遗嘱信托:定义、例子、要求。

遗嘱信托
图片来源:布尔曼律师

遗产规划是每个人在世时都应该考虑的事情。 您应该始终知道的一件重要事情是,如果没有制定法律定义的计划,您肯定会将您的全部遗产交给法院。 这可能会给您的家人和亲人带来很多麻烦。 因此,为确保您的资产按照您的意愿分配,遗嘱信托或遗嘱可能是更好的选择。 本文是最好和完整的指南,为您提供一些说明性示例、税收以及遗嘱信托如何运作。

定义

遗嘱信托也称为“最后遗嘱”,是遗嘱中指定受托人管理死者资产的条款。 它在设保人死亡后生效。 但是,它也是按照一个人的遗嘱和遗嘱中的指示创建的。 他们概述了何时将资产分配给特定年龄的特定受益人,毕业生,如遗嘱中所述。 

遗嘱信托是不可撤销的,因此在一定时期后不能撤销。 这是因为遗嘱信托在一个人去世后生效。 另一个重要的事情是它不会避免遗嘱认证,因为法院通常会确定信托的真实性并监督资产的分配。 此外,如果受托人不选择受益人,则没有人对信托资产拥有既得利益。

另请参阅: 可撤销信托:什么是可撤销信托?

此外,遗嘱必须有三个最重要的当事人:

#1。 授予人

这是创建信托的个人或个人,在最终将资产交给受益人之前,指定受托人管理资产。

#2。 受托人

受托人是信托内资产的保管人。 他们全权负责根据给出的指示管理和管理信托的财务。 在任命受托人之前,重要的是要找到一个愿意放弃所有个人目标并遵循信托指示的人。

#3。 受益人

 受益人是从某事中获得优势和/或利润的人。 在本文的上下文中,他们是您在人寿保险单中指定的接受死亡抚恤金的个人或实体。 

遗嘱信托的类型

#1。 独立信托

简单来说,单独的信托实际上是为每个受益人创建一个特定的信托。 在许多情况下,这意味着为每个孩子建立单独的信托,平均分配一个人的资产。 这种信托通常是单独分配的。

#2。 家庭遗嘱信托

这种遗嘱信托允许父母根据孩子的需要分配资产。 想要将更多资金留给有特殊需要或有额外经济支持的特定孩子的父母大多使用这种信托。

遗嘱信托税

信托是遗产规划中的一个重要元素,因为它有助于在设保人去世后更好地控制资产分配。 遗嘱信托可能是最好的选择之一。 在遗产规划中减税是一个值得的过程。 使用遗嘱信托的最大优势是收入、资本收益和股息每年在受益人之间分配 节税 大大地。 然而,这个税因州而异。 遗嘱信托税取决于 在你居住的州 英寸 H但是,在您去世后,受托人可能会对信托资产征收资本利得税。  

遗嘱信托

为了在遗嘱中建立遗嘱信托, 委托人 必须指定受托人并指定所有受益人。 如前所述,这种信任在委托人去世时生效。 因此,遗嘱信托必须在委托人的“最后遗嘱”中,然后进行遗嘱认证程序。

有必要了解,虽然其他类型的信托可能会避免遗嘱认证,但对于具有遗嘱信托的遗嘱来说,通过遗嘱认证程序是理想的。 这只是在它生效之前完成遗嘱过程的方法。

遗嘱信托中的资产分配只有在各方对条款进行所有审查后才能进行。 受托人也可以每年至少去遗嘱认证法庭一次,并确保法庭按照遗嘱和州法律对信托进行照​​管。

遗嘱信托示例

遗嘱信托
图片来源:PDFfiller(遗嘱信托)

下图为您提供了遗嘱信任的清晰案例示例。

首先,如果您希望您 5 岁的女儿或儿子在您死后收到您的资产。

当您选择一个特别的人作为您的遗嘱信托的受托人时。

当您指定某个人将为您女儿的利益管理您的资产时,直到她年满 25 岁。

如果您特别提到有人负责为您的孩子提供教育和其他费用的月收入。

最后,在收到剩余资产之前说明您女儿的具体年龄,信托将终止。

相关文章:

  1. LIVING TRUST:概述、成本、模板、优点和缺点(+写作指南)
  2. 生活信任VS意志:美国的最佳选择(+主要差异)
  3. 继任受托人(在新的浏览器选项卡中打开)
  4. Grantors Trust:一个简单的权威指南(更新!

总而言之,遗嘱信托是遗嘱中的一项条款,指定受托人管理死者的资产。 当受益人或受益人是儿童或处于危急状态(例如残疾)时,通常会使用它。 该信托还用于减少遗产税负债并确保资产的专业管理。 因此,在创建遗嘱信托之前寻求经验丰富的房地产律师的帮助非常重要。 本文中包含的所有信息仅供参考。 我们不建议您选择任何一种。

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

TESTAMENTARY TRUST: Definition, Examples, Requirements.

