什么是液体净值:定义和如何计算液体净值

什么是液体净值
图片来源:Onjuno

在评估短期和长期财务目标时,将资产价值与负债价值进行比较可能会很有用。 这就是净资产的来源; 它可以帮助您确定是否应该减少每月支出、开设退休储蓄账户或更改预扣税款。 总净值和流动净值是两种最常见的净值类型。 我们定义了流动资产净值,并在本指南中向您解释如何使用其计算器进行计算; 包括区分流动净值与总净值。

什么是液体净值?

从您的流动资产中扣除您的负债后,您的流动净值是您拥有的现金或现金等价物的金额。 它与净资产非常相似,只是它不包括房地产和退休基金等非流动资产。

另一方面,流动和非流动资产会影响您的总净资产。 这涉及将您所有资产的价值加起来,包括车辆、房地产、退休账户、证券、现金以及其他任何具有货币价值的东西。 然后,您的负债价值将从该总额中扣除。 如果您的负债超过您的资产,您将拥有负净资产。 如果您的资产价值超过您的负债,您将拥有正的净资产。 学生贷款、汽车贷款、 信用卡 账单、税收和抵押贷款只是其中的几个例子。

详情

手头现金或可以轻松转换为现金的资产是流动资产。 现金在流动性方面至高无上,就像现金一样 法定货币 是最终目标。 可以在短时间内变现的资产与现金的相似之处在于资产所有者可以在交易交换中快速、轻松地获得现金。

因为所有者确信资产可以在任何时候快速交易为现金,所以流动资产经常被视为现金,可能被称为现金等价物。

要使流动资产被称为流动性,必须存在许多要素。 它需要在一个成熟的、流动性强的市场中,拥有大量愿意的客户。 所有权的转移也必须是安全和简单的。 兑换货币所需的时间因情况而异。

可以立即兑换成现金的现金和证券是流动性最强的资产。 现金转换预测为一年或更短的资产也可能被公司视为具有流动性。 这些资产是公司的 当前资产 一起服用时。 应收账款和存货现在属于流动资产的定义。

流动资产对个人和公司都至关重要,因为它们是支付付款义务时的初始现金来源。

如何计算液体净值

你需要计算你的流动资产净值来计算你有多少钱。 短期投资和股票是流动资产的例子,尽管储蓄账户中的钱也可以被认为是流动的,因为它可以根据需要从 ATM 中提取。

要计算您的流动资产净值,首先要计算出您欠多少债务,然后使用计算器从您的总流动资产中扣除该金额。 如果您的一些流动资产受到流动性折扣的影响,您需要将其纳入您的计算中。

考虑以下场景:您手头有 50,000 美元现金和 200,000 美元共同基金。 另一方面,您的 401(k) 账户价值 100,000 美元。 如果这些是你唯一的流动资产,你总共有 350,000 美元。 如果您欠 30,000 美元的贷款,则您欠 30,000 美元,并且有 30,000 美元的负债。 从流动资产的总量中减去该金额。 如果你从 30,000 美元中减去 350,000 美元,你最终将得到 320,000 美元。 这是您在流动资产中拥有的金额。

如何增加你的液体净值

当你看到你的净资产时,你可能会对它感到满意,但是当你考虑到你的负债并计算你的流动净值时,这种幸福感很快就会被打破。 你想拥有尽可能多的钱来过上舒适的生活。 但看起来你的负债会阻止你这样做。

即使您的流动净资产不是您想要的,您也可以尝试改变它。 以下是一些随着时间的推移增加流动资产净值的策略。

#1。 考虑更多储蓄

如果您还没有,您应该考虑紧急储蓄。 紧急情况 储蓄账户 是有益的,因为它们保证您在危机期间最需要的时候有钱。 您可能不知道从哪里开始储蓄,特别是如果您目前正努力维持生计。

你不必马上开始存很多钱。 此外,您可以从低至 10 美元开始,随着时间的推移逐渐增加您的储蓄。 即使你继续节省 10 美元,你会花在披萨上。 随着时间的推移,您会看到不同之处,并且不会后悔省了一些钱。 如果您在制定预算时遇到问题,可以下载一个应用程序,该应用程序可以帮助您制定可靠的预算并防止您在不需要的项目上超支。 您还可以设置一个单独的储蓄账户,以避免浪费您的钱。

