小型企业的员工福利:最佳简易指南

小型企业的员工福利
阿科罗

作为考虑团体健康保险的小企业主,您可能想知道除了健康保险之外是否应该提供额外的员工福利。 您可能还想知道有多少小企业提供健康保险以外的员工福利,以及雇主最常提供哪些类型的福利。 继续阅读以了解有关小型企业员工福利的更多信息。

什么是员工福利?

福利是员工在基本工资之外获得的津贴或补偿。 一些企业将它们视为无形的商业资产,类似于公司的声誉或行业专业知识,可以定义整个企业文化、影响雇主品牌并推动整体商业成功。 其他人将福利视为一项艰巨的人力资源和管理挑战,但通过正确的策略,它们可以转变为强大的招聘和参与工具。

小型企业的员工福利

小企业是否有必要提供医疗保健、探亲假或带薪病假? 了解在法律适用时雇主必须提供哪些福利,以及如果不提供福利会发生什么。

如果您想吸引和留住顶尖人才,您必须提供有吸引力的福利方案。 您还必须管理福利成本,以确保它们在您的招聘和人才管理工作中取得预期成果。

由于某些员工福利是法律规定的,因此小型企业的另一项关键人力资源 (HR) 任务是确保其福利符合适用要求并得到妥善管理。

本文讨论了全国小型企业的员工福利,以及衡量绩效的成本。 一般来说,要求仅适用于全职员工,不适用于兼职或其他类型的员工。

小企业必须为员工提供的强制性福利

根据美国劳工统计局 (BLS) 的数据,员工薪酬和福利平均每小时花费雇主 34.73 美元,工资为 24.36 美元,福利成本为 10.37 美元。

法定福利仅占每小时 2.66 美元或总成本的 7.7%。 额外工资,如奖金和加班费,每小时额外收费 1.14 美元。

无论规模大小,所有雇主都必须为小型企业提供以下员工福利。

#1。 医疗保险和社会保障

企业必须为每位员工的医疗保险预扣 1.45% 的 FICA 税,以及为社会保障收入的前 6.2 美元预扣 137,700% 的 FICA 税。 雇主还必须对基金作出同等贡献。

这些税费使雇主平均每小时工作 2.05 美元,或总薪酬的 5.9%。

#2。 失业保险(UI)

雇主还必须根据《联邦失业税法》(FUTA)缴纳联邦和州失业税。 此外,阿拉斯加、新泽西和宾夕法尼亚州的雇主也需要为 UI 预扣员工税。 雇主平均为每个员工每小时支付 0.17 美元的 UI 税。

#3。 劳动者报酬

虽然联邦法律没有要求,但每个州都有一个工人赔偿基金来照顾在工作中受伤的员工。 国家劳动部门负责管理资金。 工伤赔偿平均每小时花费企业 0.45 美元或总薪酬的 1.3%。

#4。 加班费

根据 FLSA,对于每周收入低于 40 美元或每年 684 美元的员工,每周工作超过 35,568 小时需要支付加班费。 此外,加班费设定为员工正常小时工资的一倍半。 FLSA 不要求您为夜间或周末工作支付额外费用。

#5。 陪审团休假

被要求担任陪审员的雇员必须得到所有雇主的无薪假。 在某些州必须支付陪审员值班假。

#6。 冠状病毒离开

在撰写本文时,《家庭第一冠状病毒应对法》 (FFCRA) 要求某些雇主为感染 COVID-80、正在隔离、正在照顾正在隔离的人的员工提供最多 19 小时的病假,或在与 COVID-19 相关的学校停课期间照顾孩子。

该法律还允许为 COVID-19 相关的儿童保育需求提供长达 XNUMX 周的带薪家事假和病假。 如果遵守 FFCRA 的规定会严重危及他们的运营,小企业可以要求豁免。

小企业可以向员工提供自愿福利

如您所见,联邦政府规定的小型企业员工福利相当基本,但占工资的近 8%。 为您的产品添加自愿福利使您的公司对求职者更具吸引力。

#1。 带薪休假

带薪假期、假期、事假和病假是最有价值的员工福利之一,尽管它们不是联邦政府规定的。 给员工一个充电的机会,对企业也有好处。

根据最近的 BLS 福利调查,可以获得带薪休假的小企业员工的百分比如下:

  • 假期:70%
  • 休假时间:69%
  • 病假工资:64%
  • 陪审团服务:42%
  • 丧假:39%
  • 个人:33%
  • 探亲假:14%

