什么是假期工资?:谁有权享受其福利

假期工资
图片来源:太阳报

虽然向受薪和小时工支付假期工资不是强制性的,但许多企业这样做是为了保持竞争力。 这种假期工资可以是半小时的形式,可以帮助您吸引和留住顶尖人才,同时还能提高员工的士气和敬业度。 根据研究,由于提高生产力、工作质量、客户忠诚度和员工保留率等原因,员工敬业度高的组织通常具有更高的盈利能力。

什么是假期工资?

假期工资是指雇主在假期向雇员提供的任何形式的替代补偿。 它可以是全部或部分带薪休假。 另一方面,这可能是对假期工作的奖金或额外的每小时补偿。

假期工资在美国最常表示为时间半工资。 这意味着,员工在假期工作的每一小时都会获得正常工资加上正常工资的二分之一。 它也可能是假期奖金支票或假期带薪休假。

在美国,典型的带薪假期包括:

  • 元旦
  • 复活节
  • 平安夜
  • 圣诞节
  • 劳动节
  • 感恩节
  • 感恩节后的第二天(黑色星期五)
  • 纪念日。
  • 独立日

一些企业还可能会在其他联邦假期(例如马丁路德金纪念日、总统纪念日或退伍军人纪念日)向其小时工提供假期工资。

谁有权获得假期工资?

任何在年假工作的人都有权获得假期工资,该工资不必高于符合条件的雇员的正常工资率。 雇主可能会在某些假期提供更高的工资率,作为对员工的福利和激励。

假期工资的程序是什么?

除了三个例外,假期工资通常与正常工资相同。

#1。 随着时间的推移

根据《公平劳工标准法》,在假期期间(但不是在假期本身)工作时间比平时多的非豁免员工有权就每周工作超过 40 小时的任何时间获得加班费,“比率不低于时间和他们正常工资的二分之一。”

#2。 时间半

虽然法律没有要求,但作为雇主,您可以选择在特定假期提供加时半的工资,以激励员工在这些日子工作或提高士气。

时间和半薪是员工正常工资率的 50%。 这意味着每加班一小时,必须向员工支付正常工资加上正常工资的一半。

要确定员工的加班时间半工资,请将其正常工资乘以 1.5。

#3。 奖金

您可以选择赠送奖金,这实际上是给您的员工的节日礼物。 假期奖金由公司自行决定,可能基于服务年限、基本工资或绩效。

没有关于假期补偿的独特法规或法律。 您必须简单地遵守所有州和联邦就业法,这些法律对假期期间支付员工工资没有任何特殊考虑,非豁免员工的加班除外。

假期工资是多少?

计算有资格加班的员工的薪酬可能很困难。 需要记住的关键一点是,根据联邦法律,加班时间是每周计算的。 这意味着,如果员工在正常带薪假期(例如感恩节、圣诞节或元旦)的一周内工作超过 40 小时,他们有权获得额外工作时间的“半小时”。

某些州也有每日加班要求。 如果雇员一天工作超过八小时,他们有权为超过八小时的每一小时工作“时间半”。 假设您在加利福尼亚拥有一家公司,您的员工在圣诞节工作 10 小时。 州立法要求支付两小时的加班费。

一些企业可能会选择为在假期工作的员工提供双倍时间作为奖励。 这意味着他们的正常工资要乘以二。

如何计算假期工资

如果您为假期工作支付一半的工资,只需将员工的正常小时工资乘以一半即可。 例如,如果员工通常的小时工资是 12 美元,那么他们的假期工资就是 18 美元。 当您使用在线工资单软件时,它通常会为您处理所有计算。

根据联邦法律,加班时间每周计算一次。 这意味着,如果您向非豁免员工提供加班费,他们有权获得每周工作超过 40 小时的加班费。

给员工带薪假期的好处

以任何形式向员工提供假期工资都有几个好处:

#1。 它可能会提高生产力。

领取假期工资的员工可能会觉得自己更受重视,这可能会增加参与度。 加班费还可以鼓励员工工作更多时间,从而提高公司的整体生产力。

#2。 它可以增加动力。

带薪休假可能是员工的主要动力,因为他们知道他们将获得休假而不会失去工资。 带薪休假已被证明可以减轻压力,改善心理健康并提高生产力。 所有这些对员工和企业都有利。

#3。 它提供了在假期工作的动力。

很少有员工愿意在假期工作,这已不是什么秘密。 因此,提供假期补偿,例如一个半时间或额外的工资,是让员工的时间值得的好方法。 如果您必须在假期保持营业或开展大部​​分业务,这一点尤其重要。 如果您的公司是零售公司,这种情况尤其可能发生。

