从人寿保险单中借款:它是如何运作的

从人寿保险借款

以永久人寿保险单的现金价值借款很简单。 没有贷款标准或条件(现金价值除外),资金可用于您选择的任何目的并随时偿还,而且人寿保险单贷款提供相对便宜的利率。 劣势? 如果您未能支付贷款利息,您可能会失去您的保单(及其现金价值)并面临巨额税单。 如果您能跟上付款,那么借用您的人寿保险单是获得现金的简单方法。

您可以从人寿保险单中借款吗?

通常可以获得针对永久人寿保险计划的贷款,但不能针对定期人寿保险单提供贷款。 现金价值账户被用作人寿保险贷款的抵押品。 由于定期人寿保险合同不包括现金价值账户,因此投保人不能从保险公司向他们借钱。 这是永久人寿保险相对于定期人寿保险的优势之一。 定期保单只有一个财务考虑:如果被保险人在保单期限内死亡,受益人的死亡赔付。

另一种情况是永久性人寿保险,例如终身寿险。 当您获得终身人寿保险时,您支付的一部分保费将用于死亡抚恤金,而其余部分则进入价值随时间增长的现金价值账户。

如果您正在考虑从人寿保险单中借款,请记住,建立现金价值需要时间。 您必须达到特定的门槛才能从保单中借入现金价值,这可能会阻止您在需要时借入保单。 这与储蓄账户不同,后者可让您根据需要提取资金,通常无需先达到指定水平。

此外,如果您未能偿还贷款利息,所欠金额可能会从死亡抚恤金中扣除。 如果您的家人仍计划依赖您的人寿保险单,则保单违约可能会危及您的财务安全。

您可以从人寿保险单中借多少钱?

您可以从人寿保险单中借款的金额因保险公司而异,但最高保单贷款金额通常至少为现金价值的 90%,没有最低金额。

当您获得保单贷款时,您并没有从您账户的现金价值中扣除钱款。 相反,您从保险公司借了一笔贷款,并使用现金价值作为抵押品。 这是一个巨大的优势,因为现金价值保留在人寿保险单中并赚取利息。

与许多其他类型的贷款一样,您不必在特定时间范围内偿还贷款。 如果您不支付可能设置或可变的年度利息,则利息将添加到您现有贷款的价值中。

贷款期限

如果您的贷款期限较长,将收取复利。 如果未偿还贷款总额超过您保单的现金价值,该保单将失效。 如果发生这种情况,如果未偿还的贷款超过您支付的保费金额,您将失去保险并面临巨大的税收负担。

借入保单的几乎全部现金价值会带来风险,因此如果您申请保单贷款,请务必仔细检查其与您的现金价值相关的规模。 此外,我们建议尽可能支付利息。

如何从您的人寿保险单中借款

获得人寿保险贷款是一个简单的过程。 第一步是确定您的人寿保险单是否是可以借用的众多永久保单之一,例如:

  • 一生(也称为平凡的生活)
  • 通用或可调寿命
  • 可变寿命
  • 可变万能寿命

与银行贷款不同,由人寿保险单担保的贷款通常不需要审批程序。 它还可以将贷款用作现金退还价值信用额度,可以根据需要使用。

利息将立即以保险公司指定的利率开始累积,该利率可能低于银行对类似贷款收取的利率。 贷款还款可以立即开始,通常分为每月付款。

从人寿保险单中借款的利弊

人寿保险抵押贷款是一种快速收款且限制最少的简便方法。 在管理账户的现金价值并根据需要偿还利息时,您必须格外小心。

除了保单失效的危险外,以您的全寿险或万能寿险借款的弊端很小。

#1。 保单贷款没有限定条件

与其他贷款不同,根据您的人寿保险单借款不需要您符合条件。 因为没有信用检查,贷款不会出现在您的信用报告中。 您也不需要出示收入证明。 您只需要确定您的身份并且您正在申请贷款。

