雅虎财经:新闻、净资产、他们如何开始和 API 指南

雅虎净值,雅虎金融 api

作为一名股票投资者,您会同意我的看法,即需要股票报价、最新的投资新闻和投资组合管理资源。 这就是雅虎财经所做的。 它为您带来有关您的投资的最新信息。 它可以比作拯救世界的访客。

因此,本文包含您需要了解的有关雅虎财经和雅虎新闻的所有信息,包括雅虎 API 指南。

如果您曾经想知道雅虎是如何开始的以及雅虎的净资产是多少,答案就在这里!

什么是雅虎财经?

雅虎财经是 Verizon Communications 的媒体部门 Verizon Media 于 1997 年推出的一个平台,它为人们提供 金融知识 更新,如财经新闻、数据、财务报告、股票报价。

在雅虎财经,您可以获得投资组合管理资源、国际市场数据、抵押贷款利率和社交互动。 这是美国每月流量最多的新闻网站。

雅虎财经是如何开始的

早期

雅虎是一家总部位于加利福尼亚州桑尼维尔的全球互联网服务提供商,自 2017 年以来一直归 Verizon Communications 所有。雅虎由加利福尼亚州斯坦福大学电气工程专业的研究生杨致远和大卫费罗于 1994 年创立,为用户提供在线实用程序、信息和访问其他网站。

他们首先创建了一个名为“Jerry 和 David 的万维网指南”的网站。 本指南已更名为“Yahoo!” 1994 年 1995 月,意思是“又一个分层组织的 Oracle”,而 yahoo.com 域创建于 XNUMX 年。

快速成长

雅虎在整个 1990 年代发展如此迅速,以至于它上市了。 1996 年 600 月,雅虎股价在两年内上涨了 1998%。 与许多 Web 目录一样,雅虎添加了一个 Web 门户,使其与提供类似服务的那些竞争。 到 95 年,雅虎是网络用户最流行的起点。 再加上这一事实,使其成为最受欢迎的搜索引擎,每天获得 118.75 万的页面浏览量,这是非常巨大的。 其股价在 3 年 2000 月 XNUMX 日飙升至每股 XNUMX 美元的历史新高。

尽管如此,雅虎还是在 1997 年提供了免费电子邮件服务,同年雅虎财经在收购 RocketMail 后推出,后者在 1998 年更名为雅虎邮箱。AltaVista 被 Inktomi 取代,成为目录下基于爬虫的搜索引擎。 雅虎在 1999 年进行了两次最大的收购:3.6 亿美元的 Geocities 和 5.7 亿美元的 Broadcast.com。

雅虎和谷歌

最终,雅虎与搜索引擎行业的主要竞争对手谷歌展开了多年的较量,试图夺取更大的市场份额。 雅虎! 特别是发布了它的 Yahoo! Instant Messenger,收购了互联网图片网络 Flickr,包括无数其他功能,并获得了这家中国电子商务公司 40% 的股份 阿里巴巴. 为了响应谷歌在 2014 年发布的 Gmail,雅虎! 升级了所有免费 Yahoo! 的存储空间从 4 MB 到 1 GB 的邮件帐户,以及所有 Yahoo! Mail Plus 帐户为 2 GB。 9 年 2004 月 XNUMX 日,雅虎! 收购了电子邮件提供商 Oddpost,为 YahooMail Beta 添加了一个 Ajax 接口。

你可能想读这个! 谷歌品牌战略:它如何主导市场

同时,在 2000 年,雅虎在后来建立自己的搜索引擎之前使用了谷歌的搜索引擎。 雅虎最著名的错失机会不是收购谷歌的机会。 2006 年 7 月,雅虎试图以 1.1 亿美元的价格收购 Facebook,当时它是一个面向大学的网络,拥有大约 XNUMX 万会员。

2002年,雅虎实际上又有了一次收购谷歌的机会。 这一次,CEO Terry Semel 为公司出价 3 亿美元; 佩奇和布林拒绝了他,据报道拒绝了 5 亿美元。

