实际保险现金价值:它是什么以及您需要知道的一切

实际现金价值保险
图片来源:杰瑞

每年,美国大约每 XNUMX 个被保险房屋中就有一个收到索赔。 虽然您实际房屋的结构通常在您的住宅保险范围内以重置成本承保(有一定限制),但您的其他财物并不总是得到承保。 默认情况下,大多数家庭保险单根据实际现金价值 (ACV) 补偿财产损失,这是被盗或损坏的财产减去折旧后的价值。 但是,这不是您唯一的选择。 一些投保人更喜欢称为重置成本值 (RCV) 的重置成本功能。 两种类型的保险都有优点和缺点,因此在选择政策时权衡这两种选择非常重要。 在本文中,我们将讨论实际现金价值保险单、它们是如何计算的,以及它们与重置成本有何不同。

什么是实际现金价值保险

实际现金价值保险 (ACV) 是等于重置成本减去损失时损坏或被盗财产的折旧的金额。 可以出售的财产的实际价值总是低于更换它的成本。

实际现金价值如何运作

保险公司有时会使用实际现金价值保单来确定在被保险财产或车辆损失或损坏后将支付给保单持有人的金额。 例如,没有实际现金价值保险之类的东西; 这是一个普遍的误解。

例如,如果一辆汽车发生事故,保险公司通常会在计算其重置成本并扣除折旧和磨损等因素后支付车辆的实际现金价值。 保险公司将支付更换承保项目所需的金额,并在更换成本保险范围内用类似的新物品更换。

在财产保险行业,实际现金价值用于对被保险财产进行估价。 实际现金价值是通过从重置成本中减去折旧来计算的,而折旧是通过确定项目的预期寿命并确定剩余寿命的百分比来计算的。 实际现金价值是通过将此百分比乘以重置成本来计算的。

可收回折旧与实际现金价值

重置成本与实际现金价值之间的差额称为可收回折旧。 随着时间的推移,财产会贬值并失去价值。 重置成本覆盖包括可收回折旧。 这使您可以扣除损坏或毁坏财产的价值。 它通常不包含在实际现金价值保险单中。

假设您在工具上花费 1,000 美元来运营您的业务。 三年后,您的工具从您公司所在的建筑物中被盗。 这些工具的实际现金价值由您的保险公司确定为 400 美元。 如果您有实际现金价值保险单,您将收到一张扣除自付额 400 美元的索赔支票。 如果您有 RCV 保险,您可以申请 600 美元的折旧。

保险公司如何确定实际现金价值?

实际现金价值保险的计算方法是计算更换特定物品的成本并减去折旧。 保险公司为一个对象指定一个寿命,并根据其剩余寿命的百分比计算折旧。 一个项目的实际现金价值是通过将此百分比乘以重置成本来计算的。

当您向保险公司提出索赔时,将指派一名保险理算员来确定您的索赔费用。 如果您同意按实际现金价值对您的承保物品进行估价,理算员将计算当前用类似物品替换您丢失或损坏的物品的成本,然后从该金额中扣除折旧造成的价值损失.

重置成本与实际现金价值

实际现金价值和重置成本之间的区别很简单。 虽然 ACV 取决于您丢失、被盗或损坏的商品的折旧价值,但更换成本取决于用全新型号更换损坏物品的成本。 如果您有重置成本保单,您收到的支票将比您拥有 ACV 保单时收到的支票多,但您将支付更高的保费。

我如何在实际现金价值和重置成本保险单之间进行选择?

如果您的预算紧张,实际现金价值房主保险单是比重置成本房主保险单更好的选择,因为您的保费会更低。 如果您没有很多贵重物品要投保,ACV 可能就足够了。 同样,如果您的房屋没有还清或没有融资,您的住房保险很可能包括最高保单限额的重置成本保险。 但是,如果适合您的情况,您可以选择实际现金价值保险。

如果您有很多旧物品,居住在高风险地区,或者有很多物品要投保,更换成本政策可能是个好主意。 重置成本保险的保费较高,但这意味着当需要更换因承保损失而损坏或被盗的任何物品时,您将支付更少的自付费用。

索赔中的实际现金价值保险单示例

八年前,桑德拉在当地一家家具店花了 500 美元买了她的沙发。 她正准备搬家,并希望在车库拍卖会上卖掉沙发。 她很想拿回 500 美元,但她知道这不会发生。

一张全新的沙发可能价值 500 美元,但您永远不会期望在使用 8 年后为同一张沙发支付这么多钱。 桑德拉出售沙发的实际利润与其现金价值相当。

您如何确定保险单的实际现金价值?

