通货膨胀如何影响利率?:通货膨胀对利率的影响

通货膨胀如何影响利率
图片来源:福布斯

价格长期下跌(称为通货紧缩)可能对经济造成更大的破坏。 美联储的目标是实现正通胀率,这被定义为商品和服务价格总体水平的上升。 中央银行降低利率以应对经济放缓的能力也得益于通胀和利率的正值。 本文将阐明一个经济体的通货膨胀率如何影响您的利率,当它确实影响它时,我们将知道通货膨胀可能对您的利率产生多种影响,为什么利率会因通货膨胀率上升,什么稍后发生,最后,利率上升如何帮助通货膨胀?

通货膨胀如何影响利率?

首先,在我们深入探讨通货膨胀如何影响利率的细节之前,我希望我们独立研究通货膨胀和利率的含义。 借钱的成本就是我们所说的利率。 另一方面,通货膨胀是一国经济中商品和服务价格的上涨。 

但是,当前的利率是波动的,不同类型的贷款有不同的利率。 例如,如果您是贷款人、借款人或两者兼而有之,那么了解这些变化和差异为何会不时发生至关重要。 它们还对包括白银在内的稀有金属市场产生重大影响。 你为应对通胀上升而采取的行动非常重要,目前为避免通胀而采取的这些行动的总和为 9%,我们也预计它会在秋季进一步上升。 这是因为我们已经预计价格上涨将持续到 2022 年。

了解通货膨胀如何影响利率

现在流行且令人困惑的问题是,为什么通胀上升会影响利率? 了解两者之间的联系将有助于增加您的资金。 但是,当您想检查价格是否上涨时,您需要检查一篮子产品的价格在过去一年中是上涨还是下跌。 衡量通货膨胀的消费者价格指数 (CPI) 在 9 年 31 月 2022 日为 180,000%。他们只需根据客户通常购买的商品选择约 XNUMX 种产品和服务,就可以得出这一结果。

消费者价格指数(CPI)是最常用的通货膨胀指标,用于衡量这一“篮子”商品的整体价格。 这是因为人们的喜好和消费习惯会随着时间而波动。 虚拟篮子每年都会重新评估。

通货膨胀的影响

通货膨胀被描述为经济中总体价格水平的长期上涨。 它对经济决策产生不成比例的不利影响并降低购买力。 然而,它确实有一个积极的影响,那就是它可以防止通货紧缩。 通货膨胀可能对我们的业务产生影响的方式是我们在这部分帖子中的重点。

然而,值得注意的是,这些后果或影响将受到通货膨胀率的影响。 例如,2% 的税率不会产生与每年 100% 的税率相同的影响。 因此,我们将关注通胀率持续超过 2% 的后果。

#1。 货币贬值

随着商品价格的上涨,货币失去了价值。 这是通货膨胀的影响之一。 例如,由于通货膨胀,如果您将 1 美元放在枕头下 10 年,您将无法像今天那样购买那么多。

当我们比较美元从 1980 年到 2019 年的价值时,我们可以看到它已经损失了一半以上的价值。 换句话说,今天的一美元可以购买的产品和服务数量是 30 年前的一半。 所以,如果你在 1,000 年把 1980 美元放在床下,现在它的价值还不到 500 美元。

#2。 不等式

通货膨胀主要对低收入家庭产生许多影响。 这是因为他们花费了大部分收入。 因此,价格上涨通常会侵蚀他们更多的收入。 例如,当食物和衣服等基本必需品的成本上升时,穷人别无选择,只能支付。

因此,随着更富有的人积累更多资产,不平等加剧。 他们拥有更多的房地产、股票和其他资产。 这意味着当通货膨胀发生时,这些资产的价值会超过面包、牛奶、鸡蛋等日常用品的价值。 结果,他们最终拥有比以前更多的财富,从而使他们能够购买更多的商品和服务。 另一方面,低收入家庭被迫增加开支以维持生计。

