什么是穷人? 如何识别和避免它

什么是穷人

术语“穷人”或“家庭穷人”是指几乎无法负担与房屋相关的日常开支的房主。 这通常发生在房主的抵押贷款支付与他们的收入、现金流或净资产相比太大,或者在支付抵押贷款和其他经常性房屋债务后剩下的钱很少时。 在这篇文章中,我们将讨论穷人意味着什么以及随之而来的问题。 在解决了人们如何成为穷人之后,我们将探讨如何避免这种情况以及如果您已经处于这种情况该怎么办。

什么是穷人? 

住房贫困是指个人将其月收入的相当一部分用于住房开支,例如每月的抵押贷款、财产税和水电费。 由于这种过度支出,他们可能无法实现其他财务或个人目标。 因此,在这种情况下,人们常常难以跟上其他财务责任。 您可能能够还清您财产的所有账单,但实际上,您已经筋疲力尽,几乎一无所有。 不管你赚多少钱,穷人都会限制你的长期财务目标。 这是因为您将大部分收入用于住房开支。 人们陷入这种情况的原因之一是他们没有意识到拥有房子的全部成本。

我如何处理我的房子的糟糕情况?

如果你是穷人,做以下任何事情都可以帮助你摆脱困境。 

1#。 转按你的房子

如果你是穷人,你可以选择为你的房子再融资。 您可以访问其他抵押贷款提供商或只是咨询您的抵押贷款提供商以进行再抵押。 Remortgaging 将使您在较长时期内减少每月还款额。 此外,如果您的房屋净值因近期全国房屋价值上涨或您所做的修改而增加,那么再融资可能是您的最佳选择。 

#2。 卖掉你的房子

如果您不再能够负担您目前拥有的房产,另一种选择是出售您的房屋并缩小规模。 但是,您可能会永久离开理想住所,也可能只是暂时离开。 由于您新获得的财务稳定性,您将能够专注于生活的其他方面。

#3。 制止多余的支出

另一种处理房屋状况不佳的方法是限制不必要的支出。 购买必需品应该是你的首要任务。 如果您刚刚遭受财务挫折,例如失业或意外的巨额费用,您可以通过限制或消除可自由支配的支出来帮助自己。

#4。 您的储蓄用于救援

如果发生重大财务挫折,您可能需要动用您的应急储备,以便从长远来看重新站起来。 

#5。 增加你的收入

如果您可以采取任何措施来增加收入,例如获得一份额外的工作、在办公室要求加薪,或者开始兼职或兼职工作。 增加的收入将使您能够照顾自己的过度行为。

你可能是穷人的指标

没有人能独自承担住房开支。 您肯定会想为其他事情存钱,例如去您最喜欢的岛屿度假、退休等等。 因此,如果您注意到以下参数的出现,请注意,您可能是房子不好。

  1. 当您将大部分收入用于财产支出时。
  2. 经常切换到您的储蓄账户以支付当月的抵押贷款
  3. 无法留出部分收入以备将来使用。
  4. 当没有足够的资金来处理紧急情况时。
  5. 大多数时候,你负担不起去度假或追求其他奢侈品的费用。 
  6. 发现很难偶尔花在自己身上,因为你有一笔抵押贷款需要清算。

成为房主的真正成本

许多购房者发现自己无法跟上拥有房产的每月成本。 大多数情况下,这对某些人来说是一个紧迫的角落,因为这种情况可能会让一个人陷入困境。 买房比每月按时还清抵押贷款还重要。 维护、水电费、保险和其他费用都必须考虑在内。 在您决定买房之前,请研究一下水电费、保险费和其他常见的家庭账单。 您提前了解的越多,您就越有能力应对意外成本。 如果您不完全了解随之而来的成本,那么成为房主带来的快乐很容易被打断。 为避免这种情况,Business Yield 建议您在购买梦想中的房子之前联系抵押贷款经纪人和财务顾问。

