如何避免 PMI(私人抵押贷款保险):详细指南

如何避免pmi
大西洋湾抵押贷款集团

私人抵押贷款保险 (PMI) 保护贷方免受房主贷款违约风险。 降低贷方风险可以降低利率并让借款人更容易获得信贷,但它也会大大增加抵押贷款的成本。 以下是您在避免或至少减轻 PMI(私人抵押贷款保险)时获得房屋抵押贷款的方法,无论是否支付 20% 或 10% 的首付。

什么是PMI?

私人抵押贷款保险 (PMI) 是传统抵押贷款机构在购房者支付的价格低于购买价格的 20% 时要求的一种保险。

PMI 旨在在房主出现贷款违约的情况下保护贷方。 虽然它不能阻止止赎,但它确实允许潜在的购房者成为房主,即使他们负担不起 20% 的首付。 如果您的贷方认为您需要支付 PMI,它将与私人保险提供商合作,并且在您关闭抵押贷款之前,将向您传达保险计划的条款。

如果您有 PMI,费用将不会无限期地与您同在。 一旦您的资产达到 20%,您就可以联系您的贷款服务机构,了解如何将 PMI 从您的抵押贷款中删除——无论是通过随着时间的推移偿还贷款债务还是通过增加房屋价值来实现。 当您的贷款余额达到房屋原始价值的 78% 时,服务机构必须终止 PMI。

PMI的费用是多少?

根据城市研究所的数据,PMI 保费率的典型范围是原始贷款金额的 0.58% 至 1.86%。 根据房地美(Freddie Mac)的说法,大多数借款人每月每借 30 美元需要支付 70 到 100,000 美元的 PMI 利率。 PMI的成本由两个主要因素决定:

  • 您的贷款价值 (LTV) 比率 – 您投入的金额将影响您支付多少 PMI。 例如,如果您投入 5%,您的 LTV 比率将为 95%。 如果您降低 85%,您的 LTV 比率将为 15%。 当您只有少量首付时,贷方承担了更大的风险,您的 PMI 付款将更高以进行补偿。
  • 您的信用评级 – PMI 的成本很大程度上受您的信用记录和信用评分的影响。 考虑一下城市研究所的例子,有人以 250,000% 的首付购买了价值 3.5 美元的房屋。 包括保险在内的每月抵押贷款支付为 1,164 美元,FICO 得分为 760 或更高。 对于信用评分在 1,495 到 620 之间的买家,每月付款为 640 美元,反映出更高的 PMI 费用。

根据 Freddie Mac 抵押贷款保险计算器和 Bankrate 抵押贷款计算器计算得出,PMI 可能会如何工作,具体取决于您投入的金额。 这些数字基于 329,000 美元的购买价格和 3.25% 的利率,不包括房主保险或财产税。

首付5%下降15%下降20%下降
每月 PMI 付款$300$78$0
每月按揭付款(本金、利息和 PMI)$1,660$1,295$1,145

不同类型的 PMI

有不同类型的私人抵押贷款保险。 他们包括

#1。 借款人支付的抵押贷款保险

借款人支付的抵押贷款保险的保费包含在您的每月付款中。 本金余额、利息费用和其他费用(如财产税)也将包括在内。 然后每月将这笔钱支付给保险公司。

每个月,您都会注意到“特殊付款”的指示,这只是对已付款的解释。

如果您达到某些标准,例如达到 20% 的股权、78% 的贷款价值比或完成一半的付款期限,则借款人支付的抵押贷款保险费可能会被取消。

#2。 贷款人支付的抵押贷款保险

贷款人支付的抵押贷款保险可能看起来很诱人,但请不要误会:您仍将负责承保范围。 您很可能会为抵押贷款支付更高的利率和/或支付额外的贷款发起费用,而不是将该保费视为一个项目。