保险公司不会像在车库出售中那样随意计算保险单的实际现金价值,而是使用折旧。 折旧是一种会计技术,可以在项目的预期生命周期内分摊项目的价值。

也就是说,如果 Sandra 想让她的沙发贬值,她首先要确定它的预期寿命。 假设她认为沙发的合理预期寿命为 10 年。

Sandra 的沙发已经使用了 8 年,这意味着它已经度过了预期寿命的 8/10 或 80%; 它已经贬值了80%。 沙发现在只有 20% 的寿命。 Sandra 将沙发的原始价值乘以其剩余寿命的百分比来计算实际的现金价值保险单:

  • 500 美元 x 20% = 100 美元

因此,Sandra 可以根据她的折旧计算,在车库出售时为她的沙发要价 100 美元。 那是她对实际现金价值的估计。 这是保险公司计算实际现金价值的简化版本。

ACV 如何在保险业中发挥作用?

保险公司的保单在计算实际现金价值的过程中又增加了一个步骤。 保险公司不会根据物品的原始购买价格进行计算; 相反,他们使用重置成本。

重置成本是用类似物品更换物品的成本(或修理它,以成本较低者为准)。 这似乎是一个微小的区别,但它是至关重要的。

使用案列

桑德拉在车库出售旧沙发并搬家后,需要买一张新沙发。 她喜欢她的旧沙发,所以她去家具店寻找替代品。 她惊讶地发现,类似的沙发现在价值 700 美元!

在这种情况下,Sandra 的沙发更换成本为 700 美元,尽管她最初只支付了 500 美元。 当财产为其重置成本投保时,保险公司承诺用新物品更换丢失或损坏的物品。 他们不希望人们回到过去以历史价格购买新商品。 他们也不希望人们用劣质的替换品替换损坏的物品。 这就是“重置成本”的含义。

因此,如果保险公司在计算 Sandra 旧沙发的实际现金价值,他们的处理方式会与她有所不同。 他们会先计算一张新的、可比的沙发要花 Sandra 多少钱:700 美元。 然后他们会计算出那张沙发预计能用多久。

在确定各类财产的使用寿命时,保险公司使用标准。 在这种情况下,保险公司同意 Sandra 的观点:沙发应该使用 10 年。 考虑到这些数字,保险公司将如何计算 Sandra 的旧沙发:

  • 700 美元 x 20% = 140 美元

(重置成本)x(预期剩余寿命百分比)=(实际现金价值)

保险公司确定桑德拉沙发的实际现金价值为 140 美元。 如果 Sandra 的沙发在卖掉之前就被大火烧毁了,她的保险公司会支付给她 140 美元的实际现金价值。 Sandra 的 100 美元估值和保险公司 140 美元的估值仅在原始价值与重置成本方面有所不同。 如您所见,重置成本是一个重要的保险概念。

什么是实际现金价值的例子?

实际现金价值示例

今天一台类似的电视机售价 3,500 美元。 被毁坏的电视机只有 50%(五年)的历史。 实际现金价值为 1,750 美元,等于 3,500 美元(重置成本)乘以 50%(剩余使用寿命)。

ACV 和 RCV 哪个更好?

如果您有重置成本价值 (RCV) 保险,您的保单将支付修理或更换损坏财产的费用,而不考虑折旧。 如果您有实际现金价值 (ACV) 保险,您的保单将支付维修或更换受损财产的折旧费用。

保险中的实际现金价值和重置成本有什么区别?

区别在于重置成本保险涵盖您物品的全部重置成本,而实际现金价值保险仅涵盖折旧价值。 如果您有重置成本保险,您将有足够的钱来更换您的物品。

实际现金价值的公式是什么?

实际现金价值等于重置成本减去任何折旧(ACV = 重置成本 - 折旧)。 它代表您在市场上出售该物品时可以预期获得的货币价值。

保险公司是否支付重置价值?

