普通收入:定义和例子

普通收入

您之前可能已经将普通收入理解为简单的工作收入,但普通收入不仅仅是通过工作获得的收入。 因此,您将了解作为普通收入征税或不征税的股息; 您将了解2022年不同州和不同类别的各种普通所得税税率,您还将在本文中了解资本收益与普通收入之间的差异。

普通收入

广义上的普通收入是通过就业获得的钱。 时薪、薪水、小费、佣金、债券利息、营业收入、一些租金和特许权使用费、持有不到一年的短期资本收益以及不合格的股息都属于这一类。

它不包括属于长期资本收益类别的所有内容。 这通常与出售财产的收益有关。 任何按固定税率征税并由个人或实体收到的收入都称为“普通收入”。 除了工资和薪水,它还包括短期资本收益、不合格的股息、小费、奖金、佣金、租金、特许权使用费和利息收入。

了解普通收入

个人收入和公司收入是普通收入的两种主要类型。 受美国国税局规定的标准边际所得税税率约束的任何类型的现金流入被称为“个人普通收入”(IRS)。 另一方面,对于企业来说,这个词是指通过常规产生的任何形式的收入。 日常业务运营——出售长期资本资产(如房地产或机械)获得的收入除外。 合格股息和长期资本收益的征税方式不同,不被视为固定收入。

在某种程度上,普通收入与其他类型的收入不同,因为它是如何征税的。 长期资本收益不同于普通收入,不仅在于它是什么,还在于它的征税方式。 长期资本收益按通常所说的优惠或优惠税率征税。 这可以在 0% 到 20% 的范围内。 政府对长期资本收益收取较低、仁慈的利率,以鼓励人们进行长期投资。 产生的大部分收入被视为固定收入。 这是因为,由于资本收益被定义为通过出售财产赚取的钱。 您的大部分钱将来自工资和收入,而不是来自您赚取的收入,除非您购买房产然后再出售。

普通所得税税率

对于 2021 年和 2022 年的普通所得税年度,大部分常规收入有七个税率等级:10%、12%、22.5%、24.5%、32.5%、35.5% 和 37.5%。 根据您的应税收入和报税身份——单身、已婚联合报税、或符合条件的寡妇、已婚分开报税或户主——您将按一定的税率纳税。 一般来说,您的税率会随着您的工资而增加。

一月份,美国国税局开始收取纳税人当前纳税年度的申报表。 大多数美国人必须在 18 月 17 日之前提交,而他们可以要求延长六个月,直到 2022 月 2023 日。2023 纳税年度的新税级,您将在 10 年 2022 月或 10 年 12 月提交的税款,如果您美国国税局于 22.5 月 24.5 日宣布申请延期。对于 32.5 纳税年度,大部分常规收入有七个税级:35.5%、37.5%、XNUMX%、XNUMX%、XNUMX%、XNUMX% 和XNUMX%。

资本收益与普通收入

您是否想知道资本利得税和普通所得税有何不同? 不仅仅是你:每年都有数百万人想知道同样的事情。 毕竟,资本利得税和普通所得税之间的区别可能并不总是很清楚。 但是,它会显着影响您每年欠多少税款。 在这里,我们研究了这些税收之间的差异以及它们如何影响您的财务状况。

美国国税局 (IRS) 和联邦政府已引入资本利得税作为一种有利的税收待遇。 这样做的主要理由是鼓励投资者购买和持有资本资产(如股票和房地产)。 而普通所得税是对收入、利息和短期资本收益征收的。

将所得税想象为联邦征收的费用,对您通过工作和个人努力赚取的任何钱征收。 这是考虑资本收益与所得税的有用方法。 同时,资本利得税是对购买资产的利润征收的。 这包括度假屋或股票,以及随后出售这些以获取利润。

比较资本收益与普通收入

根据长期和短期资本利得,资本利得税进一步分为两类。 在拥有资产至少一年后,您必须将其出售以实现长期资本收益,并以较低的税率征税。 相反,短期资本收益需缴纳较高的常规普通所得税税率。 考虑到随着时间的推移可能产生的税收优惠。 这似乎是合理的,因为投资者将被激励购买并保持长期投资。 然而,支付短期资本利得税也很常见。 如果您正在交易股票、改造、翻转房屋或从事其他快速转变的企业。

最后,工资和收入、利息收入和短期资本收益均需缴纳普通所得税。 相反,资本利得税是一种有利的税收待遇,可减少通过投资活动获得的收益税。 这些收益旨在吸引投资者购买和持有资本资产。 对于单身纳税人,如果低于 0 美元,资本利得税税率为年收入的 80,000%,15 美元至 80,000 美元之间为 445,450%,之后为 20%。 对于联合报税的已婚夫妇,税率为他们年收入超过 20 美元的 496,600%。

股息是否作为普通收入征税?

