抵押利息扣除:您可以扣除抵押利息吗?

抵押利息扣除

许多房主在报税季期待一件事:扣除抵押贷款利息。 这包括为您的主要或次要房屋担保的贷款支付的任何利息。 抵押贷款、二次抵押贷款、房屋净值贷款或房屋净值信用额度都是这方面的例子 (HELOC)。 继续阅读以了解有关房屋抵押贷款利息扣除的更多信息,了解是否可以扣除以及如何在今年的税款中申报。

什么是抵押贷款利息扣除?

抵押贷款利息扣除是对已支付的抵押贷款利息进行的逐项扣除。 它降低了家庭的应税收入,从而降低了他们的总税收负担。 《减税和就业法》限制了符合扣除条件的贷款类型,并降低了可以扣除的本金金额。

2022年抵押贷款利息扣除如何运作?

抵押贷款利息扣除允许您通过您在这一年支付的抵押贷款利息金额来减少您的应税收入。 因此,如果您有抵押贷款,请保持细致的记录——您为抵押贷款支付的利息可能有助于减轻您的税负。

如前所述,您通常可以在纳税年度为您的第一套房或第二套房扣除首笔 1 万美元的抵押贷款利息。 如果您是在 15 年 2017 月 750,000 日之后购买的房子,您可以扣除您全年支付的首笔 XNUMX 美元抵押贷款的利息。

例如,如果您在 800,000 年获得了 2017 美元的抵押贷款以购买房产,然后在 25,000 年支付了 2021 美元的贷款利息,那么您大概可以在纳税申报表中扣除所有 25,000 美元的抵押贷款利息。 但是,如果您在 800,000 年有 2021 美元的抵押贷款,则该扣除额可能会减少。 这是因为 2017 年减税和就业法案将扣除额限制在首笔 750,000 美元的抵押贷款利息。

15 年 2017 月 1 日的最后期限有豁免:如果您在该日期之前签订了一份具有约束力的书面合同,在 2018 年 1 月 2018 日之前关闭,并且您在 16 年 2017 月 XNUMX 日之前关闭了房子,IRS 会认为您的于 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日前取得抵押贷款。

你可以扣除抵押贷款利息吗?

您每月按揭付款的利息部分并不是您可以从税单中扣除的唯一利息。 根据美国国税局的说法,还有更多类别的可扣除利息需要考虑:

  • 抵押点,也称为预付利息,在交易结束时支付。
  • 与特定贷款服务无关的滞纳金罚款
  • 如果您提前归还贷款,将适用提前还款罚款。
  • 抵押贷款利息在销售日期之前支付。
  • 参与受灾最严重基金和紧急房主贷款计划会产生利息。

抵押贷款利息扣除如何可能无益

减税和就业法案 (TCJA) 将单身纳税人的标准扣除额提高到 12,200 美元,已婚夫妇共同申报的标准扣除额提高到 24,400 美元。 在 12,550 纳税年度,单一申报人的标准扣除额已增加到 25,100 美元,联合申报人的标准扣除额已增加到 2021 美元。 在 TCJA 之前,单身申报者的标准扣除额为 6,350 美元,已婚夫妇共同申报的标准扣除额为 12,700 美元。

TCJA 的目标之一是让报税更容易,而这种大规模的增长使得逐项扣除,包括抵押贷款利息,已经过时了。 对许多人来说,采用标准扣除的税收效率要高得多。

事实上,只有当您有大额抵押贷款或两笔抵押贷款(因为您有第二套房子)时,才值得申请抵押贷款利息扣除。 换句话说,在大多数情况下,扣除是给富人的礼物。 然而,精明的投资者或许能够利用这一减免优惠。

房屋净值贷款是否可以扣除抵押贷款?

抵押贷款利息扣除允许您扣除房屋净值贷款支付的利息。 没错,同样的扣除规则适用于第二抵押贷款,也称为房屋净值贷款和 HELOC。

只有当您将资金用于购买、开发或大幅改善您的主要或次要住宅时,您才能扣除为房屋净值贷款或信用额度支付的利息。 用于合并债务、支付大学费用或为其他财务目的提供资金的第二抵押贷款不符合抵押贷款扣除的条件。

适用于单独申报的单身纳税人和已婚纳税人的相同货币限额(分别为 750,000 美元和 375,000 美元)适用于您的主要住房或第二住房担保的贷款总额。 包括第一和第二抵押贷款。

例如,如果您是单身,并且您的主要住房有 500,000 美元的抵押贷款加上 300,000 美元的 HELOC,那么您的总抵押贷款债务为 800,000 美元。 但是,您可以只扣除该总额中前 750,000 美元所支付的利息。

什么构成可扣除的抵押贷款利息?

