指数型万能寿险保单 IUL:如何运作

指数型万能寿险

如果您想要具有现金价值账户增长潜力的万能寿险的灵活性,您应该研究指数型万能寿险保单。 指数型万能人寿保险 (IUL) 可让您在限制风险的同时从股市的部分上涨中获益。
在购买 IUL 保单之前,有许多选项、费用和预测需要考虑。 与其他类型的人寿保险相比,IUL 承保范围的起伏更大,因为它将现金价值与股票市场联系起来。 然而,对于寻求灵活保单的精明投资者来说,指数型万能寿险可能是理想的解决方案。

什么是指数型万能寿险 IUL?

永久人寿保险是一种指数型万能人寿保险。 只要您按时支付保费或直到保单中指定的到期日,它就一直有效。 许多 IUL 在受保人年满 121 岁时成熟。

指数型万能寿险包括现金价值成分,其收益和损失与标准普尔 500 指数等指数挂钩。虽然现金价值随指数波动,但保险公司实际上投资于债券和抵押贷款等证券。

保单贷款允许您以现金价值借款或提取现金价值。 当您去世时,您的受益人将获得死亡抚恤金,但金额将因任何未付贷款或现金价值提款而减少。

万能人寿保险有时可以更改您的身故赔偿金和/或保费支付,但仅限于一定限度内。 指数型万能寿险与其他万能寿险保单的主要区别在于现金价值的累积方式。

指数型万能寿险 IUL 政策如何运作?

指数型万能寿险的功能类似于万能寿险。 您支付保费以换取终身保险,并可投资于现金价值账户。 保险费用(包括您的身故赔偿)和其他费用将从您的保费中扣除,剩余部分存入您的现金账户。

IUL 保费与万能寿险保费一样是可调整的。 如果您决定不支付保费或少付保费,这笔钱将直接从您的账户中扣除。 如果您的需求发生变化,您或许可以调整身故赔偿金额。 因此,如果您申请增加您的承保范围,您可能需要参加体检。

IUL 现金价值账户如何运作

现金价值账户根据您选择的股票指数的表现赚钱。 股票指数,例如标准普尔 500 指数或道琼斯工业平均指数,是一种跟踪股票集合的方法。 您可以从保险公司中选择一个或多个这些指数。 保险公司根据指数的表现向投保人支付利息; 随着价值的上升,该账户赚取利息。 如果指数下跌,该账户的收入就会减少或根本没有收入。

为了帮助最大限度地减少利息支付的大幅波动,您可以赚取的金额受“底线”和“上限”的限制。 下限是可能的最低账户利率,通常在保单有效期内得到保证,但通常设置为 0%。 这意味着如果市场崩盘,账户将不会遭受损失。

上限是账户可以赚取的最高利率,因此如果市场涨幅超过上限,您只会获得超过上限的金额。 与底价相比,您的保险公司可以在保单仍然有效时更改上限。

例如,考虑一个 IUL 保单,其下限为 0%,上限为 9.5%。 现金账户的钱以最后一列所示的贷记利率赚取利息。

以下是市场变化和贷记人寿保险利率。

指数变化索引层指数上限贷记利率
-4.0%。0.0%。9.5%。0.0%。
21.8%。0.0%。9.5%。9.5%。
8.9%。0.0%。9.5%。8.9%。
3.5%。0.0%。9.5%。3.5%。

您可以看到最初下限如何保护账户免受损失,但上限如何限制指数在接下来的时期内的收益。 该指数上涨了 21%,而投保人仅上涨了 9.5%。

指数型万能寿险 IUL 的优点

与任何类型的万能寿险一样,需要进行彻底的研究,以确保任何潜在的公司都跻身于目前运营的最佳万能寿险公司之列。 考虑到这一点,以下是将 IUL 纳入您的财务计划的一些主要好处。

#1。 更高的盈利能力

这些保单使用看涨期权在没有损失风险的情况下获得股票指数的上行风险,而终身寿险保单和固定万能寿险保单仅提供可能会或可能不会得到保证的小利率。 当然,IUL 保险单的年度回报将取决于其基础指数的表现。 但是,您的保险公司可能仍然能够为您的投资提供有保证的最低回报。

#2。 适应性更强

在为您的投资目标制定保单时,IUL 保险可以提供灵活性。 保单持有人可以选择他们想在市场上承担多少风险,根据需要调整身故赔偿金额,并从各种附加险中进行选择,以根据他们的特定需求量身定制保单。 例如,如果出现养老院费用,您可以包括一个长期护理附加险来支付养老院费用。