发布 dot.com 泡沫破灭

雅虎很幸运成为互联网泡沫破灭后为数不多的幸存下来的公司之一,尽管它的净值受到了影响。 雅虎股价收于历史最低点 8.11 美元。 然而,在互联网泡沫破灭之后,8.11 年 26 月 2001 日泡沫后的价格约为 360 美元。同月,该公司推出了社交网络服务 Yahoo! 2005°,包括博客。 雅虎还于 2005 年 2005 月和 2009 年 XNUMX 月收购了基于 RSS 提要聚合的服务 blog.gs、在线社交活动日历 Upcoming.org,并于 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月收购了社交书签网站 del.icio.us,然后是播放列表共享社区。 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月的 Webjay。

2012 年裁员人数

雅虎在 2012 年创下了其历史上最大规模的裁员记录,当时有 2,000 名员工(占员工总数的 14%)失业。

这导致公司发表声明。 他们并不否认它正在裁员 2,000 人,约占其员工总数的 14%。 这家陷入困境的公司在过去四年中进行了六次大规模裁员。

“今天的行动很重要下一步 迈向一个大胆的新雅虎——更小、更灵活、更有利可图、更有能力按照我们的客户和行业的要求快速创新,”首席执行官斯科特·汤普森 (Scott Thompson) 如是说。

迄今为止…

Verizon Communications Inc. 于 2005 年 XNUMX 月与雅虎签署协议,为 Verizon 的宽带客户提供新的 Verizon 雅虎门户。 “我们很高兴能与美国最大的通信公司 Verizon 合作,作为他们的首选合作伙伴,以便为 Verizon 的用户提供引人注目的新 Verizon Yahoo! 雅虎首席运营官 Dan Rosensweig 说。 有了如此雄心勃勃的未来计划,雅虎的增长预测! 保持乐观。

2014 年 9 月,雅虎收购了两家公司:一家名为 Wander 的社交日记公司和一家名为 Distil 的技术招聘公司。 2017 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日,雅虎! 首席执行官玛丽莎·梅耶尔宣布,如果雅虎出售给 Verizon 的交易成功,她将从雅虎董事会辞职。

雅虎的净资产在 2000 年代开始下降,25 年 2016 月 4.8 日,Verizon Communications 以 XNUMX 亿美元的价格收购了其互联网业务。 Yahoo Inc.,又名雅虎,是一家美国跨国科技公司。 尽管如此,首席执行官 Marissa Mayer 在金融、体育和新闻领域拥有大量观众。

16年2017月19日,原雅虎公司的部分业务更名为Altaba Inc。美国证券交易委员会网站将新公司列为“非多元化、封闭式管理投资公司”。 2017 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日,前雅虎公司股票代码 YHOO 退役,取而代之的是 AABA。 

在出售阿里巴巴集团的股份后,Altaba 于 2 年 2019 月 4 日当天收盘时停止在纳斯达克交易。因此,Altaba 于 2019 年 2020 月 XNUMX 日在特拉华州提交了解散证明。yahoo net worth for XNUMX在下面。

最近发生的事情

2020 年 15 月,母公司 Verizon Media 宣布了一件令所有人惊讶的事情,他们宣布 Yahoo Groups 将于 2020 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日关闭,原因是“过去几年的使用量稳步下降”。

您可能还想知道一些关于顶级品牌的秘密

雅虎财经净值

Аѕоf Осtоbеr 2020,Yаhоо nеt wоrth 估计为 5 美元。 Тhесоmраnуmаkеѕ 钱来自 bеіngаwеbѕеrvісерrоvіdеrіntеrnаtіоnаllу。 此外,fundаmеntаl buѕіnеѕѕеѕоf thесоmраnу,і.е.,YаhооЅроrtѕ,mаіl,Fіnаnсе,newѕ,еtс。 – аrееѕѕеntіаllу 价值低于 0 美元。 Yаhоо hоldѕа 15% ѕtаkеіnѕіdеАlіbаbа。

