购买房屋的税收抵免:2023 年的首次购房者

购买房屋的税收抵免
图片来源:Nerdwallet

如果您是第一次买房,您可能有资格获得抵押贷款利息和能源信贷的税收减免。 如果您已经拥有房屋,这对您来说不是新闻。 但是,如果您想购买您的第一套房子,那么我们会为您提供一些有用的提示。 首次购房者仍有一些税收抵免。 请记住,税收减免和税收抵免是不一样的。 税收抵免直接抵消您的纳税义务,而税收减免减少了应纳税的总收入金额。 让我们来看看2023年买房的税收抵免,以及它对首次购房者的意义。

什么是税收抵免?

税收抵免允许您在一年中支付更少的所得税。 它减少了您必须为美元支付的税款,而税收减免减少了您必须纳税的收入金额。 例如,如果您有资格获得 2,000 美元的儿童税收抵免,您的纳税义务将减少 2,000 美元。 在找房期间,首次购房者应该熟悉税收抵免和税收减免。

买房可以获得税收抵免吗?

税收抵免等于您为房屋支付的价格的 10%,但在考虑通货膨胀后,以 15,000 年的美元计算,它不能超过 2021 美元。 假设 5 年和 2021 年的通货膨胀率为 2022%,那么未来五年首次购房者的最高税收抵免额将增加如下:您最多可以退税 15,000 美元。

税收减免与税收抵免

在税收方面,扣除和抵免适用。 抵免额是从您的税单中扣除的金额。 将它们视为优惠券。 如果您获得 1,000 美元的税收抵免,您的纳税义务将减少 1,000 美元。 一个 减税 降低您的调整后总收入 (AGI),从而降低您的纳税义务。

如果您在 24% 的税率范围内,您的纳税义务将减少申请总金额的 24%。 因此,如果您要求扣除 1,000 美元,您的纳税义务将减少 240 美元(1,000 美元 x 24%)。

2023年买房的税收抵免是多少?

拜登总统正试图通过 2021 年的《首次购房者法案》,以刺激房地产市场并减少白人和少数族裔社区之间的差距。 中低收入的首次购房者将受益于这项旨在减轻财务负担的新税收抵免。 2021 年的首次购房者法案允许高达 15,000 美元的联邦税收抵免。 它适用于 1 年 2021 月 2022 日之后购买的任何房屋,还没有结束日期或上限。 首次购房者的税收抵免仍然是一项法案,而不是法律,因此记住这一点很重要。 它还必须得到国会两院的批准才能实施。 截至 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月,新购房者仍无法享受此税收抵免。

税收抵免对于买房来说并不是什么新鲜事。 例如,房屋净值贷款是专门为首次购房者设计的。 由于其重点,首次购房者税收抵免是独一无二的。 当然,联邦所得税申报表的其他税收减免仍然存在。 一些州允许您扣除财产税,而另一些州则允许您扣除抵押贷款利息或 按揭保险费。 如果您是个体经营者,您可以申请家庭办公室扣除。

什么是 15,000 美元的税收抵免?

纳税人可以在年末的纳税申报表上申请最高 10% 的房屋购买价格作为抵免额。 最多,它的价值不能超过 15,000 美元。 例如,如果您的房屋价值 200,000 美元,您将只能获得 15,000 美元的税收抵免,而不是 20,000 美元(这将是 10 美元房价的 200,000%)。

另一方面,税收抵免额将与 2% 的通货膨胀率挂钩。 这可能会将最高税收抵免额从 15,000 年的 2021 美元提高到 16,236 年的 2025 美元。如果可以使用州税收抵免,他们就不能将其与联邦税收抵免一起使用。 但是,已婚夫妇分开报税只能申请一半的可用额度。

谁有资格获得首次购房者的税收抵免?