#3。 资本收益是免税的

除非他们在保单到期前放弃保单,否则保单持有人不会因现金价值随时间的推移而增加资本收益,而其他类型的金融账户可能会在提款时对资本收益征税。

此福利适用于您可以根据保单的现金价值获得的任何贷款。 如果您想避免因提前从 401(k) 或 IRA 中提款而缴纳税款和罚款,那么拥有现成的现金来源可能会很有吸引力。

与指数型万能寿险保单不同,在指数型万能寿险保单中没有要求的现金价值累积最低分配 401(k)的 or 传统爱尔兰共和军.

#4。 对社会保障没有影响

在退休时,社会保障福利可能是重要的收入来源。 您可以从 62 岁开始领取社会保障福利,或将其推迟到 70 岁。在达到完全退休年龄之前领取福利,以及在领取福利的同时工作,可以减少您的福利金额。 在达到完全退休年龄之前,您每年只能赚取一定的金额,然后您的福利就会减少。

IUL 保险单的现金价值积累以及借入的任何贷款金额均不计入收入门槛。 因此,您可以借用您的保单来补充社会保障福利,而不会减少您的福利金额。

#5。 死亡保险

与其他类型的人寿保险一样,IUL 保险可以为您的亲人提供身故赔偿。 这笔钱可用于支付丧葬费用、未偿债务(如抵押贷款或共同签署的学生贷款)、儿童的大学费用,或仅用于支付日常生活费用。 这种死亡抚恤金可以免税并转嫁给您的受益人。

金融专家经常建议购买相当于您年收入 10 至 15 倍的人寿保险。

指数型万能寿险的缺点

IUL 保险单有几个缺点,批评者很快就指出了这一点。 例如,在市场表现不佳期间制定保单的人最终可能会支付高额保费,而对现金价值没有贡献。 如果在以后的生活中没有及时支付保费,保单可能会失效,完全违背了人寿保险的目的。

除此之外,请记住以下注意事项:

#1。 退货上限

保险公司经常设定低于 100% 的最高参与率,在某些情况下低至 25%。 此外,在好年景,股票指数的回报率经常被限制在一定水平。 无论保单的基础指数表现如何,这些限制都会限制每年记入您账户的实际回报率。

在这种情况下,您最好直接投资于市场或考虑使用可变万能寿险保单。 但是,重要的是要考虑您的个人风险承受能力和投资目标,以确保两者都符合您的整体策略。

#2。 没有任何保证。

终身寿险保单通常包括保证利率以及在整个保单生命周期内可预测的保费金额。 另一方面,IUL 保单提供基于指数的回报,随着时间的推移具有可变溢价。 这意味着您必须愿意接受回报的波动,同时还要为潜在的更高保费做预算。

#3. 费用

IUL 保险单可能包括大量费用和其他成本,例如:

  • 保费费用
  • 行政费用
  • 骑士
  • 佣金和费用
  • 移交指控

所有这些费用和成本都会降低您的保单提供的回报率。 这就是为什么研究最好的人寿保险公司至关重要的原因,这样您就可以知道自己付出了什么,得到了什么回报。

获得指数型万能寿险是个好主意吗?

请记住,由于保费成本和潜在费用较高,IUL 保单比其他类型的人寿保险更贵。 如果您正在考虑购买索引式万能寿险保单,请咨询能够解释细微差别并准确了解 IUL 保单实际潜力的财务顾问。 检查保险公司将如何计算您的利率、收入上限以及可能评估的任何费用。

定期人寿保险与指数万能人寿保险 IUL

如果您在保单生效期间死亡,定期人寿保险是一种更简单且更便宜的方式,可确保您所爱的人在经济上安全。 与 IUL 保险相反,如果您支付保费,定期人寿保险将持续您的整个生命,持续一段时间,通常为 10 年、15 年、20 年或 30 年。 如果您在保单仍然有效期间死亡,您的受益人可以要求您的身故赔偿,并且无需担心利率或更高的保费。

终身寿险与指数型万能寿险

终身寿险按预定时间表建立现金价值,是万能寿险的一种较简单的保单。 您不必担心特定市场指数的表现,与 IUL 相比,溢价可能会更低,费用更少。 然而,与通用保单不同,您将无法调整保费或实现缴足保单。

可变人寿保险与指数万能寿险保单

可变人寿保险比索引万能人寿保险更复杂,因为它允许更大的灵活性。 与指数保单不同,可变保单的现金价值可能完全取决于您选择的股票。

虽然您的可变保单可能有固定的最低身故赔偿金,但您的现金价值表现可能会显着增加或减少您的受益人在您身故时的总赔付额。 您的保费也可能受到可变部分表现的影响,表现不佳会导致更高的成本。 因此,可变寿险被认为比包括 IUL 在内的全寿险或万能寿险更具风险。

是否可以退出指数型万能寿险?

