对彩票中奖征税多少

彩票中奖税

在您看到一美元之前,美国国税局将没收您的彩票奖金的 25%。 根据您居住的地方,最多可额外扣除 13% 的州税和地方税。 但是,鉴于最高联邦税率为 37%,您可能会在到期时欠更多税款。 因此,咨询可以在税收和投资策略方面提供帮助的金融专家将是彩票中奖者明智的第一步。 请参阅下文,了解有关联邦和州对彩票奖金征税的信息,以及有关彩票奖金税收及其计算方法的更多详细信息。

对彩票奖金征税 

毫无疑问,赢得彩票令人振奋,并且可以显着有益于中奖者的财务状况。 不过,中奖者必须小心,不要太快花掉所有的奖金——美国国税局像其他美国收入类型一样对彩票奖金征税。

对于联邦和州税,彩票奖金被视为常规应税收入。 获奖者收到的全部金额必须在每年的纳税申报表中披露,因为奖金的征税方式与工资或薪水相同。 然而,美国国税局在获胜者收到任何钱之前立即收取奖金的 24%。 获胜者必须在完成纳税申报表后支付剩余的奖金。

如何计算彩票中奖税

美国国税局将净彩票奖金视为常规应税收入。 因此,您将对扣除机票费用后剩余的金额缴纳联邦所得税。 美国国税局仅预扣 25%,因为金额取决于您的税级,而税级由您的奖金和其他收入来源决定。 当您在 XNUMX 月提交税款时,您将欠下剩余金额。

换句话说,假设您每年赚取 45,000 美元,并且中了 100,000 美元的彩票。 从您的彩票奖金中扣除 145,000 美元的联邦税后,您的总体普通应税收入现在总计 25,000 美元。 此外,您中奖的彩票将您的边际税率从 22% 提高到 24%。

145,000 美元并不意味着您必须缴纳 24% 的税。 只有超过 86,375 美元的收入部分适用该税率。 在这种情况下是 58,625 美元。 您欠税的总额为 995 美元(10 美元的 9,950%)加上 3,668.88 美元(12 美元的 30,574%)加上 10,086.78 美元(22 美元的 45,849%)和 18,851.76 美元(24 美元的 78,549%),总计 33,602.42 美元。 如果出于某种原因,您的公司没有像往常一样从您的工资中扣除联邦税,您仍将欠 8,602.42 美元的联邦税(33,602.42 美元 – 25,000 美元)。

当然,如果您在中奖时已经处于 37% 的税率范围内,那么您将不得不为中奖奖金支付最高边际税率。 但这些规定仅涵盖联邦所得税——此外,您所在的州和城市可能会提出要求。

联邦彩票税计算器

如果您认为肯塔基州对彩票奖金征收高税率,请做好准备。 与适用于所有超过 25 美元奖金的惊人的 5,000% 联邦彩票税率相比,肯塔基州算不了什么。

因此,对于一张 20 万美元的罚单,除了向联邦政府支付 1.2 万美元外,你还需要向肯塔基州支付 5 万美元。 您将向肯塔基州支付 60 万美元,并向联邦政府支付 250 亿美元,获得 1 亿美元的肯塔基现金球奖。

彩票奖金的税收是多少

如果您是幸运的彩票中奖者,您会想要深呼吸几下并保护好您的中奖彩票,对吧? 之后,您必须针对中奖的各种税收影响进行评估和征税。 为此,您可能应该聘请知识渊博的财务顾问。

这是因为美国国税局扣留了 24% 的彩票中奖者奖金。 如果中奖者选择领取 997.6 亿美元的一次性现金价值,他们将按最高税率缴纳联邦所得税,即 37%。 这位 2.04 亿美元的强力球头奖得主的彩票奖金将包含在他们 2022 年的联邦所得税申报表中。

到 2022 年,收入超过 539,900 美元的单身申报人和收入超过 647,850 美元的联合申报人将缴纳最高联邦所得税(或 37%)。 2023 年的联邦所得税税率已上调,以应对通货膨胀。