#2。 削减债务

当然,如果你有太多的债务,增加你的流动资产净值是不可能的。 如果您已经处于这种情况,则应该开始修剪它。 有些债务可以解决。 信用卡就是一个很好的例子。 例如,您可以同意每月支付更多款项,这将减少您的债务。

如果这不起作用, 债务合并 可能是一个很好的选择,因为它允许您进行一次付款而不是多次付款。 控制债务并偿还债务将变得不那么困难。

#3。 挣更多钱

如果您目前的收入不足,您可能想探索第二收入来源。 找一份兼职工作或卖一些东西来补充你的收入。 如果您可以增加收入,您将能够增加您的流动资产净值,让您的生活更轻松。

当然,您还应该节省成本和税收。 所以不要只是想出去玩得开心。

#4。 还清债务或储蓄

是存钱好还是还债好? 这对你来说可能是个大问题。 当然,这完全取决于您和您的财务状况。 为什么不同时考虑两者? 有可能 存钱 在还清债务的同时。 避免为此使用信用卡也是一个好主意。 与其偿还债务,不如储蓄。

理想情况下,您的每月付款应该足够高,不仅可以支付您每月所需的金额,还可以支付利息。 如果您不这样做,您将在较长时间内陷入债务困境。

您是否将退休账户计入流动资产净值?

你的流动资产净值应该包括你在短时间内可以变现的所有资产。 现在,不同的人对什么是“快速和简单”会有不同的理解。

但是,除非您非常接近退休年龄,否则您将无法在不产生费用或罚款的情况下使用您的退休账户或计划中的资金。 否则,如果您在计划时间之前从退休账户中取款,您可能需要支付罚款。 由于您不能立即将它们以全部市场价值转换为现金(或者至少在不产生额外费用的情况下不能),因此您不会将它们计入您的流动净资产。

你如何计算出你的流动资产净值?

要获得您的流动资产净值,请将您的流动负债从您的流动资产中扣除。 这将为您提供流动净资产。 “流动负债”一词是指在不久的将来到期的债务支付和其他义务。 流动资产包括任何可以轻松转换为现金的东西,而流动负债包括任何额外的负债(1-12 个月)。

如果我的流动净资产为负,这意味着什么?

普通人的净资产为负,流动性净资产为负。 如果您仍处于职业生涯的开始阶段,或者您有大量未偿还的学生贷款债务,请牢记这一点尤为重要。 有很多人没有足够的现金或其他流动资产来全额履行所有义务。 如果您想在减少责任的同时增加资产,请仔细阅读本文并遵循其中概述的措施。

什么是最具流动性的投资?

手头现金是迄今为止最具流动性的投资选择,因为它易于获取,而且您无需在使用前将其转换为另一种资产。 之后是储蓄账户、支票账户、高息储蓄账户、债券、存款证等。

401(k) 计划是否被视为个人流动净资产的一部分?

如果您尚未达到退休年龄,那么您的 401(k) 账户通常不会被视为您流动净资产的一部分。 在 401(k)、IRA 或任何其他类型的退休账户中持有的资金受关于何时以及如何释放的特定规定的约束。 在大多数情况下,提前提款将导致至少 10% 的罚款,此外还有所欠的任何税款。

流动性和非流动性市场

流动性和非流动性市场由个人和企业处理。 流动性的最终目标是现金,而转换为现金的容易程度通常将流动性市场与非流动性市场区分开来。 但还有其他几个因素需要考虑。

流动资产必须有一个完善的市场,拥有足够的买家和卖家,才能轻松转换为现金。 资产的市场价格不应该太高,因为这会导致以下市场参与者的流动性减少或流动性增加。

因为买卖双方的数量庞大。 股票市场是流动性市场的一个例子,可以轻松转换为现金。 公开交易的股票证券是流动资产。 因为它们可以使用电子平台按需以全部市场价值出售。 但是,根据市值和典型的股票交易量,每种证券的流动性可能会有所不同。

