现金余额养老金计划:利弊和取款

现金余额养老金计划

现金余额 养老金计划 在寻求减轻税负的个体经营者和小企业主中越来越普遍。 这种有益的 退休计划 也适用于那些推迟为退休储蓄的高收入人士。 如果您的雇主正在从传统的养老金计划福利公式过渡到现代现金流养老金计划福利公式,您可能会担心这将如何影响您。 以下是一些最常见问题的答案。 这些答案不构成对 ERISA 或《国内税收法》的法律解释,但提供了一般知识。 在本文中,我们还将详细了解此现金余额养老金计划的优缺点、提款以及计算器概述。

什么是现金余额养老金计划?

现金流养老金计划是现金余额计划的另一种说法。 它被称为固定养老金计划。 它是由雇主提供的福利,并以与典型养老金计划相同的方式供款。

我们也可以将现金余额计划称为现金余额养老金计划。 这是因为分配给它的钱被指定为以后生活事件的钱。 一种 养老保险基金 是任何形式的退休计划,根据该计划,为以后的生活事件捐款。

这是一项完全由公司出资的合格退休计划。 现金余额计划可在 3 年提供高达 2021 万美元的供款。这取决于您的薪水以及您离退休还有多远。 每年贡献 150,000 美元至 350,000 美元的企业主更受欢迎。 这通常是对利润分享 401(k) 账户的补充。 该账户的总供款限额为 58,000 美元(2021 年员工 + 雇主)。 如果您好奇,您为现金流量养老金计划贡献的每一美元都可以免税。

现金余额养老金计划如何运作?

普通工人的现金余额工作场所供款通常占工资的 6% 左右。 这与典型的 3% 贡献相反 401(k)程序.

参与者还有权获得年度“利息抵免”。 该信贷可能具有固定利率,例如 5%,或可变利率,例如 30 年期国债利率。 参与者将根据其投资组合余额或退休时一次性支付年金。 然后可以将其纳入 IRA 或其他雇主的套餐中。

部分雇主可能为现金余额养老金计划支付比 401(k) 计划更多的费用。 这是因为精算师必须证明该计划每年都有适当的资金。 设置费从 2,000 美元到 5,000 美元不等,年度管理费从 2,000 美元到 10,000 美元不等,投资管理费从资产的 0.25% 到 1% 不等。

退休期间从现金余额计划中提款

当您达到计划中指定的退休年龄时,您可以通过以下两种方式之一提取资金。 年金,就像传统的养老金一样,可以在您的余生中定期支付。 如果您的计划允许一次性分配,您也可以一次性提取并投资,但您认为合适。 从您的计划中提取资金的机制由您的计划管理员定义。 但是,它通常需要填写文书工作或填写在线表格。

从现金余额养老金计划中提前取款

您的雇主可以锁定您的现金余额养老金计划,阻止您通过展期以外的方式提取资金。 如果您符合条件,您可以将退休计划展期安排为现金分配给您。 如果您保留现金,您必须为支出支付所得税以及提前提取现金余额养老金计划的 10% 罚款。 虽然您的余额的 20% 将被扣留,但您也需要为您的实际税款和罚款负责,可能超过 20%。

现金余额养老金计划

现金余额养老金计划的利弊

在您选择现金余额养老金计划之前,有必要了解利弊。 让我们看看其中的一些;

现金余额计划优点:

  • 雇主可以同时拥有符合条件的退休计划,例如 401(k) 和现金余额计划,从而使雇主能够优化其缴费金额。
  • 与传统计划相比,员工对这些计划的贡献要大得多。
  • 员工的贡献因年龄而异; 参与者年龄越大,他们的贡献就越大。
  • 该战略旨在提供稳定、保守的增长。
  • 员工将以一次性付款的形式获得报酬。 如果计划允许展期,则可以将其转入 IRA 或新雇主的计划。
  • 这种形式的计划对可能无法为其他计划供款或常规计划供款有限的高收入者有益。
  • 如果小企业主在发展自己的公司时没有进行大量投资,该方案允许小企业主“赶上”退休计划付款。

现金余额计划缺点:

  • 雇主必须为精算师支付现金流量计划的额外费用,以证明该计划每年有足够的资金。
  • 这些计划没有投资选择; 相反,工人在年底获得账户余额表。
  • 员工不能选择如何使用资金,因为资金储备是由雇主或支持投资公司专业处理的。
  • 由于回报率低,员工可能需要将增长投资纳入其退休储蓄计划。
  • 虽然雇员会以年金的形式获得补偿,雇主也应该提供一份,但由于该计划即将终止,因此不建议或不正常。

现在我们已经了解了这种现金余额养老金计划的优缺点,让我们看看如何使用计算器进行计算。

现金余额养老金计划计算器

可以使用工具/计算器计算您的现金余额养老金计划供款、付款和提款。 七月现金余额养老金计划计算器、固定收益计划计算器和最大供款计算器是其中最突出的。 让我们来看看福利计划计算器是如何工作的。

设定受益计划计算器概述

设定受益计划的扣除额是多少?

设定受益计划 计算器 计算免费的固定福利养老金。 该工具也是现金余额计划计算器,因为现金余额计划是固定收益计划的一种形式。 使用滑块选择您的年龄、薪水和工作时间。 如果您已婚且您的配偶为您的企业工作,请为您的配偶提供相同的详细信息。 雇用您的伴侣会提高您将有资格获得的固定福利扣除额。

当您通过滑块时,设定受益计划计算器可以实时计算数字。 此功能显示数字如何随每个输入而变化。 此外,由于您不必在每次更改时“发送”详细信息,因此您可以轻松运行多个场景。

固定福利养老金计算器给出了两个数字:

  1. 等级贡献: 未来十年的大致设定受益缴款水平。
  2. 总贡献: 一个人在第一年可以贡献的最大金额。 最大贡献产生了一个“前端负载”的统计数据。 此选项会导致潜在捐款减少。 如果一个人需要更大的前期扣除或更长的复利期限以获得“更多的美元”,那么早年的“过度供款”可能是有道理的。

输入如何影响您设定的福利计划的计算

设定受益计划计算器确定潜在的免赔额供款。 输入如何影响您的设定受益计划的估计?

  1. 年龄: 一般来说,您的允许供款越高,您越接近退休年龄。 这是因为当期限较短时,预期给定福利金额的固定福利缴款会更高。
  2. 您的收入: 他们可以根据您的收入调整您的固定福利限额。 230,000 美元的三年平均收入将在 2021 年获得全部潜在收益。较低的平均收入可能会降低固定福利限额。 然而,这并非总是如此。 它是所有者收入和对公司服务年限的乘积。
  3. 经营年限:如前所述,如果 230,000 年的平均工资低于 2021 美元,经营年限可能会影响设定受益计划上限。
  4. 您的配偶是公司的员工吗? 让您的配偶成为公司的雇员,理论上可以使您的免赔额捐款金额翻倍。 允许供款的增加将取决于您配偶的年龄、薪水和为公司服务的年限。

增加您对固定收益计划的供款

既然您已了解输入如何影响设定受益计划估计值,请考虑以下选项以增加最大免赔额供款:

  1. 增加你的收入: 增加您的收入将为您提供更高的上限。 如果他们将您作为公司征税,这是最容易做到的。 这是因为更高的 W-2 工资直接影响您的供款上限。 但是,您必须平衡更高的所得税减免和更高的工资税。
  2. 在公司雇用您的配偶: 如前所述,如果您的配偶在企业工作,您将可以加倍扣除。 实际上,您支付给合作伙伴的费用将低于公司的主要所有者。 另一方面,固定福利扣除额可能会根据配偶的年龄和收入水平而大大增加。
  3. 添加 401(k) 计划: 如果您年满 50 岁,您将通过实施 26,000(k) 计划延迟并减去每人额外的 401 美元。 它还允许利润分享分配。

现金余额养老金计划如何筹资?

现金余额养老金计划由雇主供款提供资金,也可能包括雇员供款。

如果雇主倒闭,员工的账户余额会怎样?

如果雇主倒闭,现金余额养老金计划中员工的账户余额将受到养老金福利担保公司 (PBGC) 的保护。

现金余额养老金计划的利率是如何确定的?