股息是公司可能向您提供的财产分配,如果您持有它们的股份。 大多数股息是由公司以现金形式提供的。 然而,他们也可以以另一家公司的股票或任何其他资产的形式支付。 如果您拥有合伙企业、遗产、信托、S 公司或需要缴纳公司税的组织,您也可以获得分配。

如果公司支付股东的债务,向股东提供服务,或允许股东使用公司的财产而没有充分补偿公司。 反过来,该股东可能被视为已收到股息。 股东向公司提供服务也可以解释为公司支付给股东服务提供商的费用高于支付给第三方相同服务的费用。 在这种情况下,股东有权获得股息。 股东也可以从分配公司获得分配。 这些分配可以包括更多的股票或股票期权,它们可能会或可能不会被归类为股息。 

他们因公司的收入和利润而得到补偿。 股息可根据征税方式归类为普通收入。 普通股息按普通收入征税,但符合特定标准的合格股息须按较低税率缴纳资本利得税。 这是因为不符合美国国税局标准而有资格获得较低税率的股息被称为不合格股息。 美国国税局将这些支出作为常规收入征税。 它们也被称为普通股息。 非合格股息包括: 某些海外公司可能会或可能不会支付合格股息。

2022年普通所得税税率

总统的预算提案将降低最高税率生效的门槛,以提高最高个人税率。 例如,一旦单身申报者的应税收入超过 37 美元,已婚夫妇联合申报的应税收入超过 2022 美元,539,900 年 647,850% 的最高税率就适用。 2022 年的所得税范围比 2021 年要宽一些。尽管税率保持不变。 用于计算调整的 12 年 2020 月至 2021 年 XNUMX 月这 XNUMX 个月期间的通货膨胀是造成差异的罪魁祸首。

这是因为预计 2022 年多付的税收罚款率低于 5%(公司为 4%)。 公司多付额超过 2.5 美元的部分需支付 10,000% 的费用。 大公司少付 5% 到 7%。

了解2022年的普通收入

金融专家警告说,您今年的纳税申报表可能会减少。 这尤其适用于习惯于每年这个时候从美国国税局获得一个的人。 到 2022 年,数以百万计的美国人可能会获得较少的退款,或者最终可能会支付 IRS 的钱。 您将很快收到 5% 的利息,但要交税。 根据美国国税局的说法,如果您仍在等待退货,通常会收取利息并将增加至 5%。 如果组织在提交日期之后需要超过 45 天的时间提交您的报税表,则利息将被添加。

此外,2022 纳税年度有七个联邦税级。 范围为 10%、12%、22%、24%、32%、35% 和 37%。 您在 2022 年的申报身份和应税收入决定了您的税级。 2022年单一申报人的税率,如果满足以下条件:

  • 超过539,900美元
  • 162,718 美元的总和 + 超过 37 美元的 539,900%

总结

您的普通收入的税率与 2022 年的股息税率相同,即使其中一些税款可以扣除,您必须了解它的运作方式,包括股息计入您的普通收入的税率,以及作为资本收益和您的普通收入之间的主要区别。

常见问题

普通收入如何计算?

对于个人而言,普通收入通常包括他们所赚取的税前工资和工资。 在公司环境中,普通收入来自常规的日常业务运营,不包括出售资本资产获得的收入

应税收入和普通收入有什么区别?

应税收入按普通​​收入计算,减去所有允许的扣除、免税和抵免。

普通收入和劳动收入一样吗?

普通收入也称为“挣得的收入”。 顾名思义,赚取的(或普通的)收入是从您的商业活动或工作中赚取的任何钱。 它可以以工资、佣金、小费或为他人工作获得的奖金的形式出现

  1. 普通年金:公式及计算方法
  2. 401 (k) 提款:规则和 4 种避免处罚的方法
  3. 2022 年健康储蓄账户规则(HSA 规则)(更新!)
  4. 资金来源:小企业和企业家万无一失的清单
  5. 股息共同基金:定义、运作方式、利弊
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

ORDINARY INCOME: Definition & Examples

ordinary income

You may have known ordinary income before now as simple money earned from working, but there is a lot more to ordinary income than just money earned through employment. Hence, you will learn about the dividends that are taxed or not taxed as ordinary income; you will learn about the various ordinary income tax rates in different states and different categories in 2022, and you will also learn about the differences between capital gain vs ordinary income all in this article.

