个人财产保险:承保范围和保单

个人财产保险
河马保险

当您获得家庭保险单时,您将获得各种福利,包括个人财产保险。 个人财产保险,也称为财产保险或财产保险,保护您的贵重物品,是您家庭保险的重要组成部分。 让我们看看个人财产保险可以涵盖哪些内容。 继续阅读……

什么是个人财产保险?

个人财产保险在基本房主保险、房客保险或公寓保单中称为 C 范围。 它可以保护您的财产(也就是您家中的物品)。 保单提供的个人财产保险的数量因保险公司而异,但一般来说,它是您拥有的住宅保险金额的百分比。 住宅保险,通常称为 Coverage A,保护您家的物理结构。 例如,如果您有 250,000 美元的住房保险,并且您的个人财产设定为该价值的 50%,那么您将有 125,000 美元的保险。

个人财产保险涵盖哪些形式的损害?

每个保单都有不同的承保范围。 有两种房主/租房者/公寓保险政策:公开险和命名险,它们决定了您所承保的伤害类型。

具有特定风险的政策

HO-3 计划是标准的房主保险单,涵盖针对特定风险的个人物品。 要提出索赔,您的商品必须已被保单中特别提及的任何物品损坏。 这些政策提到以下 16 种最常见的危险:

  • 火或闪电
  • 风暴或冰雹
  • 飞机造成的损坏
  • 爆炸
  • 骚乱和内乱
  • 烟雾危害
  • 车辆相关损坏
  • 盗窃
  • 打砸抢
  • 掉落的物体
  • 火山喷发活动
  • 雪、冰或雨夹雪的重量会造成损坏。
  • 管道、暖气或空调溢出的水
  • 热水器开裂、撕裂和燃烧
  • 电流损坏
  • 管道冻结

因此,如果您的沙发因天花板上的管道破裂或冰箱着火而损坏,您将受到保护,因为这些事件被认为是指定的风险。 但是,如果在您无意中打开门后,一只野生动物撕毁了您的客厅,您的财产将不会受到保护,因为您没有明确承保“野生动物损害”。

在这些情况下,将需要“公开风险”政策。

#2。 公开危险政策

开放式危险保险可保护您的货物免受保单未明确排除的任何形式的损害。 标准房主/公寓计划通常不包括以下内容:

  • 自然地基沉降、开裂、收缩、鼓胀或膨胀
  • 地震和山洪
  • 树根施加压力
  • 施工缺陷
  • 昆虫、害虫、啮齿动物和动物伤害
  • 自然变质
  • 腐蚀

The burden of proof normally lies on the insurance company, which must demonstrate that the cause of the loss was something expressly excluded from their policy.

例如,如果您的衣服或家具在地震中受损,您将不会受到保护。 然而,在我们的野生动物示例中,您并没有被明确禁止动物破坏您的家。 由于保险公司无法证明您的承保范围,因此您已投保。

什么不包括个人财产保险?

Pets and autos are two examples of things that personal property insurance does not cover. Personal property insurance will also not cover losses caused by floods in some cases. If you have boarders, housemates, or tenants living in your home, their items will also be excluded from your home’s insurance coverage. They should consider purchasing their own personal property insurance to cover their possessions in their home.

根据您的房主保单,珠宝、武器、相机和笔记本电脑的承保范围可能有限。 例如,您可能只有高达 1,500 美元的珠宝承保来弥补被盗损失。 其他个别事物也可能有特殊的承保范围限制。 如果您想为此类产品提供额外保险,您需要获得预定的个人财产保险。

仔细阅读您的保单以了解承保和未承保的内容以及对承保范围和索赔的任何限制至关重要。

个人财产保险如何运作?

当您提出个人财产损失索赔时,保险公司将通过以下两种方式之一支付修理或更换损坏的财物:实际现金价值 (ACV) 或重置成本价值 (RCV) (RCV)。 大多数公司默认使用 ACV,但您可以选择使用 RCV 覆盖您的个人财产。 一些人自动将个人财产结算作为 RCV 包括在内。

什么是实际现金价值 (ACV)?

