汽车保险免赔额:如何运作

汽车保险免赔额
汽车和司机

谈到汽车保险,有很多事情要考虑。 在评估汽车保险范围时,您不仅要考虑保费费用,还要考虑您的免赔额。
由于各种原因,免赔额很重要。 首先,您可能会随时为您的保单支付免赔额,因此它必须是您负担得起的。 此外,您选择的免赔额可能会直接影响您支付的汽车保险费金额。 购买保险时可能很想忽略免赔额,但这可能是一个比您意识到的更重要的考虑因素。 在这里,我们将了解汽车保险免赔额的运作方式。

什么是汽车保险免赔额?

汽车保险免赔额是您同意为发生事故后的汽车维修或更换而自付的金额。 如果您在事故中造成 5,000 美元的车辆损坏并且您有 500 美元的免赔额,则保险公司应支付 4,500 美元的索赔,而您负责剩余的 500 美元。

在结束您的汽车保险承保之前,您将与您的保险代理人或承运人讨论您的保险免赔额。 但是,您应该能够随时调整您的免赔额。

汽车保险免赔额如何运作?

汽车保险免赔额作为提交某些类型索赔的要求,通过要求他们预先支付一定比例的费用来防止投保人提出虚假索赔。 在购买保险单时,投保人选择并同意免赔额。

大多数汽车保险提供商只是从您的索赔报销中扣除免赔额。 例如,如果您的机械师花费 3,000 美元进行维修,并且您有 500 美元的免赔额,那么您的保险公司将寄给您一张 2,500 美元的支票以支付费用。

对于使用免赔额的所有类型的汽车保险,免赔额的工作方式相同。 此外,汽车保险免赔额的工作方式与健康保险的免赔额相同, 房主保险商业保险.

有哪些类型的汽车保险免赔额可用?

您的汽车保险单是各种保险的集合。 如果您在事故中有过错,某些保险(包括责任)会向另一方支付伤害和损害赔偿。 其他保险,如全面、碰撞、人身伤害保护和未投保的驾车者财产损失,可用于帮助承保乘客受伤和车辆损坏。 这些保险可能包括免赔额或包括免赔额的机会,以尽量减少保险费用。

以下是一些通常包括免赔额或可选择其中一项的承保范围示例:

#1。 碰撞

可选的碰撞保险涵盖在您有过错时与物体(如电线杆、护栏、邮箱或结构)碰撞造成的汽车损坏。 虽然碰撞保险不包括车辆的机械故障或正常磨损,但保险确实涵盖由坑洼或车辆滚动造成的损坏。

根据保险信息研究所的数据,碰撞保险的平均成本约为每年 300 美元(Triple-I)。 如果您在碰撞保险范围内提出汽车损坏索赔,则将适用您保单的免赔额。

#2。 综合的

可选的综合保险可保护您的汽车免受非碰撞事故造成的盗窃和损坏。 这包括火灾、洪水、故意破坏、冰雹、落石或树木以及撞到动物等威胁。

据 Triple-I 称,综合保险的平均年成本不到 200 美元。 如果您在综合保险范围内提出汽车损坏索赔,则将适用您保单的免赔额。

虽然在许多情况下可能适用免赔额,但在某些情况下您的综合免赔额可能不适用。 例如,在佛罗里达州、肯塔基州和南卡罗来纳州,如果您的挡风玻璃上有碎屑或裂缝,您的保险公司将在没有免赔额的情况下进行修复。 一些保险公司提供零免赔额综合保险,这意味着如果您就任何综合损害提出索赔,您无需支付任何费用,但您的保费会更高。

#3。 未投保/投保不足的驾驶者造成的财产损失

如果您与未投保或投保不足的司机发生事故,如果司机没有足够的保险来支付您的汽车损坏,或者如果司机逃跑,您可能有权根据您的未投保/投保不足提出索赔驾驶者财产损失保险。 并非每个州都可以获得此保险,但在有的州,它可能有州规定的免赔额。 当需要免赔额时,它通常很低,从 100 美元到 300 美元不等。

#4。 人身伤害保险

人身伤害 保护 (PIP) 覆盖范围可能包含在您的保单中,具体取决于您所在的州。 该保险有助于为您和您车上的所有乘客支付医疗费用。 它还可以帮助支付诸如拖欠工资之类的支出,或者如果您在事故后需要某人从事家务活动,因为您自己无法这样做。 根据您所在的州,如果您根据此承保范围提出索赔,您可能需要缴纳免赔额。 许多具有 PIP 免赔额的州提供各种替代方案,您选择的免赔额会影响您的费率。

哪些类型的汽车保险不需要免赔额?