大多数州出于税收原因将彩票奖金作为收入征税,并且税率因州而异。 然而,考虑到强力球彩票头奖创纪录的数额,这位十亿美元头奖得主缴纳的州税可能仍然是一笔不小的数目。

州对彩票奖金征税

即使在为您的彩票奖金支付了联邦税之后,您可能还没有完蛋。 您也可能需要缴纳州税。 您应该咨询注册会计师或当地税务机关,以确定您所在州如何对彩票奖金征税,因为彩票费率和法规因州而异。 但是,州税率通常在 2.9% 到 8.8% 之间。

到 2022 年,九个州将不再征收州所得税。它们是怀俄明州、阿拉斯加州、佛罗里达州、内华达州、新罕布什尔州、南达科他州和田纳西州。 在这些州,您的彩票奖金不会被征税。

您应该知道,如果您在外州购买彩票,事情会变得有点复杂。 奖金通常由购买彩票的州征税。 假设您居住在南达科他州,这是一个没有所得税的州。 您前往北达科他州看望您的兄弟,并在那里买彩票。 您可能需要提交州纳税申报表,以寻求退还北达科他州从您缴纳的州所得税中扣缴的任何款项。

国家如何对彩票奖金征税?

当纳税时间到来时,一些州会扣除您的一部分彩票奖金。 根据您居住的地方,作品的大小会有所不同。 最大的咬合点,高达 13%,被大苹果占据。 那是因为纽约州的所得税最高可达8.82%,而纽约市最高可达3.876%。 扬克斯的税率较低,为 1.477%。 但是,如果您几乎居住在纽约州的任何其他地方,您最多只会看到 8.82% 的州税。

在有所得税的州,税率大约在 2.9% 到 8.82% 之间。 但是,有九个州不征收州所得税。 如下:

  • 阿拉斯加州
  • 佛罗里达
  • 内华达
  • 新汉普郡
  • 南达科他州
  • 田纳西
  • 德州
  • 华盛顿
  • 怀俄明

通常,如果您住在一个州并在另一个州购买机票,购买机票(并支付奖励)的州将按其税率预扣税款。 当税收季节到来时,您需要计算出您欠州的金额。

这些示例展示了在单笔付款中收到奖金的潜在后果。 但是,在大多数情况下,您可以选择通过一系列的月供来获得收入。

联邦彩票奖金税

如果您在 518,400 年的收入超过 2020 美元,则彩票奖金触发的最高税率为 37%。 但请记住,联邦税率是微不足道的,因此并非您所有的彩票奖金都适用 37% 的税率。

只有超过 518,400 美元的金额适用 37% 的税率。 即使您赢得了数百万美元,您仍然需要为您的前 9,875 美元纳税,为 12 美元至 9,876 美元的收入份额缴纳 40,125% 的税,依此类推。
您仍然可以申请扣除以降低您的税单并获得税收抵免以帮助您缴纳税款。

联邦和州如何对彩票奖金征税?

对于联邦和州税,彩票奖金被视为常规应税收入。 因此,您的奖金与您的薪水或工资一样需要缴纳相同的税款。 此外,您必须在每年的纳税申报表中包括您收到的总金额。

举例来说,假设您选择将彩票奖金作为年金支付,并在 50,000 年收到了 2019 美元。这笔钱必须在您的 2019 年纳税申报表中显示为收入。 但是,如果您选择在 2019 年获得一次性付款,则同样如此。 您还必须提供总金额。 税务计算器是实现这一目标的关键工具。

注意:在您收到一美元之前,美国国税局会自动扣留您所赢奖金的 25% 作为税金。 当您提交申报表时,您必须支付奖金的剩余税款。

美国对一次性支付的彩票奖金和年金支付的联邦和州税

大多数财务顾问建议您一次性付款,因为如果您将其投入具有高增长潜力的资产(例如股票),您可以获得更高的回报。 如果您赢了足够多的钱,您可能希望用它全部购买奢侈品,例如车辆、房屋或岛屿。

然而,小头奖中奖者可能更愿意按年或按月分期付款领取收入,主要是如果这样做会导致较低的纳税义务。 或者,他们可以选择持续的资金流动,以防止他们犯下花光全部或大部分收入的典型错误。 如果您接受按年或按月付款,您仍应咨询财务专家,了解投资该收入流的最佳方式。 例如,您在供款时应优先考虑您的退休储蓄账户。 如果您还没有,那么赢得乐透可能是开设罗斯账户或个人退休账户 (IRA) 的完美借口。

我怎样才能避免为博彩所得缴税?

