تعريف توقعات الأعمال ، الطرق ، الأمثلة ، الأنواع (محدث)

التنبؤ بالأعمال
حقوق الصورة: CFOShares

ألن يكون من الرائع إلقاء نظرة على مستقبل شركتك؟ هذه حقيقة مع التنبؤ بالأعمال. من خلال الجمع بين البيانات الحالية والتاريخية ، يمكنك عمل توقعات دقيقة للاتجاهات والتوقعات المستقبلية. من خلال هذه الرؤية الموسعة ، ستتمكن من تقييم مؤسستك بالكامل بثقة تامة في البيانات. في هذه المقالة ، سنتعرف على ماهية التنبؤ بالأعمال ، ولماذا هو مهم ، وكيف سيساعد شركتك على الازدهار ، والأساليب ، والأنواع ، والأمثلة لتحسين الدقة والبساطة.

ما هو التنبؤ بالأعمال؟

ببساطة ، التنبؤ بالأعمال عبارة عن مجموعة من الأدوات والإجراءات للتنبؤ بتطورات الأعمال مثل المبيعات والنفقات والأرباح والخسائر. الغرض من التنبؤ بالأعمال هو وضع خطط أفضل بناءً على هذه التوقعات المستنيرة ، مما يساعد في منع الفشل أو الخسائر المحتملة.

ما هي أهمية التنبؤ؟

تستفيد الشركات من التنبؤ لأنه يتيح لها اتخاذ قرارات تجارية مستنيرة وإنشاء استراتيجيات تعتمد على البيانات. تستند القرارات المالية والتشغيلية إلى ظروف السوق الحالية بالإضافة إلى التوقعات المستقبلية. يتم تجميع البيانات السابقة وفحصها للكشف عن الأنماط ، مما يساعد بعد ذلك على التنبؤ بالاتجاهات والتغييرات المستقبلية. يُمكّن التنبؤ عملك من أن يكون استباقيًا وليس رد فعل.

اقرأ أيضا: التنبؤ بالطلب: الطرق والأمثلة والنماذج (+ دليل مفصل)

قد تساعد التوقعات شركتك على النجاح بثلاث طرق:

# 1. يساعد في تحديد الأهداف والتخطيط

استنادًا إلى البيانات الحالية والتاريخية ، يتيح التنبؤ للمؤسسات إنشاء أهداف مقبولة وقابلة للتحقيق. بشكل أساسي ، وجود بيانات وإحصاءات موثوقة للتقييم يساعد الشركات في تحديد مستوى التغيير أو التطوير أو التقدم الذي سيعتبر ناجحًا بالضبط. أيضًا ، يتيح لك الحصول على هذه الأهداف تقييم تقدمك وإجراء تغييرات على إجراءات عملك حسب الحاجة للبقاء على المسار الصحيح. أنظمة معينة مثل CRM المساعدة في التنبؤ المرئي وتقديم نظرة ثاقبة لأشياء مثل خط أنابيب المبيعات والفرص والمزيد.

# 2. يساعد في إعداد الميزانية

تساعد الرؤية في الاتجاهات والتغييرات المحتملة الشركات في تحديد ما إذا كانت ستنفق ميزانيتها والاهتمام على عروض محددة. قد تشمل هذه العروض المنتجات أو الخدمات أو المجالات الداخلية مثل التوظيف وتعديلات الاستراتيجية.

وفقًا لـ Investopedia ، "تحدد الموازنة توقعات الشركة للإيرادات لفترة مستقبلية ، في حين أن التنبؤ المالي يتوقع مقدار الإيرادات أو الدخل الذي سيتم تحقيقه في المستقبل".

Investopedia.com

وبعبارة أخرى ، فإن الحصول على رؤى حول وظائف الأعمال الحالية بالإضافة إلى الاتجاهات المستقبلية المتوقعة ودمج هذه المعلومات في الرؤى ذات الصلة يسمح بتحسين تخصيص الميزانية والتنبؤ بها.

# 3. يساعد في توقع تغييرات السوق

إن معرفة ليس فقط ما يحدث الآن ، ولكن أيضًا ما قد يحدث في المستقبل ، يسمح للمؤسسات بإجراء تغييرات على استراتيجية العمل والعمليات الحالية لتحسين نتائجها.

يُمكّن التنبؤ الشركات من أن تصبح استباقية بدلاً من رد الفعل. من الأهمية بمكان إعادة التكيف مع السوق ككل وتحسين الموارد لتبرز من المنافسة إذا كان من المتوقع أن يسيطر اتجاه على الصناعة أو أظهرت البيانات تغييرات في سلوك العملاء.

اقرأ أيضا: محلل ذكاء الأعمال: الوصف الوظيفي والشهادات والراتب في الولايات المتحدة

أنواع التنبؤ بالأعمال

يركز كل توقع على إحصائية أو نتيجة مختلفة. يعتمد شكل التنبؤ الذي تتبعه إلى حد كبير على ما تريد معرفته أو توقعه بشأن المستقبل. لذلك ، يمكن أن تتراوح توقعات الأعمال بشكل أساسي من النطاق الواسع (المبيعات للشهر المقبل) إلى الدقة للغاية (مبيعات العام المقبل) (طلب المستهلك على منتج معين لموسم العطلات لعام 2022).

