授权书与执行人:授权书与执行人之间的区别

授权书 VS 执行人
图片来源:投资百科

即使现在不在您的考虑范围内,您最终也将无法在某个时候管理自己的个人和财务事务。 发生这种情况的原因有很多,例如健康问题、生活中的意外事件,或者不幸的是,您的死亡。 即使在那一天之后,您仍然需要管理您的资产、付款和纳税。 重要的是要考虑谁应该是您的遗嘱执行人(或您信托的受托人)以及您将向谁提供持久授权书。 有很多人可能会参与您的遗产规划。 虽然您甚至可以选择同一个人担任这两个角色,但他们的职责会有所不同。 本文重点介绍遗嘱执行人和授权书(授权书与遗嘱执行人)之间的区别,以及为什么它们在遗嘱和遗产准备中至关重要。

另请参阅: 信任的解除:含义及其运作方式

详情

人们很容易对授权书和遗产执行人(授权书与执行人)之间的区别感到困惑。 一般来说,两者都负责别人的财务事务。 然而,两者之间的主要区别在于委托书是在委托人还活着的时候使用的,而遗产执行人是在委托人去世时使用的。

您甚至可以选择同一个人担任这两个角色,但他们的职责会有所不同。 遗嘱执行人和拥有授权书的人在遗产准备中都至关重要。 虽然拥有授权书的人可以在您活着时(包括您无行为能力时)代表您做出财务和医疗选择,但遗嘱执行人会在您去世后解决财务问题并管理遗嘱认证程序。

此外,您的遗产执行人和授权书持有人在法律上有义务就您选择的事项为您的最佳利益服务。 最终遗嘱和授权书 (POA) 文件分别用于创建执行人和实际代理人的角色。

什么是遗产执行人?

遗嘱执行人基本上是在遗嘱认证程序中负责监督遗产的人。 将死者的遗嘱提交给相关的遗嘱认证法庭,寻找并收集所有资产,清偿与遗产相关的所有债务,以及将剩余的部分分配给合适的受益人,这些行为构成了遗嘱认证程序。

通过遗嘱认证指导遗产的过程需要大量的分析、判断和文书工作。 因此,执行者需要非常有条理和注重细节。 

什么是授权书?

授权书是一份法律文件,授予一个人(通常称为代理人)代表另一个人做出决定的权力。

授权书有多种形式。 最受欢迎的两个是财务和医疗授权书。

#1。 医疗委托书。

有了医疗委托书,代理人负责病人的医疗决定。 在其他情况下(例如处于昏迷状态),此人可能无法为自己做出医疗决定。 代理人有义务在这些情况下采取某些行动。

#2。 财务授权书

另一方面,财务授权书赋予代理人对委托人财务的控制权,以便代理人可以代表委托人行事。 这种授权书不仅仅用于买卖房地产。 它也可以用于一个人一生中的许多其他事情。 例如,如果您要在国外购买房地产,您可以向您的房地产经纪人提供该交易的授权书。

这两种授权书由不同的法律文书处理,可以授予其他当事人。

有两种方法可以指定授权书的开始和结束日期。 持久授权书就是其中之一。 在这种情况下,代理可以立即开始为该人做出决定。 持久授权书在被撤销或文件创建者去世之前一直有效。 授权书在任何情况下都不会在死后持续存在。

另一种是活生生的授权书。 这可以提供额外的灵活性。 “临时授权书”通常在满足预定要求时开始,例如当医疗专业人员发现该人无法为自己做出选择时。

什么是最好的授权书形式?

一般授权书下的代理人权限通常很广泛。 因此,如果您想让指定的个人尽可能多地决定您的财务和护理,这是理想的做法。 另一方面,在有限授权的情况下,代理人只能处理某些资产。

遗产执行人与授权书:区别

执行者和代理人之间的主要区别是他们各自职责的启动。 您在活着的时候为自己做决定的能力使授权书具有相关性。 在您死后,另一方面,您的遗嘱执行人将负责执行您的遗愿。

尽管这两种工作都涉及在您无法处理业务时照顾您的业务,但每种工作的工作描述都略有不同。 确保您的遗产中有足够的钱来偿还任何债务,然后将剩余的资金分配给您的继承人是您的遗嘱执行人的唯一责任。 相比之下,您的代理人的职责更加多样。 根据您在生活的哪些方面获得授权,该角色可能需要就财务、法律和医疗事务做出决定。

