什么是追溯工资:澄清和如何计算

什么是追溯工资
图片来源:商报日报

追溯工资的概念适用于公司支付给员工的工资低于上一个工资期间商定的工资的情况,在这种情况下会进行必要的调整。 当雇主错误计算工资或未能说明加薪时,员工会收到追溯工资。 在失业的情况下,追溯工资是政府从失业人员获得资格时向他们提供的福利。 因此,追溯工资是在前一个合格期间提供给个人的福利。 我们将在本章中详细讨论这一点。

什么是追溯工资?

追溯工资是提供给员工薪水的报酬,以弥补前一个工资期间的短缺。 这与拖欠工资不同,后者是一种补偿员工根本没有收到工资的工资期的报酬。 计算补发工资并尽快分配对于在遵守劳动规则的同时保持员工满意至关重要。

哪些是需要追溯工资的工资错误示例?

大多数薪酬短缺发生在下一次工资核算运行中未确认薪酬变更时。 这里有几个这样的例子:

  • 加班:加班时间不乘以 1.5
  • 轮班差异:未能为员工定期轮班之外的工作时间支付更高的费用。
  • 佣金:根据所使用的会计技术,延迟付款的客户可能会导致资金被扣留以支付佣金。
  • 加薪后未能修改员工的工资率

法院可以命令追溯付款吗?

在某些情况下,雇员可以起诉雇主要求补发工资。 这些是一些例子:

  • 当一组员工因其种族、性别、年龄或受保护状态而获得比另一组更高的报酬时,就会发生歧视。
  • 当雇主因举报或成为骚扰受害者而解雇雇员时,就会发生报复。
  • 当雇主未能按照商定的费率向雇员或承包商付款时,就会发生违约。
  • 当雇主未能解释加班时,就会发生加班违规(一种常见的违规行为)。
  • 当雇主支付给雇员的工资低于联邦规定的最低工资时,就会发生违反最低工资的情况,无论是在账面上还是在桌子底下。

追溯失业金

追溯性失业意味着什么?

在美国,州政府提供 失业救济金 通过社会保险制度。 失业救济金旨在取代符合条件的个人失业时的部分工资。 符合条件的个人从政府领取失业救济金的过去失业时期称为追溯性失业。

追溯性失业的发生有多种原因。 第一个原因是失业人员提出的申请需要很长时间才能处理。 第二个原因是政府需要很长时间才能向符合条件的人宣布或支付失业救济金。

追溯认证是什么意思?

证明个人仍然失业且有资格领取失业救济金的做法称为追溯证明。 每两周,通过 UI Online、EDD Tele-Cert 和其他受信任的服务重新颁发追溯认证。 要获得追溯证书,收件人必须回答几个简单的问题或填写追溯证书网页上的表格。

是否有可能从政府获得失业追溯工资?

在美国,失业保险金具有追溯力。 例如,27 年 2020 月 600 日,联邦政府宣布了联邦流行病失业补偿 (FPUC),由于当前的 COVID-19 大流行,这将为每个合格的失业个人提供每周 600 美元的福利。 根据康涅狄格州劳工部的说法,通过 FPUC 提供的 2 美元补助金补充了失业者之前通过失业保险或其他合格方式获得的补助。 这项 26 万亿美元的 FPUC 刺激计划将于 2020 年 29 月 2020 日到期。FPUC 福利的支付追溯至 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日之后的第一周,即符合条件的个人申请福利。

由于 8 月的第一周失业人数居高不下,联邦政府启动了失薪援助计划 (LWAP),该计划将于 2020 年 300 月 300 日取代 FPUC。LWAP 是一项社会保险计划,奖励 1 美元根据就业保障部的说法,每个符合条件的个人。 LWAP 具有追溯性,因此从 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日结束的那一周起,所有符合条件的申请人都收到了额外的 XNUMX 美元。领取 FPUC 福利的个人无需回答资格问题,因为他们自动符合 LWAP 资格。