Іn сurrеnt markеt сар, 它是 іѕеquіvаlеnt tо 32 美元 bіllіоn。 Аlѕо,它持有 35.5% оf Yаhоо Јараn,总计 9.7 美元。 Веѕіdеѕ, іtѕ markеt сар аlѕо еquаtеѕ tо $33 bіllіоn; nеvеrthеlеѕѕ,thероіnt thаt “Аѕіаn аѕѕеtѕ”оf Аlіbаbа аnd еvеn YahооЈараnаrе wоrth grеаtеr thаn $41 bіllіоn。 雅虎净资产不时推迟。

Тhесоmраnурrеѕеntѕреrѕоnаlіzаtіоntуреѕеrvісе,і.е.,МуYаhоо,whісhfundаmеntаllуреrmіtѕuѕеrѕ着tоіntеgrаtеfаvоrіtеYаhооfеаturеѕ,еvеnѕуndісаtесоntеntfееdѕаndсоntеntwіthіnthеѕіnglераgе。

这是您需要了解的有关金融的所有信息。

雅虎网络

雅虎财经 作为媒体财产是雅虎网络的一部分。 这极大地提高了他们的净资产。 它提供财经新闻、数据和评论,包括股票报价、新闻稿、财务报告和原创内容。

因此,thесоmраnу 允许人们个性化,这就是他们开始提供服务的原因; Му Yаhоо, whісh fundаmеntаllу реrmіtѕ uѕеrѕ tо input fаvоrіtе Yahоо fеаturеѕ, еvеn ѕуndісаtе соntеnt fееdѕаnd соntеnt wіthіn thеѕіnglераgе。

这是当前雅虎财经网络的列表;
  • 雅虎
  • 雅虎 答案
  • 雅虎! 开发者网络
  • 雅虎 娱乐
  • 雅虎财经
  • 雅虎! 双子座
  • 雅虎集团
  • 雅虎! 生活方式
  • 雅虎邮件
  • 雅虎移动
  • 雅虎新闻
  • 雅虎! 研究
  • 雅虎安全中心
  • 雅虎! 购物
  • Yahoo!雅虎! Small Business小本生意
  • 雅虎智能电视
  • 雅虎! 体育
  • 我的雅虎
  • 对手

雅虎新闻

雅虎新闻是一个新闻网站,起源于雅虎的基于互联网的新闻聚合器。 1996 年 2001 月一位名叫 Brad Clawsie 的软件工程师。 Yahoo News 文章最初来自美联社、路透社、福克斯新闻和半岛电视台等新闻服务。 XNUMX 年,雅虎新闻在网络上推出了第一个“电子邮件最多”的页面。 这增加了雅虎的净资产。 它作为一种创新理念广受好评,扩大了人们对在线新闻来源对新闻消费影响的理解。 此后,雅虎财经也成为雅虎新闻的一部分。

然而,到 2011 年,雅虎新闻更加关注原创内容,因为它计划成为一家主要的媒体机构。 鉴于试图成为一家主要的媒体机构,该网站聘请了资深记者,而该网站在 2013 月份首次在白宫记者团中聘请了一名记者。 2017 年 XNUMX 月,雅虎聘请了前今日秀和 CBS 晚间新闻主播凯蒂·库里克 (Katie Couric)。 尽管她于 XNUMX 年离开,但重要的是要知道所有这些努力都是为了提升雅虎新闻的业绩。

雅虎新闻开发了一款移动应用程序,可以收集 iOS 和 Android 不同类别中阅读次数最多的新闻故事。 该应用程序获得了 2014 年苹果设计奖。

根据 Alexa,截至 2019 年 XNUMX 月,雅虎新闻在全球新闻网站中排名第六,领先于福克斯新闻,仅次于 CNN。 可以肯定地说,他们的努力得到了回报。

雅虎财经 API 指南

什么是 API 指南?