除了每月抵押贷款外,还需要考虑的其他费用 

以下是房主支付的一些额外费用。

#1。 存款和结算成本

您将预先支付的初始押金和结算费用是一笔可观的金额。 因此,使用您的积蓄为此留出一大笔钱是至关重要的。

#2。 维护费用

大多数房主没有考虑维护成本。 不幸的是,如果你的房子必须保持适宜居住,你就必须维护它。 根据维护需要,维护成本可能高达物业价值的 1-3%。 您的财产的使用年限也将决定您在维护上花费多少。 

#3。 财产税

财产税是任何有意的房主必须考虑的额外费用之一。 要记住的最重要的事情之一是,大多数抵押贷款机构会根据预期的初始财产税账单预先批准您,该账单包含在您的每月抵押贷款付款中。 不幸的是,这会随着您的财产价值的增加而增加。 为了安全起见,请确保您了解评估价值的频率以及购买房产时如何设定费率。 

#4。 房主协会会费 (HOA)

房主协会会费绝不是您每月按揭付款的一部分。 虽然,这是抵押贷款人用来使您有资格获得抵押贷款的基本要求之一。 像房产税一样,会费也可能上涨。 但是,与您的 HOA 保持联系将使您了解当前的费用以及以前的会费。

不可预见的情况变化

环境的意外变化也是人们成为穷人的原因之一。 有人可能会失去工作或面临使他们处于不稳定财务状况的情况。 例如,威尔莫特先生的月收入为 7000 美元,而他的妻子则为 5500 美元。 他们都通过抵押贷款购买了房子,每月必须支付 5000 美元。 不幸的是,威尔莫特先生在还清抵押贷款前 18 个月就失业了。 如果没有良好的备用资金,他们将难以支付抵押贷款、保险和其他费用。 特别是如果威尔莫特先生无法及时找到另一份工作。 因此,建议有一个预先购买的应急基金。 这是必要的,以避免丢失您的财产。

我怎样才能避免成为穷人?

穷人会影响我们的心理和情绪健康。 相信我,你不想在那里。 我怎样才能避免成为穷人? 避免成为穷人的最好方法是能够负担得起您打算购买的房子。 以下步骤将帮助您避免成为穷人

步骤

最好的做法是在签署任何法律文件或同意任何房屋所有权交易之前征求独立财务顾问或抵押贷款经纪人的意见。 他们的专业知识将帮助您做出正确的住房决定。 

步骤

应用任何可能对你有用的金钱原则。

 50-30-20 原则

50-30-20 公式是一个很好的起点,可以计算出你能负担得起买房子的费用。 根据规范,家庭账单和其他必需品每月不应超过您收入的一半。 此外,必须留出 20% 用于偿还债务并用于储蓄,而其余 30% 则留作您的享受。 

28%规则

“28% 规则”规定,作为一般规则,您不应将超过每月总收入的 28% 用于住房成本。 只需将您的月薪乘以 28% 即可找到您开始为房屋首付存钱所需的每月预算。

债务收入比 (DTI)

贷方使用 DTI 来评估您有资格获得多少抵押贷款。 有效地应用债务收入比率可以保护您免于成为穷人。 使用 DTI,您的每月分期付款和循环贷款付款将根据您的总(税前)收入来衡量。

买房信用不佳

不良信用是不良信用评分或评级。 信用评分差并不意味着你不能买房。 放轻松,即使信用不佳,您仍然可以成为业主。 即使您的信用很差,也可以买房,但过程更加困难和昂贵。 

即使您的信用很差,也可以买房,但过程更加困难和昂贵。 要购买信用不佳的房屋,首先要确定您想要拥有房产的原因。 其次,评估您的财务状况或状况。 您必须进行这些测试,因为拥有房屋会带来沉重的经济负担,如果您的经济状况不佳,无法携带它,那将非常困难。

