可撤销信托:什么是可撤销信托?

可撤销生活信托
图片来源:芬纳、梅尔斯特罗姆和杜林,

为了您亲人的利益,生前信托应该是您遗产计划的重要组成部分,以避免在您去世时进行遗嘱认证。 尽管许多人并不真正了解可撤销信托的概念及其运作方式。 因此,本文将扩展您对什么是可撤销的生前信托、其成本、形式以及它在加利福尼亚的运作方式的视野。

详情

在我们开始之前,让我们看一下“信任”这个词的含义。

根据维基百科,“信托是一种法律关系,在这种关系中,财产的合法所有权被委托给具有信托义务的个人或法人实体,为他人的利益持有和使用它,信托是其制造者和受托人之间的合同”。 这使得信托人或设保人能够就信托资产向受托人发出指示。 这套说明详细说明了在设保人身体健康或残疾时以及在死亡的情况下如何持有和分配资产。

但是,“可撤销”一词是指信托协议中规定的一组权力,规定只有设保人有权修改信托。 撤销时,受托人必须将所有信托资产返还给设保人。

现在让我们将这些细分合并到“可撤销信托”这一短语中。

什么是可撤销的生活信托?

可撤销的生前信托是一种先进的遗产规划工具,可指定在您去世时谁接收您的财产。 它们主要由其总遗产应为联邦遗产税征税的个人使用。 它允许设保人保持对其资产的所有权,并在其生命周期的任何时候对信托文件进行更改。 可撤销信托也是减轻税收负担以及通过遗嘱认证的资产的一种方式。

可撤销信托可帮助您完全避免生死遗嘱认证程序。 您还可以将说明合并到可撤销信托中,指定您的受托人在您残疾时应如何管理您的资产。 在可撤销的生前信托中,一个人有时既可以是制作人,也可以是受托人。

此外,请确保 您购买的新财产或资产在信托中。 在您去世时,信托之外的任何财产仍可能需要进行遗嘱认证,因为您未能将它们包括在信托中。

重点说明

  1. 可撤销信托符合设保人的意愿。
  2. 它确保隐私。
  3. 它减少 州遗产税

除了, 如果你生病了 或无能力 管理您的资产,这 信任 协议应包括 a 受托人 谁拿 代表你过去。 受托人接管与管理资产相关的所有账单和任何责任。 他她 有权力NLY 管理资产 但是 不要撤销信任.

 最后,在您去世后,该信托成为不可撤销的信托。 您的继任受托人根据您的意愿接管分配资产,负责支付账单。 他们还负责将剩余资产分配给信托中提到的继承人。

可撤销的生活信托表格

可撤销信托表格用于概述信托的详细信息。 如前所述,您的可撤销信托表格应包括您资产的所有具体细节。 但是,以下是可撤销生前信托表格中预期的资产清单。

可撤销信托
图片来源:vincegray2014(可撤销信托)

  1. 现金/银行账户
  2. 存款证(CD)
  3. 商业利益
  4. 个人财产(包括家具、汽车、珠宝)等。
  5. 建筑地产
  6. 经纪账户和股票(例如任何股票持有或退休账户)。

加州可撤销生活信托

与任何其他州或国家不同,加州可撤销生前信托是一份与其他州或国家相同的文件。 虽然,它的过程各不相同。 唯一的区别是,如果一对已婚夫妇离婚,加州的社区财产法可能会影响信托的运作方式。

最初,加利福尼亚州是一个社区财产州,这意味着每个配偶都有权获得所有婚姻财产的一半。 因此,如果他们离婚,配偶在婚前或作为礼物或继承的任何财产都是单独的财产。 因此,它在离婚时仍归原主人所有。

同样,加州信托也包含具体规定,概述了在离婚时信托资产会发生什么。 然后,在这种情况下,加州的社区财产法可以改变可撤销生前信托的运作方式。 无论如何,一旦离婚程序开始,州法律通常禁止任何一方更改或撤销信托。 在某种程度上,可以确定如何划分信托的资产。

