什么是抵押贷款保险,何时需要?

什么是抵押保险

抵押贷款保险,也称为私人抵押贷款保险 (PMI),可以帮助购房者获得负担得起的、有竞争力的利率,并且只需 3% 的首付即可获得贷款。 为了换取这些优越的条款,借款人必须每月支付至少几年的保险费。 在这里,我们将了解更多关于 PMI 和抵押保险取消过程的信息。

什么是抵押保险?

抵押贷款保险是一种在借款人未能付款时保护抵押贷款人的政策。 虽然抵押贷款保险旨在保护贷方,但较低的风险允许贷方向通常没有资格获得抵押贷款的借款人提供贷款,更不用说便宜的贷款了。

传统上,贷款人要求支付 20% 的首付作为获得抵押贷款的条件,因为将自己的钱投资于房屋的借款人不太可能停止付款并允许银行在房屋价值下降的情况下取消房屋抵押品赎回权下降或他们的个人财务状况恶化。 这两种情况都发生在 2007 年的住房危机和经济衰退期间,强调了抵押贷款保险的重要性。

值得注意的是,首付较低的传统贷款借款人必须支付私人抵押保险(PMI),而 FHA 贷款申请人必须支付抵押保险费(MIP)。

PMI如何运作?

抵押保险会花钱,但它可以保护贷方。 如果您未能支付抵押贷款,抵押贷款保险会向贷方偿还部分本金。 同时,您仍然有义务偿还贷款,如果您落后太多,您可能会因丧失抵押品赎回权而失去财产。

这与抵押人寿保险不同,抵押人寿保险在借款人死亡时支付剩余的抵押贷款,或者抵押残疾保险在借款人残疾时完全支付抵押贷款。

按揭保险的种类

您应该了解三种主要类型的抵押贷款保险。 这是每个类别的基本概要。

#1。 买方支付抵押贷款保险

您的 PMI 几乎总是借款人支付的抵押贷款保险 (BPMI)。 这是贷方通常提到的PMI形式。 BPMI 是包含在您每月按揭付款中的按揭保险。

让我们看看它如何影响您的成本。 PMI 通常每年花费贷款金额的 5% 到 1%。 这相当于每年 1,000 至 2,000 美元的抵押贷款保险,或每月约 83 至 166 美元。

您可以在支付超过房屋价值的 20% 后取消保险。 这发生在您达到 78% 的 LTV 比率时,这意味着您已经偿还了贷款价值的 22%,或者当您达到贷款期限的中点(15 年抵押贷款为 30 年)时。

#2。 贷款人支付的抵押贷款保险

贷方支付的抵押贷款保险 (LPMI) 意味着您的贷方预先支付了您的抵押贷款保险,但您的抵押贷款利率更高以进行补偿。 对于 LPMI,利率通常会高出 0.25–.5%。 由于 LPMI 不要求 20% 的首付,您将节省每月付款的费用并获得更便宜的首付。

如果您的信用评分低,您的利率会更高。 如果您的信用评分较低,LPMI 将花费您额外的费用。 此外,由于 LPMI 已集成到您的整个贷款期限的付款计划中,您将永远无法取消它。

#3。 FHA 抵押保险费

我们已经讨论了可用于传统贷款的多种抵押贷款保险,但政府支持的抵押贷款呢? 大多数 FHA 住房贷款是联邦政府支持的首次购房者贷款,也需要购买抵押保险,通常称为抵押保险费 (MIP)。

除非您支付 10% 或更多的首付,否则您通常需要在剩余的贷款期限内支付抵押贷款保险(在这种情况下,MIP 将在 11 年后被取消)。 您必须通过两种方式付款。 首先,有 FHA 贷款预付抵押贷款保险付款 (UFMIP),通常为贷款金额的 1.75%。

您还必须支付年度抵押贷款保险费。 年度 MIP 付款范围在基本贷款金额的 0.45% 到 1.05% 之间。

借款人支付的抵押贷款保险功能类似,但有一些重要的区别。 您将每月支付一笔款项,类似于 BPMI,通常包含在您的抵押贷款付款中。

它可能是这样运作的:您将支付贷款金额的 1.75% 的首期付款。 如果您有 200,000 美元的抵押贷款,您应该预计在交割时支付 3,500 美元。 在您的抵押贷款的整个生命周期中,您应该平均为 MIP 支付贷款金额的 85%。 这个百分比可能会更高,具体取决于您为贷款支付的金额。

什么时候需要PMI?

