无形资产:什么是无形资产? (+会计示例)

资产负债表、示例和会计上的无形资产。

在内部创建无形资产的成本通常很难与维持或改善实体运营或商誉的成本区别开来。 因此,内部开发的品牌、刊头、出版物标题、客户名单和类似元素不被视为无形资产 (IA)。 开发其他内部 IA 的成本根据它们是否发生在研究或开发阶段来确定。 公司还将将研究支出确认为费用。 满足一定条件的开发支出为无形资产的成本。 在本文中,我们将讨论资产负债表、示例和会计中的所有无形资产。

无形资产首先以成本计量。 首次确认后,主体通常以成本减去累计摊销后的价格计量无形资产。 在极少数情况下,参考活跃市场可以确定公允价值,它也可以选择以公允价值计量资产。

什么是无形资产?

无形资产是没有物理形式的资产。 当资产是可分离的或来自合同或其他合法权利时,它是可识别的。 公司可以出售、转让、许可等的资产是可分离的资产。 知识资产通常是 IA 的。 由于无形资产的性质,对其进行适当的评估和会计处理通常很困难。 确定其价值的挑战源于其未来优势的不可预测性。 无形资产的使用寿命也可能是可追溯的或不可识别的。 其中大部分为长期资产,使用寿命在一年以上。

虽然无形资产缺乏工厂或设备的可见物理价值,但它对公司来说可能很有价值,并且对其长期成功或失败很重要。 例如,像可口可乐这样的公司,如果不是因为品牌知名度所带来的收益,就不会那么成功。 尽管品牌熟悉度不是一种看得见或摸得着的有形资产,但它可以对销售产生重大影响。

无形资产的例子

这些是无形资产的常见例子。

  • 公司声誉 品牌资产(认可)
  • 善意
  • 版权保护
  • 商标
  • 专利
  • 知识产权(IP)
  • 客户数据库
  • 网站域名
  • 雇佣合同
  • 租赁协议
  • 客户关系
  • 商业机密
  • 长片
  • 获得许可
  • 电脑软件
  • 许可证
  • 进口配额
  • 特许经营

资产负债表上的无形资产

只有当公司购买的这些资产具有可衡量的价值和足够长的使用寿命可以摊销时,您才会将无形资产列入公司的资产负债表。 会计的要求是在 一般公认会计原则 (GAAP)。

当无形资产具有可衡量的价值和寿命时,公司将其记录为公司资产负债表上的长期资产,根据购买价格和摊销时间表进行估值。

例如,如果一家公司花费 10,000 美元购买使用另一家公司客户名单的权利。 购买价格为每年 1,000 美元,为期 7,000 年,客户在第三年的资产负债表上列出的许可价值为 XNUMX 美元。

商誉和其他无限期的 IA 不进行摊销,因此不会出现在资产负债表上。

无形资产会计

在会计术语中,无形资产是一种非物质资源,具有财务价值,已被第三方收购。 在内部,公司可以生产非常有价值的无形资产,但这些资产不会记录在资产负债表上。

根据国际财务报告准则 (IFRS) 准则 (IAS 38) 识别和评估无形资产,它也是一种没有实物的可识别非货币资产。 资产包括商誉、品牌知名度以及专利、商标和版权等知识产权。

当一家公司从第三方购买无形资产时,他们会在资产负债表上以收购价格记录。 已购买的无形资产分为两类:有限的和无限的。 在任何情况下,无形资产都不会被向上重估。 有限无形资产的摊销方式与 PP&E 的直线折旧方式相同。 无限的无形资产使用现值计算进行重估,如果价值下降,它们的价值就会受到损害。 例如,可口可乐拥有可口可乐品牌,其价值超过 50 亿美元。 因为品牌是无形的,它的创造是内部的,它不会出现在资产负债表上。

常见问题

资产负债表上的无形资产是什么?

无形资产包括商誉、品牌知名度以及专利、商标和版权等知识产权。 从第三方购买的无形资产在资产负债表中以购买价格入账。

无形资产如何估值?

您可以通过经常从市场价值中降低公司的账面价值来评估公司的无形资产。 该策略的反对者声称,虽然市场价值会随着时间而变化,但无形资产的价值也会随着时间而变化,这使其成为一个糟糕的衡量标准。

无形资产的两个主要特征是什么?

无形资产有两个关键特征:它不是有形资产,这意味着它以法律权力的形式存在,并且有别于其他资产。

什么是最常见的无形资产?

商誉、品牌资产、知识产权(商业秘密、专利、商标和文案)、许可、客户名单和研发是最常见的无形资产类型。

  1. 无形资产:什么是无形资产(+ 实例)
  2. 有形资产:含义、示例和比较
  3. 累积摊销:定义和你应该知道的一切
  4. 资产负债表与损益表:示例、差异和关系
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

INTANGIBLE ASSETS: What are Intangible Assets? (+ Accounting Examples)

intangible assets on balance sheets, examples, and accounting.

The cost of creating an intangible asset internally is frequently difficult to discern from the cost of sustaining or improving the entity’s operations or goodwill. As a result, internally developed brands, mastheads, publication titles, customer lists, and similar elements are not recognized as intangible assets(IA). The costs of developing other internal IA’s are placed according to whether they occur during the research or development phases. Companies will also recognize expenditure on research as an expense. Development expenditure that meets certain conditions is the cost of an intangible asset. In this article, we’ll be discussing all intangible assets on balance sheets, examples, and accounting.

