GHOST WORKERS COMP 政策:定义和您需要知道的一切

幽灵工人补偿政策
图片来源:铁山保险

如果不涵盖公司所有者和其他员工,则称为“幽灵”工人补偿政策。 除非公司有员工或对未投保的分包商负责,否则此类保险并不意味着提供实际的工伤赔偿福利。 大多数时候,分包商会购买“幽灵保险”以满足总承包商或其他雇用分包商的组织制定的承保范围规则。 并非每个州都提供幽灵保险。 这是您需要了解的有关幽灵工人补偿政策的所有信息。

什么是工人补偿幽灵政策?

工人补偿幽灵政策可以帮助个体经营者获得客户并遵守州法律。 工人补偿幽灵政策是一种低成本的工人补偿保险,专门为没有员工但需要确认其州法律要求或客户要求的工人补偿保险的独立承包商而开发。

工人补偿幽灵政策涵盖什么?

工伤赔偿“幽灵”政策本质上不提供真正的保险范围,而是作为寻求工伤赔偿保险的客户或法律要求的州的工伤赔偿保险的证据。 工伤赔偿幽灵计划让客户和州政府安心,因为如果独立承包商决定雇用员工,他们可以提供工伤赔偿保险。

例如,在建筑行业,第三方分包商可能会在提供工伤赔偿保险证明的情况下进行雇佣。 如果分包商决定雇用更多工人,总承包商将希望在工作现场发生事故时保护自己免受诉讼。 但是,分包商可能不愿意支付全额工人赔偿政策。 如果客户需要工人赔偿保险,但分包商的预算不会花那么多,最好的选择可能是“幽灵”保险。

幽灵政策和工人补偿保险

有 独资经营者 那些在法律上有义务获得工人赔偿保险但没有雇员的人反而选择了“幽灵政策”。 大多数州的法律不要求工人赔偿保险政策,尽管有些州确实需要“幽灵政策”,它不包括任何特定的雇员。 作为交换费用,“幽灵政策”会给潜在客户提供纸质证明 保险:

#1。 工伤保险功能

工伤保险是企业与员工之间具有约束力的合同。 反过来,无论责任在谁,员工都能获得福利。 尽管大多数州在工伤赔偿保险方面都有相同的立法,但保费价格、福利支付和索赔程序经常不同。

#2。 Ghost Workers Comp 政策功能

基本的幽灵保险单说,购买该保单的企业所有者不在保险范围内,而且该企业没有员工。 该保险被称为“幽灵保单”,因为它在任何方面都没有真正的帮助。 当公司在幽灵保险生效期间雇用一名员工时,该保单会为该员工提供临时保护,直到公司获得职能工人赔偿保险。

#3。 保险单和保险证明

购买幽灵政策的主要原因是为了证明工人的补偿保险范围。 例如,建筑承包商在接受新工作之前需要保险证明。 幽灵政策的文件使单人操作有资格获得潜在的有利可图的合同。

#4。 保险欺诈的可能性

在某些情况下,公司会在购买低成本的“幽灵”保单时声称没有员工。 实际上,该公司试图通过将其归类为“独立承包商”或“1099 名员工”来隐藏其真正的员工。 当公司的“独立承包商”之一对工作不满意时,此类计划通常会曝光。 当此类事件发生时,购买幽灵保单的公司和签发该保单的保险公司都可能面临保险欺诈调查。

谁应该有工人补偿幽灵政策?

只有独立工作并拥有自己的责任保险的独立承包商才能获得工人补偿幽灵计划。 但如果客户要求或州法律要求,他们必须出示工伤赔偿保险证明。 重要的是要记住,如果具有“幽灵”工人赔偿政策的独立承包商雇用了某人,则该政策不会在工伤情况下提供真正的保障。 任何和所有雇用的工人都必须提供自己的责任保险。

每个州都接受工人补偿幽灵政策吗?

每个州都有自己的一套管理工人赔偿保险的法律法规。 在购买之前,请务必与您所在州的工人赔偿办公室核实它是否承认“幽灵”计划。

为什么应该为工人制定 Ghost Comp 政策?