赌博有赢家也有输家。 但如果他们不纳税,即使是赢家也会输! 美国国税局会将您从赌博或下注中赚取的任何款项视为应税收入和您赢得的任何物品的公平市场价值。 因此,不可能逃避对博彩收益征税。

国税局可以追踪赌博奖金吗?

您必须完整记录您的赌博收益和损失以及任何相关文书工作,例如门票、收据、付款单、报表和 W-2G 表格。 如果你想减去你的损失,你必须能够显示你的赢和输。

美国国税局如何知道您是否赌博?

如果它在新选项卡中打开,请记住 IRS 将收到一份您随奖金收到的 W-2G 表格的副本。 因此,美国国税局预计您将在纳税申报表上报告这些奖金。 如果你不这样做,税务员不会对你满意。

赌博奖金会影响我的社会保障吗?

收入税会影响您的社会保障退休金。 例如,赌博或彩票收入会影响社会保障退休金吗? 是的。 SSA 将赌博和彩票中奖视为非劳动收入,因此必须向 IRS 报告。

我可以注销赌博损失吗?

只有当您在附表 A(表格 1040)中逐项列出您的扣除额并跟踪您的赢利和损失时,赌博损失才有资格扣除。 扣除的赌博损失总额不能超过您在纳税申报表上申报的赌博奖金数额。

如果我输的多于赢的博彩税怎么办?

您可以注销的赌博损失总额不能超过您在纳税申报表上报告的赌博获胜次数。 作为“其他逐项扣除”,您可以注销您的赌博损失,最高可达您赢取的金额。

常见问题解答

强力球是如何征税的?

只有八个州不对彩票奖金征税:加利福尼亚州。 佛罗里达。

一次性抽奖好还是年金抽奖好?

选择一次性支付的获胜者可以避免长期的税收后果,并利用机会投资于股票和房地产等高收益金融产品。 长期年金支付选项可能会提供显着的税收优惠。 联邦税会立即减少彩票奖金。

如果你中了彩票,你应该做的第一件事是什么?

  • 不要吹嘘胜利。
  • 保护票证并制作副本。
  • 尽量保持匿名。
  • 确定您是否要建立信任。
  • 填写票证。
  • 一次性付款或年金。
  • 准备纳税。
  • 计划你的未来。

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

HOW MUCH ARE TAXES ON LOTTERY WINNINGS

TAXES ON LOTTERY WINNINGS

The IRS will seize 25% of your lottery winnings before you see a single dollar. Depending on where you live, state and local taxes could be deducted up to an extra 13%. However, given that the top federal tax rate is 37%, you’ll likely owe more when taxes are due. Therefore, consulting a financial expert who can offer assistance with tax and investment strategies would be a wise first step for a lottery winner. See below for information on federal and state taxes on lottery winnings and further details on taxes on lottery winnings and how to calculate them.

Taxes on Lottery Winnings 

Undoubtedly, winning the lottery is exhilarating and can significantly benefit the winner’s finances. Still, the winner must be careful not to spend all their winnings too quickly—the IRS taxes lottery winnings like other US income types.

For federal and state taxes, lottery winnings are considered regular taxable income. The whole amount a winner receives must be disclosed on their tax return each year since winnings are taxed in the same way as wages or salaries. However, the IRS takes 24% of the winnings immediately before the winner receives any money. The winner must pay the remaining winnings upon completing their tax return.

How To Calculate Taxes On Lottery Winnings

Net lottery winnings are regarded as regular taxable income by the IRS. You will therefore owe federal income taxes on the sum left over after deducting the cost of your ticket. The IRS only withholds 25% because the amount depends on your tax bracket, which is determined by your winnings and other sources of income. You’ll owe the remaining amount when you submit your taxes in April.

Say you earn $45,000 a year and a $100,000 lottery win, in other words. Your overall ordinary taxable income now totals $145,000 after deducting $25,000 from your lottery winnings for federal taxes. Additionally, your winning lottery ticket increased your marginal tax rate from 22% to 24%.