实际现金价值补偿您的个人财产成本、折旧和定期磨损。 例如,假设您四年前花了 1,000 美元买了一张沙发。 因此,如果您向 ACV 索赔因承保损失而损坏的沙发,保险公司将扣除折旧,只给您一张 10 岁沙发的价值。 如果年折旧率为 600%,更换沙发只需 XNUMX 美元。 您的保单自付额将进一步减少结算金额。

什么是 RCV(重置成本值)?

您的个人财产受按今天价值计算的重置成本价值保护。 以四年前相同的 1,000 美元沙发为例,您将获得用类似质量和种类的沙发替换它的费用。 没有以重置成本值计算折旧,但免赔额仍然适用,减少了损失补偿中获得的总金额。

个人财产保险是否涵盖珠宝等贵重物品?

Yes, your personal property insurance covers items such as jewelry, but there is usually a per-claim limit known as a sublime. So, if someone breaks into your home and steals several pieces of jewelry worth $5,000, and your home insurance policy contains a $1,500 submit for such losses, the most your insurance company will pay is $1,500, less your deductible.

如果您拥有珠宝、艺术品、枪支或某些收藏品等资产,可能会有更好的方法。 许多运营商提供预定的个人财产保险,可以添加到您家的保单中或单独购买。 在预定的个人财产下投保时,贵重物品的全部价值受到保护。 为了确认价值,保险公司通常需要物品的图像以及每件物品的评估或专家评审。 根据运营商的不同,您可能需要为此承保支付免赔额。

我需要多少个人财产保险?

您需要的个人财产保险金额取决于您拥有的商品类型、数量以及您所有物品的总价值。 盘点您的房屋是评估您所有个人财产的最佳方法。

  • 拍摄您家中每个房间的特写图像或视频。 如果您正在拍摄视频,请记住描述您所看到的每件物品及其价值。
  • 列出您所有的贵重物品,例如家具。 给每件物品一个货币价值并记录识别信息,例如序列号、物品的年龄或您购买它的年份,以及电脑和其他小工具的品牌和型号。 如果可能,包括收据或估价文件,如评估。
  • 对较小或较大的产品(例如炊具、鞋子和衣服)给出总价。
  • 完成后,将所有数字加在一起,四舍五入到最接近的 5,000 美元或 10,000 美元。 这是个人财产保险的最低限度。

因此,如果该数字超过您当前家庭保险单提供的保护水平,您可能希望获得额外的保险。 如果您对您的保单有任何疑问,请联系经过认证的保险代理人或您的保险公司。

您的个人物品投保了多少保险?

个人财产的保险范围通常为您房屋承保范围的 20% 至 50%。 典型的保单可能涵盖 250,000 美元的房屋结构和 100,000 美元的个人财产(40 美元的 250,000%)。

因此,您需要(并且应该拥有)的保险金额取决于您拥有的财产数量及其货币价值。

我们建议您在开始保单之前完成最珍贵物品的清单,以便您确定需要多少承保范围。

重置成本与实际货币价值

If your things are damaged in a covered incident, standard homeowners policies will reimburse you for the actual monetary value of your belongings. However, you get paid for the object up to its present value minus the depreciation. If you wish to be completely covered, you can get replacement-cost value (RCV) coverage, which pays the current market price for an asset. This type of policy will be more expensive.

For example, a TV purchased ten years ago may have cost $1,000 at the time, but it has certainly depreciated and is now only worth $200. After filing a claim, you would only receive $200 with actual cost-value insurance. You would receive the entire $1,000 to replace your TV if you had replacement cost value insurance.

覆盖限制例外

房主/租房者/公寓保险公司不会全额报销某些“高价值”物品。

珠宝报道就是最好的例子。 尽管您可能拥有价值 20,000 美元的珠宝,但传统的保险单只承保固定金额,例如 5,000 美元。 乐器、某些小工具和现金也是高价值物品的例子。

为了确保这些物品的全部价值,您通常必须从保险公司获得背书以提高限额。

如何提出个人财产保险索赔

个人财产索赔的功能类似于任何其他类型的房主保险索赔。

如果您的财物被毁,并且您相信您的保险公司会承保,您可以在线或通过电话提出索赔。 理赔员将到达现场检查损坏情况,确定索赔的真实性,并向保险公司提供报告。

如果您的索赔获得批准,您将分两期获得付款。 首先,保险公司将决定修理或更换物品的费用。 如果您有 ACV,您将以更少的折旧成本收到此金额。 RCV 将支付给您足够的钱,以按当前市场价值更换该物品。 如果您必须花费比预期更多的钱来修理该物品,保险公司可能会向您付款。

请注意保留所有收据和报表。 自购买之日起,您还有两年的时间更换或维修该物品。

How Much Personal Property Insurance Do I Need?