如果您立即需要钱,例如紧急医疗需要,人寿保险抵押贷款可能是一个很好的选择,因为没有检查或先决条件。 如果您在其他地方寻求贷款并且需要很长时间才能获得授权,它们也可以用作权宜之计。

#2。 政策性贷款的利率很低。

人寿保险抵押贷款的利率通常低于个人贷款或信用卡的利率。 虽然费率各不相同,但通常在 6% 到 8% 之间,具体取决于谁拥有您的保险和您的保单。 为了说明这一点,我们从三个最大的保险公司获得了可变万能寿险保单的贷款利率:

保险公司产品保单贷款年利率
西北互助自定义可变万能寿险5%,加上高达 2% 的额外债务费用
纽约人生可变万能寿险蓄能器最高 6%,目前为 3%
谨慎的可变万能寿险如果政策实施不到 2 年,则为 10%,否则为 1.05%

在整个贷款过程中,您的现金价值会产生利息。 这可以是固定利率(例如 1.5%)或在贷款利率的一定幅度内。 例如,如果保证您的现金价值以您的贷款利率(即 2%)的 6% 以内的速度增长,那么它至少会是 4%。

#3。 您可以随时偿还。

当您从人寿保险单中借款时,您无需偿还贷款。 此外,只要未偿还贷款总额(原始贷款加上累计利息)不超过保单的现金价值,您无需支付年度利息。 因此,如果您不确定需要贷款多长时间,从您的人寿保险单中借款是一个绝佳的选择。

现在,尽快偿还保单贷款通常符合您的最佳利益。 贷款的利息是按年复利的,如果未偿还的贷款太大,保单就会失效。 如果发生这种情况,您将无偿支付数百美元的保费(无保险)。 此外,如果剩余贷款余额超过已支付的保费,您可能会欠税。

偿还保单贷款的另一个原因是,当您去世时,未偿余额将从应付给您的受益人的死亡抚恤金中扣除。

向人寿保险借款是更好的选择吗?

这取决于具体情况。 利率较低的人寿保险贷款可能有更好的替代品。 例如,很难击败年利率低至 3% 的免税房屋净值信贷额度 (HELOC)。

当然,借用房产会产生费用和利息,许多贷方已经要求对短期借款人进行巨额预付款罚款。 自房地产市场崩盘以来,获得这些贷款的资格也变得更加困难。 借款人和房产都必须满足贷款标准,例如拥有足够的资产、收入超过任何债务支付的稳定工作以及良好的信用。

从退休账户借款或提取资金可能会导致罚款和税收,并且由于雇主计划限制,即使在紧急情况下,一些投资者也无法从他们的 401k 借款。 当他们能够借款时,他们通常被限制在 50 万美元或他们既得资金的 50%,以较少者为准。 而且,除非用于房产的首付,否则这些款项必须在 5 年内偿还。 另一个重要的问题是您必须用税后资金替换借入的资金,当您移除它们时将再次征税! 除非它是罗斯,否则就是这样。

IRA 的规则要严格得多。 它们通常不被接受为抵押品,您只能在 60 天的期限内访问您的资产,即所谓的“免税展期”,并且该时间框架是一成不变的。 如果您在 60 天内不缴纳所得税和罚款,您将失去将钱退回 IRA 的权利。

其他获取人寿保险单现金价值的方法

以现金价值借钱只是使用这种多功能保单资产的一种方法。 一般来说,可以通过三种方式获取万能或终身寿险保单的现金价值:

#1。 现金退还

一种选择是终止保单并兑现退保价值,让您没有人寿保险。 对于需要现金且不再有受抚养子女的退休人员,可以考虑使用此选项。 但是,请先验证保单合同:可能会有巨额退保罚款,特别是如果保单还很年轻。 此外,不要因为您不再希望支付保费而放弃保单,而是考虑使用现金价值来支付您的每月付款(见下文)。