您支付的一些款项可能被视为抵押贷款利息。 这里有一些要考虑的减法。

#1。 您主要房屋的抵押贷款利息

该属性可以是房屋、合作公寓、公寓、公寓、移动房屋、船屋或其他东西。 但是,如果房屋缺乏基本的生活设施,如睡眠、烹饪和厕所设施,则不符合资格。 该财产还必须申报为从中扣除利息的贷款的抵押品。 如果您获得抵押贷款以购买离婚时前任的部分财产,也可以使用此扣除额。

如果您从军队或政府部门获得免税住房津贴,或者您通过州获得援助 住房金融机构受灾最严重的基金,紧急房主贷款计划或其他援助计划,您仍然可以扣除抵押贷款利息。 但是,您只能扣除您支付的利息。 您不能扣除其他实体代表您支付的利息。

#2。 第二套房子的抵押贷款利息

只要第二套房子被宣布为抵押贷款的抵押品,这项税收减免就可以用于不是您主要住所的房屋的抵押贷款。 如果您出租第二套房子,则需要注意另一个警告。 您必须在家中居住至少 14 天或出租天数的 10%,以较大者为准。 如果您拥有超过一套房,您只能扣除其中一套房的利息。

#3。 您已支付抵押贷款积分

当您进行抵押贷款时,您可以选择购买抵押贷款点数。 这些积分会提前支付您的部分贷款利息。 每个点,通常花费大约 1% 的抵押贷款金额,可以为您节省大约 25% 的抵押贷款利率。 抵押点在关闭时支付。 他们必须直接支付给贷方才有资格获得扣除。 在某些情况下,积分可能会在获得积分的年份扣除。 否则,您必须在贷款期限内按比例扣除它们。 如果您有任何疑问,您应该寻求税务专家的意见。

#4。 按揭逾期还款罚款

只要不是针对特定服务,滞纳金可以作为房屋抵押贷款利息扣除。 然而,仅仅因为你可以扣除这个,你永远不应该延迟支付抵押贷款。 这样做可能会导致信用评分损失以及其他处罚。

#5。 提前付款的处罚

如果您提前还清抵押贷款,某些贷方会向您收费。 如果您必须支付预付罚款,您可以扣除抵押贷款利息。 但是,罚款必须是由于提前还清贷款而产生的。 它不能因服务或因贷款而产生的额外费用而产生。 Rocket Mortgage® 不收取预付罚款。

#6。 房屋净值贷款利息

房屋净值贷款是根据您的房屋净值借来的钱。 您可以将其作为固定金额或信用额度获得。 要获得房屋净值贷款的利息,贷款中的资金必须用于购买、建造或“大幅翻新”您的房屋。 如果资金用于其他原因,例如购买汽车或偿还信用卡债务,则利息不可扣除。

#7。 出售房屋前支付利息

如果您出售房屋,您仍然可以扣除房屋之前支付的任何利息。 因此,如果您在 XNUMX 月出售了房屋,您可以扣除 XNUMX 月至 XNUMX 月或 XNUMX 月支付的利息,具体取决于您最后一次支付房屋抵押贷款的时间。

#8。 按揭保险费

如果您的调整后总收入 (AGI) 低于 100,000 美元,同时提交单身、联合或作为户主,则抵押保险费可以全额扣除。 超过 100,000 美元,将逐步淘汰(如果已婚分开申报,则为 50,000 美元)。 FHA MIP、传统的私人抵押保险、USDA 担保费和 VA 资金费用都是合格抵押保险的例子。

尽管这项扣除最初被 TCJA 废除,但国会将其延长至 2020 纳税年度。 因此,它允许任何在 2021 年春季提交申请的人扣除他们的抵押贷款保险费。 然而,国会尚未决定是否在 2022 年更新减免。

什么不能抵税?