当您获得按揭贷款并且您的首付低于购买价格的 20% 时,您可能会被迫购买按揭保险。 抵押贷款保险的要求因贷方和贷款方案而异。 但是,根据您的情况,即使您支付较低的首付,一些贷方也可能允许您避免 PMI。 考虑询问您的贷方是否需要 PMI,如果需要,是否有任何您可能有资格获得的例外情况。

抵押贷款保险是您抵押贷款的一部分吗?

您的抵押贷款不包含抵押保险。 这是与您的抵押贷款分开的保险范围。 抵押保险通常以两种方式支付:一次性一次性支付或按月支付。 但是,将您的 PMI 保费的每月费用计入您的抵押贷款付款的情况相当罕见。 您可以通过这种方式每月支付一次以支付您的抵押贷款和抵押保险。

检查您从贷方收到的贷款估算以获取信息,如果您想知道贷方是否需要抵押贷款保险、您如何支付以及费用多少,请提出问题。 您还可以通过访问消费者金融保护局等网站进行自己的研究。 要进一步了解可能需要什么 PMI 以及您是否会按月支付、预付或同时支付保费,请查找概述您的贷款估算的最终披露的信息。

好消息是,如果您确实需要抵押贷款保险,您可以在支付足够的贷款以实现超过 20% 的房屋净值后将其移除。 请咨询您的贷方,了解何时以及如何在不再需要 PMI2 时退出。

按揭保险取消

当您的房屋拥有 20% 的股权时,您可以通过寻求取消或再融资贷款来从您的每月付款中删除 PMI。 您取消 PMI 所遵循的程序会因您拥有的保险类型而异。

借款人支付的抵押贷款保险取消

步骤1:

拿出你自己的钱的20%。 除非您的房屋拥有至少 20% 的资产,否则您将无法取消您的 PMI。 继续每月支付您的贷款。 为了更快地发展股权,请将您获得的任何多余资金用于您的原则。 不要忘记在您的超额付款中包含一条消息,指示您的贷方该付款应用于您的主要债务而不是您的下一次付款。 您的声明或在线复选框中可能有一个空格。

步骤2:

与您的贷方联系。 当您的房屋拥有 20% 的股权时,通知您的贷方停止您的 PMI。 采取您的贷方要求的任何措施来实现这一目标。

步骤3:

确保您的 PMI 不再存在。 要求您的贷方确认您不再需要支付 PMI。 然后,获取包含您最近的付款信息的抵押贷款声明。 确保您的月供低于您在贷款时使用 PMI 时的还款额。 如果您的每月付款保持不变,请联系您的贷方了解更多信息。

私人抵押贷款保险和贷款人支付的抵押贷款保险取消

如果您有 LPMI 或 MIP 并且首付少于 10%,您只能通过再融资取消您的付款。

步骤

在您的房屋中积累 20% 的资产。 在您进行再融资之前,您的房屋必须至少拥有 20% 的股权。 如果您以低于 20% 的股权进行再融资,您将不得不再次支付 PMI。

步骤

货比三家贷款。 您无需向当前的贷方再融资; 您可以选择与新的提供商合作。 比较您所在地区的贷方并选择一个用于再融资。 在申请之前,请确保您满足他们的再融资要求。

步骤

提交再融资申请。 填写申请表,提供财务证明,并尽快回答任何贷方的询问。 请务必提及您希望为常规贷款再融资。

步骤

等待承销和评估的完成。 当您申请贷款时,您的贷方将开始承销程序。 在此期间,金融专业人士会检查您的文件,以确保您有资格获得再融资。 此外,您的贷方将协助您安排评估。 允许完成评估和承销过程。

