股东权益:公式及其计算方式

股东权益
图片来源:BooksTime

当然,一家公司或公司可能会以多种方式确定其财务状况。 这些测量通常可以帮助您确定是否需要进行调整以改善您的公司。 其中之一是股东权益。 如果使用得当,它可以用来计算公司的净资产。 一般来说,股东权益是指公司资产减去负债后的数量或价值,可以在资产负债表和股东权益表中找到。 正数表示您的企业将能够偿还债务并处于良好的财务状况,而负数表示您公司的资产超过其义务。 本文让您更深入地了解股东权益的定义、陈述、公式以及如何计算。

什么是股东权益?

股东权益是指所有资产清偿完毕、债务清偿后,股东可获得的剩余资产金额。 也称为股东或所有者权益,其数额是公司资产和债务数量之间的差距。 通常,这是发现公司财务状况的一种方式。

换句话说,在从公司资产中减去公司负债后,这笔钱实际上是唯一属于公司所有者的东西。 然而,这涵盖了部分所有者,例如股东或股东。 基本上,它是企业的净资产,计算为股本和净资产的总和减去库存股或总资产的价值减去总债务。 普通股、实收资本、收入以及库存股都是股东权益的例子。

从理论上讲,股东权益衡量公司的经济稳定性并提供有关其资本结构的信息。 但是,如果该值为负数,则可能表明该公司即将申请破产,尤其是在其债务负担沉重的情况下。 它通常与资产和债务信息一起出现在公司的资产负债表和财务报表中。

了解股东权益如何运作

一般来说,股东权益,通常被称为公司的账面价值,来自两个主要来源。 第一个来源是通过股票发行筹集的资金,然后投资于公司。 第二个来源是公司的留存利润(RE),它在一段时间内由于其所有业务或活动而产生。 留存收益通常是最大的组成部分,尤其是在与已经运营了很长时间的组织打交道时。

但是,股东权益为负数或正数是可能的。 如果结果良好,则公司的资产足以偿还其负债。 另一方面,如果值为负,则公司的负债大于其资产。 如果这种情况持续下去,他们会说资产负债表破产。

因此,许多投资者认为股东权益为负数的企业是有风险或危险的投资。 同时,重要的是要知道,股东权益本身并不是公司财务状况的可靠预测指标。 然而,当与其他技术和关键绩效指标相结合时,股东可以正确衡量组织的稳定性或可持续性。

股东权益的三个主要来源是:

#1。 股本

这与投资者在组织试图筹集资金时为换取普通股或优先股而贡献或支付的现金或其他资产有关。

#2。 支付盈余

这些是投资者捐赠以换取股票的钱。 但是,这不包括通过收益或捐赠(实收资本)获得的股票。

#3。 留存收益

这些是公司为再投资于公司而节省下来的利润。 那就是它没有作为股息分配给股东或用于回购股票的钱。

公司的资产负债表通常有两栏:左栏详细说明资产,右栏详细说明负债和权益。 在某些资产负债表上,资产将排在首位,其次是负债,最后是股东权益。

公司可以针对过多的变量调整资产负债表的股东权益。 例如,资产负债表有一个标题为“其他综合收入”的部分。 这基本上是指收入、费用、利润和负债,它们都被排除在净收入之外。 该领域包括外币折算补贴和证券非经常性利润等事物或项目。

一般来说,当一家公司创造或保持盈利时,其股东权益就会增加。 然而,这有助于控制债务并吸收潜在损失。 因此,更高的所有者权益对大多数企业来说意味着更大的缓冲。 而且,如果公司遭受损失或不得不承担债务,这给了公司更大的恢复灵活性。 然而,由于各种因素,包括不良保险或经济衰退,公司可能会出现亏损或债务。

另一方面,较低的股东权益可能表明公司需要削减债务。 不过,情况并非总是如此。 换句话说,较低的股东权益对于某些企业来说可能不是问题,特别是那些年轻或谨慎且费用适中的企业。 对于这些业务,股东权益通常意义不大。 那是因为每一美元的无盈余现金流都不会花费很多钱。

