利息覆盖率:类型、公式、示例和分析

利息覆盖率
图片来源:商业模式

在风险管理方面,利息覆盖率可以成为一个有用的工具,用于确定贵公司的收入是否足以支付其贷款承诺的利息。 从我们的利息覆盖率定义开始,了解您需要知道的一切。 因为我们涵盖了您需要了解的有关利息覆盖率、公式、类型、分析等等的所有信息。

利息覆盖率

利息覆盖率是一种财务指标,用于评估公司及时支付债务利息的能力。 与偿债覆盖率不同,该流动性比率与偿还债务本金的能力无关。 相反,它决定了公司支付债务利息的能力。

该计算由债权人和 投资者 以确定公司的盈利能力和风险。 例如,投资者主要关心的是他对公司的投资是否会增值。 利润和运营效率占这一收益的主要部分。 因此,投资者想知道他们的公司将能够在不损害其运营或收益的情况下按时偿还债务。

另一方面,债权人使用利息覆盖率来确定是否存在 包装 可以承担额外的债务。 如果一家公司无力支付其债务利息,它很可能无法支付本金。 因此,债权人利用这个公式来确定贷款的风险。

详情

利息覆盖率中的“覆盖率”一词是指可以用公司现有收益支付利息的时间(通常是季度或财政年度)。 基本上,它表示公司的收益可以用来偿还债务的次数。

比率越小,负债越多 开支 给公司带来负担,并且它必须在别处投资的资源更少。 如果一家公司的利息覆盖率低于 1.5 或更低,则该公司支付利息费用的能力可能会受到质疑。

为了经受住未来甚至可能是意料之外的金融危机,企业必须有足够的收入来支付利息。 公司履行其利息义务的能力是衡量其偿付能力的指标,因此是股东回报的关键决定因素。

利息覆盖率类型

在查看公司比率之前,了解利息覆盖率的两个典型版本至关重要。 息税前利润的变化是这些差异的来源。

#1。 EBITDA

什么时候 计算 利息覆盖率,一种变体使用利息、税项、折旧和摊销前利润 (EBITDA) 而不是 EBIT。 由于此差异不包括折旧和摊销,EBITDA 估计中的分子通常高于 EBIT 计算中的分子。 由于两种情况下的利息费用相同,EBITDA 计算将导致比 EBIT 计算更大的利息覆盖率。

#2。 EBIAT

在另一种形式中,ICR 是使用息税前利润 (EBIAT) 而不是 EBIT 计算的。 这具有从分子中减去税费的效果,从而更准确地描述了公司支付利息费用的能力。 因为税收是需要考虑的重要财务因素。 EBIAT 可用于计算利息覆盖率而不是 EBIT,以更好地了解公司覆盖其利息的能力 开支.

利息覆盖率的重要性

任何公司在支付利息方面维持生计的能力都是一个重大且持续的担忧。 当一家公司难以履行其义务时,它可能不得不借入更多资金或动用其现金储备。 这将更好地用于资本资产或紧急情况。

虽然单个 ICR 可能会披露很多关于公司当前财务状况的信息。 查看不同时间的利息覆盖率通常可以更多地显示公司的地位和轨迹。

看一个公司的 兴趣 过去五年的季度覆盖率。 例如,可以告诉投资者该比率是在提高、下降还是稳定,并且可以让您很好地了解其短期财务状况的健康程度。

此外,该比率的任何给定水平的可接受性在某种程度上是旁观者的眼中。 一些银行或潜在的债券购买者可能愿意接受较低的比率,以换取公司债务的较高利率。

什么是良好的利息覆盖率?

如果一家公司的比率大于 1.5,则表明他们有能力使用其收益支付债务利息,或者他们已证明有能力将其收入保持在相当稳定的水平。 分析师和投资者都希望利息覆盖率达到 XNUMX 或更高,即使 XNUMX 的水平可能是可以被认为可以接受的最低限度。 如果一家公司在历史上经历过较高水平的收入波动,则利息覆盖率可能不会令人满意,直到它显着大于三。

利息保障倍数的重要性是什么?

利息覆盖率是一种财务指标,用于确定公司是否能够偿还其现有债务。 一般规则是,当比率较大时,公司更有能力偿还其利息承诺,而较低的比率表明公司财务不稳定。 在他们的研究中,分析师通常会搜索至少为两 (2) 和建议的最小值为三 (3) 的比率。 具有一 (1) 的比率是不可取的。

什么是利息保障倍数?

