HOA 费用:购买前的注意事项

费用
图片来源:时间

居住在发展规划社区为房主提供了几个优势。 其中最重要的是它提供的轻松和便利。 不过,无论您住在公寓还是单户住宅中都没有关系。 有一些共同的特点可以提高同居的轻松和便利。 但是,这些由 HOA 管理。 基本上,房主协会 (HOA) 是一个以社区为基础的组织,负责制定和执行其所在地区的房产法规。 HOA 负责维修、维护、安全和社区设施,如游泳池、私人俱乐部、沙龙和对所有人开放的健身设施。 然而,所有这些都不是免费的,这就是 HOA 费用的来源。想知道现在这意味着什么? 本文将让您更深入地了解 Hoa 费用的运作方式、涵盖的内容以及是否可以免税。

什么是 HOA

在一个街区, 业主协会,或 HOA,是一个在其权限范围内为房屋制定和执行规定的团体。

许多住宅社区包括一个房主协会 (HOA) 结构,以帮助保持该地区的清洁和和谐。 因此,当您在“计划开发”中购买公寓、联排别墅或独户住宅时,也可能会出现 HOA 结构。

尽管 HOA 可能会减轻房主的一些任务,但它也可能带来额外的房主责任。 因此,您应该考虑这一点,并向协会和您自己以及您的家人询问有关它的问题。 然而,这是在购买属于房主协会 (HOA) 的房屋之前。

居民购买后,您需要加入 HOA 并支付 HOA 费用。 这是为了帮助维护公共区域、共享基础设施和他们家的外部。

但是,什么是 HOA 费用? 

什么是 HOA 费用?

房主协会收取称为 HOA FEES 的常规费用(通常是每月或每季度),以支付其提供的服务的成本。

每个月,特定类别的住宅业主必须向其房主协会 (HOA) 支付一笔称为“HOA 费用”(HOA) 的金额。 但是,收取这些费用的主要目的是帮助组织维护和改善资产。 另一方面,许多单户住宅区也收取 HOA 费用。 然而,这并非总是如此。

当您在 HOA 社区购买房屋时,您将自动成为共同利益发展 (CID) 的一部分。 因此,您还必须为公共设施和公共设施的维护做出贡献。 协会维护的一个。 这些 HOA 费用还用于维护和修复您社区的景观以及公共区域。

同样重要的是要知道,虽然董事会设定了您的 HOA 成本,但没有人能从中获得经济利益。 您的董事会由志愿者和居民组成,他们像您附近的其他人一样支付 HOA 费用。 通常,您的 HOA 是一个非营利实体,这意味着任何盈余资金都会再投资于该组织。

另一方面,公寓业主支付的 HOA 费用通常包括建筑物维护,例如大堂、露台、景观美化、水上运动中心以及电梯。

物业或社区之间的 HOA 费用可能会有很大差异。 无论如何,月费从 100 美元到 1,000 美元不等。 但是,平均每月在 200 到 300 美元之间。 服务和设施越多,费用就越高。

购买前应了解的内容

确保在达成购买协议后查看财务披露和董事会会议记录。 但是,您应该在完成交易之前执行此操作。 这将帮助您更多地了解 HOA 的财务状况;

  • 您将能够知道 HOA 为紧急维修或大规模或计划性维护预留了多少钱。 无需对其他所有人进行特殊评估或提高每月费用。
  • 此外,这将向您揭示 HOA 是否存在法律问题。
  • 同样,您将能够收集有关近年来 HOA 费用增加频率的信息。
  • 除了 HOA 费用之外,HOA 是否对房主施加了额外的费用?

在购买之前做你的研究

确保您在购买房屋之前熟悉所有 CC&R,并仔细检查 HOA 的财务记录; 这应该能够解决:

#1。 你家的外观

为了保持外观与社区相似,HOA 可能会要求您使用与其他人相同的屋顶材料、木瓦和油漆颜色。 并且还寻求围栏或游​​泳池的许可。 但是,那是如果您完全有权拥有一个。 如果您的房主协会 (HOA) 未能维护您的草,您可能也会受到树木和植物的限制。

#2。 汽车

在街上停车以及停在房屋周围的汽车的数量和类型可以由房主管理。

#3。 宠物

如果幸运的话,您可以养宠物,它们的大小和数量可能会受到限制。

#4。 租金

同样,如果您被授权出租您的财产,HOA 可能会设置限制。

什么是 CC&R?