外汇市场是世界上流动性最强的市场,因为它每天 24 小时处理数万亿美元的交易。 让任何一个人都难以影响汇率。

总净值与液体净值

如果您的资产总值为 200,000 美元,并且您有 500,000 美元的各种形式的债务,您的总净资产将为 300,000 美元。 但是,您的流动资产净值与净资产的比值会更低,请记住它必须使用特定的计算器。

假设您想出售所有物品以支付重要的医疗费用、帮助有需要的家庭成员或开展新业务。 您可能无法获得所处置资产的全部市场价值,因为清算必须迅速进行。

在这种情况下,您可能会决定以低于公平市场价值 10% 的价格出售您的房屋,以便快速出售。 在出售第二辆汽车或度假物业时,您可能会做类似的事情。 如果您出售房地产,您还必须扣除交易费用。 如果您要出售股票或债券等金融资产,则适用相同的规则。

任何非现金资产的清算将始终包括交易费用。 您可能需要为快速销售的商品打折多少将取决于您需要多快销售它。

如果在产生 500,000 美元的清算费用之前,您必须将 50,000 美元的总资产折价 30,000 美元,那么您的总资产将为 420,000 美元。 使用您的计算器后,您的流动资产净值将在扣除 120,000 美元的负债后达到 300,000 美元。

尽管这比您的整体净资产少 80,000 美元,但它代表了您的真实净资产。

对于它的价值,您可以向银行申请贷款。 他们几乎肯定会接受你的整体净资产与流动性作为实际数字。 另一方面,如果您需要清算资产以筹集现金,则流动净值将是真实数字。

为什么液体净值很重要?

您可以立即获得的资金数量是关注您的流动资产净值的最重要原因。 流动资产净值是你现在所拥有的。 如果您采取严厉措施并清算所有资产,这不是您拥有的金额; 相反,它是您可以合理预期在短时间内拥有的金额。

因此,如果您有紧急的、不可预见的财务需求,例如医疗紧急情况、设备故障、诉讼或商业机会,您将转向您的流动资产净值。 因此,该衡量反映了贵公司的财务稳定性以及应对问题和机会的能力。 即使没有迫切的需求,了解您的流动资产净值也可以让您在现金流方面高枕无忧,并帮助您避免财务压力。

净资产是否考虑养老金?

尽管在计算一个人的净资产时通常不考虑它们,但养老金确实在退休计划过程中发挥了重要作用。 如果您在制定退休计划时包括在未来的收入流中,例如固定收益养老金计划和社会保障福利,那么您预计的退休收入要求可能会大大降低。

你计算抵押贷款的净资产吗?

重要的是要记住,为了计算您的净资产,您必须首先扣除所有负债,包括您的抵押贷款。 如果您的财产价值为 300,000 美元,而您的抵押贷款欠款为 200,000 美元,那么您的房屋净值将使您的净资产增加总计 100,000 美元(300,000 美元减去 200,000 美元等于 100,000 美元的净值)。

总结

流动资产本质上是现金或现金等价物,可以快速轻松地转换为货币。 在评估您的流动净资产时(此时您需要计算器的帮助),从您的资产中删除您的义务。 然而,计算您的净资产可能有助于比较和预算考虑。 通过这种方式,您将能够更全面地了解您的财务状况。

常见问题

什么是流动资产?

流动资产包括现金、支票和储蓄账户、股票、债券、共同基金和交易所交易基金 (ETF)。

流动资产净值包括你的房子吗?

不,通常不会。 卖房子需要时间,即使在有利的市场,你也必须等待至少一个月才能收到你的钱。

我应该保留多少流动现金?

