在死亡的基础上加强:了解过程以及如何获得它

死亡时的基础升压
图片来源:莫德芬

作为继承人或在计划继承时,税收可能是一个难以考虑的因素。 术语“逐步提高基础”又名“逐步提高基础”是指允许继承人降低其资本利得税的税收政策。 幸运的是,提高基础可以帮助任何在配偶或亲属去世时继承资产(股票、债券、出租物业、房地产)等的人节省大量税款。 本文全面讨论了配偶死亡时的基数提升,哪些房地产资产获得此规定,可撤销信托或不可撤销信托是否在死亡时获得基数提升,以及如何通知出租物业在配偶去世后。

什么是死亡基础上的提升? 

当资产的成本基础被重置以使继承者与财产的成本一致时 公平市场价值 (FMV) 当他们的恩人去世时,这被称为基础升级。

为了进一步解释,合格股票、房地产、共同基金和其他留给继承人的重要资产可以在以下情况下改变其初始成本基础 美国税法. 如果资产在死者传递后被出售,这种调整会减少资本利得税。

资产的基础是死者为资产支付的价格。 如果留给继承人,则可以出售。 如果他们以高于他们支付的价格出售资产,就会产生资本利得税。 

基础上的递升考虑了资产的当前 公平市场价值 如果继承人今天买了它。 如果他们出售它,资本利得税将被大幅削减或完全避免。

事实上,如果资产的价值在所有者去世后下降,继承人的成本基础就会下降。

此外,大多数死后成本基础的修改实际上是逐步增加,而不是降低。 这是因为传给继承人的金融资产通常是长期投资。 加 金融资产房地产 具有良好的长期回报率。

死后基础加强的例子

继承资产的成本基础从其购买(或之前的继承)价格重置为所有者死亡之日资产的公允市场价值。

考虑以下场景,您的父亲去世并给您留下了他最初以 200,000 美元购买的房屋。 在其市场价值从最初的 450,000 美元增加到 200,000 美元的时候,他将这处房产遗赠给了您。 因此,您将能够从 200,000 美元到 450,000 美元的基差中受益。 

如果您决定出售房屋,基础的增加将导致您的资本利得税责任显着减少。 无需对 200 美元与售价之间的差额缴纳资本利得税,唯一的要求是对 450,000 美元的购买价和售价之间的差额缴纳资本利得税。

您可以根据您的具体情况节省一笔财富,并在死亡时提高基础。 

 什么是资本利得税?

您可能在本文的早期文本中发现过一次或两次这个术语。 好吧,资本利得税只是您在拥有资产期间为资产增值所支付的金额。 税额取决于您的收入、纳税申报状态以及您拥有该资产的时间长度。 了解资本利得税对于正确把握基础升压的优势至关重要。 资本利得税适用于以高于最初购买价格出售的任何资产。

举个例子,你为一只股票支付了 1 美元。 两年后,当您决定出售该股票时,该股票的价值为 5 美元。 差额 4 美元,您将支付长期资本利得税。

这意味着您保留资产的时间会影响您的资本利得税率。 如果您持有资产不到一年,您肯定需要为短期资本利得率纳税。

短期资本利得税与普通收入税率相同。

但是,如果您将资产保留一年以上,则必须支付长期资本收益率,其范围从 0% 到 20%。 因此,值得强调的是,继承财产始终被视为潜在的长期资本收益。

关于提高死亡基础的辩论是一个税收漏洞

一些人认为,提高基差期权是一个税收漏洞。 基本上,该法规允许一个人将大笔财产留给他们的继承人,而无需缴纳升值税。

考虑到这一点,拜登政府提出了解决美国家庭计划漏洞的方案。 新获得的税收资金将用于支持该计划下的一些预期基础设施改进。 根据政府的说法,这项税收规定主要有利于拥有价值超过 500,000 万美元免税额的财产的富人。