بعد هذا بعيدًا ، دعنا نلقي نظرة على الأنواع المختلفة من التنبؤ بالأعمال واحدًا تلو الآخر مع الأمثلة.

ائتمان الصورة: BPlansBlog (أمثلة وأنواع التنبؤ بالأعمال)

# 1. توقعات الأعمال العامة

تؤثر البيئة ، فضلاً عن الروابط الأوسع بالاقتصاد والمجتمع والمناخ السياسي ومجموعة متنوعة من العناصر الأخرى ، على جميع الأعمال. يتم استخدام توقعات الأعمال العامة للتنبؤ بمناخ الأعمال العام لتاريخ مستقبلي ، ويمكن أن تكون مفيدة لمجموعة واسعة من المؤسسات والصناعات.

يستعمل ل: تحديد ظروف السوق العامة بالإضافة إلى تأثير العوامل البيئية على عمليات شركتك.

الأكثر ملاءمة لـ: الشركات التي تعمل في سياقات شديدة التأثير ، مثل البلدان التي تعاني من الاضطرابات السياسية أو التطورات التكنولوجية الهامة أو التقلبات الموسمية الدراماتيكية.

أحد الأمثلة العديدة لهذا النوع من التنبؤ بالأعمال:

تحليل تأثير الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية لعام 2020 على الاقتصاد الكلي للولايات المتحدة.

اقرأ أيضا: برنامج التنبؤ بالطلب: أفضل ممارسات 2021 وكل ما تحتاجه

# 2. مبيعات التنبؤ

بناءً على بيانات المبيعات ، أ توقعات المبيعات تتوقع المبيعات المستقبلية ، سواء بشكل عام أو لمنتج أو خدمة واحدة ضمن عروض شركتك. يُمكِّن التنبؤ بالمبيعات شركتك من التنبؤ بمتطلبات القوى العاملة والموارد والتدفقات النقدية والمخزون ورأس المال الاستثماري في المستقبل.

علاوة على ذلك ، فإنه يوضح مقدار الأموال التي من المحتمل أن تكسبها شركتك خلال الشهر أو الربع أو السنة التالية من دورة المبيعات.

يستعمل ل: تقدير النمو والتدفقات النقدية والتنبؤ بالإيرادات لفترة مستقبلية.

الأكثر ملاءمة لـ: الشركات التي تعتمد بشكل أساسي على سجل المبيعات أو تحتاج إلى توقع المبيعات للمستثمرين أو التمويل.

أحد الأمثلة العديدة لهذا النوع من التنبؤ بالأعمال:

تقدير الإيرادات للسنة المالية 2022 من أجل حساب عدد مندوبي المبيعات المراد تعيينهم وهيكل عمولتهم.

# 3. توقعات الطلب

ستسير توقعات الطلب والمبيعات جنبًا إلى جنب ، حيث ستتوقع توقعات الطلب ما يحتاجه السوق أو يريده ، بينما تتوقع توقعات المبيعات كيف ستتمكن شركتك من الاستفادة من هذه الطلبات من خلال المبيعات. بالنسبة للجزء الأكبر ، يمكن أن تخبرك توقعات الطلب بعدد العملاء في المجموعة السكانية المستهدفة الذين يبحثون عن منتجك في الربع القادم. والأهم من ذلك ، مقدار استعدادهم للدفع مقابل خدمة معينة.

يستعمل ل: توقع السوق المستقبلي وطلب العملاء لمنتج أو خدمة.

الأكثر ملاءمة لـ: التحقق من مقدار الاستثمار في المواد الخام أو المخزون ، وكذلك تحديد ما إذا كان المنتج الجديد سينجح.

اقرأ أيضا: برنامج التنبؤ بالمبيعات: 15+ أفضل خيارات 2021 (+ نصائح مجانية)

أحد الأمثلة العديدة لهذا النوع من التنبؤ بالأعمال:

توقع الطلب على لعبة جديدة قبل عيد الميلاد حتى تتمكن من شراء المخزون اللازم.

# 4. التنبؤ برأس المال

تحتاج الشركات في كثير من الأحيان إلى توقع مقدار رأس المال العامل أو السائل الذي ستحصل عليه في المستقبل. هذا لمساعدتهم على التخطيط للتوظيف أو المكافآت أو التحسينات أو الاستثمارات ، بالإضافة إلى التطورات الأخرى التي قد تعتمد على الأموال النقدية المتاحة. ولكن نظرًا لأنه يتضمن التخمين في مجموعة متنوعة من العناصر ، فإن التنبؤ برأس المال أمر صعب وأقل موثوقية من التوقعات الأخرى. قد تلعب العناصر التالية دورًا في رأس المال التجاري:

  • المدخرات والنقد
  • ممتلكات
  • الذمم المدينة (الذمم المدينة)
  • دخل
  • تمويل الاستثمارات
  • خطوط ائتمان

الأكثر ملاءمة لـ: توقع توفر الأموال لتاريخ أو حدث مستقبلي.