#3。 通缩压力降低 

为了实现物价稳定和就业最大化的目标,美联储希望实现 2% 的长期通胀率。 它的目标是适度的通货膨胀,而不是稳定的价格,因为略微正的通货膨胀率会润滑商业的车轮,如果通货膨胀被低估,就会产生误差,并且可以阻止通货紧缩,而通货紧缩比类似的通货膨胀更不稳定。

通货膨胀允许贷方收取利息,以补偿由于通货膨胀而导致的还款价值贬值的可能性。 借款人可以通过使用膨胀货币进行未来还款,从而潜在地从通货膨胀中受益。 另一方面,通货紧缩使偿还债务的实际成本更高,因为借款人的收入可能会减少。

#4。 加息加息 

正如上面的例子所示,政府和中央银行对控制通胀有着浓厚的兴趣。 货币政策已被用于管理美国和世界各地的通货膨胀。 当通胀影响威胁超过中央银行的目标(工业化经济体通常为 2%,新兴经济体通常为 3% 至 4%)时,当局可能会提高最低利率,通过限制货币供应来增加整个经济体的借贷成本。

#5。 它促进增长和就业

在短期内,较高的通胀可能会导致短期内更强劲的经济增长。 虽然 1970 年代被称为滞胀十年,但在 1970 年至 1979 年间,美国的实际国内生产总值 (GDP) 平均每年增长 3.2%,远高于此后经济的平均增长率。

通货膨胀压力会阻碍储蓄,因为它会随着时间的推移侵蚀储蓄的购买价值。 由于这一承诺,消费者和企业都可能会被吸引消费和投资。

#6。 它可能导致难以忍受的经济衰退

通胀与失业权衡的问题在于,长期接受更高的通胀来保障就业可能会提高通胀预期,从而引发价格上涨和工资上涨的通胀螺旋。 美联储被迫大幅提高利率并在更长时间内维持高利率,以恢复失去的信心并说服所有人相信它可以控制通胀。 结果,失业率上升,并且比美联储不允许通胀失控的情况持续更长的时间。

为什么利率会上升?

利率上升有助于通过抑制消费者支出来为过热的经济降温,从而导致对商品和服务的需求下降以及价格下降。 利率水平将受到通货膨胀的影响。 通货膨胀率越高,利率上升的可能性就越大。

因此,利息可以被视为一个组织的费用和收入来源。 它可以表明将钱作为现金存放在床垫下而不是借出的机会成本或错失的机会。

此外,如果您借钱,您必须支付的利息可能低于放弃立即取钱的能力的成本。 导致利率上升的一些因素包括:

#1。 通货膨胀 

利率水平将受到通货膨胀的影响。 通货膨胀率越高,利率上升的可能性就越大。 发生这种情况是因为贷方将要求更高的利率,以补偿他们所支付的钱的购买力最终损失。

#2。 需求与供应 

利率由信贷的供给和需求决定,即货币或信贷需求的增加会提高利率,而信贷需求的下降会降低利率。 相反,信贷供应的增加会降低利率,而信贷供应的减少会提高利率。

#3。 政府 

政府对利率的变化有发言权。 美国联邦储备委员会(美联储)经常就货币政策将如何影响利率发表声明。 

联邦基金利率,或银行对极短期贷款相互收取的利率,会影响银行对其贷款收取的利率。 这个利率最终会进入其他短期贷款利率。 美联储通过“公开市场交易”影响这些利率。

当兴趣上升时会发生什么

提高联邦基金目标利率的目的是提高整个经济的信贷成本。 更高的利率使公司和消费者的贷款成本更高,从而导致每个人的利息支付增加。 

那些不能或不希望额外分期付款的人可能会推迟需要融资的项目。 它鼓励人们存钱以赚取更大的利息。 这减少了流通中的货币数量,这往往会降低通货膨胀并限制经济活动——换句话说,会使经济降温。 以下是利息上升时通常会发生的情况的列表。 他们包括 