失业延期的追溯工资

失业延期支付不是令人担忧的理由,因为美国的所有失业保险计划都是追溯性的。 失业人员应每两周更新一次追溯证明,并根据当前计划申请工资,其中包括标准失业保险计划和 LWAP 等紧急计划。 由于申请量大或其他因素,政府的福利支付可能会延迟。 但是,符合条件的个人将在计划开始日期开始领取失业救济金,只要他们能够证明他们在此期间失业。

追溯薪酬调整

如前所述,追溯性薪酬,有时也称为追溯性薪酬,是一种补偿。 通常情况下,员工有权对在前一个支付期(例如上个月)开始的工作追加支付工资。 它基本上确定了员工薪酬历史中的差距。

追溯薪酬调整被确定为员工应该收到的和他们实际收到的之间的差额。 在某些情况下会形成差距,例如误算员工的薪酬,需要追溯调整薪酬。

哪些工资单错误需要追溯调整工资?

薪酬不足是最常见的错误,需要追溯调整薪酬。 如果工资单期间未记录更改,则会出现差距。

公司进行追溯性薪酬调整的最典型原因是:

#1。 加班收入

如果加班(应按 1.5 小时支付)被误判,雇主必须补足差额。 不幸的是,这是一个典型的(尽管是无意的)问题,加班时间超过了员工的正常工作时间。

加班可能是零星的,这就是为什么有时会被忽视。

#2。 逾期付款

如果员工没有完全报销,则在轮班模式变化期间错过的任何工资都可能导致短缺。 当轮班模式变得不规则时,例如加班费、奖金或损失或加班时间,通常会出现必须追溯的工资短缺。

#3。 奖金

如果加薪或奖金未纳入工资核算期,则雇主将追溯欠款。

#4。 佣金

在发薪期间未计算的应付佣金必须在下一个期间计算。

#5。 不当解雇

如果判决支持“不当解雇”,员工不仅有权获得其先前的职位,而且有权获得在整个审议过程中损失的任何收入。

#6。 多份工作的一种薪酬解决方案

如果您同时雇用某人从事两份工作,而每份工作的薪酬期望不同,则可能会出现误判。 为避免需要重新更改工资,您的工资单必须动态处理两种费率以得出单一工资。

追溯工资如何计算,如何支付?

要计算总追溯工资,请从员工应得的工资(包括任何补充工资)中减去员工在工资核算期间的工资。

记住要考虑:

  • 任何类型的补偿,无论是按小时还是按薪(每年)
  • 加班是一种选择吗? 员工是否可以免除此类补偿?

最后,请记住,受影响的工资核算期数将改变欠员工的应付数量。 所有受影响的时期都需要补发工资。

当手动计算追溯工资时,它包含在下一次工资核算中(称为杂项收入),但不必作为对特定工资单的更改提交。

根据员工是按小时计薪还是领薪水,计算返还工资的方法有很大不同。 在任何情况下,上述考虑因素都会影响您付款的时间和方式。 如果您在员工的下一次正常工资中支付追溯工资,则该金额应报告为杂项收入。

如何制定每小时员工的 RetroPay

确定您以错误费率支付的小时数来计算每小时员工的追溯工资。 从正确率中减去错误率。 将此差异乘以非法支付的小时数。 结果数字代表员工的追溯 工资总额。 付款时,请确保预扣税款和其他扣除额。

如何确定受薪员工 RetroPay

将员工的工资除以每年的支付期数,以确定受薪员工的追溯工资。 例如,一名收入为 60,000 美元且每两周领取一次薪酬的员工每年支付 26 次。 他们的总工资计算如下:

$ 60,000÷26 = $ 2,307.69

然后考虑支付了多少员工。 例如,假设员工的 60,000 美元薪酬反映了最近的加薪。 但是,在上一个支付期间,您使用员工的旧 $58,000 工资计算了两周的补偿。 这相当于每两周支付期的总薪酬为 2,230.76 美元(58,000 美元除以 26)。 您欠员工 76.93 美元的总复古工资(2,307.69 美元减去 2,230.76 美元)。

预扣税和追溯支付

在计算追溯工资时,雇主仍必须确保已缴纳税款。

在完成补发工资之前,雇主必须预扣以下税款:

