CCC:简化现金转换周期!!! [+实例]

CCC
现金分析

什么是CCC?

现金转换周期 (CCC) - 通常称为现金周期 - 是一种营运资金指标,用于衡量公司将现金转换为库存,然后通过销售流程变回现金所需的时间。 CCC越低,公司现金被锁定的时间就越少 应收账款和存货.

基本上,CCC 是购买和管理库存的公司的关键指标。 这是因为它表明了运营和财务效率。 但是,不应孤立地看待它,而应与其他财务指标结合起来 比如股本回报率。 还值得注意的是,CCC 并不是所有企业的主要考虑因素,因为并非每家公司都会有实物库存。

了解现金转换周期 (CCC)

CCC 由多个活动比率组成,包括应收账款、 应付款项,以及库存周转率。 AP是负债,而AR和库存是短期资产。 资产负债表包含所有这些比率。 实际上,这些比率显示了管理层从短期资产和负债中产生现金的能力。 投资者可以使用这些信息来评估公司的整体健康状况。

但是,您可能会问,“这些比率对业务有何影响?”

如果一家公司出售客户想要购买的东西,现金流就会快速流过公司。 如果管理层未能实现潜在销售,CCC 就会放慢速度。 例如,如果存货过多,现金就会被锁在无法出售的东西上,这对企业不利。 为了迅速转移库存,管理层必须降低价格,可能会在销售商品时出现亏损。

资料来源:CFI

如果 AR 管理不善,组织可能难以从客户那里收取款项。 而且由于 AR 本质上是给消费者的贷款,如果他们不按时付款,公司就会赔钱。 公司等待付款的时间越长,可用于进一步投资的资金就越少。 另一方面,减缓对供应商的应付账款支付对公司有利,因为它允许有额外的时间来更好地利用这笔钱。

现金转换周期的要素

计算 CCC 一开始可能会让人望而生畏,但一旦你掌握了所涉及的元素,它就会变得容易得多。

要进行计算,您需要查阅财务报表, 比如资产负债表收入证明. 同时,现金周转周期的三大要素包括未清存货天数、未清销售天数和未清应付应付天数。

未清库存天数

未清库存天数是等式 (DIO) 的第一部分。 这是库存转化为最终产品并出售的平均时间。

DIO =(平均库存÷销售成本)x 365

但是,该期间的平均库存(价值)将是期初存货价值和期末存货价值的加法; 然后将总和除以 2

数学上;

(期初库存 + 期末库存)÷ 2

销售产品的成本计算如下:

期末库存=期初库存+采购。

销售天数突出

未结销售天数 (DSO) 是您收回应收账款(欠您的款项)所需的平均天数。

DSO =(净信贷销售额 + 应收账款)x 365

您的期初和期末应收账款的平均值是您本节的应收账款。

(期初应收账款+期末应收账款)÷2

应付天数

应付账款天数 (DPO) 是公司从应付账款(您的公司欠款)的供应商处购买商品和服务并付款所需的平均时间。

DPO = 期末应付账款 ÷(已售商品成本 ÷ 365)

在本节中,应付账款为:

(期初应付+期末应付)÷2。

什么构成了令人满意的现金转换周期?

较短的现金转换期是理想的。

如果您的 CCC 较低或(更好)为负数,您的营运资金不会长期锁定,并且您的公司有更多的流动性。 许多在线企业的 CCC 较低或为负,因为它们直接发货而不是保留库存。 当客户购买商品时,他们会立即收到付款,并且在客户已经付款之前不必支付库存费用。

另一方面,如果 CCC 是正数,您不希望它太高。 正 CCC 表示贵公司的营运资金在等待应收账款支付时搁浅了多少天。 如果您赊销商品,而您的客户需要 30、60 甚至 90 天的时间向您付款,那么您的 CCC 可能很高。

另请参阅: 短期债务:定义、示例和债务融资

但是,您可以通过多种方式缩短公司的现金转换周期。

对于初学者来说,这是通过使您的应收账款程序尽可能高效。 从您的账单中删除任何不必要的行话,并明确说明您的账单内容和您要求的条款。

在大多数情况下,如果买家能快速理解发票,您会更快收到付款。 您还可以通过要求预付款或提前付款提供折扣来减少 CCC。 最后,通过在付款到期后立即跟进来掌握逾期付款是一个好主意。

现金流起什么作用?