步骤

认识您的结案披露。 在承销和评估后,您的贷方将向您提供收盘披露文件。 本文件解释了您的新贷款条件以及您必须支付的结账费用。 记得尽快确认收货。 在您审查您的披露之前,您的贷方将无法安排您的关闭。

步骤

参加闭幕式。 您将在此处支付结账费用并签署新贷款。 然后,您向新的贷方付款。

总结

借款人必须支付抵押贷款保险,但通过降低金融机构向低首付的人提供抵押贷款的风险,他们可以更快地成为房主。 如果您出于生活方式或预算原因希望尽早拥有房屋,您可能会发现支付抵押贷款保险费是可取的。 此外,如果您每月支付 PMI 或分期保费抵押贷款保险,如果您的房屋净值超过 80%,保费可能会被取消。

但是,如果您是必须在贷款期限内支付 FHA 保险费的借款人之一,您应该重新考虑。 您也许可以从 FHA贷款 以后避免支付PMI。 但是,不确定您的工作职位或市场利率是否会允许再融资或从再融资中获利。

抵押保险常见问题

按揭保险的平均费用是多少?

根据城市研究所的抵押贷款保险数据,您可以预计 PMI 将占贷款金额的 0.58% 至 1.86%,无论是每月支付还是预付固定金额。 就现金而言,房地美预测,每月抵押贷款每增加 30 美元,这将达到 70 至 100,000 美元。

有必要买按揭保险吗?

FHA 和 USDA 的贷款通常也需要抵押保险。

PMI是税收注销吗?

是的,在 2020 年之前,私人抵押贷款保险 (PMI) 保费可作为抵押贷款利息扣除的一部分进行扣除。

您支付 FHA 抵押贷款保险多久?

在 FHA 贷款中首付少于 10% 的借款人必须支付 FHA 抵押贷款保险,直到贷款期限结束。 但是,如果您支付至少 10%,您可以在 11 年的付款后删除 FHA MIP。

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

What Is Mortgage Insurance and When Do You Need It?

what is Mortgage Insurance

Mortgage insurance, also known as private mortgage insurance (PMI), can assist homebuyers in obtaining an affordable, competitive interest rate and simply qualifying for a loan with as little as a 3% down payment. In exchange for these superior terms, the borrower must pay monthly insurance premiums for at least several years. Here we’ll learn more about PMI and the process of mortgage insurance removal.

What Is Mortgage Insurance?

Mortgage insurance is a policy that protects a mortgage lender in the event that a borrower fails to make payments. While mortgage insurance is intended to safeguard the lender, the lower risk allows lenders to provide loans to borrowers who would not normally qualify for a mortgage, let alone an inexpensive one.

Lenders have traditionally required a 20% down payment as a condition of qualifying for a mortgage because a borrower who invests their own money in their home is less likely to stop making payments and allow the bank to foreclose on the home if the value of their home drops or their personal finances deteriorates. Both of these scenarios occurred during the 2007 housing crisis and recession, emphasizing the significance of mortgage insurance.

It is worth noting that conventional loan borrowers with lower down payments must pay private mortgage insurance (PMI), whereas FHA loan applicants must pay a mortgage insurance premium (MIP).

How Does PMI Work?

Mortgage insurance costs you money, but it protects the lender. Mortgage insurance reimburses the lender for a portion of the principal if you fail to make mortgage payments. Meanwhile, you’re still obligated to repay the loan, and if you fall too far behind, you could lose your property in foreclosure.

This differs from mortgage life insurance, which pays off the remaining mortgage if the borrower dies, or mortgage disability insurance, which pays off the mortgage entirely if the borrower becomes handicapped.

Types of Mortgage Insurance

You should be aware of three main types of mortgage insurance. Here’s a basic rundown of each category.

