CHECK KITING:定义、示例和您所需要的一切(更新)

检查风筝案例和示例。
形象信用银行利率

支票欺诈可能涉及使用第二家银行或第三方(通常是零售店)来推迟支票在银行清算当天交易账户中的资金不足。 它也被那些在计息账户中有一些真钱但人为地夸大他们的余额以让他们的银行向他们支付更多利息的人使用。 犯罪分子利用支票浮动通过在线拍卖的邀请用户传输假支票。 这就是为什么在本文中我们将讨论检查风筝案例和示例。

什么是检查风筝?

Kiting 通常被定义为故意从一家银行开出大于账户余额的支票,然后从另一家银行开出支票,同样资金不足,第二张支票涵盖第一个账户中不存在的资金。

检查风筝,也称为检查风筝,是一种 支票欺诈 这涉及利用浮动来花费支票或其他银行账户中不存在的资金。 因此,支票被用作一种非法信用而不是被用作流通票据。 支票风筝的目标是人为地夸大支票账户的余额,以允许否则会反弹的书面支票清算。 如果该帐户不打算补充,则该欺诈被非正式地称为挂纸。

一些实体为了获得短期贷款而进行检查风筝。 其他人打算故意欺骗银行。 简单的check-kiting方法使用单一的银行支票,但更高级的方案使用来自许多金融机构的支票。


检查风筝示例

放风筝是企业和个人寻求获得他们没有的资金的一种做法。 假设一家公司在两个不同的银行有支票账户。 它需要支付员工工资,但还差 10,000 美元。 公司从账户 X 中起草一张 10,000 美元的支票并将其存入账户 B。由于 CC 法规的标准,公司可以在下一个工作日使用现金。 支票需要两到三天才能清算帐户 X。第二天,公司进行存款,险些避免银行退回支票。 即使资金最终转入 X 账户,这仍然是非法支票放风筝的例子之一。

这是检查风筝的一个更不祥的例子。 一个人与银行建立了长期的关系。 然后,他从 A 银行开出一张 5,000 美元的支票并将 B 银行的一张 5,000 美元支票存入账户 C。A 银行和 B 银行都没有足够的资金来支付这些支票。 一旦银行 C 有可用资金,个人就立即提取所有资金。当银行退回空头支票时,银行 C 剩下 10,000 美元的缺口。


检查风筝箱

毫无疑问,涉及检查风筝或挂纸的案件是犯罪行为。 它是一种利用银行通常要求的三天时间来清算支票的方式,为金额不足的支票开立或兑现支票。 如果有条不紊地,随着时间的推移,反复进行,就有可能赚取不存在的金额的利息。 Check kiting 是一种联邦银行欺诈,或者在州一级是一种支票欺诈,刑法 476a,它可能是一种摇摆不定的行为。

有人以传统的支票风筝方式开设了两个支票账户。 我们的客户会将资金(可能是 1,500 美元)存入第一个账户。 客户会从第一个帐户为第二个帐户写一张 5,000 美元的支票。 因为银行通常需要三个工作日(“浮动”)来清算支票,所以我们的客户会开出一张 5,000 美元的支票并将钱存回第一个账户。 理论上,这两种支票都应该在它们都反弹时清除。

在某些方面,这是一种为您买不起的东西获得资金的方式,或者在支票达到七位数时赚取几天的利息。 如果在循环的基础上缓慢而有意地进行,可能会在很长一段时间内被忽视,有时涉及不止一家银行,甚至不止一个人进行存款。

了解 Check Kiting 案例

这是一种犯罪行为,应受到联邦银行欺诈立法的惩罚,例如 18 USC 1344。以及州犯罪,例如加州刑法典 476a(“通过空头支票”)。

控方必须在排除合理怀疑的情况下证明被告意图诈骗金融机构(通过向一个机构证明他在另一家银行有大笔余额)或以虚假借口获取联邦金融机构保管的金钱或其他物品联邦法令。 个人经常犯诚实的错误,因此证明这一点可能很困难。 但是,当一系列交易以类似的方式进行时,所有的事实都显示出有目的的活动。