Testamentary Trust
Image Credit: Boorman Lawyers

An estate planning is what everyone should take into consideration while they are alive. One important thing you should always know is that without a legally defined plan in place, you’re definitely leaving your entire legacy in the hands of the courts. This might cause your families and loved ones a lot. Therefore to ensure your assets are distributed according to your wishes, testamentary trust or last will can be a better option. This article is the best and complete guide providing you with some illustrative examples, taxation as well as how will with a testamentary trust work.

Definition

A testamentary trust also known as “last will” is a provision in a will that appoints a trustee to manage the assets of the deceased. It becomes effective after the grantor’s death. However, It is also created in accordance with the instructions in a person’s Last Will and Testament. They outlines when assets will be given to certain beneficiaries upon a certain age, graduate, as it is in the will. 

A Testamentary Trust is irrevocable, thus it cannot be revoke after a certain period of time. This is because a testamentary trust goes into effect after a person demise. Another important thing is that it does not avoid probate because the court will typically determine the trusts authenticity and supervise the distribution of assets. Moreover, if the trustee does not elects a beneficiary, no person has a vested interest in the assets of the trust.

Read Also: REVOCABLE TRUST: What is Living Revocable Trust?

In addition, the Testamentary must have three most important parties:

#1. A Grantor

This is an individual or a person who creates the trust, appoints the trustee to manage the assets before they are finally given to the beneficiary.

#2. A trustee

A Trustee is a custodian for the assets within a Trust. They are soley responsible for managing and administering the finances of a Trust upon instructions given. Before appointing a Trustee, it’s important to find someone who will forgo all personal goals and follow the trust instructions.

#3. The beneficiary

 A beneficiary is someone who gains an advantage and/or profits from something. In the context of the article they are persons or entity you name in a life insurance policy to receive the death benefit. 

Types of Testamentary Trust

#1. Separate Trust

Separate trusts in simple term is actually the creation of a specific Trust for each beneficiary. In many cases, this means making separate trusts for each child that equally split one’s assets. This kind of trusts are usually distributed individually.

#2. Family Testamentary Trust

This kind of testamentary trusts allow parents to distribute assets according to a child’s needs. Parents who want to leave more funds to a particular child with either special needs or with an additional financial support mostly use this kind of trust.

Testamentary Trust Taxation

Trusts are a important element in Estate Planning because help provide more control over asset distribution after the grantor’s death. Testamentary trust can be one of the best to opt for. Reducing tax in estate planning is a worthwhile process. The greatest advantage of using a testamentary trust is that income, capital gains, and dividends are yearly distributed amongst beneficiaries in a tax-efficient way. However, this tax vary from state to state. Testamentary trust taxation depends on the state you live in. However, there could be capital gains tax on assets for the trust by the trustee after your death.  

Will with Testamentary Trust

To create a testamentary trust in a will, the settlor must designate a trustee and specify all beneficiaries. As earlier stated, this trust comes into effect when the settlor dies. Therefore, the testamentary trust must be in the settlor’s “last will”, There after, the probate process will take place.

It is pertinent to understand that while other types of trusts may avoid probate, it is ideal for a will with a testamentary trust to go through the probate process. This is only what completes the testamentary process before it can be effective.

Distributions of assets in a will with a testamentary trust can only be given out after all reviews of provisions by all parties. The trustee may also go to the probate court at least once a year and ensure the court that the trust is being taken care of in line with the will and state law.

Testamentary Trust Example

testamentary trust
Image Credit: PDFfiller (Testamentary Trust)

The following illustration gives you a clear cases example of testamentary trust.

Firstly, If you want your 5-year-old daughter or son to receive your assets after you die.

When you choose someone special as the trustee of your testamentary trust.

When You specify a certain person that will manage your assets for your daughter’s benefit until she reaches the age of 25.

If You specifically mention someone to be in charge of giving your child monthly income for education and other expenses.

Lastly, stating the specific age your daughter will be, before receiving the remaining assets, and the trust will terminate.

Related Articles:

  1. LIVING TRUST: Overview, Cost, Templates, Pros & Cons (+Writing Guide)
  2. LIVING TRUST VS WILL: Best option in the US (+Major differences)
  3. SUCCESSOR TRUSTEE(Opens in a new browser tab)
  4. Grantors Trust: A Simple definitive guide (Updated!

In summary, a testamentary trust is a provision in a will that appoints a trustee to manage the assets of the deceased. It is often used when the beneficiary or beneficiaries are children or in a critical condition such as disabilities. The trust is also used to reduce estate tax liabilities and ensure professional management of assets. Therefore it is important to seek the help of an experienced estate lawyer before creating a testamentary trust. All information contained in this article are for informational purpose. We do not recommend you to opt for any.

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like