#1. Buyer-Paid Mortgage Insurance

Your PMI will almost always be borrower-paid mortgage insurance (BPMI). This is the form of PMI that is generally mentioned by lenders. BPMI is mortgage insurance that is included in your monthly mortgage payment.

Let’s look at how it might affect your costs. PMI typically costs between.5 and 1% of the loan amount per year. This equates to $1,000–$2,000 in mortgage insurance each year, or around $83–$166 per month.

You can cancel the insurance after paying more than 20% of the home’s value. This happens when you achieve a 78 percent LTV ratio, which implies you’ve paid off 22 percent of the loan’s value, or when you reach the midpoint of your loan term, which is 15 years for a 30-year mortgage.

#2. Lender-paid Mortgage Insurance

Lender-paid mortgage insurance (LPMI) means that your lender pays your mortgage insurance upfront, but your mortgage rate is higher to compensate. For LPMI, the interest rate increase is typically 0.25–.5% higher. You’ll save money on monthly payments and have a cheaper down payment because LPMI does not demand a 20% down payment.

Your interest rate will be higher if your credit score is low. If you have a low credit score, LPMI will cost you extra. Furthermore, because LPMI is integrated into your payment schedule for the full loan term, you will never be able to cancel it.

#3. FHA Mortgage Insurance Premium

We’ve discussed the many types of mortgage insurance available for traditional loans, but what about government-backed mortgages? Most FHA home loans, which are federally backed loans for first-time home buyers, also require the purchase of mortgage insurance, commonly known as a mortgage insurance premium (MIP).

Unless you make a down payment of 10% or more, you will often be required to pay mortgage insurance for the rest of your loan term (in which case, MIP would be removed after 11 years). You’ll have to pay in two ways. First, there is an FHA loan upfront mortgage insurance payment (UFMIP), which is typically 1.75 percent of the loan amount.

You’ll also have to pay an annual mortgage insurance premium. Annual MIP payments range between 0.45 and 1.05 percent of the basic loan amount.

Borrower-paid mortgage insurance functions similarly, but there are a few important differences. You’ll pay a monthly sum, similar to BPMI, which is usually incorporated into your mortgage payment.

This is how it might work: You will make an initial payment of 1.75 percent of the loan amount. If you have a $200,000 mortgage, you should anticipate paying $3,500 at closing. Throughout the life of your mortgage, you should expect to pay an average of.85 percent of your loan amount for MIP. This percentage may be higher depending on how much money you put down on your loan.

When Is PMI Necessary?

When you take out a mortgage loan and your down payment is less than 20% of the purchase price, you may be forced to obtain mortgage insurance. The requirement for mortgage insurance varies depending on the lender and loan package. Depending on your circumstances, however, some lenders may allow you to avoid PMI even if you make a lower down payment. Consider asking your lender if PMI is necessary, and if so, if there are any exceptions that you may qualify for.

Is Mortgage Insurance Part of Your Mortgage?

Your mortgage loan does not contain mortgage insurance. It is separate insurance coverage from your mortgage. Mortgage insurance is typically paid for in two ways: in a lump sum upfront or over time with monthly payments. However, it is fairly uncommon for the monthly cost of your PMI premium to be rolled into your mortgage payment. You can make a single monthly payment to cover both your mortgage loan and your mortgage insurance this way.

Check the loan estimate you receive from a lender for information and ask questions if you want to know whether a lender requires mortgage insurance, how you pay for it, and how much it will cost. You can also conduct your own research by going to a website like the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. To further understand what PMI may be required and whether you’d pay premiums monthly, upfront, or both, seek information that outlines the closing disclosures on your loan estimate.

The good news is that if you do require mortgage insurance, you may be able to remove it after making enough loan payments to achieve more than 20% equity in your house. Check with your lender to see when and how you can get out of PMI2 when it is no longer required.

Mortgage Insurance Removal

By the time your house has 20 percent equity, you can remove PMI from your monthly payment by seeking cancellation or refinancing the loan. The procedures you follow to cancel your PMI will differ based on the type of insurance you have.