联邦银行欺诈行为最高可判处 1 年监禁,最高 XNUMX 万美元的罚款,并向金融机构偿还所有以欺诈手段获得的资金。


我的银行关闭了我的支票风筝帐户

在美国,银行必须遵守一套复杂的联邦法律。 联邦银行立法要求银行保护其客户的安全。 银行必须协助刑事调查。 在收债方面,他们必须遵循法院的指示。 如果其中一个账户被用于非法目的,银行也可能承担责任。 如果银行官员未能披露可疑行为或在可能的情况下予以制止,他们可能会被罚款或监禁。 即使没有证据,银行也会关闭涉嫌参与犯罪活动的账户。

因此,如果这是一个诚实的错误,您也许可以通过电话解决此问题。 在大多数情况下,您可能需要提交文件或聘请律师。 不幸的是,有一些你可能无法控制的冻结或关闭。

避免检查风筝欺诈的提示

为防止成为支票欺诈的受害者,您应采取以下预防措施:

  • 切勿通过电汇向陌生人汇款。
  • 了解如何识别欺诈性支票和支票诈骗。
  • 每当您进行金融交易时,请注意您的交易对手。
  • 抵制任何“立即行动”的压力,因为匆忙是一个坏兆头。
  • 请记住,如果交易或报价看起来好得令人难以置信,您的直觉通常是正确的。

银行本身在检查风筝时也会留意一些明显的警告信号。 这些包括一个银行账户,每天从同一个账户中存入和提取大量支票。 尚未由付款银行清算的帐户中的大笔资金以及通过各个银行分支机构进行的存款是可能存在支票风筝的两个迹象。

常见问题解答

什么是检查风筝,为什么它是非法的?

支票放风的做法是支票欺诈的一种。 它利用浮动(支票清算所需的时间)来使用不在支票账户中的钱。 Kiting 有效地将错误支票转化为非法信贷,这对银行来说是个坏消息。

检查风筝计划如何运作?

Check-kiting是从资金不足的银行账户开出支票并将其存入另一个账户的非法行为。 然后,在原始支票清算之前,您从第二个帐户中提取资金。

银行通常会起诉支票风筝吗?

支票风筝在美国根据《美国法典》第 18 条第 1344 条受到处罚,该条定义了以虚假借口从联邦银行收取款项。 支票风筝在本质上是在银行不知情的情况下从银行获得一笔无息贷款。

  1. 如何在线订购支票:15 年个人支票的 2021 个最佳地点
  2. 我可以给自己写一张支票吗? 轻松执行此操作的简单步骤!!!
  3. 人身伤害律师:为什么需要 PI 律师

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

CHECK KITING: Definition, Examples,& All You Need (Updated)

Check kiting cases and examples.
Image credit bankrate

Check fraud may involve using a second bank or a third party, usually a retail location, to postpone the lack of money in a transactional account on the day the check is set to clear at the bank. It’s also been utilized by people who have some real money in interest-bearing accounts but artificially inflate their balances to get their banks to pay them more interest. Criminals have used the check float to transit fake checks through solicited users of online auctions. That’s why in this article we will be discussing Check kiting cases and examples.

What is Check Kiting?

Kiting is typically defined as purposely writing a check for a value greater than the account balance from one bank, then writing a check from another bank, likewise with insufficient money, with the second check covering the non-existent funds from the first account.

Check kiting, also known as cheque kiting, is a type of check fraud that involves taking advantage of the float to spend funds that do not exist in a checking or other bank account. Checks are thus exploited as a kind of unlawful credit rather than being used as a negotiable instrument. The goal of check kiting is to artificially inflate the balance of a checking account in order to allow written checks that would otherwise bounce to clear. If the account is not intended to be replenished, the fraud is known informally as paper hanging.

Some entities engage in check kiting in order to get a short-term loan. Others intend to scam the bank on purpose. Simple check-kiting methods use a single bank check, but more advanced schemes use checks from many financial institutions.


Check Kiting Examples

Check to kite is a practice used by businesses and individuals who seek to acquire access to funds that they do not have. Assume that a company has checking accounts with two separate banks. It needs to pay its employees, but it is $10,000 short. The company drafts a $10,000 check from account X and deposits it in account B. The cash is available to the company the following working day, thanks to Regulation CC standards. The check takes two to three days to clear account X. On the second day, the company makes a deposit, narrowly avoiding the bank returning the check. Even though the funds were eventually transferred into account X, this is still one of the examples of illegal check kiting.