大多数州都规定了责任保险,如果您在事故中有过错,这有助于为另一方或多方承担伤害和财产损失。 当您购买责任保险时,您将选择指定的保险金额。 这些是保险公司为承保索赔向另一方支付的最高金额。 没有免赔额,因为责任范围延伸到您伤害或损害的其他人。

如果您选择路边援助或租车报销等可选承保范围,通常没有免赔额,尽管您可以为这些附加项目提交的索赔数量可能存在承保范围和上限。

什么是平均汽车保险免赔额?

许多司机都有 500 美元的综合免赔额和碰撞免赔额计划,但有许多不同的免赔额可供选择。 您的免赔额选择通常由您选择的汽车保险公司和保单决定。 还值得记住的是,您的综合免赔额和碰撞免赔额不必匹配,而且其中一个免赔额高于另一个是相当典型的。

一般来说,您的综合免赔额和碰撞免赔额越大,您的整体保费就越低。 您的汽车保险免赔额将取决于您的预算以及如果您需要为车辆的承保维修提出索赔,您可以自付的金额。

汽车保险免赔额通常有以下金额:

  • $0
  • $100
  • $250
  • $500
  • $1,000
  • $1,500
  • $2,000
  • $2,500

您何时支付汽车保险的免赔额?

如果您造成车辆损坏的事故并提交碰撞保险索赔,您必须支付您的汽车保险免赔额。 如果您在事故中有过错并受伤,您还必须支付 PIP 免赔额。 在大多数情况下,如果您使用自己的保险,即使您没有过错,您也必须支付免赔额。

何时必须支付汽车保险免赔额示例

  • 当您使用 PIP 保险支付自己的医疗费用时,无论是谁的责任。
  • 当您在造成事故后向碰撞保险提出索赔时。
  • 当您使用自己的综合保险来保护您的车辆时。
  • 当使用未投保的驾驶者财产损失保险来承保由未投保或投保不足的驾驶员造成的汽车损坏时。
  • 当事故中存在共同过错并且您使用自己的保险支付车辆损坏和医疗费用时。

什么时候不需要支付您的汽车保险免赔额?

有时您不需要支付免赔额,但这种情况很少见。 在大多数情况下,如果您满足以下条件,您将无需支付免赔额:

  • 另一个司机是罪魁祸首。

如果其他司机撞到您并投保,您不应该为您向其保险公司提出的索赔支付免赔额。 您的免赔额仅在您向保险公司提出索赔时适用。

  • 如果您的免赔额减少,

一些保险提供商提供减少或消失的免赔额选项。 如果您有此保单条款,那么您在没有事故的情况下行驶的时间越长,您支付的免赔额就越少。 对于您没有发生事故的每一年,它通常是适用于您的免赔额的 100 美元信用额度。 例如,如果您有 500 美元的碰撞免赔额并且四年内没有发生事故,您可能有资格获得每年 100 美元的折扣。 如果您需要提出索赔,您的免赔额将为 100 美元,而不是原来的 500 美元。 当您使用减免免赔额时,通常需要等待一段时间才能再次使用。 与您的保险代理人或承运人代表交谈,了解此功能是否可用以及资格要求是什么。

选择汽车保险免赔额时的注意事项

有这么多的免赔额可供选择,您可能会困惑如何选择最好的免赔额。 在寻找汽车保险单时,请记住以下几点:

#1。 您想为汽车保险或维修支付更少的费用吗?

较高的免赔额通常会降低您的保险费率,但如果您提出车辆损坏索赔,您将支付更多的自付费用。 有些索赔甚至可能包含在您的免赔额中,在这种情况下,您必须自掏腰包支付全部金额。 例如,如果您撞倒一棵树并对车辆造成了 350 美元的损坏,而您的碰撞免赔额为 1,000 美元,则您将不得不自掏腰包支付所有维修费用。

如果您选择较低的免赔额,您的汽车保险费肯定会更高,但如果您提交索赔,您将产生更少的费用。 如果您的免赔额为 100 美元,而您因倒在树上而造成 350 美元的损失,您只需支付 100 美元的免赔额,而您的保险将支付剩余的 250 美元。 但是,较低的免赔额可能会导致您支付更多的保费而从不提出索赔。 这是保险的性质,也是您和保险公司承担的风险的说明。

#2。 你能从自己的口袋里支付多少钱?