Borrower-Paid Mortgage Insurance Removal

Step 1:

Put up 20% of your own money. You won’t be able to cancel your PMI unless you have at least 20% equity in your home. Continue to make monthly payments on your loan. To develop equity faster, direct whatever excess money you have coming in toward your principle. Don’t forget to include a message with your excess payments instructing your lender that the payment should be used for your principal debt rather than your next payment. There may be a space on your statement or a checkbox online for this.

Step 2:

Make contact with your lender. When you have 20% equity in your house, notify your lender to discontinue your PMI. Take whatever measures your lender requires to make this happen.

Step 3:

Ensure that your PMI is no longer present. Request confirmation from your lender that you are no longer required to pay PMI. Then, obtain a mortgage statement that includes your most recent payment information. Make sure your monthly payment is lower than it was when you had PMI on your loan. If your monthly payment remains the same, contact your lender for more information.

Private Mortgage Insurance And Lender-Paid Mortgage Insurance Removal

If you have LPMI or MIP and made less than a 10% down payment, you can only remove your payments through a refinance.

Step 1

Accumulate 20% equity in your home. Before you may refinance, you must have at least 20% equity in your house. If you refinance with less than 20% equity, you’ll have to pay PMI again.

Step 2

Shop around for loans. You are not required to refinance with your present lender; you may choose to engage with a new provider instead. Compare lenders in your area and select one to utilize for a refinance. Before you apply, make sure you meet their refinancing requirements.

Step 3

Submit an application for a refinance. Fill out an application, provide financial evidence, and answer to any lender inquiries as quickly as feasible. Make it a point to mention that you wish to refinance to a conventional loan.

Step 4

Await the completion of underwriting and appraisals. When you apply for a loan, your lender will begin the underwriting process. During this period, a financial professional examines your documents to ensure you are eligible for a refinance. In addition, your lender will assist you in scheduling an appraisal. Allow for the completion of the appraisal and underwriting processes.

Step 5

Recognize your Closing Disclosure. Your lender will give you the Closing Disclosure paperwork after underwriting and an appraisal. This document explains the conditions of your new loan as well as the closing charges you must pay. Remember to acknowledge receipt as soon as possible. Your lender will not be able to schedule your closing until you have reviewed your disclosure.

Step 6

Attend the closing. You will pay your closing costs and sign your new loan here. You then make payments to your new lender.

Conclusion

Borrowers must pay for mortgage insurance, but it allows them to become homeowners sooner by lowering the risk to financial institutions of giving mortgages to persons with low down payments. If you want to own a home sooner rather than later for lifestyle or budgetary reasons, you may find it desirable to pay mortgage insurance charges. In addition, if you’re paying monthly PMI or split-premium mortgage insurance, premiums might be canceled if your home equity exceeds 80%.

However, if you are one of the borrowers who must pay FHA insurance premiums for the life of the loan, you should reconsider. You may be able to refinance out of an FHA loan later to avoid paying PMI. However, there is no certainty that your work position or market interest rates will allow or profit from a refinance.

Mortgage Insurance FAQs

What is the average cost of mortgage insurance?

According to mortgage insurance data from the Urban Institute, you can expect PMI to cost between 0.58 percent and 1.86 percent of the loan amount either paid monthly or in a flat sum upfront. In terms of cash, Freddie Mac forecasts that this will amount to $30 to $70 for every $100,000 added to a monthly mortgage payment.

Is it necessary to have mortgage insurance?

Mortgage insurance is usually required on FHA and USDA loans as well.

Is PMI a tax write off?

Yes, private mortgage insurance (PMI) premiums are deductible as part of the mortgage interest deduction until 2020.

How long do you pay FHA mortgage insurance?

Borrowers who put down less than 10% on an FHA loan are required to pay FHA mortgage insurance until the loan term is completed. However, if you put down at least 10%, you can have FHA MIP erased after 11 years of payments.

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like