#1。 股市效应 

当利率上升时,大多数市场的利率上升,可能对股市不利。 当美联储提高利率时,公共(和私营)企业的借贷成本会上升。 随着时间的推移,更高的成本和更少的业务可能会导致上市公司的收入和盈利能力下降,从而影响其增长率和股票价值。

#2。 储蓄账户和银行存款受到影响 

虽然提高利率可能对借款人不利,但对每个拥有储蓄账户的人都有好处。 当存款账户年收益率 (APY) 的利率上升时,联邦基金利率将作为基准。 当联邦公开市场委员会提高利率时,银行会通过增加您在存款账户中赚取的金额来应对。 结果,储蓄账户、支票账户、存款证 (CD) 和货币市场账户的 APY 都在增加。

#3。 债券效应 

利率上升会发生,它们通常会对债券产生重大影响。 当美联储加息时,现有债券的市场价格会立即下跌。 这是因为新债券将很快在市场上上市,这将为投资者支付更高的利率。 由于整体利率较高,现有债券将贬值,使其相对较低的利率支付对投资者更具吸引力。

#4。 消费者信用效应 

当美联储以加息的形式加息时,个人贷款、信贷额度和信用卡的反应都比其他类型的信贷要慢。 

由于浮动利率贷款基于参考联邦基金利率的基准,因此它们特别容易受到美联储利率变化的影响。 新的固定利率贷款可以提高利率,而目前的固定利率贷款不会影响联邦基金利率的任何变化。

利率上升如何帮助通货膨胀? 

美联储的利率上升了大约四分之三的百分点。 美国的中央银行,也被称为“美联储”。 此举正值政府公布新的消费者价格指数数据显示,8.3 月份年度通胀放缓之际。 然而,该指数确实以每年 8.6% 的速度上涨,而美国劳工统计局上周五报告称,通货膨胀率比一年前飙升了 1981%,是自 XNUMX 年以来的最快速度。

利率上升有助于通胀的一种方式是,在利率较高时借贷变得更加昂贵,这会鼓励人们储蓄。 利率上升有助于通胀的另一种方式是,当债务变得更加昂贵时,它会影响消费者对产品和服务的需求,以及企业投资和招聘计划。 当需求超过供应时,这有助于降低通货膨胀。

通货膨胀正在飙升。 它们通过提高债券和股票的价格和利率来帮助利率,这些债券和股票由于通货膨胀而急剧下降。 有许多关于可能出现衰退的预测。 显然,每个已经储蓄或投资的人——或正在考虑这样做的人——都面临着困难时期。 美联储的主要经济目标是促进就业最大化,维持物价 稳定性,并维持适度的长期利率。 总体而言,央行努力将年通胀率控制在 2% 以下,这一数字在大流行之前已经滞后。

总结

目前,由于covid 19大流行的影响,世界上大多数国家都面临着高通胀率。 然而,并不是所有的通货膨胀都是负的,你已经从这篇文章中知道了通货膨胀率的积极方式,同样,通货膨胀对利率的影响,为什么利率普遍上升,利率上升如何帮助通货膨胀,最后,当利率上升时会发生什么利率上升。

常见问题

通货膨胀如何影响利率风险?

债券现金流量和利率的时机

如果市场参与者认为即将出现更高的通胀,利率和债券收益率将会上升(价格将会下降)以弥补未来现金流购买力的损失。

为什么利率上升时通货膨胀会下降?

因为更高的利率意味着更高的借贷成本,人们最终会开始减少支出。 届时对商品和服务的需求将下降,这将导致通货膨胀下降。

当通货膨胀影响利率时会发生什么?

