个人责任保险:承保范围和费用

个人责任保险
图片来源:全国

房主保险单的一个典型组成部分是个人责任险。 虽然没有人愿意为自己家中的事故承担责任,但责任保险可以帮助您避免在意外发生时用现金支付。
考虑一下如果有人不幸从你的楼梯上摔下来会发生什么。 如果您被证明对事故负有法律责任,您可能需要为他们的医疗费用承担责任。
详细了解作为家庭保险单的个人责任险,以及如何选择责任险限额。 以下是房主保险单中的个人责任保险如何帮助您保护自己的一些例子。

什么是个人责任保险?

个人责任保险为您和您的家人提供财务保障。 您的房主保单的个人责任保险支付由您或您的家庭受保居民依法承担责任的其他人造成的人身伤害和财产损失索赔。

例如,如果有人从你的楼梯上摔下来,或者你的孩子无意中将球扔进邻居的窗户,打碎了一个昂贵的花瓶,你可能要为损失承担法律责任。

许多房主保险单包括至少 100,000 美元的个人责任保险,这意味着保险公司将在每次事故中向受伤人员支付最高金额。 如果您认为自己需要更大的保护,则可以使用更高的限制。 您还可以购买保护伞保单,以增加您的责任保险范围,使其超出基本责任保单的限制。

了解个人责任保险

个人责任保险是被称为责任保险或“第三方保险”的更广泛覆盖范围的一个子集。 责任保险有多种类型,但它们都有一个共同点:它们不承保给您造成的不幸,而是承保您无意中造成或可能被追究责任的其他人的不幸。

顾名思义,个人责任保险涵盖个人因个人行为造成的人身伤害或财产损失而产生的责任索赔。

可以通过三种方式获得:

  • 它是您的房主、租房者或居住保险政策的一部分。 这种保险有时被称为“综合个人责任”,包含在大多数个人保险单中。
  • 它是作为独立保单购买的,通常由不拥有或不租用有形财产的人购买,因此不需要房主保险。
  • 它被添加到现有政策中,通常是个人汽车或船只政策。

当包含在房主保单中时,个人责任保险不仅限于受保财产。 覆盖范围可以扩大到包括在国外发生的情况。 除某些例外情况外,该保单可赔偿因保单承保的事故而造成的人身伤害或财产损失。 一般而言,承保范围包括法律费用、法庭费用以及不超过保险合同规定金额的任何和解。

个人责任保险涵盖什么?

个人责任保险在一系列情况下为您承保,当您可能有法律义务为发生在您的财产上的其他人或在某些情况下发生在其他人的土地上的事情付款时。 以下是一些常见的个人责任索赔示例:

  • 由于访客在您家受伤而产生的医疗费用
  • 为收取保单可能涵盖的损害赔偿而提起的诉讼会产生法律费用。
  • 您的不负责任的作为或不作为造成的人身伤害或财产损失
  • 您的宠物可能会造成人身伤害或财产损失。

医疗服务付款

向他人支付医疗费用是另一种个人责任保险,通常包含在您的房主保单中。 房主、租房者或公寓政策通常涵盖为意外受伤的人支付所需的医疗费用。 无论您是否承担法律责任,都是如此。

医疗支付限额通常从每人 1,000 美元起。 根据您选择的承保类型,可能会提供更高额度的承保范围。

个人责任保险不包括什么?

以下是个人责任保险通常不会承保的一些情况,以及对其他可能承保的保险产品的建议。 查看您的房主政策以获取完整的排除清单。

#1。 汽车事故

您闯红灯并与 SUV 相撞。 第二辆车的三名乘客都受伤了,这辆SUV被撞倒了。 您的责任汽车保险将涵盖其他车辆乘客的医疗和维修费用。

#2。 商业责任

您经营一家以家庭为基础的企业,您的一位客户因错误的建议而起诉您。 虽然事件发生在您家中,但个人责任保险通常不涵盖与商业活动有关的案件。 相反,您需要商业保险。

#3。 您的家庭成员受伤

你和你住在一起的女儿绊倒了,从地下室的楼梯上摔了下来。 如果她是您家中的客人,个人责任保险可能会涵盖她的伤害,但由于她是家庭成员,她将不得不依靠自己的健康保险进行治疗。

#4。 故意伤害

您青春期的儿子和他的伙伴们在附近一家商店的外面到处喷着贬损的言论。 这是犯罪,不是事故或疏忽行为,因为他们故意造成这种损害。 您的责任保险几乎肯定不会涵盖您儿子的辩护。

您需要多少个人责任险?