购买幽灵保单的最常见原因是满足向总承包商或与您合作的其他公司提交保险证明的要求。 小型分包商可能会中标开展工作,但他们必须在开始工作之前出示工人赔偿范围的确认。 如果分包商雇佣员工来帮助工作,那么“幽灵”政策就会覆盖所有人。 它还允许他们从自己的政策中免除向分包商支付的任何款项。

有许多小型承包商和/或分包商没有员工并且不想为自我保险支付更高的费用。 幽灵政策是最具成本效益的解决方案 自雇人士 企业主获得工伤赔偿保险。

什么是保险中的幽灵政策?

当企业主不在保险范围内并且公司没有任何额外员工时,工伤保险被称为“幽灵保险”。

幽灵工人补偿是什么意思?

工伤赔偿鬼保单是获得工伤赔偿保险的一种更便宜的方式。 它们是为州法律要求或应客户要求出示工人赔偿保险证明的独资经营者而制作的。 “幽灵”工人补偿幽灵政策是该保险的另一个名称。

谁是幽灵工作者?

“幽灵工人”是出现在公司工资单上但没有为实现公司目标做出任何贡献的人。 工资部门的一个或多个员工在系统中创建并保留了一个“幽灵员工”,然后工资部门的另一个或多个员工窃取了为“幽灵员工”准备的支票并将其兑现。

你如何验证幽灵工作者?

寻找从工资中扣除很少或没有扣除的个人; 这可以很好地表明他们是幽灵工人。 因为这样做会限制他们从工作场所拿走的钱,肇事者很少会费心去构建一套全面的福利登记表。 尤其如此,因为这样做会减少他们可以从雇主那里偷走的钱。

鬼工究竟是什么?

幽灵雇员是一种从您的公司窃取资金的欺骗性策略。 这是一种工资欺诈形式,如果员工可以访问您的 工资系统. 在世界各地,幽灵员工计划从毫无戒心的公司那里窃取了数百万美元。 这些计划可能涉及单个员工或一组员工。 它们可以像伪造支票一样简单,也可以像伪造时间表和薪水一样复杂。

例如,肇事者可能会让被解雇的员工看起来好像在发薪日仍在领取薪水。 这些欺诈者有时会使用真实身份,但他们也会在工资单中添加虚构的个人。 另一方面,拥有数百或数千名员工的公司很容易在账簿上遗漏几个额外的身份。 当有很多失误时尤其如此。 坦桑尼亚的另一项调查发现,政府正在支付 10,000 名幽灵工人的工资,这使政府损失了数百万美元。

全球最大的商业欺诈研究发现,这些类型的计划可能会使公司损失高达 5% 年收入. 这表明风险很高,需要更多的安全性。

鬼雇员计划必须发生哪四件事才能起作用?

幽灵雇员策略必须发生四件事才能奏效:

  • 鬼必须加到工资单上,
  •  必须收集计时和工资率信息,
  • 幽灵必须得到报酬,并且
  • 支票必须交给罪魁祸首或共犯。

您如何发现幽灵员工?

在检测幽灵雇员方面,一切都是为了预防。

#1。 要求对所有会计员工进行背景调查 

在雇用有权访问工资单和会计系统的人员时,您应该格外小心。 这包括从初级应付账款文员到会计经理和首席财务官。 您也可以向当地政府机构确认人员信息。 在美国,工资单欺诈更为普遍,您可以在雇用某人时检查社会安全号码,并在进行审计时定期检查。

#2. 保留详细准确的人事记录 

关于您保留的有关员工的文件,不应有任何例外情况。 在收集所有必要数据并将其输入系统之前,不应允许新员工开始工作。 同样,您的企业应该有一个严格的解雇员工流程,清楚地说明薪资系统需要做什么。

#3。 保持对公司财务的控制 

企业家来自各行各业。 有些人天生就有处理金钱的天赋,而另一些人可能乐于放手。 您应该始终保持对系统的管理访问权限,即使您已将日常财务委托给其他人,以防您需要随时介入并运行报告。

#4。 为工资单和采购活动设置冗余 

如果只有一个地方可以更改工资单信息、运行支票或进行采购,则更有可能发生欺诈。 相反,请确保您有一个简单的制衡系统,该系统至少需要两个签名才能进行重大更改,例如将员工添加到工资单中。