#4。 它具有吸引精英人才的潜力。

给你的员工提供假期工资表明你爱和关心他们和他们的个人时间,这有助于你吸引强大的工作前景。

如何为您的公司制定假期薪酬政策

创建此政策时要记住的最重要的事情是明确和具体说明允许的内容,不允许的内容以及如何计算任何假期补偿。 这有助于您避免愤怒的员工和潜在的法律诉讼。 您的假期政策应包括以下四个组成部分:

#1。 定义浮动假期。

如果您选择为员工提供浮动假期以涵盖宗教或文化假期,请明确定义其累积方式和时间(例如,每个日历年年初的三天)以及是否可以将任何未使用的浮动假期结转到下一年或在员工离开公司时兑现。

#2。 具体说明谁有资格。

您的政策应指定哪些员工有资格获得假期工资,以及哪些标准使他们符合资格或不符合资格。 例如,您可以指定必须为员工安排每周至少 20 小时的工作时间并且在公司中具有良好的信誉才有资格获得假期工资。

#3。 解释时间半是如何计算的。

如果您有按小时计酬的员工有权获得半个假期工资,请详细解释该工资是如何计算和确定的。 根据立法,假期时间的补偿不得低于正常工资率。 FLSA 不强制要求在假期工作时支付加班费、半小时工资或双倍工资。 但是,它确实要求在给定的工作周内执行超过 40 小时的任何时间支付半工资。

#4。 描述豁免员工的假期工资。

如果您的公司只有受薪、免税的员工,请详细解释假期工资将如何运作。 例如,如果您的公司在圣诞节和新年之间的那一周关门,请在保单中指定这些日子是有偿还是无偿。 FLSA 要求任何获豁免的员工每人领取全部工资 工作周 他们工作的地方,并且任何业务关闭(包括节假日)都不是批准的 FLSA 扣除额。 这意味着如果企业因假期关闭,受薪、免税的员工必须获得全额工资。

假期工资是强制性的吗?

国际劳工规则经常要求雇主在重大节假日提供带薪休假。 然而,在美国,这不是强制性的,雇主也不会被迫为假期期间的劳动支付额外的补偿。 联邦法律要求雇主为员工庆祝宗教节日提供合理的便利,但他们不需要提供假期休假或额外的工资。

小时工的假期工资

美国公司是否必须向小时工提供假期工资? 《公平劳工标准法》(FLSA) 不要求私营公司在联邦层面向员工支付未工作时间的费用。

如果您可以选择提供带薪假期,那么遵循某些准则可以帮助您制定政策。 与任何政策一样,让就业律师在将其添加到您的员工手册之前对其进行检查可能是有益的。

假期工资法

所有在州或联邦假日营业的企业都应严格遵守假日工资要求。 联邦法律不要求雇主为在假期工作的雇员支付额外补偿(即,一半时间)。 事实上,《公平劳工标准法》(FLSA) 仅强制企业为员工所花费的时间支付报酬; 雇主无需支付雇员不需要工作的假期费用。 例如,如果员工在圣诞节这一联邦假日休假,他或她无权支付当天的工资。

话虽如此,许多公司通常会向所有员工提供并支付假期。 雇主应在雇佣合同中规定雇员休假的时间以及是否会为该休假支付报酬。 雇主还应提及是否会为在假期工作的员工支付额外补偿。

豁免员工

豁免雇员是指按年支付而不是按小时工资支付的个人。 当公司关闭时,所有豁免员工都会得到补偿。 如果这些雇员没有得到报酬,雇主就有可能将豁免雇员的身份转换为非豁免。 此时,员工可以在标准 40 小时内工作的额外时间获得加班费。 此外,如果豁免员工在圣诞节或任何其他联邦假日工作,则没有资格获得补充薪酬或加班费。

非豁免雇员

非豁免员工按小时计酬,而不是豁免员工。 雇主不需要向非豁免员工支付工作假期的额外报酬,但大多数人都这样做。 大多数雇主会给非豁免员工一个半的假期工作时间。 但是,如果非豁免员工没有得到时间半,则必须对超过 40 小时的所有工作时间进行补偿。 因此,如果非豁免员工每周工作 45 小时,雇主必须为额外的 XNUMX 小时支付一个半时间。

假期工资在加拿大如何运作?

