如果我被解雇,我会失业吗:解释!

如果我被解雇,我会失业吗
图片来源:TheBalanceCareer

公司解雇员工的原因有很多。 有时,这可能与他们的表现无关。 这就是为失业者提供失业救济金计划的原因! 失业救济金已到位,以确保人们在被解雇后能够继续支付账单并养家糊口,但不是基于他们的表现或过错。 如果您被解雇,您可能有资格获得失业救济金,具体取决于您的具体情况和您所在的州。 您终止工作的原因将决定您是否有资格领取失业救济金。 也许您居住在美国得克萨斯州,并且您想知道失业救济金是否也在等待因绩效以外的原因而被解雇的人,您的澄清就在这里!

任何人真的可以被解雇并获得失业救济金吗?

基本上,没有明确的答案。 这是因为资格模式,这通常取决于员工解雇的原因。

对于那些不是因为自己的过错或表现不佳而被解雇的人来说,失业救济金可能是一种临时的收入来源。 但个人可能没有资格领取失业救济金,如果他们是 因故被解雇. 尽管如此,事情并不总是非黑即白。 我们解释了失业对公司的影响,以及如果员工被解雇会影响他们获得福利的资格。

另请参阅: 终止原因:可能导致它的原因

如果你被解雇,这就是失业的工作方式

首先,失业实际上是如何运作的? 显然,这因州而异。 但在大多数情况下,您需要工作多年才能被解雇才能申请失业救济金。

如果您失去工作并想申请失业救济金,您可以联系您所在州的失业办公室或访问他们的网站。 为了验证您的资格,该机构的代表可能会与您联系。

失业救济金是一种联邦-州合作伙伴关系,在失业人员寻找新工作时为他们提供经济上的帮助。 一个人的福利资格以及这些福利的金额和期限由州立法规定。 同时取决于他们的收入和“基准期”的工作小时数。

在大多数州,将向合格工人支付最长 26 周的现金支付。 但只有两个州提供超过 26 周的时间,而九个州提供的时间更少。 此外,四个州提供扩展福利 (EB) 计划。

对公司征收 FUTA 和 SUTA 税,以帮助资助州和联邦失业计划。 因此,对于企业主来说,了解失业法规以及系统如何运作至关重要。 这是为了避免犯任何可能导致更高失业保险税的错误。

谁有资格领取失业救济金?

失业救济金计划不仅适用于所有没有工作的人。 当然,有许多规定谁有资格领取失业救济金。 但一般而言,资格取决于员工解雇的情况。

一个人必须由于无法控制的情况而失业才能获得资格。 关闭、重组、无法工作或休假,例如由 COVID-19 引起的,都是资格情况的例子。 此外,他们需要满足就业和工资标准,并满足任何国家规定的要求。

自愿离职的前雇员通常不会领取失业金。 如果工人有“正当理由”辞职,他们可能仍有资格领取失业救济金。 这可能是由于不安全的工作条件或骚扰。 于 2020 年 19 月生效的 CARES 法案扩大了“正当理由”的定义,以涵盖与大流行相关的情况,例如需要照顾 COVID-6 检测呈阳性的家庭成员。 这些延长福利的截止日期已于 2021 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日过去。但事情总是有可能再次发生变化。

几种类型的不当行为也会使被解雇的工人失去领取失业保险的资格。 它们可能包括;

  • 盗窃。
  • 无数次不明原因的缺勤
  • 在需要或在药物影响下出现工作时缺乏清醒。
  • 违反安全规定。
  • 性骚扰
  • 对其他员工的工作环境和安全产生负面影响。

故意违反政策也可能将员工排除在福利之外。 但是,这将根据州的某些规则和规定而有所不同。

随意终止

绝大多数工人是“随意”的,这意味着他们或他们的雇主可以随时终止他们的工作。

在这种情况下,要获得失业救济金的资格,您必须失去工作,这不是您自己的过错。 换句话说,如果您因缺乏资格、业绩、公司裁员或类似情况而被解雇,您可能有资格领取失业救济金。