#5. 明确定义所有财务程序 

为薪资和会计任务设置清晰的程序有助于消除错误并弥补可能用于欺诈的漏洞。 所有员工都应接受有关需要严格遵守和负责的流程和工作流程的培训。

例如,在员工第一次轮班之前,您的公司应该有一份关于他们的信息列表,并将其输入系统。 在薪资专家收到并输入所有必要信息之前,任何人都不能作为一名新员工开始工作。 应该为解雇人员提供类似的清单。 这个过程应该总是有两个步骤,一个人输入信息,另一个人检查它。

#6。 进行例行审计 

雇用可靠的薪资人员、进行监督和明确建立流程都是积极的措施。 但是,判断它们是否有效的唯一方法是进行频繁的审核。 审计可以帮助您识别可能需要进一步调查的违规行为,例如:

  • 未经验证的政府身份号码
  • 重复的条目
  • 出生日期、雇用日期和终止日期错误
  • 计时不一致或危险信号
  • 不真实的员工
  • 被错误分类的员工

结束语

不一致和文书错误通常并不表示欺诈。 但它们值得进一步研究,特别是如果您发现类似的模式,例如同一员工每周都对计时进行相同的手动更改。 或者可能有大量被解雇的员工仍被列为活跃员工。

虽然您可以进行自己的审计,但如果您有一个隐藏的问题,它可能是无效的。 一直不注意收钱的同一个人肯定会参与审计,让他们有机会隐藏自己的踪迹。 如果您想检查您的财务和员工记录,最好聘请顾问或第三方机构。

常见问题

什么是幽灵雇员计划?

幽灵雇员计划是一种普遍的欺诈类型,其中工资单上的人不为相关公司工作,但确实获得了薪水或奖励。

掩盖你的工作是什么意思?

当求职者停止回复时,这被称为工作重影。 重影可能在任何时候以任何原因发生,但最终的结果总是一样的:潜在员工没有解释就离开了。

如何摆脱幽灵员工?

政府和企业的员工可以通过使用生物识别系统来唯一识别,以消除幽灵工人。

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢
控制车险成本
了解更多

控制车险成本

目录 战略性地隐藏商店 放弃非必要的保险范围寻找汽车保险折扣拥有一辆安全且价格低廉的汽车……

GHOST WORKERS COMP POLICY: Definition and All You Need To Know

Ghost Workers Comp Policy
Image credit: ironmountaininsurance

A “ghost” workers’ compensation policy is called such if it does not cover the company’s owner and no other employees. This type of coverage is not meant to provide actual workers’ compensation benefits unless the company has employees or is responsible for an uninsured subcontractor. Most of the time, a subcontractor will buy “ghost insurance” to meet the coverage rules set by the general contractor or other organization that hired the subcontractor. Not every state provides ghost insurance. Here’s everything you need to know about ghost workers’ comp policy.

What Is the Workers’ Comp Ghost Policy?

A workers’ comp ghost policy can help self-employed business owners land clients and comply with state laws. A workers’ comp ghost policy is a low-cost type of workers’ compensation insurance developed expressly for independent contractors who do not have employees but need confirmation of workers’ comp coverage for their state’s legal requirements or client requests.

What Does a Workers’ Comp Ghost Policy Cover?

Workers’ compensation “ghost” policies, in essence, provide no genuine insurance coverage but instead serve as evidence of workers’ compensation insurance for clients who seek it or for states that legally require it. Workers’ compensation ghost plans give clients and state governments peace of mind that independent contractors can provide workers’ compensation coverage if they decide to hire an employee.

In the construction industry, for instance, a third-party subcontractor might hire on the condition that they provide proof of workers’ compensation insurance. If the subcontractor decides to hire more workers, the general contractor will want to protect themselves from lawsuits in case of an accident on the job site. However, the subcontractor may not be willing to pay for a full workers’ compensation policy. If the client requires workers’ compensation insurance but the subcontractor’s budget won’t stretch that far, the best option is likely a “ghost” policy.