另一个缺点是贷款人支付的 PMI 不能像借款人支付的保险一样被取消。 摆脱贷方支付的 PMI 的最常见方法是再抵押。

#3。 单一保费按揭保险

单一保费 PMI 不是将付款分成每月分期付款,而是将保险的总成本合并为一次付款。

根据贷款条款,您可以在关闭时全额支付,或将其转入贷款以获得更高的金额。

如果您一次支付全部费用,您的每月付款将减少。 但是,如果您在购买房屋后不久就卖掉了您的房子,那么您最终可能会比您只支付每月 PMI 的情况更糟。

考虑一下,如果您正在努力支付 20% 的首付,您可能无法支付大量的预付保险金。

#4。 分拆保费抵押贷款保险

在分摊保费 PMI 协议中,您将支付更高的预付款,以支付部分费用,从而减少您的每月付款要求。

这结合了单一保费和借款人支付 PMI 的优缺点。 您将需要一些钱,但并不像您想的那样支付前期费用。 然后,您将享受更便宜的月费。

如果您的债务与收入比率较高,则分期保费抵押贷款保险可能是有益的。 它可以让您避免可能的抵押贷款付款,以防止您的 DTI 变得太高而无法获得资格。

#5。 FHA抵押贷款保险

FHA 贷款包括这种形式的抵押贷款保险。 它需要初始付款,然后是年度抵押保险费(MIP),在大多数情况下无法取消。

您必须等待 11 年才能获得免费的 FHA 抵押贷款保险而无需再融资。 即便如此,只有当您的初始首付为 10% 或更高时,保险才会被取消。

省钱和避免支付私人抵押贷款保险的方法 PMI

鉴于私人抵押贷款保险 PMI 可能有多昂贵,许多购房者想要避免它也就不足为奇了。 以下是避免为您的抵押贷款支付私人抵押贷款保险 PMI 的五种策略。

#1。 寻找不需要 PMI 的贷款。

寻找免除 PMI 要求和/或提供首付帮助的贷款选项。 例如,VA贷款不需要PMI,因此如果您符合条件,您可能会节省很多钱。 检查由联邦住房管理局 (FHA) 或美国农业部 (USDA) 担保的贷款。 这两个组织都提供了一些举措,试图让中低收入购买者更容易获得房屋所有权。

#2。 查看州和地方购房者计划。

越来越多的城市正在优先考虑经济适用房,包括制定新的计划来帮助购房者。 一些城市专注于“劳动力住房”,旨在让从事特定职业的人(如学校教师、消防员或急救人员)能够拥有住房。 您可以先在 HUD 的本地购房页面上搜索您所在州的项目。

#3。 寻求 80-10-10 的贷款。

根据 Abundo Wealth 的创始人 Eric Simonson 的说法,避免私人抵押贷款保险 PMI 的一种方法是获得 80/10/10 的贷款,其中您首付 10% 并取出 10% 的房屋净值信贷额度以满足 20首付要求。 西蒙森建议,由于信用额度可能会发生变化,您应该优先考虑尽快还清。 如果您不确定去哪里寻找提供 80/10/10 贷款的贷方,请咨询您的会计师或财务顾问,他们可能会提出一些建议。

#4。 支付更高的利息

为了换取更高的利率,一些贷方提供贷款,让您避免支付 PMI。 会有一个资格认证过程,但如果获得批准,你将可以放下不到 20%。 但是,由于利率提高,您的每月抵押贷款付款会更高——在某些情况下会更高。

#5。 购买更便宜的房子

仅仅因为你已经被贷款人预先批准了一定数额,并不意味着你在买房时必须把它全部花掉。

DRS Financial Partners 创始人 Stanley Himeno-Okamoto 说:“我通常不建议使用 PMI 购买超出预算的更大房屋,因为您生活中的任何故障都可能使您的抵押贷款更难以支付并增加很多压力。”

对于首次购房者来说,一个更精明的策略可能是购买“入门房”,这是一种价格较低的房屋,他们可以在不引发 PMI 的情况下舒适地负担得起。

PMI 替代品

首付不多的借款人经常询问,“有没有 PMI 的替代品?”

