第 12 章破产:资格及其运作方式(更新!)

12破产
第十二章申请破产的文件

陷入财务困境的家庭农民和渔民可以使用第 12 章 破产 偿还他们的债务。 如果获得批准,它将阻止债权人和收债人在债务人偿还债务时对他们采取法律行动。
由于农业和渔业活动是季节性的,第 12 章破产计划提供了比典型的第 13 章协议更灵活的付款安排。 了解更多关于第 12 章破产、谁有资格以及如何运作的信息。 另外,请了解您是否需要律师来处理您的第 12 章破产案。

在我国历史的大部分时间里,几乎没有专门为保护家庭农民和渔民而设计的破产法。 为应对农业紧缩 信用 以及它给家庭农民和渔民带来的负担,国会于 12 年颁布了第 1986 章破产法。多年来,第 12 章的规定只是暂时的,直到 2005 年才成为永久性的。

什么是分会破产?

第 12 章破产适用于固定年收入者。 这些可能是家庭农民或家庭渔民。 本章允许社会中经济困难的家庭制定和实施可持续 3-5 年或更长时间的计划。

第十二章破产资格

尽管具有重要意义,但他们通常不会使用第 12 章破产保护。 很少有债务人有资格申请第 12 章破产保护。 2011 年,在美国提交的 637 万宗破产案中,只有 1.4 宗属于第 12 章案件。

只有具有“固定年收入”的家庭农民或渔民可以申请第 12 章破产保护。 “常规的 年收入”可以是季节性的,如果它足够稳定和一致以允许债务人根据第 12 章计划进行付款。

个人(已婚或单身)、公司或合伙企业可能是第 12 章的债务人。 个人第 12 章债务人必须遵守以下要求:

  • 参与农业或商业捕鱼
  • 农民的总债务不超过 4,153,150 美元,渔民的总债务不超过 1,924,550 美元(截至 2016 年 XNUMX 月)
  • 他们的总债务的 50% 来自农业经营。 或者,他们对商业捕鱼作业的总债务的 80%(在这两种情况下都不包括房屋抵押贷款),以及
  • 农业或商业捕鱼活动占其毛利润的一半以上。

家庭协会和公司经营的农场和渔业经营面临类似的限制。 农场合伙企业和公司不能申请第 12 章破产保护。 只有当一个家庭持有超过 50% 的股份或股权时,他们才能提交申请。

第 12 章农场破产如何运作?

债务人通过提交自愿救济申请启动第 12 章案件。 自宣布破产以来,大多数第 12 章债务人继续耕种或捕鱼。 指定受托人,但他或她的职责通常仅限于审查记录、监督债务人的活动、通知法院以及接收和支付计划付款。

第 12 章中的债务人必须在申请破产后 90 天内提交还款计划。 在某些情况下,破产法庭可能会延长计划的最后期限。

债权人和受托人

与其他破产程序一样,法院将任命一名 受托人进行交易 与债务人和债权人。 第 12 章受托人将在开始时召开债权人会议。 受托人和债权人可以在会议期间向您询问有关您的申请和财务事宜。 他们将使用这些数据来创建您的付款时间表。

第十二章的还款计划

第 12 章的规划过程与第 13 章接近。 在第 12 章中,债务人向债权人提供了 12 至 XNUMX 年的还款计划。 如果债务人可以提前支付所有到期款项,第 XNUMX 章规定的最短计划期限为三年。 经法院批准,提案期限可延长五年。 如果债务人欠其未提前全额支付的家庭抚养承诺(子女抚养费或赡养费),则计划期限必须为五年。

第 12 章计划的批准

第 12 章申请必须得到破产法院的批准,也称为“确认”。 确认听证会必须在计划提交日期后的 45 天内举行。 第 12 章受托人审查债务人在确认听证会之前提交的拟议计划和其他文件。 受托人还向破产法院提出建议。 虽然由破产法院决定是否确认拟议的第 12 章提案,但大多数法官严重依赖受托人的建议。

第 12 章战略的各个方面

以下是第 12 章还款计划的基本组成部分:

#1。 所需的计划付款

债务人必须在计划期间将其所有“可支配收入”签署给第 12 章受托人。 在第 12 章的情况下,“可支配收入”是债务人从农业或渔业活动中获得的收入与合理需要支付的金额之间的差额:

  • 公司成本,以及
  • 债务人家庭的赡养和帮助费用

受托人保留部分计划付款并将剩余部分分配给债权人。

#2。 抵押贷款和其他形式的保险索赔

第 12 章的好处之一是它帮助债务人“压缩”有担保的债务。 担保债务可能包括农场抵押和船舶贷款。 抵押贷款人s 和其他有担保债权人必须至少支付承诺作为贷款抵押品的金额。 任何超过抵押品价值的余额都可以归类为无担保债务。 此外,在第 12 章的情况下,它通常不会收取任何费用。 有担保的债务支付甚至可以分摊到计划的期限之后。 他们还可以将利率降低到现行市场利率。

#3。 债务减免

第 12 章提案必须符合“债权人的最佳利益”测试。 根据第 12 章协议向债权人收取的费用必须至少与根据第 XNUMX 章协议收取的费用相同。 7破产 清算,根据“最佳利益”测试。 如果满足“最佳利益”测试,无担保债权人将被收取几美分甚至一分钱的费用。

#4。 案件结束

在确认听证会后,该案件将保持开放状态,直到债务人向第 12 章受托人支付所有必要款项。 在债务人支付了所有必要的款项后,法院准许债务人解除债务,他们将结案。 除少数例外情况外,解除债务免除债务人对其第 12 章计划未涵盖的义务的责任。 大部分负债是可以解除的。 然而,即使根据第 12 章,某些义务,例如子女抚养费和赡养费,也不能免除。

如果债务人无法获得计划确认或无法支付所需款项,其第 12 章案件可能会被驳回。 债务人还可以选择驳回第 12 章的案件或将其转换为第 7 章的清算。

第十二章 艰苦出院

即使第 12 章的债务人未能完成计划付款,法院也可以批准“解除困难”。 美国法典 1228 (b)。 解除困难一般仅适用于无法完成计划付款的债务人是由于债务人无法控制的情况造成的,并且并非债务人的过错。 债权人必须至少支付与第 7 章清算情况下相同的金额。 此外,债务人必须无法更改计划。 例如,因受伤或疾病而无法获得足以资助即使是修改后的计划的工作,也可能成为解除困境的理由。 在第 7 章的情况下,解除困难不会扩大到任何不可解除的债务。

您是否需要律师来申请第 12 章破产?

虽然法律不要求您在申请第 12 章时由破产律师代表,但获得经验丰富的法律代表在您身边符合您的最佳利益。

第 12 章是一个复杂的法律领域。 因为它仅供农业和渔业中的家庭使用。 这使得查找您可以依赖的最新信息变得更加困难。 就此而言,即使是许多律师也没有直接处理第 12 章破产案件的经验。

破产法一直在变化,很容易出错。 这些错误可能代价高昂。 经验丰富的律师可以帮助您谨慎而有策略地行事,在最后期限之前完成并遵守法律的各个方面。 这有助于保护您和您家人未来的财务状况。

重要要点

  • 陷入财务困境的家庭农民和渔民将根据第 12 章申请破产,并在三到五年内偿还债务。
  • 由于这些公司的季节性特点,它包含了第 11 章和第 13 章破产的元素,同时允许更灵活的付款时间表。
  • 只要债务人遵守付款时间表,就无需根据第 12 章清算财产。
  • 未经法院批准,债权人和收债人不得对第 12 章债务人采取行动。

申请第 12 章破产的流程是怎样的?

申请第 12 章破产的过程包括准备和提交破产申请及相关文件、参加债权人会议以及参与法院确认的还款计划。

我可以在第 12 章破产中保留我的财产吗?

在大多数情况下,申请第 12 章破产的个人能够保留他们的财产,包括他们的农场或渔业经营,只要他们继续根据确认的还款计划付款。

第 12 章破产需要多长时间?

第 12 章破产通常需要三到五年,在此期间,个人必须根据确认的还款计划的条款定期向债权人付款。

第 12 章破产是否清偿所有债务?

第 12 章破产法并未免除所有债务,但它确实为个人提供了一种重组其财务并随着时间的推移还清债务的机制。

第 12 章破产如何影响我的信用评分?