أفضل ل: الشركات التي تخطط للاستثمار أو النمو أو التوظيف أو الاستحواذ أو إجراء تغييرات أخرى تتطلب النقد.

أحد الأمثلة العديدة لهذا النوع من التنبؤ بالأعمال:

تقدير رأس المال العامل لشراء مبنى إداري أكبر العام المقبل.

# 5. التنبؤ المحاسبي

التنبؤ المحاسبي هو عملية تقدير المبلغ الذي ستدفعه شركتك مقابل المواد الخام والمخزونات وساعات العمل والمرافق والإيجار والتأمين والمصروفات الأخرى في المستقبل ، بناءً على البيانات التاريخية والحالية.

هناك مجموعة متنوعة من الطرق لتحديد هذا النوع من التنبؤ بالأعمال. يتضمن هذا غالبًا تحليل الانحدار ، والذي يستخدم الصيغ الرياضية لاختبار العلاقات بين عوامل متعددة وتحديد الاتجاهات بمرور الوقت. هناك طريقة أخرى وهي الطريقة العالية والمنخفضة ، والتي تستخدم أعلى وأدنى التكاليف والمحركات لإنشاء منحدر يتنبأ بمكان انخفاض التكاليف بمرور الوقت.

الأكثر ملاءمة لـ: تقدير التكاليف التشغيلية المستقبلية لشركتك.

أفضل ل: أي شركة لديها ميزانية للمستقبل.

أحد الأمثلة العديدة لهذا النوع من التنبؤ بالأعمال:

تقدير التقلبات الدورية في تكلفة منتج موسمي ، مثل الفاكهة الطازجة لمطعم.

# 6. التنبؤ المالي

الحصول على صورة واضحة عن المكان الذي تتجه إليه مؤسستك هو هدف التنبؤ المالي. الأصول والخصوم والحسابات الدائنة والمدينين وتكاليف التشغيل ورأس المال والتدفقات النقدية وظروف السوق العامة كلها عوامل يجب مراعاتها. قد يتم تضمين أشكال أخرى من هذا النوع من التنبؤ التجاري في التنبؤ المالي.

يستعمل ل: تتبع الاتجاه المستقبلي العام لشركتك.

أفضل ل: أي شركة تريد تتبع صحتها المالية من خلال التوقعات.

أحد الأمثلة العديدة لهذا النوع من التنبؤ بالأعمال:

التأكد من أن شركتك ستحقق هدف الربح قبل نهاية العام.

طرق التنبؤ بالأعمال

هناك عدة طرق للتنبؤ بالأعمال التجارية. لدينا المنهجيات النوعية والكمية ، للمبتدئين. ومع ذلك ، فيما يلي بعض طرق التنبؤ بالأعمال الأكثر شيوعًا.

اقرأ أيضا: تخطيط الطلب: نظرة عامة ، مقارنات ، الرواتب والوظائف

# 1. طرق التنبؤ بالأعمال النوعية

يتم استخدام رأي المستهلك والمهني والحكم في التنبؤ النوعي. هذا النوع من التنبؤ بالأعمال فعال إذا لم يكن لديك بيانات تاريخية كافية لاستخلاص استنتاجات ذات دلالة إحصائية. في مثل هذه الحالات ، خبير يمكن أن تساعدك في تجميع أجزاء البيانات التي لديك من أجل عمل توقع نوعي بناءً على تلك البيانات.

علاوة على ذلك ، عندما لا يُعرف الكثير عن مستقبل صناعتك ، فإن التنبؤ النوعي للأعمال مفيد أيضًا. ومع ذلك ، لا جدوى من الاعتماد على البيانات التاريخية إذا لم تكن تلك البيانات ذات صلة بالمستقبل غير المكتشف الذي تقترب منه. يمكن أن يكون هذا هو الحال في القطاعات المبتكرة أو عند دخول قيود جديدة ، مثل اللوائح الضريبية الجديدة ، إلى السوق.

# 2. طرق التنبؤ بالأعمال الكمية

عندما تتوفر بيانات سابقة دقيقة ، يمكن استخدام التنبؤ الكمي للتنبؤ باحتمالية الأحداث المستقبلية. تستخلص هذه الاستراتيجية الأنماط من البيانات التي تؤدي إلى نتائج أكثر احتمالية. بشكل أساسي ، يمكن استخدام البيانات الداخلية ، مثل أرقام المبيعات ، والبيانات التي تم جمعها بشكل احترافي ، مثل إحصاءات التعداد ، في التنبؤ الكمي.

بشكل عام ، يهدف التنبؤ الكمي إلى ربط العديد من المتغيرات من أجل بناء وتأثير العلاقات التي يمكن استخدامها لصالح الشركة.