我们推荐使用 首次购房者 顾名思义,税收抵免仅适用于某些个人。 这些人如下:

  • 如果您已经购买了房屋作为您的主要住所,您将不符合资格。 但是,如果您买了房子出租或出于其他原因,您可能仍然有资格。
  • 在过去 36 个月内没有房屋的人
  • 收入不超过一定数量的人 门槛
  • 那些打算购买房屋作为主要住所的人。 此税收抵免不适用于打算租用该物业的首次购房者。
  • 申请人必须年满 18 岁或与 18 岁的人结婚。 在这种情况下,也不可能从家庭成员那里购买房产。
  • 2021 年或 2022 年的潜在买家尚无资格获得此税收抵免。

买房子的税收抵免是多少?

您可以使用当年最低的个人所得税税率(即 15 年的 2022%)计算购买房屋的税收抵免。 但是如果你要买房子,当你在第二年报税时,你将获得 750 美元的抵免额(按 5000 美元 x 15% 计算)。

您如何申请税收抵免?

目前尚不清楚购房者将如何申请税收抵免,因为该法案尚未成为法律。 然而,它可能类似于 2009 年首次购房者信贷,这是一个类似的计划,要求购房者填写额外的 IRS 表格以附加到他们的联邦纳税申报表中。

如果首次购房者税收抵免获得批准,您可以联系会计师或查看政府网站以获取有关如何使用它的更多信息。

2023年买房的税收抵免优惠是多少?

#1。 抵押利息扣除

房主最重要的税收减免之一是抵押贷款利息扣除。 这使您可以扣除为购买、建造或改善您的主要或次要住宅而支付的抵押贷款利息。

如果您是个人纳税人或已婚夫妇提交联合纳税申报表,您可以扣除高达 750,000 美元的抵押债务所支付的利息。 已婚夫妇单独申报的限额为 375,000 美元。 如果您在 1 年 500,000 月 15 日之前购买了房屋,2017 万美元的抵押贷款利息扣除限额适用于单身和已婚夫妇共同申报,XNUMX 美元适用于已婚夫妇单独申报。

为房屋净值贷款和房屋净值信贷额度支付的所有利息均受相同的扣除限制 (HELOCs) 约束。 单个纳税人可以扣除总额低于 750,000 美元的首次抵押贷款和 HELOC 支付的全部利息。 如果这两笔贷款都用于建造、购买或改善他们的主要或次要住宅。

#2。 按揭保险扣除

如果您将抵押保险作为每月抵押付款的一部分进行支付,则您可以将抵押保险作为每月抵押付款的一部分进行扣除。 如果您无法支付抵押贷款并违约,抵押保险可以保护您的贷方。

AGI 高达 100,000 美元(如果已婚并单独申报,则为 50,000 美元)的房主可以扣除抵押贷款保险费。 收入不超过 109,000 美元(或已婚夫妇单独申报的收入为 54,500 美元)有资格获得按揭保险费减免; 如果您的收入高于这些金额,您将无法扣除您的保费。

#3。 出售房屋的利润是免税的。

拥有房屋的税收优势之一在您出售之前不会发挥作用 - 免税利润。 如果您出售房屋以获取利润,如果您是单身,您可以扣除高达 250,000 美元的资本收益,如果您是夫妻共同申报,则可以扣除 500,000 美元。 要获得此项减税的资格,您必须在出售日期前五年中的至少两年内居住并使用该房屋作为您的主要住所。

#4。 州和地方税 (SALT) 扣除

包括财产税在内的州和地方税 (SALT) 可以扣除。 对于单身纳税人和已婚夫妇共同申报,免赔额为10,000美元。 已婚夫妇单独申报的扣除限额为 5,000 美元。 例如,如果您是一位缴纳 7,000 美元州所得税但仅缴纳 6,000 美元财产税的房主,您只能从您的总财产税账单中扣除 3,000 美元。 SALT 扣除上限可能对财产税高的州的房主不利,例如加利福尼亚州、康涅狄格州、伊利诺伊州、马萨诸塞州、新泽西州、纽约市

#5。 按揭扣分

购买房屋的另一个税收优势是可以在完成购房时扣除预先支付的抵押贷款积分。 折扣点是抵押点的另一个名称,是您贷款余额的百分之一。

一般来说,您将在贷款期限内扣除积分,而不是在您还款的那一年。 如果您符合 IRS 列出的一组标准,则此规则有一个例外。 

#6。 家庭办公室扣除

如果您在家工作或经营以家庭为基础的企业,您可能有资格获得家庭办公室扣除。 房主和租房者都可以享受减免。 要符合资格,您必须定期且专门将您家的一部分(例如改建为办公室的卧室)用于商业目的。 您还必须证明您的家是您开展业务的主要场所。