参与的小企业平均提供 7 个带薪假期和 10 个假期,额外假期与任期相关。

尽管联邦对带薪休假没有要求,但许多州和市都制定了自己的规定。 例如,带薪病假法存在于 11 个州和至少 18 个城市,带薪家事假和病假法存在于 XNUMX 个州。

在管理休假时,除了联邦要求外,请记住查阅州和地方法律。 带薪休假平均每小时工作 2.53 美元,占总薪酬的 7.3%。

#2。 无薪休假

令人惊讶的是,80% 的小企业员工可以享受无薪家庭假,尽管《家庭医疗假法》在企业拥有 50 名员工之前并不要求这样做。 允许员工请假照顾新生儿或生病的家庭成员是一项低成本、高影响的福利。

#3。 健康保险

尽管小型企业不需要为其员工提供医疗福利或处方药保险,但其中大约有一半这样做了。 29% 的小企业员工可以获得牙科护理,而 18% 的员工可以获得视力护理。

如果您确实提供医疗保险,平价医疗法案 (ACA) 要求您将其提供给所有符合条件的员工。 您还必须遵守 ACA 的员工通知要求。 医疗保健福利的平均成本为每小时 2.61 美元。

#4。 残疾和人寿保险

只有 37% 的福利较小的员工拥有人寿保险。 短期和长期残疾福利更难获得,获得率分别为 30% 和 23%。

这可能是一个错失的机会,因为这些小企业员工福利的小时成本仅为人寿保险 0.04 美元、短期残疾 0.07 美元和长期残疾 0.04 美元。

#5. 退休

大约一半的小企业员工领取退休福利,其中绝大多数是固定缴款计划,如 401(k)s。 这些福利平均每小时工作 1.22 美元,或工资的 3.5%。

#6。 附加福利

由于员工承担了大部分成本,因此附加福利是可以以低成本或免费提供的福利。 日托、学费资助、员工折扣和健身房会员资格就是一些例子。

#7。 免费福利

员工重视的许多员工福利对您来说是成本中性的。 邀请工作区、休闲装、远程工作选项、灵活的时间表,甚至宠物友好政策都可以帮助您的小型企业在市场上脱颖而出。

对您的业务有意义的员工福利类型将取决于您的需求,但在福利方面具有创造性可以在招聘和员工敬业度方面获得回报。

福利管理有许多活动部分,其中许多受联邦和州法律管辖。 管理福利时应遵循以下准则。

#1。 准时和准确的工资单

一个关键的人力资源职能是准确管理税收和工资扣除。 联邦法律还要求雇主按时支付雇员工资。 人力资源软件是确保准确性和促进合规性同时显着减少福利管理工作的绝佳方式。

#2。 联邦和州法规

如前所述,许多州和城市都颁布了福利法,大大扩展了您的业务需求。 检查联邦、州和地方各级的福利法,以确保您满足所有要求。

您当地的小型商业区办公室和州劳工部门都是极好的资源。

#3。 效益基准

随着您的业务扩展,它需要遵守新的劳动法和福利要求。 例如,当您的员工人数达到 50 人时,FMLA 和 ACA 条款就会生效。确保定期审查您的福利产品,以确保随着业务的增长持续合规。

#4。 隐私

在福利方面保护员工的隐私至关重要。 这包括安全的在线数据存储、安全的纸质文件存储和适当的通信协议,以保护敏感的员工信息。

员工福利对小企业的重要性

福利是小型企业不能忽视的重要战略工具,尤其是在其业务增长和争夺顶尖人才的情况下。 今天的许多工人都在寻求灵活的奖励,如果雇主不提供满足他们需求的选择,他们就有可能将这些选择输给提供的竞争对手。 除了招聘和保留之外,具有竞争力的福利包还可以提高员工的生产力、敬业度和财务安全,以及企业的公众形象。

然而,仅仅提供巨大的利益是不足以让企业获得利益的。 雇主必须确保其员工了解可用的服务以及如何使用这些服务。 员工只有获得一致的沟通和支持,才能从他们的福利计划中受益。 与突出关键行动项目的文本相比,具有更多视觉效果的短消息是最有效的。

什么是好的员工福利方案?

虽然这取决于您询问的对象,但大多数行业都提供健康保险、牙科保险、灵活支出账户、退休储蓄计划、休假时间以及家庭病假、产假和休假等活动的额外带薪休假。

公司如何支付员工福利?