在加拿大,如果您有资格领取假期工资,而您的雇主要求您在联邦假期工作,则您的雇主必须向您支付当天工作时间正常工资率 1.5 倍的工资。 需要在公共假期工作的经理和其他专业人员将按标准费率获得补偿。

我可以拒绝支付假期工资吗?

你可能会被剥夺它,例如,如果他们人手不足,或者如果你已经预订了那个假期的所有假期。 如果他们拒绝您的请求,他们必须通知您。

假期工资要交税吗?

请注意,假期工资是应纳税的,因此需要缴纳所得税和国民保险金等法定扣除额。

您是否在零合同工时获得假期工资?

与大多数员工一样,零时合同工每年依法享有 5.6 周的带薪休假。 因此,他们在法律上也有权每休一周法定假就获得一周的工资。

周末的假期有工资吗?

节假日、周六和周日的工作时间与一周内的任何其他工作时间一样对待。 在大多数情况下,雇主无需为其雇员提供带薪假期、在假期停业或为雇员提供任何特定假期的休假。

假期工资包括加班费吗?

如果员工经常加班,这应该计入他们的假期工资计算中。 假期工资必须始终包括雇主根据合同有义务提供的加班费以及员工必须工作的加班费。

圣诞节必须双薪吗?

是的。 如果您需要在公共假期工作,您将获得双倍的报酬。

结论,

由于假期工资通常由雇主自行决定,因此可能因人而异。 在决定向在假期工作或不工作的员工支付多少(如果有的话)之前,了解什么是假期工资、如何计算以及如何制定假期工资政策至关重要。

常见问题

假期工资和正常工资有区别吗?

一般来说,假期被视为正常工作日,员工根据所花费的时间获得报酬。 如果联邦假日是在周末,通常会在下一个可用的工作日进行。

你如何解释假期工资?

假期工资是指雇主在假期向雇员提供的任何形式的替代补偿。

每小时 20 美元是多少时间?

每小时 20 美元的半小时是每小时 30 美元。

{
“@context”:“https://schema.org”,
“@type”:“常见问题页面”,
“主要实体”:[
{
“@type”:“问题”,
“name”: “假期工资和正常工资有区别吗?”,
“接受的答案”:{
“@type”:“答案”,
“文本”: ”

一般来说,假期被视为正常工作日,员工根据所花费的时间获得报酬。 如果联邦假日是在周末,通常会在下一个可用的工作日进行。


}
}
, {
“@type”:“问题”,
“name”:“你如何解释假期工资?”,
“接受的答案”:{
“@type”:“答案”,
“文本”: ”

假期工资是指雇主在假期向雇员提供的任何形式的替代补偿。


}
}
, {
“@type”:“问题”,
“name”:“每小时 20 美元需要多少半小时?”,
“接受的答案”:{
“@type”:“答案”,
“文本”: ”

每小时 20 美元的半小时是每小时 30 美元。


}
}
] }

  1. 薪水如何运作:受薪工人如何获得补偿
  2. 星期六是银行的工作日吗:关于银行工作日你应该知道的一切
  3. 佛罗里达州的最低工资:2023 年佛罗里达州的最低工资是多少?
  4. 一年工作多少小时:如何计算,无压力!!!
  5. 公司假日聚会的 3 个有趣创意
  6. 佣金支付:方法,如何运作; 适合我吗?
发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

你也许也喜欢

WHAT IS HOLIDAY PAY?: Who’s Entitled to its Benefits

holiday pay
Image source: The Sun

Although it is not mandatory to give holiday pay to salaried and hourly employees, many businesses do so in order to remain competitive. This holiday pay, which can be in form of time and half, can help you attract and retain top talent while also increasing employee morale and engagement. According to research, organizations with strong employee engagement frequently have higher profitability due to reasons such as improved productivity, work quality, customer loyalty, and employee retention. 

What is Holiday Pay?

Holiday pay refers to any sort of alternative compensation provided by an employer to employees during holidays. It could be fully or partially paid time off. On the other hand, it could be a bonus or additional hourly compensation for work done on a holiday.

Holiday pay is most commonly expressed in the United States as time-and-a-half pay. This means that an employee is paid their regular rate plus one-half of their regular rate for each hour worked on a holiday. It might also be a holiday bonus check or paid time off on a holiday.