#2。 退出

在许多情况下,您可以从您的永久人寿保险单中提取现金,而且这笔钱通常不需要缴纳所得税(只要它低于您为保单支付的保费)。 但是,也有一些缺点:您的身故赔偿几乎肯定会减少,而且减少的金额可能会超过所收取的金额,具体取决于您保单的具体条件。 了解如何从您的代理人或人寿保险提供商处从您的特定保单中提取资金。

#3。 用现金价值支付您的保险费。

您通常可以使用现金价值账户中的资金支付部分或全部保单保费,从而更容易维持您的承保范围。 对于希望减少退休费用同时仍维持人寿保险范围的老年保单持有人来说,这是一个受欢迎的选择。

总结

除了身故赔偿外,具有现金价值的永久人寿保险可能会提供某些生活福利。 其中包括以保单的现金价值借款的可能性。 当您根据保单贷款时,与其他类型的借款不同,您的保险公司借给您钱并使用您保单中的现金作为抵押——您实际上并没有从保单中提取任何资金。 这意味着保单的现金价值会随着股息而增长。

在极少数情况下,利润甚至可能足以支付贷款利息,从而有效地使借来的钱“免费”。 当然,贷款必须在某个时候偿还。 如果您去世,贷款金额和任何未偿利息将从您的死亡抚恤金中扣除。

借人寿保险常见问题解答

当你从人寿保险借款时,你必须偿还吗?

当您从人寿保险单中借款时,您无需偿还贷款。 此外,只要未偿还贷款总额(原始贷款加上累计利息)不超过保单的现金价值,您无需支付年度利息。

当您为人寿保险贷款时会发生什么?

重要的是要记住,保险公司将对保单贷款收取利息。 当您从人寿保险单中借款时,您是在借自己的钱。 它本质上是一种现金垫款,可以通过退保或支付身故赔偿从保单中获得。

当保单贷款余额超过现金价值时,人寿保险保单会怎样?

如果包括利息在内的全部未偿还贷款金额超过现金价值,保单将失效,您的保障将被终止。 为了避免这个问题,要么每年支付利息,要么密切关注并采取必要的行动。

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

Borrowing From Life Insurance Policy: How It Works

borrowing from life insurance

It is simple to borrow against the cash value of a permanent life insurance policy. There are no loan criteria or conditions (other than the amount of cash value), and the funds can be used for whatever purpose you choose and repaid whenever you want, plus a life insurance policy loan offers comparatively cheap interest rates. The disadvantage? If you fail to pay the interest on the loan, you may lose your policy (and its cash value) and face a large tax bill. Borrowing against your life insurance policy is a simple way to get cash if you can keep up with your payments.

Can You Borrow From Your Life Insurance Policy?

Loans against permanent life insurance plans are often available, but not against term life insurance policies. Cash value accounts are used as collateral for life insurance loans. Because term life insurance contracts do not include a cash value account, policyholders cannot borrow money from their insurer against them. This is one advantage of permanent life insurance over term life. A term policy has only one financial consideration: the beneficiary’s death payout if the insured individual dies during the policy term.

Another scenario is permanent life insurance, such as full life. When you get whole life insurance, a portion of your premium payment goes toward the death benefit, while the rest goes into a cash value account that grows in value over time.

If you are thinking about borrowing from your life insurance policy, keep in mind that building cash value takes time. You must achieve a particular threshold before you can borrow cash value from the policy, which may prevent you from borrowing against the policy when you need it. This is distinct from a savings account, which lets you withdraw funds as needed, usually without first hitting a specified level.

Furthermore, if you fail to repay the loan’s interest, the amount owed may be taken from the death benefit. If your family still plans to rely on your life insurance policy, policy defaults can risk your financial security.

How Much Can You Borrow From a Life Insurance Policy Borrow?

The amount you can borrow from a life insurance policy varies depending on the insurer, but the maximum policy loan amount is normally at least 90% of the cash value, with no minimum.

When you take out a policy loan, you are not deducting money from your account’s cash value. Instead, you borrow a loan from the insurance and use the cash value as collateral. This is a huge advantage because the cash value remains in the life insurance policy and earns interest.