雇主通常至少承担部分费用。 员工经常缴纳一定比例的每月保费,以支付自己及其家属的费用。 牙科和视力保险包含在一些医疗计划中。 其他人则单独提供它们,费用由员工承担。

员工福利的四种主要类型是什么?

医疗保险、人寿保险、伤残保险和退休计划是许多雇主提供的四大员工福利。

小型企业应该提供什么好处?

虽然不需要很多好处,但小企业应该考虑提供最全面的套餐。 这可能意味着吸引和留住顶尖人才或将其输给竞争对手之间的区别。 然而,每个企业都是不同的,这就是为什么需要帮助来决定哪些福利最适合他们的雇主应该与 持牌保险专业人士 或经纪人。

带薪休假

许多提供这种福利的公司发现它在员工中最受欢迎。 员工的休假天数也与以前几乎相同。

如何创建员工福利包?

按照以下步骤开始制定低成本的员工福利计划。

  • 检查你的目标和预算。
  • 了解必要的员工福利。
  • 选择可选的好处。
  • 突出特殊福利。
  • 创建总薪酬图。

我如何找到员工福利?

计算福利负荷——津贴与员工工资的比率——可以让企业更有效地进行计划。 计算福利负荷时,将所有员工福利的年总成本相加,除以所有员工的年薪总额,得到一个比率; 该比率是贵公司的福利负荷。

总结

虽然面向组织的福利是更传统的福利结构,但许多小福利发现,面向消费者的福利对员工同样有价值,更灵活,更实惠。 如果您使用本文中列出的热门福利为小型企业构建员工福利计划,那么您将在招聘和留住最佳员工方面做得很好。

常见问题解答

员工福利的 3 个例子是什么?

以下是当今最常见的员工福利类型:

  • 医疗保险。
  • 人寿保险。
  • 伤残保险。
  • 退休供款和养老金计划。

2022 年员工最看重哪些福利?

据雇主称,医疗保健成为组织可以为其员工提供的最重要的福利类型,其次是退休和休假福利,并列第二。 在 2020/21 年,退休福利为 55%,到 82 年上升到 2022%。

为员工提供福利需要多少钱?

根据该局的数据,到 38.91 年 2021 月,文职工人的雇主成本平均为每小时 69 美元。 工资约占总数的 31%,这意味着福利占总薪酬的 XNUMX%。

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

你也许也喜欢

EMPLOYEE BENEFITS FOR SMALL BUSINESSES: Best Easy Guide

EMPLOYEE BENEFITS FOR SMALL BUSINESSES
Arcoro

As a small business owner considering group health insurance, you may be wondering whether you should provide additional employee benefits in addition to health insurance. You may also be wondering how many small businesses provide employee benefits other than health insurance, as well as what types of benefits are most commonly provided by employers. Continue reading to learn more about employee benefits for small businesses.

What are Employee Benefits?

Benefits are perks or compensation that employees receive in addition to their basic wages. Some businesses regard them as an intangible business asset, similar to a company’s reputation or industry expertise, that can define an entire corporate culture, influence an employer brand, and drive overall business success. Others see benefits as a difficult HR and administrative challenge, but with the right strategy, they can be transformed into a powerful recruitment and engagement tool.

Employee Benefits for Small Businesses

Is it necessary for small businesses to provide healthcare, family leave, or paid sick time? Learn what benefits employers must provide when the laws apply, as well as what happens if benefits are not provided.

If you want to attract and retain top talent, you must offer an appealing benefits package. You must also manage benefit costs to ensure that they are driving the desired results in your hiring and talent management efforts.

Because some employee benefits are mandated by law, another critical human resource (HR) task for small businesses is ensuring that their benefits meet applicable requirements and are properly managed.

This article discusses employee benefits for small businesses across the country, as well as costs for benchmarking your performance. In general, requirements apply only to full-time employees and not to part-time or other types of employees.

Mandatory Benefits Small Businesses Must Offer Employee

According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), employee compensation and benefits cost employers an average of $34.73 per hour worked, with wages of $24.36 and benefit costs of $10.37.

Legally mandated benefits account for only $2.66 per hour or 7.7% of total costs. Extra pay, such as bonuses and overtime, costs an extra $1.14 per hour.

The following employee benefits for small businesses are mandatory for all employers, regardless of size.