在决定免赔额之前,请考虑如果您的汽车在事故中损坏,您可以支付多少费用。 如果该金额为 500 美元,您通常不应选择大于 500 美元的免赔额。 如果这样做,如果您有过错,您可能无法承担维修车辆的费用,并且必须支付免赔额。

#3。 您的贷方是否有免赔额要求?

如果您的车辆是融资或租赁的,您几乎肯定需要全面的碰撞保险。 如果是这种情况,您必须为每项选择免赔额。 一些贷方将使您能够为综合保险和碰撞保险承担最高免赔额。 与处理您的贷款或租赁的金融机构核实以查看是否适用任何限制至关重要。

如果你撞了另一辆车,你会支付免赔额吗?

如果发现您在撞到另一辆车的事故中有过错,您的汽车保险单包含许多可能生效的不同类型的保险。 您的人身伤害责任和财产损失责任将支付对另一方的损害以及对他们车辆的损害,并且没有与这些类型的保险相关的免赔额。 另一方面,如果您有碰撞保险并且您希望保险公司支付您车辆的维修费用,您将需要支付碰撞免赔额。

免赔额是 500 美元好还是 1,000 美元好?

绝大多数保险专业人士会建议您选择您有信心能够支付的免赔额。 如果您希望您的每月保费更便宜,您可能会考虑在有钱的情况下提高您的免赔额。 另一方面,如果 1,000 美元的免赔额不在您的经济能力范围内,选择较低的免赔额并支付较高的保费可能更有意义。 在决定免赔额时,最好考虑您车辆的价值。 例如,如果您的车辆只有 1,500 美元的价值,则设置 1,000 美元的免赔额意味着您的保险公司在发生事故时最多只能对您的车辆造成价值 500 美元的损失。

什么是碰撞保险免赔额?

碰撞保险理赔时,驾驶员需要自掏腰包支付一定的金额,称为碰撞保险免赔额。 如果驾驶员造成车辆损坏的事故,驾驶员的碰撞保险将支付修理或更换车辆的费用。 但是,在保险公司支付剩余费用之前,司机有责任支付碰撞免赔额。

什么是汽车保险的良好免赔额?

根据大多数保险代理人的建议,您的综合免赔额通常应该在 100 美元到 500 美元之间。 综合保险的索赔通常比碰撞索赔的损害要小,因此综合保险的免赔额较低是有道理的。

如果损坏超过可扣除的怎么办?

如果您的损失金额大于您的免赔额,保险公司将支付剩余余额,最高可达您的承保金额。 您是决定您的免赔额和承保限额的人,您有责任在您的保险公司开始支付剩余余额之前支付等于免赔额的款项。

打免赔额好吗?

是的。 跟踪数字很重要,因为您的免赔额将在每个计划年度开始时重新计算。 如果您已经达到或非常接近达到当年的免赔额,您应该考虑在计划年度结束前完成任何剩余的考试或程序,以减少您必须自付费用的金额.

总结

基本结论是选择合适的免赔额需要时间和思考。 专业的保险代理人可以根据消费者的驾驶历史、目前的财务状况、信用记录和整体财务规划目标,帮助他们做出最佳选择。

汽车保险免赔额常见问题解答

什么是汽车保险的良好免赔额?

保险代理人通常建议您的综合免赔额在 100 美元到 500 美元之间。 由于综合索赔通常比碰撞索赔的损失更小,因此具有较低的免赔额通常是合适的。

你的车修好后你会支付免赔额吗?

您的汽车保险公司通常会直接与维修机构合作。 维修完成后,您将向维修店支付免赔额。 除非维修店提供付款计划,否则您无法支付自付额。

如果您没有达到您的免赔额会怎样?

如果您未达到最低要求,您的保险将不会支付与免赔额相关的费用。 尽管如此,即使您没有达到最低标准,您也可以从保险中获得其他利益。

参考资料

0股
发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

你也许也喜欢

CAR INSURANCE DEDUCTIBLE: How It Works

car insurance deductible
Car and Driver

When it comes to car insurance, there is a lot to think about. When evaluating auto insurance coverage, you must consider not just the premium expenses, but also your deductible.
Deductibles are important to consider for a variety of reasons. To begin, you may wind up paying the deductible for your policy at any time, so it must be one you can afford. Furthermore, the deductible you select may have a direct impact on the amount you pay for car insurance premiums. It may be tempting to overlook the deductible amount when purchasing insurance coverage, but it may be a more crucial consideration than you realize. Here we’ll see how car insurance deductible work.

What is a Car Insurance Deductible?