# 3. نهج المتوسط

وفقًا للنهج المتوسط ​​، من المتوقع أن تكون جميع القيم المستقبلية مساوية لمتوسط ​​البيانات السابقة. نظرًا لأن هذه الطريقة تعتمد على البيانات التاريخية ، فقد يتم تصنيفها كفئة للتنبؤ الكمي. علاوة على ذلك ، تُستخدم هذه الطريقة بشكل شائع لتقدير القيم غير المعروفة لأنها تتيح لك إجراء عمليات حسابية بناءً على المعدلات السابقة ، على افتراض أن المستقبل سيكون مماثلاً للماضي.

# 4. نهج ساذج

الأسلوب الأكثر فعالية من حيث التكلفة في قائمة أساليب التنبؤ بالأعمال هو الأسلوب الساذج ، والذي يستخدم بشكل متكرر كمقارنة مع الأساليب الأكثر تعقيدًا. يتم استخدامه فقط مع بيانات السلاسل الزمنية لتقديم توقعات مساوية لأحدث قيمة تمت ملاحظتها.

أيضًا ، هذه التقنية فعالة في الصناعات والقطاعات التي من غير المرجح أن تكرر الاتجاهات السابقة نفسها في المستقبل. قد تكون أحدث قيمة تمت ملاحظتها هي الأكثر إفادة في مثل هذه الظروف.

عناصر التنبؤ بالأعمال

لتنفيذ أساليب التنبؤ بالأعمال المذكورة أعلاه بشكل فعال ، ستحتاج إلى معرفة متعمقة بالعناصر التي يجب أن تكون على دراية بها.

تطوير نظام لتحليل الوضع الاقتصادي الحالي:

قبل أن تبدأ في التنبؤ ، يجب عليك أولاً تطوير نظام للتحقيق في الوضع الاقتصادي الحالي. سيساعد هذا على توقع المبيعات والعمليات التجارية العامة بشكل أفضل ، مع مراعاة صناعتك ومكانتها الحالية ، بالإضافة إلى منتجاتها الأكثر شهرة.

تقدير العمليات التجارية المستقبلية:

تتمثل الخطوة التالية في تقدير الظروف المستقبلية ، مثل المسار الذي من المحتمل أن تسلكه الأحداث المستقبلية في مجال عملك. مرة أخرى ، يعتمد هذا على البيانات التي تم الحصول عليها للمساعدة في التقديرات الكمية لمقاييس العمليات المستقبلية.

لوائح التنبؤ:

يجب أن تتطابق توقعاتك مع النتائج الفعلية. هذه هي الطريقة الوحيدة لمعرفة ما إذا كان هناك شيء خارج عن المألوف. يجب بعد ذلك تحديد أسباب الانحرافات بحيث يمكن اتخاذ إجراء مكافئ لإصلاحها في المستقبل.

تقييم عملية التنبؤ:

من خلال فحص الاختلافات بين التوقعات وبيانات الأداء الفعلي ، يمكنك تحسين العملية عن طريق تحسين البيانات ومراجعتها للتأكد من دقتها.

اقرأ أيضا: تخطيط الاتصال أثناء الأزمات: دليل مفصل مع أمثلة

مصادر البيانات للتنبؤ

توقعاتك جيدة فقط مثل المعلومات التي تقدمها. لذا ، قبل أن تبدأ في جمع البيانات ، اسأل نفسك الأسئلة التالية:

  • ما هو الغرض من جمع البيانات؟
  • ما نوع المعلومات التي أبحث عنها؟
  • متى يجب جمعها؟
  • ما هو أفضل مكان للحصول عليه؟
  • من سيكون الشخص الذي سيجمعها؟
  • ما هي الطريقة التي سيتم استخدامها لجمعها؟

هذه هي الأسئلة التي ستساعدك على تطوير إستراتيجية لجمع البيانات ، وهو أمر بالغ الأهمية للتنبؤ بالأعمال. وفي الوقت نفسه ، من الممكن جدًا جمع البيانات من مجموعة متنوعة من المصادر بمجرد وضع خطتك في مكانها الصحيح.

المصادر الأولية

تحتوي المصادر الأولية على معلومات مباشرة ، والتي يتم جمعها عادةً عبر برنامج الإبلاغ. هذه هي تلك التي تجمعها أنت أو الشخص المسؤول عن هذه المهمة شخصيًا. إذا لم يكن لديك وصول إلى البيانات الأساسية ، فسيتعين عليك الخروج وجمعها بنفسك باستخدام المقابلات أو الاستبيانات أو الملاحظات.

مصادر ثانوية

تحتوي المصادر الثانوية على البيانات التي تم نشرها أو جمعها من قبل الآخرين. التقارير الحكومية الرسمية والمنشورات والبيانات المالية من البنوك أو المؤسسات المالية الأخرى والتقارير السنوية من الشركات والمجلات والصحف والمجلات والدوريات الأخرى كلها أمثلة.

التنبؤ بالأعمال يذهب فقط حتى الآن

كان الجميع سيحصدون فوائد بعد نظرهم إذا كانت التنبؤات التجارية عبارة عن كرة بلورية. في حين أن التنبؤ بالأعمال هو أداة مفيدة لاكتساب فهم أفضل لما يخبئه المستقبل ، يجادل البعض بأنه مضيعة للوقت والموارد.