利息覆盖率是用来评估一家公司支付未偿还债务利息的难易程度的比率。 该比率对于通过计算公司支付未偿债务利息的容易程度来确定公司的流动性状况很重要。

利息覆盖率公式

将息税前利润(息税前利润)除以利息费用,得出利息覆盖率公式。

如您所见,该等式使用的是息税前利润而不是净收入。 息税前利润 (EBIT) 本质上是扣除利息和税款后的净收入。 我们想要一个准确的图片 包装 有能力支付利息。 我们在计算中使用 EBIT 而不是净收入。 如果我们使用净收入,计算会很混乱,因为利息支出会被计算两次。 税费会根据扣除的利息金额而改变。 为防止出现此问题,我们仅使用支付利息和税款前的收入或收入。

还值得注意的是,此技术可用于计算任何长度的利息期。 例如,将 EBIT 和利息费用除以您要计算的月数以获得月度或部分年度数字。

利息覆盖率示例

让我们看一个 ICR 的例子。 Sarah's Jam Company 是一家果冻和果酱公司,在全国各地罐装和发送防腐剂。 莎拉想发展她的生意,但她没有资金购买她需要的罐头机。 因此,她带着财务报表去了多家银行,以获取所需的资金。 莎拉的息税前收入为 50,000 美元,利息和税金分别为 15,000 美元和 5,000 美元。

如您所见,莎拉的比率为 3.33。 这意味着她的收入是她支付的利息的 3.33 倍。 她有足够的钱来支付她目前债务的利息和本金。 这是一个积极的信号,因为它表明她的公司的风险很低,并且她的业务正在产生足够的现金来支付她的开支。

利息覆盖率分析

很难计算覆盖率,因为它基于债权人或投资者愿意承担的风险。 根据所需的风险限制,银行可能更愿意接受一个数字而不是另一个数字。 另一方面,这种测量的基本原理保持不变。

如果结果小于 1,则公司的利润不足以支付利息。 原则上不用担心还债。 计算值小于 1 的公司将无法支付其债务利息。 这类业务极其危险,几乎肯定不会用于银行融资。

如果覆盖等式等于 1,则公司只生产足够的 以支付其利息。 这种情况并不比前一种情况好,因为公司仍然无法支付本金。 它只能在到期时偿还当前债务的利息。

如果覆盖率大于 1.5,则公司赚的钱足以满足其利息承诺,同时仍有足够的钱来支付本金。 在提供任何贷款之前,大多数债权人需要至少 1.5 的覆盖率。 换句话说,银行希望确保公司当前的利息支付至少是其当前利息支付的 XNUMX 倍。

在我们之前的示例中,Sarah 的百分比是 3.33。 她现有的业务产生的收入足以支付她当前利率的 3.33 倍。 她的业务流动性极强,因此她应该可以毫不费力地获得贷款来扩展业务。

什么是良好的利息覆盖率?

“优秀”利息覆盖率的定义可能因 行业中的应用:. 例如,工业和科技行业公司的典型债务承诺就大不相同。 一般来说,利息覆盖率至少为 XNUMX 是最低限度。 投资者和分析师通常会寻求至少三倍的利息覆盖率。 这表明公司的收入是可预测和稳定的。

另一方面,“差”的利息覆盖率是任何小于 XNUMX 的值,这表明您公司的收益不足以偿还您的未偿债务。 尽管在偿还债务方面遇到困难的公司可能能够维持生计。 对于投资者来说,低或负的利息覆盖率通常是一个巨大的警告标志。 在许多情况下,这意味着公司濒临破产。

利息覆盖率应该高还是低?

在大多数情况下,支付的利息与总债务的比率越大越好,而不是越低。 如果一家公司的比率更高,则表明它能够更好地用其运营赚取的资金来支付其利息支出。 如果一家公司的收益或经济状况继续恶化,利息覆盖率过低可能表明该公司可能处于危险之中。

如果利息保障倍数为负,这意味着什么?

利息保障倍数为负的比率的值小于 1.5。 这表明公司目前的销售额不足以偿还公司此时的流动债务。 如果它小于 1.5,则表明公司能够连续支付利息费用的可能性仍然值得怀疑。 如果大于XNUMX,说明公司有能力做到。

2023 年利率将何去何从?

根据最乐观的预测,到 2023 年底,30 年期抵押贷款利率将下降 5.5% 至 6%。 Zillow 的高级经济学家 Jeff Tucker 表示:“如果通胀令人信服地降温,并且美联储随后停止收紧货币政策,我们可能会看到利率开始回落。”

未来五年利率会上升吗?