尽管失业救济金通常不适用于那些辞职的人,但也有例外。 每个州的资格标准都不同,因此这完全取决于您的州法规和标准

如果你被解雇是有原因的

如果您因不当行为或某种原因被解雇,您很有可能没有资格领取失业救济金。

基本上,您的资格将由您所在州的法律决定。 盗窃、撒谎、未通过药物或酒精测试、伪造文件、故意违反公司政策或规范、性骚扰以及与您的就业有关的其他重大活动都是不当行为的例子。 如果您被解雇,它们都会极大地影响您的失业资格。

此外,您可能会因工作之外发生的事情而失去领取失业救济金的资格。 这可能包括在您的个人社交媒体帐户上发布有争议的消息或被判重罪。 这完全取决于您所在州的失业救济金的资格要求和标准

但是,重要的是要了解因任何原因被解雇与因故被解雇之间存在很大差异。 当员工“因故被解雇”时,是因为他们做错了什么,需要受到处罚或制裁。 尽管全公司范围的裁员有资格作为终止的“原因”,但实际上,在这样的一轮中失去工作可能与因故被解雇不同。

在你被解雇之后

了解在您的雇主解雇您时保护您的法律。 遣散费是贵公司可能提供的东西。 检查您是否有资格参加任何其他州计划,这些计划可以在您找工作时帮助您的家人在经济上度过难关。

您还应该在失业之前或之后立即收集与您的终止相关的任何文书工作。

如果您的失业救济金申请被拒绝,您可能需要提供支持性证据。 您的证明可以是电子邮件、会议记录、电话信息、医生的笔记等形式。

被解雇的人应该联系他们所在州的失业办公室,看看他们是否有资格 失业补偿。

他们可以帮助您确保您已达到最低收入要求并保持足够长的工作时间以符合资格。 他们将指导您完成申请失业的过程,并详细说明您可以预期获得的福利,包括多少钱和多长时间。

如果我辞职,我还能在德克萨斯州失业吗?

每次情况都是一样的:你的雇主告诉你工作上的困难,建议你辞职而不是放手。 如果您这样做,它将提高您的声誉和简历。 在这种情况下,你应该怎么做? 大多数工人都知道,如果他们辞职,他们将失去领取失业救济金的资格。 然而,这,其实并非处处都是如此。 在德克萨斯州,如果您可以选择被解雇或离职并选择辞职,只要您满足所有其他要求和标准,您仍然有资格领取失业救济金。 正如德克萨斯劳动力委员会所述。

但这实际上是如何工作的,你如何去做呢? 您需要知道的第一件事是,如果您决定辞职而不是被解雇,您将不会被取消领取失业救济金的资格。 但是,并非所有雇主都会如实向德克萨斯失业委员会报告,如果您不辞职,您就会被解雇。 鉴于您可能已被解雇而不是被要求辞职,因此以书面形式提出辞职决定符合您的最大利益。 保留一份这份书面声明的副本以供记录。 以这种方式向您的雇主发送一封电子邮件,其中包含您的密件 个人电邮 是证明您的辞职是真实的绝佳方法。

什么原因可以让您在德克萨斯州辞职并仍然失业?

那么,如果你厌倦了工作中的待遇并且真的想辞职,你会怎么做? 这是一个更棘手的情况,但您仍然需要申请失业救济金。 得克萨斯州劳动力委员会承认“建设性解雇”的想法,由于不可接受的工作条件,您的离职是合理的。 

但是,如果您在这里,请尝试记录他们抱怨工作条件差,但没有采取任何措施来改善他们。 在任何情况下,都必须以书面形式和适当的礼仪进行沟通。 记录您的疑虑并将其提交给您的雇主。 普通员工不会容忍任何事情,但如果这与他们的工作日程或薪水有关,你就有更好的机会赢得索赔。 