صحيح ، يمكنك اتباع الإجراءات واستخدام مجموعة متنوعة من الأساليب وما زلت ترتكب خطأ. بعد كل شيء ، هذا هو المستقبل. بمعنى آخر ، لن تكون هناك طريقة للتحكم في جميع المتغيرات التي يمكن أن تؤثر على الأحداث المستقبلية. تساهم أخطاء الحساب والأحكام المسبقة المتأصلة لدى المسؤولين عن العملية في عدم القدرة على التنبؤ بالنتائج.

ولكن بعد ذلك ، فإن هذه الفرضيات صحيحة فقط إلى حد ما.

نعم ، لن يكون لديك رؤية واضحة تمامًا للمستقبل إذا كنت تستخدم التنبؤ بالأعمال ، ولكن أي نظرة ثاقبة للأنماط المستقبلية المحتملة ستوفر لك ولشركتك ميزة. في عالم الأعمال شديد التنافسية ، يمكن أن تكون الخطوة المتواضعة خطوة كبيرة إلى الأمام.

لذلك على أي حال ، يعد التنبؤ بالأعمال أداة قوية لأي شركة تبحث عن ميزة تنافسية لأنها تجمع بين النماذج الإحصائية والاقتصادية القياسية مع الخبرة والخبرة والموضوعية.

لماذا التنبؤ مهم؟

قد يبدو أن التنبؤ يتطلب الكثير من العمل لتحقيق مردود غير مؤكد ، وربما غير موجود. ومع ذلك ، هناك عدة أسباب مقنعة لاستخدام التنبؤ في مؤسستك بشكل منتظم. بعضها يشمل ؛

  • فهم أفضل للبيانات الداخلية وأداء الأعمال
  • ميزة في السوق
  • لإنشاء ميزانيات فعالة
  • لتحسين وقت الاستجابة للتغيرات الدورية أو الموسمية
  • القدرة على اكتشاف أنماط واتصالات أكبر
  • للمساعدة في تطوير استراتيجية طويلة الأجل وتحديد الأهداف

التنبؤ ليس خاليًا من العيوب ، ولكنه يمكن أن يساعدك على فهم الوضع المالي لشركتك وأن تكون مرنًا في السوق المتغيرة. يشجعك التنبؤ ، على أقل تقدير ، على التعرف على شركتك الخاصة وجمع بياناتك الخاصة ، مما يجعلك قائد أعمال أكثر ذكاءً وأكثر استنارة.

اقرأ أيضا: تقييم الأعمال: كل ما تريد معرفته [دليل مفصل]

حدود التنبؤ بالأعمال

تحتاج الشركات إلى التنبؤ بالأعمال لأنها تساعدهم في التخطيط للإنتاج والتمويل والتكتيكات الأخرى. من ناحية أخرى ، فإن استخدام التنبؤات له ثلاثة عيوب:

  • ستكون البيانات قديمة دائمًا: لدينا فقط بيانات تاريخية لنستكملها ، وليس هناك ما يضمن استمرار الظروف السابقة في المستقبل.
  • من المستحيل حساب الأحداث الفريدة من نوعها أو غير المتوقعة ، بالإضافة إلى العوامل الخارجية
  • التوقعات غير قادرة على حساب تأثيرها؛ تتأثر أنشطة الشركات بعامل لا يمكن إدراجه كمتغير من خلال وجود توقعات ، سواء كانت دقيقة أو غير دقيقة. هذه عقدة في العقل. في أسوأ السيناريوهات ، تصبح الإدارة مستعبدة للبيانات والاتجاهات السابقة بدلاً من التركيز على الوضع الحالي للأعمال.

الأسئلة المتكررة

ما هي طرق التنبؤ بالأعمال؟

تشمل الأساليب الأساسية لتوقع الأعمال الأساليب الكمية والنوعية. ومع ذلك ، هناك أشكال أخرى من هذه الأساليب المذكورة أعلاه.

ما هي الأنواع الثلاثة للتنبؤ؟

على العكس من ذلك ، هناك أكثر من ثلاثة أنواع من التنبؤ. وهي تشمل الطلب والمبيعات ورأس المال والمحاسبة والتنبؤ المالي والعامة. هذا يعطينا إجمالي ستة أنواع من التنبؤ بدلاً من ثلاثة.

ما هي أفضل طريقة للتنبؤ بالأعمال؟

تعتمد أفضل طريقة للتنبؤ بالأعمال التجارية بشكل خالص على تفضيلات المستخدم ، مع ملاحظة أن معظم الأفراد يميلون إلى الهروب من الأرقام. في مثل هذه الحالات ، ستكون الطريقة النوعية هي أفضل خيار لتوقع الأعمال. من ناحية أخرى ، تمنحك الطريقة الكمية مزيدًا من العمل عند التنبؤ باستخدام البيانات التاريخية.

ما هي طرق التنبؤ؟

طرق التنبؤ هي تقنيات تساعد الشركات على التنقل عبر خطوات التنبؤ بسهولة.