随着时间的推移,价格的整体上涨会降低消费者的购买力,因为固定数量的货币将逐渐减少消费. 无论通货膨胀率是 2% 还是 4%,消费者都会失去购买力; 他们只是以更高的速度失去它的两倍

  1. 成为商业导师
  2. 收缩货币政策:定义、例子和效果
  3. 值得购买的好 ETF:2022 年最佳 ETF
  4. 反向收益率曲线:所有你需要知道的详细分析(+示例)
  5. 养老金和投资:2022 年最佳指南
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

HOW DOES INFLATION AFFECT INTEREST RATES?: Effects of Inflation On

how does inflation affect interest rates
Image credit: forbes

A prolonged drop in prices, known as deflation, can be much more damaging to an economy. The Fed aims for a positive rate of inflation, which is defined as an increase in the overall level of prices for goods and services. The central bank’s ability to decrease rates in reaction to a slowdown in the economy is also made possible by the positive levels of inflation and interest rates. This article will shed light on how the inflation rates of an economy affect your interest rates, and when it does affect it, we will know the numerous effects inflation can have on your interest rates, why the rates rise due to the inflation rates, what happens later, and lastly, how does a rising interest rate help inflation?

How Does Inflation Affect Interest Rates?

First, before we dive into the details of how inflation affects interest rates, I want us to look into the meaning of inflation and interest rates independently. The cost of borrowing money is what we call an interest rate. On the other hand, inflation is the rise in the price of goods and services across a country’s economy. 

However, current interest rates fluctuate, and different types of loans have varying rates. For instance, if you’re a lender, a borrower, or both, it’s critical that you understand why these changes and disparities occur from time to time. They also have a significant impact on the rare metals market, which includes silver stocks. The actions that you take in reaction to rising inflation are very vital, and the total of these actions in order to avoid inflation is presently at 9%, and we are also expecting it to rise higher in the autumn. This is because we are already expecting price hikes to continue through 2022.

Understanding How Inflation Affects Interest Rates

The popular and confusing question now is why, then, should rising inflation affect interest rates? Understanding the connection between the two will aid in increasing your money. However, when you want to check if rates are rising, you need to examine whether the price of a basket of products has been increasing or decreasing over the past year. The consumer price index (CPI), which measures inflation, was at 9% on the 31st of April 2022. They were able to arrive at this result simply by selecting about 180,000 products and services that are based on what customers normally purchase.

The consumer price index (CPI), the most generally used indicator of inflation, is used to plug the overall price of this “basket” of commodities. This is because people’s likings and spending habits fluctuate over time. The virtual basket is reassessed every year.

The Effects of Inflation

Inflation is described as a long-term increase in the general level of prices in the economy. It has a disproportionately unfavorable impact on economic decision-making and lowers purchasing power. It does, however, have one positive effect, which is that it prevents deflation. The ways inflation can have possible effects on our business are our focus in this part of the post.

However, it’s worth noting that these consequences or effects will be influenced by the rate of inflation. A rate of 2%, for example, will not have the same impact as a rate of 100% every year. As a result, we’ll focus on the consequences of extended and persistent inflation rates above 2%.

#1. Money Depreciates in Value

Money loses its worth as goods prices rise. This is one of the effects of inflation. For example, due to inflation, if you put $1 under your pillow for 10 years, you won’t be able to buy as much as you could today.

When we compare the value of the US dollar from 1980 to 2019, we can see that it has lost more than half of its worth. In other words, a dollar today can buy half as many products and services as it could 30 years ago. So, if you put $1,000 beneath your bed in 1980, it’s now worth less than $500.

#2. Inequality

Inflation primarily has numerous effects on low-income households. This is because they spend most of their earnings. Therefore, price hikes typically eat away more of their earnings. When the cost of basic essentials such as food and clothing, for example, rises, the poor have little choice but to pay.

Hence, inequality rises as wealthier people amass more assets. They have more real estate, stock, and other assets. This means that when inflation happens, these assets rise in value ahead of everyday items like bread, milk, eggs, and so on. As a result, they end up with greater wealth than before, allowing them to purchase more goods and services. Low-income households, on the other hand, are forced to spend more just to get by.

#3. Deflationary Pressures are Reduced 

In order to satisfy its goals of stable prices and maximum employment, the Federal Reserve aspires to long-term inflation of 2%. It aims for modest inflation rather than stable prices because a slightly positive inflation rate greases the wheels of commerce, gives a margin of error if inflation is underestimated, and deters deflation, which is significantly more destabilizing than similar inflation.