申请第 12 章破产会对您的信用评分产生负面影响,但它也可以提供一个重新开始并开始重建您的信用的机会。

备注

在北卡罗来纳州和阿拉巴马州,破产管理人执行的职责与美国受托人在其余 XNUMX 个州执行的职责相同。 美国法院行政办公室监督破产管理人计划,而司法部监督美国受托人计划。 出于本出版物的目的,破产管理人也可以参考美国受托人。

第 507 节规定了十种类型的无担保债权,国会出于公共政策目的而授予其优先于其他无担保债权的分配权。

将第 60 章案件转移到第 12 章案件将收取 13 美元的费用。

第 12 章破产常见问题解答

第 11 章和第 12 章破产有什么区别?

然而,第 11 章是 只有重组 章适用于他们,因为第 13 章仅适用于个人债务人,第 12 章仅适用于家庭农民和渔民,并且这两章都有债务限制,这将使许多企业失去资格。

第 7 章和第 12 章有什么区别?

在第 7 章资产案件中,债务人的财产根据破产法的规则进行清算。 ……根据第 12 章, 债务人提出还款计划,在三至五年内向债权人分期付款

第12章是什么意思?

第 12 章是美国的一个破产类别, 特别适用于农场和渔业. 它允许农场和渔业的所有者重组他们的财务和债务,同时仍然保持其资产的所有权。

第 12 章破产的要求是什么?

要符合第 12 章破产的资格,个人请愿人必须满足四个部分的资格测试:(1)他们从事农业经营; (2) 其债务不超过10万美元; (3) 不少于百分之五十的债务来自诬陷; (4) 并且超过百分之五十的收入来自

总结

尽管最好保留债务和一切可能对您的信用评分产生负面影响的事情,但如果这是您唯一的选择,您可以申请第 12 章破产保护。 特别是当你不想失去你的家或生意时。 这是因为它旨在帮助债务人。

  1. 拥有融资中的债务人:如何运作,DIP 第 11 章
  2. 5个快速坏账回收策略
  3. 债务保理:任何业务指南(+ 实际示例)
  4. 短期债务:定义、示例和债务融资

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

Chapter 12 Bankruptcy: Eligibility and how it works (Updated!)

Chapter 12 bankruptcy
Documents for filing bankruptcy Chapter 12

Family farmers and fishermen in financial distress can use Chapter 12 bankruptcy to repay their debts. If approved, it prevents creditors and collectors from taking legal action against the debtor while they repay their debts.
Since farming and fishing activities are seasonal, the Chapter 12 bankruptcy plan provides more flexible payment arrangements than a typical Chapter 13 agreement. Find out more about Chapter 12 bankruptcy, who qualifies, and how it works. Also, know if you’ll need an attorney for your Chapter 12 bankruptcy case.

For much of our country’s history, there were few bankruptcy laws designed specifically to protect family farmers and fishermen. In response to the tightening of agricultural credit and the burden it put on family farmers and fishermen, Congress enacted Chapter 12 bankruptcy in 1986. For many years, the provisions of Chapter 12 were only temporary, and they did not become permanent until 2005.

What Is Chapter Bankruptcy?

Chapter 12 bankruptcy is for regular annual income earners. These may be family farmers or family fishermen. This chapter allows financially challenged families in society to develop and carry out a plan that can last between 3-5 years or more.

Chapter 12 Bankruptcy Eligibility

Despite its essential meaning, they don’t usually make use of Chapter 12 bankruptcy. Few debtors are eligible to file for Chapter 12 bankruptcy. In 2011, only 637 of the 1.4 million bankruptcies filed in the United States were Chapter 12 cases.

Only a family farmer or fisherman with “regular annual income” may file for Chapter 12 bankruptcy protection. “Regular annual income” can be seasonal if it is stable and consistent enough to allow the debtor to make payments under a Chapter 12 plan.

Individuals (married or single), corporations, or partnerships maybe Chapter 12 debtors. Individual Chapter 12 debtors must comply with the following requirements:

  • be taking part in agriculture or commercial fishing
  • have total debts of no more than $4,153,150 for farmers and $1,924,550 for fishermen (as of April 2016)
  • owe 50% of their total debts to farming operations. Or, 80% of their total debts to commercial fishing operations (excluding home mortgages in both cases), and
  • Farming or commercial fishing activities account for more than half of their gross profits.