现金转换周期是一个现金流公式,它决定了贵公司将库存和其他资产转换为现金所需的时间。 换句话说,现金到现金的周期时间是您支付库存费用和客户支付费用以补充公司现金流之间的时间间隔。 在具有高库存和材料需求的行业(例如建筑)中保持现金流为正,可能是接受新客户和拒绝新客户之间的区别。

转换周期计算确定公司的现金在从客户和客户那里收回之前持有多长时间。 密切关注公司的 CCC 可能有助于您在资金进出时跟踪其总财务状况。 如果您对现金流和利润之间的差异感到困惑,请记住它们不是一回事。 虽然利润是在固定时间点支付公司费用后剩余的金额,但现金流是灵活的。 它显示了有多少资金进出公司。

现金转换周期和运营周期有什么区别?

显然,现金转换周期和运营周期之间存在很大差异。

简而言之,运营周期是从您购买商品到客户付款之间的天数。 现金转换周期是您支付库存并收到客户付款所需的天数。

为什么现金转换周期如此重要?

跟踪现金转换周期至关重要的原因有多种。

首先,投资者、贷方和其他资金来源经常检查公司的现金转换周期,以衡量其财务状况,特别是其流动性。 一家公司的流动性决定了它偿还公司贷款、履行其他财务义务和投资增长的难易程度。 此外,现金转换周期对于评估像商店这样的基于库存的企业特别有用。 然而,这并不是贷方使用的唯一财务标准; 在决定是否发放贷款之前,他们经常将其与其他因素混合在一起。

供应商在考虑是否向您的企业授予信用时可能会考虑您的 CCC。 他们经常担心如果您的公司缺乏适当的流动性,您可能无法按时付款。

另请参阅: 债务权益比率:解释!!!,公式,计算,示例

另一方面,您也应该关注现金转换周期。

就像我们之前提到的; 较低的 CCC 表明您在将库存转化为现金方面做得很好,并且您的公司运行良好。 但是,如果您的 CCC 太高,则可能表明存在运营问题、对您的商品缺乏需求或市场利基缩小。 因此,如果您的 CCC 不符合您的喜好,请确定问题所在并采取措施进行修复,例如增加发票收集工作。

最后,在确定您需要借多少钱时,您的现金转换周期是需要考虑的关键因素。 了解您的 CCC 以及因此贵公司的流动性,可以帮助您确定可以从贷方请求多少现金。

CCC的公式

由于 CCC 包括计算上述现金转换生命周期三个阶段所涉及的净总时间,因此 CCC 的数学公式为:

CCC=+迪拜硅绿洲(DSO) - DPO

其中:=库存未清天数(也称为库存销售天数)

迪拜硅绿洲(DSO)=未完成的销售天数

DPO=应付账款天数

DIO 和 DSO 代表现金流入,而 DPO 代表现金流出。

因此,DPO 是等式中唯一的负数。 另一种看待公式的方式是,DIO 和 DSO 与库存和应收账款相关联,它们都被视为短期资产并被假定为正数。 DPO 与应付账款相关联,应付账款是负债,因此是负数。

CCC计算

一个企业的现金转换周期分为三个部分。 计算 CCC 需要财务账户中的几个项目:

  • 显示收入和销货成本 (COGS) 的损益表。
  • 时间段开始和结束时的库存记录。
  • 期间开始和结束时的应收账款 (AR)
  • 期间开始和结束时的应付账款
  • 期间的天数(例如,一年是 365 天,一个季度是 90 天)。

第一阶段

第一阶段是处理当前的库存水平,并显示公司出售其库存所需的时间。

该值来自未清库存天数 (DIO)。 同时,较低的 DIO 数字是可取的,因为这意味着公司正在快速进行销售,这意味着更高的营业额。

销货成本 (COGS) 表示在一段时间内获得或制造公司销售的产品的成本,对于计算 DIO 或 DSI 至关重要。

DSI= 平均存货/ 齿轮 ×365天

其中: 平均库存=21 ×(BI+EI)