Personal property insurance is typically expressed as a percentage of the total dwelling coverage limit of your homeowner’s insurance policy. You can determine whether or not you need to raise your personal property coverage by conducting an inventory of your possessions and making an estimate of the amount of money it would take to replace those goods. You can determine whether or not you need to add an endorsement for scheduled personal property by inquiring about the policy limit for pricey things with the agent who handles your homeowner’s insurance.

Does Personal Property Replacement Cost Worth It?

That relies on your risk tolerance as well as your financial situation. If you choose actual cash value coverage rather than replacement cost coverage, you may be able to reduce your monthly premium payment by a few dollars. However, if you file a claim and the compensation is less than what you require to replace your possessions, your savings could be completely nullified.

What Types of Damages Does Personal Property Insurance Cover?

In most cases, coverage for the same categories of losses that are included in a conventional homeowners insurance policy is included in personal property insurance policies as well. Standard homeowner’s insurance policies often cover damages brought on by a variety of conventional hazards, such as theft, vandalism, windstorms, fire, smoke, lightning, hail, the weight of ice and snow, explosions, and many more. However, the particulars of the coverage for your personal property insurance will be determined by your policy and any applicable exclusions to it.

What Are Examples of Personal Property Insurance?

In the event of a covered loss, personal property coverage can reimburse you for the cost of repairing or replacing your damaged possessions, such as furniture, clothing, sporting goods, and electronics. This is true regardless of where the damage occurred: in your home, apartment, or anywhere else in the world.

What Are Examples of Personal Property Insurance?

In the event of a covered loss, personal property coverage can reimburse you for the cost of repairing or replacing your damaged possessions, such as furniture, clothing, sporting goods, and electronics. This is true regardless of where the damage occurred: in your home, apartment, or anywhere else in the world.

总结

个人财产保险是对您的生活方式至关重要的最贵重物品的基本保障。 无论您住在公寓、房屋还是公寓,拥有合适的个人财产保险来满足您的需求可能会帮助您更加安心。

如果您准备好为您的个人财产投保下一步,请获取报价或寻找代理。

个人财产保险常见问题解答

最常见的三种财产保险是什么?

财产险的种类有重置成本、实际现金价值和延期重置成本。

财产保险的例子有哪些?

财产保险范围包括房主、租房者和洪水保险。

财产险不投保什么?

白蚁和昆虫、鸟类或啮齿动物、锈蚀、腐烂、霉菌和定期磨损造成的损坏不包括在内。 由工业或农业作业产生的烟雾或烟雾同样不包括在内。 如果某些东西构造不良或有隐藏的缺陷,它通常会被排除在外,不会被覆盖。

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

PERSONAL PROPERTY INSURANCE: Coverages and Policies

Personal Property Insurance
Hippo Insurance

When you get a home insurance policy, you receive various benefits, including personal property insurance. Personal property coverage, also known as contents coverage or contents insurance, protects your valuables and is an important component of your home insurance policy. Let’s see what personal property insurance can cover. Read on…

What Is Personal Property Insurance?

Personal property insurance is known as Coverage C in a basic homeowners insurance, renters insurance, or condo policy. It safeguards your possessions (aka the items inside your house). The quantity of personal property coverage provided by a policy varies based on the insurer, but in general, it is a percentage of the amount of dwelling coverage you have. Dwelling insurance, often known as Coverage A, protects your home’s physical structure. As an example, if you have $250,000 in housing coverage and your personal property is set at 50% of that value, you would have $125,000 in coverage.

What Forms of Damage Does Personal Property Insurance Cover?

Each policy has different coverage limits. There are two sorts of homeowners/renters/condo insurance policies: open peril and named peril, and they determine the types of harm for which you are covered.