In the United States, typical paid holidays include::

  • New Year Day
  • Easter
  • Christmas Eve
  • Christmas Day
  • Labor Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • The day after Thanksgiving (Black Friday)
  • Memorial Day.
  • Independence Day

Some businesses may also give their hourly employees holiday pay for other federal holidays, such as Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Presidents Day, or Veterans Day. 

Who Is Entitled to Holiday Pay?

Anyone who works on an annual holiday is entitled to holiday pay, which does not have to be greater than the eligible employee’s regular pay rate. Employers may offer higher pay rates on certain holidays as a benefit and incentive to employees.

What is the Procedure for Holiday Pay?

With three exceptions, holiday pay is normally treated the same as regular salary.

#1. Overtime 

According to the Fair Labor Standards Act, nonexempt employees who work more hours than usual during the holiday season (but not on the holiday itself) are entitled to overtime pay for any hours worked in excess of 40 per week “at a rate not less than time and one-half their regular rates of pay.”

#2. Time and a half 

While it is not required by law, as an employer, you may choose to offer time-and-a-half pay on particular holidays in order to incentivize employees to work on such days or to promote morale.

Time and half pay is 50% of an employee’s regular pay rate. This means that for every hour of overtime worked, an employee must be paid their regular rate plus half of their regular rate.

To determine an employee’s time and a half overtime pay, multiply their regular rate by 1.5.

#3. Bonuses 

You may choose to present a bonus, which is effectively a holiday gift to your staff. Holiday bonuses are set at the discretion of the firm and may be based on years of service, basic salary, or performance.

There are no unique regulations or laws surrounding holiday compensations. You must simply obey all state and federal employment laws, which do not require any particular considerations for paying employees during holidays, with the exception of overtime for nonexempt employees.

How Much Is Holiday Pay?

Calculating remuneration for employees who are eligible for overtime can be difficult. The crucial thing to remember is that overtime is calculated weekly under federal law. This means that if employees work more than 40 hours during the week of a normally paid holiday, such as Thanksgiving, Christmas, or New Year’s Day, they are entitled to “time and a half” for the additional hours worked.

There is also a daily overtime requirement in some states. If an employee works more than eight hours in a day, they are entitled to “time and a half” for each hour worked in excess of eight hours. Assume you own a firm in California and your employee works 10 hours on Christmas Day. Overtime pay for two hours is required under state legislation.

Some businesses may choose to provide double-time to employees working on holidays as an incentive. This means that their regular wage is multiplied by two. 

How To Calculate Holiday Pay

If you give time-and-a-half pay for working on a holiday, simply multiply the regular hourly rate of the employee by half. For example, if an employee’s usual hourly wage is $12, their holiday pay would be $18. When you utilize online payroll software, it usually handles all of the computations for you.

Under federal law, overtime is computed weekly. This means that if you offer overtime pay to nonexempt employees, they are entitled to time-and-a-half pay for any hours worked in excess of 40 per week.

Benefits Of Giving Your Employees Holiday Pay

There are several advantages to providing holiday pay to employees in any form:

#1. It may boost productivity.

Employees who receive holiday pay may feel more valued, which may increase engagement. Overtime pay can also encourage employees to work more hours, increasing overall productivity for your company.

#2. It can increase motivation.

Paid holidays off can be a major motivator for employees because they know they will be given days off without losing pay. Paid time off has been shown to reduce stress, improve mental health, and increase productivity. All of these are beneficial to both employees and businesses.

#3. It provides an incentive to work during the holidays.

It’s no secret that few employees want to work on holidays. Therefore, offering holiday compensation, such as time-and-a-half or extra pay, is a wonderful way to make it worthwhile for your employees’ time. This is especially crucial if you must remain open or conduct the majority of your business on holidays. This is especially likely if your firm is retail.

#4. It has the potential to attract elite personnel.

Giving your employees holiday pay demonstrates that you love and care about them and their personal time, which helps you attract strong job prospects.

How to Create a Holiday Pay Policy for Your Company

The most important thing to remember when creating this policy is to be explicit and specific about what is allowed, what is not, and how any holiday compensation is computed. This assists you in avoiding angry staff and potential legal action. Your vacation policy should include the following four components:

#1. Define floating vacations.

If you choose to provide floating holidays to employees to cover religious or cultural holidays, clearly define how and when they accrue (e.g., three days at the start of each calendar year) and whether any unused floating holidays can be carried over to the following year or cashed out when an employee leaves the company.

#2. Be specific about who is eligible.