BI=期初库存

EI=期末库存

第二阶段

第二阶段侧重于当前的销售,并显示收集销售收益需要多长时间。

未结销售天数 (DSO) 是一种衡量标准,将平均应收账款除以每天的收入以得出该值。 价值较低的 DSO 表明公司能够及时收集资金,从而改善其现金状况。

迪拜硅绿洲(DSO)= 每日收入 / 平均应收账款

其中: 平均应收账款=21 ×(BAR+EAR)

BAR=开始 AR

EAR=结束 AR

第三阶段

第三步关注公司当前的逾期应付账款。 它表明公司欠其当前供应商的库存和采购物品的金额,以及必须履行这些承诺的时间范围。

考虑应付账款的未偿应付天数 (DPO) 有助于确定此数字。 优选具有更大的DPO值。 通过增加这一数额,公司可以将其资本保留更长时间,从而使其能够进行更多投资。

DPO= 齿轮 每天/平均应付账款

其中: 平均应付账款=21×(BAP+EAP)

BAP=开始 AP

EAP=结束 AP

COGS=已售商品成本

上述所有数据均可在上市公司的财务报表中获取。 它们作为其年度和季度报告的一部分提交。 一年对应期间的天数为365天,一个季度为90天。

您可以从现金转换周期中学到什么?

公司增加利润的主要策略是增加库存销售。 但是如何增加销售额呢? 如果现金可以定期获得,人们可以通过大量销售来获取利润,因为更多的产品要创造和销售是因为资金的频繁可用。 库存可以赊购,产生应付账款(AP)。

企业还可以赊销商品,从而产生应收账款 (AR)。 因此,在公司支付账单并收回应收账款之前,现金不是对价。 这意味着现金管理严重依赖时间。

换句话说,用于企业活动的现金的生命周期由 CCC 跟踪。 它跟踪现金从手头现金到库存和应付账款,然后到产品或服务开发费用、销售和应收账款,最后回到手头现金。

另请参阅: 检查格式:示例、正确格式、路由号码和所有您需要的
CCC 衡量公司将投资现金从开始(投资)转换为结束(退出)(回报)的速度。 同样,CCC 应尽可能低。

业务的三个关键要素是库存管理、销售实现和应付账款。 如果其中任何一项出现,企业将遭受损失——例如,库存管理不善、销售限制或应付账款的数量、价值或频率增加。 除了货币价值外,CCC 还考虑了在各种程序中花费的时间,从而为公司的运营效率提供了不同的视角。

一般来说,除了其他财务指标外,CCC 值还揭示了公司管理层使用短期资产和负债来产生和重新部署现金的情况。 它提供了对公司在现金管理方面财务状况的洞察。 该图表还有助于确定与公司运营相关的流动性风险。

例如:

让我们使用一个假设的例子来解决这个问题。 以下信息来自虚构零售商 X 公司的财务账目。 所有数字均以百万美元表示。

名称财年2021财年2022
收入9,000不需要
齿轮3,000不需要
库存1,0002,000
A / R10090
应付帐款800900
平均库存(1,000 + 2,000) / 2 = 1,500
平均 AR(100 + 90) / 2 = 95
平均AP(800 + 900) / 2 = 850

现在使用上面的公式计算 CCC:

DIO = 1,500 美元/(3,000 美元/ 365 天)= 182.5 天

DSO = 95 美元/(9,000 美元/365 天)= 3.9 天

DPO = 850 美元/(3,000 美元/365 天)= 103.4 天

因此,CCC = 182.5 + 3.9 – 103.4 = 83 天

下一个是什么?