此外,如果信托由 婚姻财产,法院考虑信托婚姻财产并将其资产平均分配给配偶。 此外,为避免这种结果,信托协议应明确概述离婚时会发生什么。 这是可撤销信托的最大本质。

可撤销的生活信托费用

任何遗嘱认证的费用因州而异。 这意味着尼日利亚的生前信托费用可能与纽约不同。 在创建您的遗产计划时,经常考虑您是基于信托的遗产计划还是基于遗嘱的遗产计划。 这决定了您应该在遗产计划上花费多少钱。

另一个考虑因素是将任何不动产契约转移到信托中并将您的其他资产转移到可撤销的生前信托中的成本。

此外,如果您选择聘请律师来建立信任,请相信我,您可能会支付约 13,000 美元,而夫妻的费用则更高。 对于某些人来说,让法律专业人士参与可能会有点昂贵。 考虑 DIY 建立生前信托的方法。

DIY方法比聘请律师便宜得多。 但是,由于您没有聘请专业人士,因此这种方法可能会有点风险。 如果您选择此选项,您通常可以使用在线软件来建立您的信任,这将花费您几百美元。

相关文章:

  1. 生活信任与意志:美国的最佳选择(+主要差异)。
  2. LIVING TRUST:概述、成本、模板、优点和缺点(+写作指南)
  3. Grantors Trust:一个简单的权威指南(更新!)(在新的浏览器选项卡中打开)
  4. 信托声明:美国最佳实践和权威指南
  5. 继任受托人

总结

最后,可撤销的生前信托是一种有价值的遗产规划工具,可帮助您在有生之年或去世后维护和控制您的资产。 信托允许在婚姻、离婚和增加孩子(如果有的话)方面灵活地改变生活。

免责声明!

在处理可撤销的生前信托等伟大的遗产计划时,与法律专业人士交谈以寻求帮助非常重要。 这将完全引导您了解您的意图的利弊。 为此,本文旨在传达一般信息,而非法律建议。 

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

REVOCABLE TRUST: What is Living Revocable Trust?

Revocable Living Trust
Image Credit: Fenner, Melstrom & Dooling,

For the benefit of your dear ones, a living trust should be an important part of your estate plan, to avoid probate when you pass on. Although many do not really understand the concept of a revocable trust and how it works. Therefore this article will expand your horizon on what a revocable living trust is, its cost, form, and how it is operated in California.

Overview

Before we begin lets glance through what the word “Trust” entails.

According to Wikipedia, “Trust is a legal relationship in which the legal title to property is entrusted to a person or legal entity with a fiduciary duty to hold and use it for another’s benefitTrust is a contract between its maker and a trustee”. This enables, the trust maker or grantor gives instructions to the trustee concerning the trust assets. This set of instructions specify how the assets will be held and distributed during the grantor’s good health, or upon his disability, as well as in case of demise.

However, the term “revocable” refers to a set of powers that are enlisted in the trust agreement that specifies that only the grantor has the power to amend the trust. On revocation, it is mandatory for the trustee to return all trust assets to the grantor.

Now let’s merge the breakdowns to the phrase “Revocable Trust’.

What is a Revocable LivingTrust?

A revocable living trust is an advanced estate planning tool that designates who receives your property when you pass away. They are mostly used by individuals whose gross estates are taxable for federal estate tax purposes. It allows the grantor to maintain ownership over their assets and make alterations to the trust documents at any point in their lifetime. A revocable trust is also a way to reduce tax burdens as well as your assets going through probate.

A revocable trust helps you to totally avoid living and death probate proceedings. You can also incorporate instructions into a revocable trust specifying how your trustee should manage your assets if you become disabled. In a revocable living trust, a person can sometimes be both the maker and the trustee.

In addition, do ensure that your new properties or assets are in the trust as you purchase them. Any property outside of the trust at the time of your death may still be subjected to probate because you fail to include them in the trust.