申请扣除有两种方法。 传统方法涉及计算您用于商业目的的房屋百分比。 更简单的选项允许您为高达 5 平方英尺的住宅的商业用途扣除每平方英尺 300 美元。

#7。 住宅能源信贷

住宅节能房产信贷是对房主的环保税收减免。 该奖励适用于家庭能源改进,例如实施太阳能电池板和风力涡轮机,以及其他节能升级。

对于 30 年至 2012 年间建造的房屋,最高可获得能源升级成本 2023% 的税收抵免。该抵免将于 31 年 2023 月 XNUMX 日到期。

#8。 标准扣除

在考虑房主可用的税收减免时,密切关注美国国税局的标准减免至关重要。 如果您选择标准扣除,即表示您同意从您的应税收入中扣除一定的金额。 使用标准扣除额,您无法逐项列出您的费用。

结论

2022年购房的税收抵免仍是一项法案,尚待国会两院批准才能通过。截至2022年XNUMX月,新购房者仍无法享受税收抵免。不过,您可以联系会计师或始终查看政府网站以获取有关首次购房者税收抵免的更多信息。

购买房屋的税收抵免常见问题解答

我如何在安大略省申请首次购房者税收抵免?

要获得购房者税收抵免的资格, 您(或您的配偶或普通法同居伴侣)必须购买以您(或您的配偶或普通法同居伴侣)名义注册的合格房屋。 它可以是现有的财产或正在建造的财产,它可以包括单户住宅、联排别墅、公寓单元和其他结构。

谁应该逐项列出扣除?

您可以选择标准扣除或逐项扣除. 如果您可以逐项列出的费用价值超过标准扣除额,则逐项列出具有财务意义。 您还必须逐项扣除抵押贷款利息、抵押贷款积分和 SALT。

你什么时候可以申请购房者的金额?

如果您是首次购房者,或者您有残疾, 您有资格获得称为购房者金额 (HBA) 的 5,000 美元不可退还的信用额度。

  1. 抵押利息扣除:您可以扣除抵押利息吗?
  2. 对于新购房者和现有房主来说,这是一个艰难的市场
  3. 1098 表抵押贷款:利息声明
  4. 买房需要多少信用评分:2022 年美国最佳实践
发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

你也许也喜欢

TAX CREDIT FOR BUYING A HOUSE: First-Time HomeBuyers in 2022

Tax Credit For buying a house
Image Source: Nerdwallet

If you are buying a house for the first time, you may be eligible for tax deductions on mortgage interest and energy credits. If you already own a home, this isn’t news to you. But if you are looking to buy your first home, then we have some useful tips for you. There are still some tax credits available to first-time home buyers. Remember that tax deductions and tax credits are not the same. A tax credit directly offsets your tax liability, whereas a tax deduction reduces the amount of gross income that is subject to taxes. Let’s take a look at the tax credit for buying a house in 2022 and what it means for first-time home buyers.

What Is A Tax Credit?

Tax credits allow you to pay less in income tax over the year. It reduces the amount of tax you have to pay dollar for dollar, while tax deductions reduce the amount of your income that you have to pay tax on. For example, if you are eligible for $2,000 in child tax credits, your tax liability will drop by $2,000. During house hunting, first-time home buyers should be familiar with both tax credits and tax deductions.

Tax Deduction vs. Tax Credit

In terms of taxes, deductions and credits are applicable. Credits are sums of money deducted from your tax bill. Consider them to be coupons. If you receive a $1,000 tax credit, your tax liability will drop by $1,000. A tax deduction lowers your adjusted gross income (AGI), lowering your tax liability.

If you are in the 24% tax bracket, your tax liability will drop by 24% of the total amount claimed. So, if you claim a $1,000 deduction, your tax liability will drop by $240 ($1,000 x 24%).

What is the Tax Credit for Buying a House in 2022?

