统一税:定义、优点和缺点

单一税

美国对统一税并不陌生,历史上曾两次颁布统一的联邦所得税。 目前,九个州对所有收入征收统一税,另外两个州只有利息和股息收入。 而且,鉴于当前税法的复杂性,一些政客提出了新的联邦统一所得税。 然而,虽然统一税制似乎比累进税制更简单,但它可能存在一些缺点,使某些纳税人的事情变得更加困难。 继续阅读以了解更多关于统一税率的工作原理、优缺点以及它可能对您产生的影响。

什么是统一税?

统一税制是每个人,无论收入如何,都支付相同的税率。 尽管支持者认为税收将简化税收制度并使支付和执行更容易。 统一税通常会增加低收入者的比例税负,同时减少高收入者的税负。 虽然美国的联邦税制是累进的,这意味着工人的收入是根据其收入水平征税的,但一些州也有固定所得税。

了解统一税率

在累进税制下,一个人的所得税份额随着她的收入而增加。 这减轻了低收入人群的负担,并有助于减少收入不平等。

在统一税制中,每个人都支付相同比例的收入,大多数提案没有或有限的扣除。 几乎所有提案都包括低税率,通常远低于上限边际税率; 因为税收将全面减少,这似乎增加了税收制度的公平性。 支持者认为,统一税将使美国国税局 (IRS) 代码从数千页减少到几页,从而使 IRS 员工和会计师能够将精力集中在其他地方,并使提交纳税申报表的压力体验成为事后的想法。

另一方面,统一税制只是剥夺了联邦政府的收入。 这是因为这些福利主要有利于高收入者,他们支付的费用要少得多,而对低收入者不利,他们可能只会看到税负的轻微减少甚至增加。 虽然统一税的支持者认为,全面降低税收将带来繁荣和就业增长,但边际税率高达 92% 的时期也与更强劲的经济有关,但结论仍未定。

一些州已经按统一税率对个人收入征税,但这些税率都没有超过 6%。 支付社会保障和医疗保险的 FICA 税也是联邦政府对每位员工征收的固定税,分别为 6.2% 和 1.45%。 许多统一税提案将投资收入作为例外,因此货币市场账户利息不征税。

统一税率

统一税率消除了对税率表和税级的需要,使纳税人更容易计算和报税。

统一税率的重要性是什么?

美国历史上曾两次实行统一税率。 第一个联邦所得税于 1861 年实施。当时政府正在寻找为内战筹集资金的方法。 1872年,该税被废除。 然后,在 1894 年,国会颁布了统一的联邦所得税,一年后,当美国最高法院裁定其违宪时,该税被废除。

近年来,几位总统候选人提议用统一税制取代目前的累进联邦收入体系。 截至 2019 年 XNUMX 月,参议院和众议院都有法案要求进行税制改革,以统一税制取代当前的累进制度。

虽然尚不清楚这些税收提案将在国会推进多远,但关于联邦统一所得税是否适合美国的辩论仍在继续。 了解统一税的利弊将帮助您确定您在这个问题上的立场以及如果实施它将如何影响您的税收负担。

统一税的利弊

与税法的许多其他潜在变化一样,统一税率既有优点也有缺点。

优点

税收的支持者通常会指出美国国税局放弃目前的累进税制的一些优势。 首先,统一税的支持者认为该系统会更加公平,因为每个人都会支付相同的税率。

一些提案要求为低收入者提供应税免税额。 如果您的收入为 50,000 美元,免税额为 35,000 美元,您只需缴纳 15,000 美元的税款——即您的收入超过免税额的金额。 如果您的收入低于免税额,您将无需支付任何费用。

为了进一步简化税法,一些税收建议包括为个人和企业主填补某些漏洞。

缺点

累进个人所得税可以通过从高收入群体中获取更大份额并有效地为低收入群体提供税收减免来帮助平衡一个国家的财富。

但是,这不适用于所得税率。 在这种情况下,美国国税局因高收入者税率较低而损失的任何税收收入都必须由低收入者补偿。 国会预算办公室在 1992 年模拟了统一税对美国家庭税后收入的影响。

统一税示例

例如1

假设 Peter、James 和 John 都在同一家俄罗斯制造公司工作。 彼得是一名技术人员,每年应税收入为 40,000 美元。 詹姆斯是一名会计师,每年应税收入为 60,000 美元。 John 是首席信息和技术官,年应税收入为 80,000 美元。 假设政府征收 15% 的统一税率。

因此:

  • 彼得将支付 (15% x 40,000) = 6,000 美元的年度税款,剩下 34,000 美元。
  • 詹姆斯每年将缴纳 (15% x 60,000) = 9,000 美元的税款,剩下 51,000 美元。
  • 约翰将支付 (15% x 80,000) = 12,000 美元的年度税款,剩下 68,000 美元。