Key Notes

  1. Revocable trust adheres to the wish of the grantor.
  2. It ensures privacy.
  3. It reduces state estate taxes

Besides, If you fall ill or incapacitated to manage your assets, this trust agreement should include a trustee who takes over on your behalf. The trustee takes over all bills and any responsibility associated with managing the assets. He/she has the power only to manage the assets but not to revoke the trust.

 Lastly, after your demise, the trust becomes an irrevocable trust. Your successor trustee takes over the distribution assets according to your wishes, becomes in charge of paying bills. They are also responsible for distributing the remaining assets to heirs as mentioned in the trust.

Revocable Living Trust Form

A revocable trust form is used to outline details of a  trust. Your revocable trust form should include all specific details of your assets as earlier mentioned above. However, below are a list of assets expected in a revocable living trust form.

revocable trust
Image Credit: vincegray2014 (Revocable Trust)

  1. Cash/bank accounts
  2. Certificates of Deposit (CDs)
  3. Business interests
  4. Personal property( This includes furnishings, automobiles, jewelry), etc.
  5. Real estate
  6. Brokerage accounts and stocks (such as any stock holdings or retirement accounts).

California Revocable Living Trust

Unlike any other state or country, the California revocable living trust is a document that is the same as others. Although, its processes vary. Its only difference is that if a married couple divorces, the community property laws in California may affect how the trust operates.

Initially, California is a community property state, which means that each spouse has a right to half of all marital property. Therefore in the event, they get a divorce, any property of a spouse either before marriage or, as gift or inheritance, is separate property. Thus, it remains with the original owner upon divorce.

Similarly, California trusts also contain specific provisions outlining what happens to the trust’s assets in the event of a divorce. Then, in that case, California’s community property laws can change how a revocable living trust operates. Anyways, It is generally prohibited under state law for either spouse to change or revoke a trust once the divorce proceedings start. To some extent, it may be done to determine how to divide the trust’s assets.

Furthermore, If the trust was funded by the marital property, a court considers the trust marital property and divides its assets equally between the spouses. Moreover, to avoid this outcome, the trust agreement should explicitly outline what happens in the event of a divorce. That is the greatest essence of a revocable trust.

Revocable Living Trust Cost

The cost of any Probate varies from state to state. This means fees for living trusts in Nigeria might be different from New York. While creating your estate plan, often consider if you are on a trust-based estate plan or a will-based estate plan. This determines the cost of how much money you should spend on an estate plan.

Another consideration is in the cost of transferring any real property deeds into the trust and moving your other assets into the revocable living trust.

Moreover, If you choose to hire an attorney in building your trust, trust me that you’ll likely pay about $13,000, and fees for couples are at a higher rate. Involving a legal professional can be a bit expensive option for some people. It is also wise to consider the DIY approach in creating living trusts.

The DIY method is significantly less expensive than hiring an attorney. However, this approach can be a bit riskier since you aren’t hiring a professional. If you choose this option, you can typically use online software to build your trust, and it’ll cost you a few hundred dollars.

Related Articles:

  1. LIVING TRUST VS WILL: Best option in the US (+Major differences).
  2. LIVING TRUST: Overview, Cost, Templates, Pros & Cons (+Writing Guide)
  3. Grantors Trust: A Simple definitive guide (Updated!)(Opens in a new browser tab)
  4. Declaration of Trust: Best US Practices & Definitive Guide
  5. SUCCESSOR TRUSTEE

Conclusion

Finally, A revocable living trust can be a valuable estate planning tool to help you maintain and control your assets during your lifetime or after demise. The trust allows flexibility for life changes in terms of marriage, divorce, and increase in children(if any).

Disclaimer!

When handling great estate plans such as revocable living trust, It’s important to speak with a legal professional for assistance. This will completely guide you to understand the pros and cons of your intentions. To this end, this article is intended to convey general information and not legal advice. 

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like