授权书与。 遗产执行人 - 优点和缺点

除了上面解释的遗产执行人与授权书之间的一些区别外,这里还有一些优点; 

遗产执行人 - 优点

  • 没有权力在他们还活着的时候做出决定或控制主要政党的资产。
  • 必须以遗产的最大利益行事,并表现出正常人会表现出的关怀和专业知识。

授权书 - 优点

  • 在一定范围内,合法控制主体的决策
  • 常规/广泛的 POA 只是让某人以与您相同的方式代表您行事,但绝不会代表您。

遗产执行人-缺点

  • 遗嘱执行人的职责可能会占用大量时间,具体取决于遗产的规模和复杂程度。
  • 如果可以证明粗心或违反职责,则可以要求损害赔偿。

授权书 - 缺点

  • 代理人经常做出违背委托人意愿的事情。
  • 代理人的行为不受除委托人以外的任何人的监督。
  • 银行或其他金融机构等第三方有可能拒绝授权书。

授权书与遗产执行人 - 一个人可以两者兼顾吗?

绝对地。 同一个人可以执行这两种功能。 在许多情况下,成年子女或配偶被指定为遗产执行人并获得授权书。 这两项任务不应以任何方式相互干扰。

然而,在两个人之间分担职责并不罕见。 由于两种角色(授权书与遗产执行人)之间的区别,将授权书授予一个人同时指定另一个人作为遗产执行人可能是有意义的。

我如何获得宾夕法尼亚州的授权书?

  • 创建 PoA – 只需回答几个问题,您的代理人就可以处理剩下的事情。
  • 在发送或披露之前,请咨询您的代理人或法律专业人士。
  • 为了使您的签名具有法律约束力,无论是否需要,都要对其进行见证和公证。

此外,与聘请和与传统律师合作相比,这种选择通常会节省时间和金钱。 如有必要,此授权书还可用于代表配偶、父母或其他家庭成员填写文件。

但是,请记住,授权书只有在由心智健全的委托人签署时才是合法的。 在大多数情况下,如果委托人已经丧失行为能力并且无法为自己做出选择,则接管是必要的。 如果您发现自己处于这种情况,请尽快咨询律师。

宾夕法尼亚州的 POA 费用是多少?

在宾夕法尼亚州,获取授权书表格的一般费用可能有所不同。 根据您居住的地方,聘请律师起草授权书的费用可能在 200 美元到 500 美元之间。

是否需要在 PA 中记录授权书?

没有必要向普通诉讼法院的孤儿法庭部门提交您的 POA 副本,但如果您愿意,可以这样做。 如果您的授权书将用于做出房地产决定,则可以将其记录在您所在县的契约登记处。

授权书允许您做什么?

授权书授权其他人或多人代表您采取法律行动。 该机构的范围可以狭义地定义为仅包括某项任务,例如完成房屋销售,也可以更广泛地适用。 此外,授予的权力可能是永久性的,或者至少是不可撤销的。

授权书与遗嘱执行人

授权书下的实际受权人与遗嘱执行人具有不同的责任。 因此,在制定您的遗产计划时,需要明确区分(遗嘱执行人与授权书)。 尽管两者(遗嘱执行人与授权书)都涉及将权力委托给另一个人,但每个人所需的任务都是不同的,并且发生在不同的时间。

谁是遗嘱执行人?

执行人是被指定执行遗嘱的指令和愿望的人。 此人也可以是遗嘱执行人、遗产监护人或立遗嘱人的个人代表。 当提到女性遗嘱执行人时使用术语“executrix”。

谁最适合成为遗嘱执行人?

执行人可以是任何在法律上能够这样做的人。 然而,遗嘱执行人最常见的选择是配偶或民事伴侣,其次是孩子。 一个人必须有至少一名年满 18 岁的遗嘱执行人才能申请遗嘱认证,这是一份授予解决死者财务和法律事务权力的法律文件。

授权书与遗嘱执行人的区别

遗嘱执行人和实际代理人之间的主要区别在于,后者代表委托人行事的权力仅在委托人还活着时才存在。 死后,管理死者遗产的所有权力都属于遗嘱中指定的执行人。 你的POA基本上在你去世的那一刻就结束了,而遗嘱执行人的权力在你的遗嘱生效时就开始了。

如果您由于精神或身体残疾而无法自己做出决定,授权书可能会生效。 在这种情况下,您的实际代理人将能够代表您做出重要的选择。 这些还包括与您的健康和财务有关的信息。 但是一旦你死了,你的愿望,如你遗嘱中所述,将由你的遗嘱执行人执行。

谁是继承中的执行人?