此外,如果不进行这些评估,您可能会陷入贫困业主的境地。 这是因为你赚到的所有东西都会进入房子,你的收入将没有任何东西可以用来支付其他费用。 而不是上述情况,在此期间租房,也许是一个更明智的决定。 最后,要买房,您必须支付部分款项,如果您要使用抵押贷款,则必须有良好的信用记录,并且至少有一两年的良好收入来源。 

购买信用不佳的房子

有几种贷款选择可供打算购买信用不佳的房屋的人使用。 其中一些贷款包括:

#1。 定期常规贷款

一般来说,传统贷款没有最低收入、信用评分或首付要求。 不幸的是,您需要至少 620 及以上的信用评分才能获得这笔贷款。 但是,如果您的收入高于您想借的金额,那么 620 信用评分限制将是一个豁免并且不适用于您。

 #2。 联邦住房贷款 FHA

对于第一次买房但信用不佳的人来说,FHA 贷款非常有吸引力。 这是因为它的要求是宽松的,每个人都可以从中受益。 FHA 贷款的最低信用评分为 500,这使得人们可以购买信用不佳的房屋。 . 最后,它有一个限制,FHA 仅用于住宅。 

#3。 退伍军人管理局贷款 VA

如果您曾在军队服役或目前正在服役,您可能有资格获得 VA 贷款。 使用 VA 贷款,可以购买无需首付的房屋。 这笔贷款由退伍军人事务部提供保险。 某些贷方可能会要求您一次性支付“资金费用”。 与 FHA 贷款类似,您的房屋必须满足一系列要求才能获得贷款。 这包括 620 的信用评分。

#4。 美国农业部贷款

美国农业部 (USDA) 是一项政府贷款,可以帮助信用不佳的人买房。 贷款无需首付,但只能用于购买农村住房。 另一个严格的要求是其信用评分为 640。

在你去寻找房子之前提高你的信用评分将使购房过程变得更加容易。 在当今火热的市场中,许多房屋卖家不愿意接受要求他们应对 FHA 苛刻的评估过程的适度首付报价。 因此,提高您的信用评分将帮助您获得传统抵押贷款的资格,并提供更具竞争力的房产报价。 另外,请记住,目标不仅仅是拥有一所房子,还要避免成为穷人。 让我们考虑提高不良信用评分的可能方法。

如果我已经是穷人该怎么办?

如果你现在感觉房子很穷,最好的摆脱困境的方法是削减成本或增加收入。 在接下来的部分中,我们将先看看等式的支出方面,然后再讨论收入。

#1。 为您的住所再融资

全国大部分地区的房产价值一直在上涨,因此您的房屋净值可能比您意识到的要多。 如果您进行了任何修改,这将有助于增加您的房屋价值。 无论您到达那里,您的财产中的更多资产都代表着贷方的风险较小。 在为您的抵押贷款再融资时,这可能会导致较低的利率。

除了降低利率外,您还可以进行长期再融资。 如果您有 15 年的抵押贷款并在还款五年后失业,您可以将剩余的 30 年再融资为 XNUMX 年的固定贷款,这将大大减少您每月的抵押贷款支付。 它可能会在您的预算中为您提供更多的回旋余地。 如果您有更多的钱,您也可以选择在您的付款中投入更多的钱来更快地还清债务。

#2。 出售您的住宅

如果您认为自己负担不起现在的房子,另一种选择是卖掉它并缩小规模。 一方面,您可能会永久或暂时离开理想的房子。 另一方面,您会因为知道自己现在住在负担得起的房子里而享受财务上的安心。 如果你正在重新评估你的财务状况,这是需要考虑的事情。