Yahoo Finance API 是股票市场数据的可靠来源,可以称为一系列库、API 或方法,因为它提供其他金融信息,包括市场摘要、财务报告、历史报价和新闻提要。 所有这些都有助于获取金融市场的实时或历史数据。

Finance API 提供股票数据, 金融 公司的新闻、新闻稿和财务报告。 Yahoo Finance API 的免费层级提供每月 500 美元及以上的付费计划 10 次通话。

Yahoo Finance API 出于某些原因提供了对这些数据的访问,包括查询财务摘要、股票、报价、动因和图表。

使用 API 的原因

  • 自由:

提供相同服务的其他 API 收取一定金额的费用是免费的。

  • 令人印象深刻的数据范围:

数据量还可以。

  • 快速轻松地设置自己:

您不需要外部帮助来设置它

  • 很简单:

这是非常容易使用。 它并不像大多数人想象的那么复杂。

如何访问雅虎 API

Yahoo Finance API 包装器可通过多种工具和框架提供多种语言。 支持的一些编程语言包括 C、C#、Go、Java、JavaScript、Objective-C、Ocaml、PHP、Python 和 Ruby。

您还可以使用 cURL、HTTPie 和 Wget 通过 shell 访问它,同时支持 RapidQL,一种类似 GraphQL 的查询语言。 Node.js 框架并没有被遗漏。

以下是访问 Yahoo Finance API 的一些步骤:
第一步

使用 Rakuten RapidAPI 创建一个帐户。 它是完全免费的! (雅虎或谷歌邮件是必不可少的)。

第二步

帐户准备好后,登录到您的帐户并单击 API。

第三步

接下来要做的是转到 API 定价页面并选择一个计划。 有一个免费计划允许大约 500 次免费 API 调用,这就是为什么我建议您从免费计划开始,然后转到付费计划以获得更好的体验。

第四步

您可能想知道究竟如何开始。 不用担心,Rakuten RapidAPI 的 API 附带快速入门 API 指南。 快速入门指南更像是流行编程语言和框架的代码片段集合,以便于访问。 您可以选择您更熟悉的语言并开始。 例如,如果您使用 javascript 构建应用程序,则代码片段可用于 jQuery、fetch(方法)和 XMLHttpRequest。

第五步

最后一步是返回 API 指南端点页面。 只需将代码片段复制并粘贴到您选择的任何代码编辑器中,然后最后通过单击“测试端点”来测试 API。

雅虎金融 API 有四个端点
  1. 市场/获取摘要
  2. 市场/获得推动者
  3. 市场/获取报价

您可能会感兴趣的是,您可以使用 API 指南从 Yahoo Finance 中提取数据。

总结

尽管雅虎以一种非常鼓舞人心的方式起步,但许多人认为他们犯了很多错误,没有抓住他们应该抓住的机会。

虽然有些人认为这是缺乏 适当的商业计划,其他人则认为它未能顺应潮流。

然而,无论情况如何,从中吸取的重要教训是,由于多种原因,如果没有在正确的时间做出正确的决定,企业(无论大小)都可能失败。 做出正确决定的一大步是拥有合适的商业教练或让商业咨询公司参与进来。

联系我们@businessyield,以避免可能破坏您的业务或品牌的基本错误。

相关文章

  1. 金融时报:历史、订阅、新闻(+ 免费订阅提示)
  2. 开放 API 如何塑造支付格局并形成巨大的互联 API 经济
  3. 企业电子邮件地址:如何设置企业电子邮件l
1股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

Yahoo Finance: News, Net worth, how they started and API Guide

yahoo net worth, yahoo finance api

As a stock investor, you’d agree with me that there is a need for stock quotations, updated investment news, and portfolio management resources. This is what Yahoo finance does. It brings you updated information as regards your investment. It can be likened to that visitor who saves the day.


As a result, this article contains everything you need to know about Yahoo finance, yahoo news including the yahoo API guide.

If you have ever wondered how it all started for yahoo and what yahoo net worth is, it’s right here!

What is Yahoo Finance?

Yahoo finance is a platform launched in 1997 by Verizon Media, the media division of Verizon Communications which provides people with financial literacy updates like financial news, data, financial reports, stock quotes.


At yahoo finance, you get portfolio management resources, international market data, mortgage rates, and social interactions. This is the news website in the United States with the most traffic on monthly basis.

How Yahoo Finance started

Early Stage

Yahoo is a global internet service provider based in Sunnyvale, California, and owned by Verizon Communications since 2017. Founded in 1994 by Jerry Yang and David Filo, Electrical Engineering graduate students at Stanford University in California. Yahoo provides users with online utilities, information, and access to other Web sites.