此查询与“如何避免 PMI?”之间的主要区别调查是替代品通常具有相同的成本,但呈现方式不同。

超过 417,500 美元的巨额贷款就是一个例子。

一些巨额贷款需要不到 20% 的首付,并且不需要抵押贷款保险。 这将被宣传为避免 PMI 的解决方案。 但是,您不一定会在费用方面省钱,因为您将为此贷款支付更高的利率 - 就像您在符合条件的贷款上使用 Lender Paid PMI 一样。

因此,虽然它在技术上是抵押保险的替代方案,但您并不能避免这些费用。 这在使用 Lender Paid PMI 进行合格贷款的营销中很明显,但在获得首付不到 20% 的巨额贷款时就不那么明显了,因为这些贷款通常以“无抵押保险”之类的短语出售。

取消 PMI

如果您有符合标准的贷款,通常可以在您的房屋净值达到 22% 后,要求贷方考虑取消您的抵押贷款保险,这意味着您的贷款已偿还至房产购买价格的 78%。

如果您相信您将在合理的几年内达到这一水平,则借款人付费 PMI 优于贷款人付费 PMI。

因此,如果您有 Lender Paid PMI,您的抵押贷款保险以更高的贷款利率的形式出现,因此您在贷款期限内都会承担更高的成本。 巨额抵押贷款也是如此,因为低价巨额贷款没有抵押贷款保险费,但费率更高。

如果没有 20% 的首付,我如何避免 PMI?

如果您选择贷方支付的 PMI,则无需支付 20% 即可避免支付 PMI。 但是,在贷款期间,您将获得更高的抵押贷款利率。 这就是为什么一些借款人更喜欢捎带技术的原因,该技术涉及使用第二笔抵押贷款来支付避免 PMI 所需的 20% 首付的一部分。 VA 贷款计划允许退伍军人无需首付即可避免 PMI。

如何通过 10% 的首付避免私人抵押贷款保险 (PMI)?

如果您有 10% 的首付,如果您使用第二笔贷款为房屋购买价格的剩余 10% 提供资金,您也许可以避免 PMI。 结合这些将满足您的第一抵押贷款机构 20% 的首付要求,让您避免 PMI。 这被称为 80/10/10 背驮式贷款。

避免PMI值得吗?

PMI 是首次购房者的绝佳资源。 它使您能够支付很少的首付并更快地搬入房产。 因此,对于许多购房者来说,PMI 是一项有益的投资,特别是如果它意味着更快地购买房屋,而不是等待数年支付 20% 的首付。

如何以 5% 的首付避免 PMI?

一些借款人可能能够找到独特的贷款计划,提供没有 PMI 的低首付抵押贷款。 这些计划中的大多数都有收入限制或其他特定的资格要求。 即使您找不到删除 PMI 的程序,您也可能有资格获得 Freddie Mac 的 Home Possible 或 Fannie Mae 的 HomeReady 贷款,这让您只需 3% 的首付即可购买并支付更少的 PMI。

什么样的信用评分可以让您避免 PMI?

更好的信用评分应该会导致更便宜的 PMI 保费。 然而,高信用评分不会消除对 PMI 的需求。 相反,正是您的首付规模可以让您避免 PMI。 降低 20% 将有助于完全避免 PMI。

总结

PMI 保费可以将购房者的每月抵押贷款支付增加数百美元。 而且很难避免私人抵押贷款保险 PMI,除非您有 20% 的首付或只是等到由于本金支付和房屋价值升值而导致贷款总额低于房屋价值的 80%。 但是,还有其他选择,包括首付援助、VA 贷款、附带贷款和医生贷款。 并非所有贷方都提供允许借款人避免 PMI 以及条件较差或费用较高的计划。 PMI 并不是借用房产时唯一要考虑的事情。 利率、费用、贷款条款和其他考虑因素可能都同样重要,如果不是更重要的话。

如何避免 PMI 常见问题

什么时候可以免除 PMI?

当您的抵押贷款本金余额预计将降至您房屋初始价值的 80% 时,您有权要求您的服务机构消除 PMI。 当您获得抵押贷款时,您应该在 PMI 披露表上以书面形式收到此日期。

PMI值得避免吗?