CBO 预测,由于导致产品和劳动力市场供应增长慢于需求增长的因素,2023 年通胀将继续居高不下。 CBO 预测,通胀将在 2 年超过美联储 2023% 的长期目标,然后在 2024 年接近目标。该组织预计,基准短期利率将在 2023 年大幅上升。

利息覆盖率的限制

与任何其他指标一样,利息覆盖率用于评估公司的效率。 有几个限制,任何投资者在使用它之前都应该注意。

对于初学者,在比较时 组织 在不同的行业中,甚至在同一行业中,重要的是要记住它们的差异很大。 对于公用事业公司等某些行业的老牌公司而言,利息保障倍数通常为 XNUMX 是可接受的标准。

由于政府控制,完善的公用事业公司更有可能拥有稳定的生产和收入,因此即使利息覆盖率较低,它也可能能够可靠地支付利息。 例如,制造业是一个波动性更大的行业,最低可接受的利息覆盖率为三或更多。

这些企业更有可能经历业务波动。 例如,在 2008 年经济衰退期间,汽车销量暴跌,使汽车制造业处于危险之中。 1 可能损害利息覆盖率的意外事件的另一个例子是工人罢工。 因为这些 企业 更容易受到这些变化的影响。 他们必须依靠更高的支付利息的能力来适应收入不佳的时期。 由于行业差异如此之大,理想情况下,一家公司与同行业其他公司的比率应该是相同的。 具有类似业务结构和销售额的企业。

利息覆盖率告诉你什么?

ICR 是评估公司管理债务能力的指标。 这是可以用来评估企业财务状况的几种债务比率之一。 术语“覆盖率”是指可以用公司现有收益支付利息的时间(通常是若干财政年度)。 基本而言,它表示公司的收益可以用来偿还债务的多少倍。

不良利息覆盖率表明什么?

任何小于 1.5 的值都是可怕的利息覆盖率,这表明公司当前的收益不足以偿还其未偿债务。 即使 ICR 低于 XNUMX,公司能否持续支付利息支出的前景仍然值得怀疑,尤其是在公司容易受到季节性或周期性收入低谷影响的情况下。

常见问题

什么是不良利息覆盖率?

不良利息覆盖率是任何低于 1 的数字,因为这意味着公司当前的收益不足以偿还其未偿债务。

什么是 Upsc 利息保障?

利息覆盖率是一种债务和盈利能力比率,用于确定公司支付或覆盖其未偿债务利息的难易程度。 该比率衡量公司可以用其可用收益支付当前利息的次数。

利息覆盖率如何表示?

利息覆盖率的计算方法是将公司的息税前利润 (EBIT) 除以给定期间的利息费用。 利息覆盖率有时被称为倍数利息收入 (TIE) 比率。

什么是现金覆盖率?

现金覆盖率是一种会计比率,用于衡量公司支付利息费用的能力以及是否有足够的资金支付利息和盈利。

  1. 税前收入 (EBT):概述、公式、重要性
  2. 信用分析:信用分析过程和比率指南
  3. 杠杆比率:定义、类型和示例
  4. 流动性比率:类型、公式和计算
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

你也许也喜欢

INTEREST COVERAGE RATIO: Types, Formula, Examples & Analysis

interest coverage ratio
Image credit: Business model

In terms of risk management, the interest coverage ratio can be a useful tool for determining whether your company’s revenues are sufficient to cover the interest on its loan commitments. Start with our interest coverage ratio definition to learn everything you need to know. Because we covered all you need to know about interest coverage ratio, formula, types, analysis and so much more.

Interest Coverage Ratio

The interest coverage ratio is a financial metric that assesses a firm’s capacity to make timely interest payments on its debt. This liquidity ratio, unlike the debt service coverage ratio, has nothing to do with the ability to make principal payments on the debt. Instead, it determines the firm’s ability to pay the debt’s interest.

This calculation is used by creditors and investors to determine a company’s profitability and risk. An investor, for example, is primarily concerned with seeing his investment in the company grows in value. Profits and operational efficiencies account for a major portion of this gain. As a result, investors want to know that their company will be able to pay its obligations on time without jeopardizing its operations or earnings.

The interest coverage ratio, on the other hand, is used by creditors to determine if a company can afford the extra debt. If a corporation can’t afford to pay the interest on its debt, it will most likely be unable to pay the principal. As a result, creditors utilize this formula to determine the risk of lending.