They started by creating a website named ”Jerry and David’s Guide to the World Wide Web”. This Guide was renamed “Yahoo!” in April 1994, meaning ”Yet another Hierachichally Organised Oracle” meanwhile the yahoo.com domain was created in 1995.

Fast growth

Yahoo grew rapidly throughout the 1990s that it went public Yahoo in April 1996 and its stock price rose by 600 percent within two years. Like many web directories, Yahoo added a web portal, putting it in competition with those that offer similar services. By 1998, Yahoo was the most popular starting point for web users. Coupled with that fact, that made it the most popular search engine, receiving 95 million page views per day which was very huge. Its stock price skyrocketed closing at an all-time high of $118.75 a share on January 3, 2000.

Nevertheless, yahoo offered a free email in 1997, which was the same year yahoo finance was launched after the acquisition of RocketMail, which was then renamed to Yahoomail In 1998. AltaVista was replaced as the crawler-based search engine underlying the Directory with Inktomi. Yahoo made its two biggest acquisitions in 1999 – that of Geocities for $3.6 billion, and Broadcast.com for $5.7 billion.

Yahoo and Google

Eventually, Yahoo battled Google- a major competitor in the search engine industry—for many years in an attempt to claim a larger share of the market. Yahoo! notably released its Yahoo! Instant Messenger, bought out the Internet photo network Flickr, included a myriad of other features, and acquired a 40 percent share of the Chinese e-commerce company Alibaba. In response to Google’s release of Gmail in 2014, Yahoo! upgraded the storage of all free Yahoo! Mail accounts from 4 MB to 1 GB, and all Yahoo! Mail Plus accounts to 2 GB. On July 9, 2004 Whereas, Yahoo! acquired e-mail provider Oddpost to add an Ajax interface to YahooMail Beta.


You might want to read this! The google brand strategy: how it dominated market

Meanwhile, in 2000 yahoo used Google’s search engines before it established its in later years. Yahoo’s most famous missed opportunity isn’t the chance to buy google. It was in July 2006, when yahoo tried to buy Facebook, then a college-oriented network with roughly 7 million members, for $1.1 billion.

In 2002, Yahoo actually had another chance to buy Google. This time, CEO Terry Semel offered $3 billion for the company; Page and Brin turned him down, reportedly holding out for $5 billion.

Post dot.com bubble burst

Yahoo was lucky to be one of the few companies that survived after the dot-com bubble burst although their net worth was affected. Yahoo’s stock closed at an all-time low of $8.11. However, after the dot-com bubble burst, the post-bubble was about $8.11 on September 26, 2001. That same month, the company launched its social networking service Yahoo! 360° including blogging. Yahoo also acquired blo.gs, a service based on RSS feed aggregation, an online social event calendar Upcoming.org in June 2005, and also in October 2005 acquired social bookmark site, del.icio.us in December 2005 and then playlist sharing community. Webjay in January 2009.

Lay off of worker in 2012

Yahoo recorded the largest layoff in its history in 2012 and 2,000 employees (14 percent of the workforce) lost their jobs.

This resulted in a statement from the company. They did not deny that it was cutting 2,000 jobs, about 14% of its workforce. Six mass layoffs in the past four years for the beleaguered company.

“Today’s actions are an important next step toward a bold, new Yahoo – smaller, nimbler, more profitable and better equipped to innovate as fast as our customers and our industry require,” these were the words of chief executive Scott Thompson.

Till date…

Verizon Communications Inc signed a deal with Yahoo in January 2005 to offer Verizon’s broadband customers a new Verizon Yahoo portal. “We are very excited to team up with Verizon, the largest communications company in the U.S., as their partner of choice, in order to provide Verizon’s subscribers with a compelling new Verizon Yahoo! offering,” said Dan Rosensweig, Yahoo!’s chief operating officer. With such ambitious plans for the future, growth projections for Yahoo! remained optimistic.

In February 2014, Yahoo acquired two companies; a social diary company named Wander and technical recruiting company, Distil. On January 9, 2017, Yahoo! CEO Marissa Mayer announces she will step down from Yahoo’s board of directors if its sale to Verizon goes through.