如果提案获得通过,遗产将承担因房产价值增加而产生的任何税款。 考虑某人支付 300,000 美元买房的情况。 这所房子现在价值 1,000,000 美元,而这个人已经去世,把财产留给了他们的继承人。 必须先支付 700,000 美元的资本利得税,继任者才能从 1,000,000 美元的基础上受益。

暂时,这只是拜登政府的一个建议。 在接下来的几个月里,它可能会或可能不会变得合法。

在配偶去世时加强基础

配偶去世后,您可能有资格获得升职,具体取决于您所在的州。 包括加利福尼亚在内的九个社区财产州的居民可以使用双重基础规则。 该规则使尚存的配偶在共同财产的基础上有所提升,其中包括婚姻期间获得的所有资产,不包括遗产和礼物。

#1 非社区财产状态

配偶被考虑 联合房客 在每个州都有生存权 (JTROS),但有社区财产法的州除外。 当配偶去世时,如果您接受这种待遇,您可能有权获得一半财产的加价。 增加的价值的剩余一半将包括在已故配偶的遗产中。

这意味着在某些州,尚存配偶完全拥有的资产不符合升级基础,而共同拥有的资产只能获得他们在社区财产状态下获得的一半升级基础。

#2。 社区财产状态

在社区财产状态下,事情的运作方式略有不同。 当第一任配偶去世时,尚存的配偶获得财产的两个所有权部分的基础。 结果,决定出售的幸存配偶将节省资本利得税。

根据阿拉斯加、肯塔基州、南达科他州和田纳西州的联邦税法,居民和非居民都可以建立社区财产信托,使自有资产有资格享受社区财产税待遇,包括基础规则的双重提升。

哪些资产在死亡基础上得到提升?

递增税基税规定允许身故的房地产所有者以当前市场价值而不是原始购买价格将房产留给他们的继承人或配偶。 这对于随着时间的推移而升值的资产至关重要,例如复式公寓、多户住宅和商业房地产。 然而,美国国税局并没有平等地考虑所有遗赠的资产。 让我们探讨哪些资产留给他们的继承人有资格升级。

在配偶去世时,哪些房地产会增加?

留给配偶和继承人的房地产在死亡时有资格获得升迁。 这些资产包括:

  • 多户住宅小区、复式、三联式和多联式
  • 医疗、园林等各类写字楼
  • 独立和条形零售中心
  • 工业和自助仓储设施
  • 住宅出租物业
  • 酒店物业

这些资产的基础只有在所有者去世后才能转移; 赠与财产(出租或不出租)以资产的原始成本为基础转让,并且在所有者或配偶去世时不接受升级

其他可能有资格获得基础提升的资产包括:

  • 股票、债券、交易所交易基金 (ETF) 和共同基金
  • 业务和设备
  • 不在退休账户中持有的资产,例如经纪账户
  • 收藏品、古董和艺术品

死亡时基数没有提升的资产

许多用于建立和保存财富的传统金融工具不符合基差提升的条件。 这些是其中一些:

由于 IRA 和公司赞助的 401(k) 等财富积累工具被广泛使用,因此在您死前更新您的遗产计划以确保您的继承人从这些资金中获得最大利益至关重要。 请记住,您通过向 IRA 和 401(k) 供款而获得了税收减免,而且这笔钱是免税的,因此如果您在死后不受影响,您的继承人将不会获得任何额外的税收减免。

在配偶去世后通知出售出租物业并增加基础

纳税申报取决于您的个人情况。 只要出租物业在配偶去世时保留为共有财产,所有权益都会在当前公平市场价值的基础上增加。

在的情况下 联合租赁 通常,幸存者继承死者的新的提高(或降低)基础以增加他或她自己的基础。

联邦和州法规管理逐步增加的基础税和销售税。

对于死后折旧,美国国税局在第 63-223 号收入规则中表示,如果合适,应使用死者的公平市场价值[并且价值不折旧]

租赁物的前期折旧是没有意义的。 继承财产后,折旧时间表从新的公平市场价值开始。

由于您的税务状况是独一无二的,因此建议您获得合格的注册会计师协助。

如果在 Turbotax 中列为出租,该物业将在死亡时退役。 然后根据州立法重新计算修正后的基础,并以正确的基础在 Turbotax 中输入销售。

可撤销信托资产是否会在死亡时得到提升?