#1. Medicare and Social Security

Businesses are required to withhold FICA taxes of 1.45% for Medicare and 6.2% on the first $137,700 of earnings for Social Security for each employee. Employers must also make an equal contribution to the funds.

These taxes cost employers an average of $2.05 per hour worked, or 5.9% of total compensation.

#2. Unemployment insurance (UI)

Employers must also pay federal and state unemployment taxes under the Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA). Also, Employers in Alaska, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania are also required to withhold employee taxes for UI. Employers pay an average of $0.17 per employee hour in UI taxes.

#3. Workers’ compensation

While it is not required by federal law, every state has a workers’ compensation fund to care for employees who are injured on the job. State labor departments are in charge of administering the funds. Workers’ compensation costs businesses an average of $0.45 per hour or 1.3% of their total compensation.

#4. Overtime pay

Overtime pay for hours worked beyond 40 in a work week is required under the FLSA for employees earning less than $684 per week or $35,568 per year. Furthermore, Overtime pay is set at one and a half times the employee’s regular hourly wage. The FLSA does not require you to pay a premium for working at night or on weekends.

#5. Jury duty leave

Employees called to jury duty must be granted unpaid leave by all employers. Jury duty leave must be paid in some states.

#6. Coronavirus leave

At the time of writing, the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) requires certain employers to provide up to 80 hours of sick leave to employees who have been infected with COVID-19, are in quarantine, are caring for someone who is in quarantine, or are caring for a child during COVID-19-related school closure.

The law also allows for up to ten weeks of paid family and medical leave for COVID-19-related childcare needs. Small businesses may request an exemption from the FFCRA’s provisions if complying with them would jeopardize their operations significantly.

Voluntary Benefits Small Businesses Can Extend to Employee

As you can see, federally mandated employee benefits for small businesses are fairly basic, but they account for nearly 8% of wages. Adding voluntary benefits to your offerings makes your company more appealing to job seekers.

#1. Paid leave

Paid holiday, vacation, personal, and sick leave are among the most valued employee benefits, although they are not mandated by the federal government. Giving employees a chance to recharge is also beneficial to businesses.

According to the most recent BLS benefit survey, the percentage of small business employees who have access to paid leave is as follows:

  • Vacation: 70%
  • Vacation time: 69%
  • Sick pay: 64%
  • Jury service: 42%
  • Bereavement leave: 39%
  • Individual: 33%
  • Family leave: 14%

Small businesses that participate provide an average of 7 paid holidays and 10 vacation days, with additional vacation tied to tenure.

While there is no federal requirement for paid leave, many states and municipalities have enacted their own. For example, paid sick leave laws exist in 11 states and at least 18 cities, and paid family and medical leave laws exist in eight states.

Remember to consult state and local laws in addition to federal requirements when managing leave. Paid leave averages $2.53 per hour worked, or 7.3% of total compensation.

#2. Unpaid leave

Surprisingly, 80% of small business employees have access to unpaid family leave, even though the Family Medical Leave Act does not require it until a business has 50 employees. Allowing employees to take time off to care for a new baby or a sick family member is a low-cost, high-impact benefit.

#3. Health insurance

Although small businesses are not required to provide medical benefits or prescription drug coverage to their employees, roughly half of them do. Dental care is available to 29% of small business employees, while vision care is available to 18%.

If you do provide healthcare insurance, the Affordable Care Act (ACA) requires you to provide it to all eligible employees. You must also comply with the ACA’s employee notification requirements. The average cost of healthcare benefits is $2.61 per hour worked.

#4. Disability and life insurance

Only 37% of employees with smaller benefits have life insurance. Short- and long-term disability benefits are even more difficult to obtain, with access rates of 30% and 23%, respectively.

That could be a missed opportunity, given that the hourly costs for these employee benefits for small businesses are only $0.04 for life insurance, $0.07 for short-term disability, and $0.04 for long-term disability.

#5. Retirement

Approximately half of the small business employees receive retirement benefits, the vast majority of which are defined contribution plans like 401(k)s. These benefits average $1.22 per hour worked, or 3.5% of pay.

#6. Fringe benefits

Because employees bear the majority of the costs, fringe benefits are benefits that can be provided at a low or no cost. Daycare, tuition assistance, employee discounts, and gym memberships are some examples.

#7. Complimentary benefits

Many employee benefits that employees value are cost-neutral for you. Inviting workspaces, casual dress, remote work options, flexible schedules, and even pet-friendly policies can help your small business stand out in the marketplace.