如果您的个人物品因承保损失而被盗、损坏或毁坏,并且您的保单包括 RCV 保险,您的保险公司将以当前价值向您报销更换物品的全部费用。

你能谈判总损失价值吗?

当他们总计你的车。 全损协商程序很简单。 如果维修和补充索赔的成本等于或超过公平市场价值的 75%(通常可以协商),则车辆在法律上被视为全损。

实际现金价值是否与公允市场价值相同?

术语“市场价值”和“实际现金价值”具有不同的含义。 估价师使用 公平市场价值 来确定一块财产的价格。 实际现金价值是一种保险标准,它决定了如果您的房屋或汽车损坏,您的保险公司将向您支付多少。

保险使用什么价值来计算一辆汽车?

保险公司将根据您的汽车在损坏前的实际现金价值决定是否将您的汽车宣布为全损。 您可以使用 Kelley Blue Book 之类的工具或查看您所在地区类似汽车的售价来估算汽车的公平市场价值。

在本质上

保险公司使用实际现金价值保单来确定在损失或损坏后向保单持有人支付多少。 我希望你发现这篇文章内容丰富。

实际现金价值保险常见问题

现金价值和市场价值一样吗?

相比之下,在向投保人赔偿损失时,保险公司可以说更喜欢实际现金价值 (ACV),也称为市场价值。 实际现金价值等于重置成本减去折旧(ACV = 重置成本 - 折旧)。

保险理算师使用什么来确定汽车价值?

您的汽车保险公司将查看您车辆的里程、车龄、磨损迹象和事故历史,以确定其 ACV。 您的 ACV 是车辆的更换成本减去碰撞或综合保险的免赔额。

State Farm 如何确定实际现金价值?

我们根据您的车辆的年份、品牌、型号、里程、整体状况和主要选项来计算您的车辆价值——减去您的免赔额和任何适用的州税费。 我们将支付所有者、留置权人或两者兼而有之。

  1. 如何开始交易:Best Easy 2022 指南和实践(+快速提示)
  2. 个人财产保险:承保范围和保单
  3. 平均家庭保险费用:2022 年英国最佳做法和费率(更新)
  4. Saas 销售:Saas 销售流程和指标的终极指南
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

ACTUAL INSURANCE CASH VALUE: What It Is and All You Need to Know

ACTUAL CASH VALUE INSURANCE
Photo Credit: Jerry

Every year, approximately one in every twenty insured homes in the United States receives a claim. While the structure of your actual home is usually covered at replacement cost under your dwelling coverage (up to certain limits), your other belongings aren’t always covered. Most home insurance policies, by default, reimburse losses for belongings based on the actual cash value (ACV), which is the value of the stolen or damaged property less depreciation. However, that is not your only option. Some policyholders prefer a replacement cost feature known as replacement cost value (RCV). Both types of coverage have advantages and disadvantages, so it is important to weigh both options when selecting a policy. In this article, we will discuss actual cash value insurance policy, how they are calculated, and how they differ from replacement costs.

What is Actual Cash Value Insurance

Actual cash value insurance (ACV) is the amount equal to the replacement cost minus depreciation of a damaged or stolen property at the time of the loss. The actual value of the property that could be sold is always less than the cost of replacing it.

How Actual Cash Value Works

Insurance companies will sometimes use the actual cash value policy to determine how much money will be paid to a policyholder after loss or damage to the insured property or vehicle. There is no such thing as Actual Cash Value insurance, for example; this is a common misconception.

For example, if an automobile is totaled in an accident, the insurance company will typically pay the vehicle’s actual cash value after calculating its replacement cost and deducting factors such as depreciation and wear and tear. The insurer would pay the amount required to replace the covered item with a like-kind new one under replacement-cost coverage.

In the property and casualty insurance industry, the actual cash value is used to value insured property. Actual cash value is calculated by subtracting depreciation from replacement cost, whereas depreciation is calculated by determining an item’s expected lifetime and determining what percentage of that life remains. The actual cash value is calculated by multiplying this percentage by the replacement cost.