正如你现在所知道的,CCC 本身并不重要。 相反,它应该用于跟踪公司在一段时间内的表现并将其与竞争对手进行比较。

在多年测量时,CCC 可以反映改善或恶化的值。

例如,如果 X 公司在 90 财年的 CCC 为 2023 天,则该公司在 2023 财年末和 2024 财年末之间有所改善

虽然这两年之间的差异是积极的,但 DIO、DSO 或 DPO 的显着变化可能需要更多的研究,例如回顾过去。 因此,为了更好地了解事物的变化情况,请查看 CCC 多年来的变化。

在同一时期,应为公司的竞争对手确定 CCC。

例如,X 公司的竞争对手 Y 公司 2023 财年的 CCC 为 100.9 天 (190 + 5 – 94.1)。

另请参阅: 应付账款与应收账款详细比较

X 公司在运输货物(较低 DIO)、收取欠款(较低 DSO)以及更长时间保留自己的资金(较高 DPO)方面优于 Y 公司。 但是,请记住,CCC 不应是用于评估公司或管理层的唯一统计数据; ROE 和 ROA 也是衡量管理有效性的有用工具。

假设 X 公司有一个在线零售竞争公司 Z。这会使事情变得更有趣。 Z公司同期CCC为-31.2天,为负数。

这意味着 Z 公司在为其销售的商品付款之前,不会向其供应商支付其购买的商品的费用。 因此,Z 公司不需要保留尽可能多的库存,并且可以将资金保留更长时间。 就 CCC 而言,在线零售商通常具有优势,这也是为什么不应将 CCC 与其他指标分开使用的另一个原因。

现金转换周期特定注意事项 (CCC)

CCC 是可用于评估管理的各种工具之一,尤其是在对多个时代和竞争对手进行衡量时。 CCC 下降或恒定是一个好兆头,而上升的 CCC 需要更多调查。

CCC 在用于向客户出售库存的零售企业时最有效。 同时,咨询公司、软件公司和保险公司都是该统计无用的企业示例。

负现金转换周期 (CCC)

归根结底,积极的现金转换周期,即使与可比组织相比较低,仍然是资本的“使用”。 某些公司可能有负 CCC,这表明净影响是现金“来源”。 这是一种罕见的情况。 在向供应商付款之前频繁周转库存并获得已售产品的现金付款将导致 CCC 为负。

亚马逊是最常提到的负 CCC 公司的例子之一。 由于时间滞后,亚马逊能够通过负 CCC 有效地为其运营融资,这使其能够利用与供应商的有吸引力的延迟付款条款; 但是,与典型的债务融资不同,这没有利息。

这种可自由获取的资本有助于支持 亚马逊 尽管它是一家不成功的公司,亏损严重,但在将公司发展成今天的样子方面发挥了重要作用。 即使与以效率着称的沃尔玛等其他市场领导者相比,亚马逊的 CCC 也大大降低,低于零。

什么是 CCC?

现金转换周期 (CCC) - 通常称为现金周期 - 是一种营运资金指标,用于衡量公司将现金转换为库存,然后通过销售流程变回现金所需的时间。

负面 CCC 的例子有哪些

亚马逊是最常提到的负 CCC 公司的例子之一。 由于时间滞后,亚马逊能够通过负 CCC 有效地为其运营融资,这使其能够利用与供应商的有吸引力的延迟付款条款; 但是,与典型的债务融资不同,这没有利息。

现金转换周期如何影响盈利能力?

较低的或(更好的)负 CCC 描述了一个良好的转换周期。 在这种情况下,您的营运资金不会被长期锁定,您的公司有更多的流动性。 许多在线企业的 CCC 较低或为负,因为它们直接发货而不是保留库存。

现金转换周期的三个组成部分是什么?

现金转换周期有 3 个组成部分:

  • 库存周转天数 (DIO)。
  • 销售天数 (DSO)
  • .应付账款周转天数 (DPO)。

CCC 如何影响盈利能力?

作为衡量公司流动性的指标,现金转换周期 (CCC) 是资本在业务流程中占用的天数。 较短的现金转换周期而不是较长的现金转换周期被视为有利于企业的盈利能力。

  1. 销售卓越的日子 - 你需要知道的一切
  2. 内容营销:最佳简易指南(+免费课程)
  3. 应收账款:示例、流程、公式和免费提示
  4. 未清支票:概述(+如何避免未清支票)
发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

你也许也喜欢

CCC: Cash Conversion Cycle Simplified!!! [+Practical Examples]

CCC
CashAnalytics

What is CCC?