虽然您可以在 IUL 保单中获取您的现金价值,但在某些情况下这样做是需要纳税的。 例如,您可以免税提款至您的基础(您已支付给保单的金额)。 另一方面,在保单到期之前,任何包括部分投资收益的提款都将在该纳税年度缴纳所得税。

以现金价值借款也可能导致应税事件。 如果您让贷款利息耗尽当前现金价值,您的保单可能会失效,您将需要为贷款余额缴税。

指数型万能寿险保单是比 401(k) 更好的投资吗?

指数型万能人寿保险以及 401(k) 计划都有自己的一套福利。 401(k) 计划提供更多投资选择,可能包括雇主匹配。 另一方面,IUL 包括身故赔偿以及投保人可以借入的额外现金价值。 然而,它们确实有很高的保费和费用,而且与 401(k) 不同,如果被保险人停止为它们供款,它们可以被取消。

总结

IUL 保险可以帮助您满足家人的财务保障需求,同时也可以积累现金价值。 然而,这些保单可能比其他类型的人寿保险更复杂,而且它们并不总是适合每个投资者。 与经验丰富的人寿保险代理人或经纪人交谈可以帮助您确定指数型万能人寿保险是否适合您。

索引万能寿险常见问题解答

你会在 IUL 中赔钱吗?

您不太可能在 IUL 中赔钱,因为保险公司保证您的本金免受市场损失。 但是,您通常可以赚取最高金额。

指数型万能寿险值得吗?

只有当股市下跌且您的现金价值上涨速度快于市场时,IUL 才是一项好的投资。 当股市繁荣时,IUL 可能会令人失望。

IUL 有现金价值吗?

指数型万能人寿保险是一种永久性人寿保险,包括现金价值和身故赔偿。

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

INDEXED UNIVERSAL LIFE INSURANCE POLICY IUL: How It Works

indexed universal life insurance

If you want the flexibility of universal life insurance with the growth potential of a cash value account, you should look into indexed universal life insurance policy. Indexed universal life insurance, or IUL, allows you to benefit from some of the stock market’s upside while limiting risk.
There are numerous options, fees, and forecasts to consider before purchasing an IUL policy. IUL coverage has more ups and downs than other types of life insurance because it ties cash value to the stock market. However, for a savvy investor looking for a policy with flexibility, indexed universal life may be the ideal solution.

What is Indexed Universal Life Insurance IUL?

Permanent life insurance is a type of indexed universal life insurance. It remains in force as long as you make your premium payments on time or until the maturity date specified in the policy. Many IULs mature when the insured reaches the age of 121.

Indexed universal life insurance includes a cash value component with gains and losses tied to an index such as the S&P 500. While the cash value fluctuates with the index, the insurance company actually invests in securities such as bonds and mortgages.

A policy loan allows you to borrow against your cash value or withdraw cash value. When you die, your beneficiaries will receive a death benefit, but the amount will be reduced by any unpaid loans or withdrawals from the cash value.

Changes to your death benefits and/or premium payments are sometimes possible with universal life insurance, but only within certain limits. The primary distinction between indexed universal life insurance and other universal life insurance policies is the manner in which cash value accumulates.

How Does Indexed Universal Life Insurance IUL Policy Work?

Indexed universal life insurance functions similarly to universal life insurance. You pay a premium in exchange for lifelong coverage and can invest in the cash value account. The cost of insurance (covering your death benefit) and other fees are deducted from your premium payment, and the remainder is deposited into your cash account.

IUL premiums, like universal life premiums, are adjustable. If you decide to skip a premium payment or underpay, the money will be deducted directly from your account. If your needs change, you may be able to adjust the death benefit amount. So, if you apply to increase your coverage, you may be required to take a medical exam.