许多公司引以为豪的是,他们从来不需要支付员工的失业救济金,因为他们让工作变得如此难以忍受,以至于工人干脆辞职了。 在提交辞职之前,向雇主提供这一证明至关重要。 一封简单的电子邮件说明:“我知道您过去曾表示您从不支付失业救济金,因为您知道如何“淘汰”员工”就足够了。 显然,你不应该写任何东西,除非它是真实的。 尽管如此,记录情况并为您的雇主提供解决问题的机会仍然至关重要。

在德克萨斯州辞职然后申请失业救济金的员工通常会失去最初的决心,但在德克萨斯州获得成功的机会要大得多 上诉程序 (通过电话听证会)。

总结

虽然资格要求 失业救济金 可能因州而异,在大多数情况下,您必须在失业之前一直在工作才能获得它们。

为了在您被解雇后维持您的失业救济金,您必须提出索赔并显示您定期积极寻找工作的表现。 不管你有没有找到工作,你的福利很快就会结束。 虽然联邦政府和几个州已经缩短了失业者领取福利的时间,但正常的持续时间是 26 周,在经济困难时期都可以延长。

如果我被解雇了,我可以得到失业常见问题解答

你如何申请失业救济金?

基本上,您可以在裁员或终止后通过在线申请申请失业救济金。

最好尽快提交您的申请,以便尽快对您的资格做出决定。

你如何提出上诉?

如果您的雇主拒绝或中断您的申请,您有权向州失业机构提出上诉。

为您的索赔收集所有支持文件,以便在您需要提出上诉时手头有文件。

火了还是放弃了,哪个更好?

如果您辞职而不是被解雇,您可以避免向潜在雇主解释您被解雇的原因。 当您提交辞呈时,您有机会以积极的态度表达您的离职决定。

另一方面,放手也有好处。 为了表现出色或有资格领取失业救济金,您必须首先被解雇。

  1. 终止原因:可能导致它的原因
  2. 季节性失业:详细概述和欧洲实践
  3. 退出后 401k 会发生什么:2022 年最佳实践(更新)
  4. 失业税基金:补偿、概述和您需要知道的一切
  5. 侵权法:定义、示例和类型

参考

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

IF I GET FIRED CAN I GET UNEMPLOYMENT: Explained!

If I get Fired Can I Get Unemployment
Image Source: TheBalanceCareer

There are many reasons why companies terminate employees’ employment. And sometimes, this might have nothing to do with their performance. That’s why there are unemployment benefit programs for the jobless! Unemployment benefits are in place to ensure that people can continue to pay their bills and feed their families if they are fired, but not on the basis of their performance or fault. If you are fired from your job, you might be eligible for unemployment benefits, depending on the specifics of your situation and the state in which you were employed. The reasons for your termination from work will determine whether or not you are eligible for unemployment benefits. Maybe you reside in Texas, United States, and you’re wondering if unemployment benefits also await people that got fired for reasons other than performance, your clarification is here!

Can anyone really get fired and get unemployment benefits?

Basically, there is no clear-cut answer. And this is because of the eligibility pattern, which is typically conditional on reasons for an employee’s job termination.

For those who are fired through no fault of their own or as a result of poor performance, unemployment benefits might be a temporary source of income. But an individual may be ineligible for unemployment benefits if they are fired for cause. Nonetheless, things aren’t always black and white. We explain how unemployment works for companies and what influences an employee’s eligibility for benefits if they are fired.

Read Also: TERMINATION FOR CAUSE: Reasons That Could Lead To It

Here’s How Unemployment Work Incase You Get Fired

How does unemployment actually function, to begin with? Obviously, this differs from state to state. But in most cases, you need to have been working for some number of years before you got fired to apply for unemployment benefits.

If you lose your work and want to file for unemployment benefits, you can contact the unemployment office in your state or visit their website. And in order to verify your eligibility, a representative from the agency may then get in touch with you.

Unemployment benefits is a federal-state partnership that helps unemployed people financially as they look for new work. A person’s eligibility for benefits, as well as the amount and length of those benefits, are set by state legislation. And at the same time depend on their income and the number of hours worked during a “base period.”