Farms and fishing operations operated by family associations and companies face similar constraints. Farm partnerships and corporations cannot file for Chapter 12 bankruptcy. They can file only if a single-family holds more than 50% of their shares or equity interests.

How Does Chapter 12 Farm Bankruptcy Work?

The debtor initiates a Chapter 12 case by filing a voluntary petition for relief. Since declaring bankruptcy, the majority of Chapter 12 debtors continue to farm or fish. A trustee is named, but his or her responsibilities are usually limited to reviewing records, overseeing the debtor’s activities, informing the court, and receiving and disbursing plan payments.

Debtors in Chapter 12 must present a repayment plan within 90 days of filing bankruptcy. In some cases, the bankruptcy court could extend the planned deadline.

Creditors and the Trustee

The court, as in other bankruptcy proceedings, would appoint a trustee to deal with the debtor and creditors. A Chapter 12 trustee will convene a meeting of creditors at the outset. The trustee and creditors can query you about your petition and financial affairs during the meeting. They’ll use this data to create your payment schedule.

The Repayment Plan under Chapter 12

Chapter 12’s planning process is close to Chapter 13’s. In Chapter 12, debtors offer a three- to a five-year repayment plan to creditors. If the debtor can pay all sums due earlier, the minimum plan duration under Chapter 12 is three years. With court approval, the proposal duration may have an extension of five years. If the debtor owes domestic support commitments (child support or alimony) that he or she does not pay in full earlier, the plan term must be five years.

Approval of the Chapter 12 Plan

Chapter 12 applications must be approved by the bankruptcy court, also known as “confirmation”. The confirmation hearing must take place within 45 days of the plan’s filing date. The Chapter 12 trustee reviews the proposed plan and other documents submitted by the debtor prior to the confirmation hearing. The trustee also issues recommendations to the bankruptcy court. While it is up to the bankruptcy court to decide whether to confirm a proposed Chapter 12 proposal, most judges depend heavily on the trustee’s recommendations.

Aspects of a Chapter 12 Strategy

The following are the fundamental components of a Chapter 12 repayment plan:

#1. Required plan payments

The debtor must sign over all of his or her “disposable income” to the Chapter 12 trustee during the plan era. In a Chapter 12 situation, “disposable income” is the difference between the revenue obtained by the debtor’s farming or fishing activities and the amount reasonably required to cover:

  • company costs, and
  • Expenses incurred in the debtor’s family’s upkeep and help

The trustee keeps a portion of the plan payments and distributes the remainder to creditors.

#2. Mortgages and other forms of insured claims

One of Chapter 12’s benefits is that it helps debtors to “cram down” secured debt. The secured debts may include farm mortgages and boat loans. Mortgage lenders and other secured creditors must be charged at least the sum promised as collateral for the loan. Any balance owed in excess of the value of the collateral can be classified as unsecured debt. Also, it is often charged little to nothing in Chapter 12 situations. Secured debt payments can be spread out even past the plan’s duration. They can also lower the interest to a prevailing market rate.

#3. Debt forgiveness

Chapter 12 proposals must meet the “best interests of creditors” test. Creditors must be charged at least as much under a Chapter 12 agreement as they would under a Chapter 7 bankruptcy liquidation, according to the “best interests” test. Unsecured creditors will be charged pennies on the dollar or even none at all if the “best interests” test is met.

#4. End of the case

The case stays open after the confirmation hearing until the debtor makes all necessary payments to the Chapter 12 trustee. After the debtor has made all necessary payments, the court grants the debtor a discharge and they’ll close the case. With a few exceptions, a discharge discharges a debtor’s liability for obligations not covered by its Chapter 12 plan. The majority of liabilities are dischargeable. Some obligations, such as child support and alimony, are, however, nondischargeable even under Chapter 12.

If the debtor is unable to obtain plan confirmation or make required payments, his or her Chapter 12 case may be dismissed. A debtor may also choose to dismiss or convert a Chapter 12 case to a Chapter 7 liquidation.