  • 联邦所得税
  • 该州的所得税
  • 地方所得税
  • 医疗保险和社会保障税 (FICA)

Retro pay通常被认为是一种补充工资,是一种额外(或补充)的报酬。 补充工资可能是指在员工的正常收入之外支付的任何额外款项,例如佣金、奖金或加班费。

然而, 预扣税 关于追溯工资不是常识,可能需要咨询当地的州法律。

工资核算期错误可能会对您的业务造成严重破坏。 工资和税收不是在美国可以解释的东西。 它受到严格的法律和法规的约束。

追溯工资是否会被征税更多?

根据联邦税法,追溯工资的工资应与员工的正常工资缴纳相同的税率

补发工资和追溯工资有什么区别?

许多企业主认为补发工资和补发工资是同义词。 但是,追溯和拖欠工资不是一回事。 尽管它们都需要支付员工过去的收入,但它们却大不相同。

那么,什么时候需要给员工补发工资或补发工资呢? 您如何计算追溯和拖欠工资? 让我们看看区别:

欠薪

欠薪是当您未能支付员工工资时欠员工的补偿。 当您补偿员工本来应该收到的收入时,就会发生这种情况。

您可以出于以下原因偿还员工欠薪:

  • 欠薪(例如奖金)
  • 随着时间的推移没有收到钱。
  • 佣金
  • 错过的时间

如果您忘记支付员工的加班费、准确的工时数、奖金或佣金,您可以向他们支付欠薪。

如果您需要向员工支付报酬,您可以按照以下方式进行:

  • 为未支付的工资制作单独的工资单。
  • 将拖欠工资计入您的下一份定期薪水。

追溯支付

追溯补偿弥补了员工本应获得的收入与员工获得的工资之间的差距。

追溯工资可用于纠正员工的工资率或早期工资的报酬。

在向员工支付追溯补偿时,您可以考虑在员工下一次薪水时将追溯支付添加到员工的正常工资中。 或者,您可以通过单独的薪水将复古工资作为单独的付款发送。

公司需要多长时间向您支付复古工资?

您的公司最多有两年时间向您支付补发工资。

员工可以拒绝补发工资吗?

如果员工选择这样做,他们有权拒绝追溯工资。 但是,员工在做出决定之前了解拒绝支付工资的影响以及他们可能拥有的任何合法权利或义务非常重要。

雇主可以拒绝向雇员补发工资吗?

如果雇员无权获得追溯工资,雇主可以拒绝向该雇员支付追溯工资。 例如,如果员工不再受雇于公司,或者如果他们已经获得有关工作的报酬。 但是,雇主在法律上有义务向雇员支付他们有权获得的所有工资和福利,并且在没有正当理由的情况下拒绝补发工资可能会导致法律后果。

追溯工资可以包含在员工的正常工资中吗?

追溯工资可以包含在员工的正常工资中,但通常作为单独的一次性付款支付。 雇员和雇主就如何支付追溯性工资以及是否将其包含在正常工资中达成一致非常重要。

追溯薪酬如何影响员工在公司的资历或任期?

追溯薪酬通常不会影响员工在公司的资历或任期,因为它是对过去已经完成的工作的补偿。 但是,员工和雇主确认是否有任何特定的公司政策或协议与此有关很重要。

追溯工资能否用于履行员工的合同义务?

如果合同明确规定在某些情况下将提供追溯工资,则追溯工资可用于履行员工的合同义务。 雇员和雇主审查合同并确认追溯工资条款很重要。

追溯工资可以用来解决纠纷或诉讼吗?

如果双方都同意将其作为和解协议的条件,追溯款项可用于解决分歧或采取法律行动。 这可以作为上法庭解决涉及未支付或少付工资或福利的冲突的替代方法。

结论,

如果您是会计师或人力资源经理,本指南中的信息将对您最有益。 您将能够及时发现和纠正工资单错误,这将大大有助于防止雇主和雇员之间可能出现的任何误解。 

常见问题解答

什么是追溯利益?

