SLAT TRUST:如何有效地规划您的 Slat 信任(+详细指南)

板条信托
图片来源:斯托弗法律

规划遗产有时可能有点困难,但它是您财务规划的重要组成部分,我知道您不想盯着自己的死亡率。 因此,如果您一直在考虑如何在您死后继承您的遗产,那么请让板条相信您的下一个选择。 但是,为了有效规划 slat 信任,本文是一份详细指南,为您提供其形式、优缺点以及 slat 信任的一般概述。

什么是板条信托?

SLAT 是 Spousal Lifetime Access Trust 的首字母缩写词。 它是一个 不可撤销的信任 由配偶在其一生中为另一方设立的。 这意味着这种信任是在捐赠者配偶还活着时创建的。 这是 SLAT 与其他类型的仅在死亡时才进行的婚姻信托之间的完美区别。

它们很便宜 遗产规划 情侣工具。 因此,它们基本上也是一种资产保护工具。 同时,它使受益人的配偶以及潜在的其他受益人(例如子女和孙子孙女)可以立即获得赠与的资金。

另请参阅: 可撤销信托:什么是可撤销信托?

板条信托
图片来源:Mericle & Company(Slate Trust)

然而,有多种信托以多种方式发挥作用,但有些属于婚姻信托的范畴。 因此,这种信任是确保您的配偶在您去世后财务安全的最佳方式。 此外,即使有很多婚姻信托,也有很多种类,这使得很难确定哪一个适合你。 此外,作为遗产计划的一部分,slat 是最好的资产保护工具之一。

虽然,您的遗产越大,您的联邦遗产税责任就越大。 因此,如果您拥有价值超过 25 万美元的联邦遗产,那么您想利用更高的遗产税豁免,请选择配偶终身访问信托 (SLAT)。

板条信托计划

建立板条信托是遗产规划过程的常见部分。 这也是减少您的遗产税责任的好方法。 渴望一个可以帮助为您的家人和受益人节省更多的钱。

SLAT 信托是一种遗产规划策略,或许可以解决相互冲突的目标。 这种类型的信任是由捐赠者配偶创建的。 他/她将他/她的财产赠送给不可撤销的信托,以造福另一方,也称为非捐赠配偶。 此外,他们还可能包括其他家庭成员,例如子女和孙子女作为受益人。 然而,捐赠者的配偶可以利用他们的联邦排斥将资产转移到 SLAT。

另请阅读: Grantors Trust:一个简单的权威指南(更新!)

板条信托表格

slat 信托表格是一份法律文件,其中包含要转移到信托中的财产或资产清单。 因此,在它可以合法地结合之前,板条信托表格必须包含以下内容;

  • 设保人
  • 受益人或受托人
  • 信托的礼物和遗产
  • 资产保护
  • 金融预测
  • 目击者
  • 加盖印章和签字成员

Slat Trust 的优点和缺点是什么?

虽然板条规划技术有很多优点,但也有一些缺点。 赠与或转让给 SLAT 的资产在设保人去世时不会增加所得税基础,因为它们不包括在设保人的应税遗产中。 此外,以下是板条信任的利弊。

优点:

  1. 您可以安排板条以避免州所得税。 您还可以保护 SLAT 中的资产免受未来债权人的侵害并避免遗嘱认证。
  2. SLAT 为定期将资产留作退休的夫妇提供了绝佳的储蓄工具
  3. 它有助于避免宾夕法尼亚州和新泽西州的遗产税。
  4. 它根据信托的条款保护您的资产。
  5. 减少离婚时的冲突:如果每个配偶为对方形成一个 SLAT 并在婚姻仍然健康的情况下分割资产,这通常会发生。 因此,在离婚的情况下,由于财产已经分割,冲突将会减少。
  6. SLAT 也可以用作 王朝信托. 这是一种将财富代代相传而不会产生转让税的方式
  7. 如果受益人配偶死亡,板条资产为后代提供直接的照顾来源。
  8. 它也是 信用庇护信托 or 绕过信任 在生而不是死时建立。
  9. 也可以起草以将资产保留在家庭中。

缺点:

  1. 如果您将资产转移到信托,则无法退还。 尽管受益人配偶始终可以自愿与设保人配偶分享分配。
  2. 如果他们离婚,SLAT 资产归受益人配偶所有。
  3. 如果夫妻双方都希望为彼此建立信托,他们应该小心避免 国税局互惠信任原则.
  4. 如果受益人配偶去世,授予人配偶可能会失去对信托的任何间接利益。 无论如何,人寿保险和其他保险工具可以最大限度地减少损失。
  5. 法律没有任何保证,因为它总是在修改。 因此,今天的技术可能不是明天的技术。 配偶必须跟上这些变化,以确保 SLAT 仍能满足其要求。

总结

SLAT 对于想要保护其财产的已婚夫妇来说是一个有用的工具。 Slat 有助于减少遗产、赠与和跨代转让税,同时为不可撤销的信托建立灵活性。 这可能是帮助客户适应参与财富转移计划的第一步。 只有拥有牢固婚姻的客户才能使用 SLAT。 如果一对夫妇离婚,捐赠配偶将失去通过受益配偶间接获得信托资产的机会。 只有婚姻牢固的客户才应考虑使用 SLAT。

如果发生任何离婚,捐赠人配偶将失去通过受益人配偶间接获得信托资产的机会。 因此,如果您希望选择板条作为您的遗产规划工具; 我们建议您联系遗产规划律师,讨论如何将它们用作您的遗产计划的一部分。

  1. 买卖协议:运作方式、关键要素和重要性
  2. LIVING TRUST:概述、成本、模板、优点和缺点(+写作指南)
  3. 可撤销信任:综合指南(+ 工作原理)
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

SLAT TRUST: How To Effectively Plan Your Slat Trust (+Detailed Guide)

Slat Trust
Image Credit: Stouffer Legal

Planning an estate could sometimes be a bit difficult but it’s an important part of your financial planning, I know that you would not like to stare down your own mortality. Therefore, if you’ve been thinking about how you would want to pass on your legacy when you die then make a slat trust your next option. However, For effectively planning of slat trust, this article is a detailed guide leaving you with its form, pros, and cons as well as a general overview of what slat trust is all about.