处理死者财务事务的人是遗产执行人。 如果死者留下了遗嘱,通常会指定一位近亲、朋友、会计师、律师或金融机构作为遗嘱执行人。

遗嘱执行人可以是遗嘱的受益人吗?

您的遗产计划应包括指定执行人作为关键组成部分。 遗嘱执行人负责管理遗嘱认证程序并将资产分配给您的受益人。 所以,如果你问遗嘱执行人是否也可以是受益人,大多数时候,答案是肯定的。

遗嘱执行人和受益人可以是同一个人吗?

遗嘱执行人和受益人的角色必须分开吗? 要回答您的问题,遗嘱可以指定同一个人作为执行人和受益人。 这是绝对正常和合法的。

遗嘱执行人与授权书 - 可以是同一个人吗?

当然。 您可以指定同一个人来执行您的遗嘱并充当您的代理人。 这条道路通常受到许多人的青睐,因为它有助于顺利过渡,从让别人在你有生之年为你做决定到让这些愿望在你死后实现。 如果一个人因生病或死亡而无法处理自己的财务事务,他们的配偶或成年子女可以介入。他们将帮助代表他们做出决定,然后作为他们遗嘱的执行人。

总结

根据授权书,您的代理人和您的遗嘱执行人在您死后处理您的业务方面都起着至关重要的作用。 因此,选择那些你完全相信并认为真正合格的人是至关重要的。 一定要做出明智的选择,因为即使在您离开后,这些人也会对您所爱的人产生持久的影响。

您甚至可以选择同一个人担任这两个角色,但他们的职责会有所不同。 准备遗产需要遗嘱执行人和拥有授权书的人。 虽然拥有授权书的人可以在您活着时(包括您无行为能力时)代表您做出财务和医疗选择,但遗嘱执行人会在您去世后解决财务问题并管理遗嘱认证程序。

授权书与执行人常见问题解答

什么有权力胜过受益人?

死者的遗嘱将指定将获得资产的受益人。 但由于他们的法律责任,遗嘱执行人可能不关心这些受益人想要什么。

执行人可以做出分配决定吗?

不可以。执行人无权分配财产。 遗嘱执行人的工作包括但不限于按照您的遗嘱分配您的资产。 遗嘱执行人有责任满足受益人的意愿,只要这样做不违反对遗产的信托义务。

参考

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

POWER OF ATTORNEY VS EXECUTOR: Difference Between Power of Attorney & Eexecutor

POWER OF ATTORNEY VS EXECUTOR
Image Source: Investopedia

Even if it’s not on your radar right now, you will eventually be unable to manage your own personal and financial matters at some point. This could happen for a number of reasons, such as health problems, unplanned events in your life, or, unfortunately, your death. Even after that day, you still need to manage your assets, make your payments, and pay your taxes. It’s important to think about who should be the executor of your will (or trustee of your trust) and to whom you’ll give a durable power of attorney. There are many people who could be involved in your estate plan. While you can even select the same person to serve in both roles, their responsibilities will differ. This piece focuses on the difference between an executor and a power of attorney (power of attorney vs executor) and why they’re crucial in will and estate preparation.

Read Also: DISSOLUTION OF TRUST: Meaning & How it Works

Overview

It’s easy to become confused about the distinction between a power of attorney and an estate executor (power of attorney vs. executor). Generally, both take care of someone else’s financial affairs. The primary distinction between the two, however, is that a power of attorney is used while the principal is still living, whereas an executor of an estate is used when the principal has passed away.

You can even select the same person to serve in both roles, but their responsibilities will differ. Both an executor and a person with power of attorney are crucial in estate preparation. While someone with power of attorney can make financial and medical choices on your behalf while you’re alive, including when you’re incapacitated, the executor settles financial matters and manages the probate process after you pass away.

In addition, both the executor of your estate and the holder of a power of attorney is legally obligated to serve in your best interests with regard to the matters you’ve chosen. A final will and testament and a power of attorney (POA) document, respectively, are used to create the roles of executor and attorney-in-fact.

What is an Estate Executor?

An executor is basically the person in charge of overseeing an estate during the probate procedure. The act of submitting the decedent’s will to the relevant probate court, finding and gathering all the assets, settling off all debts linked with the estate, as well as distributing whatever’s left to the right beneficiaries constitutes the probate procedure.

The process of guiding an estate through probate requires a lot of analysis, judgment, and paperwork. Hence, the executor needs to be extremely organized and detail-oriented. 