房主保险的责任限额通常在 100,000 美元到 500,000 美元之间。 如果这还不够,迎合富裕客户需求的公司(例如 Chubb)的销售额达数百万美元。

您购买的个人责任保险金额取决于您的资产价值、被起诉的可能性以及您的风险承受能力。

考虑购买足够的个人责任保险来覆盖您的整个投资组合,包括您的房屋、储蓄和投资。 如果以下任何诉讼风险因素适用于您,您可能需要选择更高的金额:

  • 您喜欢可能危及他人的活动,例如滑雪、打猎或冲浪。
  • 在你的土地上,你有一个游泳池、蹦床或其他“有吸引力的麻烦”。
  • 你有一条狗。 (确认您的保险公司将承保该品种。)
  • 您是名人或社区的富有成员。
  • 你经常在家里举办派对。

是否需要房主个人责任保险?

通常没有规定要求您购买个人责任保险才能拥有房屋。 如果您有抵押贷款,您几乎可能需要个人责任保险。

大多数抵押贷款人需要危险保险,这是涵盖您房屋建设的房主政策的一部分。 当您购买房主险时,您几乎肯定会获得个人责任险。

如果您已还清抵押贷款或购买没有抵押贷款的房产,您可以选择不购买房主保险。 但是,在没有财务保护免受诉讼或房屋损坏的情况下离开是您应该仔细考虑的风险。

您需要多少个人责任险?

您的金融资产越多,您应该拥有的责任保险就越多。 如果您被起诉,为了减少经济损失的危险,您的责任保险最高限额应尽可能高。

例如,如果您的净资产为 600,000 美元,而您被起诉要求赔偿 400,000 美元,但只有 100,000 美元的承保范围,则原告可以扣押您的资产以支付剩余的 300,000 美元损失。 如果您拥有巨额净资产,原告更有可能追捕您,因为您可以更轻松地支付判决。

类别金额
个人责任险$100,000
对您提出的人身伤害或财产损失索赔($ 400,000)
可从个人资产中收回$300,000

如果您拥有 100,000 美元或更多的资产,您应该考虑购买保护伞保单或个人超额责任保险。 两者都充当具有更大最大值的额外覆盖范围。

换句话说,当您的房主的承保范围用尽时,保护伞政策和个人超额责任保险就会生效。 保护伞保单扩大了覆盖范围,而个人超额责任保险补充了基础保单。

在上述情况下,剩余的 300,000 美元将生效,保护您的资产。 请记住,您保单的承保范围会有所不同。

个人责任家庭保险的费用是多少?

个人责任保险的更大限额是可以负担得起的。 与其他房主保险变化(例如提高住宅覆盖率)相比,这一点尤其正确。 下表显示了在 200,000 美元的 State Farm 保单上扩大您的个人责任保险限额的成本。

个人责任险年度房主保险费率增加覆盖的成本
$100,000$4,339
$300,000$4,354$15
$500,000$4,364$10
$1,000,000$4,374$10

根据我们的计算,将您的个人责任保险增加三倍每年只需多花费 15 美元。 请记住,确切的费用将取决于您家的位置等。 但是,增加您的个人责任保险限额不应导致保费显着增加。

尽管伞式保单提供了更高的承保范围,但个人伞式责任保单的成本仍然很低。 拥有 1 万美元保险的个人总括责任保单每年将花费您 150 至 300 美元。 请记住,个人保护伞政策提供额外的保险,这意味着它会在您的房主或车辆保险单用尽后生效。

个人责任险和人身伤害险有什么区别?

如果您对他人造成人身伤害或财产损失,个人责任保险将为您提供保障。 人身伤害保险,尽管它的名字,不包括身体伤害。 相反,如果您因诽谤、诽谤或侵犯隐私而被起诉,它可以帮助您进行辩护。 尽管大多数房主计划都包括个人责任保险,但除非您将其添加为背书,否则您可能没有人身伤害保险。

个人责任保险是否有免赔额?

如果您提出房主的财产损失索赔,则免赔额是您必须支付的金额。 但是,责任索赔通常不需要免赔额。

个人责任保险是个好主意吗?

如果您被发现对他人的伤害或财产损失负有法律责任,那么拥有个人责任保险是在发生这种情况时保护您在经济上自给自足的能力的唯一方法。 如果您除了拥有其他有价值的资产外还拥有房屋,则应确保您拥有的个人责任保险金额足以覆盖这些资产的总价值。

每个人都有个人责任保险吗?

个人责任保险通常包含在房主和租房者购买的保险单中,有时也称为“保险范围 E”。 如果确定您要对他人的财产损失或人身伤害负责,我们将提供保险。

房主保险是否涵盖人身伤害?

只要所涉及的保单包括个人责任保险,个人伤害就包含在房主保险中,这是大多数计划的标准。 但是,您的个人责任保险不会涵盖因您的行为而造成的所有伤害。 本保单只承保因您自己的粗心而直接造成的伤害。 因此,您的个人责任保险将不涵盖任何故意进行的活动。 此外,您拥有的个人责任保险将仅涵盖您对他人造成的损害,但您的健康保险将支付您对自己造成的任何伤害。

什么保险比责任更好?