摆脱 PMI 可能会降低您的每月付款并让您的房产更实惠。

信用评分会影响PMI吗?

是的,您的信用评分会影响私人抵押贷款保险的成本。 即使首付和抵押贷款金额相同,信用评分较高的借款人每月支付的 PMI 费用通常也会低于信用评分较低的借款人。

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

How To Avoid PMI (Private Mortgage Insurance): Detailed Guide

How to avoid pmi
Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group

Private mortgage insurance (PMI) safeguards lenders against the risk of loan default on homeowner loans. Lowering lender risk can result in lower interest rates and easier access to credit for borrowers, but it can also dramatically increase the cost of a mortgage. Here’s how you get a house mortgage while you avoid or at least mitigate PMI (private mortgage insurance) with or without a 20 or 10% down payment.

What is PMI?

Private mortgage insurance (PMI) is a type of insurance required by conventional mortgage lenders when a homebuyer puts down less than 20% of the purchase price.

PMI is intended to safeguard the lender in the event of a loan default by the homeowner. While it does not prevent foreclosure, it does allow potential homebuyers to become homeowners even if they cannot afford a 20% down payment. If your lender deems that you will need to pay PMI, it will work with a private insurance provider, and the terms of the insurance plan will be communicated to you before you close on your mortgage.

If you have PMI, the fee will not be with you indefinitely. You can contact your loan servicer about removing PMI from your mortgage once you’ve reached 20 percent equity — either by paying down your loan debt over time or by growing home values. PMI must be terminated by servicers when your loan balance reaches 78 percent of the home’s original value.

What is the cost of PMI?

According to the Urban Institute, the typical range for PMI premium rates is 0.58 percent to 1.86 percent of the original loan amount. According to Freddie Mac, most borrowers will pay $30 to $70 per month in PMI rates for each $100,000 borrowed. The cost of PMI is determined by two major factors:

  • Your loan-to-value (LTV) ratio – The amount you put down will influence how much PMI you pay. For example, if you put down 5%, your LTV ratio would be 95%. Your LTV ratio would be 85 percent if you put down 15%. When you only have a tiny down payment, the lender assumes a greater risk, and your PMI payments will be higher to compensate.
  • Your credit rating – The cost of PMI is heavily influenced by your credit history and credit score. Consider the Urban Institute’s example of someone purchasing a $250,000 home with a 3.5 percent down payment. The monthly mortgage payment, including insurance, is $1,164 with an exceptional FICO score of 760 or higher. Monthly payments are $1,495 for a buyer with a credit score between 620 and 640, reflecting a much higher PMI fee.

Here’s how PMI might work depending on how much you put down, as calculated by the Freddie Mac mortgage insurance calculator and the Bankrate mortgage calculator. These figures are based on a $329,000 purchase price and a 3.25 percent interest rate and do not include homeowners insurance or property taxes.

Down payment5% down15% down20% down
Monthly PMI payment$300$78$0
Monthly mortgage payment (principal, interest, and PMI)$1,660$1,295$1,145

Different Types of PMI

There are different types of private mortgage insurance. They include

#1. Borrower-paid mortgage insurance

The premiums for borrower-paid mortgage insurance are included in your monthly payment. The principal balance, interest charges, and other fees such as property taxes will also be included. The money is then disbursed to the insurer on a monthly basis.

Each month, you’ll notice an indication of a “special payment,” which is merely an explanation that the money was paid out.

Borrower-paid mortgage insurance premiums may be removed if you achieve certain criteria, such as achieving 20% equity, a 78 percent loan-to-value, or completing half of your payment term.

#2. Lender-paid mortgage insurance

Lender-paid mortgage insurance may appear tempting, but make no mistake: you will still be responsible for the coverage. Instead of viewing that premium as a line item, you’ll most likely pay a higher interest rate on the mortgage and/or pay additional loan origination expenses.

Another disadvantage is that lender-paid PMI cannot be canceled in the same way that borrower-paid insurance can. The most common way to get out of lender-paid PMI is to remortgage.