追溯福利是您在申请社会保障残疾之前因残疾而欠您的金额。

复古工资是否包括加班费?

如果雇员按正常雇员工资率获得加班费,他有权获得补发工资。

领取追溯伤残津贴需要多长时间?

大多数客户必须等待 1-2 个月才能收到追溯的伤残津贴。

  1. 如果我被解雇,我会失业吗:解释!
  2. 季节性失业:详细概述和欧洲实践
  3. 小型企业薪资:英国最佳薪资软件服务
  4. 如何在没有工作的情况下获得贷款:没有工作的人的替代方案

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

WHAT IS RETROACTIVE PAY: Clarification and How to Calculate

what is retroactive pay
Image source: Business News Daily

The notion of retroactive pay applies when a firm pays an employee less than the agreed-upon salary in a previous pay period, in which case the necessary adjustment is made. When an employer miscalculates a salary or fails to account for a raise, an employee receives retroactive pay. In the context of unemployment, retroactive pay is the benefit that the government provides to an unemployed person from the time they become eligible. So, retroactive pay is a benefit provided to an individual for a previous qualifying period. We’ll discuss this in detail in this chapter.

What Is Retroactive Pay?

Retroactive pay is remuneration provided to an employee’s paycheck to make up for a shortfall in a previous pay period. This is different from back pay, which is a remuneration that makes up for a pay period in which an employee received no pay at all. Calculating retro pay and distributing it as soon as feasible is critical to keeping employees satisfied while staying on the right side of labor rules.

What Are Some Examples of Payroll Errors That Require Retroactive Pay?

Most compensation shortages occur when compensation changes are not recognized in the next payroll run. Here are a couple of such examples:

  • Overtime: not multiplying overtime hours by 1.5
  • Shift differentials: the failure to pay a higher rate for hours performed outside of an employee’s regularly scheduled shift.
  • Commissions: Depending on the accounting technique used, a late-paying client may cause funds to be held back for commission payments.
  • Failure to modify an employee’s pay rate following a pay boost

Can a Court Order Retroactive Payment?

There are some circumstances in which an employee can sue their employer for retroactive pay. These are some examples:

  • Discrimination occurs when one set of employees gets paid more than another because of their race, gender, age, or other protected status.
  • Retaliation occurs when an employer terminates an employee as a result of whistleblowing or being the victim of harassment.
  • Breach of contract occurs when an employer fails to pay an employee or contractor at the agreed-upon rate.
  • Overtime infractions occur when an employer fails to account for overtime (a common violation).
  • Minimum wage violations occur when an employer pays employees less than the federally mandated minimum wage, whether on the books or under the table.

Retroactive Pay For Unemployment

What Does Retroactive Unemployment Mean?

In the United States, state governments provide unemployment benefits through social insurance systems. Unemployment benefits are intended to replace a portion of an eligible individual’s salary when they become unemployed. A past unemployed period during which an eligible individual receives unemployment benefits from the government is referred to as retroactive unemployment.

Retroactive unemployment occurs for a variety of causes. The first reason is when an application made by an unemployed person takes a long time to process. The second reason is when the government takes too long to announce or pay unemployment benefits to eligible persons.

What Does Retroactive Certification Mean?

The practice of certifying that an individual is still unemployed and eligible for unemployment benefits is known as retroactive certification. Every two weeks, retroactive certifications are reissued through UI Online, EDD Tele-Cert, and other trusted services. To obtain the retroactive certificate, the recipient must answer a few simple questions or complete the form on the retroactive certificate webpage.

Is It Possible To Recieve Unemployment Retroactive Pay From The Government?

In the United States, unemployment insurance pay is retroactive. For example, on March 27, 2020, the Federal Government announced Federal Epidemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC), which will offer a weekly benefit of $600 to each qualified unemployed individual owing to the current COVID-19 pandemic. According to the Connecticut Department of Labor, the $600 grant through FPUC supplements what unemployed persons were previously getting through Unemployment Insurance or other qualified means. This $2 trillion FPUC stimulus program was set to expire on July 26, 2020. FPUC benefits were paid retrospectively to the first week after March 29, 2020, that an eligible individual filed for benefits.