在考虑责任保险和全额保险之间的价格差异时,请记住,您将通过全额保险选项获得大量额外保险。 如果您造成了事故,即使您有一些基本责任保险的承保范围,这种承保范围也可能不足以保护您。

大多数人都有责任保险吗?

由于美国大部分州都要求购买汽车责任保险,因此大多数持有驾照的人都熟悉它。 如果驾车者在驾驶机动车辆时对他人造成伤害或对他人的财产造成损害,则该保险可为驾车者提供金钱保护。

个人责任保险常见问题解答

责任保险涵盖哪些内容?

责任保险特别涵盖财产和人身损害。

只有责任保险是什么意思?

简单地说,仅责任汽车保险是一种仅涵盖您造成的损失的保单,而不是您承受的损失。

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

你也许也喜欢

PERSONAL LIABILITY INSURANCE: Coverages and Costs

A typical component of a homeowners insurance policy is personal liability coverage. While no one wants to be held liable for an accident at their home, liability coverage may help you avoid paying out of cash if the unexpected happens.
Consider what might happen if someone were to take an unlucky tumble down your stairs. If you are proven legally culpable for the accident, you may be held liable for their medical expenditures.
Learn more about what personal liability cover as a home insurance policy, as well as how to select liability coverage limits. Here are some instances of how personal liability coverage in a homeowners insurance policy might help you protect yourself.

What is Personal Liability Insurance?

Personal liability insurance provides financial security for you and your family. Your homeowners’ policy’s personal liability coverage pays for claims of physical injury and property damage caused by others for which you or covered inhabitants of your household are legally accountable.

For example, if someone falls down your stairs or your child inadvertently tosses a ball through a neighbor’s window, smashing an expensive vase, you could be held legally liable for the damages.

Many homeowners insurance policies include a minimum of $100,000 in personal liability coverage, which means the insurance company will pay up to that amount to injured people per incident. Higher limitations are available if you believe you require greater protection. You can also buy an umbrella policy to increase your liability coverage beyond the limits of your basic liability policy.

Understanding Personal Liability Insurance

Personal liability insurance is a subset of the broader coverage category known as liability insurance or “third-party insurance.” There are several types of liability insurance, but they all have one thing in common: they cover not mishaps to you, but mishaps to others that you unwittingly cause or could be held accountable for.

Personal liability insurance, as the name implies, covers an individual against liability claims originating from bodily harm or property damage caused by personal actions.

It can be obtained in three ways:

  • It comes as part of your homeowners, renters, or habitation insurance policy. This coverage, sometimes known as “comprehensive personal liability,” is included in the majority of personal insurance policies.
  • It is acquired as a stand-alone policy, frequently by people who do not own or rent a physical property and hence do not require homeowners insurance.
  • It is added to an existing policy, which is typically a personal auto or watercraft policy.

Personal liability coverage is not confined to insured properties when included in a homeowners policy. Coverage can be extended to include situations that occur abroad. Subject to certain exclusions, the policy compensates for personal injury or property damage caused by an incidence covered by the policy. In general, the coverage includes legal expenses, court costs, and any settlements up to the amount indicated in the insurance contract.

What Does Personal Liability Insurance Cover?

Personal liability insurance covers you in a range of situations when you may be legally obligated to pay for something that happened to someone else on your property or, in some cases, on someone else’s land. Here are some examples of common personal liability claims:

  • Medical expenditures incurred as a result of a visitor’s injury at your house
  • Legal fees are incurred as a result of lawsuits filed to collect damages that may be covered by the policy.
  • Bodily harm or property damage caused by your irresponsible acts or omissions
  • Your pets may inflict bodily harm or property damage.

Payments for Medical Services

Medical payments to others is another sort of personal liability coverage that is generally included with your homeowners policy. A homeowners, renters, or condo policy often covers the payment of required medical expenditures for those who are wounded on your property by accident. This is true regardless of whether you are legally liable.

Medical payments coverage limits typically begin at $1,000 per person. Depending on the type of coverage you select, higher amounts of coverage may be available.

What Does Personal Liability Insurance Not Cover?

Below are some circumstances that personal liability insurance will not often cover, as well as suggestions for other insurance products that may. Check your homeowners’ policy for a complete list of exclusions.

#1. Car Mishaps

You run a red light and collide with an SUV. The second vehicle’s three passengers are all injured, and the SUV is totaled. Your liability automobile insurance would cover the medical and repair costs for the other vehicle’s passengers.

#2. Business Liability

You run a home-based business, and one of your clients sues you for faulty advice. Although the incident occurred in your home, personal liability insurance normally does not cover cases related to business activities. Instead, you’ll require business insurance.