#3。 限制所有可自由支配的支出

如果您刚刚遇到财务冲击,例如失业或意外的巨额成本,您可以通过在一段时间内限制或消除可自由支配的支出来帮助自己。 仅针对您绝对需要的东西进行预算。

这并不有趣,但在长期解决方案到位并且推动紧缩预算的紧迫性消失之前,这可能是一项必要措施。

#4。 善用您的积蓄

如果你真的很挣扎,在发生冲击的情况下使用应急储备可能是一种必要的短期临时策略,直到你能从长远来看重回正轨。 虽然这不是掉以轻心的事情,但仍会保留应急储备以应对短期困难。

拖欠房屋或汽车的付款通常是一个更可取的选择,特别是如果您试图保护信用并且长期解决方案是重新谈判您当前的抵押贷款或缩小规模到不同的住所。 联系您的贷方,说明您的情况,并协商贷款延期和还款计划。

#5。 增加你的收入

虽然说起来容易做起来难,但您可以采取一些措施来增加收入。 当与适当的支出限制相结合时,这可以让您对自己买得起房子的能力更有信心。

  1. 要求加薪

要求加薪可能看起来很可怕,但没有理由对要求你的价值感到难过。 他们至少可以说不,让您开始寻找薪水更高的工作。

问问你是否有一个好的案例并没有什么坏处。 准备好用你的表现以及它如何为你的团队、部门甚至公司的成功做出贡献的证据来支持你的加薪案例。 你越能把自己描绘成不可或缺的贡献,就越好。

2. 获得第二份工作

如果没有加薪的可能性,从事第二份工作可能是一个合理的选择。 尽管这听起来可能并不诱人,但 COVID-19 刚刚加速了几年前开始的零工经济趋势。

个人购物或送餐可能就是例子。 您还可以在 Fiverr 或 Upwork 等网站上找到可以在家中完成的自由职业。 这些机会使您更容易赚取额外的现金,同时根据您当前的工作愿望制定灵活的时间表。

总结

虽然您的家既是您在世界上的位置,也是您财务投资组合中的宝贵资产,但您不应该花太多钱,因为您是穷人,并且需要抛开所有其他财务和个人野心来支付您的房屋费用。 如果您这样做,您可能会发现在家享受生活很困难,因为您将无法为退休或家庭假期存钱。

穷人常见问题解答

美国有多少人是穷人?

根据 ConsumerAffairs 的一项调查,69% 的房主认为他们是穷人。 73% 的人表示,支付家庭账单变得越来越困难。

买房时应该有多少钱?

要购买房产,您通常需要 3% 的房价作为首付和 1.5% 的收盘费。

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

WHAT IS HOUSE POOR? How To Identify And Avoid It

What is House Poor

The term “house poor,” or “home poor,” refers to homeowners who can barely afford the regular expenses linked with their homes. It usually happens when a homeowner’s mortgage payment is too large in comparison to their income, cash flow, or net worth, or when there is little money left over after paying their mortgage and other recurring house obligations. In this post, we’ll discuss what it means to be house poor and the issues that come with it. After addressing how people become house poor, we’ll explore how to avoid it and what to do if you’re already in this condition.

What Is House Poor? 

House poor is a situation in which an individual spends a considerable amount of their monthly income on housing expenses, such as monthly mortgage payments, property taxes, and utility bills. They may not be able to meet their other financial or personal goals because of this excessive spending. As a result, people in this circumstance often struggle to keep up with other financial responsibilities. You may be able to pay off every bill that accrues to your property but in reality, you are drained and left with little or nothing. Irrespective of how much you earn, being house poor will limit your long-term financial goals. This is because you spend a large portion of your earnings on housing expenses. One of the reasons why people get stuck in this situation is because they were not cognizant of the entire costs of owning a house.

How Do I Deal With My House Poor Situation?

If you are house poor, doing any of the following could help you out of the situation. 

1#. Remortgage Your House

If you are house poor, you can choose to refinance your home. You may visit other mortgage providers or simply consult your mortgage provider for a remortgage. Remortgaging will give you a reduced monthly payment over a longer period. Also if your home equity increased because of the recent rise in home values around the country, or the modifications you’ve made then refinancing may be your best option. 

