Table of Contents Hide
- Minimum Wage Definition
- What’s the Minimum Wage in Florida 2023?
- What are the Types of Minimum Wages in Florida?
- Florida Labor Laws
- Florida Minimum Wage Posters
- Florida Overtime Minimum Wage
- Are there plans to increase Florida Minimum Wage?
- Florida Minimum Wage Exemptions
- Is $ 15 per hour the Minimum Wage in the State of Florida?
- Working on Commission in Florida
- What is the Minimum Wage for those Under the age of 18 in Florida?
- What Steps Can you take to Ensure that your Business Complies with the Labor Regulations of the State?
- Related Articles
On September 30, 2022, the minimum wage in Florida (now $8.56) will raise to $10.00. After then, the minimum wage will rise by $1.00 every year until it hits $15.00 per hour in 2026.
Employers in the public and private sectors, regardless of size or number of employees, are subject to the minimum wage rate.
This increase was the outcome of Amendment 2, a constitutional amendment passed by over 60% of Florida voters on November 3, 2020.
Because Amendment 2 did not affect the allowable tip credit, Florida employers may continue to take a tip credit of up to $3.02 per hour for properly categorized tipped employees who fulfill the eligibility conditions under the Fair Labor Standards Act.
In this article, you will learn about the fl state minimum wage.
Minimum Wage Definition
A minimum wage is the lowest wage that businesses are legally allowed to pay their workers. It is also the lowest price that workers can sell their work for. By the end of the twentieth century, most countries had enacted minimum wage legislation.
Because minimum wages raise labor costs, many businesses try to avoid them by hiring gig workers, moving employees to areas with lower or no minimum pay, or automating job tasks.
Minimum wages became popular as a strategy to assist low-income households over time. In the 1890s, New Zealand and Australia approved the first national laws requiring compulsory union membership and setting minimum salaries for its members.
Although minimum wage regulations are already in place in many jurisdictions, there remain differences of opinion about the benefits and drawbacks of such legislation.
Minimum wage may result in job losses, according to supply and demand models. On the other hand, minimum wages can make the labor market work better in cases of monopsony, which is when one business sets the wages for the whole market.
Supporters argue that the minimum wage raises employees’ living standards, decreases poverty, reduces inequality, and enhances morale.
What’s the Minimum Wage in Florida 2023?
The current minimum wage in Florida is $11.00 per hour. It’s higher than the $7.25 minimum wage required by law in the United States. That’s why you should be paid at least the greater state minimum wage. Tipped workers, some student workers, and those in certain exempt professions are among the few exclusions to Florida’s minimum wage law.
According to the FLSA, most businesses must pay non-exempt employees the prevailing federal minimum wage for hours worked, as well as overtime compensation (typically one and a half times the employee’s regular hourly rate) for time, worked in excess of 40 hours per week.
Professionals (doctors, lawyers, accountants, and so on), executives (including supervisors and managers whose primary responsibilities include supervising two or more employees and who have authority or input into personnel decisions affecting employees), and administrators (those whose responsibilities require the use of independent.
There may be further exemptions that apply to specific vocations and sectors.
The state sets the minimum wage, which may be greater than the federal minimum wage. As a result, employers should make sure they’re paying the current state minimum wage. If you live in Florida and looking to start up something on your own, you can apply for SMALL BUSINESS GRANTS in the country.
What are the Types of Minimum Wages in Florida?
In Florida, the normal minimum wage does not apply to workers who are under the age of 20, get gratuities or are students. These categories of workers are excluded from the pay requirement.
- Minimum Wage for Workers Under 20
Workers who are younger than 20 years old may be eligible for a training salary of $4.25 per hour. This provision is in place until the employee has completed 90 days of work for the company, at which point their hourly rate will be increased to the normal minimum wage of $11 per hour.
- Minimum Wage for Student
Part-time workers who are high school or college students receive 85 percent of the normal minimum wage, which is equivalent to $9.35 per hour as of September 2022. Student employees who put in up to 20 hours of labor per week are eligible for the reduced rate of pay.