Because the number of unemployed persons remained high during the first week of August, the federal government launched the Lost Wages Assistance Program (LWAP), which will replace FPUC on August 8, 2020. LWAP is a social insurance scheme that gives a $300 reward to every eligible individual, according to the Employment Security Department. LWAP is retroactive, thus all eligible applicants received the additional $300 from the week ending August 1. Individuals receiving FPUC benefits did not need to answer eligibility questions because they were automatically qualified for LWAP.

Retroactive Pay with Unemployment Extension

The unemployment extension pay is not a reason for concern because all unemployment insurance schemes in the United States are retroactive. Unemployed individuals should renew their retroactive certification every two weeks and apply for their pay under current programs, which include standard unemployment insurance programs and emergency programs such as LWAP. The government’s benefit payment may be delayed due to a high volume of applications or other factors. However, qualified individuals would get unemployment benefits beginning on the program’s start date as long as they can demonstrate that they had been unemployed during the duration.

Retroactive Pay Adjustment

As earlier discussed, retroactive pay, sometimes known as retro pay, is a sort of compensation. Typically, an employee is entitled to retro pay for work begun during a previous pay period, such as the preceding month. It basically identifies a gap in an employee’s pay history.

Retroactive pay adjustment is determined as the difference between what an employee should have received and what they actually received. A gap is formed in certain instances, such as miscalculating an employee’s compensation, and a retroactive pay adjustment is required.

Which Payroll Errors Need a Retroactive Pay Adjustment?

A compensation shortfall is the most common mistake that necessitates a retroactive pay adjustment. The gap will occur if a change is not documented in a payroll period.

The most typical reasons for a company to make a retroactive pay adjustment are:

#1. Earnings from overtime

If overtime (which should be paid at a rate of 1.5 hours) is misjudged, the employer must make up the difference in a payment shortfall. Unfortunately, this is a typical, albeit inadvertent, issue where overtime accumulates beyond an employee’s usual working hours.

Overtime can be sporadic, which is why it is sometimes overlooked.

#2. Late payment

Any pay missed during shift pattern changes if an employee isn’t completely reimbursed can result in a shortfall. When shift patterns become irregular, such as overtime pay, bonuses, or lost or extra hours, there is typically a pay shortfall that must be owed retrospectively.

#3. Bonuses

If a wage raise or bonus is not incorporated into a payroll period, the employer will owe it retroactively.

#4. Commissions

Payable commissions that are not calculated during the payroll period must be calculated during the subsequent one.

#5. Wrongful dismissal

In the event that a judgment favors ‘wrongful termination,’ an employee will be entitled not only to their prior position but also to any earnings lost throughout the deliberation process.

#6. One pay solution for several jobs

Miscalculations may occur if you hire someone for two jobs at the same time, each with a different compensation expectation. To avoid the requirement for retro pay changes, your payroll must dynamically process both rates to arrive at a single wage.

How Is Retroactive Pay Calculated, And How Is It Paid?

To calculate gross retro pay, subtract what an employee was paid during a payroll period from what they were owed (including any supplemental pay).

Remember to account for:

  • Any type of compensation, whether hourly or salaried (per annum)
  • Is overtime an option? Is an employee exempt from this type of compensation?

Finally, keep in mind that the number of affected payroll periods will alter the payable quantity owed to an employee. Retro pay will be required for all affected periods.

When retro pay is manually calculated, it is included in the next payroll run (noted as miscellaneous income’) but does not have to be submitted as a change to a particular paycheck.

Calculating retro pay differs widely depending on whether the employee is hourly or salaried. In any case, the considerations stated above will influence when and how you pay. If you pay retro wages in the employee’s next normal paycheck, the amount should be reported as miscellaneous income.

How to Work Out Hourly Employee RetroPay

Determine how many hours you paid at the erroneous rate to compute an hourly employee’s retro pay. Subtract the wrong rate from the correct rate. Multiply this difference by the number of hours that were unlawfully paid. The resulting figure represents the employee’s retroactive gross wages. When you pay it out, make sure to withhold taxes and other deductions.