  1. ما هو التنبؤ بالمبيعات؟ الأساليب وأمثلة من العالم الحقيقي
  2. برنامج التنبؤ بالمبيعات: 15+ أفضل خيارات 2021 (+ نصائح مجانية)
  3. إدارة الطلب: نظرة عامة ، مقارنات ، إيجابيات وسلبيات

0 مشاركة:
اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

ربما يعجبك أيضا
التفاصيل

20 طريقة اقتصادية لجعل عملك على الإنترنت فعالاً في 2018

يجب أن يتعلق استخدام Facebook كنصيحة ترويجية بالعلاقة وليس فقط تضمين الرفقاء والتأثير عليهم للقيام بما تحتاجه دون معرفة ما يشعرون به حيال ذلك. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن استخدام Facebook يجب أن يتعامل مع الفطنة.

Business Forecasting Definition, Methods, Examples, Types (Updated)

Business Forecasting
Image Credit: CFOShares

Wouldn’t it be fantastic to have a glimpse into your company’s future? This is a fact with business forecasting. By combining current and historical data, you can make accurate projections for future trends and forecasts. With this expanded visibility, you’ll be able to assess your entire organization with complete confidence in the data. In this article, we’ll go through what business forecasting is, why it’s important, how it’ll help your company flourish, methods, types, and examples to improve accuracy and simplicity.

What is Business Forecasting?


Simply put, business forecasting is a set of tools and procedures for predicting business developments such as sales, expenses, profits, and losses. The purpose of business forecasting is to establish better plans based on these well-informed predictions, assisting in the prevention of probable failures or losses.

What is the Significance of Forecasting?

Businesses benefit from forecasting because it allows them to make informed business decisions and establish data-driven strategies. Financial and operational decisions are based on current market conditions as well as forecasts for the future. Past data is compiled and examined to uncover patterns, which then helps to forecast future trends and changes. Forecasting enables your business to be proactive rather than reactive.

Read Also: Demand Forecasting: Methods, Examples, Models (+ Detailed Guide)


Forecasting may help your company succeed in three ways:

#1. Assists in Goal-Setting and Planning

Based on current and historical data, forecasting allows organizations to create acceptable and achievable goals. Basically, having reliable data and statistics to evaluate assists firms in determining exactly what level of change, development, or progress will be considered successful. Also, having these goals allows you to assess your progress and make changes to your business procedures as needed to stay on track. Certain systems, such as CRM aid visual forecasting and provide insight into things like the sales pipeline, opportunities, and more.

#2. Assists with Budgeting


Visibility into possible trends and changes aids firms in determining whether to spend their budget and attention on specific offerings. These offerings may include products, services, or internal areas such as hiring and strategy adjustments.

“Budgeting quantifies a business’s expectation of revenues for a future period, whereas financial forecasting predicts the amount of revenue or income that will be realized in a future time,” according to Investopedia.

Investopedia.com

In other words, having insights into existing business functionality as well as future expected trends and merging this information into relevant insights allows for improved budget allocation and forecasting.

#3. Assists in Anticipating Market Changes

Knowing not just what is happening now, but also what might happen in the future, allows organizations to make changes to their business strategy and existing operations to improve their results.

Forecasting enables firms to become proactive rather than reactive. It’s critical to readjust to the market as a whole and optimize resources to stand out from the competition if a trend is projected to take over the industry or data shows changes in customer behavior.


Read Also: Business Intelligence Analyst: Job Description, Certifications & Salary In the US

Types of Business Forecasting

Each forecast is focused on a different statistic or outcome. The form of forecast you pursue will to a large extent, depend on what you want to know or anticipate about the future. So basically, business forecasts can range from the broad (sales for next month) to the extremely precise (sales for next year) (consumer demand for a specific product for the 2022 holiday season).

With that out of the way, let’s take a look at the different types of business forecasting one after the other with examples.

Image Credit: BPlansBlog (Business Forecasting Examples and Type)

#1. General Business Forecasting

The environment, as well as the wider ties to the economy, community, political climate, and a variety of other elements, have an impact on all businesses. A general business forecast is used to predict the overall business climate for a future date, and it can be useful for a wide range of enterprises and industries.

Used for: Identifying overall market conditions as well as the impact of environmental factors on your company’s operations.

Most Suitable for: Companies that operate in highly influencing contexts, such as countries that are experiencing political upheavals, significant technology developments, or dramatic seasonal fluctuations.

One of the numerous examples of this type of business forecasting:

Analyzing the influence of the 2020 U.S. Presidential election on the overall economy of the United States.

Read Also: Demand Forecasting Software: Best 2021 Practices and All you Need

#2. Sales Forecasting

Based on sales data, a sales forecast anticipates future sales, whether overall or for a single product or service within your company’s offers. Sales forecasting enables your company to predict future workforce, resources, cash flow, inventory, and investment capital requirements.

Furthermore, it shows how much money your company is likely to make over the following month, quarter, or year of the sales cycle.

Used for: Estimating growth and cash flow, as well as predicting revenues for a future period of time.

Most Suitable for: Companies that rely primarily on sales history or need to forecast sales for investors or funding.

One of the numerous examples of this type of business forecasting:

Estimating revenue for the fiscal year 2022 in order to calculate the number of salespeople to hire and their commission structure.

