预测方法:预测的权威指南

预测方法

商业财务预测方法类似于餐厅菜单上的方法。 有许多可用的类别和可能性,这一切都归结为您的需求和愿望。 由于您的业务是独一无二的,因此您必须仔细选择业务预测方法和策略,以便在未来几个月内准确地为您提供所需的内容。 我们将研究两种广泛的预测方法:定量预测和定性预测。

什么是预测方法?

预测是确定不确定的未来事件的大小并根据各种假设得出不同结论的过程。 并非所有方法都能实现预测目标; 决策者应掌握哪种类型最适合业务。

在选择能够提供精确、可靠的数据来驱动的财务预测模型时,企业有多种选择 战略决策. 您可以在简单的预测方法和需要预测的高级方法之间进行选择 使用商业软件记账 对于所有正在处理的变量。

每种策略都有优点和缺点。 因此,组织在预测未来财务时必须选择最能满足其目标和目标的预测方法。

重要的是要记住,没有任何财务预测是完美的。 因为您的企业正试图根据过去的信息和洞察力来创建未来的预测,所以总是有错误的余地。 这与您使用的预测方法有多严格无关。 相反,组织正在寻找一种可以帮助制定和指导财务决策(例如预算和招聘)的预测策略。

预测方法的类型

预测方法通常分为两种类型:定性预测和定量预测。 以下是每种思想流派的概述,以及当今组织使用的一些最流行的预测方法。

#1。 定量预测方法

定量财务预测方法采用一种直接的方法来创建基于确凿事实的预测。 通常,在处理未来销售增长和税收主题等数据点时,定量预测更有效。 这与驱动这些预测的证据不太精确的主题相反。

尽管定量预测方法消除了过程中的猜测,但它可能会因缺乏人类技能而受到阻碍。 这可能导致缺乏可能严重影响预测的基本背景。 尽管如此,它在各种业务环境中都是有用的工具,尤其是当您以前的业务数据是估计未来结果的可靠来源时。

以下是企业使用的一些最流行的定量预测方法。

#1。 直线

直线预测方法是最容易执行的方法之一,只涉及基本的数学运算,并对公司在未来财务情景中的预期做出公平的预测。 当企业预计未来收入增长时,通常会采用直线预测。

您的企业可能会利用其以前的销售增长率作为未来增长的基准。 例如,如果收入在过去三年中平均增长了 7%,您可以使用直线法预测未来 3-5 年的类似增长率。

当然,许多因素不仅会影响您的收入增长,还会影响您在此期间的净盈利能力。 但是,在设定财务目标和预算时,此策略仍然有用。 它还可以用于根据您期望公司所处的位置制定计划。

#2。 移动平均线

移动平均线是指定统计数据在给定时间段内的平均表现。 移动平均线通常用于检查每月的时间范围,而不是每年的时间跨度。 它用于评估收入、盈利能力、销售增长、股票价格和 其他标准财务措施。

移动平均线有助于随着时间的推移平滑卓越表现,让您更好地了解公司的财务趋势。 如果您在一个销售和收入随时间变化的行业工作,那么 XNUMX 个月或 XNUMX 个月的移动平均线可以帮助您了解每个月出现的高峰和低谷。

#3。 时间序列

时间序列是一个总称,指的是财务预测的各种方法。 这种预测方法的目的是在以前的数据中找到未来会再次出现的趋势,从而允许对各种财务指标进行数据驱动的预测。

当性能必须非常一致时,这很有用。 例如,时间序列预测可以通过使用前几个月的销售和收入增长来估计下个月的绩效。 如果将这些趋势直接转化为您的业务结果不正确,您可以采用平滑技术进行时间序列预测。 您使用这些数字的平均值来减少极端情况并估计未来性能的时间限制模式。

在季节性或其他变化可能对预测产生影响的情况下,时间序列预测允许更新过去的数据以解释这些趋势。 时间序列预测可以解释每年第四季度的峰值销售和收入,例如,如果您是零售商。