#3. Injuries to members of your family

Your living-with-you daughter trips and falls down the basement stairs. Personal liability insurance might cover her injuries if she were a guest in your home, but because she’s a member of the household, she’ll have to rely on her own health insurance for treatment.

#4. Intentional injury

Your adolescent son and his buddies spray-paint derogatory remarks all over the outside of a nearby store. It is a crime, not an accident or an act of negligence, because they purposefully inflicted this damage. Your liability insurance will almost certainly not cover your son’s defense.

How Much Personal Liability Coverage Do You Require?

Homeowners insurance policies often have liability limits ranging from $100,000 to $500,000. If that isn’t enough, companies that cater to affluent customers, such as Chubb, sell sums in the millions.

The amount of personal liability insurance you purchase is determined by the value of your assets, the likelihood of being sued, and your risk tolerance.

Consider purchasing adequate personal liability insurance to cover your whole portfolio, including your home, savings, and investments. If any of the following lawsuit risk factors apply to you, you may want to choose a higher amount:

  • You enjoy activities that could endanger others, such as skiing, hunting, or surfing.
  • On your land, you have a swimming pool, trampoline, or other “attractive nuisance.”
  • You have a dog. (Confirm that your insurer will cover the breed.)
  • You are a celebrity or a wealthy member of the community.
  • You frequently have parties at your house.

Is Homeowners’ Personal Liability Insurance Required?

There is usually no regulation requiring you to have personal liability insurance in order to own a home. If you have a mortgage, you will almost probably need personal liability coverage.

Most mortgage lenders need hazard insurance, which is a component of a homeowners policy that covers your home’s construction. When you purchase homeowners insurance for hazard coverage, you will almost certainly receive personal liability coverage as well.

You may choose not to obtain homeowners insurance if you have paid off your mortgage or are purchasing a property without a mortgage. However, leaving without financial protection from litigation or the destruction of your home is a risk you should carefully consider.

How Much Personal Liability Coverage Do You Need?

The more your financial holdings, the more liability coverage you should have. To reduce the danger of financial loss if you are sued, your liability coverage maximum should be as high as you can afford.

For example, if your net worth is $600,000 and you are sued for $400,000 in damages but only have $100,000 in coverage, the plaintiff can seize your assets to cover the remaining $300,000 in damages. Plaintiffs are more likely to pursue you if you have a big net worth since you can pay out a judgment more easily.

CategoryAmount
Personal Liability Coverage$100,000
Personal Injury or Property Damage Claim Brought Against You($400,000)
Recoverable From Personal Assets$300,000

If you have $100,000 or more in assets, you should consider getting an umbrella policy or personal excess liability insurance. Both act as extra coverage with a larger maximum.

In other words, an umbrella policy and personal excess liability insurance kick in when your homeowners coverage limitations have been exhausted. An umbrella policy extends coverage, whereas personal excess liability insurance supplements the underlying policy.

An umbrella policy or personal excess liability insurance would kick in for the remaining $300,000 in the situation above, protecting your assets. Keep in mind that your policy’s coverage limits will vary.

How Much Does Personal Liability Home Insurance Cost?

A greater limit for personal liability coverage is quite affordable to obtain. This is especially true when compared to other homeowners insurance changes, such as boosting residence coverage. The table below shows the cost of expanding your personal liability coverage limits on a $200,000 State Farm policy.

Personal Liability CoverageAnnual Homeowners Insurance RateCost of Increased Coverage
$100,000$4,339
$300,000$4,354$15
$500,000$4,364$10
$1,000,000$4,374$10

According to our calculations, tripling your personal liability coverage costs only $15 more each year. Remember that the exact cost will vary depending on your home’s location, among other things. However, increasing your personal liability coverage limits should not result in a significant increase in premiums.

Despite the fact that umbrella policies give significantly higher coverage limits, the cost of personal umbrella liability policies remains inexpensive. A personal umbrella liability policy with $1 million of coverage will cost you between $150 and $300 per year. Remember that a personal umbrella policy provides extra coverage, which means it kicks in after your homeowners or vehicle insurance policies have been exhausted.

What is the Distinction Between Personal Liability and Personal Injury Coverage?

Personal liability insurance covers you if you cause bodily harm or property damage to another person. Personal injury coverage, despite its name, does not cover bodily harm. Instead, it can aid in your defense if you are sued for slander, libel, or invasion of privacy. Although most homeowners plans include personal liability coverage, you may not have personal injury coverage unless you add it as an endorsement.

Is Personal Liability Insurance Subject to a Deductible?

A deductible is the amount of money you must pay if you file a homeowners property damage claim. However, deductibles are not usually required for liability claims.

Personal Liability Insurance FAQs

What does the liability insurance cover?

Liability insurance especially covers property and personal damages.

What does it mean to have liability insurance only?

Simply defined, liability-only automobile insurance is a policy that only covers losses you cause, not those you sustain.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like