当您购买并拥有房屋时,抵押贷款利息并不是您将拥有的唯一费用。 许多人认为这些额外费用可以免税,但事实并非如此。 以下是一些被错误归类为免​​税的最典型成本的摘要:

  • 房主保险
  • 其他过户费用,例如产权保险
  • 搬家费用(除非您是现役军人)
  • 您没收了存款、首付或定金。
  • 反向抵押贷款的利率。 您不能扣除在贷款到期之前不支付的利息,因为您在贷款到期之前不支付利息。
  • 在购买完成前居住在家中时支付的任何款项。 这些付款被归类为租金。

请记住,抵押贷款的利息只有在使用贷款获得的房屋用作担保时才能扣除。 例如,如果您拥有出租物业并借用它来购买房屋,则利息不符合条件,因为房屋不用作抵押品(而是出租物业)。

2022年如何申请房屋按揭利息扣除

通过采取以下程序在您的 2022 年税单上申请抵押贷款利息扣除,为报税季做好准备:

#1。 出席以接收您的抵押贷款利息税表。

检查您的 1 表第 1098 栏中支付的利息。如果您支付的利息少于 600 美元,您不太可能获得此文件。

#2。 决定是否要逐项列出或采用标准扣除。

将您的标准扣除额与您的总可扣除抵押贷款利息以及适用于您的任何其他扣除额进行比较。 这将帮助您确定您是采用标准扣除还是逐项扣除是否更好。 如果您的全部逐项扣除金额未超过您的报税身份的标准扣除金额,您将不会逐项列出您的扣除额。

#3。 您的房屋抵押贷款利息应逐项列出。

如果您的逐项扣除的总和超过标准扣除水平,您将在纳税申报表的附表 A 中申请抵押贷款利息扣除和您有资格获得的任何额外扣除。

在结论

有关提交 2022 年纳税申报表的更多信息,请联系您的财务顾问或税务专业人士。 他们可以提供有关您的抵押贷款利息扣除的更多信息。 他们还可以帮助您根据您的贷款类型和财务状况确定要扣除的金额。

另一种省钱的方法是 为您的抵押贷款再融资 以获得更好的条件。 如果您有兴趣,请在利率仍处于低位时立即行动。

按揭利息扣除常见问题

为什么我不能扣除我的抵押贷款利息?

如果贷款不是由您的房屋担保,则被归类为个人贷款,您支付的利息通常不可扣除。 您的房屋抵押贷款必须由您的第二套房或第二套房担保。 您不能扣除第三个、第四个或第五个房屋的抵押贷款利息。

你还能从你的税款中扣除抵押贷款利息吗?

因此,如果您有抵押贷款,请保持细致的记录——您为抵押贷款支付的利息可能有助于减轻您的税负。 如前所述,您通常可以在纳税年度为您的第一套房或第二套房扣除首笔 1 万美元的抵押贷款利息。

摆脱 PMI 值得吗?

如果您的储蓄超过您的再融资结算费用,则值得再融资以取消 PMI 抵押贷款保险。 当前的低利率环境提供了一个机会,可以摆脱较高利率的贷款,同时减少抵押贷款保险。

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

MORTGAGE INTEREST DEDUCTION: Can You Deduct Mortgage Interest?

Mortgage Interest Deduction

Many homeowners look forward to one thing during tax season: deducting mortgage interest. This includes any interest paid on a loan secured by your primary or secondary house. A mortgage, a second mortgage, a home equity loan, or a home equity line of credit are all examples of this (HELOC). Continue reading to learn more about the home mortgage interest deduction, know if can deduct it and how to claim it on your taxes this year.

What Is a Mortgage Interest Deduction?

The mortgage interest deduction is an itemized deduction for mortgage interest paid. It lowers households’ taxable income and, as a result, their total tax burden. The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act limited the types of loans that qualified for the deduction and lowered the amount of principal that could be deducted.

How Does the Mortgage Interest Deduction Work In 2022?

The mortgage interest deduction allows you to decrease your taxable income by the amount of mortgage interest you paid during the year. So, if you have a mortgage, keep meticulous records – the interest you pay on your mortgage may assist reduce your tax burden.

As previously stated, you can generally deduct mortgage interest paid during the tax year on the first $1 million of mortgage debt for your primary home or a second home. If you bought the house after December 15, 2017, you can deduct the interest you paid on the first $750,000 of the mortgage throughout the year.

For example, if you acquired an $800,000 mortgage to buy a property in 2017, and then paid $25,000 in interest on that loan during 2021, you can presumably deduct all $25,000 of that mortgage interest on your tax return. However, if you have an $800,000 mortgage in 2021, that deduction may be reduced. This is because the 2017 Tax Cuts and Jobs Act limited the deduction to the first $750,000 in mortgage interest.