现金余额养老金计划的利率通常由雇主决定,可能基于市场利率或雇主确定的固定利率。

如果员工离开雇主,他们的账户余额会怎样?

如果员工离开雇主,他们在现金余额养老金计划中的账户余额通常会一次性支付给他们,或者转入个人退休账户 (IRA)。

现金余额养老金计划与 401(k) 计划有何不同?

现金余额养老金计划是固定收益养老金计划,而 401(k) 计划是固定供款计划。 在 401(k) 计划中,员工负责选择投资并承担投资风险,而在现金余额养老金计划中,雇主负责为计划提供资金并承担投资风险。

现金余额养老金计划的税务影响是什么?

现金余额养老金计划的税收影响取决于具体计划和员工的情况。 一般来说,现金余额养老金计划的供款是税前的,而分配作为普通收入征税。

总结

谈到退休账户,目的是鼓励人们为退休做准备,同时防止他们利用这些漏洞。

希望您有机会考虑现金流养老金计划的利弊,以便您做出正确的选择。

现金余额养老金计划常见问题解答

我可以兑现我的现金余额养老金计划吗?

一般来说,你需要 等到你达到“退休年龄”,” 2016 年是 59-1/2,开始从现金余额养老金计划中取出资金。 …但是,如果您在 59-1/2 岁之前取出任何这笔钱,您将需要承担提取的金额,以及 10% 的提前取款罚款

我离开公司后,我的养老金还会继续增长吗?

离职时的养老金选择

通常,当您离开具有固定福利养老金的工作时,您有几个选择。 您可以选择现在一次性支付这笔钱,也可以选择将来定期支付的承诺,也称为年金。 …今天的小额年金在未来看起来会更小

如果我被解雇,我会失去养老金吗

?如果您的退休计划是 401(k),那么即使您退出或被解雇,您也可以保留账户中的所有内容。 ……但是,如果您属于养老金,那么 账户里的所有钱都是你的 坚持下去,即使你辞职或被解雇。

我离开公司后,我的养老金还会继续增长吗?

离职时的养老金选择

通常,当您离开具有固定福利养老金的工作时,您有几个选择。 您可以选择现在一次性支付这笔钱,也可以选择将来定期支付的承诺,也称为年金。 …今天的小额年金在未来看起来会更小。

  1. 退休现金余额计划:2021 年供款限额(更新!)
  2. 养老金和投资:2021 年的完整概述
  3. 定义您和定义您的业务的 7 种方法
  4. 养老金和投资:2021 年最佳指南
  5. 在飓风哈维和艾玛之后帮助家人的家庭
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

你也许也喜欢

Cash Balance Pension Plan: Pros & Cons and Withdrawals

cash balance pension plan

The cash balance pension plan is becoming increasingly common among self-employed and small business owners seeking to reduce their tax burden. This beneficial retirement plan also works well for those with high incomes who have put off saving for retirement. If your employer is transitioning from a conventional pension plan benefit formula to a modern cash flow pension plan benefit formula, you may have some concerns about how this will affect you. The following are answers to some of the most frequently asked questions. These answers do not constitute legal interpretations of ERISA or the Internal Revenue Code but provide general knowledge. In this article, we’ll also learn more about the pros and cons of this cash balance Pension plan, the withdrawals, and an overview of the calculator.

What is a Cash Balance Pension Plan?

A cash flow pension plan is yet another way of saying a cash balance plan. It is known as a defined pension plan. It’s a benefit provided by the employer and contributed to in the same way that a typical pension plan is.

We can also refer to the cash balance plan as a Cash Balance Pension plan. This is because the money that is allocated to it is designated to be money for later life events. A pension fund is any form of retirement plan under which money is contributed towards later life events.

It’s an eligible retirement plan that’s completely funded by the company. A cash balance plan provides for contributions of up to $3 million in 2021. It depends on your salary and how far you are from retirement. Business owners who contribute between $150,000 and $350,000 a year are more popular. This is normally in addition to a profit-sharing 401(k) account. The account has a combined contribution limit of $58,000 (employee + employer for 2021). In case you were curious, every dollar you contribute to a cash flow pension plan is tax-deductible.