How IUL cash value accounts function

The cash value account earns money based on the performance of a stock index of your choice. A stock index, such as the S&P 500 or Dow Jones Industrial Average, is a method of tracking a collection of stocks. You can select one or more of these indices from insurance companies. The insurer pays policyholders interest based on the performance of the index; as the value rises, the account earns interest. If the index falls, the account earns less or none at all.

To help minimize large swings in interest payments, the amount you can earn is subject to “floors” and “caps.” The floor is the lowest possible account rate that is usually guaranteed for the life of the policy but is frequently set at 0%. This means that if the market crashes, the account will not suffer losses.

The cap is the highest interest rate that the account can earn, so if the market rises more than the cap, you’ll only be credited for the amount that exceeds the cap. In contrast to the floor, your insurer can change the cap while the policy is still in effect.

As an example, consider an IUL policy with a 0% floor and a 9.5% cap. The cash account money earns interest at the credited rate shown in the last column.

Here are the market changes and the credited life insurance interest rate.

Index changeIndex floorIndex capCredited rate
-4.0%.0.0%.9.5%.0.0%.
21.8%.0.0%.9.5%.9.5%.
8.9%.0.0%.9.5%.8.9%.
3.5%.0.0%.9.5%.3.5%.

You can see how the floor protected the account from losses at first, but how the cap limited the index’s benefit in the following period. The index increased by 21%, while policyholders gained only 9.5%.

Pros of Indexed Universal Life Insurance IUL

As with any type of universal life insurance, thorough research is required to ensure that any potential firms are among the best universal life insurance companies currently in operation. With that in mind, here are some of the primary benefits of including IUL in your financial plan.

#1. Greater Profitability

These policies use call options to gain upside exposure to equity indexes without the risk of losses, whereas whole life insurance policies and fixed universal life insurance policies offer only a small interest rate that may or may not be guaranteed. Of course, the annual return on an IUL insurance policy will be determined by the performance of its underlying index. However, your insurance company may still be able to provide a guaranteed minimum return on your investment.

#2. More adaptability

When putting together a policy to meet your investment objectives, IUL insurance can provide flexibility. Policyholders can choose how much risk they want to take in the market, adjust death benefit amounts as needed, and select from a variety of riders that make the policy tailored to their specific needs. For example, you could include a long-term care rider to cover nursing home costs if they arise.

#3. Capital Gains Are Tax-Free

Unless they abandon the policy before it matures, policyholders do not pay capital gains on the increase in cash value over time, whereas other types of financial accounts may tax capital gains upon withdrawal.

This benefit extends to any loans you may take out against the policy’s cash value. If you want to avoid paying taxes and penalties on an early withdrawal from a 401(k) or IRA, having a ready source of cash to borrow against may be appealing.

There are no required minimum distributions for cash value accumulation in an indexed universal life insurance policy, unlike a 401(k) or traditional IRA.

#4. No effect on Social Security

In retirement, Social Security benefits may be a significant source of income. You can start receiving Social Security benefits as early as age 62 or defer them until age 70. Taking benefits before reaching your full retirement age, as well as working while receiving benefits, can reduce your benefit amount. Before reaching full retirement age, you can only earn a certain amount per year before your benefits are reduced.

The cash value accumulation from an IUL insurance policy, as well as any loan amounts borrowed, would not count toward the earnings thresholds. As a result, you could borrow against your policy to supplement Social Security benefits without reducing your benefit amount.

#5. Death Insurance

Like other types of life insurance, IUL insurance can provide a death benefit to your loved ones. This money can be used to pay for funeral and burial expenses, outstanding debts such as a mortgage or co-signed student loans, college costs for children, or simply to cover day-to-day living expenses. This death benefit can be tax-free and passed on to your beneficiaries.

Financial experts frequently recommend having life insurance coverage equal to 10 to 15 times your annual income.

Cons of Indexed Universal Life Insurance

There are several disadvantages to IUL insurance policies, which critics are quick to point out. For example, someone who establishes the policy during a period when the market is performing poorly may end up with high premium payments that make no contribution to the cash value. If the premium payments are not made on time later in life, the policy may lapse, defeating the purpose of life insurance entirely.

Aside from that, keep the following considerations in mind:

#1. Caps on Returns

Insurance companies frequently set maximum participation rates that are less than 100%, and in some cases as low as 25%. Furthermore, during good years, returns on equity indexes are frequently capped at certain levels. Regardless of how well the policy’s underlying index performs, these restrictions can limit the actual rate of return that is credited to your account each year.