共同的限制性契约。 如果您住在那个 HOA 社区,您可以将 CC&R 视为您必须遵守的规定。 与分区法相反,限制性契约由房主协会制定。 然而,这是为了让他们的房产保持最佳状态并增加他们的价值。 

尽管如此,您可能希望在任何给定的 HOA 社区中看到几种类型的限制性契约:

  • 合法使用的外墙涂料颜色
  • 必须至少满足的财产和景观美化标准
  • 允许的围栏类型
  • 允许的窗帘
  • 您只能在家中安装少数几个安全灯。
  • 在车道上安装运动器材(例如篮球架)受到限制。
  • 限制使用休闲车或存放车辆
  • 业主和租户的噪音和气味控制措施
  • 管理私有土地的商业或商业用途的处置

HOA 费用涵盖哪些内容?

以下解释了您的 HOA 费用涵盖的内容;

#1。 维修和保养费用

您社区的公共设施必须定期维护,这需要花钱。 草坪护理、景观美化、除雪、水管保养和维护、电力和能源成本、维修和游泳池维护、空调和取暖费、害虫 灭绝和一般维修都是持续维修和维护支出的例子。

#2. 保险

基本上,房主协会需要为任何常见的建筑物或结构购买保险。 这是为了防止在这些公共场所或您的社区中发生潜在的昂贵损坏或其他不可预见的事故。 此外,您的协会可能还需要洪水保险。 然而,这取决于您的实际位置,其目的是保护自己免受环境威胁。

当涉及到房主协会会费时,他们只支付公共区域的保险费用。 因此,为了保护自己和家人,您可以单独购买 房主的保险 政策。 HOA保险不承保的一种。

#3。 应急基金

在应急准备方面,您的 HOA 处于什么位置,费用如何提供帮助? 基本上,负责任的 HOA 董事会应为意外事件留出一些 HOA 费用。 换句话说,如果发生不可预见的费用,应急基金包含每月留出的任何资金。 然而,大型自然灾害后的社区支出、应急费用或保险费用都是这些费用的例子。

#4。 实用程序

此外,任何公共设施,如游泳池、健康水疗中心、会议室以及会所,都将向业主协会收取公用事业费。 同样,如果您住在公寓大楼,您的电力、制冷和供暖也可能包含在其中。 有时,一个完整的综合体或开发项目的业主协会可能会协商互联网和电视服务的一揽子折扣。 不过,您必须将其作为协会会费的一部分支付。

#5。 储备钱以备不时之需。

除了制定预算并确保您的社区的开支处于最低限度之外,您的董事会还为紧急情况预留资金。 但是,储备金不应用于日常支出。 因此,您的董事会应该聘请一家后备研究公司。 一种可以帮助您的组织评估池泵或锅炉的估计使用寿命以及更换它们的相关成本的方法。

在这种情况下,储备研究公司可以帮助您的董事会制定预算。 既考虑当前支出又考虑未来支出的预算。 储备资金被投资,以便他们可以为未来的支出创造更多的钱。 然而,主线是,为了避免可怕的特殊评估,你必须有大量的储备现金。

#6。 人员配备

在维持和改善您所在社区的生活质量方面,HOA 费用是什么? 如果您的房主协会决定雇用维修和保安人员,他们的工资将成为您每月费用的一部分。

#7。 社区协会的管理

由于董事会成员都是社区的自愿成员。 有这么多工作要做,许多房主和公寓协会寻求物业管理业务的帮助。 该服务也是您的 HOA 会员费的一部分。 专业的管理公司可以更有效地处理承包商协议、维护、保险、投资以及其他组织和财务责任。 然而,所有这些都对您的社区有利。 这是因为它有助于保持良好状态并提高您的房屋价值。

Hoa 费用可以免税吗?

由于缺乏可抵扣费用,房主协会 (HOA) 费用不可抵税。

一般来说,如果房产是您的主要住所,则 HOA 费用不可免税。 然而,这条规则有一些例外。

不过,与您保留在家中并用于商业目的的办公室相关的一些 HOA 费用可能是免税的。 然而,这是如果你是你的老板并且主要在家里工作的话。 根据您的家庭办公室的规模,在这种情况下会从您的薪水中扣除。 如果您将房屋的 25% 用作办公室,则可以扣除 25% 的 HOA 成本。

同样,如果您拥有并出租自己的财产,则适用第二个例外。 您的所有 HOA 会费都可以从您的应税收入中扣除。 根据美国国税局的规定,在这种情况下,HOA 费用可以从您的出租物业费用中扣除税款。