Recoverable Depreciation vs. Actual Cash Value

The difference between replacement cost and actual cash value is referred to as recoverable depreciation. A property depreciates and loses value over time. Replacement cost coverage includes recoverable depreciation. This allows you to deduct the value of the damaged or destroyed property. It is not usually included in an actual cash value insurance policy.

Assume you spend $1,000 on tools to run your business. Three years later, your tools are stolen from the building where your company is located. The actual cash value of the tools is determined by your insurer to be $400. You’ll receive a claim check for $400 less the deductible if you have an actual cash value insurance policy. You may be able to claim the $600 in depreciation if you have RCV coverage.

How Do Insurance Companies Determine Actual Cash Value?

Actual cash value insurance is calculated by calculating the cost of replacing a specific object and subtracting depreciation. Insurance companies assign a lifetime to an object and calculate depreciation based on the percentage of its life remaining. The actual cash value of an item is calculated by multiplying this percentage by the replacement cost.

When you file a claim with your insurance company, an insurance adjuster will be assigned to determine the cost of your claim. If you have agreed to value your covered items at their actual cash value, the adjuster will calculate how much it would currently cost to replace your lost or damaged item with a similar item, and then deduct the loss in value due to depreciation from that amount.

Replacement Cost vs. Actual Cash Value

The distinction between actual cash value and replacement cost is straightforward. While ACV is determined by the depreciated value of your lost, stolen, or damaged goods, replacement cost is determined by the cost of replacing your damaged item with a brand-new model. If you have a replacement cost policy, the check you receive will be greater than the check you would receive if you had an ACV policy, but you will pay a higher premium.

How Do I Choose Between an Actual Cash Value and a Replacement Cost Insurance Policy?

If you’re on a tight budget, an actual cash value homeowner’s insurance policy is a better option than a replacement cost homeowner’s insurance policy because your premium will be lower. If you don’t have many valuable items to insure, ACV may suffice. Again, if your home is not paid off or is financed, your dwelling coverage will most likely include replacement cost coverage up to your policy limits. However, if it is appropriate for your situation, you could choose actual cash value coverage.

If you have a lot of older items, live in a high-risk area, or have a lot of belongings to insure, replacement cost policies may be a good idea. Replacement cost coverage has a higher premium, but it means you’ll pay less out of pocket when it comes time to replace anything damaged or stolen as a result of a covered loss.

Example Of Actual Cash Value Insurance Policy In A Claim

Sandra paid $500 for her couch at a local furniture store eight years ago. She’s getting ready to move and hopes to sell the couch at a garage sale. She’d love to get $500 back for it, but she knows that’s not going to happen.

A couch may be worth $500 brand new, but you’d never expect to pay that much for the same couch after 8 years of use. Sandra’s actual profit from selling the couch is comparable to its cash value.

How Do You Determine the Actual Cash Value of an Insurance Policy?

Rather than calculating the actual cash value of an insurance policy haphazardly, as one might at a garage sale, insurers use depreciation. Depreciation is an accounting technique that spreads an item’s value over its expected lifetime.

That is, if Sandra wanted to depreciate the value of her couch, she would first determine its life expectancy. Assume she decides that a couch has a reasonable life expectancy of 10 years.

Sandra’s couch is 8 years old, which means it has lived through 8/10 of its expected life or 80%; it has depreciated by 80%. The couch is now only 20% of the way through its life. Sandra multiplies the original value of the couch by the percentage of its remaining life to calculate the actual cash value insurance policy:

  • $500 x 20% = $100

Sandra could thus ask for $100 for her couch at the garage sale based on her depreciation calculation. That is her estimate of the actual cash value. It’s a streamlined version of how insurance companies compute actual cash value.

How Does ACV Work in the Insurance Industry?

Insurance companies policies add one more step to the process of calculating the actual cash value. Insurance companies do not base their calculations on the original purchase price of an item; instead, they use the replacement cost.

Replacement cost is the cost to replace an item with a similar one (or to repair it, whichever costs less). That may appear to be a minor distinction, but it is critical.

Example

Sandra needs to buy a new couch after selling her old one at a garage sale and moving. She liked her old couch, so she goes to the furniture store to look for a replacement. She is astounded to learn that comparable couches are now worth $700!