The cash conversion cycle (CCC) – often known as the cash cycle – is a working capital indicator that measures how long it takes for a company to convert cash into inventory and then back into cash through the sales process. The lower the CCC, the less time a company’s cash is locked up in accounts receivable and inventories.

Basically, the CCC is a crucial indicator for companies that buy and manage inventory. This is because it indicates both operational and financial efficiency. It should, however, not be seen in isolation, but rather in conjunction with other financial indicators such as return on equity. It’s also worth noting that CCC isn’t a major consideration for all businesses, as not every company will have physical inventory.

Understanding the Cash Conversion Cycle (CCC)

The CCC is made up of multiple activity ratios that include accounts receivable, payable, and inventory turnover. AP is a liability, while AR and inventory are short-term assets. The balance sheet contains all of these ratios. In reality, the ratios show how well management is generating cash from short-term assets and liabilities. An investor can use this information to assess the company’s overall health.

But then, you may ask, “What are the business implications of these ratios?”

Cash flows fast through a firm if it sells what customers desire to buy. The CCC slows down if management fails to realize potential sales. For example, if too much inventory accumulates, cash is locked up in things that cannot be sold, which is bad for business. To move inventory rapidly, management must lower prices, perhaps losing money on the sale of its items.

Source: CFI

If AR isn’t well-managed, the organization may have trouble collecting payments from customers. And because AR is essentially a loan to the consumer, the company loses money when they don’t pay on time. The longer a corporation has to wait for payment, the less money is available for further investments. Slowing down AP payment to suppliers, on the other hand, benefits the company because of the extra time it allows to put the money to better use.

The Cash Conversion Cycle’s Elements

Calculating the CCC may be daunting at first, but once you grasp the elements involved, it becomes much easier.

To make the calculations, you’ll need to consult your financial statements, such as the balance sheet and income statement. Meanwhile, the three major elements of the cash conversion cycle include, Days Inventory Outstanding, Days Sales Outstanding, and Days Payable Outstanding.

Days Inventory Outstanding

Days Inventory Outstanding is the first part of the equation (DIO). This is the average time for inventory to be converted into final products and sold.

DIO = (Average Inventory ÷ Cost of Goods Sold) x 365

But then the average inventory (in value) for the period will be an addition of the beginning inventory value and ending inventory value; then dividing the sum by 2

Mathematically;

(Beginning Inventory + Ending Inventory) ÷ 2

The cost of products sold is calculated as follows:

Ending Inventory = Beginning Inventory + Purchases.

Days Sales Outstanding

Days Sales Outstanding (DSO) is the average number of days it takes for you to retrieve your accounts receivable (money owing to you).

DSO = (Net Credit Sales + Accounts Receivable) x 365

The average of your beginning and ending receivables is your accounts receivable for this section.

(Beginning Receivables + Ending Receivables) ÷ 2

Days Payable Outstanding

Days Payable Outstanding (DPO) is the average time it takes a firm to purchase goods and services from its suppliers on accounts payable (your company owes money) and pay for them.

DPO = Ending Accounts Payable ÷ (Cost of Goods Sold ÷ 365)

In this section, the accounts payable are:

(Beginning Payable + Ending Payable) ÷ 2.

What Constitutes a Satisfactory Cash Conversion Cycle?

A short cash conversion period is ideal.

If your CCC is low or (better still) negative, your working capital is not locked up for long periods of time, and your company has more liquidity. Many online businesses have low or negative CCCs because they drop-ship instead of retaining inventory. They receive immediate payment when customers buy things, and do not have to pay for inventory until customers have already paid them.

On the other hand, you don’t want your CCC to be too high if it’s a positive number. A positive CCC indicates how many days your company’s working capital is stranded as it waits for accounts receivable to be paid. If you sell things on credit and your customers need 30, 60, or even 90 days to pay you, you may have a high CCC.

Read Also: SHORT TERM DEBT: Definition, Examples, and Debt financing

However, you can shorten your company’s cash conversion cycle in a number of ways.