Overview

The term “coverage” in the interest coverage ratio refers to the amount of time (usually quarters or fiscal years) that interest payments may be made with the company’s existing earnings. In basic terms, it indicates how many times the company’s earnings can be used to satisfy its debts.

The smaller the ratio, the more debt expenses burden the corporation and the less resources it has to invest elsewhere. A company’s capacity to meet interest expenses may be questioned if its interest coverage ratio is below 1.5 or lower.

In order to weather future, and maybe unanticipated, financial crises, businesses must have more than enough earnings to cover interest payments. The ability of a corporation to satisfy its interest obligations is a measure of its solvency, and thus a key determinant in shareholder returns.

Types of Interest Coverage Ratios

Before looking at company ratios, it’s vital to know two typical versions of the interest coverage ratio. Changes in EBIT are the source of these variances.

#1. EBITDA

When computing the interest coverage ratio, one variation utilizes profits before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization (EBITDA) instead of EBIT. Because this variance excludes depreciation and amortization, the numerator in EBITDA estimates is frequently higher than in EBIT calculations. Because the interest expense will be the same in both circumstances, EBITDA calculations will result in a larger interest coverage ratio than EBIT calculations.

#2. EBIAT

In another form, the ICR is calculated using earnings before interest and taxes (EBIAT) rather than EBIT. This has the effect of subtracting tax charges from the numerator, resulting in a more accurate depiction of a company’s ability to pay interest expenses. Because taxes are a significant financial factor to consider. EBIAT can be used to compute interest coverage ratios instead of EBIT to get a better view of a company’s capacity to cover its interest expenses.

Importance of the Interest Coverage Ratio

Any company’s ability to stay afloat in terms of interest payments is a significant and continuous worry. When a firm is having trouble meeting its obligations, it may have to borrow more or utilize its cash reserve. Which would be better spent on capital assets or for emergencies.

While a single ICR might disclose a lot about a company’s current financial situation. Looking at interest coverage ratios across time can frequently show a lot more about a company’s position and trajectory.

Looking at a company’s interest coverage ratios on a quarterly basis for the past five years. For example, can tell investors if the ratio is improving, dropping, or stable, and can give you a good idea of how healthy its short-term finances are.

Furthermore, the acceptability of any given level of this ratio is, to some extent, in the eye of the beholder. Some banks or potential bond buyers may be willing to accept a lower ratio in exchange for a higher interest rate on the company’s debt.

Interest coverage ratio Formula

Divide the EBIT (profits before interest and taxes) by the interest expense to arrive at the interest coverage ratio formula.

As you can see, instead of net income, the equation uses EBIT. Earnings before interest and taxes (EBIT) is essentially net income after interest and taxes have been deducted. Because we want an accurate picture of how much the company can afford to pay in interest. We use EBIT instead of net income in our calculations. The computation would be messed up if we utilized net income since interest expenditure would be counted twice. And tax expense would alter depending on the amount of interest deducted. To prevent this issue, we only use earnings or revenues before paying interest and taxes.

It’s also worth noting that this technique can be used to calculate interest periods of any length. Divide the EBIT and interest expense by the number of months you want to compute to get monthly or partial year numbers, for example.

Interest coverage ratio Example

Let’s look at an example of an ICR. Sarah’s Jam Company is a jelly and jam jarring company that cans and sends preservatives all over the country. Sarah wants to grow her business, but she lacks the finances to buy the canning machines she requires. As a result, she visits many banks with her financial statements in order to obtain the funds she requires. Sarah earns $50,000 before interest and taxes, with interest and taxes of $15,000 and $5,000, respectively.

Sarah has a 3.33 ratio, as you can see. This means she earns 3.33 times more money than she is paying in interest. She has enough money to pay both the interest and the principle on her present obligation. This is a positive sign because it indicates that her company’s risk is low and that her operations are generating enough cash to cover her expenses.

Interest Coverage Ratio Analysis

It’s difficult to calculate a coverage ratio because it’s based on how much risk the creditor or investor is willing to bear. A bank may be more comfortable with one figure than another, depending on the required risk limitations. The fundamentals of this measurement, on the other hand, remain unchanged.

If the result is less than 1, the company isn’t profitable enough to cover its interest payments. Don’t worry about repaying the debt’s principle. A corporation with a calculation of less than 1 will be unable to pay its debt interest. This type of business is extremely dangerous and would almost certainly never be for bank financing.