There is an exemption to the Dec. 15, 2017, deadline: If you entered into a written binding contract before that date to close before Jan. 1, 2018, and you closed on the house before April 1, 2018, the IRS considers your mortgage to have been obtained before Dec. 16, 2017.

Can You Deduct Mortgage Interest?

The interest component of your monthly mortgage payment isn’t the only sort of interest you can deduct from your tax bill. According to the IRS, there are several more categories of deductible interest to consider:

  • Mortgage points, also known as prepaid interest, are paid at the time of closing.
  • Late payment penalties that are unrelated to a specific loan service
  • Prepayment penalties are applied if you return your loan early.
  • The mortgage interest was paid prior to the sale date.
  • Participation in the Hardest Hit Fund and emergency homeowner loan programs result in interest payments.

How the Mortgage Interest Deduction May Not Be Beneficial

The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA) increased the standard deduction for single taxpayers to $12,200 and for married couples filing jointly to $24,400. The standard deduction has been increased to $12,550 for single filers and $25,100 for joint filers for the 2021 tax year. Prior to the TCJA, the standard deduction was $6,350 for single filers and $12,700 for married couples filing jointly.

One of the aims of the TCJA was to make tax filing easier, and this massive rise makes itemizing deductions, including mortgage interest, obsolete. For many people, taking the standard deduction is significantly more tax-efficient.

Indeed, claiming the mortgage interest deduction is only worthwhile if you have a large mortgage or two mortgages (because you have a second home). In other words, in most cases, the deduction is a gift to the wealthy. However, astute investors may be able to take advantage of this deduction break.

Is a Mortgage Deduction Available for Home Equity Loans?

The mortgage interest deduction allows you to deduct the interest paid on a home equity loan. That’s true, the same deduction rules apply to second mortgages, also known as home equity loans and HELOCs.

You can deduct the interest paid on home equity loans or lines of credit only if you used the funds to buy, develop, or substantially improve your primary or secondary residence. Second mortgages used to consolidate debt, pay for college, or fund another financial purpose are ineligible for the mortgage deduction.

The same monetary limits that apply to single taxpayers and married taxpayers filing separately — $750,000 and $375,000, respectively — apply to the total amount of loans secured by your primary home or second home. First and second mortgages are included.

For example, if you’re single and have a $500,000 mortgage on your primary home plus a $300,000 HELOC, your total mortgage debt is $800,000. However, you can deduct just the interest paid on the first $750,000 of that total amount.

What Constitutes Deductible Mortgage Interest?

A few payments you make may be considered mortgage interest. Here are a few to think about subtracting.

#1. Mortgage Interest On Your Primary home

This property could be a house, co-op, apartment, condo, mobile home, houseboat, or something else. However, the home will not qualify if it lacks basic living amenities such as sleeping, cooking, and toilet facilities. The property must also be declared as collateral for the loan from which interest payments are being deducted. This deduction can also be used if you secured a mortgage to buy out an ex’s part of the property in a divorce.

If you get a non-taxable housing allowance from the military or a ministry, or if you have received assistance through a State Housing Finance Agency Hardest Hit Fund, an Emergency Homeowners’ Loan Program, or other assistance programs, you can still deduct mortgage interest. You can, however, only deduct the interest you pay. You cannot deduct interest paid by another entity on your behalf.

#2. Mortgage Interest On A Second Home

This tax deduction can be used on a mortgage for a home that is not your primary residence as long as the second home is declared as collateral for the mortgage. Another caveat applies if you rent out your second home. You must dwell in the home for at least 14 days or 10% of the days you rent it out, whichever is greater. If you own more than one second home, you can only deduct interest on one of them.

#3. You Have Paid Mortgage Points

When you take out a mortgage, you may have the option of purchasing mortgage points. These points pay a portion of your loan interest in advance. Each point, which normally costs roughly 1% of the mortgage amount, can save you about.25 percent on your mortgage rate. Mortgage points are paid at the time of closing. They must be paid directly to the lender in order to be eligible for the deduction. In some cases, points might be deducted in the year they are earned. Otherwise, you must deduct them ratably over the life of the loan. If you have any questions, you should seek the advice of a tax specialist.

#4. Mortgage Late Payment Penalties

Late payment charges can be deducted as home mortgage interest as long as they are not for a specific service. However, just because you can deduct this, you should never make late mortgage payments. Doing so might result in credit score loss as well as other penalties.