- Minimum Wage for Tipped Workers
Tipped workers are permitted to receive a minimum wage of $7.98 per hour from their employers; nevertheless, the employee is expected to record their gratuities at the end of each evening. If the employee’s total hourly earnings (including tips and the hourly basic rate) do not come up to at least $11 per hour, the employer is required to make up the difference.
Florida Labor Laws
The first labor law in Florida was passed in 1893, and it is still in effect today, over 125 years later. This rule protects workers from being blacklisted, which means they won’t be hired by anybody else.
In general, the state’s legislative history has been light on legislation, preferring to let federal standards as the dominating rule rather than restricting employment law further than federal law.
Public opinion movements, on the other hand, have prompted a flurry of calls for greater state legislation.
Following a succession of court rulings prohibiting cities from setting local minimum salaries higher than the current state minimum wage, renewed interest in statewide minimum wage increases has emerged.
Florida Minimum Wage Posters
To ensure that all employees are aware of federal and Florida labor law and overtime regulations, the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Florida labor law require all employers in Florida to post an approved Florida minimum wage poster, as well as other Florida and federal labor law posters, in a visible location.
Florida Posting Requirements
- Minimum Wage
- Fair Employment
- Unemployment Compensation
- Workers’ Compensation
- Child Labor
Florida Overtime Minimum Wage
For all qualifying overtime hours worked, the FLSA ensures that all FL employees receive adequate overtime pay. If your employer does not pay adequate overtime wages, you may file an unpaid overtime claim with the Florida Department of Labor.
Are there plans to increase Florida Minimum Wage?
Every year, the minimum wage in Florida will rise until it reaches $15.00 per hour in 2026.
Florida Minimum Wage Exemptions
Despite the fact that Florida’s minimum pay is higher than the federal minimum wage, the state’s wage laws clearly defer to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act’s exempt and non-exempt employee categories (FLSA).
Because of this dependence on federal law, FLSA exemptions apply without any additional limitations imposed by the state.
Administrative personnel, for example, must be paid at least $455 per week under FLSA exemption standards.
Exempt vs. Non-Exempt Employees-Minimum Wage in Florida
It’s critical for each employee to grasp the distinction between exempt and non-exempt status. That implies the difference between getting overtime pay and not obtaining overtime pay, among other things.
An exempt employee is someone who works in a professional, executive, administrative, or highly skilled position. Some salespeople who work outside the main office on a regular basis, computer specialists, and some transportation workers may also be excluded.
Even though most exempt employees aren’t eligible for overtime pay, they aren’t allowed to work so many hours that their total pay drops below the minimum wage.
For a Florida minimum-wage worker, this translates to $11.00 per hour in overtime pay. Non-exempt employees include manual laborers, practical nurses, paralegals, and emergency responders like firefighters, police, and paramedics.
People also search for; CALIFORNIA MINIMUM WAGE
Is $ 15 per hour the Minimum Wage in the State of Florida?
The minimum wage in Florida is not $15 per hour, and it will not increase to that amount until the end of September 2023. Until then, the minimum pay will remain at $11 per hour.
Working on Commission in Florida
Waiters, waitresses, and some sales and retail employees are exempt from the minimum-wage law because they work for tips or commissions. That is, they get paid a base rate of $4.91 per hour, plus gratuities or commissions, which are considered wages.
What is the Minimum Wage for those Under the age of 18 in Florida?
Employers in the state of Florida are permitted to pay employees under the age of 18 and those younger than 18 the youth minimum wage of $4.25 during the first ninety days of employment. There may be further exemptions from Florida’s labor law available to children.
What Steps Can you take to Ensure that your Business Complies with the Labor Regulations of the State?
An all-in-one payroll and team management solution can also help ensure that you’re not overscheduling employees, that you’re paying for overtime when it’s necessary, and that they’re always paid on time. This is the easiest way to ensure compliance with the law in Florida, which is why paying every employee the full Florida minimum wage should be your top priority.
Minimum wage policies shouldn’t be thought of or put into place in a vacuum. Instead, they should be used to support and improve other social and employment policies. Pro-employment policies, social transfers, and providing an enabling environment for sustainable firms are all examples of measures that can be utilized to address income and labor market disparity.