大多数财务专家建议准备相当于六个月支出的现金储备:如果您每月需要 5,000 美元来生活,请预留 30,000 美元。

  1. 立即赚钱的最佳商业创意:40多个创意和商业计划
  2. 什么是短期投资:定义、示例和银行
  3. SHORT CALL:掌握短期呼叫策略的最佳简单指南
  4. 流动资产:股票是流动资产吗? 意义和实例
0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。

你也许也喜欢

WHAT IS LIQUID NET WORTH: Definition & How to Calculate Liquid Net Worth

What Is Liquid Net Worth
Image credit: Onjuno

It may be useful to compare the value of your assets against the value of your liabilities when you evaluate your short- and long-term financial goals. That’s where net worth comes in; it can help you figure out whether you should cut your monthly expenditure, open a retirement savings account, or change your tax withholdings. Total net worth and liquid net worth are the two most common types of net worth. We define liquid net worth and explain to you how to calculate it using its calculator in this guide; including differentiating between liquid net worth vs total net worth.

What Is Liquid Net Worth?

After deducting your liabilities from your liquid assets, your liquid net worth is the amount of money you have in cash or cash equivalents. It’s quite similar to net worth, with the exception that it excludes non-liquid assets like real estate and retirement funds.

Liquid and non-liquid assets, on the other hand, have an impact on your total net worth. This involves adding up the worth of all your assets, including vehicles, real estate, retirement accounts, securities, cash, and everything else with a monetary value. The value of your liabilities will then be out from this total. You’ll have a negative net worth if your liabilities surpass your assets. If your assets are worth more than your liabilities, you’ll have a positive net worth. Student loans, vehicle loans, credit card bills, taxes, and mortgages are just a few examples.

Overview

Cash on hand or an asset that can be easily converted to cash is a liquid asset. Cash reigns supreme in terms of liquidity, as cash as legal tender is the ultimate goal. Assets that can be converted to cash in a short period of time are similar to cash in that the asset owner can obtain cash quickly and readily in a transaction exchange.

Because the owner is sure that the assets may be quickly traded for cash at any moment, liquid assets are frequently seen as cash and may be referred to as cash equivalents.

For a liquid asset to be termed liquid, numerous elements must be present. It needs to be in a well-established, liquid market with a significant number of willing customers. The transfer of ownership must also be safe and simple. The time it takes to convert money varies in different circumstances.

Cash and securities that may be exchanged for cash immediately are the most liquid assets. Assets having a cash conversion forecast of one year or fewer might also be considered liquid by companies. These assets are the company’s current assets when taken together. Accounts receivable and inventories are now in the definition of liquid assets.

Liquid assets are critical for both individuals and corporations since they are the initial source of cash when it comes to paying payment obligations.

How to Calculate Liquid Net Worth

You’ll need to calculate your liquid net worth to figure out how much money you have. Short-term investments and stocks are examples of liquid assets, although money in a savings account can also be considered liquid because it can be withdrawn from an ATM as needed.

To calculate your liquid net worth, first, figure out how much you owe in obligations, then deduct that amount from your total liquid assets using a calculator. If some of your liquid assets are subject to a liquidity discount, you’ll need to factor it into your calculations.

Consider the following scenario: You have $50,000 in cash on hand and $200,000 in mutual funds. Your 401(k) account, on the other hand, is worth $100,000. If these were your sole liquid assets, you’d have $350,000 in total. If you owe $30,000 on a loan, you owe $30,000 and have $30,000 in liabilities. Subtract that amount from the total quantity of liquid assets. If you deduct $30,000 from $350,000, you’ll end up with $320,000. This is the amount of money you have in liquid assets.

How to Grow Your Liquid Net Worth

You may be pleased with your net worth when you see it, but that happiness is quickly shattered when you factor in your liabilities and calculate your liquid net worth. You want to have as much money as you need for a comfortable existence. But it appears that your liabilities will prevent you from doing so.

Even if your liquid net worth isn’t where you’d like it to be, you can try to change that. Here are some strategies for increasing your liquid net worth over time.

#1. Consider More Savings

You should consider emergency savings if you haven’t already. Emergency savings accounts are beneficial because they guarantee that you will have money when you need it most during a crisis. You might not know where to begin saving, especially if you’re currently struggling to make ends meet.