What is Power of Attorney?

A power of attorney is a legal document that grants one person (often referred to as the agent) authority to make decisions on another person’s behalf.

Powers of attorney come in a variety of forms. The two most popular ones are financial and medical powers of attorney.

#1. Medical Power of Attorney.

With a medical power of attorney, the agent is in charge of the patient’s medical decisions. In other circumstances (such as if they’re in a coma), the person might not be able to make medical decisions for themself. The agent is obligated by law to take certain actions in those situations.

#2. Financial Power of Attorney

A financial power of attorney, on the other hand, gives the agent control over the principal’s finances so that the agent can act on behalf of the principal. This kind of power of attorney isn’t just used for buying and selling real estate. It can also be used for many other things throughout a person’s life. For instance, if you’re buying real estate abroad, you might give your realtor their power of attorney just for that transaction.

These two varieties of powers of attorney are handled by separate legal instruments and may be given to other parties.

There are two ways to specify the beginning and ending dates of a power of attorney. A durable power of attorney is one. In this case, the agent can start making decisions for the person right away. A durable power of attorney remains in effect until revoked or until the creator of the document passes away. Power of attorney does not, under any circumstances, last after death.

The other kind is a power of attorney that springs to life. This can be offered with additional flexibility. A “springing power of attorney” often starts when a predetermined requirement is satisfied, such as when a medical professional finds that the person is incapable of making choices for themselves.

What is the Best Form of Power of Attorney?

The agent’s authority under a general power of attorney is generally broad. So, this is the ideal course of action if you want to give the designated individual as much discretion as possible over your finances and care. With a limited power of attorney, on the other hand, the agent can only handle certain assets.

Executor of Estate vs. Power Of Attorney: The Difference

The primary distinction between an executor and an agent is the initiation of their respective responsibilities. Your ability to make decisions for yourself while you are still alive makes power of attorney relevant. After your death, your executor on the other hand will be responsible for carrying out your wishes.

Even though both jobs involve taking care of your business when you can’t, each has a slightly different job description. Making sure there is enough money in your estate to pay off any debts and then distributing the remaining funds to your heirs is the exclusive responsibility of your executor. In contrast, the responsibilities of your agent are more varied. Depending on which areas of your life you’ve been given power of attorney over, the role may entail making decisions regarding financial, legal, and medical matters.

Power of Attorney Vs. Estate Executor- Pros and Cons

In addition to some of the differences between an estate executor vs power of attorney explained above, here are some of their pros; 

Estate Executor- Pros

  • Has no power to make decisions or control the primary party’s assets while they are still alive.
  • Must act in the estate’s best interest and exhibit the care and expertise a normal person would exhibit.

Power of Attorney- Pros

  • Within a set of limitations, legal control over the decision-making of the principal party
  • Regular/broad POAs simply let someone act on your behalf in the same manner as you would, but never represent you.

Estate Executor- Cons

  • Executor duties might take up a lot of time, depending on the size and complexity of the estate.
  • It is possible to claim damages if carelessness or breach of duty can be proven.

Power of Attorney- Cons

  • Agents often conduct things that go against the wishes of their principals.
  • The agent’s actions are not supervised by anyone other than the principal.
  • There is a chance that third parties like banks or other financial institutions, will reject a power of attorney.

Power of Attorney Vs Executor of Estate- Can One Person Do Both?

Absolutely. The same person can perform both functions. In many situations, an adult child or spouse is appointed as executor of the estate and also given power of attorney. Both tasks should not interfere with one another in any way.

However, it’s not unusual to divide the duties between two people. Because of the distinctions between the two roles (power of attorney vs. estate executor), it may make sense to grant power of attorney to one individual while designating another as the estate’s executor.

How do I Get Power of Attorney in PA?

  • Create a PoA – Just respond to a few questions, and your agent can take care of the rest.
  • Before sending or disclosing, consult your agent or a legal professional.
  • To make your signature legally binding, have it witnessed and notarized whether or not it is required to do so.

Also, this choice will usually save both time and money compared to hiring and working with a traditional lawyer. This power of attorney can also be used to fill out paperwork on behalf of a spouse, parent, or other family members if necessary.

However, keep in mind that a Power of Attorney is only legitimate if signed by a principal who is of sound mind. In most cases, a conservatorship is necessary if the principal is already incapacitated and unable to make choices for themselves. Consult an attorney as soon as possible if you find yourself in this position.