What is Slat Trust

A SLAT is an acronym for Spousal Lifetime Access Trust. It is an irrevocable trust set up by a spouse for the other during their lifetime. This means this trust is created when the donor spouse is still alive. This is a perfect difference between SLAT and other types of marital trusts that are only done upon death.

They are an inexpensive estate planning tool for couples. As such, they are also are basically an asset protection tool. Meanwhile, it gives access to the gifted funds to the beneficiary spouse, and potentially other beneficiaries such as children and grandchildren instantly.

Read Also: REVOCABLE TRUST: What is Living Revocable Trust?

slat trust
Image Credit: Mericle & Company(Slate Trust)

However, there are many kinds of trusts that function in many ways, but some fall under the category of marital trusts. Thus this kind of trust represents the best way to ensure your spouse is financially secure after you pass away. Besides even with lots of marital trusts there’s a great variety, that makes it difficult to determine which one is right for you. Moreover, as part of an estate Plan, slat is one of the best asset protection tool.

Although, the larger your estate, the larger your federal estate tax liability. Therefore, if you have a federal estate worth more than $25 million then you want take advantage of higher estate tax exemptions, opt for a spousal lifetime access trust (SLAT).

Slat Trust Planning

Establishing a slat trust is a common part of an estate planning process. It is also a great way to reduce your estate tax liability. Desiring for one can help save more money for your family and beneficiaries.

A SLAT trust is an estate planning strategy that can perhaps address conflicting objectives. This type of trust is created by the donor spouse. He/she gifts his/her property to an irrevocable trust for the benefit of the other spouse also known as the non-donor spouse. In addition, they may also include other family members e.g children and grandchildren as beneficiaries. Howbeit the donor spouse can use their federal exclusion in transferring assets to the SLAT.

Read Also: Grantors Trust: A Simple definitive guide (Updated!)

Slat Trust Form

The slat trust form is a legal document that contains list of properties or assets to the transferred into the trust. Therefore before it can be legally bonded, the slat trust form must contain the following;

  • The grantor
  • Beneficiary(s) or Trustees
  • Gifts and Estates of the trust
  • Assets Protection
  • Financial Forcast
  • Witnesses
  • Affix stamp and Signatory members

Pros and Cons of Slat Trust

While there are many pros aspects to a slat planning technique, there are also some cons. Gifted or transferred assets to a SLAT do not receive a step-up in income tax basis at the grantor’s death since they are not included in the Grantor’s taxable estate. Moreover, below are the pros and cons of slat trust.

Pros:

  1. You can arrange for a slat to avoid state income taxes. You can also protect assets in a SLAT from future creditors and avoid probate.
  2. A SLAT provides an excellent savings vehicle for couples who regularly put aside assets for retirement
  3. It helps to Avoid the Pennsylvania and New Jersey Inheritance Taxes.
  4. It protects your assets depending on the trust’s terms.
  5. Reduces conflict in case of divorce: This often occurs If each spouse forms a SLAT for the other and divides up assets while the marriage is still healthy. Therefore in case of divorce there will be less conflicts as properties have already been divided.
  6. A SLAT can also serve as a Dynasty Trust. This is a way of passing wealth from generation to generation without incurring transfer taxes
  7. The slat assets provide immediate source of care for descendants if the beneficiary spouse dies.
  8. It is also s Credit Shelter Trust or Bypass Trust set up during life rather than at death.
  9. Also it can be drafted to keep assets within the family.

Cons:

  1. If you transfer an asset to the trust, they cannot be returned. Although of the Beneficiary Spouse can always voluntarily share distributions with the grantor spouse.
  2. In case of they divorce, the SLAT assets are for the beneficiary Spouse.
  3. If both spouses wish to form trusts for one another, They should be careful as to avoid the IRS’s Reciprocal Trust Doctrine.
  4. If the Beneficiary Spouse dies, the Grantor Spouse might lose any indirect benefit to the trust. Anyways, a life insurance and other insurance tools can minimize the loss.
  5. There is no guarantee to the law as it always amended. Therefore todays techniques may not be tomorrow’s technique. The spouse will have to keep up with these changes to make sure the SLAT still provides its demands.

Conclusion

SLAT is a useful tool for married couples who want to secure their estate. Slat helps to reduce estate, gift, and generation-skipping transfer taxes while building flexibility to an irrevocable trust. It may be the first step to help clients get comfortable with engaging in wealth transfer planning. Only clients with strong marriages should utilize a SLAT. If a couple divorces, the donor spouse will lose indirect access to the trust assets through the beneficiary spouse. Only clients with strong marriages should consider utilizing a SLAT.

If there be any divorces, the donor spouse will lose indirect access to the trust assets through the beneficiary spouse. Hence if you wish to opt for slat as your estate planning tool; We advise you to contact an estate planning attorney to discuss how they could be used as a part of your estate plan.

  1. Buy and Sell Agreement: How It Works, Key Elements, and Importance
  2. LIVING TRUST: Overview, Cost, Templates, Pros & Cons (+Writing Guide)
  3. REVOCABLE TRUST: A Comprehensive Guide (+ How it Works)
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like