You are not compelled to repay the loan within a specific time frame, as is the case with many other types of loans. If you do not pay the annual interest, which might be set or variable, the interest will be added to the value of your existing loan.

The loan’s term

Compounding interest will be charged if your loan is for a long period of time. If the total outstanding loan exceeds the cash value of your policy, the policy will lapse. If this occurs, you will lose your coverage and face a large tax burden if the outstanding loan exceeds the amount you have paid in premiums.

Borrowing virtually the whole cash value of the policy carries risk, so if you take out a policy loan, always carefully check its size in relation to your cash value. Furthermore, we would advise making interest payments whenever possible.

How To Borrow From Your Life Insurance Policy

Obtaining a loan for life insurance is a simple process. The first step is to determine whether your life insurance policy is one of the numerous permanent policies that can be borrowed against, such as:

  • Whole life (also called ordinary life)
  • Universal or adjustable life
  • Variable life
  • Variable universal life

Unlike a bank loan, a loan secured by a life insurance policy usually does not require an approval process. It may also be able to use the loan as a cash surrender value line of credit that may be accessed as needed.

Interest will begin to accumulate on the loan immediately at a rate specified by the insurer, which may be lower than the rate charged by a bank for a similar loan. Loan repayment can begin right away and is typically divided into monthly payments.

The Benefits and Drawbacks of Borrowing From a Life Insurance Policy

Life insurance collateral loans are an easy way to receive money quickly and with minimal restrictions. You must exercise extreme caution when managing the account’s cash value and paying off interest as needed.

Aside from the danger of policy lapse, borrowing against your whole or universal life insurance has minimal drawbacks.

#1. There are no qualifiers for a policy loan

Unlike other loans, borrowing against your life insurance policy does not need you to qualify. Because there is no credit check, the loan will not appear on your credit report. You also do not need to present proof of income. You will only need to establish your identity and that you are requesting the loan.

Life insurance collateral loans can be an excellent alternative if you need money immediately, such as for an emergency medical need, because there are no checks or prerequisites. They can also be used as a stopgap if you’re seeking for a loan elsewhere and it’s taking a long time to get authorized.

#2. The interest rates for policy loans are low.

Interest rates on life insurance collateral loans are often lower than those on a personal loan or credit card. While rates vary, they normally range between 6% and 8%, depending on who owns your insurance and your policy. To illustrate, we obtained loan interest rates from three of the largest insurers for variable universal life insurance policies:

InsurerProductPolicy Loan Annual Interest Rate
Northwestern MutualCustom Variable Universal Life Insurance5%, plus up to 2% additional debt expense charge
New York LifeVariable Universal Life Accumulator6% maximum, currently 3%
PrudentialVariable Universal Life Protector2% if the policy has been in place less than 10 years, else 1.05%

Throughout the loan, your cash value earns interest. This could be at a fixed rate (say, 1.5%) or within a certain margin of the loan interest rate. For example, if your cash value was guaranteed to rise at a pace within 2% of your loan interest rate, which was 6%, it would be at least 4%.

#3. You can pay it back whenever you want.

When you borrow from your life insurance policy, you are not required to repay the loan. Furthermore, you are not required to pay the annual interest as long as the total outstanding loan (original loan plus cumulative interest) does not exceed the cash value of the policy. Borrowing from your life insurance policy is thus a fantastic option if you are unsure how long you will require the loan.

Now, it’s usually in your best interest to repay a policy loan as quickly as possible. The loan’s interest is compounded annually, and the policy will lapse if the outstanding loan becomes too huge. If this occurs, you would have paid hundreds of dollars in premiums for nothing (no coverage). Furthermore, you may owe taxes if the remaining loan balance exceeds the premiums paid.

Another reason to repay the policy loan is that the total outstanding balance will be subtracted from the death benefit payable to your beneficiaries when you die.

Is Borrowing Against Life Insurance a Better Option?