Inflation permits lenders to charge interest to compensate for the likelihood of repayments depreciating in value as a result of inflation. Borrowers can potentially benefit from inflation by making future repayments with inflated currency. Deflation, on the other hand, makes servicing debt more expensive in real terms because borrowers’ income is likely to decrease.

#4. Intensifies Interest Rate Hikes 

As the instances above show, governments and central banks have a strong interest in keeping inflation under control. Monetary policy has been used to manage inflation in the United States and around the world. When inflation effects threaten to surpass a central bank’s target (usually 2% in industrialized economies and 3% to 4% in emerging economies), authorities might raise the minimum interest rate, increasing borrowing costs throughout the economy by restricting the money supply.

#5. It Boosts Growth and Employment

In a short term, higher inflation can lead to stronger economic growth in the short run. While the 1970s are remembered as a decade of stagflation, between 1970 and 1979, the United States’ real Gross Domestic Product (GDP) increased by 3.2 percent annually on average, much above the economy’s average growth rate since.

Inflationary pressures discourage saving since it erodes the buying value of savings over time. Consumers and businesses alike may be enticed to spend and invest as a result of this promise.

#6. It Can Lead To Excruciating Recessions

The problem with the inflation-unemployment trade-off is that long-term acceptance of greater inflation to safeguard jobs may raise inflation expectations to the point where they trigger an inflationary spiral of price hikes and wage increases. The Federal Reserve was compelled to boost interest rates significantly higher and maintain them high for longer in order to recoup lost confidence and persuade everyone that it could control inflation. As a result, unemployment increased and was higher for longer than it would have been had the Fed not permitted inflation to spiral out of control.

Why Do Interest Rates Rise?

Rising interest rates serve to cool down an overheated economy by dampening consumer spending, resulting in lower demand for goods and services and lower prices. Interest rate levels will be affected by inflation. The higher the rate of inflation, the more likely interest rates will rise.

Interest can thus be viewed as both an expense and a source of income for one organization. It can indicate the opportunity cost or missed opportunity of keeping your money under your mattress as cash rather than lending it.

Furthermore, if you borrow money, the interest you must pay may be less than the cost of foregoing the ability to access the money right now. Some of the factors that cause why interest rates to rise include;

#1. Inflation 

Interest rate levels will be affected by inflation. The higher the rate of inflation, the more likely interest rates will rise. This happens because lenders will demand higher interest rates in order to compensate for the eventual loss of buying power of the money they are paid.

#2. Demand vs. Supply 

Interest rates are determined by the supply and demand of credit ie., a rise in the demand for money or credit raises interest rates, while a fall in the demand for credit lowers them. In contrast, a rise in credit supply lowers interest rates, while a reduction in credit supply raises them.

#3. Government 

The government has a say in what happens to interest rates. The Federal Reserve of the United States (the Fed) frequently makes statements about how monetary policy will affect interest rates. 

The federal funds rate, or the rate at which banks charge each other for extremely short-term loans, has an impact on the interest rates that banks charge on the money they lend. This rate eventually finds its way into other short-term loan rates. The Federal Reserve affects these rates through “open market transactions.”

What Happens When Interest Rise

The purpose of raising the federal funds target rate is to raise the cost of credit throughout the economy. Higher interest rates make loans more expensive for both firms and consumers, resulting in increased interest payments for everybody. 

Those who cannot or do not wish to make the additional installments may postpone projects requiring financing. It encourages people to save money in order to earn bigger interest payments. This reduces the amount of money in circulation, which tends to cut inflation and limit economic activity—in other words, chill the economy.  Here is a list of what typically happens when interest rise. They include 

#1. Stock Market Effects 

When rising interest happens, higher interest rates rise in most markets and might be detrimental to the stock market. When the Federal Reserve raises interest rates, the cost of borrowing money rises for public (and private) enterprises. Higher costs and fewer businesses may result in reduced revenues and profitability for public companies over time, affecting their growth rate and stock values.