Yahoo net worth started declining from the 2000s and on 25th July 2016, Verizon communications acquired its internet business for $ 4.8 Billion. Yahoo Inc., also known as Yahoo is an American multinational technology company. Notwithstanding, the CEO Marissa Mayer has claimed a big audience in Finance, Sports, and News sectors.

On June 16, 2017, parts of the original Yahoo Inc, were renamed Altaba Inc. The United States Securities and Exchange Commission’s website listed the new company as a “non-diversified, closed-end management investment company. On the 19th of June 2017 the former Yahoo Inc. ticker symbol, YHOO, retired in favor of AABA. 

After the stake has been sold in Alibaba group, Altaba stopped trading on the Nasdaq at the close of the day on October 2, 2019. As a result, filed a certificate of dissolution in Delaware on the 4th of October 2019. yahoo net worth for 2020 is below.

Recent happenings

In October 2020 Parent company Verizon Media announced something that surprised everybody, they announced that Yahoo Groups will be shut down on December 15, 2020, due to “a steady decline in usage over the last several years’.

You might also want to know some secrets about top brands

Yahoo Finance Net worth

Аѕ оf Осtоbеr 2020, Yаhоо nеt wоrth was an estimate оf $5 bіllіоn. Тhе соmраnу mаkеѕ money frоm bеіng а wеb ѕеrvісе рrоvіdеr іntеrnаtіоnаllу. Moreover, fundаmеntаl buѕіnеѕѕеѕ оf thе соmраnу, і.е., Yаhоо Ѕроrtѕ, mаіl, Fіnаnсе, nеwѕ, еtс. – аrе еѕѕеntіаllу wоrth lоwеr thаn $0. Yаhоо hоldѕ а 15% ѕtаkе іnѕіdе Аlіbаbа.

Іn thе сurrеnt mаrkеt сар, іt іѕ еquіvаlеnt tо $32 bіllіоn. Аlѕо, іt hоldѕ 35.5% оf Yаhоо Јараn, tоtаlіng tо $9.7 bіllіоn. Веѕіdеѕ, іtѕ mаrkеt сар аlѕо еquаtеѕ tо $33 bіllіоn; nеvеrthеlеѕѕ, thе роіnt thаt “Аѕіаn аѕѕеtѕ” оf Аlіbаbа аnd еvеn Yаhоо Јараn аrе wоrth grеаtеr thаn $41 bіllіоn. Yahoo net worth defers from time to time.

Тhе соmраnу рrеѕеntѕ реrѕоnаlіzаtіоn tуре ѕеrvісе, і.е., Му Yаhоо, whісh fundаmеntаllу реrmіtѕ uѕеrѕ tо іntеgrаtе fаvоrіtе Yаhоо fеаturеѕ, еvеn ѕуndісаtе соntеnt fееdѕ аnd соntеnt wіthіn thе ѕіnglе раgе.

Here is all you need to know about finance.

Yahoo Network

Yahoo Finance as a media property is part of the Yahoo network. This contributed greatly to their net worth. It provides financial news, data, and commentary including stock quotes, press releases, financial reports, and original content.

As a result of that, thе соmраnу allows people to personalize which is why they started offering services like; Му Yаhоо, whісh fundаmеntаllу реrmіtѕ uѕеrѕ tо input fаvоrіtе Yаhоо fеаturеѕ, еvеn ѕуndісаtе соntеnt fееdѕ аnd соntеnt wіthіn thе ѕіnglе раgе.

Here is a list of current Yahoo finance network;
  • Yahoo!
  • Yahoo! Answers
  • Yahoo! Developer Network
  • Yahoo! Entertainment
  • Yahoo Finance
  • Yahoo! Gemini
  • Yahoo Groups
  • Yahoo! Lifestyle
  • Yahoo Mail
  • Yahoo! Mobile
  • Yahoo! News
  • Yahoo! Research
  • Yahoo Safety Center
  • Yahoo! Shopping
  • Yahoo! Small Business
  • Yahoo Smart TV
  • Yahoo! Sports
  • My Yahoo
  • Rival

Yahoo News

Yahoo News is a news website that originated as an internet-based news aggregator by Yahoo. A software engineer named Brad Clawsie in August 1996. Yahoo news articles originally came from news services such as the Associated Press, Reuters, Fox News, and Al Jazeera. In 2001, Yahoo news launched the first “most-emailed” page on the web. This increased yahoo’s net worth. It was well-received as an innovative idea, expanding people’s understanding of the impact that online news sources have on news consumption. Thereafter, Yahoo finance also became part of yahoo news.