#4。 线性回归

两个或多个数据点之间关系的图形表示是线性回归。 它根据 x 和 y 变量之间的关系绘制趋势线。

例如,考虑销售额和利润。 如果销售额增加,收益也应该增加,从而导致两者之间呈正相关的线性回归。 但是,如果销售额增加而利润下降,则可能表明存在其他问题,例如费用增加会影响收益——包括潜在的每次转化成本增加,这会降低公司销售工作的价值。

这个线性回归的趋势线可以估计未来的结果。 这样可以更好地进行预算并协助业务主管制定提高业务绩效的战略决策。

#2。 定性预测方法

定性预测是一门不精确的科学。 它采用软数据,例如过去数据无法支持的专家估计。 当 CEO 预测公司将因新的监管规定而产生的成本时,这就是定性数据的一个例子。 鉴于他们出色的专业知识和洞察力,专家的预测可能是正确的。 然而,当这种情况以前从未经历过时,可用于支持任何预测的数据有限。
一般来说,定性预测会变得不那么可靠,因为它试图进一步预测未来。 然而,定性预测在短期条件下仍然很受欢迎和有效。

以下是两种最流行的定性预测模型:

#1。 市场调查

市场研究经常在商业世界中用于检查公司以前从未经历过的可能情况。 一个众所周知的例子是,当企业决定在哪里开设新地点或测试新产品的营销和包装时。

市场研究生成用于创建财务预测的数据。 然而,有许多因素和不稳定的情况使得很难依赖这些数据的质量。 一般来说,通过市场调查获得的数据越多,数据就越可靠。 然而,收集市场研究既费时又费钱,即使是在这个过程中最重要的投资也不能保证微小的研究偏差、数据收集的差异或其他不可控的变量不会扭曲你的结论。

#2。 德尔菲法

金融预测的德尔福方法,如市场研究,从熟悉所考虑主题的专家那里收集数据。 您的组织将寻求外部资源以及内部专家的见解,通过调查收集数据,这些调查可用于就各种财务问题找到共识观点。

这对于定性的长期预测来说是一个有用的工具,例如讨论特定行业或市场的增长,或者尝试预测未来几年市场发展的房地产资产价值。

财务预测在您公司的计划、预算和许多其他财务任务中至关重要。 无论您是管理财务储备、制定来年营销预算、管理员工工资单还是探索新的业务前景,您使用的预测方法都会对您在每项业务中做出的决策产生直接影响。

总结

预测使企业能够通过提供有关未来事件的关键知识(包括其发生率和规模)采取必要的步骤来实现特定目标。 预测可以是定性的或定量的,具体取决于收集的信息及其性质,通常是主观的或客观的。 因此,它依赖于数学计算或根本没有数学计算。

根据业务,管理层决定应用的最佳预测方法。 它取决于内部和外部因素以及外部因素是否可控。 政府法规、竞争战略、 自然灾害,以及其他不可控的情况都可以是不可控因素的例子。

定量预测依靠历史数据来支持其发现并采用数学模型来得出预测预测。 情绪、直觉、过去的经验和价值观都用于定性预测。 它是一种关键的业务技术,可以改善业务运营并确保功能可以在不断变化的业务环境中成功执行。

预测方法常见问题解答

最准确的预测方法是什么?

加权移动平均是四个选项中最准确的,因为可以根据它们的重要性分配特定的权重。

为什么预测通常是错误的?

由于个人偏见、数学算法或错误的历史数据,预测经常出错。

什么是人力资源预测?

人力资源预测是预测需求和供应的过程——无论是人数还是工作所需和可用的人才种类。

  1. 预测模型:模型的类型和详细指南
  2. 业务预测定义、方法、示例、类型(更新)
  3. 销售预测软件:15+ 2021 年最佳选项(+ 免费提示)
  4. 风险分析:方法、类型、流程、示例、利弊
  5. 什么是销售预测? 方法和现实世界的例子
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

FORECASTING METHODS: Definitive Guide to Forecasting

Forecasting methods

Business financial forecasting methods are similar to those seen on a restaurant menu. There are numerous categories and possibilities available, and it all comes down to what you require and desire. Because your business is unique, you must carefully select the business forecasting method and strategies that will provide you with exactly what you need in the coming months. We are going to look at the two broad forecasting methods: quantitative and qualitative forecasting.