Cash payments will be made to qualified workers for up to 26 weeks in most states. But only two states provide more than 26 weeks, while nine provide less. Additionally, four states offer extended benefits (EB) programs.

FUTA and SUTA taxes are levied on companies to help fund state and federal unemployment programs. Hence, it is crucial for business owners to understand how the unemployment regulations and how the system works. This is to avoid making any mistakes that could result in higher unemployment insurance taxes.

Who is Eligible for Unemployment Benefits?

The unemployment benefits program is not just available to all people without employment. There are, of course, many regulations governing who is eligible to receive unemployment benefits. But in general, eligibility is determined by the circumstances surrounding the employee’s termination.

A person must be out of work due to circumstances beyond their control in order to qualify. Closings, restructuring, unavailability of work, or furlough, such as that caused by COVID-19, are all examples of eligibility circumstances. In addition, they need to meet employments and wages criteria and also fulfill any state-mandated requirements.

Unemployment payments are not often given to former employees who left their jobs voluntarily. A worker may still be eligible for unemployment benefits if they have “good cause” to quit their jobs. This may be due to unsafe working conditions or harassment. The CARES Act, which took effect in March of 2020, broadened the definition of “good cause” to cover pandemic-related situations, such as the necessity to care for a family member who tested positive for COVID-19. The deadline for those extended benefits had passed on September 6, 2021. But there’s always the chance that things could change again.

Several types of wrongdoing also disqualify a fired worker from receiving unemployment insurance. They may include;

  • Theft.
  • Numerous unexplained absences
  • Lack of sobriety when required or showing up for work under the influence of drugs.
  • Infractions of the safety regulations.
  • Sexual harassment
  • Negatively impacting the work environment and safety of other employees.

Intentional policy violations may also exclude an employee from benefits. However, this will vary based on state certain rules and regulations.

Termination at Will

The vast majority of workers are “at will,” meaning that either they or their employer can end their employment at any time.

To qualify for unemployment benefits in this situation, you must have lost your job through no fault of your own. In other words, you may qualify for unemployment benefits if you were fired due to a lack of qualifications, performance, company cutbacks, or similar circumstances.

Even though unemployment benefits are not typically available to those who quit their job, there are exceptions. The eligibility criteria are different for each state, so it all depends on your state regulations and standard

If You are Fired for a Cause

There’s a high probability that you will not qualify for unemployment benefits if you are fired due to misconduct or for a cause.

Basically, your eligibility will be determined by the laws of your home state. Theft, lying, failing a drug or alcohol test, fabricating documents, wilfully breaching corporate policy or norms, sexual harassment, and other significant activities in relation to your employment are all examples of misconduct. And they can all in a great way affect your eligibility for unemployment should in case you are fired.

Also, you can lose your eligibility for unemployment benefits for things that happened outside of work. This may include, a controversial message on your personal social media account or being convicted of a felony. It all depends on eligibility requirements and standards for unemployment benefits in your state

However, it is critical to understand that there is a big difference between getting fired for any reason and getting terminated for cause. When an employee is “terminated for cause,” it’s because of something they did wrong that warranted a penalty or sanctions. Even though company-wide layoffs qualify as a “cause” for termination, in practice, losing your job during such a round is probably not the same as being dismissed for cause.

After You Have Been Fired

Learn the laws that protect you if your employer fires you. A severance package is something your firm may provide. Check if you are eligible for any other state programs that can help your family out financially while you look for a job.

You should also gather any paperwork associated with your termination, either before you lose your job or right away thereafter.

If your unemployment benefits claim is rejected, you may need to provide supporting evidence. Your proof may be in the form of emails, meeting notes, phone messages, doctor’s notes, etc.

A person who was fired should contact their state’s unemployment office to see whether or not they are eligible for unemployment compensation.

They can help you make sure you have met the minimum earning requirements and stay employed long enough to qualify. They will direct you through the process of applying for unemployment and will detail the benefits you can anticipate receiving, including how much money and for how long.