在第二居所的情况下,您的部分 HOA 费用也可以免税,例如您在一年中的一部分时间居住但在一年中剩余时间出租的房屋,但前提是您符合条件。 通过考虑您一年中实际花在房子上的时间,您可以降低您的年度价格。 因此,例如,如果您将房产出租一年六个月,您可能可以从您的应税收入中扣除 HOA 会费。

但是,如果您有资格获得税收减免,您将需要附表 E 表格来记录 HOA 费用。 对于出租物业,您每年可以从您的应税收入中扣除高达 25,000 美元的 HOA 费用。

总结

成为计划社区的一部分并受到 HOA 的限制既是福也是祸。 它使您有机会放弃维护房屋的部分责任,以换取社区生活所带来的共享设施和安全。 将普通社区的多样性换成更统一的,但你不太可能被邻居的装饰品味或糟糕的家庭维护习惯所困扰。

HOA 费用常见问题

HOA费用的平均成本是多少?

HOA 费率根据您的居住地、您拥有的房屋类型以及您的 HOA 提供的服务而有很大差异。 每月的 HOA 费用可能低至 100 美元或高达 1,000 美元。 他们通常每月花费 200 到 300 美元

您的 HOA 费用不包括哪些内容?

您的 HOA 费用将不包括您的抵押贷款或您的房屋; 您需要为这些购买自己的保险单。 此外,HOA 费用不包括维护或升级您自己的房屋的费用。

公寓 HOA 费用有什么好处?

公寓 HOA 费用涵盖了拥有公寓单元的建筑物,以及它们周围的公共设施,例如大堂、露台、走廊、游泳池、电梯和休闲区。

如果我不支付房主协会费用会怎样?

可能会受到严厉制裁。 您可能会被罚款,也可能被 HOA 告上法庭。 留置权甚至可以放在您的家中。 在某些情况下,如果您不缴纳会费,HOA 甚至可能会取消您的房屋赎回权。

  1. CONDO:公寓与其他住房类型的定义和比较
  2. 家庭保险:最佳保险公司和保单
  3. 联排别墅:定义、优点、缺点和您所需要的一切(+ 免费提示)
  4. 契约限制:定义和如何识别房产的契约限制
  5. 什么是房子的留置权:对你的房子有留置权是不是很糟糕
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

HOA FEES : Considerations Before Buying

HOA FEES
Image Source: Time

Residing in a development planning community offers several advantages to a house owner. Not the least of which is the ease and conveniences it provides. Nevertheless, it doesn’t matter if you reside in a condo or single-family home. There are common features that enhance the ease and convenience of cohabitating. These, however, are managed by an HOA. Basically, a homeowners association ( HOA) is a community-based organization that sets and enforces the regulations for properties in its area. HOA is in charge of repairs, maintenance, security, and the community’s amenities like swimming pools, private clubs, salons, and fitness facilities which are open to everyone. However, all these aren’t free, which is where the HOA fees come in. Wondering what that means now? This article will give you more insight into how Hoa fees work, what they cover, and whether they are tax-deductible.

What are HOAs

In a neighborhood, a homeowners’ association, or HOA, is a group that sets and enforces the regulations for the homes within its authority.

Many residential communities include a homeowner’s association (HOA) structure to assist keep the area clean and harmonious. As a result, the HOA structure may also be present when you purchase a condominium, townhouse, or single-family home in a “planned development.”.

Despite the fact that the HOA might alleviate some of the homeowner’s tasks, it can also entail additional homeowner responsibilities. So you should consider this and ask both the association and yourself as well as your family questions about it. This, however, is before purchasing a house that is part of a homeowner’s association (HOA).

Following the resident’s purchase, you will need to join the HOA and pay HOA fees. This is to help maintain common areas, shared infrastructure, and the exteriors of their homes.

But, what are HOA fees? 

What Are HOA Fees?

The homeowners’ association charges a regular fee known as HOA FEES (typically monthly or quarterly) to cover the costs of the services it offers.

Every month, a specified class of residential property owners must pay their homeowners association (HOA) an amount of money known as “HOA fees” (HOAs). However, the main objectives of collecting these fees are to help the organization maintain and improve the properties. On the other hand, many single-family home areas also charge HOA fees. However, this is not always the case.

When you purchase a house in an HOA community, you automatically become a part of common interest development (CID). As a result, you’ll also have to contribute to the upkeep of the common facilities and public amenities. One that the association maintains. These HOA fees also pay for the upkeep and repair of your community’s landscape as well as common areas.