What are Forecasting Methods?

Forecasting is the process of determining the size of uncertain future events and producing varied conclusions based on various assumptions. Not all methods will fulfill the objective of forecasting; decision-makers should grasp which type is most suited to the business.

Businesses have several alternatives when it comes to selecting a financial forecasting model that provides precise, dependable data to drive strategic decision-making. You can select between simple forecasting methods and advanced methods that necessitate the use of business software to account for all of the variables being addressed.

Each strategy has advantages and disadvantages. Hence, organizations must select the forecasting method that best meets their objectives and goals when anticipating future finances.

It is critical to remember that no financial projection is perfect. Because your business is attempting to create future forecasts based on information and insights from the past, there is always a margin for error. This is regardless of how rigorous a forecasting method you use. Instead, organizations are looking for a forecasting strategy that can help frame and guide financial decisions such as budgeting and hiring.

Types of Forecasting Methods

Forecasting methods are often classified into two types: qualitative forecasting and quantitative forecasting. Here’s an overview of each school of thinking, as well as some of the most popular forecasting methods utilized by organizations today.

#1. Quantitative Forecasting Methods

Quantitative financial forecasting methods employ a straightforward approach to creating forecasts based on hard facts. Typically, quantitative forecasting is more effective when dealing with data points such as future sales growth and tax topics. This is opposed to the subject matter with less precise evidence to drive these forecasts.

Although the quantitative forecasting method removes the guesswork from the process, it can be hampered by a lack of human skill. This can result in a lack of essential context that could drastically affect forecasts. Nonetheless, it is a useful tool in a variety of business circumstances, particularly when your previous business data is a credible source for estimating future results.

The following are some of the most popular quantitative forecasting methods that businesses utilize.

#1. Straight Line

A straight-line forecasting method is one of the simplest to execute, involving only basic math and generating fair forecasts for what firms might expect in future financial scenarios. Straight-line forecasting is typically employed when a business anticipates future revenue growth.

Your business might utilize its previous sales growth rate as a benchmark for future growth. If revenues have grown by an average of 7% over the last three years, for example, you could use the straight-line method to forecast a similar growth rate over the next 3-5 years.

Of course, numerous factors will influence not only your revenue growth but also your net profitability over that time period. However, this strategy can still be useful when it comes to setting financial objectives and budgets. It can also be used in making plans based on where you expect your firm to be.

#2. Moving Average

A moving average is the average performance of a specified statistic over a given time period. A moving average is typically used to examine monthly time frames rather than yearly time spans. It is for assessing revenue, profitability, sales growth, stock prices, and other standard financial measures.

A moving average is useful for smoothing outperformance over time giving you a better picture of your company’s financial trends. If you work in a sector where sales and revenue change over time, a three- or five-month moving average can help you understand the peaks and troughs that occur from month to month.

#3. Time Series

Time series is an umbrella word that refers to a variety of methods for financial forecasting. The aim underlying this forecasting method is to find trends in previous data that will reoccur in the future, allowing data-driven forecasting across a variety of financial measures.

This is useful when performance has to be pretty consistent. Time-series forecasting, for example, can estimate performance in the coming month by using sales and revenue growth from previous months. If a direct translation of these trends to your business results isn’t correct, you might adopt a smoothing technique to time series forecasting. You use the averages of these numbers to reduce extremes and estimate a time-bound pattern for future performance.

In circumstances where seasonal or other changes may have an impact on forecasts, time series forecasting allows past data to be updated to account for these trends. Time series forecasting can account for peak sales and revenue in the fourth quarter of every year, for example, if you are a retailer.

#4. Linear Regression

A graphical representation of the relationship between two or more data points is a linear regression. It plots a trend line based on the relationship between the x and y variables.