How to Determine Salary Employee RetroPay

Divide the employee’s salary by the number of pay periods per year to determine retro pay for a salaried employee. For example, an employee earning $60,000 and receiving biweekly compensation is paid 26 times each year. Their gross wage is computed as follows:

$60,000 ÷ 26 = $2,307.69

Then consider how much the employee was paid. As an example, let us say that the employee’s $60,000 compensation reflects a recent raise. However, in the previous pay period, you calculated two weeks of compensation using the employee’s old $58,000 salary. That equates to $2,230.76 in gross compensation per biweekly pay period ($58,000 divided by 26). You owe the employee $76.93 in gross retro pay ($2,307.69 minus $2,230.76).

Tax Withholding and Retroactive Pay

When calculating retro pay, an employer must still ensure that taxes are paid.

Before completing retro pay, an employer must withhold the following taxes:

  • Federal income taxation
  • Income taxation in the state
  • Local income taxation
  • Medicare and Social Security taxes (FICA)

Retro pay is usually considered a supplemental wage, which is an additional (or supplemental) remuneration. Supplemental pay may refer to any additional payments that are paid in addition to an employee’s regular income, such as a commission, bonuses, or overtime.

However, tax withholding on retroactive salary is not common knowledge and may necessitate consulting with local state laws.

Payroll period errors can wreak havoc on your business. Payroll and taxes are not something that can be construed in the United States. It is governed by strict laws and regulations.

Does Retroactive Pay Get Taxed More?

Wages from retroactive pay are subject to the same tax rates as the employee’s regular wages, in line with the Federal Tax laws

What Is The Difference Between Back Pay and Retroactive Pay?

Many business owners believe that back pay and retro pay are synonymous. However, retroactive and back pay are not the same thing. They are substantially different, despite the fact that they both require paying an employee past earnings.

So, when is it necessary to give employees back pay or retro pay? How do you compute retroactive and back pay? Let’s see the difference:

Back Pay

Back pay is the compensation owed to an employee when you fail to pay their wages. It occurs when you compensate an employee for earnings that they should have received in the first place.

You could reimburse an employee back pay for the following reasons:

  • Wages owed (e.g., bonus)
  • Over time money was not received.
  • Commissions
  • Missed hours

If you forget to pay an employee for overtime, the exact number of hours, or a bonus or commission, you can pay them back pay.

If you need to pay an employee back, you can do so as follows:

  • Make a separate payroll for the unpaid salaries.
  • Incorporate back pay wages into your next regular paycheck.

Retroactive payment

Retroactive compensation makes up the gap between the earnings an employee should have received and the wages an employee received.

Retro pay can be used to rectify an employee’s rate of pay or remuneration for earlier wages.

When it comes to paying employees retroactive compensation, you can consider adding retro payments to an employee’s regular salary on their next paycheck. Alternatively, you can send retro pay as a separate payment on a separate paycheck.

How Long Does A Company Have To Pay You Retro Pay?

Your company has up to two years to pay you retro pay.

In Conclusion,

If you’re an accountant or a human resources manager, the information in this guide will be most beneficial to you. You’ll be able to identify and rectify payroll errors on time, which will go a long way to preventing any misunderstanding that may arise between the employer and the employees. 

Frequently Asked Questions

What are retroactive benefits?

Retroactive benefits are the amount of money owed to you for the time you were disabled before applying for Social Security Disability.

Does retro pay include overtime?

An employee is entitled to retro pay if he was paid for overtime hours at the regular employee rate.

How long does it take to recieve retroactive disability pay?

Most customers have to wait 1-2 months before receiving their retroactive disability pay.

  1. IF I GET FIRED CAN I GET UNEMPLOYMENT: Explained!
  2. SEASONAL UNEMPLOYMENT: Detailed Overview & Europe Practices
  3. Small Business Payroll: Best Payroll Software UK Service
  4. HOW TO GET A LOAN WITHOUT A JOB: Alternatives for People Without Jobs

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like