#3. Single-premium mortgage insurance

Instead of separating payments into monthly installments, single-premium PMI combines the total cost of the insurance into a single payment.

Depending on the loan terms, you can pay this in full at closing or roll it into the loan for a higher sum.

If you pay it all at once, your monthly payments will be reduced. However, if you sell your house soon after purchasing it, you may end up worse off than if you had simply paid monthly PMI.

Consider that if you’re struggling to make a 20% down payment, you might not be able to afford a significant upfront insurance payment.

#4. Split-premium mortgage insurance

In a split-premium PMI agreement, you will pay a higher upfront price that will cover a portion of the costs, allowing you to reduce your monthly payment requirements.

This combines the advantages and disadvantages of single-premium and borrower-paid PMI. You’ll need some money, but not as much as you think to pay the upfront charge. You will then enjoy cheaper monthly charges.

If you have a greater debt-to-income ratio, split-premium mortgage insurance may be beneficial. It allows you to avoid your possible mortgage payment in order to keep your DTI from becoming too high to qualify.

#5. FHA mortgage insurance

An FHA loan includes this form of mortgage insurance. It entails an initial payment followed by annual mortgage insurance charges (MIP), which cannot be canceled in most cases.

You’ll have to wait 11 years to get free FHA mortgage insurance without refinancing. Even then, the insurance will only be canceled if your initial down payment was 10% or greater.

Ways to Save Money and Avoid Paying Private Mortgage Insurance PMI

Given how expensive private mortgage insurance PMI may be, it’s no surprise that many homebuyers want to avoid it. Here are five strategies to avoid paying private mortgage insurance PMI on your mortgage.

#1. Look for a loan that does not demand PMI.

Look for loan options that waive the PMI requirement and/or provide down payment help. For example, VA loans do not require PMI, so you may save a lot of money if you qualify. Examine loans guaranteed by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) or the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA). Both organizations offer initiatives that try to make homeownership more accessible for low- and middle-income purchasers.

#2. Look into state and local homebuyer programs.

More cities are prioritizing affordable housing, including the creation of new programs to aid home purchasers. Some cities concentrate on “workforce housing,” which aims to make homeownership accessible for those who work in specific occupations, such as school teachers, firefighters, or first responders. You might begin by searching HUD’s local homebuying page for programs in your state.

#3. Seek out an 80-10-10 loan.

According to Eric Simonson, founder of Abundo Wealth, one approach to avoid private mortgage insurance PMI is to obtain an 80/10/10 loan in which you put 10% down and take out a 10% home equity line of credit to satisfy the 20 down payment requirement. Simonson advises that because the line of credit is likely to be variable, you should prioritize paying it off as quickly as possible. If you’re not sure where to go for a lender that offers 80/10/10 loans, talk to your accountant or financial advisor, who can probably make some suggestions.

#4. Make a higher interest payment

In exchange for a higher interest rate, some lenders provide loans that allow you to avoid paying PMI. There will be a qualification process, but if approved, you will be able to put down less than 20%. However, your monthly mortgage payment will be higher—in some cases very higher—due to the increased interest rate.

#5. Purchase a less expensive home

Just because you’ve been pre-approved by a lender for a certain amount doesn’t mean you have to spend it all when you buy a house.

“I normally don’t recommend utilizing PMI to buy a larger home that stretches your budget, because any glitch in your life might make your mortgage tougher to pay and add a lot of stress,” says DRS Financial Partners founder Stanley Himeno-Okamoto.

A more savvy strategy for a first-time homebuyer could be to purchase a “starter house,” which is a less expensive home that they can comfortably afford without incurring PMI.

PMI Alternatives

Borrowers with a modest down payment frequently inquire, “Are there alternatives to PMI?”

The key distinction between this query and the “How can I avoid PMI?” inquiry is that alternatives frequently have the same cost but are presented differently.

A jumbo loan in excess of $417,500 is an example of this.