在我们继续确定是否 可撤销信托 无论是否在死亡时获得基础,我们都需要了解信托一般是什么以及可撤销信托是什么。 

基本上,信托是一种合同关系,其中一方(委托人)授予另一方(受托人)代表第三方(受益人)持有财产或资产的权利。 设立信托的目的是为委托人的资产提供法律保护,确保这些资产的转移符合委托人的意愿,并节省时间、减少文书工作,并且在某些情况下避免或减少遗产税或遗产税.

可撤销信托允许设保人或创始人更改、修改、调整或取消其条款。 在信托的存续期内,收入支付给设保人,财产转移给 信托受益人 只有在设保人去世后。 可撤销信托是有益的,因为它使在世的设保人能够控制其资产和收入。 信托的条款可以更改,信托人的遗产将在受益人死亡后归受益人所有。 委托人可以在其一生中的任何时候修改或解除可撤销的信托。 

所以这是一个大问题; 可撤销信托是否在死亡时得到加强?

绝对是的,因为可撤销信托是一种灵活的信托类型,所以在死亡时它的基础会有所提升。 为避免在所有者去世后资产是否有资格获得升级的任何意外问题,咨询经验丰富的税务、金融和房地产专业人士至关重要。

不可撤销信托资产在死亡时的基础是否会有所提升

与可撤销信托相比,不可撤销信托未经设保人受益人同意不得变更、调整或取消。 这意味着一旦受益人成为资产的签字人,除非获得受益人的许可,否则设保人就无法访问它。 

因此,不可撤销信托因其静态和非灵活的缺点而无法在死亡时获得基础。 但是,建议您咨询专业人士以确认不可撤销信托在死亡时是否会增加基础。

总结

底线是,提高基础是保护和向继承人传递财富的最佳策略之一,因为它可以减少某些继承资产的资本利得税。 但是,并非所有资产都有资格获得这种税收地位,特别是如果保存在不可撤销的信托中。

因此,如果您计划继承上述任何资产,您应该咨询您的税务和财务顾问,以核实哪些资产有资格获得升压。 更重要的是,如果您打算将资产逐步留给您的继承人,请与熟练的专业人士讨论以避免资本利得税影响。

常见问题

当我的配偶去世时,我是否可以在我的房子上获得升级?

当一个配偶去世时,资产的成本基础会为尚存的配偶增加。 所以,是的,您可以在您的配偶去世后在您的房子上获得升级。

当设保人去世时,不可撤销的信托会发生什么?

在设保人去世后,不可撤销的信托继续存在,直到继任受托人分配所有资产。 但是,在资产价值比最初获得时增加的情况下,不可撤销信托不能在死亡时增加基础。

可撤销信托和不可撤销信托有什么区别?

可撤销信托允许随时更改条款。 不可撤销的信托并非未经受益人同意。

基数提升如何工作?

基数提升是为增加财产或资产价值而采取的过程。 但是,这只能在所有者去世后进行。 同时,这也适用于配偶。

基础升压是自动的吗?

值得注意的是,基数的增加不是自动的。 如果没有财务顾问管理资金,您需要与托管人填写文件。

  1. 可撤销信任:综合指南(+ 工作原理)
  2. 遗产管理:费用、律师、清单和最佳实践(所有您需要的)
  3. 可撤销信托:什么是可撤销信托?
  4. 遗产规划律师:费用以及如何找到遗产律师
  5. 提高死亡基础:定义和资格(+ 有用的提示)
  6. 什么是遗嘱信托:定义、示例及其运作方式
  7. 信托基金:2022年如何开设信托基金银行账户-专家指南

(xanax)

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

STEP UP IN BASIS AT DEATH: Understanding the Process & How to Get It

Step-up in basis at death
Image Credit: Mordfin

Taxes can be a difficult factor to consider as an heir or when planning an inheritance. The term “step-up in basis” aka “stepped-up basis” refers to a tax policy that permits heirs to lower their capital gains taxes. Fortunately, a step up in basis can assist anyone who inherits an asset at death either of spouse or a relative ( stock, bond, rental property, real estate), etc to save a significant amount of money in taxes. This article comprehensively discusses the step-up in basis at the death of a spouse, what real estate assets get this provision and if the revocable trust or irrevocable trusts gets a step-up in basis at death, and how to notify on a rental property following the death of a spouse.