在这些情况下,公司可以很容易地扩大规模并为其股东创造资金。

股东权益公式

一般来说,我们可以通过从公司总资产中减去公司的全部负债来计算股东权益。 换句话说,股东权益公式计算公司的净资产。 或者如果公司的资产被出售并履行其义务,股东可以要求的金额。

我们可以使用以下公式来计算股东权益:

  • 股东权益=总资产-总负债

基本上,如果您查看公司的资产负债表(可在其年度报告中找到)或向证券交易委员会提交的季度 10-K 报告,您可能会找到股东权益公式所需的财务数据。 但是,在最近一个期间,资产负债表可能包括公司的总资产和总负债。

通常,公司的总资产是其现有资产和现有资产的总和。 现金应收账款和存货是可在一年内兑换成现金的流动资产的例子。 另一方面,包括财产、设备和无形资源在内的长期资产往往难以在一年内变现。

然而,如果一家公司确实决定清算,较少的可交易资产可能导致产生的收入低于最新资产负债表上的价值或估值。 同样,如果一家公司自行清算,股东权益账户也不会为投资者保证剩余价值。

公司的总负债是其当前负债和长期负债的总和。 而流动负债通常包括短期债务,例如应付账款和应付税款。 证券债务、养老金支付和租赁权是组织通常在一年以上的较长时间间隔内偿还的长期负债的例子。

股东权益声明

股东权益表有时被称为股东权益表,是企业发布的经济文件,作为其损益表的一部分。

通常,该报告显示公司对股东的价值从会计期间的开始到结束是如何发展的。 同样,该声明可作为投资者了解公司运营如何为其股东利益价值做出贡献的重要指标。

此外,它还显示了公司的运作方式,包括所有 资产和负债,对于股东、投资者或组织的所有者。 基本上,如果股东权益表显示价值收益,则意味着企业的行为正在为投资者带来回报。 但是,如果显示下降,则意味着企业应重新考虑其运营。

无论如何,总资产和总负债之间的差异在股东权益表中每月、每季度或每年进行评估。 它在资产负债表上,恰好是几乎每个小企业都应该知道的三份财务文件之一。 损益表, 除了现金流量表之外,还有另外两个财务报表。

同时,股东权益的价值可以上升,但前提是公司所有者或投资者贡献更多资本,如果公司的利润随着其出售或交易更多物品或 通过削减开支扩大利润。

如果小企业主只关心现金流,他或她可能会忽略股东权益表。 但是,如果您想公平地了解您的运营情况,收入不应该是您的主要关注点。 另一方面,股东权益表可以成为确定运营如何影响公司价值的有用工具。

您如何创建股东权益声明?

基本上,创建股东权益表有四个阶段。

#1。 起始权益

在会计周期开始时,花点时间列出公司的股权。

#2。 新增股权

接下来在程序中,您现在可以记录在该时间段内发生的所有股权增加。 然而,这可能包括任何 额外的资本投资 由投资者或所有者在过去一年中制作的。 同样,它将包括组织生产或盈利时产生的任何净收入。

#3。 股权减法

列出您支付给投资者的任何股息和任何净损失。 这些通常会从投资者的权益中扣除。

#4。 期末余额

最后,写下时间框架的期末净值余额。 但是,在准备报告时,您应始终包括显示公司名称、声明标题和报告中讨论的时间范围的标题 财务报表. 此外,这对于防止将来发生任何误解很重要。

如何计算股东权益

通常,您可以通过从总资产中减去总负债来计算公司的股东权益。 然而,这些都在资产负债表的清单上。

使用以下公式,您应该能够计算公司的股东权益

  • 股东权益=总资产-总负债

总资产分为两类:流动资产和非流动资产。 您应该能够在一年内将流动资产(例如应收账款和存货)转换为现金。 然而,有 包括房地产在内的长期资产、工业厂房、机械和发明之类的无形资产,在一年的时间间隔内你不能轻易地转换成现金或投入使用。

另一方面,流动负债和长期义务构成总负债。 应付账款和应付税款. 这些是公司必须在一年内支付的流动负债的例子,而长期负债是公司必须随着时间的推移偿还的义务。

总结

股东或股东权益是一个资产负债表账户,包括股本和留存收益。 它还表明扣除义务后的资产价值。

在审查财务报表时,股东权益是非常有用的信息。 在清算的情况下,股东在债务持有人之后最后收到付款。 这意味着债券持有人首先收到付款,然后是股权投资者。

因此,在确定整体偿付能力时,债务持有人不太关心股权的价值,而是关注股权的总量。 另一方面,股东关心负债和权益账户,因为只有在债权人得到支付后才能支付权益。

常见问题

您如何最好地解释股东权益?