Policies with specific perils

HO-3 plans are standard homeowners insurance policies that cover personal belongings against specified risks. To file a claim, your goods must have been destroyed by anything specifically mentioned in the policy. These policies mention the following as the 16 most common perils:

  • Fire or lightning
  • Windstorm or hailstorm
  • Aircraft-caused damage
  • Explosions
  • Riots and civil unrest
  • Smoke harm
  • Vehicle-related damage
  • Theft
  • Vandalism
  • Objects that fall
  • Volcanic eruptive activity
  • The weight of snow, ice, or sleet causes damage.
  • Overflowing water from plumbing, heating, or air conditioning
  • Cracking, tearing, and burning of the water heater
  • Electrical current damage
  • The freezing of pipes

So if your couch is wrecked due to a busted pipe in the ceiling or your fridge catches fire, you’re protected because these events are recognized as designated risks. However, if a wild animal tore up your living room after you unintentionally left your door open, your property would not be protected because you are not explicitly covered for “wild animal damage.”

In these instances, an “open peril” policy would be required.

#2. Open Peril Policy

Open danger insurance protects your goods from any sort of harm that is not expressly excluded by your policy. Standard homeowners/condo plans often exclude coverage for the following:

  • Natural foundation settling, cracking, shrinking, bulging, or expansion
  • Earthquakes and flash floods
  • Tree roots exert pressure
  • Construction flaws
  • Insects, vermin, rodents, and animal harm
  • Natural deterioration
  • Mold
  • Corrosion

The burden of proof normally lies on the insurance company, which must demonstrate that the cause of the loss was something expressly excluded in their policy.

For example, you would not be protected if your clothing or furniture were damaged in an earthquake. In our wild animal example, however, you are not explicitly prohibited from an animal wrecking your home. Because the insurance company cannot prove your coverage, you are insured.

What Doesn’t Personal Property Insurance Cover?

Pets and autos are two examples of things that personal property insurance does not cover. Personal property insurance will also not cover losses caused by floods in some cases. If you have boarders, housemates, or tenants living in your home, their items will also be excluded from your home’s insurance coverage. They should consider purchasing their own personal property insurance to cover their possessions in your home.

Jewelry, weapons, cameras, and laptop computers may only have a limited level of coverage under your homeowners’ policy. For example, you may only have up to $1,500 in jewelry coverage for the stolen loss. Other individual things may have special coverage limitations as well. If you want additional coverage for such products, you’ll need to get scheduled personal property coverage.

It is critical to carefully read your policy to understand what is and is not covered, as well as any limitations on coverages and claims.

How Does Personal Property Insurance Work?

When you file a personal property loss claim, the insurance company will pay to repair or replace your damaged belongings in one of two ways: actual cash value (ACV) or replacement cost value (RCV) (RCV). Most companies use ACV by default, but you can choose to cover your personal property using RCV. Personal property settlement is automatically included as RCV by some.

What Is Actual Cash Value (ACV)?

Actual cash value compensates you for the cost of your personal property, less depreciation, and regular wear and tear. For example, suppose you paid $1,000 for a couch four years ago. So, if you make a claim with ACV for a couch that was damaged in a covered loss, the insurance company will deduct depreciation and only give you the value of a four-year-old couch. If the annual depreciation rate is 10%, you’d only get $600 to replace the couch. The settlement amount will be further reduced by your policy deductible.

What Is RCV (Replacement Cost Value)?

Your personal property is protected by replacement cost value at today’s value. Using the same $1,000 couch from four years ago as an example, you would get paid for the cost of replacing it with similar quality and kind of couch. There is no depreciation computation with replacement cost value, but the deductible still applies, reducing the total amount obtained in the loss compensation.

Does Personal Property Insurance Cover Valuables Such as Jewelry?

Yes, your personal property insurance covers items such as jewelry, but there is usually a per-claim limit known as a sublimit. So, if someone breaks into your home and steals several pieces of jewelry worth $5,000, and your home insurance policy contains a $1,500 sublimit for such losses, the most your insurance company will pay is $1,500, less your deductible.