President Biden is attempting to pass the First-Time Homebuyer Act of 2021 to stimulate the housing market and reduce disparities between white and minority communities. Low and middle-income first-time homebuyers will benefit from this new tax credit, which aims to reduce their financial burden. The First-Time Homebuyer Act of 2021 allows for up to $15,000 in federal tax credits. It applies to any home purchased after January 1, 2021, with no end date or cap yet. The First-Time Homebuyers’ Tax Credit is still a bill, not a law, so it’s important to remember that. It must still be approved by both houses of Congress before it can be put in place. This tax credit is still not available to new home buyers as of May 2022.

Tax credits are nothing new for buying a house. Home equity loans, for example, were specifically designed to give first-time homebuyers a leg up. Because of its focus, the First-Time Homebuyer Tax Credit is unique. Of course, other tax deductions for the federal income tax return remain. Some states permit you to deduct property taxes, while others permit you to deduct mortgage interest or mortgage insurance premiums. If you’re self-employed, you may be able to claim a home office deduction.

What is the $15,000 Tax Credit?

Taxpayers can claim up to 10% of the purchase price of a home as a credit on their tax returns at year’s end. At most, it can’t be worth more than $15,000. For example, if your home is worth $200,000, you will only receive $15,000 in tax credits rather than $20,000 (which would be 10% of the $200,000 home price).

The tax credit amount, on the other hand, will be indexed to a 2% inflation rate. This could raise the maximum tax credit amount from $15,000 in 2021 to $16,236 in 2025. If a state tax deduction is available, they can’t use it with a federal tax credit. However, married couples filing separately can only claim half of the available credit.

Who Is Eligible for the Tax Credit for First-Time Homebuyers?

The First-Time Home Buyer Tax Credit, as the name implies, is only available to certain individuals. These people are as follows:

  • You will not be eligible if you have already purchased a home as your primary residence. However, you may still be eligible if you bought a house to rent out or for some other reason.
  • Those who did not own a home in the previous 36 months
  • People whose incomes do not exceed certain thresholds
  • Those who intend to buy the home as their primary residence. This tax credit is not available to first-time homebuyers who intend to rent the property.
  • Applicants must be at least 18 years old or married to an 18-year-old. It’s also not possible to buy the property from a family member in this scenario.
  • Prospective buyers in 2021 or 2022 are not yet eligible for this tax credit.

How Much Is The Tax Credit For Buying A House?

You can calculate the tax credit for buying a house using the year’s lowest personal income tax rate (i.e., 15% in 2022). But if you’re buying a house, when you file your taxes the following year, you will receive a credit of $750 (calculated as $5000 x 15%).

How to Apply for the Tax Credit

It’s not yet clear how homebuyers will be able to claim the tax credit because the bill hasn’t become law yet. However, it will likely be similar to the 2009 First-Time Homebuyer Credit, which was a similar program that required homebuyers to complete an additional IRS form to attach to their federal tax return.

If the First-Time Homebuyers Tax Credit is approved, you can contact an accountant or check out the government websites for more information on how you can use it.

What Is the Tax Credit Benefit for Buying a House in 2022?

#1. Mortgage Interest Deduction

One of the most important tax breaks for homeowners is the mortgage interest deduction. This allows you to deduct the interest you pay on your mortgage to buy, build, or improve your primary or secondary residence.

If you are an individual taxpayer or a married couple filing a joint tax return, you can deduct the interest paid on up to $750,000 of mortgage debt. The limit for married couples filing separately is $375,000. A $1 million mortgage interest deduction limit applies to single and married couples filing jointly, and $500,000 to married couples filing separately, if you purchased a home before Dec. 15, 2017.

All interest paid on home equity loans and home equity lines of credit is subject to the same deduction limitations (HELOCs). A single taxpayer can deduct the full amount of interest paid on a first mortgage and a HELOC that totals less than $750,000. If both loans were used to build, buy, or make improvements to their primary or secondary residences.

#2. Mortgage Insurance Deduction

You may be able to deduct mortgage insurance as part of your monthly mortgage payment if you pay it as part of your monthly mortgage payment. Mortgage insurance protects your lender if you are unable to make your mortgage payments and fall into default.