#2. Selling Your House

Another alternative is to sell your home and downsize if you are no longer able to afford the property you currently possess. However, you may be departing from your ideal residence, either permanently or only for a short time. As a result of your newfound financial stability, you’ll be able to focus on other aspects of your life.

#3. Put a Stop To Extraneous Spending

Another way to deal with your house’s poor situation is by limiting spending that is not necessary. Spending on necessities should be your topmost priority. If you’ve just suffered a financial setback, such as the loss of a job or an unexpectedly large cost, you may be able to help yourself by restricting or eliminating your discretionary spending.

#4. Your Savings To The Rescue

You may need to dip into your emergency reserves in the event of a major financial setback to get back on your feet in the long run. 

#5. Increase Your Earnings

If there is anything you can do to increase your earnings, such as taking an additional job, asking for a raise at the office, or starting a side hustle or part-time job. An increased income will enable you to take care of your excesses.

Indicators That You May Be House Poor

No one earns to take care of housing expenses alone. You sure will like to save for other things such as a vacation to your favorite island, retirement, and so on. So if you note the occurrence of the following parameters, watch out, you may be house poor.

  1. When you spend a large portion of your income on property expenses.
  2. Switching to your saving account often to pay up your mortgage for the month
  3. Being unable to set aside some of your earnings for future use.
  4. When there is no fund in place to handle emergencies.
  5. Most times, you can’t afford to go on vacations or pursue other luxuries. 
  6. Find it hard to spend on yourself once in a while because you have a mortgage payment to clear.

The Real Cost Of Becoming A House Owner

Many home buyers find themselves unable to keep up with the monthly costs of owning a property. Mostly, it is a tight corner for some as this situation can get one worked up. There is more to buying a home than clearing mortgage payments on time each month. Maintenance, utility bills, insurance, and other expenses must all be taken into consideration. Before you decide to buy a house, research the cost of utilities, insurance, and other common household bills. The more you know ahead of time, the more equipped you will be in dealing with unexpected costs. The joy that comes with becoming a house owner, can easily be cut short if you do not fully understand the costs attached to it. To avoid this, Business Yield advises you to contact mortgage brokers and financial advisers before purchasing that dream house.

Other Costs To Consider Aside from Your Monthly Mortgage 

The following are some of the additional costs homeowners pay.

#1. Deposit and Closing Costs

The initial deposit and the closing fee you will pay upfront are significant amounts. Therefore, it is paramount to put aside a large sum for this using your savings.

#2. Maintenance Costs

Most homeowners do not put the cost of maintenance into consideration. Unfortunately, if your house must remain habitable, you have to maintain it. The cost of maintenance may cost up to 1-3% of the property value depending on the maintenance need. How old your property is will also determine how much you spend on maintaining it. 

#3. Property Taxes

Property taxes is one of the additional cost any intending homeowner must put into consideration. One of the most crucial things to keep in mind is that most mortgage lenders pre-approve you based on an expected initial property tax bill, which is included in your monthly mortgage payment. Unfortunately, this increases as your property increases in value. To be on a safety net, ensure you understand how frequently values are assessed, and how rates are set when you buy a property. 

#4. Homeowners Association Dues (HOA)

The homeowner association dues are never part of your monthly mortgage payment. Although, it is one of the basic requirements that mortgage lenders use to qualify you for a mortgage. Like the property tax, the dues can also rise. However, keeping in touch with your HOA will keep you abreast with the current fees as well as previous dues.

Unforeseen Change In Circumstances

Unexpected changes in circumstances are also one of the reasons why people become house poor. Someone may lose their jobs or face situations that place them in a precarious financial state. For instance, Mr. Wilmort has a monthly earning of $7000 while his wife earns $5500. They both purchased a house through a mortgage and will have to pay $5000 monthly. Unfortunately, Mr. Wilmort lost his job 18 months before clearing the mortgage. Without good backup finance, keeping up with their mortgage payment, insurance, and other expenses will become difficult. Especially if Mr. Wilmort is unable to secure another job in time. Therefore, it is advisable to have a pre-purchase emergency fund in place. This is necessary to avoid losing your property.