根据上述计算,政府获得27,000美元(6,000美元+ 9,000美元+ 12,000美元),而三个纳税人总共获得153,000美元(34,000美元+ 51,000美元+ 68,000美元)。

例如2

2016年,美国参议员和总统候选人特德克鲁兹提议在美国实行10%的统一税率。 如果实施,税收制度将使收入低于 36,000 美元的四口之家免缴税款。 它将标准扣除额增加到 10%,同时将个人免税额增加到 4,000 美元。

在税收制度下,遗产税、奥巴马医改税和替代最低税都将被取消。 根据该提案,公司税将降至 16%,而在国外赚取的利润将免税。 企业只需对过去的收入缴纳 10% 的一次性遣返税。

累进税与统一税

统一税制反对累进税制。 在前者中,政府对所有公民征收单一百分比的费用,无论其收入如何。 然而,在后者中,政府为不同收入阶层的个人提供了不同税率的税表。 结果,随着个人收入的增加,对他们征收的税率也会增加。

虽然统一税通常不提供免税或减税,但累进税为纳税人提供了各种免税和减税。 在前者中,应税收入不包括股息和利息等其他来源的收入。 后者对其他类型的收入征税,例如资本收益、投资回报等。 此外,纳税人可以轻松获得统一税率的税收申报和计算。 但是,纳税人必须聘请专业人士来评估和提交累进税。

统一税给日薪收入者和那些收入仅能满足基本需求的人带来负担。 另一方面,累进税向富有的纳税人收取更高的利率,从而惩罚他们获得更高的收入。 前者确保个人平等,而后者确保社会收入再分配以提高生活水平。

什么是统一税的例子?

统一税向所有纳税人收取相同的固定百分比税率。 销售税,以及社会保障和医疗保险税,都是统一税的例子。 美国实行累进税制,这意味着高收入居民缴纳更高比例的所得税。

为什么统一税更好?

统一税制比累进税制简单得多,允许所有个人填写税表。 统一税也将消除几乎所有的合规成本,并显着减少繁文缛节。

统一税的三大优势是什么?

特色:

  • 单一税率:对所有个人征收单一税率,无论收入水平如何。
  • 低税率:税收制度通常收取比累进法更低的百分比。
  • 不包括其他来源的收入:应税收入。

统一税的另一个名称是什么?

比例税,也称为统一税,对低收入、中等收入和高收入者具有同等的影响。 无论收入如何,他们都支付相同的税率。

统一税如何运作?

统一税对所有纳税人适用相同的税率,无论收入水平如何。 统一税通常对所有纳税人适用相同的税率,不允许扣除或豁免,但一些政客提出了保留某些扣除的统一税制。

3种税种是什么?

美国的税制分为三种类型:累退型、比例型和累进型。

哪些国家实行统一税制?

尽管蒙古和哈萨克斯坦的统一税率为 10%,玻利维亚和俄罗斯为 13%,但这些国家的社会部门并不发达。 匈牙利和罗马尼亚有 16% 的统一税,而立陶宛和格鲁吉亚有 20% 的统一税。

如何计算统一税?

百分比是分数或比率,表示为 XNUMX 的分数。 将缴纳的固定税额除以总收入额,计算缴纳的税额。 美元和美分是可接受的总收入条目。

谁提出了统一税?

统一税是负所得税 (NIT) 的一种,米尔顿弗里德曼在其 1962 年的著作《资本主义与自由》中提出。 基本概念与个人扣除的固定税相同,只是当扣除额超过收入时,应税收入可以变为负数而不是零。

总结

虽然最近没有在国家层面提出全国统一税率,但未来可能会改变。 虽然统一税提供了简化税法以使更多纳税人遵守的机会,但它们最终可能会给低收入者带来更大的负担,同时对高收入者征税。

统一税常见问题解答

美国会有统一税吗?

美国不太可能实施统一税。 它不仅会扩大贫富差距,还会对政策和趋势产生影响。 提供税收减免和豁免是为了影响公众舆论。

为什么统一税不公平?

富裕的纳税人能够更好地满足他们的物质需求,因此收取的费用更高。 统一税将无视贫富纳税人之间的收入差距。 正因为如此,一些人认为统一税是不公平的。 然而,累进税对富人和穷人的待遇不同,这也是不公平的。

统一税会筹集更多资金吗?