How does Cash Balance Pension Plan Work?

Cash-balance workplace contributions for rank-and-file workers typically amount to around 6% of pay. This is opposed to the 3% contributions typical of 401(k) programs.

Participants are also entitled to an annual “interest credit”. This credit may have a fixed rate, such as 5%, or a variable rate, such as the 30-year Treasury rate. Participants will take either an annuity depending on their portfolio balance or a lump sum at retirement. This can then be rolled into an IRA or another employer’s package.

Employers may pay more for cash balance pension plans than 401(k) plans, in part. This is because an actuary must certify that the plan is properly funded each year. Setup fees range from $2,000 to $5,000, annual administration fees range from $2,000 to $10,000, and investment-management fees range from 0.25 percent to 1 percent of assets.

Withdrawals From Cash Balance Plans During Retirement

When you reach the retirement age specified in your plan, you can withdraw funds in one of two ways. An annuity, like a traditional pension, can make regular payments for the rest of your life. If your plan allows for lump-sum distributions, you can also withdraw a lump sum and invest it however you see fit. The mechanics of withdrawing funds from your plan are defined by your plan administrator. However, it will usually entail filling out paperwork or completing online forms.

Early Withdrawals from a Cash Balance Pension Plan

Your employer can lock up your cash-balance pension plan, preventing you from withdrawing funds other than through a rollover. You may be able to structure your retirement plan rollover as a cash distribution to you if you are eligible. If you retain the cash, you must pay income tax on the payout as well as a 10% penalty for the early cash balance pension plan withdrawal. Although 20% of your balance will be withheld, you are also responsible for your real taxes and fines, which may be more than 20%.

cash balance pension plan

Pros and cons of Cash Balance Pension Plan

Before you go for the cash balance pension plan, it is necessary to know the pros and the cons. Let’s look at some of them;

Cash Balance Plan Pros:

  • Employers can have a mix of eligible retirement programs, such as a 401(k) and a cash balance plan, allowing employers to optimize their contribution amounts.
  • Employees will contribute significantly more to these plans than to conventional plans.
  • Employee contributions vary by age; the older the participant, the more they will contribute.
  • The strategy is intended to provide steady, conservative growth.
  • Employees will receive their payout in the form of a lump sum. This can then be rolled over to an IRA or a new employer’s plan if the plan allows rollovers.
  • This form of plan is beneficial for high-income earners who may be unable to contribute to other programs or who are limited in their conventional plan contributions.
  • This package allows small-business owners to “catch up” on retirement plan payments if they did not invest as much when developing their companies.

Cash Balance Plan Cons:

  • Employers must pay an extra fee for cash flow plans for an actuary to certify that the plan is adequately funded on an annual basis.
  • These programs do not have investment options; instead, workers obtain an account balance statement at the end of the year.
  • Employees cannot choose how funds are spent because fund reserves are professionally handled by the employer or a supporting investment company.
  • Employees can need to include growth investments in their retirement savings plan due to the low returns.
  • Although the employee will obtain his or her compensation in the form of an annuity, and employers are expected to provide one, it is not suggested or normal since the plan will be terminated soon.

Now that we have seen the pros and cons of this cash balance pension plan, let’s see how the calculation works with a calculator.

Calculator for Cash Balance Pension Plans

Calculating your cash balance pension plan contributions, payments, and withdrawals is possible using tools/calculators. The July Cash Balance Pension Plan Calculator, Defined Benefit Plan Calculator, and Maximum Contribution Calculator are among the most prominent. Let’s take a look at how the Benefit plan calculator works.

Defined Benefit Plan Calculator Overview

What Is the Deduction for Defined Benefit Plans?

The Defined Benefit Plan Calculator calculates a FREE Defined Benefit pension. This tool is also a Cash Balance Plan Calculator since Cash Balance Plans are a form of Defined Benefit Plan. Pick your age, salary, and length of time in business using the sliders. If you are married and your spouse works for your business, provide the same details for your spouse. Employing your partner raises the amount of Defined Benefit deduction you will be eligible for.

As you pass the sliders, the Defined Benefit Plan Calculator can compute figures in real-time. This feature displays how the numbers shift with each input. Furthermore, since you do not have to “send” the details each time you alter it, you can run multiple scenarios easily.