Sandra’s couch replacement cost is $700 in this case, even though she only paid $500 for it originally. Insurers commit to replacing lost or damaged items with new ones when a property is insured for its replacement cost. They do not expect people to travel back in time to purchase new items at historical prices. They also do not expect people to replace damaged items with inferior replacements. This is what “replacement cost” means.

As a result, if an insurer was calculating the actual cash value of Sandra’s old couch, they’d approach it a little differently than she did. They’d start by calculating how much a new, comparable couch would cost Sandra: $700. Then they’d figure out how long that couch is expected to last.

When determining the useful lives of various types of property, insurers use standards. The insurer agrees with Sandra in this case: a couch should last 10 years. With those figures in mind, here’s how the insurer would calculate Sandra’s old couch:

  • $700 x 20% = $140

(replacement cost) x (percentage of expected life remaining) = (actual cash value)

Sandra’s couch’s actual cash value is determined to be $140 by the insurer. If Sandra’s couch had been destroyed in a fire before she could sell it, her insurer would have paid her $140 in actual cash value. Sandra’s $100 valuation and the insurer’s $140 valuation differed only in terms of original value vs. replacement cost. As you can see, replacement cost is an important insurance concept.

What is an example of actual cash value?

Actual Cash Value Example

A comparable television today costs $3,500. The destroyed television was only 50% (five years) old. The actual cash value is $1,750, which is equal to $3,500 (replacement cost) multiplied by 50% (useful life remaining).

Which is better ACV or RCV?

If you have Replacement Cost Value (RCV) coverage, your policy will pay the cost of repairing or replacing your damaged property without taking depreciation into account. Your policy will pay the depreciated cost to repair or replace your damaged property if you have Actual Cash Value (ACV) coverage.

What is the difference between actual cash value and replacement cost in insurance?

The distinction is that replacement cost insurance covers the entire replacement cost of your items, whereas actual cash value insurance only covers the depreciated value. You’ll have enough money to replace your belongings if you have replacement cost insurance.

What is the formula for actual cash value?

The actual cash value is equal to the replacement cost minus any depreciation (ACV = replacement cost – depreciation). It represents the monetary value you could expect to receive if you sold the item on the market.

Do insurance companies pay replacement value?

If your personal belongings are stolen, damaged, or destroyed as a result of a covered loss and your policy includes RCV coverage, your insurer will reimburse you for the full cost of replacing the items at their current value.

Can you negotiate total loss value?

When they total your car. The total loss negotiation procedure is simple. A vehicle is legally considered a total loss if the cost of repairs and supplemental claims equals or exceeds 75% of the fair market value—again, typically negotiable.

Is actual cash value the same as fair market value?

The terms “market value” and “actual cash value” have different meanings. Appraisers use fair market value to determine the price of a piece of property. Actual cash value is a type of insurance standard that determines how much your insurer will pay you if your house or car is damaged.

What value does insurance use to total a car?

The insurer will decide whether to declare your vehicle a total loss based on the actual cash value of your car immediately before the damage. You can estimate the fair market value of your car using tools like Kelley Blue Book or by looking at what similar cars are selling for in your area.

In Essence

Insurance companies use actual cash value policies to determine how much to pay a policyholder after a loss or damage. I hope you find this piece informative.

Actual Cash Value Insurance FAQs

Is cash value the same as market value?

In contrast, when reimbursing policyholders for losses, insurance companies arguably prefer actual cash value (ACV), also known as market value. Actual cash value equals replacement cost minus depreciation (ACV = replacement cost – depreciation).

What do insurance adjusters use to determine car value?

Your auto insurance company will look at your vehicle’s mileage, age, signs of wear and tear, and accident history to determine its ACV. Your ACV is the vehicle’s replacement cost less the deductible for collision or comprehensive insurance.

How does State Farm determine actual cash value?

We calculate the value of your vehicle based on its year, make, model, mileage, overall condition, and major options—minus your deductible and any applicable state taxes and fees. We will pay the owner, the lienholder, or both.

  1. How To Start Trading: Best Easy 2022 Guide & Practices (+Quick Tips)
  2. PERSONAL PROPERTY INSURANCE: Coverages and Policies
  3. AVERAGE HOME INSURANCE COST: Best 2022 UK Practices and Rates (Updated)
  4. Saas Sales: Ultimate Guide to The Saas Sales Process and Metrics
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like