How Can I Avoid Being House Poor?

Being house poor affects our mental and emotional health. Trust me, you don’t want to be there. How can I avoid being house poor? The best way to avoid being house poor is to be able to afford the house you intend to purchase. The following steps will help you avoid being house poor

Step 1

The best course of action is to get the advice of an independent financial advisor or mortgage broker before signing any legal documents or agreeing to any house ownership transactions. Their expertise will help you make the right housing decision. 

Step 2

Apply any money principle that will likely work for you.

 50-30-20 Principle

The 50-30-20 formula is a good starting point for figuring out how much you can afford to spend on a house. Household bills and other necessities, according to the norm, should take up no more than half of your income each month. Also, 20% must be set aside for debt and is saving, while the other 30% kept for your enjoyment. 

28% Rule

The “28% rule” states that you should not spend more than 28% of your total monthly income on housing costs as a general rule. Simply multiply your monthly salary by 28% to find the monthly budget you’ll need to start saving for a down payment on a home.

Debt To Income Ratio (DTI)

DTI is used by lenders to assess how much of a mortgage you can qualify for. Applying the Debt to Income ratio effectively can protect you from being house poor. With the DTI, your monthly installment and revolving loan payments are measured against your gross (pre-tax) income.

Buy House Poor Credit

Poor credit is a bad credit score or rating. Having a poor credit score doesn’t mean you can’t buy a house. Relax, you can still be a property owner even with bad credit. It is possible to buy a house even if you have very poor credit, but the process is more difficult and expensive. 

It is possible to buy a house even if you have very poor credit, but the process is more difficult and expensive. To buy a house with poor credit, first, determine why you want to own a property. Secondly, assess your financial health or status. You must do these tests because owning a house comes with loads of financial burden and if you are not financially healthy to carry it, it will be extremely difficult.

Furthermore, failure to take these assessments may land you in the state of a poor house owner. This is because everything you earn will go into the house and you will have nothing left from your income to take care of other expenses. Instead of the above situation, renting in the meantime, maybe a wiser decision. Finally, To buy a house, you will have to make a part payment, have a good credit history if you’d be using mortgage renders, and have a good source of income for at least a year or two. 

Buying A House With Poor Credit

There are several loan options available to people who intend to buy a house with poor credit. Some of these loans include;

#1. Regular Conventional Loans

Generally, a conventional loan does not have a minimum income, credit score, or down payment requirements. Unfortunately, you need a credit score of at least 620 and above to access this loan. However, if your earn higher than the amount you want to borrow, then the 620 credit score limit will be an exemption and does not apply to you.

 #2. Federal Housing Loans FHA

For someone buying a house for the first time with poor credit, FHA loans are quite appealing. This is because its requirement is lenient and everyone can benefit from it. The least credit score for FHA loans is 500 which makes buying a house with poor credit possible for people. . Finally, the has a limitation, FHA is only used for residential homes. 

#3. Veterans Administration Loans VA

If you’ve served in the military or are currently serving, you may be eligible for a VA loan. With VA loans, buying a home with no down payment is possible. The loan is insured by the Department of Veterans Affairs. You may be required to pay a one-time “funding charge” by some lenders. Similar to FHA loans, your home must meet a set of requirements before you can get a loan. This includes a credit score of 620.

#4. USDA Loans

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) is a government loan that can help someone with poor credit in buying a house. The loan requires no down payment but it can only be used to buy houses in rural housing. Another strict requirement is its credit score of 640.