As an example, consider sales and profits. If sales rise, earnings should rise as well, resulting in a linear regression with a positive connection between the two. However, if sales increase while profits decline, it may suggest other issues, such as rising expenses cutting into earnings—including, potentially, an increased cost per conversion that reduces the value of your company’s sales efforts.

This linear regression’s trend line can estimate future results. This allows for better budgeting and assisting business executives in making strategic decisions that increase business performance.

#2. Qualitative Forecasting Methods

Qualitative forecasting is an imprecise science. It employs soft data, such as expert estimates that cannot be supported by past data. When a CEO forecasts the costs a firm would incur as a result of new regulatory regulation, this is an example of qualitative data. Given their great expertise and insight, the expert may be correct in their prognosis. However, there is limited data available to back any prediction when such circumstances have never been experienced before.
In general, qualitative forecasting gets less reliable as it attempts to predict further into the future. However, qualitative forecasting remains popular and effective in short-term conditions.

Here are the two most popular qualitative forecasting models:

#1. Market Research

Market research is frequently utilized in the business world to examine probable scenarios that a company has never experienced before. One well-known example is when a business decides where to open a new location or when it tests the marketing and packaging for a new product.

Market research generates data for creating financial forecasts. However, there are many factors and unstable circumstances that make it difficult to rely on the quality of this data. In general, the more data acquired through market research, the more reliable the data. However, gathering market research is time-consuming and expensive, and even the most significant investment in this process will not guarantee that minor research biases, discrepancies in data collection, or other uncontrollable variables will not skew your conclusions.

#2. Delphi method

The Delphi methods of financial forecasting, like market research, gather data from specialists who are knowledgeable about the topics under consideration. Your organization will seek outside sources, as well as in-house expert insight, to assemble data via surveys that may be used to find consensus viewpoints on a variety of financial issues.

This can be a useful tool for qualitative long-term forecasting, such as discussing the growth of a specific industry or market or attempting to anticipate the worth of real estate assets as the market evolves over the next few years.

Financial forecasting is critical in your company’s planning, budgeting, and many other financial tasks. Whether you’re managing financial reserves, establishing marketing budgets for the coming year, managing employee payrolls, or exploring new business prospects, the forecasting methods you use will have a direct impact on the decisions you make in each of those operations.

Conclusion

Forecasting enables a business to take the necessary steps to attain a specific objective by providing crucial knowledge about future events, including their incidence and size. Forecasting can be qualitative or quantitative, depending on the information gathered and its nature, which is usually subjective or objective. Hence, it’s dependent on mathematical calculations or no mathematical calculations at all.

According to the business, management decides on the best forecasting approach to apply. It is dependent on internal and external elements and whether or not the external factors are controllable. Government regulations, competitive strategies, natural disasters, and other uncontrollable circumstances can all be examples of uncontrollable factors.

Quantitative forecasting depends on historical data to back up its findings and employs mathematical models to arrive at forecasting predictions. Emotions, intuition, past experiences, and values are all used in qualitative forecasting. It is a critical business technique that improves business operations and ensures that functions can be carried out successfully in an ever-changing business environment.

Forecasting Methods FAQ’s

What is the most accurate forecasting method?

The weighted moving average is the most accurate of the four options because specific weights can be assigned based on their importance.

Why is forecasting generally wrong?

Forecasts are frequently wrong due to personal bias, mathematical algorithms, or erroneous historical data.

What is forecasting in HR?

HR forecasting is the process of projecting demand and supply—whether it’s the number of people or the sorts of talents required and available to do the job.

  1. FORECASTING MODELS: Types and Detailed Guide to the Models
  2. Business Forecasting Definition, Methods, Examples, Types (Updated)
  3. Sales Forecasting Software: 15+ Best 2021 Options(+ Free Tips)
  4. Risk Analysis: Methods, Types, Process, Examples, Pros & Cons
  5. What is Sales Forecasting? Methods and Real-world Examples
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like