股东权益的概念对于确定公司保留多少钱至关重要。 当加上大量债务负担时,负股东权益余额是接近破产的有力指标。 然而,这种情况可能会发生在一个新业务中,该业务在开发要出售的东西时正在亏损。

账面价值与股东权益——有什么区别?

股东权益也称为公司的账面价值,因为它反映了公司在用现有资产偿还所有债务后的剩余价值。 然而,账面价值原则实际上并不能很好地叠加,因为资产和负债的市场价值和承担额可能并不总是匹配。

什么是股东权益方程?

股东权益方程被称为投资者方程,是一个要求您计算股本然后确定企业留存收益的公式。

为什么要使用股东权益声明?

小企业主,无论好坏,都需要知道他们的公司在特定时间段内的表现。 如果没有股东权益声明,这是很难实现的。

  1. 股东权益:如何计算股东权益
  2. 债务权益比率:解释!!!,公式,计算,示例
  3. 资产负债表格式:带有示例的最佳会计实践(详细!!!)
  4. 资产负债表与损益表:示例、差异和关系
  5. 共同基金与股票:哪个是更好的选择? (+免费提示)

(kbeautypharm.com)

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

你也许也喜欢

STOCKHOLDERS EQUITY: Formula and How It’s Calculated

Stockholders equity
Image Source: BooksTime

Of course, a firm or company might determine its financial status in a variety of ways. These measurements can usually assist you in determining whether or not you need to make adjustments to improve your company. One of these is the stockholders’ equity. When used correctly, it can be used to calculate a company’s net worth. In general, stockholders’ equity refers to the quantity or worth of a company’s assets after subtracting liabilities, which can be found on both the balance sheet and the statement of stockholders’ equity. A positive number suggests that your business will be able to pay off its debts and be in good financial shape, while a negative number indicates that your company’s assets exceed its obligations. This article gives you more insight into stockholders’ equity in regards to the definition, statements, formula, and how to calculate.

What Is Stockholders’ Equity?

Stockholders’ equity is the residual amount of assets accessible to shareholders after all assets have been liquidated and all debts have been paid. Also known as the shareholders’ or owners’ equity, its amount is the disparity between the number of the company’s assets and debts. Typically, it’s one way to discover a company’s financial health.

In other words, the money is really the only thing left belonging to the owners of the firm after subtracting a company’s liabilities from its assets. This nevertheless covers partial owners, such as stockholders or shareholders. Basically, it is a business’s net worth and it is computed as the sum of share capital and net assets minus treasury shares or as the value of the total assets minus total debt. Common shares, paid-in capital, revenues, as well as treasury stock are all examples of stockholders’ equity.

Stockholders’ equity, in theory, measures a company’s economic stability and offers information about its capital structure. However, if this value is negative, it could suggest that the company is about to file for bankruptcy, especially if it has a substantial debt burden. It typically appears on a company’s balance sheet and financial statements, alongside information on assets and debts.

Understanding How Stockholders’ Equity Works

In general, stockholders’ equity, often known as the company’s book value, is derived from two primary sources. The first source is funds raised through share offerings and then invested in the company. The second source is the firm’s retained profits (RE), which it generates over a period of time as a result of all its businesses or activities. Retained earnings are usually the greatest component, particularly when dealing with organizations that have been in operation for a long time.

However, having a negative or positive stockholders’ equity is possible. If the result is good, the company’s assets are sufficient to satisfy its liabilities. On the other hand, if the value is negative, the company’s liabilities are greater than its assets. If this continues, they say there’s a balance sheet insolvency.

As a result, many investors consider businesses with negative stockholders’ equity to be risky or dangerous investments. Meanwhile, it is important to know that stockholders’ equity is not a reliable predictor of a company’s financial health on its own. Nevertheless, when combined with other techniques and key performance indicators, the shareholder can properly measure an organization’s stability or sustainability.