Here’s a more ominous example of check kiting. A person develops a long-term relationship with a bank. He then writes and deposits a $5,000 check from bank A and a $5,000 check from bank B into account C. Neither bank A nor bank B has sufficient funds to cover the checks. The individual withdraws all of the money as soon as the funds are available at bank C. When the banks return the bad checks, bank C is left with a $10,000 shortfall.


Check Kiting Cases

Cases involving check kiting or paper hanging are, without a doubt, a crime. It is a method of writing or cashing checks for insufficient amounts by taking advantage of the customary three-day period required by a bank to clear a check. It is possible to earn interest on amounts that do not exist if done methodically, over time, and repeatedly. Check kiting is a type of federal bank fraud or, on a state level, a type of check fraud, Penal Code 476a, and it can be a wobbler.

Someone opens two checking accounts in a conventional check kiting method. Our client would put funds, possibly $1,500, in the first account. The client would write a $5,000 check from the first account for the second account. Because banks normally require three business days (“float”) to clear a check, our customer would issue a $5,000 check and deposit money back into the first account. Both checks would theoretically clear when they should both bounce.

In some ways, it’s a way to get finance for something you can’t afford or to earn a few days’ interests when the checks are in the seven digits. It may go unnoticed for a long time if done slowly and intentionally on a circular basis, sometimes involving more than one bank or even more than one individual making deposits.

Understanding Check Kiting Cases

This is a crime punishable by federal bank fraud legislation, such as 18 U.S.C. 1344. As well as state crimes, such as California Penal Code 476a (“Passing Bad Checks”).

The prosecution must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant intended to defraud a financial institution (by showing one institution that he had a large balance in another bank) or obtain money or other items under the custody of a federal financial institution by false pretenses under federal law. Individuals frequently make honest mistakes, so proving this can be difficult. But when a series of transactions are carried out in a similar manner, the totality of the facts shows purposeful activity.

Federal bank fraud carries a maximum sentence of thirty years in prison, fines of up to $1 million, and repayment to the financial institution for all funds received fraudulently.


My bank Closed My account for Check kiting

In the United States, banks must abide by a complex set of federal laws. Banks are required by federal banking legislation to preserve the security of their customers. Banks are required to assist in criminal investigations. They must follow court directions when it comes to debt collection. Banks can also hold liable if one of their accounts is exploited for illegal purposes. If bank officers fail to disclose suspicious conduct or halt it when they can, they may be fined or imprisoned. Banks will close accounts that are suspected of being involved in criminal activity, even if there is no proof.

Consequently, you may be able to resolve this problem with a phone call if it was an honest mistake. In most cases, you may need to submit paperwork or hire a lawyer. Unfortunately, there are some freezes or closures over which you may have no control.

Tips for avoiding check-kiting fraud

To prevent becoming a victim of check fraud, you should take the following precautions:

  • Never send money by wire to a stranger.
  • Find out how to identify fraudulent checks and check scams.
  • Whenever you engage in financial transactions, be aware of your counterparts.
  • Resist any pressure to “act now” because a hurry is a bad sign.
  • Remember that your intuition is usually correct if a deal or offer appears too good to be true.

Banks themselves also keep an eye out for a few distinct warning signs when it comes to check-kiting. These consist of a bank account with numerous cheques being placed and withdrawn from the same account on a daily basis. Large sums of money in an account that has not yet been cleared by the paying bank and deposits made through various bank branches are two further signs of possible check-kiting.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is check kiting and why is it illegal?

The practice of check kiting is a type of check fraud. It makes use of a float (the time it takes for a check to clear) to use money that isn’t in a checking account. Kiting effectively converts faulty checks into illegal credit, which is bad news for banks.

How does a check kiting scheme work?

Check-kiting is an illegal act of writing a check from a bank account with insufficient funds and depositing it into another account. Then, before the original check clears, you take the funds from the second account.

Do banks usually prosecute check kiting?

Check kites are punished in the United States under Title 18, U.S. Code Section 1344, which defines receiving monies from a federal bank under false pretenses. A check kite, in essence, obtains an interest-free loan from a bank without the bank’s knowledge.

  1. How To Order Checks Online: 15 Best Places to Personal Checks in 2021
  2. Can I Write a Check to Myself? Simple Steps to Do This Effortlessly!!!
  3. Personal Injury Lawyer: Why You Need a PI Attorney

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like