That depends on the circumstances. There may be better alternatives to life insurance loans with lower interest rates. For example, it’s difficult to beat a tax-deductible Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC) with rates as low as 3% APR.

Of course, there are fees and interest associated with borrowing against a property, and many lenders are already demanding significant prepayment penalties for short-term borrowers. It has also become much more difficult to qualify for those loans since the real estate market crash. Both the borrower and the property must meet lending criteria, such as having enough equity, a steady job with income that exceeds any debt payments, and good credit.

Borrowing from or withdrawing funds from retirement accounts can result in penalties and taxes, and due to employer plan restrictions, some investors are unable to borrow against their 401k, even in an emergency. When they are able to borrow, they are usually limited to $50k or 50% of their vested money, whichever is less. And, unless used for a down payment on a property, the monies must be repaid within 5 years. Another significant concern is that you’ll have to replace the borrowed funds with after-tax monies, which will be taxed AGAIN when you remove them! Unless it’s a Roth, that is.

The rules for IRAs are significantly more stringent. They are not normally accepted as collateral, and you may only access your assets for a 60-day period in what is known as a “tax-free rollover,” and that time frame is set in stone. If you don’t pay income taxes and a penalty within 60 days, you’ll lose the right to put the money back into your IRA.

Other Methods For Accessing the Cash Value of a Life Insurance Policy

Borrowing money against cash value is just one approach to putting this versatile policy asset to use. In general, there are three ways to access the cash value in a universal or whole life insurance policy:

#1. Cash Surrender

One option is to terminate the policy and cash out the surrender value, leaving you without life insurance coverage. This option may be considered for retirees who require cash and no longer have dependent children. However, verify the policy contract first: there may be large surrender fines, especially if the policy is young. Also, instead of surrendering the policy because you no longer wish to pay premiums, consider using the cash value to meet your monthly payments (see below).

#2. Withdrawal

In many cases, you can withdraw cash from your permanent life insurance policy, and the money is often not subject to income taxes (as long as it is less than the premiums you’ve paid into the policy). However, there are some drawbacks: your death benefit will almost certainly be decreased, and that reduction may be more than the amount taken, depending on the exact conditions of your policy. Find out how to withdraw money from your specific policy from your agent or life insurance provider.

#3. Pay your insurance premiums with the cash value.

You may usually use the money in your cash value account to pay part or all of your policy premiums, making it much easier to maintain your coverage. This is a popular choice for elderly policyholders who want to reduce their retirement expenses while still maintaining life insurance coverage.

Conclusion

In addition to the death benefit, permanent life insurance with a cash value might provide certain living benefits. Among these include the possibility to borrow against the policy’s cash value. When you take a loan against your policy, unlike other types of borrowing, your insurer lends you the money and uses the cash in your policy as collateral—you do not actually withdraw any money from the policy. This means that the cash value of the policy grows with dividends.

In rare situations, the profits may even be sufficient to cover the interest on the loan, effectively making the borrowed money “free.” Of course, the loan will have to be repaid at some point. If you die, the loan amount and any interest outstanding will be deducted from your death benefit.

Borrowing From Life Insurance FAQs

When you borrow from life insurance do you have to pay it back?

When you borrow from your life insurance policy, you are not required to repay the loan. Furthermore, you are not required to pay the annual interest as long as the total outstanding loan (original loan plus cumulative interest) does not exceed the cash value of the policy.

What happens when you take a loan on your life insurance?

It is important to remember that the insurance company will charge interest on the policy loan. You are borrowing your own money when you borrow from your life insurance policy. It is essentially a cash advance that could be obtained from the policy by the surrender of the policy or the payment of the death benefit.

What happens to a life insurance policy when the policy loan balance exceeds the cash value?

If the entire outstanding loan sum, including interest, ever surpasses the cash value, the policy will lapse, and your coverage will be terminated. To avoid this problem, either pay the interest each year or keep a watch on it and act as necessary.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like