The three main sources of stockholder equity are:

#1. Capital Stock

This has to do with the cash or other assets investors contributed or pay in exchange for shares of common stock or preferred stock when the organization was trying to raise money.

#2. Paid in Surplus

These are money investors donate in exchange for stock. This, however, excludes stock obtained through earnings or donations (paid-in capital).

#3. Retained Earnings

These are profits that a company has saved up to reinvest in the company. That is the money It has not distributed to its stockholders as dividends or used to buy back stock.

A company’s balance sheet usually has two columns: a left column detailing assets and a right column detailing liabilities and equity. Assets will be at the top of the list on certain balance sheets, followed by liabilities, and lastly stockholders’ equity.

Companies can adjust a balance sheet’s stockholders’ equity for a plethora of variables. The balance sheet, for example, features a part titled “Other Comprehensive Income.” This basically refers to revenues, expenses, profits, and liabilities which are all excluded from net income. This area covers things or items such as foreign currency translation subsidies and non-recurring profits on securities.

Generally, when a company creates or keeps earnings, its stockholders’ equity rises. This, however, helps to keep debt in check and absorb potential losses. Accordingly, higher owner equity means a wider buffer for most businesses. And, this gives the company more recovery flexibility if it suffers losses or has to take on debt. Nevertheless, company losses or debts may arise due to a variety of factors, including bad insurance or an economic downturn.

On the other hand, lower stockholders’ equity can indicate that a company needs to cut its debts. This isn’t always the case, though. In another word, lower stockholders’ equity may not be a concern for certain businesses, particularly those that are young or cautious and have modest expenses. For these businesses, stockholders’ equity generally has very little significance. That’s because every dollar of surplus-free cash flow doesn’t cost a lot of money. 

In these instances, the company can readily scale and generate money for its shareholders.

Stockholders Equity Formula

Generally, we can calculate the stockholders’ equity by subtracting the company’s entire liabilities from its total assets. In other words, the stockholders’ equity formula calculates a company’s net worth. Or the amount that stockholders can claim if the company’s assets are sold and its obligations are settled.

We can use the following formula to calculate the stockholders’ equity:

  • Stockholders’ Equity = Total assets – Total Liabilities

Basically, if you check the company’s balance sheet, which is available in its annual report, or its quarterly 10-K report filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission, you may find the financial data you need for the stockholders’ equity formula. However, for the most current period, a balance sheet may include the company’s total assets and total liabilities.

Normally, the total assets of a corporation are the sum of its present and existing assets. Cash accounts receivables and inventory are examples of current assets available to exchange to cash in under a year. On the other hand, long-term assets, including property, equipment, and intangible resources are frequently difficult to convert into cash within the year.

However, if a firm does decide to liquidate, lesser tradable assets may result in lesser revenue generated than the worth or valuation on the most latest balance sheet. Likewise, if a corporation liquidates itself, the stockholders’ equity account does not by any chance guarantee residual value for investors.

The total liabilities of a firm are the sum of its current and long-term liabilities. While the current liabilities usually include short-term debt, such as accounts payable and taxes payable. Securities debt, pension payments, and leaseholds are examples of longer-term liabilities that an organization usually repays over longer intervals of above one year.

Stockholders Equity Statement

The statement of stockholders’ equity is sometimes known as a statement of shareholders’ equity and is an economic document published by businesses as part of their income statement.

Generally, this report shows how the worth of the company to stockholders has progressed from the beginning to the end of accounting periods. Likewise, this statement serves as a significant indicator for investors of how a company’s operations contribute to the value of its stockholders’ interests.

In addition, it shows how the firm is functioning, net of all assets and liabilities, for shareholders, investors, or the owner of the organization. Basically, if the stockholders’ equity statement demonstrates a gain in value, it means the business’s actions are paying off for investors. However, if it shows a decline, it means the business should reconsider its operations.

Regardless, the disparity between total assets and total liabilities is evaluated monthly, quarterly, or annually in the stockholders’ equity statement. And it’s on the balance sheet, which happens to be one of three financial papers that almost every small business should know about. The income statement, as well as the cash flow statement, are the other two financial statements.