A car insurance deductible is the sum of money you agree to pay out of pocket for car repairs or replacements following an accident. If you are in an accident that causes $5,000 in damage to your vehicle and you have a $500 deductible, the insurance company should pay $4,500 of the claim while you are responsible for the remaining $500.

Before concluding your auto insurance coverage, you will discuss your insurance deductible amount with your insurance agent or carrier. You should, however, be able to adjust your deductible at any time.

How Does Car Insurance Deductible Work?

Car insurance deductibles work as a requirement for submitting certain types of claims, preventing policyholders from filing bogus claims by requiring them to pay a percentage of the cost upfront. When acquiring an insurance policy, the policyholder selects and agrees on deductible amounts.

Most car insurance providers simply deduct the deductible amount from your claim reimbursement. For example, if your mechanic costs you $3,000 for repairs and you have a $500 deductible, your insurer will send you a check for $2,500 to cover the cost.

Deductibles work the same way for all types of car insurance coverage that use deductibles. Furthermore, car insurance deductible work in the same way as deductibles for health insurance, homeowners insurance, and business insurance.

What Types of Car Insurance Deductibles are Available?

Your auto insurance policy is a collection of various coverages. Some coverages, including liability, pay the other party for injuries and damages if you are at fault in an accident. Other coverages, like comprehensive, collision, personal injury protection, and uninsured motorist property damage, are available to assist cover injuries to passengers and damage to your vehicle. These coverages may include deductibles or the opportunity to include deductibles to minimize the cost of coverage.

Here are a few examples of coverages that typically include a deductible or the ability to select one:

#1. Collision

Optional collision coverage covers car damage caused by a collision with an object (such as a telephone pole, guard rail, mailbox, or structure) when you are at fault. While collision coverage does not cover mechanical breakdown or normal wear and tear on your vehicle, insurance does cover damage caused by potholes or rolling your vehicle.

According to the Insurance Information Institute, the average cost of collision coverage is around $300 per year (Triple-I). If you file a claim for car damage under collision coverage, your policy’s deductible will be applied.

#2. Comprehensive

Optional comprehensive coverage protects your car against theft and damage caused by an incident other than a collision. This covers threats such as fire, flood, vandalism, hail, falling rocks or trees, and hitting an animal.

According to Triple-I, the average annual cost of comprehensive coverage is less than $200. If you file a claim for car damage under comprehensive coverage, your policy’s deductible will be applied.

While there are numerous situations in which a deductible may be applicable, there are some in which your comprehensive deductible may not apply. In Florida, Kentucky, and South Carolina, for example, if you have a chip or crack in your windshield, your insurer will restore it with no deductible. Some insurers provide zero-deductible comprehensive coverage, which means that if you file a claim for any comprehensive damage, you will not have to pay anything, but your premium will be greater.

#3. Property damage caused by uninsured/underinsured motorists

If you are involved in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, if the driver does not have enough coverage to pay for the damage to your car, or if the driver flees, you may be entitled to file a claim under your uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage coverage. This coverage is not accessible in every state, but in those where it is, it may have a state-mandated deductible amount. When a deductible is required, it is usually low, ranging from $100 to $300.

#4. Personal injury insurance

Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage may be included in your policy depending on your state. This coverage contributes to the payment of medical bills for you and all passengers in your vehicle. It can also help cover expenditures such as missed wages or if you require someone to undertake domestic activities after an accident because you are unable to do so yourself. Depending on your state, you may be subject to a deductible if you file a claim under this coverage. Many states with PIP deductibles offer various alternatives, and the deductible you select can affect your rate.

What Types of Car Insurance Do Not Require a Deductible?

Most states mandate liability coverage, which helps cover injuries and property damage for the other party or parties if you are at fault in an accident. When you purchase liability insurance, you will select a specified amount of coverage. These are the maximum amounts that the insurance company will pay the other party for a covered claim. There is no deductible because liability coverage extends to others you injure or damage.

There is usually no deductible if you choose optional coverages like roadside assistance or rental car reimbursement, though there may be coverage limits and caps on the number of claims you can file for these add-ons.

What is the Average Car Insurance Deductible?

Many drivers have plans with $500 comprehensive and collision deductibles, but there are many different deductible options available. Your deductible selections will normally be determined by the auto insurance company and policy you are choosing. It’s also worth remembering that your comprehensive and collision deductibles do not have to match, and it’s fairly typical to have one deductible that is higher than the other.