Improving your credit score before you go house hunting will make the home purchasing process that much easier. Many home sellers in today’s hot market are reluctant to accept modest down payment offers that require them to cope with FHA’s demanding appraisal process. Thus, increasing your credit score will help you qualify for a traditional mortgage and make more competitive offers on properties. Also, remember the goal is not just to own a house but also to avoid being poor house. Let’s consider possible ways to boost poor credit scores.

What Should I Do If I’m Already House Poor?

If you’re feeling house poor right now, the best way to get out of it is to cut your costs or increase your income. In the next sections, we’ll look at the spending side of the equation before moving on to income.

#1. Refinance Your Residence

Property values have been rising across the majority of the country, so you may have more equity in your home than you realize. If you’ve done any modifications, this will help increase the value of your home. More equity in your property, however you get there, represents less risk for lenders. This can result in a cheaper interest rate when refinancing your mortgage.

Aside from lowering your interest rate, you could refinance into a longer term. If you had a 15-year mortgage and lost your job five years into repayment, you may refinance your remaining ten years into a 30-year fixed loan, which would drastically reduce your monthly mortgage payment. It may provide you with more wiggle room in your budget. You may also choose to put more money into your payment to pay off the debt sooner if you had more money.

#2. Sell Your Residence

If you believe you can no longer afford your current house, another alternative is to sell it and downsize. On the one hand, you may be leaving your ideal house, either permanently or temporarily. On the other hand, you’ll enjoy the financial peace of mind that comes with knowing you’re now living in a home you can afford. It’s something to think about if you’re reevaluating your finances.

#3. Restriction on All Discretionary Spending

If you’ve just encountered a financial shock, such as a job loss or an unexpectedly large cost, you may be able to help yourself by limiting or eliminating discretionary spending for a period of time. Budget solely for what you absolutely need.

This isn’t fun, but it may be a necessary measure until a long-term solution is in place and the urgency that drove the austerity budget has gone.

#4. Make Use of Your Savings

If you’re really struggling, using emergency reserves in the case of a shock may be a required short-term temporary strategy until you can get back on track in the long run. While this is not something to be taken lightly, emergency reserves are maintained on hand for short-term difficulties.

Missing payments on a home or car is often a preferable alternative, especially if you’re attempting to protect credit and the long-term solution is to renegotiate your current mortgage or downsize into a different residence. Contact your lender, explain your situation, and negotiate a loan forbearance and payback plan.

#5. Increase Your Income

While it is true that it is easier said than done, there are steps you may do to increase your income. When combined with appropriate spending limits, this could offer you more confidence in your ability to afford your home.

  1. Request a Pay Increase

Asking for a raise may seem frightening, but there’s no reason to feel bad about asking for what you’re worth. The least they can do is say no, allowing you to start hunting for better-paying work.

It doesn’t harm to ask if you have a good case. Prepare to back up your case for a raise with evidence of your performance and how it has contributed to the success of your team, department, or even the company. The more you can portray yourself as an indispensable contribution, the better.

2. Obtain a Second Job

If a raise isn’t in the cards, taking on a second job could be a reasonable option. Although this may not sound tempting, COVID-19 has just expedited a trend that began a few years ago toward the gig economy.

Personal shopping or food delivery could be examples. You may also be able to find freelance work that you can do from home on sites such as Fiverr or Upwork. These opportunities make it even easier to earn extra cash while working on a flexible schedule that fits your current job aspirations.

Conclusion

While your home is both your location in the world and a valuable asset in your financial portfolio, you shouldn’t spend so much that you’re house poor, and need to put aside every other financial and personal ambition to make your house payment. If you do this, you may find it difficult to enjoy life at home because you won’t be able to save for retirement or family holidays, for example.

House Poor FAQs

How many people in the US are house poor?

According to a ConsumerAffairs survey, 69% of homeowners believe they are house poor. And 73% say it’s becoming increasingly difficult to cover household bills.

How much money should I have when buying a house?

To purchase a property, you will normally need 3% of the house price as a down payment and 1.5 percent for closing charges.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like