Also important to know is that while the board sets your HOA costs, no one benefits financially from them. Your board comprises volunteers and residents who pay HOA fees just like everyone else in your neighborhood. As a rule, your HOA is a nonprofit entity, which means that any surplus funds are reinvested in the organization.

On the other hand, the HOA fees that condo owners pay typically cover building maintenance, such as lobbies, patios, landscaping, Aquatic centers as well as elevators.

The HOA fees might vary significantly between properties or communities. Regardless, the monthly rates range from $100 to $1,000. However, the average is between $200 and $300 every month. The more services and amenities, the greater the fees.

What You Should Know Before You Buy

Make sure you review financial disclosures and board meeting minutes after reaching a purchase agreement. However, you should do this before you finalize the deal. This will help you discover more about the HOA’s finances;

  • You will be able to tell how much money the HOA has set aside in case of emergency repairs or large-scale or planned maintenance.  without having to levy a special assessment or raise the monthly charge on everyone else.
  • Also, this will reveal to you whether the HOA is an issue with the law.
  • Likewise, you will be able to gather information on how frequently the HOA fees have increased in recent years.
  • Does HOA has imposed additional costs on homeowners in addition to the HOA fees?

Do Your Research Before Making a Purchase

Make sure you’re familiar with all the CC&Rs before you buy the house, and double-check the HOA’s financial record; This should be able to address:

#1. Your home’s exterior

To keep the exterior similar to the neighborhood, the HOA may demand you to use the same roofing material, shingles, and paint colors as everyone else. And also to seek permission for a fence or pool. However, that is if you have permission to have one at all. If your homeowners’ association (HOA) fails to maintain your grass, you may be subject to limitations on trees and plants as well.

#2. Vehicles

Parking on the street and the quantity and type of cars parked around a home could be regulated by a homeowner.

#3. Pets

If fortunately, you’re allowed to have pets, their size and number may be limited.

#4. Rentals

Likewise, the HOA may set restrictions if you are authorized to rent out your property.

What is a CC&R?

Common restrictive covenants. You can think of CC&Rs as the regulations that you must obey if you live in that HOA community. Restrictive covenants, as opposed to zoning laws, are put in place by homeowners’ associations. However, this is to keep their properties looking their best and increase their value. 

Nevertheless, there are a few types of restrictive covenants that you might expect to see in any given HOA community:

  • Exterior home paint colors that are legal to use
  • Property and landscaping criteria that must be met as a bare minimum
  • Permitted types of fencing
  • permitted window coverings
  • You can only attach a select few security lights to your home.
  • Installation of sports equipment, such as a basketball hoop, in the driveway, is subject to restrictions.
  • Restriction of the use of recreational vehicles or the storage of vehicles
  • Noise and odor control measures for property owners and tenants
  • Dispositions governing the commercial or business use of privately owned land

What Do HOA Fees Cover?

The following explains what your HOA fees cover;

#1. Costs for Repairs and Maintenance

Your community’s common facilities must be maintained on a regular basis, which necessitates spending money. Lawn care, landscaping, snow removal, water pipes upkeep and maintenance, electricity and energy costs, repairs and swimming pool maintenance, air-con and heating bills, pest extermination, and general repairs are all examples of ongoing repair and maintenance spending.

#2. Insurance

Basically, a homeowners association will need to acquire insurance for any common buildings or structures. This is to safeguard against potentially expensive damage or other unforeseen mishaps in these public locations or in your community. In addition, your association may also require flood insurance.  This however depends on your actual location and its aim is to safeguard itself against environmental threats.

When it comes to homeowner association dues, they only cover the cost of insuring the common areas. So, in order to safeguard yourself and your family, you may purchase a separate homeowner’s insurance policy. One that the HOA insurance does not cover.

#3. Funds for Contingencies

When it comes to emergency preparedness, where does your HOA  stands, and how do fees help? Basically, some of the HOA fees should be set aside for unexpected events by a responsible HOA board of directors. In other words, in the event of an unforeseen expense, contingency funds contain any money that is set aside each month. However, spending for the community, emergency costs, or insurance costs following a large natural disaster are all examples of these costs.

#4. Utilities

In addition, any common facilities, such as swimming pools, health spas, meeting rooms, as well as clubhouses, will be subject to utility charges for homeowners associations. Likewise, if you live in an apartment complex, your electricity, cooling, and heating may be included in this as well. Occasionally, a full complex or development’s homeowners associations might negotiate a package discount on Internet and television services. Nevertheless, you’ll have to pay this as part of your association dues.