Chapter 12 Hardship Discharge

Even if a chapter 12 debtor has failed to complete plan payments, the court can grant a “hardship discharge”. United States Code 1228 (b). A hardship discharge is generally applicable only to a debtor whose inability to complete plan payments is the result of circumstances beyond the debtor’s control and by no fault of the debtor. Creditors must have paid at least the same amount as they would have in a chapter 7 liquidation situation. Also, the debtor must be unable to change the plan. Injury or illness, for example, that precludes employment sufficient to fund even a modified plan can be grounds for a hardship discharge. The hardship discharge would not extend to any nondischargeable debts in a chapter 7 situation.

Do you need an Attorney to file for Chapter 12 Bankruptcy?

While the law does not require you to be represented by a bankruptcy attorney when filing for Chapter 12, it is nevertheless in your best interest to get experienced legal representation on your side.

Chapter 12 is a sophisticated, complex area of law. Because it is available exclusively to families within the farming and fishing industries. This makes it harder to find up-to-date information you can rely on. For that matter, even many attorneys do not have experience working directly with Chapter 12 bankruptcy cases.

Bankruptcy law changes all the time, and it’s easy to make mistakes. Those errors can prove costly. A well-seasoned attorney can help you act prudently and strategically, meeting deadlines and complying with every aspect of the law. This helps to protect your and your family’s finances for the future.

Important Takeaways

  • Family farmers and fishermen in financial distress will file for Chapter 12 bankruptcy and have their debts discharged over a three to five-year period.
  • Due to the seasonal nature of these companies, it incorporates elements of Chapter 11 and Chapter 13 bankruptcy while allowing for a more flexible payment schedule.
  • Debtors are not required to liquidate properties under Chapter 12 as long as they adhere to the payment schedule.
  • Creditors and collectors can not take action against Chapter 12 debtors without the court’s approval.

Remarks

In North Carolina and Alabama, bankruptcy managers execute duties identical to those performed by US trustees in the remaining forty-eight states. The Administrative Office of the United States Courts oversees the bankruptcy administrator program, while the Department of Justice oversees the U.S. trustee program. References to U.S. trustees are also available to bankruptcy administrators for the purposes of this publication.

Section 507 specifies ten types of unsecured claims to which Congress has granted priority distribution for public policy purposes over other unsecured claims.

A fee of $60 is levied for transferring a chapter 12 case to a chapter 13 case.

Chapter 12 Bankruptcy FAQs

What is the difference between Chapter 11 and Chapter 12 bankruptcy?

However, Chapter 11 is the only reorganization chapter available to them, since Chapter 13 is only available to individual debtors and Chapter 12 is only available to family farmers and fishermen, and both of these chapters have debt restrictions that would eliminate many businesses from eligibility.

What is the difference between Chapter 7 and Chapter 12?

In chapter 7 asset cases, the debtor’s estate is liquidated under the rules of the bankruptcy code. … Under chapter 12, debtors propose a repayment plan to make installments to creditors over three to five years

What is the meaning of Chapter 12?

Chapter 12 is a category of bankruptcy in the United States that applies specifically to farms and fisheries. It allows proprietors of farms and fisheries to reorganize their finances and debts while still maintaining ownership of their assets.

What are the requirements for Chapter 12 bankruptcy?

To qualify for Chapter 12 bankruptcy, individual petitioners must satisfy a four-part eligibility test: (1) they are engaged in a farming operation; (2) their debts do not exceed $10 million; (3) no less than fifty percent of their debts arise from framing; (4) and more than fifty percent of their income comes from

Conclusion

As much as it is advisable to stay stay of debt and everything that can negatively affect your credit score, you can file for chapter 12 bankruptcy if it is the only option you have left. Especially when you don’t want to lose your home or business. This is because it has been designed to help debtors.

  1. Debtor In Possession Financing: How It Works, DIP chapter 11
  2. 5 quick bad debt recovery strategies
  3. Debt Factoring: Guide for any Business(+ Practical Examples)
  4. SHORT TERM DEBT: Definition, Examples, and Debt financing

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like
Constructive discharge
Read More

CONSTRUCTIVE DISCHARGE: What It Is 

Table of Contents Hide What is a Constructive Discharge?Understanding Constructive DischargeConstructive Discharge EEOCUnderstanding Constructive Discharge EEOCExamples of Constructive…