The $145,000 does not mean you must pay a 24% tax. Only the portion of your income above $86,375 is subject to that rate. That’s $58,625 in this instance. The total amount you would owe in taxes would be $995 (10% of $9,950) plus $3,668.88 (12% of $30,574) plus $10,086.78 (22% of $45,849) and $18,851.76 (24% of $78,549), which comes to $33,602.42. If, for some reason, your company didn’t deduct federal taxes from your pay, as usual, you would still owe $8,602.42 in federal taxes ($33,602.42 – $25,000).

Of course, you would have to pay the highest marginal rate on your win money if you were already in the 37% tax bracket when you won the lottery. But only federal income tax is covered by these provisions—also, possible requests from your state and city.

Federal Lottery Tax Calculator

If you believe Kentucky levies a high tax rate on lottery winnings, prepare yourself. Kentucky is nothing compared to the staggering 25 percent federal lottery tax rate applied to all winnings over $5,000.

Accordingly, on a $20 million ticket, you would pay the state of Kentucky $1.2 million in addition to $5 million for the federal government. You’ll pay Kentucky $60 million and the federal government $250 million on a $1 billion Kentucky Cash Ball prize.

How Much are Taxes On Lottery Winnings

You’ll want to take a few deep breaths and secure and protect your winning ticket if you’re the lucky lottery winner, right? After that, you must evaluate and make taxes for the various tax implications of winning the lottery. For this, you should probably engage with a knowledgeable financial counselor.

This is because the IRS withholds 24% of lottery winners’ winnings. If the winner of this lottery chose to receive the $997.6 million lump sum cash value, they would be liable to federal income tax at the highest rate, which is 37%. The $2.04 billion Powerball jackpot winner’s lottery winnings would be included on their 2022 federal income tax return.

For 2022, single filers who earn more than $539,900 and joint filers who earn more than $647,850 are subject to the top federal income tax bracket (or 37%). The federal income tax brackets have been raised for 2023 to account for inflation.

Most states tax lottery winnings as income for tax reasons, and tax rates vary from state to state. However, considering the record-breaking magnitude of the Powerball lottery jackpot, the billion-dollar jackpot winner’s state taxes might still be a sizable sum.

State Taxes on Lottery Winnings

Even after paying federal taxes on your lottery winnings, you might not be finished. State tax may also be due from you. You should consult a CPA or local taxing authorities to determine how your state taxes lottery winnings, as the lottery rates and regulations, differ from one state to the next. However, state tax rates typically range from 2.9 to 8.8 percent.

Nine states will not have a state income tax as of 2022. They are Wyoming, Alaska, Florida, Nevada, New Hampshire, South Dakota, and Tennessee. Your lottery winnings won’t be taxed in these states.

You should be aware that things become a little more complicated if you purchase your lottery ticket while out of state. Winnings are frequently taxed by the state where the lottery ticket was purchased. Imagine you reside in South Dakota, a state without an income tax. You travel to North Dakota to see your brother and pick up a lottery ticket while you’re there. You might need to submit a state tax return to seek a refund of any money North Dakota withheld from your pay for state income tax.

How Does the State tax Lottery Winnings?

Some states will deduct a portion of your lottery winnings when tax time comes around. Depending on where you live, the size of the piece varies. The most significant bite, up to 13%, is taken by The Big Apple. That’s because the income tax in New York State can be up to 8.82%, and the one in New York City can be up to 3.876%. Yonkers has lower taxes of 1.477%. However, you would only be looking at 8.82% in state taxes at most if you resided practically anyplace else in New York State.

In states with income taxes, Rates can range from roughly 2.9% to 8.82%. However, nine states do not impose a state income tax. As follows:

  • Alaska
  • Florida
  • Nevada
  • Hampshire, New
  • Dakota, South
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Washington
  • Wyoming

Usually, the state where the ticket was purchased (and the reward was paid) will withhold its taxes at its rate if you live in one state and buy a ticket in another. When tax season rolls around, you’ll need to figure out how much you owe to your state.

These examples demonstrate the potential consequences of receiving your winnings in a single payment. However, you can, most of the time, choose to get your income in a series of monthly payments.