Meanwhile, the value of stockholders’ equity can rise, but only if the firm owner or investors contribute more capital, if the company’s profits rise as it sells or transacts more items or expands margins by cutting expenses.

If a small business owner is exclusively concerned with cash flow, he or she may neglect the stockholders’ equity statement. However, if you want a fair picture of how your operations are doing, income shouldn’t be your main concern. The statement of stockholders’ equity, on the other hand, can be a useful tool for determining how operations affect a company’s worth.

How Do You Create Stockholders’ Equity Statement?

Basically, there are four phases to creating a stockholders’ equity statement.

#1. Starting Equity

Just at beginning of the accounting cycle, take your time to make a list of the company’s equity.

#2. New Equity Additions

Next in the procedure, you can now make a note of all equity additions that happened over the time period. This, however, may include any additional capital investments made by investors or owners over the last year. Likewise, it will include any net income generated if the organization was productive or profitable.

#3. Equity Subtractions

Make a list of any dividends you pay to investors and any net losses. These normally will be a deduction from the equity of investors.

#4. Ending Balance

And lastly, write the ending equity balance for the timeframe. However, you should always include a title showing the company’s name, the statement’s title, and the time frame discussed in the report when preparing a financial statement. Besides, this is important to prevent any future misunderstanding.

How to Calculate Stockholders’ Equity

Generally, you can calculate the stockholders’ equity of a firm by just subtracting its total liabilities from its total assets. These, however, are both on a list on the balance sheet.

With the below formula, you should be able to calculate a company’s stockholders’ equity

  • Shareholders’ Equity= Total Assets – Total Liabilities

Total assets are of two categories: current and non-current assets. You should be able to convert current assets, such as accounts receivable and inventories, to cash within a year. However, there are long-term assets including real estate, industrial plants, machinery, and intangibles like inventions, which you cannot easily convert into cash or put to use within the interval of a year.

On the other hand, current liabilities and long-term obligations make up total liabilities. Accounts payable and taxes payable. These are examples of current liabilities that a company will have to pay within a year, while long-term liabilities are obligations that the company must pay back over time.

Conclusion

Stockholders or shareholders Equity is a balance sheet account that includes share capital plus retained earnings. It also indicates the worth of assets after subtracting obligations.

When examining financial statements, stockholders’ equity is extremely useful information. In the event of a liquidation, stockholders receive payouts last, after debt holders. This means that bondholders receive payment first, followed by equity investors.

As a result, debt holders are less concerned with the value of equity than with the total amount of equity when determining overall solvency. Shareholders, on the other hand, are concerned about both liabilities and equity accounts since equity may only be paid after creditors have been paid.

FAQs

How best can you interprete Stockholders' Equity?

The concept of stockholders’ equity is vital for determining how much money a company keeps. When combined with a substantial debt load, a negative stockholders’ equity balance is a strong indicator of approaching insolvency. Nevertheless, this circumstance may happen in a new business that is losing money while developing things to sell.

Book Value vs. Stockholders' Equity- whats the difference?

Stockholders’ equity is also known as the book value of a firm since this reflects a corporation’s residual value after paying off all debts with existing assets. The principle of book value, nevertheless, doesn’t really stack up well in actuality because the market value and bearing amount of assets, as well as liabilities, may not always match.

What is the stockholders equity equation?

The stockholders’ equity equation is known as the investor’s equation and is a formula that requires you to calculate the share capital and then determine the business’s retained earnings.

Why should you utilize a shareholder equity statement?

Small business owners, in both good and bad times, need to know how their company is doing during a specific time period. That is difficult to achieve without a statement of shareholder equity.

  1. Stockholder Equity: How To Calculate Stockholders’ Equity
  2. Debt To Equity Ratio: Explained!!!, Formula, Calculations, Examples
  3. Balance Sheet Format: Best Accounting Practices with Examples (Detailed!!!)
  4. Balance Sheet vs. Income Statement: Examples, Differences & Relationship
  5. Mutual Funds vs Stocks: Which is a Better Option? (+Free Tips)
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like