However, by 2011 yahoo news focused more on original content, because it plans to be a major media organization. In the light of trying to be a major media, veteran journalists were hired, while the website had a correspondent in the White House press corps for the first time in February. In November 2013, Yahoo hired Katie Couric a former Today Show and CBS Evening News anchor. Although she left in 2017, it is important to know that all these efforts were put together to boost the performance of yahoo news.

Yahoo news developed a mobile application that collects the most-read news stories from different categories for iOS and Android. The app won the 2014 Apple Design Award.

As of January 2019, Yahoo News ranked sixth among global news sites, ahead of Fox News and behind CNN, according to Alexa. It is safe to say that their efforts paid.

Yahoo Finance API Guide

What is API Guide?

Yahoo Finance API is a reliable source of stock market data, which can be referred to as a range of libraries/APIs/method because it provides other financial information including market summaries, Financial reports, historical quotes, news feed. All these help to obtain real-time or historical data for financial markets.

Finance API provides data of stocks, financial news, press releases, and financial reports of companies. The free tier of Yahoo Finance API gives 500 calls/month from $10/month and above for-pay plans.

Yahoo Finance API provides access to this data for some reasons, which include querying finance summaries, stocks, quotes, movers, and charts.

Reasons to use API

  • Free:

It is free other API’s that offer the same service charge an amount of money.

  • Impressive range of data:

The amount of data is just ok.

  • Quick and easy to set yourself up:

You don’t need an external help to set it up

  • Simple:

It is very easy to use. It is not as complex as most people think.

How to access Yahoo API

Yahoo Finance API wrapper is available in multiple languages and via various tools and frameworks. Some of the programming languages supported include C, C#, Go, Java, JavaScript, Objective-C, Ocaml, PHP, Python, and Ruby.

You can likewise be access it via shell using cURL, HTTPie, and Wget while supporting RapidQL, a GraphQL like query language. Node.js framework isn’t left out.

Here are some steps to follow to access Yahoo finance API:
First step

Create an account with Rakuten RapidAPI. It’s totally free! (a yahoo or google mail is essential).

Second step

When the account is ready, log in to your account and click on API.

Third step

The next thing to do is to go over to the API pricing page and choose a plan. There is a free plan that allows about 500 free API calls which is why I advise you to start with the free plan and then move over to the paid plan for a better experience.

Fourth step

You might be wondering exactly how to start. No worries, API at Rakuten RapidAPI comes with a quick start API guide. The quick start guide is more like a collection of code snippets in popular programming languages and frameworks for easy access. You can select the language you are more familiar with and start. For example, if you are building your app in javascript, the code snippets are available in jQuery, fetch (method), and XMLHttpRequest.

Fifth step

The last step is to come back to the API guide endpoint page. Simply copy and paste the code snippet to any code editor of your choice and then finally, test drive the API by clicking ‘Test Endpoint”.

Yahoo finance API has four Endpoints
  1. Market/get-summary
  2. Market/get-movers
  3. Market/get-quotes

It might interest you to know that you can pull out data from Yahoo finance using the API guide.

Conclusion

In as much as Yahoo started in a very inspiring way, many people have the opinion that they made a lot of mistakes along the line and failed to take opportunities they should have taken.

While some folks saw this as lack of proper business planning, others saw it as failure to move with the trends.

However, whatever the case might be the big lesson to learn from them is that for so many reasons a business (big or small) can fail if the right decisions are not taken at the right time. A big step to making the right decision is having the right business coach or involving a business consulting company.

Contact us @businessyield to avoid basic mistakes that can ruin your business or brand.

1 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like