#2. Savings Accounts and Bank Deposits are Affected 

While increased interest rates may be detrimental to borrowers, they are beneficial to everyone with a savings account. The fed funds rate serves as a benchmark when the interest rate rises for yearly percentage yields on deposit accounts (APYs). When the Federal Open Market Committee raises interest rates, banks respond by boosting the amount you earn on your deposit accounts. As a result, the APYs on savings accounts, checking accounts, certificates of deposit (CDs), and money market accounts are all increasing.

#3. Bond Effects 

Interest rate rises happen, and they typically have a significant impact on bonds. When the Fed raises interest rates, the market price of existing bonds drops instantly. This is because new bonds will soon be available on the market that will pay greater interest rates to investors. Existing bonds will lose value as a result of the higher overall rates, making their comparatively lower interest rate payments more tempting to investors.

#4. Consumer Credit Effects 

Personal loans, lines of credit, and credit cards all respond more slowly when the Fed rate hike happens to them in form of an interest rise than other types of credit. 

Because variable rate loans are based on benchmarks that reference the fed funds rate, they are particularly vulnerable to fed rate changes. New fixed-rate loans can increase interest rates, while current fixed-rate loans do not affect any changes in the federal funds rate.

How Do Rising Interest Rates Help Inflation? 

Interest rates rise about three-quarters of a percentage point at the Federal Reserve. The nation’s central bank, also known as “the Fed.” The move comes as the government announced new consumer price index figures showing that annual inflation slowed in April. The index did, however, rise at an annual pace of 8.3 percent, while the Bureau of Labor Statistics reported last Friday that inflation surged 8.6 percent from a year ago, the fastest rate since 1981.

One of the ways rising interest rates help inflation is that borrowing becomes more expensive at higher rates, which encourages people to save. Another way rising interest rates help inflation is that when debt becomes more expensive, it has an impact on consumer demand for products and services, as well as corporate investment and hiring plans. When demand exceeds supply, this can help to lower inflation.

Inflation is skyrocketing. They help interest rates by rising the prices and rates of bonds and stocks, which have fallen dramatically due to inflation. There are numerous forecasts about a probable recession. Clearly, everyone who has saved or invested money—or is considering doing so—is facing a difficult time. The Federal Reserve’s key economic objectives are to promote maximum employment, maintain price stability, and maintain moderate long-term interest rates. In general, the central bank strives to keep annual inflation below 2%, a figure that has lagged prior to the pandemic.

Conclusion

Currently, most countries of the world are facing a high rate of inflation rates due to the effects of the covid 19 pandemic. However, not all inflation is negative, and you already know from this post the positive ways of inflation rates, likewise the effects of inflation on interest rates, why rates rise generally, how rising interest rates help inflation, and lastly, what happens when interest rates rise.

FAQs

How does inflation affect interest rate risk?

The Timing of a Bond’s Cash Flows and Interest Rates

If market participants believe that there is higher inflation on the horizon, interest rates and bond yields will rise (and prices will decrease) to compensate for the loss of the purchasing power of future cash flows.

Why does inflation go down when interest rates go up?

Because higher interest rates mean higher borrowing costs, people will eventually start spending less. The demand for goods and services will then drop, which will cause inflation to fall.

What happens when inflation affects interest rates?

An overall rise in prices over time reduces the purchasing power of consumers since a fixed amount of money will afford progressively less consumption. Consumers lose purchasing power whether inflation is running at 2% or at 4%; they just lose it twice as fast at the higher rate

  1. Become a business mentor
  2. CONTRACTIONARY MONETARY POLICY: Definition, Examples, and Effects
  3. GOOD ETFS TO BUY: Best ETFs for 2022
  4. Inverted Yield Curve: All you Need to Know With Detailed Analysis (+Examples)
  5. PENSION AND INVESTMENT: Best 2022 Guide
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like