

股权融资和债务融资有什么区别?

因为它们是为公司创造资本的两种最普遍的方式,所以经常比较股权和债务融资。 股权融资涉及交换股票以换取前期资本,而债务融资涉及支付初始资本(又称债务)未来利息的协议。 这两种融资方案的核心是达到相同的结果。 因此,贷方或投资者通过向您提供您没有的资金来承担前期风险,并在您的公司盈利时偿还该风险。 另一方面,还款是股权融资和债务融资发生巨大差异的地方。

通过债务融资,无论您的公司做得如何,您都必须偿还贷方的钱和利息。 贷方经常需要抵押品,例如房地产或车辆,以确保如果您拖欠贷款,他们仍然可以取回他们的钱。 换句话说,没有办法避免偿还贷款。 这可能会对您多年的现金流产生负面影响。

股权融资不需要产生债务或每月支付贷款来偿还贷方,这对于大多数新的小企业主来说是一个重要的销售特征。 但是,如果您的企业成功了,如果您想买断投资者并收回您公司的所有权,您将欠投资者更多的钱。

股权融资的例子

考虑一下:您需要 50,000 美元才能下大单并开始提高产量。 如果您以 10% 的利率向公司贷款并在三年内还清,您预计会花费大约 8,000 美元的利息。 考虑以下场景:您的公司价值 1 万美元,投资者为您提供 50,000 美元以换取 5% 的利息。 如果三年后你的公司价值增长到 5 万美元,你将欠那个投资者 250,000 万美元来买断他们的股票。 从纯粹的财务角度来看,债务融资是一个更好的提议。

然而,股权融资还有一个更明显的优势:您的投资者成为您公司的利益相关者,并且可以经常以法律顾问的形式增加额外的价值。 因此,与没有经验丰富的投资者的帮助相比,这可以帮助您的业务增长得更快。

虽然股权和债务融资都有优势,但您的选择可能会受到可用可能性的影响。 小企业经常无法获得债务融资,因为它们缺乏良好的信用评分和履行费用的记录。 归根结底,股权和债务融资都可能有助于将您的业务提升到一个新的水平——只要您做出选择时考虑到您未来的业务,您就可以确信您做出了正确的选择。

股权融资常见问题

股权融资如何运作?

股权融资是出售公司的一部分股权以换取资金。 出售股票的公司基本上是出售其公司的所有权以换取现金。

股权融资有哪些类型?

公司通过两种来源获得不同类型的股权融资:通过与投资者或风险投资公司进行私募股票,以及通过公开发行股票。 因为更容易,私募更受年轻企业和初创公司的欢迎。

股权融资优于债务融资吗?

股权融资最显着的优势是资金无需偿还。 然而,使用股权融资有几个缺点。

当投资者购买股票时,假设他们将来在公司中拥有少量权益。 公司的利润必须保持一致,才能保持健康的股票估值并向股东支付股息。 由于股票融资给投资者带来的风险比债务融资给贷方带来的风险更大,因此股权成本通常高于债务成本。

总结

公司通常需要以股权形式从外部来源融资,以维持其运营并投资于未来的增长。 任何明智的商业战略都会考虑债务和股权融资的最具成本效益的组合。 股权融资可以来自多种来源,并且具有不同的类型。 无论来源如何,股权融资的主要优势在于它没有偿还义务,并提供了公司可以用来发展其活动的额外资本。

  1. 会计师事务所:2021 年终极榜单
  2. 顶级会计师事务所:35+ 世界最佳会计师事务所(更新)
  3. 市场风险溢价:美国当前的市场风险溢价解释!
  4. 筹集资金:为初创公司筹集资金的 7 种方法

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

EQUITY FINANCING: Types, Sources, Advantages & Disadvantages

Equity financing

If you can’t self-fund your firm or wish to grow faster, you’ll need to seek outside capital. Equity financing is a frequent method for firms to obtain the funds they require.
Continue reading to discover more about equity financing how it works, the sources and types, and whether it is a viable funding choice for your company as compared to debt financing.

What is Equity Financing?


Equity financing is the sale of company shares in order to raise capital. When investors buy shares, they are also buying ownership rights in the company. Equity financing can refer to the sale of an equity instrument, including common stock, preferred stock, share warrants, and so on.

To finance plant assets and initial operational expenses, equity financing is especially critical during a company’s launch stage. Investors profit when their shares increase in value or when they receive dividends.

Types and Major Sources of Equity Financing

When a company is still private, angel investors, crowdfunding platforms, venture capital firms, or corporate investors can be the sources of equity financing. Also, a firm may sell shares to the general public in the form of an initial public offering (IPO).


Here are seven different types or sources of equity financing for new or developing businesses.