What Is Step Up in Basis at Death? 

When an asset’s cost basis is reset for the successor to coincide with the property’s fair market value (FMV) when their benefactor dies, this is known as a step-up in basis.

To further explain, qualified stocks, real estate, mutual funds and other significant assets left to heirs can have their initial cost basis changed under US tax laws. If the asset is sold after the deceased passes it on, this adjustment reduces capital gains taxes.

The basis of an asset is the price the decedent’s paid for the asset. It can be sold if it is left to an heir. Capital gains taxes occur if they sell the asset for more than they paid for it. 

Step-up in basis takes into account the asset’s current fair market value if the heir bought it today. If they sell it, capital gains taxes will be either highly slashed or completely avoided.

In fact, if the value of an asset has decreased after the owner’s death, the heirs’ cost basis will decrease.

Moreover, most cost basis modifications after death are step-ups, not step-downs, in actuality. This is due to the fact that financial assets passed down to heirs are frequently long-term investments. Plus financial assets and real estate have good long-term rates of return.

Example of Step Up in Basis at Death

The cost basis of an inherited asset is reset from its purchase (or preceding inheritance) price to the asset’s fair market value on the date of the owner’s death.

Consider the following scenario where your dad passes away and leaves you a home that he originally acquired for $200,000. He bequeathed you the property at a time when its market value had increased to $450,000 from its original $200,000 value. You would be able to benefit from a step-up in basis from $200,000 to $450,000 as a result of this. 

If you decide to sell the home, the increase in basis will result in a significant reduction in your capital gains tax liability. Instead of paying capital gains taxes on the difference between $200 and the sale price, the only requirement would be to pay capital gains taxes on the difference between the purchase price and the sale price of $450,000.

You could save a fortune depending on your specific condition with a step-up in basis at death. 

 What Is Capital Gains Tax?

You probably have found this term once or twice in the early text of this article. Well, capital gains tax is simply the amount you pay on the increase in value of an asset during the time you possessed it. The tax amount is dependent on your income, tax filing status, and the length of time you possessed the asset.  It’s vital to understand capital gains tax in order to properly grasp the advantages of a step-up in basis. Capital gains tax applies to any asset sold for a higher price than originally purchased.

Let’s take, for example, you paid $1 for a stock. The stock is worth $5 two years later when you decide to sell it. With the difference of $4, you would pay the long-term capital gains tax rate.

This means the amount of time you keep an asset has an impact on your capital gains tax rate. You will most certainly have to pay taxes on the short-term capital gains rate if you hold an asset for less than a year.

Taxes on short-term capital gains are at the same rate as ordinary income.

However, if you keep the asset for more than a year, you’ll have to pay the long-term capital gain rate, which can range from 0% to 20%. Thus, It’s worth emphasizing that inherited property is always viewed as a potential long-term capital gain.

Debate on Step up Basis at Death Being a Tax Loophole

The step-up in basis option is viewed as a tax loophole by some. Basically, the regulation allows a person to leave large properties to their heirs without having to pay taxes on appreciation.

With this in mind, the Biden administration has proposed a solution to the American Families Plan’s loophole. The newfound tax money will be used to support some of the anticipated infrastructure improvements under this plan. According to the administration, this tax rule mainly benefits the rich who own properties worth more than the $500,000 exemption.

If the proposal passes, an estate will be liable for any taxes due on the increase in property value. Consider the case of someone who paid $300,000 for a home. The house is now worth $1,000,000, and the person has passed away, leaving the property to their heirs. Payments on a capital gain tax of $700,000 must be complete before the successor can benefit from the $1,000,000 step-up in basis.