Ghost Policies & Workers’ Comp Insurance

Some sole proprietors who are legally obligated to get workers’ compensation insurance but have no employees instead opt for a “ghost policy.” Workers’ compensation insurance policies are not required by law in most states, although some states do need “ghost policies,” which do not cover any specific employees. In exchange for a fee, the “ghost policy” will give prospective customers paper proof of insurance coverage:

#1. Workers’ Compensation Insurance Functions

Workers’ compensation insurance serves as a binding contract between companies and employees. Employees, in turn, receive benefits regardless of who is to blame. Although most states have identical legislation surrounding workers’ compensation insurance, premium prices, benefit payouts, and claim procedures frequently differ.

#2. Ghost Workers Comp Policy Functions

The basic ghost insurance policy says that the owner of the business buying the policy is not covered and that the business has no employees. The insurance is called a “ghost policy” because it doesn’t really help in any way. When a company hires an employee while the ghost insurance is in effect, the policy offers interim protection for that employee until the company gets functional workers’ compensation coverage.

#3. Insurance Policies and Proof of Insurance

The major reason for purchasing a ghost policy is to demonstrate workers’ comp insurance coverage. Building contractors, for example, need proof of insurance before they can take on new work. A ghost policy’s documentation enables one-man operations to qualify for potentially lucrative contracts.

#4. Insurance Fraud Potential

In some cases, a company will claim to have no employees while purchasing a low-cost “ghost” policy. In reality, the company seeks to conceal its true employees by classifying them as “independent contractors” or “1099 employees.” Such schemes typically come to light when one of the company’s “independent contractors” is not happy with the job. When events like this occur, both the corporation that purchased the ghost policy and the insurer who issued it may face insurance fraud investigations.

Who Should Have a Workers’ Comp Ghost Policy?

Only independent contractors who work on their own and have their own liability insurance can get workers’ compensation ghost plans. But they have to show proof of workers’ compensation insurance if the client asks for it or if the law of the state requires it. It is critical to remember that if an independent contractor with a “ghost” workers’ compensation policy employs someone, the policy provides no genuine coverage in the case of a workplace injury. Any and all hired workers must provide their own liability insurance.

Are Workers’ Comp Ghost Policies Accepted in Every State?

Each state has its own set of laws and regulations governing workers’ compensation insurance. It is important to verify with your state’s workers’ compensation office whether or not it recognizes “ghost” plans before purchasing one.

Reason Why Should Get a Ghost Comp Policy for Workers?

The most common reason for purchasing a ghost policy is to fulfill the requirement to submit a certificate of insurance to a general contractor or other company with which you are working. A small subcontractor may win a bid to conduct work, but they must produce confirmation of workers’ compensation coverage before beginning the job. If a subcontractor brings on employees to help with a job, the “ghost” policy is there to cover everyone. It also allows them to exempt from their own policy any payments made to subcontractors.

There are many small contractors and/or subcontractors that do not have employees and do not want to pay higher costs for self-insurance. A ghost policy is the most cost-effective solution for self-employed business owners to obtain workers’ compensation insurance.

What Is a Ghost Policy in Insurance?

A workers’ compensation policy is called a “ghost insurance policy” when the business owner is not covered by it and the company doesn’t have any extra employees.

What Does Ghost Workers Comp Mean?

Workers’ comp ghost policies are a cheaper way to get workers’ compensation insurance. They are made for sole proprietors who are required by state law or at the request of their clients to show proof of workers’ compensation coverage. A “ghost” workers’ comp ghost policy is another name for this coverage.

Who Is a Ghost Worker?

A “ghost worker” is someone who shows up on a company’s payroll but accomplishes nothing to further the company’s goals. An employee or employees of the payroll department create and keep a “ghost employee” in the system, and then another employee or employees of the payroll department steal the checks meant for the “ghost employee” and cash them.

How Do You Verify Ghost Workers?

Look for individuals who have few or no deductions taken out of their salary; this can be a good indicator that they are ghost workers. Because doing so will limit the amount of money they can take from their workplace, a perpetrator will rarely go to the trouble of constructing a comprehensive set of benefit enrollments. This is especially true since doing so will reduce the amount of money they can steal from their employer.

What Exactly Is a Ghost Worker?

A ghost employee is a deceptive strategy to steal money from your firm. It’s a form of payroll fraud that can happen if an employee has access to your payroll system. Around the world, ghost employee schemes steal millions from unsuspecting companies. These schemes might involve a single employee or a group of employees. They could be as simple as making a fake check or as complicated as making fake time sheets and paychecks.