In that case, you might be better off investing directly in the market or considering a variable universal life insurance policy. However, it is critical to consider your personal risk tolerance and investment goals to ensure that both are consistent with your overall strategy.

#2. There are no guarantees.

Whole life insurance policies frequently include a guaranteed interest rate as well as predictable premium amounts throughout the policy’s life. IUL policies, on the other hand, provide index-based returns with variable premiums over time. This means you must be willing to accept fluctuations in returns while also budgeting for potentially higher premiums.

#3. Fees

IUL insurance policies can include a slew of fees and other costs, such as:

  • Charges for premium expenses
  • Administrative costs
  • Riders
  • Commissions and fees
  • Charge of Surrender

All of these fees and costs can reduce the rate of return provided by your policy. That’s why it’s critical to research the best life insurance companies so you know what you’re paying for and what you’re getting in return.

Is it a good idea to get indexed universal life insurance?

Keep in mind that IUL policies are more expensive than other types of life insurance due to higher premium costs and potential fees. If you’re thinking about purchasing an indexed universal life policy, consult with a financial advisor who can explain the nuances and provide an accurate picture of an IUL policy’s actual potential. Check to see how the insurer will calculate your interest rate, earnings cap, and any fees that may be assessed.

Term Life Insurance vs. Indexed Universal Life Insurance IUL

Term life insurance is a simpler and less expensive way to ensure that your loved ones are financially secure if you die while the policy is active. As opposed to IUL insurance, term life insurance which lasts your entire life if you pay your premiums lasts for a set period of time, typically 10, 15, 20, or 30 years. If you die while the policy is still in effect, your beneficiaries can claim your death benefit, and there are no interest rates or higher premiums to worry about.

Whole Life Insurance vs. Indexed Universal Life Insurance

Whole life insurance builds cash value on a predetermined schedule and is a less complicated policy to universal life insurance. You don’t have to be concerned about the performance of specific market indexes, and the premium is likely to be lower with fewer fees than an IUL. However, unlike with a universal policy, you will not be able to adjust premiums or achieve a paid-up policy.

Variable Life Insurance vs. Indexed Universal Life Insurance Policy

Variable life insurance is more complicated than an indexed universal life insurance policy because it allows for even more flexibility. Unlike an indexed policy, the cash value of a variable policy may be entirely dependent on the stocks you choose.

While your variable policy may have a fixed minimum death benefit, the performance of your cash value could significantly increase or decrease your beneficiaries’ total payout upon your death. Your premium may also be influenced by how well the variable portion performs, with poor performance resulting in a higher cost. As a result, variable life insurance is regarded as riskier than whole or universal life policies, including IUL.

Is It Possible to Withdraw Indexed Universal Life Insurance?

While you can access your cash value in an IUL policy, there are some instances where doing so is taxable. For example, you can withdraw tax-free up to your basis (the amount you’ve paid into the policy). Any withdrawal that includes a portion of your investment gains before the policy matures, on the other hand, will be subject to income taxes in that tax year.

Borrowing against cash value may also result in a taxable event. If you let the loan interest deplete the current cash value, your policy may lapse, and you will be required to pay taxes on the loan balance.

Is Indexed Universal Life Insurance Policy a Better Investment Than a 401(k)?

Indexed universal life insurance, as well as 401(k) plans, each have their own set of benefits. A 401(k) plan offers more investment options and may include an employer match. An IUL, on the other hand, includes a death benefit as well as additional cash value that the policyholder can borrow against. They do, however, have high premiums and fees, and, unlike a 401(k), they can be canceled if the insured stops contributing to them.

Conclusion

IUL insurance can help you meet your family’s financial protection needs while also accumulating cash value. These policies, however, can be more complicated than other types of life insurance, and they aren’t always appropriate for every investor. Speaking with an experienced life insurance agent or broker can assist you in determining whether indexed universal life insurance is a good fit for you.

Indexed Universal Life Insurance FAQs

Can you lose money in a IUL?

It is unlikely that you will lose money in an IUL because insurance companies guarantee your principal against market losses. However, there is frequently a maximum amount you can earn.

Is Indexed Universal Life Worth It?

An IUL is only a good investment if the stock market falls and your cash value rises faster than the market. When the stock market is booming, an IUL is likely to disappoint.

Does IUL have cash value?

Indexed universal life insurance is a type of permanent life insurance that includes both a cash value and a death benefit.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like