Some jumbo loans require less than 20% down and do not require mortgage insurance. This will be advertised as a solution to avoid a PMI. However, you won’t necessarily save money in terms of fees because you’ll pay a higher rate on this loan – just like you would with Lender Paid PMI on a conforming loan.

So, while it is technically an alternative to mortgage insurance, you are not avoiding the expenses. This is obvious in the marketing of a conforming loan with Lender Paid PMI, but it is less obvious when getting a jumbo loan with less than 20% down because these loans are typically sold with phrases like “no mortgage insurance.”

Cancelling PMI

If you have a standard conforming loan, you can usually ask your lender to consider canceling your mortgage insurance once you have achieved 22 percent equity in your house, which means your loan has been paid down to 78 percent of the purchase price of your property.

If you believe you will reach this level within a reasonable number of years, Borrower Paid PMI is preferable to Lender Paid PMI.

So, if you have Lender Paid PMI, your mortgage insurance comes in the form of a higher loan rate, and this higher cost is thus with you for the life of the loan. The same is true with a jumbo mortgage, as there is no mortgage insurance premium for low-down jumbos, but the rate is higher.

How can I avoid PMI without a 20 percent down payment?

If you choose lender-paid PMI, you can avoid paying PMI without putting down 20 percent. However, you will have a higher mortgage rate for the duration of the loan. That’s why some borrowers prefer the piggyback technique, which involves using a second mortgage loan to finance a percentage of the 20 percent down payment required to avoid PMI. The VA loan program allows veterans to avoid PMI with no down payment.

How Can I Avoid Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) With a 10% Down Payment?

If you have a 10% down payment, you may be able to avoid PMI if you use a second loan to fund the remaining 10% of the home’s purchase price. Combining these will satisfy your first mortgage lender’s 20 percent down payment requirement, allowing you to avoid PMI. This is known as an 80/10/10 piggyback loan.

Is it worthwhile to avoid PMI?

PMI is an excellent resource for first-time home purchasers. It enables you to make a very little down payment and move into a property much sooner. As a result, for many house purchasers, PMI is a beneficial investment, especially if it means purchasing a home sooner rather than waiting years to put up a 20% down payment.

How can I avoid PMI with a 5% down payment?

Some borrowers may be able to find unique loan programs that provide low-down-payment mortgages with no PMI. Most of these programs have income limits or other particular eligibility requirements. Even if you can’t find a program that removes PMI, you might be able to qualify for Freddie Mac’s Home Possible or Fannie Mae’s HomeReady loan, which allows you to buy with just 3% down and pay less in PMI.

What credit score can allow you to avoid PMI?

A better credit score should result in cheaper PMI premiums. However, a high credit score will not eliminate the need for PMI. Instead, it is the size of your down payment that allows you to avoid PMI. Putting down 20 percent will help avoid PMI entirely.

Conclusion

PMI premiums can increase a homebuyer’s monthly mortgage payment by hundreds of dollars. And it’s difficult to avoid private mortgage insurance PMI unless you have 20% down or just wait until the loan total is less than 80% of the home’s value due to principal payments and home value appreciation. However, there are other choices, including as down payment aid, VA loans, piggyback loans, and doctor loans. Not all lenders provide programs that allow borrowers to avoid PMI and those that do have less favorable conditions or greater expenses. And PMI isn’t the only thing to think about when borrowing a property. Interest rates, fees, loan terms, and other considerations might all be just as essential, if not more so.

How To Avoid PMI FAQs

When can PMI be waived?

When the principal balance of your mortgage is anticipated to decrease to 80 percent of the initial value of your house, you have the authority to request that your servicer eliminate PMI. When you acquired your mortgage, you should have received this date in writing on a PMI disclosure form.

Is PMI worth avoiding?

Getting rid of PMI might lower your monthly payments and make your property more affordable.

Does credit score affect PMI?

Yes, your credit score has an impact on the cost of private mortgage insurance. Even with the same down payment and mortgage amount, a borrower with a higher credit score will generally pay a smaller monthly charge for PMI than someone with a lower credit score.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like