For example, the perpetrator may make it appear as if a fired employee is still earning paychecks on payday. These fraudsters sometimes use actual identities, but they also add imaginary individuals to the payroll. Companies with hundreds or thousands of employees, on the other hand, can easily miss a couple of extra identities on the books. This is especially true when there are a lot of turnovers. Another investigation in Tanzania found that the government was paying for the salaries of 10,000 ghost workers, which cost the government millions of dollars.

The largest global study on business fraud found that these types of schemes can cost companies up to 5% of their annual revenue. This shows that the risk is high and needs more security.

What Four Things Must Happen for a Ghost Employee Scheme to Work?

Four things must happen for a ghost-employee strategy to work:

  • The ghost must be added to the payroll,
  •  Timekeeping and wage rate information must be gathered,
  • The ghost must be paid, and
  • The check must be given to the culprit or an accomplice.

How Do You Spot a Ghost Employee?

It’s all about prevention when it comes to detecting ghost employees.

#1. Require background checks for all accounting employees 

When hiring people who will have access to payroll and accounting systems, you should be extra careful. This ranges from entry-level accounts payable clerks to accounting managers and CFOs. You can also confirm personnel information with local government agencies. In the U.S., where payroll fraud is a bit more common, you can check social security numbers when you hire someone and on a regular basis when you do audits.

#2. Keep detailed and accurate personnel records 

Regarding the documentation you keep about your staff, there shouldn’t be any exclusions. New employees should not be allowed to begin working until all necessary data has been collected and entered into the system. In the same way, your business should have a strict process for firing employees that spells out clearly what needs to happen with payroll systems.

#3. Maintain control of company finances 

Entrepreneurs come from all walks of life. Some people have an innate talent for handling money, while others may be happy to let go of the reins. You should always keep administrative access to the systems, even if you’ve delegated the day-to-day financials to someone else, in case you need to jump in and run reports at any moment.

#4. Set up redundancies for payroll and purchasing activities 

Fraud is more likely to happen if there is only one place to go to change payroll information, run checks, or make purchases. Instead, ensure that you have a simple system of checks and balances in place that requires at least two signatures to make major changes, such as adding an employee to the payroll.

#5. Clearly Define All Financial Procedures 

Setting up clear procedures for payroll and accounting tasks helps get rid of mistakes and closes holes that could be used for fraud. All staff should receive training on processes and workflows that require rigorous adherence and responsibility.

For example, before an employee works their first shift, your company should have a list of information about them that is entered into the system. No one should be able to start working as a new employee until a payroll expert has received and entered all of the necessary information. A similar checklist should be available for firing personnel. The process should always have two steps, with one person entering the information and another person checking it.

#6. Conduct Routine Audits 

Hiring reliable payroll personnel, giving oversight, and clearly establishing processes are all positive measures. However, the only way to tell if they are effective is to conduct frequent audits. Audits can assist you in identifying irregularities that may require further investigation, such as:

  • Government identity numbers that are unverified
  • Entries that are duplicates
  • Errors in birth dates, hire dates, and termination dates
  • Inconsistencies in timekeeping or red flags
  • Employees who aren’t real
  • Employees who were misclassified

Wrapping Up

Inconsistencies and clerical errors do not usually indicate fraud. But they are worth looking into further, especially if you find patterns like the same staff making the same manual changes to timekeeping every week. Or perhaps a high number of terminated employees are still listed as active.

While you can conduct your own audit, it may be ineffective if you have a problem that is hidden from view. The same individual who has been taking money unnoticed will very certainly be participating in the audit, giving them an opportunity to hide their traces. If you want to check your finances and employee records, it’s better to hire a consultant or a third-party agency.

FAQs

What is a ghost employee scheme?

Ghost employee schemes are a prevalent type of fraud in which persons on the payroll do not work for the firm in question but do receive a salary or reward.

What does it mean to ghost your job?

When a job applicant stops replying, this is referred to as job ghosting. Ghosting can happen at any moment and for any reason, but the ultimate consequence is always the same: a prospective employee leaves without explanation.

How do I get rid of ghost staff?

Employees of governments and businesses can be uniquely identified by using a biometric identification system to eliminate ghost workers.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like