高收入家庭将从统一税中受益匪浅,因为他们的边际税率会下降,而且他们消费的收入比例低于低收入家庭。

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

FLAT TAX: Definition, Pros & Cons

Flat Tax

The United States is no stranger to flat taxes, having enacted flat federal income taxes twice in its history. Currently, nine states have flat taxes on all income, and two more have only interest and dividend income. And, given the complexity of the current tax code, some politicians have proposed a new federal flat income tax. However, while a flat tax system appears to be simpler than a progressive tax system, it is likely to have some drawbacks that would make things more difficult for certain taxpayers. Continue reading to learn more about how a flat tax rate works, its pros and cons, and how it may affect you.

What is a Flat Tax?

A flat-taxes system is one in which everyone, regardless of income, pays the same rate. Although proponents argue that taxes would simplify the tax system and make payment and enforcement easier. Flat taxes generally increase the proportional tax burden on low-income earners while decreasing it on high-income earners. While the federal tax system in the United States is progressive, meaning that a worker’s income is taxed based on her level of income, some states also have flat income taxes.

Understanding Flat Taxes Rate

A person’s share of income taxes increases with her earnings under a progressive tax system. This alleviates the burden on lower-income people and contributes to the reduction of income inequality.

Everyone pays the same percentage of their income in a flat-taxes system, and most proposals have no or limited deductions. Almost all proposals include a low tax rate, usually far lower than the upper marginal tax rates; because taxes will be reduced across the board, this appears to add fairness to the tax system. Proponents argue that flat taxes would reduce the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) code from thousands of pages to a few, allowing IRS employees and accountants to focus their energies elsewhere and making the stressful experience of filing tax returns a mere afterthought.

A flat-taxes system, on the other hand, simply deprives the federal government of revenue. This is because the benefits primarily benefit higher-income earners, who will pay far less while disadvantaging lower-income earners, who may see only minor reductions or even an increase in their tax burden. While proponents of flat taxes believe that lower taxes across the board will lead to prosperity and job growth, periods with marginal tax rates as high as 92 percent have also been linked to a stronger economy, and the verdict is still out.

Some states already tax personal income at flat rates, but none of these rates exceed 6%. FICA taxes, which pay for Social Security and Medicare, are also flat taxes levied by the federal government at 6.2 percent and 1.45 percent, respectively, per employee. Many flat-taxes proposals make an exception for investment income, so money market account interest is not taxed.

Flat Tax Rate

A flat tax rate eliminates the need for a tax rate schedule and tax brackets, making it easier for taxpayers to calculate and file their taxes.

What Is the Importance of a Flat Tax Rate?

In its history, the United States has had a flat tax rate twice. The first federal income tax was implemented in 1861. The government was looking for ways to raise funds for the Civil War at the time. In 1872, the tax was repealed. Then, in 1894, Congress enacted flat federal income taxes, which was repealed a year later when the United States Supreme Court ruled it unconstitutional.

In recent years, several presidential candidates have proposed replacing the current progressive federal income system with flat taxes. As of May 2019, there are bills in both the Senate and the House of Representatives calling for tax reform, to replace the current progressive system with a flat tax system.

While it is unclear how far those tax proposals will advance in Congress, the debate over whether a federal flat income tax is appropriate for the United States continues. Understanding the pros and cons of a flat tax will help you determine where you stand on the issue and how it will affect your tax burden if it is implemented.

Flat Tax Pros and Cons

A flat tax rate, like many other potential changes to the tax code, has both pros and cons.

Pros

Proponents of taxes typically point to some advantages of the IRS abandoning its current progressive tax system. For starters, flat taxes supporters argue that the system would be more equitable because everyone would pay the same rate.

Some proposals have called for a taxable exemption amount to provide for low-income earners. If your income is $50,000 and the exemption amount is $35,000, you would only pay a tax of $15,000 — the amount by which your income exceeds the exemption amount. And if your income is less than the exemption amount, you will not have to pay anything.

To further simplify the tax code, some tax proposals include closing certain loopholes for individuals and business owners.

Cons

A progressive personal income tax can help to equalize wealth in a country by taking a larger share from high-income groups and effectively giving low-income groups a tax break.

However, this does not work with an income tax rate. In this scenario, any tax revenue lost by the IRS due to a lower rate on high-income earners must be compensated for by low-income earners. The Congressional Budget Office simulated the effect of a flat tax on American families’ after-tax income in 1992.

Flat Taxes Example

Example 1

Assume Peter, James, and John all work at the same Russian manufacturing company. Peter is a technician with a taxable income of $40,000 per year. James is an accountant with a taxable income of $60,000 per year. John is the chief information and technology officer and has an annual taxable income of $80,000. Assume the government imposes a 15% flat tax rate.

Therefore:

  • Peter will pay annual taxes of (15% x 40,000) = $6,000, leaving him with $34,000.
  • James will pay annual taxes of (15% x 60,000) = $9,000, leaving him with $51,000.
  • John will pay annual taxes of (15% x 80,000) = $12,000, leaving him with $68,000.