You don’t have to start saving a lot of money right away. Also, you can begin with as little as $10 and gradually increase your savings over time. Even if you continue to save $10 that you would have spent on a pizza. You will see a difference over time and will not regret saving some money. If you’re having trouble budgeting, you can download an app that can assist you in creating a solid budget and preventing you from overspending on items you don’t require. You can also set up a separate savings account to avoid being to squander your money.

#2. Cut Debt

Of course, if you have too much debt, increasing your liquid net worth is impossible. You should start trimming it if you’re already in that scenario. Some debts can be worked out. A credit card is an excellent example. For example, you could agree to make more monthly payments, which would reduce your debt.

If this doesn’t work, debt consolidation may be an excellent alternative because it allows you to make one payment rather than several. It will be less difficult to stay on top of your debt and pay it off.

#3. Earn More Money

If your current income is insufficient, you may want to explore having a secondary source of income. Get a part-time job or sell something to supplement your income. If you can increase your income, you will be able to increase your liquid net worth, making life easier for you.

Of course, you should save money on your costs and taxes as well. So don’t simply think about going out and having a good time.

#4. Paying off Debt or Saving

Is it better to save money or pay off debt? This could be a major problem for you. This, of course, is entirely dependent on you and your financial situation. Why not consider both at the same time? It is possible to save money while paying off debt. It’s also a good idea to avoid using a credit card for this. Instead of repaying your debt, you should save.

Your monthly payments should ideally be high enough to cover not just the amount you need each month, but also the interest. If you don’t do this, you’ll be stuck in debt for a longer period of time.

Do You Include Retirement Accounts in Liquid Net Worth?

Your liquid net worth should comprise all of the assets you have access to in a short amount of time that can be turned into cash. Now, what constitutes “fast and easy” will be perceived differently by different people.

However, unless you are very close to your retirement age, you will not be able to access the funds in your retirement account or plan without incurring a cost or penalty. Otherwise, you may have to pay penalties if you take money out of your retirement account before the time you had planned. Since you can’t immediately convert them into cash at their full market value (or at least not without incurring additional fees), you don’t factor them into your liquid net worth.

How Do You Figure Out Your Liquid Net Worth?

To get your liquid net worth, take your current liabilities and deduct them from your liquid assets. This will give you your liquid net worth. The term “current liabilities” refers to debt payments and other obligations that are due in the near future. Liquid assets comprise anything that may be easily converted to cash, while current liabilities include any additional liabilities (1-12 months).

What Does it Mean if I Have a Negative liquid Net Worth?

The average person has a negative net worth as well as a negative liquid net worth. This is especially important to keep in mind if you are still in the beginning phases of your professional life or if you have a significant amount of outstanding student loan debt. There are a lot of people who do not have sufficient cash or other liquid assets to meet all of their obligations in full. If you want to enhance your assets while decreasing your responsibilities, read this article carefully and follow the measures it outlines.

What Is the Most Liquid Investment?

Cash on hand is by far the most liquid investment option because it is simple to access and you do not need to convert it to another asset before you can utilize it. After that comes things like savings accounts, checking accounts, high-interest savings accounts, bonds, certificates of deposit, and so on.

Is a 401(k) Plan Considered Part of a Person’s Liquid Net Worth?

If you are not yet of retirement age, then your 401(k) account will not, as a rule, be considered part of your liquid net worth. The money that is held in a 401(k), an IRA, or any other type of retirement account is subject to certain regulations on when and how it can be released. In most cases, an early withdrawal will result in a penalty of at least 10%, in addition to any taxes that are owed.

Liquid and Non-Liquid Markets

Liquid and non-liquid markets are dealt with by both individuals and businesses. The ultimate goal for liquidity is cash, and the ease of converting to cash often distinguishes a liquid from a non-liquid market. But there are several other factors to consider.

A liquid asset must have a well-established market with sufficient buyers and sellers for it to be easily converted to cash. The asset’s market price should not be high, as this would result in less liquidity or more illiquidity for the following market players.

Because of the enormous number of buyers and sellers. The stock market is an example of a liquid market, allowing for easy conversion to cash. Publicly traded equities securities are liquid assets. Because they can be sold for full market values on-demand using electronic platforms. However, depending on market capitalization and typical share volume transactions, liquidity can differ for each security.