For the time being, this is just a suggestion from the Biden administration. It may or may not become legal in the next months.

Step up in Basis at the Death of a Spouse

Following the death of a spouse, you may qualify for a step-up in basis, depending on your state. The double step-up in basis rule is available to residents of nine community property states, including California. The rule gives the surviving spouse a step-up in basis on community property, which includes all assets acquired during the marriage excluding inheritances and gifts.

#1 Non-community Property States

Spouses are considered joint tenants with rights of survivorship (JTROS) in every state except those that have community property laws. When a spouse dies, you may be entitled to a step-up in basis for one-half of the property if you receive that treatment. The remaining half of the increased value would be included in the inheritance of the deceased spouse.

This means that in some states, assets owned entirely by the surviving spouse are not eligible for the step-up in basis and jointly owned assets are only eligible for half of the step-up in basis that they would receive in a community property state.

#2. Community Property States

Things work a little differently in a community property state. When the first spouse passes away, the surviving spouse receives a step-up in basis for both ownership portions of the property. A surviving spouse who decides to sell will save money on capital gains taxes as a result.

Residents and non-residents alike can construct community property trusts that qualify owned assets for community property tax treatment, including the double step-up in basis rule, under the federal tax code in Alaska, Kentucky, South Dakota, and Tennessee.

What Assets Get a Step-up in Basis at Death?

The step-up basis tax provision allows real estate owners at death to leave properties to their heirs or spouse at current market value rather than the original purchase price. This is critical for assets that have appreciated in value over time, such as duplexes, multifamily properties, and commercial real estate. However, the IRS does not consider all bequeathed assets equally. Let’s explore which assets qualify for a step-up in basis if they are left to their heirs.

What Real Estate Get Step Up in Basis at Death of Spouse?

The real estate left to the spouse and heirs is eligible for a step-up in basis at death. Among these assets are:

  • Multi-family apartment complexes, duplexes, triplexes, and multiplexes
  • Medical, garden, and other types of office buildings
  • Standalone and strip retail centers
  • Industrial and self-storage facilities
  • Residential rental properties
  • Hospitality properties

The basis of these assets gets to step up only if they are transferred after the owner’s death; Gifted property (rental or not) is transferred at the asset’s original cost basis and does not receive a step-up in basis at the owner or spouse’ death

Other assets that may be eligible for a step-up in basis include:

  • Stocks, bonds, exchange-traded funds (ETFs), and mutual funds
  • Businesses and equipment
  • Assets not held in a retirement account, such as brokerage accounts
  • Collectibles, antiques, and art

Assets That Don’t Get a Step-up in Basis at Death

Many conventional financial instruments used to build and preserve wealth do not qualify for a step-up in basis. These are some of them:

Because wealth-building tools like IRAs and company-sponsored 401(k)s are so widely used, it’s vital to update your estate plan before you die to ensure that your heirs receive the maximum benefit from these funds. Remember that you gained a tax deduction by contributing to IRAs and 401(k)s, and that money grew tax-free, so your heirs won’t get any extra tax breaks if you leave them untouched after you die.

Notifying a Sale of Rental Property With a Step-up in Basis Following the Death of a Spouse

The tax reporting depends on your personal circumstances. So long as the rental property is kept as community property at the death of a spouse, all interests get step-up in basis to the current fair market value.

In the instance of joint tenancy or tenancy in common, the survivor inherits the decedent’s new stepped-up (or down) basis to add to his or her own basis.

Federal and state regulations govern stepped-up basis and sale taxes.

For post-death depreciation, the IRS said in Revenue Ruling 63-223 that the decedent’s fair market value should be used, if appropriate [and value is not depreciated]

The leased property’s prior depreciation is meaningless. After the property is inherited, the depreciation schedule starts at the new fair market value.

Because your tax position is unique, it is advisable to obtain qualified CPA assistance.

If listed as a rental in Turbotax, the property would undergo decommissioning on death. Then recalculate the amended basis per state legislation and enter the sale in Turbotax with the correct basis.