Ordinary Income

Ordinary income, in its broadest sense, is money gained via employment. Hourly pay, salaries, tips, commissions, bond interest, business income, some rents and royalties, short-term capital gains held for less than a year, and nonqualified dividends fall under this category.

It excludes everything that falls under the category of long-term capital gain. This typically relates to the proceeds from the sale of a property. Any sort of income that is taxable at regular rates and received by a person or entity is referred to as “ordinary income.” In addition to wages and salaries, it includes short-term capital gains, unqualified dividends, tips, bonuses, commissions, rents, royalties, and interest income.

Understanding Ordinary Income

Personal income and company revenue are the two main types of ordinary income. Any type of cash inflow that is subject to the standard marginal income tax rates as specified by the Internal Revenue Service is referred to as “personal ordinary income” (IRS). On the other hand, for businesses, the word refers to any form of income produced via routine. Everyday business operations—with the exception of income derived from the sale of long-term capital assets, such as real estate or machinery. Qualified dividends and long-term capital gains are taxed differently and are not regarded as regular income.

In part, ordinary income differs from other types of income due to how it is taxed. Long-term capital gain differs from ordinary income, not just in what it is but also in how it is taxed. Long-term capital gains are taxed at what is frequently referred to as a favorable or preferential rate. This can range from 0% to 20%. The government charges lower, benevolent rates on long-term capital gains to encourage people to make long-term investments. The majority of revenue produced is considered regular income. This is because, since the capital gain is defined as money made through the sale of a property. The majority of your money will come from salary and earnings, not from the income you earn unless you purchase a property and then sell it later.

Ordinary Income Tax Rate

For the 2021 and 2022 ordinary income tax years, there are seven tax rate brackets for the majority of regular income: 10%, 12%, 22.5%, 24.5%, 32.5%, 35.5%, and 37.5%. Depending on your taxable income and filing status—single, married filing jointly, or qualifying widow(er), married filing separately, or head of household—you will be taxed at a certain rate. Generally speaking, your tax rate increases as your pay does.

In January, the IRS began taking taxpayers’ returns for the current tax year. The majority of Americans have until April 18 to file, while they can ask for an extension of six months until October 17. The new tax brackets for the 2022 tax year, for taxes you’ll file in April 2023, or October 2023 if you file an extension, were announced by the IRS on November 10. For the 2022 tax year, there are seven tax brackets for the majority of regular income: 10%, 12%, 22.5%, 24.5%, 32.5%, 35.5%, and 37.5%.

Capital Gain vs. Ordinary Income

Are you wondering how capital gains and ordinary income taxes differ? It’s not just you: Millions of people wonder the same thing every year. After all, the distinction between capital gains and ordinary income tax may not always be clear. But, it can significantly affect how much tax you owe each year. Here, we examine the differences between these taxes and how they could affect your finances.

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and the federal government have introduced capital gains taxes as a beneficial tax treatment. The main justifications for doing this are to encourage investors to purchase and hold capital assets (such as stocks and real estate). While ordinary income taxes are levied on revenues from income, interest, and short-term capital gains.

Imagine income tax as a federally imposed fee that is imposed on any money that you have earned through your job and personal effort. This is a helpful way to think about capital gains vs. income tax. Meanwhile, capital gains taxes are levied on earnings made as a profit from the purchase of an asset. This includes a vacation house or stock, and the subsequent sale of the same for a profit.

Comparing Capital Gain vs. Ordinary Income

Based on long-term and short-term capital gains, capital gains taxes are further divided into two categories. After owning an asset for at least a year, you must sell it to realize long-term capital gains, which are taxed at a lower rate. Instead, short-term capital gains are subject to the higher regular ordinary income tax rate. Given the possible tax benefits that could accrue over time. This seems reasonable because investors would be motivated to purchase and keep long-term investments. However, paying short-term capital gains taxes is also frequent. If you’re trading stocks, remodeling, flipping houses, or working on other quick-turn ventures.