Mortgage insurance premiums can be deducted by homeowners with an AGI of up to $100,000 (or $50,000 if married and filing separately). Incomes up to $109,000 (or $54,500 for married couples filing separately) qualify for a reduced deduction for mortgage insurance premiums; if your income is above these amounts, you won’t be able to deduct your premiums.

#3. Profits From the Sale of Your Home Are Tax-Free.

One of the tax advantages of owning a home doesn’t kick in until you sell it—tax-free profits. If you sell your home for a profit, you can deduct your capital gains up to $250,000 if you’re single and $500,000 if you’re married filing jointly. To be eligible for this tax break, you must have lived in and used the home as your primary residence for at least two of the five years before the sale date.

#4. State And Local Tax (SALT) Deduction

State and local taxes (SALT), which include property taxes, are deductible. For single taxpayers and married couples filing jointly, the deductible amount is $10,000. The deduction limit for married couples filing separately is $5,000. For example, if you are a homeowner who pays $7,000 in state income taxes but only $6,000 in property taxes, you can only deduct $3,000 from your total property tax bill. The SALT deduction cap may not be beneficial to homeowners in states with high property taxes, such as California, Connecticut, Illinois, Massachusetts,  New Jersey, New York City

#5. Mortgage Points Deduction

Another tax advantage of buying the house is the ability to deduct mortgage points paid upfront when closing on your home purchase. A discount point, which is another name for a mortgage point, is one percent of your loan balance.

In general, you will deduct points over the life of your loan rather than in the year you pay them. There is an exception to this rule if you meet a set of criteria outlined by the IRS. 

#6. Home Office Deduction

If you work from home or run a home-based business, you may be eligible for the home office deduction. The deduction is available to both homeowners and renters. To be eligible, you must regularly and exclusively use a portion of your home (such as a bedroom converted to an office) for business purposes. You must also demonstrate that your home is the primary location where you conduct business.

There are two methods for claiming the deduction. The traditional method involves calculating the percentage of your home that you use for business purposes. The simpler option permits you to deduct $5 per square foot for business use of your home up to 300 square feet.

#7. Residential Energy Credit

The residential energy-efficient property credit is an eco-friendly tax break for homeowners. The reward applies to home energy improvements such as implementing solar panels and wind turbines, among other energy-efficient upgrades.

It is possible to receive a tax credit of up to 30 percent of the cost of energy upgrades for homes built between 2012 and 2023. The credit will expire on December 31, 2023.

#8. Standard Deduction

When considering the available tax deductions for homeowners, it’s critical to pay close attention to the IRS’s standard deduction. If you choose the standard deduction, you agree to deduct a certain amount of money from your taxable income. With the standard deduction, there is no option for you to itemize your expenses.

Conclusion

The tax credit for buying a house in 2022 is still a bill and is yet to be approved by both houses of Congress before it can be passed This tax credit is still not available to new home buyers as of May 2022. However, you can contact an accountant or always check out the government websites for more information about the First-Time Homebuyers Tax Credit.

Tax Credit for Buying a House FAQs

How do I claim first time home buyer tax credit in Ontario?

To qualify for the Home Buyers’ Tax Credit, you (or your spouse or common-law partner) must purchase a qualifying home registered in your (or your spouse’s or common-law partner’s) name. It can be an existing property or one that is being built, and it can include single-family homes, townhouses, condo units, and other structures.

Who should itemize deductions?

You have the option of taking the standard deduction or itemizing your deductions. If the value of the expenses you can itemize exceeds the standard deduction, itemizing makes financial sense. You must also itemize to deduct mortgage interest, mortgage points, and SALT.

When can you claim home buyers amount?

If you’re a first-time home buyer, or if you have a disability, you’re eligible for a $5,000 non-refundable credit known as the Home Buyers’ Amount (HBA).

  1. MORTGAGE INTEREST DEDUCTION: Can You Deduct Mortgage Interest?
  2. It’s a Tough Market for New Homebuyers & Existing Homeowners
  3. Form 1098 Mortgage: The Interest Statement
  4. What Credit Score Do You Need to Buy a House: Best US Practices in 2022
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like