According to the above calculations, the government receives $27,000 ($6,000 + $9,000 + $12,000), while the three taxpayers receive a total of $153,000 ($34,000 + $51,000 + 68,000).

Example 2

In 2016, US Senator and presidential candidate Ted Cruz proposed a 10% flat tax rate in the United States. If implemented, the tax system would exempt a family of four earning less than $36,000 from paying taxes. It would increase standard deductions to 10% while increasing the personal exemption to $4,000.

The estate tax, Obamacare taxes, and the Alternative Minimum Tax would all be eliminated under a tax system. Corporate taxes would be reduced to 16% under the proposal, and profits earned abroad would be tax-free. Businesses would only have to pay a one-time repatriation tax of 10% on past income.

Progressive Tax vs. Flat Tax

The flat taxes system is opposed to progressive taxation. In the former, the government imposes a single percentage of charges on all citizens, regardless of income. In the latter, however, the government provides a tax slab with different tax rates for individuals in different income brackets. As a result, as an individual’s income rises, so does the tax rate imposed on them.

While the flat tax typically does not provide tax exemptions or deductions, the progressive tax provides taxpayers with a variety of exemptions and deductions. In the former, taxable income does not include income from other sources such as dividends and interest. The latter imposes taxation on other types of income such as capital gains, return on investment, and so on. Furthermore, the filing and computation of taxes at uniform rates are easily accessible to taxpayers. However, taxpayers must hire professionals to evaluate and file progressive taxation.

The flat taxes burdens daily wage earners and those who earn just enough to meet their basic needs. Progressive taxation, on the other hand, charges higher interest rates to wealthy taxpayers, penalizing them for higher revenues. The former ensures individual equality, while the latter ensures societal income redistribution to improve living standards.

What is an example of a flat tax?

Flat taxes charge all taxpayers the same fixed percentage rate. Sales taxes, as well as Social Security and Medicare taxes, are examples of flat taxes. The United States has a progressive tax system, which means that higher-income residents pay a higher percentage of their income tax.

Why is a flat tax better?

A flat tax system is much simpler than a progressive tax system, allowing all individuals to complete their tax forms. Flat taxes would also eliminate virtually all compliance costs and significantly reduce red tape.

What are the 3 advantages of a flat tax?

Features:

  • Single tax rate: A single tax rate is imposed on all individuals, regardless of income level.
  • Low tax rate: The tax system typically charges a lower percentage than the progressive method.
  • Does not include income from other sources: the taxable income.

What is another name for a flat tax?

A proportional tax, also known as a flat tax, has an equal impact on low-, middle-, and high-income earners. Regardless of income, they all pay the same tax rate.

How does the flat tax work?

A flat tax applies the same tax rate to all taxpayers, regardless of income level. Flat taxes typically apply the same rate to all taxpayers with no deductions or exemptions allowed, but some politicians have proposed flat tax systems that retain certain deductions.

What are the 3 types of taxes?

Tax systems in the United States are classified into three types: regressive, proportional, and progressive.

Which countries have a flat tax?

Despite having flat taxes of 10% in Mongolia and Kazakhstan, and 13% in Bolivia and Russia, these countries do not have well-developed social sectors. Hungary and Romania have 16% flat taxes, while Lithuania and Georgia have 20% flat charges.

How do you calculate flat tax?

A percentage is a fraction or ratio expressed as a fraction of one hundred. Divide the flat tax amount paid by the gross income amount to calculate the paid tax percentage. Dollars and cents are acceptable gross income entries.

Who proposed a flat tax?

A flat tax is a type of negative income tax (NIT), which Milton Friedman proposed in his 1962 book Capitalism and Freedom. The basic concept is the same as flat taxes with personal deductions, except that when deductions exceed income, taxable income can become negative rather than zero.

Conclusion

Although no national flat tax rate has recently been proposed at the national level, this may change in the future. While flat taxes provide the opportunity to simplify the tax code so that more taxpayers comply, they may end up putting a greater burden on low-wage earners while taxing higher-wage earners.

Flat Tax FAQs

Will the US ever have a flat tax?

A flat tax is unlikely to be implemented in the United States. It will not only increase wealth disparities, but it will also have an impact on policy and trends. Tax breaks and exemptions are offered to sway public opinion.

Why is flat tax unfair?

Affluent taxpayers are better able to meet their physical needs and are thus charged more. A flat tax would disregard income disparities between rich and poor taxpayers. Because of this, some argue that flat taxes are unjust. However, progressive taxes treat the rich and poor differently, which is also unfair.

Would a flat tax raise more money?

High-income households would benefit greatly from a flat tax, both because their marginal tax rate would fall and because they consume a smaller proportion of their income than low-income households.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like