If the coverage equation equals 1, the corporation only produces enough money to cover its interest payments. This situation isn’t any better than the previous one, because the corporation is still unable to make the principal payments. It can only pay down the present debt’s interest when it’s due.

If the coverage ratio is more than one, the corporation is making more than enough money to satisfy its interest commitments while still having enough money left over to pay the principal. Before making any loans, most creditors need coverage of at least 1.5. In other words, banks want to ensure that a company’s current interest payments are at least 1.5 times its current interest payments.

In our previous example, Sarah’s percentage is 3.33. Her existing operations generate enough revenue to pay down her current interest rates 3.33 times over. Her business is incredibly liquid, so she should have no trouble obtaining a loan to expand.

What is a Good Interest Coverage Ratio?

The definition of a “excellent” interest coverage ratio is likely to differ by industry. The typical debt commitments of companies in the industrial and technology industries, for example, are vastly different. In general, an interest coverage ratio of at least two is the bare minimum. Investors and analysts would typically seek interest coverage ratios of at least three. Which shows that a company’s revenues are predictable and stable.

A “poor” interest coverage ratio, on the other hand, is any value less than one, which indicates that your company’s earnings aren’t sufficient to service your outstanding debt. Although corporations that are having trouble servicing their debt may be able to stay afloat. A low or negative interest coverage ratio is normally a huge warning flag for investors. In many circumstances, it signifies that the company is on the verge of going bankrupt.

Limitations of the Interest Coverage Ratio

The interest coverage ratio, like any other indicator, is used to assess a company’s efficiency. Has several limitations that any investor should be aware of before utilizing it.

For starters, while comparing organizations in different industries, and even within the same industry, it’s crucial to keep in mind that varies greatly. An interest coverage ratio of two is frequently an acceptable standard for established corporations in some industries, such as a utility company.

Because of government controls, a well-established utility is more likely to have consistent production and revenue, therefore even with a low-interest coverage ratio, it may be able to meet its interest payments reliably. Manufacturing, for example, is a far more volatile industry, with a minimum acceptable interest coverage ratio of three or more.

These businesses are more likely to experience business fluctuations. For example, during the 2008 recession, automobile sales plummeted, putting the auto manufacturing industry in jeopardy. 1 Another example of an unforeseen incident that could impair interest coverage ratios is a workers’ strike. Because these businesses are more susceptible to these variations. They must rely on a higher ability to cover interest to accommodate for periods of poor revenues. Because sectors differ so greatly, a company’s ratio should be to others in the same industry ideally. Those with similar business structures and sales amounts.

What Does the Interest Coverage Ratio Tell You?

The ICR is a metric that assesses a company’s capacity to manage its debt. It’s one of several debt ratios that can be to assess a business’s financial health. The term “coverage” refers to the amount of time (usually a number of fiscal years) that interest payments can be made with the company’s existing earnings. In basic terms, it indicates how many times the company’s earnings can be to satisfy its debts.

What Does a Bad Interest Coverage Ratio Indicate?

Any value less than one is a terrible interest coverage ratio, which indicates that the company’s current earnings are insufficient to service its outstanding debt. Even with an ICR below 1.5, the prospects of a firm being able to fulfill its interest expenses on a continuous basis are still questionable, especially if the company is susceptible to seasonal or cyclical revenue troughs.

FAQ

What is a bad interest coverage ratio?

A bad interest coverage ratio is any number below 1, as this translates to the company’s current earnings being insufficient to service its outstanding debt.

What is Upsc interest coverage?

The interest coverage ratio is a debt and profitability ratio used to determine how easily a firm can pay or cover the interest on its outstanding debt. This ratio measures how many times a company can cover its current interest payment with its available earnings.

How is interest coverage ratio expressed?

The interest coverage ratio is calculated by dividing a company’s earnings before interest and taxes (EBIT) by its interest expense during a given period. The interest coverage ratio is sometimes called the times’ interest earned (TIE) ratio.

What is cash coverage ratio?

The cash coverage ratio is an accounting ratio that is used to measure the ability of a company to cover their interest expense and whether there are sufficient funds available to pay interest and turn a profit.

  1. EARNINGS BEFORE TAX (EBT): Overview, Formular, Importance
  2. Credit Analysis: Guide to the Process & Ratios of Credit Analysis
  3. Leverage Ratios: Definition, Types & Examples
  4. Liquidity Ratio: Types, Formulas and Calculations
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like