Do Revocable Trust Assets Get a Step-up in Basis at Death?

Before we go on to determine if revocable trust gets a step-up in basis at death or not we would need to understand what trust generally is as well as what a revocable trust is. 

Basically, a trust is a contractual relationship in which one party, the trustor, grants another party, the trustee, the power to hold title to property or assets on behalf of a third party, the beneficiary. Trusts are in place to offer legal protection for the trustor’s assets, to ensure that the transfer of those assets is in accordance with the trustor’s desires, and to save time, lessen paperwork, and, in some situations, avoid or decrease inheritance or estate taxes.

A revocable trust allows the grantor or founder to change, modify, adjust, or cancel its provisions. During the trust’s life, income is paid to the grantor, and property is transferred to the trust’s beneficiaries only after the grantor’s death. A revocable trust is beneficial because it gives the live grantor control over his assets and revenue. The trust’s provisions can be changed, and the trustor’s estate will go to the beneficiaries upon death. The trustor can amend or dissolve a revocable trust at any moment during their lifetime. 

So here’s the big question; Does revocable trust gets step up in basis at death?

Definitely yes, it gets a step-up in basis at death since revocable trust is a flexible type of trust. To avoid any unexpected issues regarding whether assets are eligible for a step-up in basis following the owner’s death, it’s essential to consult an experienced tax, financial, and estate professional.

Do Irrevocable Trusts Assets Get a Step-up in Basis at Death

In contrast to a revocable trust, an irrevocable trust cannot be changed, adjusted, or canceled without the grantor’s beneficiary’s consent. This means that as soon as the beneficiary becomes the signatory to the assets, the grantor can’t have access to it except with the permission of the beneficiary. 

Therefore, irrevocable trusts cannot get step-up in basis at death because of their static and non-flexible disadvantage. However, it is advisable that you consult a professional to confirm whether irrevocable trusts get a step up in basis at death.

Conclusion

Bottom line is that a step-up in basis is one of the best strategies to protect and convey wealth to your heirs because it reduces capital gains taxes on certain inherited assets. But, not all assets qualify for this tax status, especially if kept in an irrevocable trust.

So if you plan to inherit any of the above assets listed, you should consult your tax and financial advisors to verify which assets qualify for a step-up in basis. More so, If you plan to leave assets to your heirs on a stepped-up basis, discuss this with skilled professionals to avoid capital gains tax implications.

FAQs

Do I get a step-up in basis on my house when my spouse dies?

When one spouse dies, the asset’s cost basis is stepped up for the surviving spouse. So, yes, you can get a step-up in basis on your house after your spouse’s death.

What happens to an irrevocable trust when the grantor dies?

An irrevocable trust continues to exist after the grantor dies until the successor trustee distributes all of the assets. But irrevocable trusts can’t get step-up in basis at death in the case where the assets value increases than when it was first acquired.

What is the difference between a revocable and irrevocable trust?

A revocable trust allows for changes to the terms at any time. An irrevocable trust doesn’t without the beneficiaries’ consent.

How does a step-up in basis work?

Step-up in basis are processes taken to increase the value of a property or asset. However, this can only take place after the death of the owner. Meanwhile, this also applies to the spouse.

Is step-up in basis automatic?

Notably, the step-up in basis is not automatic. If no financial advisor managed the funds, you’ll need to fill out the paperwork with the custodian.

  1. REVOCABLE TRUST: A Comprehensive Guide (+ How it Works)
  2. ESTATE ADMINISTRATION: Fees, Attorney, Checklist & Best Practices (All You Need)
  3. REVOCABLE TRUST: What is Living Revocable Trust?
  4. ESTATE PLANNING ATTORNEY: Cost and How to Find an Estate Lawyer
  5. STEP UP BASIS AT DEATH: Definition, and Eligibility (+ Helpful Tips)
  6. What Is A Testamentary Trust: Definition, Examples & How It Works
  7. Trust Fund: How to set up a trust fund bank account in 2022- Expert Guide
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like