#5. Reserve money for emergencies.

In addition to establishing a budget and ensuring that your community’s expenses are at a bare minimum, your board also sets aside money for emergencies. However, the reserve funds should not be for everyday spending. Therefore your board should hire a reserve study firm. One that will help your organization evaluate the estimated life duration of pool pumps or boilers and the associated costs of replacing them.

In this case, a  reserve research firm can assist your board in creating a budget. A budget that accounts for current spending as well as anticipated future ones. Reserving funds are invested so that they may create more money for the benefit of future expenditures. Nevertheless, the mainline, however, is that in order to avoid the dreaded special assessment, you must have considerable reserve cash.

#6. Staffing

What are the HOA fees utilized for in terms of maintaining and improving the quality of life in your neighborhood? If your homeowners’ association decides to employ maintenance and security workers, their wages will be part of your monthly fees.

#7. The management of a community association

Since board members are all voluntary members of the community. With so much to do, many homeowners and condominium associations enlist the help of a property management business. That service is also part of your HOA membership fees. A professional management firm can handle contractor agreements, upkeep, insurance, investments, as well as other organizational and financial responsibilities more efficiently. However, all of this is advantageous to your neighborhood. This is because it helps to keep it in good condition and raises the value of your home.

Are Hoa Fees Tax-Deductible?

Due to a lack of deductible expenses, homeowners’ association (HOA) fees are not tax-deductible.

In general, HOA fees are not tax-deductible if the property is your primary residence. There are, however, certain exceptions to this rule.

Some of the HOA fees associated with an office you keep in your house and use for commercial purposes may be tax-deductible, though. This, however, is if you are your boss and work primarily at home. Depending on the size of your home office, a deduction is taken from your paycheck in this case. You can deduct 25 percent of your HOA costs if you utilize 25 percent of your house as an office.

Likewise, if you own and rent out your own property, the second exception is applicable. All of your HOA dues can be deductible from your taxable income. HOA fees are tax-deductible from your rental property expenses according to IRS regulations in this kinda situation.

Part of your HOA fees can also be tax-deductible in the case of a secondary residence, such as a home you live in a part of the year but rent out the rest of the year, This is if you qualify though. By taking into account how much of the year you actually spend in the house, you can reduce your annual price. So, you may be able to deduct HOA dues from your taxable income if, for example, you rent out the property for six months of the year.

However, you will need Schedule E forms to record HOA fees if you are eligible for a tax deduction. For rental properties, you can deduct up to $25,000 in HOA fees each year from your taxable income.

Conclusion

Being part of a planned community and subject to the restrictions of an HOA can be both a blessing and a curse. It gives you the opportunity to give up part of the responsibility for maintaining your house in exchange for the shared facilities and security that come with living in a community. Trade the average neighborhood’s variety for one that’s more uniform, but one that has less likelihood of you being bothered by your neighbors’ taste in decor or poor home maintenance habits.

HOA FEES FAQs

What Is The Average Cost Of HOA Fees?

HOA rates vary widely depending on where you reside, the type of home you own, and the services provided by your HOA. A monthly HOA charge can be as low as $100 or as much as $1,000. They’ll usually cost between $200 and $300 each month

What are the things that your HOA fees don't cover?

Your HOA Fees will not cover your mortgage or your home; you will need to purchase your own insurance policy for these. Furthermore, the HOA fees will not cover the expenditures of maintaining or upgrading your own house.

What are the benefits of condo HOA fees?

Condo HOA fees cover the buildings that house condo units, as well as the common amenities that surround them, such as lobbies, patios, corridors, swimming pools, elevators, and recreational areas.

What Happens If I Don't Pay My Homeowners Association Fees?

There could be severe sanctions. You could land a fine or as well be taken to court by the HOA.  A lien can even be placed on your home. In some situations, the HOA may even foreclose on your home if you don’t pay your dues.

  1. CONDO: Definition and Comparison of Condominium With Other Housing Types
  2. HOME INSURANCE: Best Insurance Companies and Policy
  3. TOWNHOUSE: Definition, Pros, Cons & All You Need (+ Free Tips)
  4. DEED RESTRICTIONS: Definition & How to Identify Deed Restrictions On A Property
  5. What Is a Lien on a House: Is it Bad to Have a Lien on Your House
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like