This is by making your accounts receivable procedure as efficient as possible, for starters. Remove any needless jargon from your bills and be explicit about what you’re billing for and the terms you’re requesting.

For the most part, you’ll receive payments faster if the buyer understands the invoice quickly. You can also reduce the CCC by requesting advance payments or offering a discount for paying early. Finally, staying on top of late payments by following up as soon as a payment is due is a good idea.

What Role Does Cash Flow Play?

The cash conversion cycle is a cash flow formula that determines how long it takes for your company to convert inventories and other assets into cash. To put it another way, the cash-to-cash cycle time is the interval between when you pay for inventory and when customers pay to replenish your company’s cash flow. Keeping cash flow positive in industries with high inventory and material demands, such as construction, can be the difference between taking on new clients and turning them away.

The conversion cycle calculation determines how long a company’s cash is held until it is recovered from clients and customers. Keeping a careful eye on the company’s CCC might help you keep track of its total finances as money comes in and goes out. If you’re confused about the differences between cash flow and profit, keep in mind that they’re not the same thing. While profit is the amount of money left over after a company’s expenses are paid at a fixed point in time, cash flow is flexible. It shows how much money is coming in and going out of a company.

What’s the Difference Between a Cash Conversion Cycle and an Operating Cycle?

Obviously, there’s a big difference between a cash conversion cycle and an operating cycle.

Simply put, an operating cycle is the number of days between when you buy goods and when clients pay for them. The cash conversion cycle is the number of days it takes for you to pay for inventory and receive payment from your clients.

Why is the Cash Conversion Cycle so important?

There are various reasons why keeping track of your cash conversion cycle is critical.

For starters, investors, lenders, and other sources of capital frequently examine a company’s cash conversion cycle to gauge its financial health and, in particular, its liquidity. A company’s liquidity determines how readily it can repay a corporate loan, satisfy other financial obligations, and invest in growth. Furthermore, the cash conversion cycle is particularly useful for evaluating inventory-based enterprises like shops. However, it is not the only financial criterion used by lenders; they often mix it with other factors before determining whether or not to give out the loan.

Suppliers may consider your CCC while considering whether or not to grant credit to your business. They are often concerned that you may not be able to pay them on time if your company lacks appropriate liquidity.

Read Also: Debt To Equity Ratio: Explained!!!, Formula, Calculations, Examples

On the other hand, you should be concerned about the cash conversion cycle as well.

Like we earlier mentioned; a low CCC suggests that you’re doing a good job of converting inventory to cash and that your firm is running well. If your CCC is too high, however, it could indicate operational concerns, a lack of demand for your goods, or a shrinking market niche. So if your CCC isn’t to your liking, determine what’s wrong and take steps to fix it, such as increasing your invoice collection efforts.

Finally, when determining how much money you need to borrow, your cash conversion cycle is a crucial factor to consider. Understanding your CCC and, as a result, your company’s liquidity, can assist you in determining how much cash you can request from a lender.

The Formula for CCC

Since CCC includes calculating the net aggregate time involved over the three stages of the cash conversion lifecycle mentioned above, the mathematical formula for CCC is:

CCC=DIO+DSODPO

where: DIO=Days of inventory outstanding(also known as days sales of inventory)

DSO=Days sales outstanding

DPO=Days payables outstanding

DIO and DSO represent ​cash inflows, whereas DPO represents cash outflows.

As a result, DPO is the sole negative number in the equation. Another way to look at the formula is that DIO and DSO are tied to inventory and accounts receivable, which are both considered short-term assets and are assumed to be positive. DPO is associated with accounts payable, which is a liability and consequently a negative number.

CCC Calculation

The cash conversion cycle of a business is divided into three parts. Several items from the financial accounts are required to compute CCC:

  • The income statement showing revenue and cost of goods sold (COGS).
  • The record of inventory at the start and end of the time period.
  • Accounts receivable (AR) at the start and end of the time period
  • Accounts payable at the start and end of the time period
  • The number of days in the period (for example, a year is 365 days and a quarter is 90 days).