The types of employee benefits that make sense for your business will be determined by your needs, but being creative with benefits can pay off in terms of recruitment and employee engagement.

Benefits administration has many moving parts, many of which are governed by federal and state laws. The guidelines below should be followed when managing benefits.

#1. On-time and accurate payroll

A critical HR function is accurately managing taxes and payroll deductions. Federal law also requires employers to pay their employees on time. HR software is an excellent way to ensure accuracy and promote compliance while significantly reducing benefits administration work.

#2. Federal and state regulations

As previously stated, many states and cities have enacted benefit laws that significantly expand your business’s requirements. Check benefit laws at the federal, state, and local levels to ensure you’re meeting all requirements.

Your local small business district office and your state labor department are both excellent resources.

#3. Benefit benchmarks

As your business expands, it is subject to new labor laws and benefit requirements. When you reach 50 employees, for example, the FMLA and ACA provisions kick in. Make sure to review your benefit offerings regularly to ensure continuous compliance as your business grows.

#4. Privacy

It is critical to protect your employees’ privacy when it comes to benefits. This includes secure online data storage, secure paper file storage, and appropriate communication protocols to protect sensitive employee information.

Importance of Employee Benefits for Small Businesses

Benefits are a critical strategic tool that small businesses cannot afford to overlook, especially as their operations grow and they compete for top talent. Many workers today are looking for flexible rewards, and if an employer does not provide options that meet their needs, they risk losing them to a competitor who does. Aside from recruitment and retention, competitive benefits packages can improve employee productivity, engagement, and financial security, as well as the business’s public image.

However, simply providing great benefits is insufficient for businesses to reap the benefits. Employers must ensure that their employees understand what services are available and how to use them. Employees can only benefit from their benefits plans if they receive consistent communication and support. Short messages with more visuals than text that highlight key action items are the most effective.

What is a good employee benefits package?

While this depends on who you ask, most industries provide health insurance, dental insurance, flexible spending accounts, retirement savings plans, vacation time, and additional paid time off for events such as family medical leave, maternity leave, and sabbaticals.

How do companies pay for employee benefits?

Employers usually cover at least some of the costs. Employees frequently contribute a percentage of the monthly premium to cover themselves and their dependents. Dental and vision coverage are included in some medical plans. Others provide them separately at a cost to the employee.

What are the 4 major types of employee benefits?

Medical insurance, life insurance, disability insurance, and retirement plans are the four major types of employee benefits provided by many employers.

What benefits should a small business provide?

While many benefits aren’t required, small businesses should think about offering the most comprehensive packages possible. This can mean the difference between attracting and retaining top talent or losing it to competitors. Every business, however, is different, which is why employers who need assistance deciding which benefits are best for them should speak with a licensed insurance professional or broker.

Paid Vacation

Many companies that offer this benefit have found it to be the most popular among their employees. Employees also take nearly the same number of vacation days as they did previously.

How do I create an employee benefits package?

Follow these steps to begin developing a low-cost employee benefits program.

  • Examine your objectives and budget.
  • Understand the necessary employee benefits.
  • Choose optional benefits.
  • Highlight special benefits.
  • Create a total compensation diagram.

How do I find employee benefits?

Calculating the benefit load—the ratio of perks to an employee’s salary—allows a business to plan more effectively. To calculate the benefit load, add the total annual cost of all employees’ perks and divide it by the total annual salary of all employees to get a ratio; that ratio is your company’s benefits load.

Conclusion

While organizational-oriented benefits are more traditional benefit structures, many small benefits are discovering that consumer-oriented benefits are equally valuable to employees, are more flexible, and are more affordable. You’ll be well on your way to recruiting and retaining your best employees if you build out your employee benefits package for small businesses with the popular benefits listed in this article.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are 3 examples of employee benefits?

The following are the most common types of employee benefits available today:

  • Medical insurance.
  • Life insurance.
  • Disability insurance.
  • Retirement contributions and pension plans.

What benefits do employees value most 2022?

Healthcare emerged as the most important type of benefit that an organization can offer its workers, according to employers, followed by retirement and leave benefits, which tied for second place. In 2020/21, retirement benefits were at 55%, rising to 82% in 2022.

How much does it cost to offer benefits to employees?

Employer costs for civilian workers averaged $38.91 per hour in June 2021, according to the bureau. Wages accounted for approximately 69% of that total, implying that benefits accounted for 31% of total compensation.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like