The foreign exchange market is the world’s most liquid market since it handles trillions of dollars in transactions every day, 24 hours a day. Making it hard for any single person to influence the exchange rate.

Total Net Worth vs Liquid Net Worth

Your overall net worth will be $200,000 if the gross value of your assets is $500,000 and you have $300,000 in all forms of obligations. However, your liquid net worth vs net worth will be lower, remember it has to be with a specific calculator.

Let’s imagine you wanted to sell all of your belongings to pay for significant medical treatment, assist a family member in need, or start a new business. You might not acquire full market value for the assets you’re disposing of because the liquidation would have to happen swiftly.

In that case, you may decide to sell your home for 10% less than its fair market worth in order to get a rapid sale. You may do something similar when selling a second automobile or a vacation property. You’ll also have to deduct transaction charges if you’re selling real estate. If you’re selling financial assets like stocks or bonds, the same rules apply.

The liquidation of any non-cash assets will always include transaction expenses. And how much you may have to discount an item for a speedy sale will be on how quickly you need to sell it.

If you have to discount your $500,000 in total assets by $50,000 before incurring $30,000 in liquidation fees, your total assets will be $420,000. After making use of your calculator your liquid net worth will be $120,000 after removing $300,000 in liabilities.

Although this is $80,000 less than your overall net worth, it represents your true net worth.

For what it’s worth, you can ask for a loan from a bank. They’ll almost certainly accept your overall net worth vs liquid as the actual figure. Liquid net worth, on the other hand, will be the true number if you need to liquidate your assets to raise cash.

Why Is Liquid Net Worth Important?

The number of funds you can access at a moment’s notice is the most essential reason to be concerned about your liquid net worth. Liquid net worth is what you have right now. It’s not the amount of money you’d have if you took drastic measures and liquidated all of your assets; rather, it’s the amount of money you may reasonably anticipate having for a short period of time.

So, if you have an immediate, unforeseen financial need, such as a medical emergency, equipment failure, a lawsuit, or a business opportunity, you’ll turn to your liquid net worth. As a result, the measurement reflects your company’s financial stability and ability to respond to problems and opportunities. Even if there isn’t a pressing need, knowing your liquid net worth can provide you peace of mind regarding your cash flow and help you avoid financial stress.

Is a Pension Considered in Net Worth?

Although they are not typically accounted for when calculating a person’s net worth, pensions do play a significant part in the process of retirement planning. Your predicted income requirements in retirement might be significantly reduced if you include in future income streams such as defined benefit pension plans and social security benefits when you are doing retirement planning.

Do You Count Mortgages in Net Worth?

It is important to keep in mind that in order to calculate your net worth, you must first deduct all of your liabilities, which include your mortgage. If the value of your property is $300,000 and the amount you owe on your mortgage is $200,000, the equity in your home will increase your net worth by a total of $100,000 ($300,000 minus $200,000 equals $100,000 equity).

Conclusion

Liquid assets are essentially cash or cash equivalents that can be converted into money quickly and readily. When assessing your liquid net worth (at this point you will need the assistance of a calculator), remove your obligations from your assets. Calculating your net worth, however, may be useful for comparison and budgeting considerations. You’ll be able to take a more holistic view of your financial condition this way.

FAQs

What qualifies as a liquid asset?

Liquid assets include cash, checking and savings accounts, equities, bonds, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds (ETFs).

Does liquid net worth include your house?

No, it usually does not. Selling a house takes time, and even in a favorable market, you’ll have to wait at least a month to receive your money.

How much liquid cash should I keep?

Most financial experts recommend having a cash reserve equal to six months’ worth of expenses: If you need $5,000 each month to live, set aside $30,000.

  1. Best business ideas to make money right away: 40+ ideas and business plans
  2. What Are SHORT-TERM INVESTMENTS: Definition, Examples, and Banks
  3. SHORT CALL: Best easy guide to master short call strategy
  4. Liquid Assets: Is Stock a Liquid Asset? Meaning and Practical Examples
0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like