#1. Initial Public Offering (IPO)

An initial public offering (IPO) occurs when a firm decides to “go public” and sells its first shares on a publicly-traded market such as the New York Stock Exchange. The move from a privately held corporation to a publicly-traded company is referred to as “going public.”


This sort of funding necessitates constructing the offering in accordance with the Securities and Exchange Commission’s criteria (SEC).

The IPO must be registered and approved by the SEC. If they grant the application, the SEC assigns a listing date to the company. The listing date is the day on which the shares will be accessible for trading on the market.

Once this is completed (or even before), the firm must begin trying to ensure that investors are aware of, and interested in, the shares. They perform this by releasing a prospectus and launching an investor-attraction campaign.


Going public is often reserved for small, regional, or national firms.

#2. Small Business Investment Companies


Small Business Investment Companies (SBIC) is a program licensed and regulated by the Small Business Administration (SBA). It provides venture capital financing to small enterprises. Venture capital firms pool the funds of investors in order to invest in start-up, potentially high-risk businesses. Wealthy individuals, private pension funds, investment firms, and others may be among these investors.

Because a venture capital firm may have any number of firms and projects competing for money at any given time, venture capital equity financing is one of the competitive types of funding.

The underwriting standards are less strict than those for an initial public offering (IPO). This makes it an appealing possibility for smaller businesses that do not require a lengthy IPO procedure.

#3. Equity Financing from Angel Investors

Angel investors are wealthy individuals who invest large sums of money in enterprises. They are wealthy individuals or groups who seek a high return on their investments. They are picky about the firms in which they invest.

Some angel investor clubs actively seek out early-stage companies to invest in, as well as providing technical and operational expertise to fledgling ventures. Following the original start-up capital, these angel investors may contribute the second round of funding for expanding enterprises.

Angel investors become owners of a tiny business. They get a piece of the action in exchange for not only their money but also their skills in assisting a small firm to get off the ground or thrive.

#4. Mezzanine Funding

Mezzanine financing is a type of financing that combines loans and equity. It’s so named because it is typically sought after by medium-sized firms. The funding is intermediate in risk, falling between lower-risk loans and higher-risk equity financing. The lender issues a loan, and if all goes well, the company repays the loan on agreed-upon conditions.


The lender might impose terms for supporting the company, such as financial performance requirements, with mezzanine capital. A high operating cash flow ratio (capacity to pay off existing debts) or a high shareholder equity ratio are two examples of phrases (value for shareholders after debts are paid).

One advantage for borrowers is that mezzanine financing can provide greater value than a regular lender would be willing to offer. Another advantage is that because mezzanine financing is a combination of equity and debt, accountants consider it to be equity on the balance sheet. It can bridge the gap between when a company no longer qualifies for start-up debt financing and when venture capitalists want to fund a firm.

This results in debtors having a reduced debt-to-equity ratio. So, this might attract investors because a low debt-to-equity ratio normally indicates less risk.

#5. Venture Capital

Venture capital firms provide funding in exchange for a stake in your company, or shares. When venture capitalists invest in a start-up small business, they expect a high rate of return. They typically have a large number of rival enterprises from which to pick.

Unlike angel investors, venture capital firms do not invest in enterprises with their own money. These firms are made up of a collection of professional investors that pool their funds to invest in start-ups or expanding businesses. Venture capital firms may potentially be interested in joining your board of directors.

Some venture investors consider a board member to be a kind of investment management. Many venture capital organizations have shifted to a mentorship model to help with investment growth.

When looking for venture capitalists, search for companies that are interested in your company’s line of industry and want to see it succeed.

#6. Financing Through Royalties

Royalty finance, often known as revenue-based financing, is one of the types of equity investment in a product’s future sales. Royalty financing differs from angel and ventures capitalist funding in that you must be making sales before approval.

As a result of the agreements reached with the lender, investors can expect to begin receiving payments immediately. Royalty financiers provide upfront funding for business expenses in exchange for a share of the product’s earnings.

#7. Equity Crowdfunding

In contrast to using a platform to pre-sell your product to the crowd, equity crowdfunding involves selling shares of your firm to the crowd. The proprietors of a privately owned business raise funds by selling a portion of their ownership interest, or equity, to crowd investors.

There are fewer than half as many publicly traded corporations as there were in the 1990s. Companies can remain private while raising capital from the public through equity crowdfunding.

Advantages of Equity Financing

#1. A different source of funding

The primary benefit of equity financing is that it provides organizations with an alternate funding option to debt. Startups that can not qualify for substantial bank loans can obtain funds to pay their costs from angel investors, venture capitalists, or crowdsourcing platforms. Because the company does not have to repay its shareholders, equity financing is considered less risky than debt financing in this scenario.

Investors often look to the long term and do not expect a quick return on their investment. It enables the company to reinvest the cash flow generated by its activities in order to grow the business rather than focusing on debt repayment and interest payments.