Two figures are given by the Defined Benefit pension calculator:

  1. Level Contribution: The approximate Defined Benefit contribution level for the next ten years.
  2. Gross Contribution: The maximum amount that one can contribute in the first year. The maximum contribution yields a statistic that is a “front-load”. This option results in lower potential donations. Where one requires a greater deduction upfront or a longer compounding duration for “more dollars”, “over-contributing” in the early years can make sense.

How Inputs Affect the Calculation of Your Defined Benefit Plan

The Defined Benefit Plan Calculator determines the potential deductible contribution. How do the inputs affect the estimation of your Defined Benefit Plan?

  1. Age: In general, the higher your permissible contribution, the closer you are to retirement age. This is because when the horizon is shorter, higher Defined Benefit contributions are expected for a given benefit amount.
  2. Your Income: They can adjust your Defined Benefit limits according to your income. A three-year average income of $230,000 will have the full potential gain in 2021. A lower average income may reduce the Defined Benefit limit. However, this is not always the case. It is a product of the owner’s income and length of service to the company.
  3. Years in Business: As previously stated, the number of years in business may affect the Defined Benefit Plan cap if the average pay is less than $230,000 in 2021.
  4. Is Your Spouse an Employee of the Company? Having your spouse as an employee of the company allows you to theoretically double the deductible donation amount. The increase in allowable contribution will be a result of your spouse’s age, salary, and years of service to the company.

Increasing Your Contribution to a Defined Benefit Plan

Now that you understand how the inputs affect the Defined Benefit Plan estimate, consider the following options for increasing the maximum deductible contribution:

  1. Increase Your Earnings: Increasing your earnings would provide you with a higher cap. This is easiest to do if they tax you as a corporation. This is because higher W-2 salaries directly affect your contribution cap. However, you must balance the greater income tax deduction with higher payroll taxes.
  2. Hire Your Spouse in the Company: As previously stated, if your spouse works in the business, you will be able to double your deduction. In reality, you’ll pay the partner less than the primary owner of the company. The Defined Benefit deduction, on the other hand, maybe greatly increased depending on the spouse’s age and income level.
  3. Add a 401(k) Plan: If you are 50 or older, you will delay and subtract an extra $26,000 per person by implementing a 401(k) Plan. It also allows profit-sharing allocations.

Conclusion

When it comes to retirement accounts, the aim is to encourage people to prepare for retirement while preventing them from using those loopholes.

Hopefully, you’ve had a chance to consider the pros and cons of cash flow pension plans so you can make the right choice.

Cash Balance Pension Plan FAQs

Can I cash out my cash balance pension plan?

Generally, you need to wait until you reach “retirement age,” which for 2016 is 59-1/2, to start removing money from a cash balance pension plan. … However, if you remove any of that money before you turn 59-1/2, you’ll be subject to takes on the amount withdrawn, plus a 10% early withdrawal penalty

Does my pension continue to grow after I leave the company?

Pension Options When You Leave a Job

Typically, when you leave a job with a defined benefit pension, you have a few options. You can choose to take the money as a lump sum now or take the promise of regular payments in the future, also known as an annuity. … Today’s small annuity will look even smaller in the future

Do I lose my pension if I get fired

?If your retirement plan is a 401(k), then you get to keep everything in the account, even if you quit or are fired. … However, if you are vested in the pension, then all the money in the account is yours to keep, even if you quit or are fired.

Does my pension continue to grow after I leave the company?

Pension Options When You Leave a Job

Typically, when you leave a job with a defined benefit pension, you have a few options. You can choose to take the money as a lump sum now or take the promise of regular payments in the future, also known as an annuity. … Today’s small annuity will look even smaller in the future.

  1. Cash Balance Plan for Retirement: Contributions Limits 2021 (Updated!)
  2. PENSION AND INVESTMENT: A Complete Overview In 2021
  3. 7 Ways to Define you and Define your Business
  4. PENSION AND INVESTMENT: Best 2021 Guide
  5. Family Helping Family in The Wake of Hurricanes Harvey and Irma
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like