Intangible assets are first measured at cost. After first recognition, an entity typically measures an intangible asset at a cost less accumulated amortization. In rare circumstances whereby referring to an active market may determine the fair value, it may also choose to measure the asset at fair value.

What are Intangible Assets?

An intangible asset is one that does not have a physical form. When an asset is separable or comes from contractual or other legal rights, it is identifiable. Assets that companies can be sell, transfer, license, and so on are separable assets. Intellectual assets are frequently IA’s. Proper appraisal and accounting of intangible assets are frequently difficult due to their nature. The challenge in determining their worth derives from the unpredictability of their future advantages. Intangible assets’ useful lives might also be traceable or non-identifiable. The majority of them are long-term assets, with a useful life of more than a year.

While an intangible asset lacks the visible physical worth of a factory or equipment, it can be valuable to a company and important to its long-term success or failure. A company like Coca-Cola, for example, would not be nearly as successful if it weren’t for the money made from brand recognition. Although brand familiarity is not a tangible asset that can be seen or touched, it can have a significant impact on sales generation.

Examples of Intangible Assets

These are the common examples of intangible assets.

  • Company reputation Brand equity (recognition)
  • Goodwill
  • Copyright protection
  • Trademarks
  • Patents
  • Intellectual property (IP)
  • Customer databases
  • Domain names
  • Contracts of employment
  • Tenancy agreements
  • Customer relationships
  • trade secrets
  • Feature films
  • Obtaining Permits
  • Computers Software
  • Permits
  • Imports Quotas
  • Franchises

Intangible Assets on Balance Sheets

You only place Intangible assets on a company’s balance sheet if the company buys these assets with a measurable value and a long enough useful life to amortize. The requirements for accounting are established in generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP).

When intangible assets have a measurable value and longevity, a company records them as long-term assets on the company’s balance sheets, valued based on purchase prices and amortization schedules.

For example, if a firm spends $10,000 to buy the right to use another company’s customer list. The purchase price is $1,000 expense each year for ten years, and the customer list license value at $7,000 on the balance sheet in year three.

Goodwill and other IA’s with an indefinite life are not amortized and so do not appear on the balance sheet.

Intangible Assets Accounting

In accounting terms, an intangible asset is a non-physical resource with a financial worth that has been acquired by a third party. Internally, a corporation can produce intangible assets that are extremely valuable, but these assets do not record on the balance sheet.

An intangible asset, according to the International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) Standard (IAS 38) for identifying and assessing them, is also an identifiable non-monetary asset with no physical substance. Assets include goodwill, brand awareness, and intellectual property like patents, trademarks, and copyrights.

When a company buys intangible assets from a third party they record it at their acquisition price on the balance sheet. Intangibles that have been purchased are separated into two categories: finite and infinite. Intangibles are not revalued upwardly in any instance. Finite intangibles are amortized in the same way that PP&E is depreciated in a straight line. Infinite intangibles are revalued using a present value calculation, and their worth is harmed if it has decreased. Coca-Cola, for example, owns the Coca-Cola brand, whose value is at more than $50 billion. Because the brand is intangible and Its creation was internal, it does not appear on the balance sheet.

FAQs

What are intangible assets on balance sheet?

Intangible assets include goodwill, brand awareness, and intellectual property like patents, trademarks, and copyrights. Intangible assets purchased from a third party are recorded at their acquisition price on the balance sheet.

How intangible assets are valued?

You can value a company’s intangible asset by frequently reducing a company’s book value from its market value. Opponents of this strategy claim that while market value varies over time, so does the worth of intangible assets, making it a poor gauge.

What are the two main characteristics of intangible assets?

An intangible asset has two key characteristics: it is not physical, meaning it exists as legal power, and it is distinguishable from other assets.

What is the most common intangible asset?

Goodwill, brand equity, intellectual properties (trade secrets, patents, trademarks, and copywrites), licensing, customer lists, and R&D are the most common types of intangible assets.

" } } , { "@type": "Question", "name": "How intangible assets are valued?", "acceptedAnswer": { "@type": "Answer", "text": "

You can value a company's intangible asset by frequently reducing a company's book value from its market value. Opponents of this strategy claim that while market value varies over time, so does the worth of intangible assets, making it a poor gauge.

" } } , { "@type": "Question", "name": "What are the two main characteristics of intangible assets?", "acceptedAnswer": { "@type": "Answer", "text": "

An intangible asset has two key characteristics: it is not physical, meaning it exists as legal power, and it is distinguishable from other assets.

" } } , { "@type": "Question", "name": "What is the most common intangible asset?", "acceptedAnswer": { "@type": "Answer", "text": "

Goodwill, brand equity, intellectual properties (trade secrets, patents, trademarks, and copywrites), licensing, customer lists, and R&D are the most common types of intangible assets.

" } } ] }
  1. Intangible Property: What Is Intangible Property (+ Practical Examples)
  2. TANGIBLE ASSETS: Meaning, Examples & Comparison
  3. ACCUMULATED AMORTIZATION: Definition And All You Should Know
  4. Balance Sheet vs. Income Statement: Examples, Differences & Relationship
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like