#2. Gaining access to business contacts, managerial knowledge, and other capital sources

Company management benefits from equity funding as well. Some investors want to be involved in business operations and are personally driven to help a firm thrive.

Their successful experiences enable them to offer essential support in the form of business contacts, management skills, and access to alternative financing sources. Many angel investors and venture capitalists will help businesses in this way. It is critical throughout a company’s initial era.

Disadvantages of Equity Financing

#1. Ownership and operational control dilution

The biggest downside of equity financing is that business owners must give up some of their ownership and control. If the company becomes profitable and successful in the future, a portion of its profits must be distributed to shareholders in the form of dividends.

Many venture funders demand a 30 percent to 50 percent equity stake in a firm. This is especially if the startup lacks a strong financial basis. Many business owners and founders are loath to give up such a large portion of their corporate control. So, this limits their possibilities for equity funding.

#2. Absence of tax shelters

In comparison to debt, equity investments provide no tax shelter. Dividends paid to shareholders are not deductible expenses, although interest payments are. It increases the cost of equity borrowing.

Long term, equity financing is thought to be a more expensive source of financing than debt. This is due to the fact that investors want a larger rate of return than lenders. When investors fund a company, they take a significant risk and so expect a higher return.

What Is the Difference Between Equity and Debt Financing?

Because they are the two most prevalent ways to generate capital for a firm, equity, and debt financing are frequently compared. While equity financing involves the exchange of shares in exchange for upfront capital, debt financing involves the agreement to pay future interest on the initial capital (aka debt). At their core, these two financing alternatives achieve the same result. So, the lender or investor assumes the upfront risk by providing you with capital that you do not have, and you repay that risk when your firm profits. The repayment, on the other hand, is where equity financing and debt financing diverge dramatically.

With debt financing, regardless matter how well your firm does, you must repay the lender’s money plus interest. Lenders frequently want collateral, such as real estate or a vehicle, to ensure that if you default on the loan, they may still retrieve their money. In other words, there is no way to avoid repaying a loan. This might negatively impact your cash flow for years.

Equity financing does not necessitate incurring debt or making monthly loan payments to repay a lender, which is a significant selling feature for most new small business owners. However, if your business succeeds, you would owe an investor a lot more money if you wish to buy them out and reclaim ownership of your company.

Examples of Equity Financing

Consider this: you need $50,000 to place a large buy order and begin ramping up production. If you took out a company loan with a 10% interest rate and paid it off over three years, you could expect to spend around $8,000 in interest. Consider the following scenario: your company is worth $1 million, and an investor offers you $50,000 in exchange for a 5% interest. If your company grew to be worth $5 million three years later, you would owe that investor $250,000 to buy out their shares. Debt financing is a far better offer from a purely financial standpoint.

However, there is one more distinct advantage to equity financing: your investor becomes a stakeholder in your firm and can frequently add additional value in the form of counsel. So, this can help your business grow far quicker than it could have without the assistance of an experienced investor.

While both equity and debt financing have advantages, your choice may be influenced by the available possibilities. Debt financing is frequently unavailable to small enterprises because they lack a good credit score and a track record of fulfilling expenses. At the end of the day, both equity and debt financing may assist in taking your business to the next level- as long as you make selections that are mindful of your future business, you can be confident that you made the proper choice.

FAQs on Equity Financing

How Does Equity Financing Work?

Equity finance is selling a piece of a company’s equity in exchange for funds. A company that sells shares basically sells ownership in their company in exchange for cash.

What Are the Various Types of Equity Financing?

Companies receive different types of equity financing in two sources: through private placements of stock with investors or venture capital firms, and through public stock offerings. Because it is easier, private placement is more popular among young enterprises and startups.

Is Equity Financing Preferable to Debt financing?

The most significant advantage of equity financing is that the money does not have to be repaid. However, there are several disadvantages to using equity funding.

When investors buy stock, it is assumed that they will possess a minor interest in the company in the future. A company’s profits must be consistent in order for it to maintain a healthy stock valuation and pay dividends to its shareholders. Because stock financing entails more risk for the investor than debt financing entails for the lender, the cost of equity is frequently higher than the cost of debt.

Conclusion

Companies often require financing from outside sources in form of equity to keep their operations running and to invest in future growth. Any wise business strategy would take into account the most cost-effective mix of debt and equity funding. Equity funding can come from a variety of sources and are of different types. The main advantage of equity financing, regardless of the sources, is that it has no payback obligation and provides extra capital that a company can utilize to grow its activities.

  1. PUBLIC ACCOUNTING FIRMS: The Ultimate List in 2021
  2. TOP ACCOUNTING FIRMS: 35+ Best in the World (Updated)
  3. Market Risk Premium: Current Market risk Premium in the US Explained!
  4. Raising Capital: 7 Ways to Raise Capital For a Startup

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like