#3. Demand Forecasting

Demand forecasts and sales forecasts will go hand in hand, as demand forecasts will anticipate what the market needs or wants, while sales forecasts will predict how your company will be able to capitalize on those demands through sales. for the most part, demand projections can tell you how many clients in your target demographic are looking for your product in the coming quarter. And more importantly, how much they’re ready to pay for a particular service.

Used for: Predicting future market and customer demand for a product or service.

Most Suitable for: Ascertaining how much to invest in raw materials or inventory, as well as determining whether a new product will be successful.

Read Also: Sales Forecasting Software: 15+ Best 2021 Options(+ Free Tips)

One of the numerous examples of this type of business forecasting:

Predicting the demand for a new toy before Christmas so that you can purchase the necessary inventory.

#4. Capital Forecasting

Businesses frequently need to anticipate the amount of working or liquid capital they will have in the future. This is to help them plan for hiring, bonuses, improvements, or investments, as well as other developments that may rely on the cash available. But because it includes guessing at a variety of elements, capital forecasting is difficult and less trustworthy than other projections. The following elements may play a role in business capital :

  • Savings & cash
  • Assets
  • Receivables (accounts receivable)
  • Revenue
  • Funding for investments
  • Credit lines

Most Suitable for: Predicting money availability for a future date or event.

Best for: Businesses planning to invest, grow, hire, acquire, or make other changes that will necessitate cash.

One of the numerous examples of this type of business forecasting:

Estimating working capital for the purchase of a larger office building next year.

#5. Accounting Forecasting

An accounting forecast is the process of estimating how much your company will pay for raw materials, inventories, man-hours, utilities and rent, insurance, and other expenses in the future, based on historical and current data.

There are a variety of methods for determining this type of business forecasting. This often includes regression analysis, which uses mathematical formulas to test the relationships between multiple factors and identify trends over time. Another method is the high-low method, which uses the highest and lowest costs and drivers to create a slope that predicts where costs will fall over time.

Most Suitable for: Estimating your company’s future operational costs.

Best for: Any company that has to budget for the future.

One of the numerous examples of this type of business forecasting:

Estimating cyclical fluctuations in the cost of a seasonal product, such as fresh fruit for a restaurant.

#6. Financial Forecasting

Getting a clear picture of where your organization is headed is the goal of financial forecasting. Assets and liabilities, accounts payable and receivable, operating costs, capital and cash flow, and general market circumstances are all factors to consider. Other forms of this type of business forecasting may be included in a financial forecast.

Used for: Keeping track of your company’s overall future direction.

Best for: Any company that wants to keep track of its financial health through projections.

One of the numerous examples of this type of business forecasting:

Ensuring that your company will meet a profit target before the end of the year.

Methods of Business Forecasting

There are several methods of approaching business forecasting. We have the qualitative and quantitative methodologies, for starters. However, the following are some of the more common business forecasting methods.

Read Also: Demand Planning: Overview, Comparisons, Salaries & Jobs

#1. Qualitative Business Forecasting Methods

Consumer and professional opinion and judgment are used in qualitative forecasting. This form of business forecasting is effective if you don’t have enough historical data to draw statistically meaningful conclusions. In such cases, an expert can assist you in piecing together the bits of data you do have in order to make a qualitative prediction based on that data.

Furthermore, when little is known about the future of your industry, qualitative business forecasting is also useful. However, it’s pointless to rely on historical data if that data isn’t relevant to the unexplored future you’re approaching. This can be the case in innovative sectors or when a new limitation, such as new tax regulation, enters the market.

#2. Quantitative Business Forecasting Methods

When accurate previous data is available, quantitative forecasting can be used to predict the likelihood of future events. This strategy extracts patterns from data that lead to more likely results. Basically, in-house data, such as sales numbers, and professionally gathered data, such as census statistics, can both be used in quantitative forecasting.

In general, quantitative forecasting aims to connect many variables in order to build and effect relationships that can be used to the company’s advantage.

#3. The Average Approach

According to the average approach, all future values are predicted to be equal to the mean of previous data. Because this method relies on historical data, it might be classified as a class of quantitative forecasting. Furthermore, this method is commonly used to estimate unknown values since it allows you to perform calculations based on prior averages, assuming that the future would be similar to the past.

#4. The Naïve Approach

The most cost-effective technique in the list of business forecasting methods is the naive approach, which is frequently used as a comparison to more complicated methods. It is only used with time-series data to provide projections that are equal to the most recent observed value.

Also, this technique is effective in industries and sectors where previous trends are unlikely to repeat themselves in the future. The most recently observed value may be the most informative in such circumstances.

Business Forecasting Elements

To effectively implement the business forecasting methods above, you’d need an in-depth knowledge of the elements to be aware of.

Develop a System to Analyze the Current Economic Condition:

Before you can commence predictions, you must first develop a system to investigate the current economic situation. This will help to better anticipate sales and general business operations, consider your industry and its current position, as well as its most popular products.