Lastly, wages and income, interest income, and short-term capital gains are all subject to ordinary income taxes. Contrarily, capital gains taxes are a beneficial tax treatment that reduces taxes on earnings gained through investment activities. These gains are intended to entice investors to purchase and hold capital assets. For single taxpayers, the capital gains tax rate is 0% of your annual income if it is under $80,000, 15% between $80,000 and $445,450, and 20% after that. For married couples filing jointly, the rate is 20% of their annual income that exceeds $496,600.

Are Dividends Taxed as Ordinary Income?

Dividends are property distributions that a company may provide you if you hold shares in them. Most dividends are given by corporations in cash. They may, however, also pay them in the form of another corporation’s stock or any other asset. You may also get distributions if you own a partnership, an estate, a trust, an S company, or an organization that is subject to corporate tax.

If a corporation pays a shareholder’s debt, provides services to the shareholder, or permits the shareholder to use the firm’s property without adequately compensating the corporation. This shareholder may in turn be deemed to have received a dividend. The provision of services by a shareholder to a corporation could also be construed as the corporation paying the shareholder service provider more than it would pay a third party for the same services. In this event, the shareholder is entitled to a dividend. A shareholder may also get distributions from the distributing company. These distributions can include more shares or stock options, which may or may not be classified as dividends. 

They are compensated for the company’s earnings and profits. Dividends can be categorized as ordinary income depending on how they are taxed. Ordinary dividends are taxed as ordinary income, but qualified dividends that satisfy specific criteria are subject to capital gains tax at a lower rate. This is because a dividend that doesn’t meet IRS criteria to be eligible for a lower tax rate is referred to as a nonqualified dividend. The IRS taxes these payouts as regular income. They are also known as ordinary dividends. Nonqualified dividends include: Certain overseas corporations may or may not pay qualified dividends.

Ordinary Income Tax Rate in 2022

The President’s budget proposal would decrease the threshold at which the top rate takes effect to boost the top individual rate. For instance, the top rate of 37 percent in 2022 applies once taxable income exceeds $539,900 for single filers and $647,850 for married couples filing jointly. The income tax bands for 2022 are a little wider than they were for 2021. This is despite the fact that tax rates remained the same. Inflation throughout the 12-month period from September 2020 to August 2021, which is used to calculate the adjustments, is to blame for the discrepancy.

This is because the forecast tax penalty rate for overpayments in 2022 is less than 5% (4 percent in the case of a corporation). There is a 2.5 percent fee for the portion of a corporate overpayment that exceeds $10,000. 5% to 7 percent for underpayments by large corporations.

Knowing Ordinary Income in 2022

Financial experts caution that you might get a smaller tax return this year. This is especially for people who are used to getting one from the IRS around this time each year. In 2022, millions of Americans might get smaller refunds or perhaps end up paying the IRS money. You will shortly receive interest in the amount of 5%, but it is taxed. According to the IRS, if you’re still waiting for a return, interest will typically be collected and will increase to 5%. If the organization takes more than 45 days to submit your return beyond the filing date, interest will be added.

Additionally, there are seven federal tax brackets for the 2022 tax year. This ranges from 10 percent, 12 percent, 22 percent, 24 percent, 32 percent, 35 percent, and 37 percent. Your filing status and taxable income in 2022 determine your tax bracket. Single Filers’ Tax Rates in 2022, if the following conditions are met:

  • Over $539,900
  • Sum of $162,718 + 37% of the excess over $539,900

Conclusion

Your ordinary income is taxed at the same rate as your dividends in 2022, even though some of these taxes are deductible, and it is imperative that you understand how it functions, including the rate at which dividends are included in your ordinary income, as well as the key difference between a capital gain and your ordinary income.

FAQs

How do you calculate ordinary income?

For individuals, ordinary income usually consists of the pretax salaries and wages they have earned. In a corporate setting, ordinary income comes from regular day-to-day business operations, excluding income gained from selling capital assets

What is the difference between taxable income and ordinary income?

Taxable income is calculated as ordinary income, minus all allowable deductions, exemptions, and credits.

Is ordinary income the same as earned income?

Ordinary income is also called “earned income.” As the name implies, earned (or ordinary) income is any money earned from your business activities or employment. It can come in the form of a salary, commissions, tips, or bonuses gained by working for someone else

  1. Ordinary Annuity: Formula & How to Calculate
  2. 401 (k) WITHDRAWALS: Rules & 4 Ways To Avoid Penalties
  3. Health Savings Account Rules (HSA Rules) 2022 (Updated!)
  4. Sources of finance: A foolproof list for small businesses and entrepreneurs
  5. Dividend Mutual Funds: Definition, How they Work, Pros & Cons
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like