There may be a better approach if you own assets such as jewelry, fine art, guns, or certain collectibles. Many carriers provide scheduled personal property coverage, which can be added to your home’s policy or purchased separately. A valuable item is protected for its full worth when insured under scheduled personal property. To confirm the value, insurance companies often require images of the objects as well as an assessment or expert review per item. Depending on the carrier, you may be required to pay a deductible for this coverage.

How Much Personal Property Coverage Do I Require?

The amount of personal property coverage you require is determined by the type of goods you have, the quantity of them, and the total worth of all your items. Taking an inventory of your home is the greatest approach to appraising all of your personal property.

  • Take close-up images or videos of each room in your home. If you’re filming a video, remember to describe each item and its worth as you see it.
  • Make a list of all of your valuable possessions, such as furniture. Give each item a monetary value and record identifying information such as serial numbers, the age of the item or the year you purchased it, and the makes and models of computers and other gadgets. When possible, include receipts or valuation documentation like appraisals.
  • Give a total price for smaller or bulky products such as cooking utensils, shoes, and clothing.
  • When you’re finished, add all of the figures together and round them up to the nearest $5,000 or $10,000. This is the bare minimum of personal property coverage.

So, if that figure exceeds the level of protection provided by your current home insurance policy, you may want to obtain additional coverage. If you have any questions about your policy, contact a certified insurance agent or your insurer.

How Much Are Your Personal Belongings Insured For?

Personal property is typically insured for 20% to 50% of the coverage limits of your home. A typical policy may cover the home structure for $250,000 and personal property for $100,000 (40 percent of the $250,000).

So the amount of coverage you require (and should have) is determined by the amount of property you own and its monetary value.

We recommend completing an inventory of your most precious objects before beginning a policy so you can determine how much coverage you require.

Replacement Cost vs. Actual Monetary Value

If your things are damaged in a covered incident, standard homeowners policies will reimburse you for the actual monetary value of your belongings. However, you get paid for the object up to its present value minus depreciation. If you wish to be completely covered, you can get a replacement-cost value (RCV) coverage, which pays the current market price for an asset. This type of policy will be more expensive.

For example, a TV purchased ten years ago may have cost $1,000 at the time, but it has certainly depreciated and is now only worth $200. After filing a claim, you would only receive $200 with actual cost value insurance. You would receive the entire $1,000 to replace your TV if you had replacement cost value insurance.

Coverage limit exceptions

Certain “high value” items are not fully reimbursed by homeowners/renters/condo insurance companies.

Jewelry coverage is the best example. Although you may own $20,000 in jewels, conventional insurance policies only cover up to a set amount, such as $5,000. Musical instruments, certain gadgets, and cash are also examples of high-value items.

To insure the full worth of those items, you must normally acquire an endorsement from the insurance carrier to enhance the limits.

How to File a Personal Property Insurance Claim

A personal property claim functions similarly to any other sort of homeowners insurance claim.

If your belongings are destroyed and you believe your insurance company will cover them, you can file a claim online or over the phone. A claims adjuster will arrive to inspect the damage, determine the veracity of the claim, and provide a report to the insurance.

If your claim is approved, you will be paid in two installments. First, the insurance company will decide how much it will cost to repair or replace the object. If you have ACV, you will receive this amount with fewer depreciation costs. RCV will pay you enough money to replace that item at its current market worth. If you have to spend more money than intended to fix the item, the insurance provider may pay you.

Make a point of keeping all receipts and statements. You will also have two years from the date of purchase to replace or repair the item.

Summary

Personal property insurance is essential protection for your most valuable belongings that are essential to your way of life. Whether you live in a condo, a house, or an apartment, having the right personal property insurance to cover your needs might help you achieve more peace of mind.

Get a quotation or find an agent if you’re ready to take the next step in insuring your personal property.

Personal Property Insurance FAQs

What are the three most common kinds of property insurance?

The types of property insurance are replacement costs, actual cash value, and extended replacement costs.

What are examples of property insurance?

Property insurance coverage includes homeowners, renters, and flood insurance.

What is not insured by property insurance?

Damage from termites and insects, birds or rodents, rust, rot, mold, and regular wear and tear are not covered. Smog or smoke created by industrial or agricultural operations is likewise not covered. If something is poorly constructed or has a hidden flaw, it is often excluded and will not be covered.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like