Taxes On Lottery Winnings Federal

If you made more than $518,400 in 2020, the maximum tax rate triggered by lottery winnings is 37%. But remember that the federal tax rates are marginal, so not all of your lottery winnings will be subject to the 37% tax rate.

Only the amount over $518,400 is subject to the 37% rate. You will still have to pay taxes on your first $9,875, 12% on the $9,876 to $40,125 share of your income, and so on, even if you win millions.
You can still claim deductions to lower your tax bill and get tax credits to help pay your taxes.

How are Lottery Winnings Taxed Under Federal and State?

For federal and state taxes, lottery winnings are considered regular taxable income. Therefore, your winnings are subject to the same taxation as your salary or wage. Additionally, you must include the total amount you receive on your tax return each year.

Let’s say, for illustration, that you chose to receive your lottery winnings as annuity payments and received $50,000 in 2019. That money must be shown as income on your 2019 tax return. But if you chose to get a lump-sum amount in 2019, the same holds. You must also provide the total sum. A tax calculator is a crucial tool for this.

Note: The IRS automatically withholds 25% of your winnings as tax money before you receive a single dollar. When you submit your return, you must pay the remaining tax bill on the prize money.

Federal and State Tax for Lottery Winnings on Lump Sum and Annuity Payments in the USA

Most financial consultants advise you to take a lump payment since it enables you to earn a higher return if you put it in assets with high potential for growth, like equities. If you win enough money, you might wish to utilize it all to purchase a luxury item like a vehicle, house, or island.

Small jackpot winners, however, can prefer to receive their earnings in yearly or monthly installments, mainly if doing so will result in lower tax liabilities. Or they could choose the consistent flow of money to prevent them from making the typical error of blowing through all or the majority of their earnings. If you accept yearly or monthly payments, you should still consult a financial expert about the best way to invest in that income stream. For instance, you should prioritize your retirement savings account when making contributions. If you don’t already have one, winning the lotto could be the perfect excuse to start a Roth or individual retirement account (IRA).

How can I avoid paying taxes on gambling winnings?

There are winners and losers in gambling. But if they don’t pay their taxes, even winners can lose! The IRS will treat any money you earn from gambling or wagering as taxable income and the fair market value of any items you win. Therefore, it is impossible to escape paying taxes on gaming gains.

Can IRS track gambling winnings?

You must maintain thorough records of your gambling gains and losses and any relevant paperwork, such as tickets, receipts, payment slips, statements, and Form W-2G. If you want to subtract your losses, you must be able to show both your wins and losses.

How does the IRS know if you gamble?

If it opens in a new tab, remember that the IRS will receive a copy of the W-2G form you receive with your winnings. The IRS, therefore, anticipates that you will report those winnings on your tax return. The taxman won’t be pleased with you if you don’t.

Will gambling winnings affect my Social Security?

Taxes on income have an impact on your Social Security retirement payments. For instance, do earnings from gambling or lotteries influence Social Security retirement payments? Yes. The SSA regards gambling and lottery win as unearned income, so they must be reported to the IRS.

Can I write off gambling losses?

Only if you itemize your deductions on Schedule A (Form 1040) and keep track of your winnings and losses are gambling losses eligible for deduction. The total amount of gambling losses deducted cannot exceed the number of gambling winnings declared on your tax return.

What if I lost more than I won gambling taxes?

The total amount of gambling losses you can write off can’t be more than the number of gambling wins you reported on your tax return. As “Other Itemized Deductions,” you can write off your gambling losses up to the amount you won.

Frequently Asked Questions

How is Powerball taxed?

Only eight states do not impose taxes on lottery winnings: California. Florida.

Is it better to take lump sum or annuity lottery?

Winners who opt for a lump-sum payout can avoid long-term tax consequences and take advantage of the opportunity to invest in high-yield financial products like stocks and real estate. A long-term annuity payout option may offer significant tax advantages. Federal taxes immediately reduce Lottery winnings.

What is the first thing you should do if you win the lottery?

  • Don’t brag about victory.
  • Secure the ticket and make duplicates of it.
  • Try to stay anonymous.
  • Determine whether you want to create trust.
  • Fill out the ticket.
  • Lump sum or annuity.
  • Be ready to pay taxes.
  • Plan your future.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like