Can I Still Get Unemployment in Texas if I Quit My Job?

The situation is the same every time: your employer informs you of the difficulties at work and suggests that you resign rather than be let go. If you do this, it will improve your reputation and resume. In that case, what should you do? Most workers are aware that if they quit their job, they lose eligibility for unemployment benefits. However, this, actually is not always the case everywhere. In Texas, if you have the option of being fired or leaving your job and you choose to quit, you are still eligible for unemployment benefits as long as you meet all other requirements and standards. This is as stated by the Texas Workforce Commission.

But how does this actually work and how do you go about it? The first thing you need to know is that if you decide to quit instead of being fired, you will not be disqualified from unemployment benefits. However, not all employers would truthfully report to the Texas Unemployment Commission that you would have been fired had you not resigned. In light of the fact that you may have been terminated instead of asked to quit, it is in your best interest to put your decision to resign in writing. Keep a copy of this written statement for your records. Sending an email to your employer in this fashion with a blind copy of your personal email is an excellent approach to demonstrate that your resignation is genuine.

What reasons Can You Quit a Job and Still Get Unemployment in Texas?

So, what do you do if you’re fed up with your treatment at work and you really want to quit? That’s a trickier circumstance, but you still need to apply for unemployment benefits. The Texas Workforce Commission acknowledges the idea of “constructive discharge,” in which your departure is justified due to unacceptable working conditions. 

However, if you’re here, try and document that they complained about the poor working conditions, but nothing was done to improve them. In all cases, this must be communicated in writing and with proper decorum. Keep a record of your concerns and submit it to your employer. A normal employee would not put up with anything, but if it has to do with their work schedule or salary, you have a better chance of winning your claim. 

Many companies take pride in the fact that they have never had to pay out on an employee’s unemployment claim because they make the job so intolerable that workers simply quit. It’s crucial that you provide proof of this to your employer before submitting your resignation. A simple email stating, “I know you have indicated in the past that you never pay unemployment claims because you know how to “run-off” employees” will suffice. Obviously, you shouldn’t put anything in writing unless it’s the honest truth. Still, it is vital that you document the situation and offer your employer a chance to fix it.

Employees who quit their job in Texas and then petition for unemployment benefits typically lose the original determination but have a much better chance of success in the appeals process (by telephone hearing).

Conclusion

While eligibility requirements for unemployment benefits can vary by state, in most cases, you must have been working prior to losing your job in order to receive them.

In order to maintain your unemployment benefits after you’re fired, you must file a claim and show performance that you are actively seeking employment on a regular basis. Whether you get a job or not, your benefits will end soon. While the federal government and several states have reduced the length of time that unemployed people can collect benefits, the normal duration is 26 weeks, and both can be extended in times of economic hardship.

IF I GET FIRED CAN I GET UNEMPLOYMENT FAQs

How do you apply for unemployment benefits?

Basically, you can file for your unemployment benefits through online applications after a layoff or termination.

It’s best to submit your claim as soon as possible so that a decision on your eligibility can be made as soon as possible.

How do you file an appeal?

If your employer denies or disrupts your claim you have the right to file an appeal with the state unemployment agency.

Gather any and all supporting paperwork for your claim so that you have it on hand in the event that you need to file an appeal.

Getting fire or quiting, which one is better?

If you quit instead of being fired, you can avoid explaining your dismissal to potential employers. When you submit your resignation, you have the opportunity to present your decision to leave in a positive light.

On the other hand, there are advantages to being let go. For performance or qualify for unemployment benefits, you must first have been fired.

  1. TERMINATION FOR CAUSE: Reasons That Could Lead To It
  2. SEASONAL UNEMPLOYMENT: Detailed Overview & Europe Practices
  3. What happens to 401k when you quit: Best 2022 Practices (Updated)
  4. UNEMPLOYMENT TAX FUND: Compensation, Overview & All You Need To Know
  5. TORT LAW: Definition, Example, And Types

Reference

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like