How Much Does a POA Cost in Pennsylvania?

In Pennsylvania, how much it generally costs to obtain a Power of Attorney form may vary. Depending on where you live, the costs for engaging a lawyer to draft a power of attorney could range from $200 to $500.

Does a Power of Attorney Need to Be Recorded in PA?

It is not necessary to file a copy of your POA with the Orphan’s Court Division of the Court of Common Pleas, although you can if you like. Your power of attorney can be recorded in your county’s deed registry if it will be used to make real estate decisions.

What Does Power of Attorney Allow You to Do?

A power of attorney authorizes another person or persons to take legal action on your behalf. The authority’s scope can be narrowly defined to include only a certain task, like completing the sale of your home, or it can be more broadly applicable. In addition, it’s possible that the granted power will be permanent, or at least not revocable.

Power of Attorney vs Executor of a Will

An attorney-in-fact under a power of attorney has different responsibilities than an executor under a will. Hence, this distinction ( will executor vs power of attorney) needs to be made clear while drawing out your estate plan. Even though both ( will executor vs power of attorney) involve delegating authority to another person, the tasks required of each are distinct and occur at separate times.

Who are the Executors of a Will?

An executor is one who is appointed to carry out a will’s directives and wishes. This person may also be the executor of the will, the estate’s guardian, or the testator’s personal representative. The term “executrix” is used when referring to a female executor.

Who is Best to Be An Executor of a Will?

An executor can be anyone who is legally able to do so. However, the most common choices for executors are a spouse or civil partner, followed by a child. An individual must have at least one executor who is at least 18 years old in order to apply for probate, the legal document that grants the power to settle a decedent’s financial and legal matters.

Power of Attorney vs Executor of a Will- The Difference

The main distinction between an executor and an attorney-in-fact is that the latter’s authority to act on behalf of the principal only exists while the latter is still alive. Following death, all authority to administer the decedent’s estate falls to the executor designated in the will. Your POA basically ends the moment you pass away, and the will executor’s authority starts when your Will takes effect.

If you are unable to make decisions for yourself due to a mental or physical disability, a power of attorney will likely be put into effect. In this scenario, your attorney-in-fact will be able to make important choices on your behalf. These also include those pertaining to your health and finances. But once you die, your desires, as stated in your will, will be carried out by your executor.

Who is an Executor in Inheritance?

The person who settles the financial affairs of a deceased person is the executor of an estate. If the decedent left a will, it typically appoints a close relative, friend, accountant, lawyer, or financial institution to serve as the executor.

Can Executor Be Beneficiary in Will?

Your estate plan should include naming an executor as a key component. A will executor is in charge of managing the probate procedure and allocating the assets to your beneficiaries. So, if you’re asking if a will’s executor can also be a beneficiary, the majority of the time, the answer is yes.

Can the Executor and Beneficiary Be the Same?

Do the roles of executor and beneficiary have to be separate? To answer your question, a Will can specify the same individual as both the executor and the beneficiary. It’s absolutely normal and lawful.

Will Executor Vs Power of Attorney- Can it Be Same Person?

Sure. You may name the same individual to carry out your Will and function as your attorney in fact. This path is generally favored by many because it facilitates a smooth transition from having someone else make decisions for you during your lifetime to having those desires carried out after your death. If a person is unable to handle their own financial affairs due to illness or death, their spouse or adult child can step in. They will help make decisions on their behalf and later act as executors of their will.

Conclusion

Both your agent under a power of attorney and your executor play crucial roles in handling your business after you die. As a result, it’s crucial to select those you have complete faith in and consider to be really qualified. Be sure to choose wisely, as these individuals will have a lasting impact on your loved ones even after you’re gone.

You can even select the same person to serve in both roles, but their responsibilities will differ.  Preparing an estate requires both an executor and a person with power of attorney. While someone with power of attorney can make financial and medical choices on your behalf while you’re alive, including when you’re incapacitated, the executor settles financial matters and manages the probate process after you pass away.

Power of Attorney Vs Executor FAQs

What has the power to trump a beneficiary?

The wills of the deceased will specify the beneficiaries who will receive assets. But because of their legal duty, an executor may not care about what these beneficiaries want.

Can an executor make distribution decisions?

No. The Executor has no authority to allocate property. The executor’s job includes, but is not limited to, distributing your assets as specified in your will. It is the executor’s duty to grant the wishes of the beneficiaries, so long as doing so does not violate the fiduciary duty owed to the estate.

Reference

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like