First Stage

The first stage is deals with the current inventory level and shows the time it will take for the company to sell its stock.

This value is comes from the Days Inventory Outstanding figure (DIO). Meanwhile, a lower DIO number is desirable because it implies that the company is making sales quickly, signifying a higher business turnover.

The cost of goods sold (COGS), which indicates the cost of obtaining or manufacturing the products that a company sells during a period, is is vital to calculating the DIO or DSI.

DSI= Avg. Inventory/ COGS ​×365 Days

where: Avg. Inventory=21​×(BI+EI)

BI=Beginning inventory

EI=Ending inventory​

Second Stage

The second stage focuses on current sales and shows how long it takes to collect the sales proceeds.

Days Sales Outstanding (DSO) is a metric that divides average accounts receivable by revenue each day to arrive at this value. DSO with a lower value shows that the company is able to collect funds in a timely manner, so improving its cash position.

DSO= Revenue Per Day / Avg. Accounts Receivable

where: Avg. Accounts Receivable=21​×(BAR+EAR)

BAR=Beginning AR

EAR=Ending AR​

​Third Stage

The third step focuses on the company’s current overdue payables. It indicates the amount of money a company owes its current suppliers for inventory and items purchased, as well as the time frame in which those commitments must be met.

Days Payables Outstanding (DPO), which considers accounts payable, is helps to determine this number. It is preferable to have a greater DPO value. By increasing this amount, the corporation may keep its capital for longer, allowing it to invest more.

DPO= COGS Per Day / Avg. Accounts Payable​

where: Avg. Accounts Payable=21×(BAP+EAP)

BAP=Beginning AP

EAP=Ending AP

COGS=Cost of Goods Sold​

​All of the data above are accessible in a publicly-traded company’s financial statements. They are filed as part of its annual and quarterly reporting. For a year, the number of days in the corresponding period is 365, and for a quarter, it is 90.

What You Can Learn From the Cash Conversion Cycle?

The primary strategy for a company to increase profits is to increase inventory sales. But how can one increase sales? If cash is readily available at regular intervals, one can churn out more sales for profit, as more products to create and sell result from the frequent availability of money. Inventory can be purchased on credit, resulting in accounts payable (AP).

A business can also sell things on credit, resulting in receivables (AR). As a result, cash isn’t a consideration until the company pays its bills and collects its receivables. This means that cash management relies heavily on timing.

In other words, the lifespan of cash utilized for corporate activities is tracked by CCC. It tracks cash as it moves from cash in hand to inventory and accounts payable, then to product or service development expenses, sales and accounts receivable, and finally back to cash in hand.

Read Also: CHECK FORMAT: EXAMPLES, PROPER FORMAT, ROUTING NUMBERS & ALL YOU NEED
CCC is a measure of how quickly a corporation can convert invested cash from start (investment) to finish (exit) (returns). Again, the CCC should be as low as possible.

The three key ingredients of business are inventory management, sales realization, and payables. The business will suffer if any of these go out the window—for example, inventory mismanagement, sales restrictions, or payables increasing in number, value, or frequency. CCC accounts for the time spent in various procedures in addition to the monetary value, providing a different perspective on the company’s operational efficiency.

In general, the CCC value, in addition to other financial measurements, reveals how well a company’s management is using short-term assets and liabilities to generate and redeploy cash. It provides insight into the company’s financial health in terms of cash management. The graph also aids in determining the liquidity risk associated with a company’s operations.

Example

Let’s work through this using a hypothetical example. The information below comes from the financial accounts of Company X, a fictional retailer. All figures are expressed in millions of dollars.

ItemFiscal Year 2021Fiscal Year 2022
Revenue9,000Not needed
COGS3,000Not needed
Inventory1,0002,000
A/R10090
A/P800900
Average Inventory(1,000 + 2,000) / 2 = 1,500
Average AR(100 + 90) / 2 = 95
Average AP(800 + 900) / 2 = 850

The CCC is now calculated using the formulas above:

DIO = US$1,500 / ($3,000/ 365 days) = 182.5 days

DSO = US$95 / ($9,000 / 365 days) = 3.9 days

DPO = US$850 / ($3,000/ 365 days) = 103.4 days

Therefore, CCC = 182.5 + 3.9 – 103.4 = 83 days

So, What’s Next?