Your policy should specify which employees are eligible for holiday pay and which criteria render them eligible or ineligible. For example, you could specify that employees must be scheduled for at least 20 hours per week and be in good standing with the company to be eligible for holiday pay.

#3. Explain how time and a half is computed.

If you have hourly employees who are entitled to time and a half holiday pay, explain how that pay is computed and determined in detail. Holiday hours must be compensated at no less than the ordinary rate of pay, according to the legislation. The FLSA does not mandate overtime, time-and-a-half, or double-time pay for hours worked on holidays. However, it does mandate time-and-a-half pay for any hours performed in excess of 40 in a given workweek.

#4. Describe exempt employees’ holiday pay.

If your company only has salaried, exempt employees, explain in full how holiday pay will function. For example, if your company closes for the week between Christmas and New Year’s, specify whether those days will be paid or unpaid in the policy. The FLSA requires that any exempt employee receive their entire wage for each workweek in which they work and that any business shutdown (including holidays) is not an approved FLSA deduction. This means that salaried, exempt employees must receive their full pay if the business closes for a holiday.

Is Holiday Pay Mandatory?

Employers are frequently required by international labor rules to provide paid time off during major holidays. However, in the United States, it is not mandatory, nor are employers compelled to pay additional compensation for labor performed during holidays. Employers are required by federal law to make reasonable accommodations for employees to celebrate religious holidays, but they are not required to provide holiday time off or additional pay.

Holiday Pay for Hourly Employees

Do firms in the United States have to provide holiday pay to hourly employees? The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) does not require private firms to pay employees for unworked time at the federal level.

If you have the option of offering paid holidays, following certain guidelines can assist you in developing your policy. As with any policy, having an employment lawyer examine it before adding it to your employee handbook might be beneficial.

Holiday Pay Laws

All businesses that are open for business on a state or federal holidays should strictly adhere to holiday pay requirements. Employers are not required by federal law to pay their employees extra compensation (i.e., time and a half) for working on a holiday. In truth, the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) only compels businesses to pay employees for time spent; employers are not required to pay employees for holidays when they are not required to work. For example, if an employee takes the day off on Christmas Day, a federal holiday, he or she is not entitled to pay for that day.

Having said that, many firms do normally offer and pay for holiday time off to all employees. Employers should specify which holidays employees will have off and whether or not they will be paid for that time off in the employment contract. Employers should also mention whether or not additional compensation will be paid for employees working on holidays.

Exempt Employees

Exempt employees are individuals who are paid an annual pay rather than an hourly wage. When the company is closed, all exempt employees get compensated. If such employees are not paid, the employer risks having the exempt employee’s status converted to non-exempt. At this point, employees can be paid overtime for the extra time worked over the standard 40 hours. Furthermore, an exempt employee is not eligible for supplemental remuneration or overtime pay if he or she works on Christmas or any other federal holiday.

Non-Exempt Employees

Non-exempt employees are paid on an hourly basis, as opposed to exempt employees. Employers are not required to pay non-exempt employees extra remuneration for working holidays, yet most do. Most employers will give non-exempt employees time and a half for working on a holiday. However, if a non-exempt employee does not get the time and a half, all hours worked in excess of the 40 hours must be compensated for. As a result, if a non-exempt employee works 45 hours in a week, employers must pay time and a half for the additional five hours.

In Conclusion,

Because holiday pay is typically at the discretion of the employer, it can vary from person to person. It is critical to understand what holiday pay is, how it is calculated, and how to develop a holiday pay policy before deciding how much, if anything, to pay employees who work or do not work on holidays.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is holiday pay different from normal pay?

In general, holidays are treated like regular workdays, and employees are paid for the time spent. If a federal holiday falls on a weekend, it is usually observed on the next available weekday.

How do you explain holiday pay?

Holiday pay refers to any sort of alternative compensation provided by an employer to employees during holidays.

What is time and half for $20 an hour?

Time and a half for $20 an hour is $30 an hour.

  1. HOW DOES SALARY PAY WORK: How Salaried Workers are Compensated
  2. Is Saturday a Business Day for Banks: All you Should Know About Bank Working Days
  3. Minimum wage in Florida: what is Florida minimum wage in 2022?
  4. How Many Working Hours in a Year: How to Calculate, Stressfree!!!
  5. 3 Fun Ideas for a Company Holiday Party
  6. COMMISSION PAY: Methods, How It works; Is It Right For me?
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like