In general, the bigger your comprehensive and collision deductibles, the lower your overall premiums. Your car insurance deductible will be determined by your budget and the amount you can afford to pay out of pocket if you need to file a claim for covered repairs to your vehicle.

Car insurance deductibles are often available in the following amounts:

  • $0
  • $100
  • $250
  • $500
  • $1,000
  • $1,500
  • $2,000
  • $2,500

When Do You Pay Deductible For Car Insurance?

You must pay your car insurance deductible if you cause an accident that damages your vehicle and submit a claim with your collision insurance. If you are at fault in an accident and are wounded, you must also pay a PIP deductible. In most cases, if you utilize your own insurance, you must pay a deductible, even if you are not at fault.

When You Must Pay Car Insurance Deductibles Examples

  • When you use PIP insurance to pay your own medical expenditures, regardless of who is to blame.
  • When you file a claim with your collision insurance after causing an accident.
  • When you utilize your own comprehensive insurance to protect your vehicle.
  • When employing uninsured motorist property damage insurance to cover car damage caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver.
  • When there is a joint fault in an accident and you use your own insurance to pay vehicle damage and medical expenses.

When Is It Not Necessary To Pay Your Car Insurance Deductible?

There will be times when you are not required to pay your deductible, but these are rare. In most cases, you will not be obliged to pay your deductible if you:

  • Another driver is to blame.

If another driver hits you and is insured, you should not be responsible for paying a deductible on the claim you make with their insurance carrier. Your deductibles only apply when you file a claim with your insurance company.

  • If your deductible is decreasing,

Some insurance providers provide a decreasing or disappearing deductible option. If you have this policy provision, the longer you go without an accident, the less you will have to pay for your deductible. It is usually a $100 credit applied to your deductible amount for each year you are accident-free. For example, if you have a $500 collision deductible and do not have an accident for four years, you may be eligible for a $100 discount each year. If you ever needed to file a claim, your deductible would be $100 rather than the original $500. When you use your reducing deductible, there is normally a waiting period before you may use it again. Speak with your insurance agent or carrier representative to find out if this feature is available and what the eligibility requirements are.

Considerations When Selecting a Car Insurance Deductible

With so numerous deductible levels to pick from, you may be perplexed as to how to select the best one. When looking for a car insurance policy, keep the following points in mind:

#1. Do you want to pay less for car insurance or repairs?

A greater deductible will normally lower your insurance rate, but you will pay more out of pocket if you file a claim for vehicle damage. Some claims may even be covered by your deductible, in which case you must pay the entire amount out of pocket. For example, if you back into a tree and do $350 in damage to your vehicle, and your collision deductible is $1,000, you will have to pay for all repairs out of pocket.

If you choose a lower deductible, your car insurance premium will most certainly be higher, but you will incur fewer expenses if you submit a claim. If your deductible is $100 and you inflict $350 in damage by backing into a tree, you just have to pay your $100 deductible, while your insurance will pay the remaining $250. However, having a lower deductible may cause you to pay more in premiums while never filing a claim. This is the nature of insurance and an illustration of the risk that both you and the insurer assume.

#2. How much money can you afford to pay out of your own pocket?

Before deciding on a deductible, consider how much you can afford to pay if your car is damaged in an accident. If that sum is $500, you should generally not choose a deductible that is larger than $500. If you do, you may be unable to afford to repair your vehicle if you are at fault and must pay the deductible.

#3. Is there a deductible requirement with your lender?

If your vehicle is financed or leased, you will almost certainly need comprehensive and collision coverage. If this is the case, you must select deductibles for each. Some lenders will enable you to carry a maximum deductible for comprehensive and collision coverage. It is critical to check with the financial organization handling your loan or lease to see if any limits apply.

Conclusion

The basic conclusion is that selecting the appropriate deductible takes time and thought. A professional insurance agent can assist consumers in making the best option based on their driving history, present financial situation, credit history, and overall financial planning objectives.

Car Insurance Deductible FAQs

What is a good deductible for car insurance?

Insurance agents typically recommend that your comprehensive deductible be between $100 and $500. Because comprehensive claims are typically filed for less damage than collision claims, having a lower deductible is generally appropriate.

Do you pay your deductible after your car is fixed?

Your car insurance company will usually work directly with the repair facility. You would pay your deductible to the repair shop once the repairs were completed. You cannot pay your deductible over time unless the repair shop offers a payment plan.

What happens if you don't meet your deductible?

If you do not meet the bare minimum, your insurance will not pay for deductible-related charges. Nonetheless, even if you do not reach the minimal criterion, you may receive other benefits from the insurance.

References

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like