As you know by now, CCC isn’t really significant on its own. It should instead be used to track a company’s performance over time and to compare it to its competitors.

When measured over multiple years, the CCC can reflect an improving or deteriorating value.

For example, if Company X’s CCC was 90 days in fiscal year 2021, the company has improved between the end of fiscal year 2021 and the end of fiscal year 2022.

While the difference between these two years is positive, a considerable change in DIO, DSO, or DPO may warrant more study, such as a look back in time. So To get the best picture of how things are changing, look at CCC changes over multiple years.

For the same time periods, CCC should be determined for the company’s competitors.

For example, Company X’s competitor, Company Y’s CCC for fiscal year 2022 was 100.9 days (190 + 5 – 94.1).

Read Also: Accounts Payable vs Accounts Receivable Detailed Comparison

Company X outperforms Company Y in terms of moving goods (lower DIO), collecting what it owes (lower DSO), and keeping its own money for longer (higher DPO). However, keep in mind that CCC should not be the only statistic used to assess the company or management; ROE and ROA are also useful tools for measuring management effectiveness.

Assume that Company X has an online retailing competition, Company Z. This will make things more interesting. Company Z’s CCC over the same time period is -31.2 days, which is negative.

This means that Company Z does not pay its suppliers for the commodities it purchases until it is paid for the goods it sells. As a result, Company Z doesn’t need to keep as much inventory and can keep its money for longer. In terms of CCC, online retailers typically have an edge, which is another reason why CCC should never be utilized in isolation from other metrics.

Cash Conversion Cycle Specific Considerations (CCC)

The CCC is one of various tools that can be used to assess management, especially if it is measured over multiple eras and competitors. CCCs that are decreasing or constant are a good sign, whereas rising CCCs demand a little more investigation.

CCC is most effective when used by retail businesses with inventories that are sold to customers. Meanwhile, consulting firms, software firms, and insurance firms are all examples of enterprises for which this statistic is useless.

Negative Cash Conversion Cycle (CCC)

At the end of the day, a positive cash conversion cycle, even if low in comparison to comparable organizations, is still a “use” of capital. Certain companies might have negative CCCs, which indicates the net impact is a cash “source.” This is a rare occurrence. Turning over inventory frequently and getting cash payments for products sold before paying suppliers would result in a negative CCC.

Amazon is one of the most frequently mentioned examples of a company with a negative CCC. Due to the time lag, Amazon was able to effectively finance its operations by having a negative CCC, which allowed it to take advantage of attractive delayed payment terms with suppliers; but, unlike typical debt financing, this came with no interest.

This freely accessible capital helped support Amazon’s growth plans and had a significant part in developing the company into what it is today, despite the fact that it was an unsuccessful corporation with steep losses. Amazon had a substantially lower CCC that went below zero, even when compared to other market leaders such as Walmart, which are known for their efficiency.

CCC FAQ’s

What is CCC?

The cash conversion cycle (CCC) – often known as the cash cycle – is a working capital indicator that measures how long it takes for a company to convert cash into inventory and then back into cash through the sales process.

What are examples of Negative CCC

Amazon is one of the most frequently mentioned examples of a company with a negative CCC. Due to the time lag, Amazon was able to effectively finance its operations by having a negative CCC, which allowed it to take advantage of attractive delayed payment terms with suppliers; but, unlike typical debt financing, this came with no interest.

What is considered a good cash conversion cycle?

A low or (better still) negative CCC depicts a good conversion cycle. In this case, your working capital is not locked up for long periods of time, and your company has more liquidity. Many online businesses have low or negative CCCs because they drop-ship instead of retaining inventory.

  1. DAYS OF SALES OUTSTANDING- Everything You Need To Know
  2. Content marketing: Best Easy Guide (+ free course)
  3. Accounts Receivable: Examples, Process, Formula & Free Tips
  4. OUTSTANDING CHECKS: Overview(+How to Avoid Outstanding Checks)
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like