#5. Penalties for Early Payment

If you pay off your mortgage early, certain lenders will charge you. You can deduct mortgage interest if you have to pay a prepayment penalty. However, the penalty must be incurred as a result of paying off the loan early. It cannot be incurred as a result of a service or additional cost incurred as a result of the loan. Prepayment penalties are not charged by Rocket Mortgage®.

#6. Home Equity Loan Interest

A home equity loan is money borrowed against the equity of your home. You can get it as a flat sum or as a line of credit. To qualify for the interest on a home equity loan, the money from the loan must be used to buy, build, or “significantly renovate” your home. The interest is not deductible if the funds are utilized for other reasons, such as purchasing a car or paying off credit card debt.

#7. Paid Interest Prior to Selling Your Home

If you sell your home, you can still deduct any interest paid prior to the home. So, if you sold your home in June, you can deduct interest paid from January to May or June, depending on when you made your last mortgage payment on the home.

#8. Mortgage Insurance Fees

Mortgage insurance premiums are fully deductible if your adjusted gross income (AGI) is less than $100,000 while filing single, jointly, or as head of household. Above $100,000, there is a phaseout ($50,000 if married filing separately). FHA MIP, conventional private mortgage insurance, USDA guarantee fees, and the VA funding charge are all examples of qualified mortgage insurance.

Although this deduction was initially repealed by the TCJA, Congress extended it through the 2020 tax year. Thus, it allows anyone who filed in the spring of 2021 to deduct their mortgage insurance premiums. However, Congress has yet to decide whether to renew the deduction in 2022.

What Isn’t Tax Deductible?

When you buy and own a home, mortgage interest isn’t the only expense you’ll have. Many people believe that these additional expenses are tax-deductible, however, they are not. Here is a summary of some of the most typical costs that are misclassified as tax-deductible:

  • Homeowners Insurance
  • Other closing expenses, such as title insurance
  • Moving costs (unless you are an active-duty military member)
  • You forfeited deposits, down payments, or earnest money.
  • A reverse mortgage’s interest rate. You can’t deduct interest you don’t pay until the loan is due since you don’t pay it until the loan is due.
  • Any payments made while residing in the home prior to the purchase’s completion. These payments are classified as rent.

Remember that the interest on a mortgage loan is only deductible if the home acquired with the loan is used as security. For instance, if you possess a rental property and borrow against it to buy a home, the interest does not qualify because the home is not used as collateral (the rental property is instead).

How to Claim the Home Mortgage Interest Deduction in 2022

Prepare for tax season by taking the following procedures to claim the mortgage interest deduction on your 2022 tax bill:

#1. Attend to Receive Your Mortgage Interest Tax Form.

Examine the interest paid in Box 1 of your Form 1098. You are unlikely to obtain this paper if you paid less than $600 in interest.

#2. Decide if You Want to Itemize or Take the Standard Deduction.

Compare your standard deduction amount to your total deductible mortgage interest, as well as any other deductions that apply to you. This will assist you in determining whether it is better for you to take the standard deduction or itemize your deductions. You would not itemize your deductions if your entire itemized deduction amount did not surpass the standard deduction amount for your tax filing status.

#3. Your Home Mortgage Interest Should Be Itemized.

If the sum of your itemized deductions exceeds the standard deduction level, you would claim the mortgage interest deduction and any additional deductions you qualify for on Schedule A of your tax return.

In conclusion

For more information about filing your 2022 tax return, contact your financial advisor or a tax professional. They can provide additional information regarding your mortgage interest deduction. They can also assist you in determining what to deduct based on your loan type and financial position.

Another approach to saving money is to refinance your mortgage to get better terms. If you’re interested, act now while interest rates are still low.

Mortgage Interest Deduction FAQs

Why can't I deduct my mortgage interest?

If the loan is not secured by your home, it is classified as a personal loan, and the interest you pay is typically not deductible. Your home mortgage must be secured by either your second home or secondary home. You cannot deduct mortgage interest on a third, fourth, or fifth home.

Can you still deduct mortgage interest on your taxes?

So, if you have a mortgage, keep meticulous records – the interest you pay on your mortgage may assist reduce your tax burden. As previously stated, you can generally deduct mortgage interest paid during the tax year on the first $1 million of mortgage debt for your primary home or a second home.

Is getting rid of PMI worth it?

If your savings outweigh your refinance closing expenses, it’s worth refinancing to remove PMI mortgage insurance. The current low-interest rate environment provides an opportunity to get out of a loan with higher interest rates while simultaneously reducing mortgage insurance.

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like