Estimating Future Business Operations:

The next step is to estimate future conditions, such as the route that future events in your industry are likely to take. Again, this is based on data acquired to aid in quantitative estimations for future operations scales.

Forecasting Regulations:

Your forecast must be matched to actual results. This is the only way to find out if something is out of the ordinary. The reasons for the deviations must then be determined so that an equivalent action can be taken to fix them in the future.

Assessing the Forecasting Process:

By examining the differences between forecasts and actual performance data, you may enhance the process by refining and reviewing the data for accuracy.

Read Also: Crisis Communication Planning: Detailed Guide with Examples

Sources of Data for Forecasting

Your forecast is only as good as the information you provide. So, before you start collecting data, ask yourself the following questions:

  • What is the purpose of data collection?
  • What kind of information am I looking for?
  • When should it be collected?
  • Where is the best place to get it?
  • Who will be the one to collect it?
  • What method will be used to collect it?

These are the questions that will help you develop a strategy for gathering data, which is critical for business forecasting. Meanwhile, it is very possible to gather data from a variety of sources once you have your plan in place.

Primary Sources

Primary sources contain firsthand information, which is usually gathered via reporting software. These are the ones that you or the person in charge of this assignment personally collect. If you don’t have access to primary data, you’ll have to go out and collect it yourself using interviews, questionnaires, or observations.

Secondary Sources

Secondary sources contain data that has been published or gathered by others. Official government reports, publications, financial statements from banks or other financial institutions, annual reports from firms, journals, newspapers, magazines, and other periodicals are all examples.

Business Forecasting Only Goes So Far

Everyone would be reaping the benefits of their foresight if business forecasting were a crystal ball. While business forecasting is a useful tool for gaining a better understanding of what the future holds, some argue that it is a waste of time and resources.

True, you can follow the procedures and employ a variety of approaches and still make a mistake. After all, it is the future. In other words, there will never be a method to control all of the variables that can influence future events. Calculation errors and the inherent prejudices of those in charge of the process all contribute to the unpredictability of the outcomes.

But then, these hypotheses are only true to an extent.

Yes, you won’t have a crystal-clear vision of the future if you use business forecasting, but any insight into likely future patterns will provide you and your company an advantage. In the highly competitive world of business, even a modest step can be a huge step ahead.

So in any case, business forecasting is a strong tool for any corporation searching for a competitive advantage since it combines statistical and econometric models with experience, expertise, and objectivity.

Why is Forecasting Important?

Forecasting may appear to be a lot of work for an uncertain, possibly nonexistent payoff. However, there are several compelling reasons to use forecasting in your organization on a regular basis. Some of which include;

  • A better understanding of internal data and business performance
  • Advantage in the marketplace
  • To create efficient budgets
  • To improve Response time to cyclical or seasonal variations
  • The ability to spot bigger patterns and connections
  • To aid in the development of long-term strategy and goal-setting

Forecasting isn’t flawless, but it can help you comprehend your company’s financial situation and be flexible in a changing market. Forecasting, at the very least, encourages you to learn about your own firm and collect your own data, making you a smarter and more informed business leader.

Read Also: Business Valuation: All you need to know [Detailed Guide]

Limitations of Business Forecasting

Businesses need business forecasting because it helps them plan production, funding, and other tactics. Using forecasts, on the other hand, has three drawbacks:

  • The data will always be outdated: We just have historical data to go on, and there is no guarantee that prior conditions will persist in the future.
  • It’s impossible to account for one-of-a-kind or unforeseen events, as well as externalities
  • Forecasts are unable to account for their own impact; Businesses’ activities are influenced by a factor that cannot be included as a variable by having forecasts, whether accurate or inaccurate. This is a knot in the mind. In the worst-case scenario, management becomes enslaved to previous data and trends rather than focusing on the current state of the business.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the Methods of Business Forecasting?

The basic methods of Business Forecasting include Qualitative and Quantitative methods. However, there are other forms of these methods mentioned above.

What are the three types of forecasting?

On the contrary, there are more than three types of forecasting. These include Demand, Sales, Capital, Accounting, Financial and General forecasting. This gives us a total of six types of forecasting instead of three.

Which is the best method of business forecasting?

The best method of business forecasting is purely based on user preference, seeing that most individuals tend to run away from numbers. In cases such as this, the qualitative method will be the best business forecasting option. On the other hand, the quantitative method gives you more to work with when forecasting, using historical data.

What are forecasting methods?

Forecasting methods are techniques that help businesses to navigate through the steps of forecasting with ease.

  1. What is Sales Forecasting? Methods and Real-world Examples
  2. Sales Forecasting Software: 15+ Best 2021 Options(+ Free Tips)
  3. Demand Management: Overview, Comparisons, Pros & Cons

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like
Read More

5 Things You Must Do Before Starting a Business.

Every business is a risky venture, and in any business, you stand 50:50 percent chances of either making profits or incurring great losses. Whether it be an online business or an offline business, every business has its own risk analysis. This is what differentiates smart business owners from other business owners. We have a low risk businesses, high risk businesses, and super high risk businesses (my choice of category). Being able to categorize the risk level will definitely guide you in planning your business.